(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie - it takes 1 week to process the passport. u can do it online which is cheaper. kids can only longer be added to parents one. they need an individual now.

Congrats, sunny and sandra!

And congrats to SY for your baby girl and JH for getting a mei mei!

Queen, yes yes, Purple Train do accept kids still in diapers.

Haven't logged in for a long time cos have been coughing since before Seth was born till now and now after CL left, down with infection. Just came back from doc for the 3rd time in 2 weeks. Hope it'll stop bothering me soon! Even passed my cough to my 2 kids.

mashy, been reading about C's illness then now diarrhoea. Hope he gets well soon and his appetite returns with a vengence! You take care of yourself too!

Sharon, poor thing. Try to rest your ankle as much as possible. Must be difficult having to take care of Joash with a cast.

cookie
yeah i have been expressing the same problem to hb so many times but he just doesn't seem to get it. so many times he left office late and din tell me and i got worried for him. so many times when he knows i m not well and din come home earlier to help me. so many times he just come home and work and we dun even get chance to talk. there was one fri i was so fed up that i just lashed out and him and he asked me what i wan. i told him to put away his laptop to spend time with me. the things i say just can't into his head though i say it straight. dunno what else to do.

sharon,
hope u r better. joash is so guai. can sympathise with you.

mashy
glad that C is better. hope he will recover soon and put back what he has lost.

val
nice to hear from u! think the virus nowadays is very strong. better take care of yourself.

btw, that time u ask me to order some medela stuff for u. i did order already. will let u know when it comes.

Hi mummies - So hard to catch up nowadays. Been bz with work, studies & trying to spend time with Cephas. Going on an official course soon too for 3 weeks and then 10 weeks at the end of the year. Keep me in your prayers that I can "tong" through. Got field training & lots of studies for the official course!

Mashy - Hope C gets well soon. So poor thing to have diarrhoea. To this day, Cephas' gastric flu last May still haunts me.

Sharon - Oh dear...do take care. I can imagine the apin & inconvenience. I fell down & franctured my ankle once. Had to undergo surgery to place a metal plate for my bones to heal. Was in clutches for 10 weeks!

Krissie/SSF - Envious
I am also itching for a holiday. Will do so after my 1st year ends in May. Plan to bring Cephas for a flying holiday too

For those who are planning to drive into Malaysia this holiday, take heed the jam may be bad. All vehicles are being checked.

SY, Cookie

we can hi five! our hb are the same, .. my hb told me clearly 2 weeks ago he wasn't going to help out at all cos he's taking his exams.. 9pm sharp he'll go into his study, shut the door and do his thing... i'm kinda scratching my head cos when i had the same exams last year , i still came back to take care of tabby and study and was preggy all the same time.. he's not even pregnant?!! sometimes i wonder how men can switch off completely abt the kids and i really think that the reason why women have kids is that if men were to get pregnant they couldn't handle the emotional and hormonal stress of it not to mention labour. HA!

Today i took tabby to the PD and nearly had a scare cos there were some funny sounds in her lung that made the PD suspect pneumonia, had to bring her for blood test and chest xray, luckily everything was clear and tabby was really brave and cooperative through out..

re: holiday
I'm itching to go on a holiday with only my hb alone.. can' t wait til didi turns one year when i hope i can stop pumping.. almost 9 months still have to dong all the way.. I have a conference in germany in sept, i hope to go with my hubby without the kids.. it would be nice to have some alone time.

I am feeling a little stressed now cos Joash is having high fever. His temperature went up to 40.6 degrees in the afternoon and his PD gave him a suppository. Shortly after, his fever sudsided.

But just a while ago, his fever went up again and I had to use the suppository again. So worried that the fever will shoot up in the middle of the nite.

Very busy with 1 toddler and 1 baby, really no time to read through the post. Now down with sore throat again. Haiz...

Congrats to Sunny and Sandra on your new arrival.

