(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen
Yogurt is good. Ha ha when aden dun eat anything last week, he gobble up yogurt and happily go to the fridge to help himself.

Rena
Enjoy your trip ? Aiyo should have ask them to pack in carton and then just bring over lor. Why must pack in your luggage

CL,
did not really enjoy the trip coz elijah was so cranky and keep insisting us to carry him. refuse to walk.

after this time we are really scared to bring him travelling coz we came back so tired.

hi mummies, what would you do if a colorful bird flew into your house and allows you to feed him? Would you keep it or let it go after that?

.ky.

aileen
hope edgar recover soon.

ky
i would let it decide whether it wanna stay.

this morning while waiting for the bus, suddenly i started to have black out......duno if due to menses again...
I struggled and walked back to my house and laid on the bed for at least for 1/2 hour before going back to work...

babylon
oh dear.. do u always have black out like this?
hmm.. is it normal to have black out during menses. Better check with Doc, could it be sugar level low..or something

Aileen

gosh, hopes ed recovers quickly. Today, i saw how Kinderland was gearing up for the HFMD, so scary.... Heard the pre-school has some cases. The childcare is still safe.

babylon
ya, better check how come black out. Do u do that often?

ky
I think should let it go lor. If u 'keep' it, it's as good as keeping it in captivity. Don't think that's what the bird had in mind.

And, it's illegal in singapore to keep exotic animals. My hb's distant cousin got jailed for that.

Rena
Haha, u've already brought E for hols so many times lor. Now can only wait for no 2 to come right?

Aileen,
Oh dear, hope Ed gets well soon.

Cookie,
Meg's fever went up high last evening again and at night. Had to insert suppository at 1am cos fever went up to 39.5deg.. She's at MIL's today cos hb can't take leave anymore and last night I was up monitoring her till 3am when her temp stable then i went to zzzz...

but this girl, even with temp at 38.8deg she is still playing, talking to you like normal.

babylon,
have u consulted a doc for your condition before?

Sunny,
haha, they say your kids will be v different in character. If one is guai, the other will be cheeky.

ky,
I would jus leave food for the bird and let it decide if it would come back again to eat. Let it fly free.

ky
Ideally, Enjoy the bird's company and let it feel free to come n visit. However, in reality worry abt bird flu n chase it away. :p keke!

Aileen
Oh dear poor edgar where did he get it from? Better isolate tyler.

babylon
U had that some time back with ur menses also right? Maybe its really partially due to low blood pressure n anemia? Better rest n take it slow these few days

Hi Tracy,

Both my gals have very different character.

Ashley is always law abiding. Megan is the challenging one. Love them both the same thou. Haha.

It's just so amazing to see them in actions every day.

spree updates
There were some problems with luckyvitamin and half the orders were cancelled (mainly cali bb items). I've checked with many other merchants, they are also either OOS or very much more expensive. I don't think I will be doing any more cali bb sprees after this one as they are always the trouble makers for sprees. (Zero indicates cancelled items by LuckyVitamin)

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>13 </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD>Sambucol for children 4oz</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>Sambucol for children 4oz</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mavis</TD><TD>Sambucol for children 4oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sl</TD><TD>California baby Aloe Vera Cream 2oz</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>California baby Aloe Vera Cream 2oz</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Everyday/Year-Round SPF 30+ Sunblock Stick - 0.5oz</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Everyday/Year-Round SPF 30+ Sunscreen Lotion - 2.9oz</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Non-Talc Powder - 2.5 oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Hair Conditioner - 8.5 oz.</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Hair Conditioner - 8.5 oz.</TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Hair Detangler - 8.5 oz. </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Hair Detangler - 8.5 oz. </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>Natrol - Ester-C 500 Mg Time Release - 100 Tablets </TD><TD>0 </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD>Nature's Way - Sambucol Immune Syrup - 7.8 Oz </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Because our items have been reduced by more than half and the items were sent out in a big box (8lbs physical weight provided by UPS) I'll have to wait for the actual shipment to arrive before I can work out how much extra we need to pay for the shipping. My estimate is each of us will be paying $0.50 to $2 more, depending on your item's shipping weight in proportion to the actual total shipping weight.

Amazon multivitamins have arrived at Portland and the physical weight provided by DHL was 2 lbs more than my estimate. So, will need to wait for the actual box to arrive b4 I can work out if we need to pay anything extra for shipping.

Children's DHA have arrived at my place. Everything is in order and shipping weight matches my estimate accurately.

