(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: V Day

Argh! Forgot abt it. Oops, haven't gotten a present for my hb. Hmmm, maybe gotta do it tomorrow.

Anyone has ideas on what to get? I know what he wants but I'm reluctant to get one for him. He wanted a PS3. No way. Anything else?

may
I PM'ed you my list of travel items for Ger.

sl
can you org for us, pls? since so many of us interested.. shld be enough of us to share shipping.

SL
Haha, Mel will stand rite in front of the TV for Hi-5 story telling section. Count me in if you organising ON/Gap spree

Re: Wii
My office has budgeted one for the staff recreaton room. The LCD TV is in oredi, hopefully the boss doesn't change his mind given the poor stock market performance.

Haven't been catching up with the postings. I'm so busy at work and I can't believe I'm given so many IP cases and contract agreements to handle! I'm not even there for a week! But still manageable but definitely no time to surf the web or check out forums during working time already.

Re. Expensive toys / PC / hand held games
I think we have to look at these in perspective...
though I'm not for such things, but I can't say that I will not buy for Isaac in the future. I remember playing Nintendo and hand held games when I was a kid. But my parents will just buy the console and told me and my siblings that if we want the games, we have to buy ourselves. And my parents limit the playing time and we are not allowed to bring hand held games out of the house. Ultimately, it's about managing and setting the conditions of giving our children such 'luxuries'. We all have PCs at home. Does that mean that we do not allow our kids to use the PC for fear of getting addicted to PC games? I guess we just have to be very much in tune with our kids in whatever they do in their growing process. It's not so much that the games / toys are damaging. It's more on how we have to manage the exposure and time spent on such things.

Re. Toys R Us
It's Isaac's favourite haunt. We always bring him there cos we can tell that he enjoys looking at the toys so so much. He is really happy in Toys R Us. Sure, he'll ask to buy this buy that, me and HB will tell him that he has a lot of toys at home and cannot keep buying. He'll throw a small tantrum or protest when we go out of the store but he gets over it quite fast. Sometimes, my HB will just put in $3 into those mini Thomas train or small balls dispensers and Isaac is satisfied.

Re. First World hotel
One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed. Me and HB go Genting 2 or 3 times a year and we always stay in Genting or Resort Hotel. The Resort Hotel has recently been renovated and it's very nice.

Re. Gap Spree
I may do one in 1 or 2 weeks' time.

sl,
For ON/ Gap sprees, my style is to split by the estimated bulkiness of the items. Meaning most baby/toddler tops/shorts/skirts is 1 unit, baby denim items may be 1.5 units. baby jackets maybe 1.5-2units. Adult wear is 2 - 3 units. Something like that.

SY,
So sweet of your HB! Me and my HB has stopped celebrating Vday years ago and he has never surprised me since then.

You all still so loving, celebrate V-day. Hubby and I never and still don't celebrate V-day. :p In fact, last Sunday was our 7th year wedding anniversary based on ROM date. I totally forgot until hubby jus casually said, '7 years liao'. I was like 'wat 7 years??' Anyway we also never plan any celebrations all the while or do gift exchange. Weird couple right?

SL
Please count me in if you doing ON spree. Thanks!

going to send my maid back. she suddenly says going to get married. haiz...also got the same problem as mamapanda. now got to start sourcing for a maid again. wish i can stop working but hb not keen.

mashy
i got my hb cufflinks cos he bought a cufflink shirt last year and never got a chance to wear. hee, he liked the design that i chose a lot. so happy.

queen
my hb will surprise me once in a while esp if i have been having a hard time with jh. the last time when he sent flowers was also in JH's name when JH kept waking up at night and i couldn't sleep. so i guess this time round he also wanted to make me happier and feel better cos i have been waking up every night since 2 weeks ago.

yesterday went to see PD for JH's cough. confirmed it's sensitive cough. quite expected cos he got no other symptoms. the medicince that PD gave worked well last night. not much coughing but he woke up still at 3+ and just cried for no reason. think he getting into the habit liao.

sl
when u going th ON spree?

sy- wow so nice of ur hb to get u flowers. hb yesterday asked me but i said no need la..new office...here ppl abit auntie and cubicle very open concept. so if i bring flowers...i think i will get some stares. haha..told him he can save money la. we also didnt get anythg for each other this yr. but i booked hotel in malacca for his coming bd in mar. maybe tat counts.haa...

anyway recently hb just surprised me with a tiffany celebration ring..to celebrate and reward me for the birth of my 2 sons. but of coz i have been bugging him to get me one whenever i saw the ad in the newspaper. haha...but then very sweet la coz i didnt know he bought it
i told him he is exempted from buying me gifts for the next 3 yrs liao. ahaha..and he said har only 3 yrs? :p

RE: First World Hotel
Yes I will be staying there. Hopefully my deluxe room is new one. I went to the old room before and the toilet and bathroom are really very small.