Sandra
Declan needs to be hospitalised when birth because he is slightly pre term. I travel to hospital everyday to visit him, sometimes latch him on sometimes learn how to bottle feed him. Normally will stay for about 2 to 3 feeds which means 4 hours if 2 hourly feed. At home I try to pump as much as I can, just to stimulate the supply. Then I will just pass those pathetic amount of bm to the nurse and they will feed him when I am not around. So far my Declan is 6-week old and on total breastfeeding. I think when baby is back, total latch on is the best to stimulate the supply.

I cry a lot when I just delivered Declan too. Partly because I feel that I can't spend time with Clarisse more. Partly also worried Declan a lot. Partly worried the hospital bill... but things will get better.

Aileen
After delivered Declan, I am also scolding Clarisse more. She is really at a stage of terrible 2. Sometimes feeling very guilty towards her also. We have been divided our attention between her and Declan, and last time she can get our total attention. Having 2 kids when their age is close really quite difficult to handle both for me.

SY
Can I link JH's to Clarisse's blog?

Any good recommendation on Vitamin E cream suitable for kids, Clarisse always scratched her face, worried cannot get rid of the scars.

Haven't log on for so long...damn sian suppose to go back to Sing tonite but end up have to stay another day

Sharon
What causes Joash's fever? Pat Pat, hope both of you recover soon.

Mashy
Hope your boy get well soon too.

Re: Hb
Cookie, I agree with totally that have to spelt out everything in black and white to hubby.
Tabb, sometimes I do complain to my hb that he's not helping enuff with Mel. He'll just said he's not like me can multi-task and survive on so little sleep...arrgh!

RE: RP Lunch
Will give it a miss cos mostly likely will take leave on that day

thanks for the info and advice. re bringing baby, my mum has offered to let my gal stay at her place with my maid. So, I'm now thinking of it. I think angie has a point. She's too young to enjoy. But, I'm this crazy person who will miss her badly. Last nite, as I was putting her to slp, I was thinking of not bringing her with us and tears came to my eyes.. I'm v sure tt I will cry leaving her there. I feel so bad not brining her as she's part of the family. Then, I'm paranoid tt she will be so close to the maid during the 3 days and reject me when I come back. Am I crazy?? then, I console myself that it's only TWO nights that I am not seeing her, i.e. thurs and fri nite as we will bring her to my mum's place early wed am, as the flight is 10am and be back on saturday afternoon. then, I know tt if we bring her, we all wont enjoy the trip as much and I'll be super tired as I need to pump, plus the 2 kids will wake up at night and take turns to wake each other up with the crying... anyway, after much deliberation, I think I'll most prob leave her with my mum and maid with a very guilty and heavy heart.
what do you all think??

forgot to add, when i went for my trips with hb when ger was abt 10mths, I also cried leaving ger with my mum but enjoyed my trip tremendously with my hb... (which my hb reminded me last nite).

CL,
thanks for the tip tt the hotel is far from the park. It was one of the reasons why I decide to leave bb in sing. I thot tt the it's was just next door and I can pop upstairs with baby to the hotel.

SSF, tabb
Oh, cheng shared the lobang for the hotel and recommended me to stay at the disney hollywood one. (haha.. cheng and CL are my advisors for the trip).

SSF, CL
thanks for the info on the passport. The KS me asked hb to submit online yest.

SSF
oh we took this package, http://www2.uobgroup.com/uobtravel/sb_disneyhk.html. acrdg to cheng, it's qt a good deal. For 2N in the disney hotel, it's $600+ and include one free characters breakfast, which accrdg to cheng is S$30 per pax. after adding for 1N, we need to pay $700+ per adult. if you want the exact price, I post later. It's in my office latop. but, need to book by 8 mar and travel by end mar. the room rates are increasing from 1 apr.

Krissie,
Great. Dun worry. Ha ha I am a heartless mummy too but at times this should be exercise. Because no. 1 you do miss the gal but will the gal enjoy. My hb was against bringing aden for our last hong kong trip but hey, he is already 2 mah, so should understand and can enjoy woh. That one I will bring. I am sure you will miss clare but like me, i will view the pics in hp, save in camera and then will think how he is fairing etc. You definitely will but weigh the pros and cons, without the baby is still good. Can have quality time with hb and Ger too.