Once all items have arrived, will let u know when u can collect. If you have ordered only DHA, you can collect now. If you did not order anything from luckivitamin, you can probably collect by end of the week as the shipment has arrived at Portland yesterday and should be here by friday.

mashy
just curious.. wads ttc? Is it "trying to conceive"? I really pei fu u ladies.. I never really planned for Ariene so I don't know anything abt all these plans, which do to ttc, etc.. I guess we are more Nike. Sometimes I just felt that the more we plan for anything, the less it happens and when u least expect it to happen, it happens.

MamaPanda,
Thanks for the update. Let me know how much to top up once everything is in.

Ya, TTC is Trying to Conceive. I did not plan for Jamie, it was an accident. So hope that #2 is well planned and at least we "work hard" for the correct timing instead of "safe period".

My case think is the extreme bah, too stress up by PIL to have a boy. Rem I once told u all that my MIL want to give 20K if my next baby is a BOY? If really a boy, I will "throw" the money back to her face and reject it. They are so biased. I just hope for boy but as long as the child is healthy, I will be more than happy already.

been really busy so nowadays jus read all the post.

RE : HFMD
all mummies really need to be careful and check your kids. One of my pupils came up to me and showed me her hands. She had HFMD but the parents din know. Sent her back immediately. Her's was mild. No ulcer or fever. She had on hands and feet. Unless her parents paid close attention or else wouldnt hv known cos no commom signs on her beside the small blisters on hands.

RE: P1
Well, i agree certainly that education is not like before. If a kid knows too much, they do get bored in class but they must hv a strong foundation. Especially for English. Maths we can drill but English its difficult. Most can speak very well but hv prob writing.

Some questions I saw in my P1 nephew assessment book.

# + # = @
@ + @ = &amp;
&amp; + &amp; = 16
Find #

? => Double => Add 32 => 50
What is the missing number.

And there are more complicated one which i doubt they wld be able to solve!

aileen
yeah give yogurt or ice cream. PD will say give them anything thye can eat.

that time JH couldn't eat at night. in the night always cry and reject milk. but in the day will be like normal.

babylon
better see doc abt it. did u try TCM? maybe your body is weak during your period?

chillies
wow the questions are really not easy for pri 1...

JH really rejects the new maid when i m at home. but i need to see how she can take care of him alone. how? even if i hide he will still know that i m ard. i know he will let her take care of him once i m not ard but i jsut need to know how well she can do it.

wow Chillies,
Must work backwards to get answer one. So number bonding here is important lor. Hee Hee hope now drilling my gal on number bonding still in time

Hi Mummies who are teachers -

How do we build a strong foundation? I read alot since young but still English is not my strength. But It is my wish that my kids can read and write well.

Hubby works in gov sector and as usual, the scholars can write very well. It probably take them 1 day to finish their report whereas we will take three days to do the same report............

So i need more tips and advice how to build that foundation!

SY

An example of how forgetful our kids can be.

Today, C's favourite teacher in IFC appeared on the news. She was interviewed for the HFMD segment. He has absolutely no recollection of her even though he used to cry for her and will smile everytime she picked him up. It was merely 1 yr ago. Totally forgotten abt her.

So don't worry if u need to change sch for JH. He'll forget very quickly.

SY
yup I agree. Ha ha they wont recall even charmaine sometimes forgot her nursery school classmates name.

Hee hee I phone interview a helper today. I should be getting her in soon. So will be moving all my kids out from cc. Charmaine I know got place in Maris Stella kindy. Now need to check for Aden. Maybe weekly class then next year go to Faith then move to Maris Stella. Or try for Lorna Whiston playschool. Then Tabby can be his senior

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">BARNEY's Let's Imagine Live Concert @ Suntec City</font></font>
Any mummies interested? There is special discount. Was thinking of organising to get 15% disc. *Note: Our 2 yrs old todd will need a ticket as well.

Through SISTIC Corporate X'clusive Only
15% discount with minimum purchase of 15 tickets.
[Discount is applicable for Cat 2 - Cat 3]

http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&amp;dt.action=process&amp;dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&amp;dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&amp;dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&amp;dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&amp;dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&amp;contentCode=barney0608#seatAnchor

Jus wanna check out reponses and feedback regarding home childcare services as i may wan to start a class in my home at anchorvale with a max of 4 children of age 3-4 next year (mon - fri only fr 8-6)Time-table as per how a childcare center runs
Pros:
small group teaching, own utensils, home evironment, chances of transmitting virus is minimise, more flexibility...
Cons:
no govt subsidy, no bb bonus, no mixed age group activities...
Appreciate your feedback and suggestions. What price range will mummies be comfortable with the above mentioned pros and cons?

mashy
yeah i know kids will forget very fast..hee but maybe just got a bit of initial getting used to the new envt

CL
so u getting the helper soon? hope it works out well for u.