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY TO EVERYONE !!</font>

Krissie,
Did not get the list leh. I think something wrong with PM function. Can email me at [email protected]? Thanks in advance.

RE: Vday Celebration
Hb going to RT tonight. So no celebration for me. He bought me a DS Lite but I haven't get him anything. Usually I will combine Vday and Bday present as his bday is 28 Feb. Hehe.

SSF
hee, every time i tell hb no need to buy flowers, i will get flowers. he likes to do the opp of what i say.

wow, so sweet of your hb...tiffany stuff alwasy give that kind of romantic feeling.

mamapanda/SY,

wonder if u r keen to take on a maid for 2-3 months.... it's just a casual thot for me. My maid's going off to Norway when her visa's done, and that'll prob take 3 months to process. I've thot of letting her go now as it means I can adjust to a life sooner than I wish. She's good with kids and a hardworking &amp; honest person, and she's the sort that wouldn't talk behind people's back nor give opinion ... she doesn't want to go home and will buy her own ticket to fly over. just a casual thot only, I can keep her till she's ready to go off

.ky.

Re: ON spree
Okay, I will start one. PM me or post the items you want. Will follow queen's style of splitting the shipping cost: vpost base charge to be split equally by all. Then will split the shipping charges by items- also via queen's style - by adjusting according to units of bulkiness. Will collect the shipping charges after getting the stuff so that I can see how bulky the real item is.

SY,
Your hubby's so sweet!
Hahaha my boss is worse than yours leh. Cannot say too much here... : )

Tracy,
We made it a point to celebrate and have couple time for vday, bds and anniversaries. Didn't really buy any presents but we would go for dinners at places where charmaine would not be welcomed. : ) My hb actually made reservations already but he's sick so need to cancel.

May,
Sure can take the other pair of huggalugs but I am not going to the bd bash. Could I trouble CL to collect for me pls? Let me have your acct no and I transfer to you? Thks.

Happy V-Day to all! I'm resting at home today and tmr, had a bad migraine when I woke up and I've yet to prepare for my coming exams next week!

Tracy
You're not weird couple lah...hahaha my hb and myself also don't celebrate V-day too since we dated. We decided that we will not celebrate V-day for the sake of celebrating V-day as everything is soooo expensive!! That's for us lah, so I guess that makes us the odd ones out.

SSF
Your hb is so sweet! =) You must have been really happy and surprised.

May
The last time I took a coach ride up to Malacca with D and my helper to meet my hb there, it was a 4.5-hour journey but I was really tired out! I think it was also because we took the evening ride up. I prepared D's dinner in the Tiger food Jar and fed him when we had the stop-over break. I prepared his favourite snacks on board. But as by night-fall, everything is dark, so D was very fidgety and I used the sling to "tie" him to my body though he was heavy then. I brought along my portable DVD player along and took it out only for the remaining last 1.5 hours of the journey to keep him entertained. He was really very still.

mamapanda ... just applied visa. going by calculation may too. she said she can delay going away till july, but that's for me.

.ky.

Happy Valentine's Day!

Side tracked a bit - wanna ask you all for opinion on the following:

Sometimes really don;t know how to teach Megan....She's very stubborn.

Last night, i asked her to take out her shoes upon reaching home. She refused and walked into the bedroom and inisist that i do it for her. I persisted. And the maid was standing one side waiting to take her shoes out. Megan took out her shoes unwillingly and threw her shoes towards the maid. i asked the maid not to pick up the shoes for her and asked megan to pick it up. She refused again and cried so loudly and even slap the maid's hand. Everytime she slap the maid's hand, i slap hers... this go on for two rounds and after one hard slap, she ran into the room crying, still not picking up the shoes.

I thot of persisting and carry her to her shoes and insist that she picks them up.... but she can really struggle and slip thru my hands..... Then suddenly i have this thot coming to my mind "Disciplining a child takes a lot of effort and strength........" But on the other hand i know i cannot just let it go like that just to convenient myself.

What will you do in this instance?

yuki
my gal sometimes also refused to pick up the shoes. i will tell her if she doesn't pick up, i will throw the shoes away and she would have no shoes to go out. she knows i am serious 'cos there was once i nearly threw away her toy which she thought it's a game when i warned her initially. so, when i tell her i am going to throw away the shoes, she would quickly pick up the shoes and put back to the rack.

Happy Valentine's Day to all Mummies!

Tracy, Mamachan, me and hb also never celebrate Vday since everywhere is so ex it's really commercialized and such a cliche. But now, thinking that since we have #2 already and CL is still around, thinking that maybe we can sneak out after Kirsten goes to bed for just a supper or something like that.

SY, sl, SSF, wah, your hbs so romantic. I always wanted a Tiffany ring too but it's so ex and jewellery and I never go along. Cos somehow, my skin always get sensitive no matter it's gold or platinum even for rings. I haven't worn my wedding ring for more than 2 years liao...