If Ger likes car, check out the park behind hollywood hotel with lots of cars. Ha ha me and cheng missed that and I only realised it when I saw it in sil's photos. FYI last dec, ha ha my sil oso have her younger daughter behind and went ahead with hb, fil and her son. This is quite norm lah

Oh no sharon,

will keep you and J in prayers

RE: #3

Last night hb was tell me that after seeing how much i have suffered during this pregnancy he deceided not to have a #3.. he was quite determin to have #3 previously coz always wanted a girl.... but at least he is not so heartless....

hmm. today elijah is a little cranky.. refuse to go to school keep wanting to go to my mom;s place coz he want to buy toys.....

he cried in school when we left..

tabbs
think mothers and fathers are just different. we only do our own things when kids are asleep but fathers will start doing their things cos they think the kids got the mother anyway.

lucky tabby is alright. that sounds really scary

sharon
the fever sounds really high. hope J recover soon.

zhimin
yeah, i m ok to link their blogs but i need to grant access to u. which email add u want me to use?

krissie
hmm, i guess i wd feel bad too abt leaving #2 behind but i guess it depends on whether u have any help with u when u go on hol or it will be too taxing.

for me, i m plannign to go BJ next year to visit my parents so i will bring both with me. a bit different cos i m sure my parents will wan to see both kids.

RE: Holiday

Any mummies keen to join us for a holiday.. we are thinking of going to HK / BKK. Going away for about 3 nights... F&E tour.. we are looking at end march or beg april..

Do let me know... the more the merrier..

tabbiesus/SY/cookie
Was reading through the posts on hb part. I guess it's the same for almost every man. Even I myself are learning to verbalise my displeasure and when I need him to stay home and help me with D or spend more time with D when D was still young. I'm thankful that he enjoys and the takes the effort to bond with D at home when he comes home from work now and still bathes him before D sleeps.
I'll always remember someone telling me that Men are like waffles...everything is compartmentalised in their head (but not in their environment, they are sooo messy!), so cannot multi-task. Women are like spaghetti....one strand leads to another, like how one thought will lead to anyother different issue altogether, so I suppose that makes us better multi-taskers?

Flo / Valerie,
Are there trial sessions for Purple Train?
I'm thinking of starting Isaac in May after my ILs come back from their holiday.

Re. HB and Anniversary gift
All men are like that. Multi-tasking is completely alien to them. My HB as well, he can never multi-task. And he seldoms take the initiative to help me when doing housework. Now I'm just glad that he has become the official playmate to my boy and will always be the one to entertain him. My boys loves to play with my HB.
Can I ask what do you normally give your HB for anniversary? Me and HB got married and almost immediately became pregnant. After that, we didn't really make any effort to celebrate the 2 wedding anniversaries we have had so far. I'm thinking of getting him a nice gift, but I dunno what to get... I mean, my HB doesn't really show special desire on anything. Aiyo, I really dunno what to buy. I have thought of watches, clothes, HP, all of which I have given to him before. Sigh...

Queen
what about making something for him? Since you bake a nice cake for Issac can do the same for hb too since you have bought for him most of things. For me, when closer to the date, I will see what he is eyeing on, then if I can afford I will get it

Thanks for your prayers. C is much better. He just had 1 time diarrhoea this morn and it looks more pasty already.
Went for review and he doesn't need to be nebulised anymore too. Just take ventolin syrup.