Thanks mommy for your advice on Hb's birthday..

I have videotapped tabby giving him a birthday cake and singing him the happy bday song.. the funny thing is tabby couldn't wait to eat the cake b4 giving it to daddy.. hahaha!!! My hb loved it!

Great Tabb
Ha ha kids has this power that works best for all occasion. See them forget the tiredness and frustration from work ha ha

SY
Ya Finally. I was very determined this time. Ha ha just too tired and must find help. Even got myself parttime domestic helper to start from this sat too. So in the interim part time then full time helper. Planning to give the cc notification so they will end on 15 May. Bring maid in on 1 May , since exp in sin I will train her myself from 1 - 4 may, then bring to my mum place on 5 and 6 May, try her alone with my mum on 7 May. If ok continue with mum test run for 1 week before I pull all out on 15 May.

Looks ok ? Crossing finger for it to work hard.

Your new helper is with exp ? easier to teacher ?

After I settle everything, I will either sign Aden up for weekend class for this year or will check out lorna Whiston Pre School

CL

Wah, u didn't sleep? Post at such a time.....

Wanna check with SAHMs. Anyone here with 2 kids and managed alone without a maid/mother/MIL? I'm wondering will I be able to manage without a maid next time...

CL

You still post so late? I thot aden better oredi? You sound really tired leh.. i'm glad you sorting out a new arrangement.. hope it works out for you.

Re:black out
this time was pretty usual for me to have..my menses just started in the morning..normal if i got it, it will be usually on the end of first day or the second..after lossing too much of blood.

Re:pap smear
how often do we need to do the test? yearly or bi-yearly??

CL,
So late not asleep ah?
Care to share what qns to ask the maid via telephone interview? I will be getting one end of the year.

Babylon,
I heard from my gynae it is yearly test. My next test is coming July.

I have the similar black out issue as you. Fainted twice, once outside my house toilet door, another time is on the way to the bus stop. Nowadays, once I start seeing abit stars, I will squat down immediately, just afraid that I will faint and fall. Same here, it is normally 1st or 2nd day of menses.

RE: Barney Show
Anyone interested? I would like to get it fast else it will be out of stock. I will call up the hotline to check out for more promotions.

CL
sounds like a tight schedule u r running! hope all goes well. it is really tiring lor i feel.

mashy
i think no matter what can awlays cope but it is abt expectations. while u r busy with all the nitty gritty stuff like preparing meals etc, u have less time to spend with your kid. and sometimes it helps to have one more person ard or else no time to go toilet or even have a breather. plus not doing things like washing their clothes etc means more time for them.

babylon
pap smear shd be yearly test.

May,

normally phone interviews are not accurate as they can get someone else to answer the questions
. that was what happen to me. thinking that my maid's english is good.. but when she came .. i nearly faint.

Babylon
I will do pap smear test yearly and at the same time for gynae check up besides my annual health screening. Ha ha so kiasee hor but my hb insist.

Barney SHow
May, you started too late lah. Me already booked liao.

Dear mummmies
Ha ha last week was Aden. He has recovered except still have a bit of cough. But yesterday was Charmaine. That is why after last week I give up, so source for a maid lor.

Mashy
If there is nobody at all to help you, I suggest you get a maid. When I was working from home, I was thinking I was a superwoman who can handle the kids, do housework , do my work even scrapbooking at night. Then after a while you will feel very strained and tired and now I cannot sleep long. I tend to sleep at 10 will wake up at 2, if I sleep 12 , I wake up at 4. Somehow or rather always only 4 hours of sleeps. Sometimes you can tired, you starting blaming things on hb who does not help or who help only when requested, I feel might strain the relationship a bit.

There will be a time when 2 will fight for your attention. I guess the only time that might be more relax will probably when both goes to school. arrange in different sessions then it will reduce the time they meet and ha ha you have individual time with either one of them so neither feel deprived. So maybe at infant stage get a maid then later on when the younger one is older then do away with the helper.

Last time when I bath for Charmaine, Aden will be banging at the door wanting to come in. So I give up, I bath them at the same time now. Then my hb will be on standby , I towel dried Aden and pass to him to change

Rena,
I think it also depends on how trustworthy your agency is. How well the agency knows the indonesia side one. I think like Mamapanda's neighbour i felt not bad because mamapanda's has arrived but now at agent place to be monitored before hand over. Too bad she does not have any that meet my requirement otherwise I would get from her too. I am getting from a maid agency recommended by my fren whose maids for their family all from this agency. So far so good. I raise some concern and maid agent assure me that she will help me if there is issue and she is very confident about it. So I decided to give it a try.