Sharon
Gosh, did u find out what's the cause of his fever?

babylon

the women's day is tomorrow. 8 March. U know, san ba. THink they deliberately chose this day coz they think all women very san ba.

queen
Hahaha, when buying gifts for hb, I very practical one, whatever is worn out or spoilt and needs to replace, I'll buy for him. haha. My hb and I didn't celebrate our wedding anniversary for the past 2 years coz he happened to be away during the period and didn't think much to make up for it. We only celebrated the 1st year. So not much help on this dept. kekeke, perhaps those who married for long can advise us all

rena
i dun think i can go hol though i wan to cos need to save my leave...

mamachan
to my hb, work is a very legitimate reason for not coming back earlier, not being able to help etc.... he is pretty busy at work and i have told him many times that he needs to manage his boss and time better but i guess somethings are just hard to do.

anyway, i can't imagine how it is going to be like after #2 comes. we probably end up communicating even less. he just talks to his colleagues more i feel.

queen
my situation is same like yours. after we got married, we had JH. but we do try to celebrate our anniversaries. If we decide not to get gifts, we will agree on that as well.

for my most recent gift for hb, i got cuff links. he got a cuff link shirt that he couldn't wear cos no cuff links so i bought the cuff links for him.

i also did a scrapebook for him recently. i placed it on his table and he din even see it until i told him abt it! i think doing a scrapebook is quite meaningful.

mashy
glad that C is better. i told JH we must pray for his fren.

SY
I realised hor.. men must repeat one ley.
for same scenarios, I will need to repeat myself for different days. But after much training, my hb now can get my idea very fast.. hahaha..
So be patient.. again.. always tell yourself , dun expect your hb to read your midn cos he doesnt. So must tell him clearly everytime.

I also believe if our HB is able to, they will help us. If he inform he cant do it then maybe he really really cannot make it at that point of time. We have to respect them.

Tabbiesus
I also longing for Holidays with the kids, infact my Hb wanna go HK without the kids with me but I'm the one who cannot let go.
Really fang bu xia the kids cos I'm constantly feeling guilty about not spending enough time with them esp Kyler.
But should I really go for Hol.. Kyler wun come along.. (so bias hor..haizz)

Rena
my HB and I also wanna go HK.. but end March and beg April is bad period for me... got to handle yr end closing and those irritating audits...aaggrrhhh...
In case you guys change date to May or something.. do keep me inform. I will see if I can fit in

Queen
haha its so much easier to buy stuff for ourself..
It is.. so difficult to buy for my HB too..esp he dun wear watches, not bothered too much for fashion, is soooo particular with his shoes.
I only remember I bought him a Pen kekeke...
My hb probably like me to buy some golf stuff but I dunno how to choose.. so always no suprise for him.

Sharon
Oh dear.. hope your boy will get well speedily.
As far as possible.. try sponging? I find that very effective when my gal has high fever. SPonge regualrly to bring down the temp. DUn use cold water tho, just use room temp water or slight luke warm water else very uncomfy for the fever kids.

sharon,
For my kids high fever almost 39 i will give neurofen to the older one. And sponge the younger. They sleep on this water pillow.

queen
What abt doing something romantic. Me n my hb dun buy stuff but we try to do something nice. Like burn a cd of all the songs that remind us of our dating days, listening to it on the way to work, send more lovey sms on that day and just take a nice day off 4 the 2 of us.

Queen
Purple Train doesn't offer trial class I think. You can bring Isaac there for assessment next week if you want cos is school hol. Anyway we are thinking whether if we should switch Mel to another playgroup. The kids there are much older; can sit down and pay attention in class. The teachers have been "complaining" about Mel throwing tantrum when asking her to take only one toy at one time or not wanting to sit with the rest. We are feeling very stress out over the daily complain and thinking maybe she's too young to fit into the group (having said that Kristen seems to fit in quite well). Mel behaviour seems to have improved slightly this week. Anyway we will be meeting the teachers next week then decide.

Regarding present, does your hb like sports? I ever bot gifts like roller blade, treadmill, squash racket etc for hb before.

Rena/Cookie
Re: Hol
Both Hb and I have blockout our leave from 21 to 30 May and we still can't quite decide where to go (and whether with or without Mel. If we taking Mel, we may end up going HK also.

queen,
sorry can't help you much here. coz i swear to my hb i will not buy him any gift for 10 years (started 2004). coz in that year, i bought him birthday gift, anniversary gift, x'mas gift, valentine's day gift etc... but he bought me nothing! and i was pregnant with edgar somemore!!so i told him, since he doesn't understand or appreciate gift exchange on such dates, i shall stop giving him any. and guess what, it doesn't really bother him at all! but i made him promise that he must continue to buy me! unless i say i don't want anything! :p

flo,
i think the teachers at purple train shouldn't be "complaining". isn't it very common kids at this age to be active? tell them that gifted kids are usually very hyper and don't conform to norms! :p anyways, just my tots.

rena,
so tempted to go hk but i guess my hb wouldn't want to go. he doesn't quite like the pollution there. and tyler is still too young to appreciate it.

rainbow vacuum cleaner,
btw does anyone of you use it? thanks to valerie referral, i bought it after the salesman came to my place to do a demo last evening. it's really disgusting after seeing all the amount of dirt and dust in my house! so my hb and i bought it without even battling an eyelid eventhou it cost a whopping $3k+!

All the talk about traveling is making me feel like making vacations plans too :p

Krissie
I think it is a good idea to let your gal stay home :> HK air is known to be more polluted, so maybe better not for the young ones to go. Don't worry about attachment. I used to worry too, when I went on business trips, but somehow, they will know when mummy is back :>

Flo,
I will be in HK for business trip end of May too..was playing ard with the idea of asking Aidan and hubby to join me in HK again - although hubby not in favor. heee...maybe if u guys are going and he has company, he will change his mind :p

Mashy/Sharon
Hope your kids feel better soon.

Queen
For me, I don't get gifts unless I know he happens to like something, but we do make the effort to take time off as a couple, maybe dinner or a movie. I feel I value e couple time more nowadays :p

cookie
yeah i know that i must make my intent clear to hb but sometimes just wish he can take the initiative also.

Flo
hmm, did the teachers give any suggestions what cd be done to help Mel have a longer attention span etc? dun think they shd be complaining abt it. like what aileen says, it's quite common for kids their age to be roaming ard. i m sure there are days that JH also not as cooperative but i haven heard any bad feedback so far. think the focus shd be what to do to improve the situation. how big is the class btw?

cheng/flo/rena
hmm.. if it's really May.. then maybe we can all go together

SY
haizz that's men lor.. maybe some SNAG men will be very sensitive but hor.. my HB (last time worse) now with my "intensive" training, hahaha consider very auto liao.
But I realise what improve him and myself alot is when I spell out clearly what I need him to help me with.
I dun get frustrated and he dun get annoyed for not able to guess whats on my mind.

Halo mummies

been sooooo sooooo busy wf work... and my school projects... cant wait for May to come and i will be FREE!!! hee

Krissie - i would suggest that u leave ur gal at home too.. i know its very bu she de, but then i guess she is reali stil too young. u can always make it up to her by bringing her somewhere when she slightly older ar

Sharon - Hope Joash will get well soon, u take good care too!

Queen - my gifts to HB 'depreciate' year by year hahaha... vy long ago i wld make it a combo box of tees/chocolates/card and other small nitty gritty stuff... but now as the years pass and i no longer know wat else to get for him, i either let it pass or just get him a nice pressie once a year oni... its either during wedding anniversary or xmas... i used to love to buy watches/ wallets / tees for him... for guys, the range is tat limited i guess... oh, there was just tis once i bought a short 3D2N F&E package to BKK to celebrate his bdae... now tat we been married for coming 7yrs, there is reali nth much i can do to surprise him liao ...

Sunny / Sandra - sorry for the super late congrats!!! but stil , i must say CONGRATS still
take care and do share the bb pics soon...

hahaha. godchild..same as you, i duno what to buy for him..so i would pay for those "short trip"..
i dun think hb got the problem to buy thing for me..coz a got a very long wishlist..hee..the only thing is that he need to bring me along to choose what i want.

Holiday: Dying to go for one when my final term ends in mid-May. I shall surprise Hb & Cephas. Reawrds both of them for tolerating my crazy schedule for the past yr. I was thinking of HK too but decided HB & cephas wld prefer a mrore relaxed holiday. May try for Phuket instead. Book into Laguna Phuket & rest & relax there for 4-5 days!