I interviewed one on monday. Ask her why come to sin, she says she here 2 years and home 5 months. Then ask her child is boy or gal, she says she take care 3 children from age 3,7 and 9.

Ha ha this one immediately I strike off because give all standard answer but aiyo not to my questions.

May
I din ask very complicated one
1. Why want to work in Singapore
2. What family members in Indonesia, any friends or relative in Singapore
3. Tell me what does should do every day at previous owner's place
4. Tell me what she think she is good at . Childcare, housework or cooking
5. If my 2 kids fight, what does she do
6. If my kids sick, what does she do
7. If exp maid, ask her why she never continue with previous employer

Share with her on what I want her to do. Any questions from her to me.

Check out www.singaporemaids.blogspot This is by a SMH forum mummy. Ha ha quite informative

Still it is still that chemistry and you observation when she arrives so must make sure your agency is that type that will be helpful to you and can allow change of maid

CL,
Which category did u get for the Barney Show? I getting it tonight. Feel not worth getting $68 leh cos Jamie will need a ticket as she is 2 yrs old right?

CL,

to be monitored and hand over is normal procedure as they need to take test and medical check up plus thumbprint.

frankly.. having maids are all about luck coz all agents take from the same source...

i think also the agent must understand the family's needs. like i was using my mum's agent. my needs and hers are very different so the first one that the agent got for me couldn't work out. after my mum complained and said that it's different cos i have a kid and the maid needs to be able to take care of the kid alone, then she got us a more suitable one.

so far seems ok. just hoping she get the hang of things soon. at least attitude is much much better.

only thing is JH doesn't wan her when i m ard so no chance to see how she takes care of his daily needs. playing seems ok though.

Hi Mommies

Maids... HA.. I have lots to share. I am one unlucky employer who change few maids within 2 yrs! Have tried Indon &amp; phil, experience and non-experience. Ultimately, its all about luck and the maid's personality. Conclusion: I still prefer Indon (Ex-Sg)

Reasons for my last 3 maids who left were - ALL SAID NOT HAPPY AT IL HSE! Haiz.... Though my ILs are really very nice , but they just dislike having a maid,hence, body language can tell and that makes the maid very uncomfortable.

My last one who just left was a Phil who has 4 yrs Abu Dhabi experience. Interviewed her over the phone, she sounded OK. Told her she needs to help take care of my 2 kids, she said OK, no problem as she has 4 kids herself.

When she joined me... she was like a piece of WOOD. Changed diaper when L pooed, she goes, YEEH, YUCKS! WAH, that really pissed me off. How can she make such remarks? After some time of observation, I realised that she is not good at handling kids as she dont know how to talk to kids. Questioned her about her bio-data which indicated her preference, #1 = Child Care, #2 = Housekeeping etc... She told me that bio-data not written by her! So... we cannot rely on info written on bio-data. They are all incorrect. Other than she is a piece of WOOD, there are more complaint la ... She is now with agency on Transfer, those mommies wana avoid, can pm me for her name.. haha.. so bad... Honestly, she pissed me off so badly that I almost wanted to send her HOME, but on 2nd thots, I want to let her try other employer and let her learn her lesson. btw, she has super duper bad attitude and she always argue and give excuses.

Well tiff,

we are on the same boat.. To date this is already my 6th maid.. bascially agency and also middle man cannot be trusted....

CL,
haha, you are not the kiasee one. I do my pap smear 2x a year. Cos i hv a higher risk of getting cervical cancer. I'm planning to take the cervical cancer vaccine altho i'm already past the acceptable age limit of 26YO but there's still 90% coverage. Beta than nothing.

Good to hear you are getting a helper. I also dunno how i'm to handle 2 kids next time. I'll c how first. I'm quite sure my hubby will not be of much help. Somehow...men...i dunno wat to say.

Last night, I only slept at 2am and woke up 5am cos monitoring Meg's fever. This morning brot her to PD. Hubby slept from 1130pm-730am, still can complain have headache, very tired!

Tracy,
Ya.. my hb about that same pattern. Sleep very long still say tired. But he didn't even have to wake up when Jamie is sick. It seems that it is always the mummy's job to tend to kids and housework. Just had a quarrel with hb over housework last night. We really need an extra helper else it will strain our relationship.

Rena
I type sala. Here you go
http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

I cross my finger. Ha ha yday woke up at 3 am to do my schedule for maid. Ha ha actually nothing much i need her to do but just need that extra helping hand.

Tracy
Ya lor Charmaine oso fever, my sir says he take over this time. But aiyo measure before bed and wake up only.