SY, thanks! Let me know by PM when the items arrive ya? I come in here too irregularly, scared will miss something.

Queen, Flo, when Kirsten 1st started purple train last year, I pay per class basis so I think can consider that as trial class bah.

Flo, I know what you mean by the "complains". I also used to hear daily feedback on what mischief Kirsten was up to but knowing the teachers myself, I think they are trying very hard to adapt Mel to their Montessori environment, that's why the daily "complaints". Just see what suggestions they have in mind for Mel? She is a very free spirited girl so maybe just takes a longer time to adapt. I think it's impt to find a playgroup/childcare that suits a child. What I mean is, like my friend's girl who is very shy and reserved, a rigid environment which places a lot of academic emphasis, made her even more reserved. She hardly uttered a single word the whole year she was there and hated it. So my friend switched her to a play-based cc and her girl loves it. Only prob is there is no structure and she finds it hard to adapt to school in P1.

Aileen, glad you like it! Thought you will find it useful since you also have 2 dogs at home.

Aileen
Haha, I've been consoling myself that active = smart. Actually at one stage, the teachers got me worried if Mel is really hyperactive that why she can't sit still and join the class. But that's her personality I guess, she can't even sit still to watch her fav Hi 5.

SY
There's supposed to be 10 in the class with 3 teachers but somehow the class is hardly full attendance.

Valerie
Oh oh, so Mel is not the only one who kena "complaint". Actually Mel is very happy there; she would rush in the class happily and hug the teachers the moment she reaches the school. Also academically she has picked up a lot in these 2 months. I like the curriculum very much too and also feel that is good to instil some discipline in Mel. The only thing is the “complaint” that my mom and hb have to face everyday. I picked Mel up once and I can also feel the stress they are going thru. More importantly my mom and hb are concerned that Mel will be “unwelcome” by the teachers and other kids. There was once my mom and Mel were in the lift and one of her classmates came in with her mom. The kid’s mom was telling her daughter to say hello to Melody and her classmate immediately say “Melody naughty girl”. My hb felt that the teachers must have told the class Mel is naughty when she throw tantrum. He is afraid that it will cause Mel to develop negative feeling towards school when she starts to understand that. While my mom felt that Mel is the only one in the class that can’t really talk well and probably be better if she join another playgroup with kids closer to her age. Anyway, will see what the teachers suggest when we meet up next week.

Must tell you this, Kristen saw Mel in the lift the other day and she immediately “Hello Melody”…impress impress

Cheng/Cookie/Rena
Great great, maybe we can time our HK trip together. Will be fun for the kids to go Disneyland together.

any one going to hongkong end june early july? I'll be there for a conference.. :D

Flo
So terrible the teachers... even if Mel has terrible tantrums, shouldn't tell the whole class she is naughty or use her as example. The teacher should try and instill some discipline instead or just some time out. Even if she really is that bad they should address the issue with you first. I think Mel is quite smart its just that she is very strong willed, she just likes to do her own thing. She's very fast with her motor skills.

My girl is quite strong willed and bad tempered too, the only thing is that when she is outside and when people snatch her toys she just back off. But at home, she's quite fierce to didi and us. Nowadays, she will kena a big scolding from me if she's too naughty. But i admit I spoil her a lot. Slowly trying to instill some discipline in her.

Disney on ice
Any mommies going? I'm going tomorrow.. So excited! Just hope my girl can sit still.

hi mummies...just came back from my co's family day event at downtown east. so tiring...but Caleb did have fun sitting those rides in escape park and a splashing good time in wild wild wet. i didnt know www was so much fun for kids. all along i thot they cater more for adults. and the weather was excellent...hot and sunny. and now i have red lower arms with pek pek upper arms. haha...

i haven't had time to read thru all the postings..but i guess i will have time tmr at wee hrs. coz i have to be in office at 5AM! yeah 5AM..for some major testing. haiz..

krissie - thks though for the link. guess i have miss since today is 8th mar. but seems like a good deal. yeah i was also looking at hollywood hotel.

RE: Discipline Kids
I just bought a cane today. Jamie is really getting out of hand. When she throw tantrum, she will throw anything she can grab to the floor. Hb and I decided it is time we discipline her,else it will be difficult next time.

Jamie had got complaints from her teacher. She started kicking, snatching and screaming when her classmates try to take things from her. She even kicked her teacher. These are being feedback to my mum daily. I will apologise to the teacher via sms..think it is the naughty two phase bah.

RE: DEGREE
I was being hint by my boss many times to persue a degree in supply chain management and international logistic trading. Not sure should I take up this as I am worried I might have less time for Jamie. Lessons are 2-3 times per week. My mum agreed to help me look after Jamie at night if I were to study on that day. Usually I will fetch Jamie back every night after work. If I were to study, meaning I will have to delay having a 2nd kid.

I tried bringing up to hb. If he doesn't want a 2nd kid, I will rather study. As there will be very good prospect ahead for me, I would very much like to take up the degree. Hb was saying no as he is worried that I will get stress up and I fall sick quite easily. I am coming to 28 yrs old end of march, the course takes 18mths. Which means, I will only be able to have 2nd kid when I reach 30 or 31. Hb will then be 33 or 34.

Mummies, I am really in dilemma. I love working in this new company (been here 6mths) and is looking in working long term here (this is the first time I have got this feeling). Most of my colleagues worked here for over 10+ yrs. There are quite a few are working here for 30+yrs.

Need some comments or advices here..Should I carry on for a degree?

hi anyone can advise me how to order from old navy as they only accept usa credit card

sy,

can you help me buy old navy again. As i got to buy another us 250. So not able to join spree

re: HK disneyland

SQ is having a promo now for flights to HK. For 2 to travel, each pays abt $480+(taxes included). I managed to get a quote in May for:

3 adults and 1 kid is abt 1.8k only.

As for Disneyland Hollywood hotel, each room has 2 double beds which can sleep 4 ppl actually. Beds are slightly smaller than queen size. Cot is complimentary. That's for garden view at SGD241 per night.

So maybe package may not be worth it after all. Better do your calculation.

May

My boy also has the habit of throwing things when he's frustrated. we tried this method once and so far it worked and we'll continue with it. We removed all the stuff near him so that he can't throw them, then we got him to hold his hands together and tell him to calm down. He was still whining the first time we did it, but at least he stopped searching for stuff to throw and eventually calm himself down. From what i read, this is to help him develop self control rather than using the scare tactic. In any case, my boy isn't scared of the cane. It will help him in the future even when you are not around to discipline him.

thanks for the feedback re bringing Clare.. think we'll most prob not be bringin her.

SSF
wah.. good deal with the SQ tickets offer. Sounds cheap, heehee.. I dun know if it's cheaper. think next time, SQ has tickets promo, I can consider getting it to go either HK or perth ourselves... planning to go perth again mid next year, when clare is older. We like perth a lot and my aunt is staying there.

May

Ask your hb to choose lor. 2nd Baby or Degree. Hahah. Either way, u get what u want. It'll be selfish of him to deny u both coz 2nd baby is what u wish for and a degree will enhance your career prospects.

18mths is a short time for a degree. And you're still so young. Even if u put off having no 2, u still have lots of time. And since your hb is not supportive of having no 2, u might as well get a degree. I have C only at 32 leh.

May,
I think you should go for it. If you intend to work and if getting a degree means better prospects, then just go for it. 18 months for a degree is not long. 30 years old is not too late for the 2nd child... with proper planning, can even try to get pregnant during the last semester, so that you are ready to give birth once you get your degree. Juggling work, study and family is not easy, you'll need a lot of discipline and support. You'll really have to get your HB to support you... your HB has to pitch in to help with Jamie. I think it's unfair for to you and your mum that he expects things to remain the same as it is when you study. You cannot be the one taking on all these on your own.

Talking about studies... I'm also thinking of doing Masters next July, which means I have to give birth to #2 by then.

Flo,
I think the teachers at Purple Train should understand that each child is different. The fact that Mel is learning things mean that she is paying attention in class isn't it? Even though it's not the sit down way that the teachers would have liked.

Re. Anniversary gift
Thanks for all your suggestions... I did think of baking HB a cake but it's quite a lot of work. Maybe I'll surprise him with a spa package. What do you think?

Mashy/Queen,
Hubby was telling me not to aim so high. Just a job that earn a fixed pay will do. He dun want to see me stressing myself hard in degree and then later will promotions, more work=more stress. He told me this morning he would prefer a #2 then seeing me working that hard.

But I am half hearted, really feel like studying. If I get promoted, it means I have higher income that will allow me to hire a maid at ease.

I was thinking am I selfish to go ahead without thinking of hb as u know male's ego, he is only N level grad (although earning more than me)..and if I were to upgrade myself, things will be different.

Queen,
Are u NTUC club members? They have this couple spa that looks great but hb and me not yet try. http://www.ntucclub.com/ => click on SPA

May
Hmmmm, I personally feel that pursuing a degree should be out of your heart and passion. If you feel that you really want to do it because you have the desire to upgrade and you'll get personal satisfaction, I would say go for it. 18 months sure fly by very fast one. Your hb and you still young. My hb was 33 when I gave birth to D, so for future kids (if any), he'll be like 36/37 le.

Even I myself thinking of doing my degree coz my passion in this field got re-ignited since I started my new portfolio. Really more keen and hope to be better and more knowledgeable in this area of biomedical sciences. Sometimes it's not just about earning more salary (though with a degree, that will come along), it's about self-satisfaction. Quite a number of us moms who are studying part-time are still coping alright =)

DUcktours
Hey Mummies, Am thinking of bringing D for Ducktour together with my hb. Per adult is $33 and per todd is $2. The ride is for 60min. Any mummies been on it before? Worth going? I got a brochure from them this afternoon, so thinking if a number of you are keen to try out the duck tours, I would ask them if got group discount or not. Need 31 pax to charter for the ducktour.

Something Cute to share
This afternoon, D came up to us with the Toys'R'Us Brochure and pointed to the R in Toys'R'Us (which the R is facing left) and to another letter R in the same brochure that's spelt correctly (facing right)in the word "Break" and then went, "R...R....Oh no!!!" (with hands to his face). He's telling us that there was a printing error in the brochure. hahaha, that the letter R in the fomer word was spelt wrongly.

In the past, whenever we wrote the letter W, he would turn it upside down and say it's M. Now, when we're at the letter M, he would turn the little board or paper the other way round and say it's 'W'!! hahahaha, we were relaly entertained and amused by his association that these letters can be inverted to form the opposite.

Tabbiesus/Queen
Actually the teachers did comment that Mel is a bright girl and does pick up things as a "side observer". I guess to them, it is important to observe the "rules" as well. I do agree that it is important to instil discipline. We have been doing our part at home and have been asking my mom not to spoil her. The teachers are, however, concerned that Mel still doesn't get her "ground rules" right after 1 term which I feel is a bit too short given that she’s very strong willed so probably takes longer to settle in.

May
I agree with Mamachan that pursuing a degree should be out of your heart and passion. If the reason of not doing it is that you are afraid the gap between you and hb will widen, then why don't you encourage him to "upgrade" with you. If not 10 years down the road, you will be wondering how your life would be if you have chosen to further your studies instead. Perhaps you may even feel that you have “sacrifice” for him. As to age, I think you are still very young. I was 34 when I gave birth to Mel! So, if it’s really something you want to do, I’ll encourage you to go for it.

Mamachan
I keen on the duck tour. When are you planning to go?

May,
I preggie with damien and i was 29..and was taking a part time course for 2 years. I manage to survive..i believed you can do it.
I had class 2 times per week + another 2 days doing my project..so totally spend 4 days per week for the course .....plus travelling all the way from Tuas and TPY via Mrt.