SL,
thanks for organising the ON spree!! Will PM you my orders.

Mamachan,
Hope you feel better soon. Aiyo...exams round the corner again?

Val,
Wah, your hubby lucky dat you are sensitive to jewellery. Low maintenance.

Yuki,
Hasn't happen to me before (yet). But if it does, i will not budge till she picks up the shoes and keep them. But then again, if they're very stubborn, dunno whether i can tahan that long to wait for them to budge. My nephew jus started P1 and he always comes home to MIL and throws his shoes in the middle of the hall. I will scold him and insist that he keeps them. It will take me like many times of scolding to make him move his butt but he eventually does. Then again, he's already P1 while our kids are now only 2YO...

val
did u try rhodium? or nickel? some pple are sensitive to even gold. my sis also like that.

yuki
i think in that situation, even if u persist, it may not have helped. i think even if we let this kind of situation slip thru once or twice, we can still rectify or reinforce the message. nowadays i have this naughty chair that i just set up for JH. pretty effective. the min i mention he has to go to naughty chair, he will undo his mistakes.

just wondering, is there any particular reason why she suddenly did that? in that situation, i may not persist cos it will just be a long struggle. i may leave the shoes there and the next day i will tell him what happened and tell him not to do it again. may need to reinforce a few times.

recently jh has been throwing things out of the window. one day he threw money, yesterday he threw a book. i m still trying to get him to kick this but i already told him if it happens one more time i will cane.

val - for me, i cannot wear silver. the silver will chg colour. so i told hb ... dun buy silver. gold or plantinum can! haha... u certainly let ur hb off easily. so nice of u. nvr mind...in tat case ask him to invest u in a good watch.

yuki - wah tough qn to answer. since she dun take it too well when you go hard. how abt trying the 'soft' method like talking to her? let her know its good habit to take her shoes off and place it properly. or how abt getting her a shoe rack of her own. maybe that will make her take her shoes off and place nicely on the rack or maybe even in a colourful box?

Tracy
hahaha, yes, final exams. Last 2 papers on next Mon and Wed and I'm done with the course le. Still thinking if I should do a BSC in Biomedical Science since I'm going to be on this path until I retire. But BSC must spend another 2.5 - 3 years more! I have that passion and desire for it...but not sure if I can ta-han the long period or not. Abit regret that I didn't work hard all the way and continue on with a BSC immediately after poly...hai.

Just to share
I went to pick D up from school today. Am really so proud of him that he has settled in school really well and that he doesn't cry at the sight of us when we pick him up from school and he's willing and happy to walk to school when we send him there, though he gets teary when each time he takes off his shoes. D's teachers also feedback that he's so much better and more comfortable being there and getting more involved with the circle time and activities as compared to the 1st month. He self-feeds himself for tea-break and lunch and he really amazed his teachers in this aspect as they thought they would need to pay more attention to him. Now, sometimes he doesn't even want to go home!!
Now sending and picking him up to and from school is a breeze, no more struggling with him and having to carry him all the way to and fro from the bus-stop. He's eager to hold our pouch that holds the EZ-link card and he knows that's to tap at the card reader when we go up the bus and he's well-behaved at the bus-stops - will automatically find a seat and sit down while waiting for the bus.

We notice that he's speaking more words now, though he doesn't exactly piece them together into 3 word sentences but he's learning and we're learning to watch what we say and try to get him to say after us the key words in sentences.

Yuki/Tracy
Hahaha, when I did what Meg/nephew did when I was that age, my mom really carries out her threat! She'll throw my shoes or items that I anyhow leave around right into the dustbin!!! I was so scared after that each time she warns me, I'll immediately pick it up and keep. Did things out of fear that it'll be thrown away int he beginning but I learnt from it, learnt to be neater and to keep away things that I don't use immediately. Till this day, I still remember the incident and more importantly that my mom really means what she says. Hahaha, hope that will help you =P

Re: Allergy to silver/gold

Hhaha, I just read a ficton book by Sophie Kinsella. One of the characters was taught by her mom to let her dates know that she's 'allergic' to base metal and can only wear diamonds etc. Hahhaha.

mamachan - Daren is such a good boy. so independent liao. u have past that stage but i have yet to. somehow Caleb is getting more and more clingy to me. whenever we left for work, he will cry. somehow lately he cries more often than before. now even when we distract him to his fav cars cd, he will still refuse and cry. not sure how is he going to adapt when he starts school. real headache! as for your passion to pursue ur studies...if you have the passion...just do it. or else u will regret it when you look back in the future.

mashy,
i lurve the shopaholic series by sophie kinsella. is that the one you talking abt? or another book? i would lurve to go buy if its another book!

SSF
I'm sure Caleb will get to this stage too. I think maybe coz having a didi around he has to learn to share the attention from you and hb? Nonetheless, we also had to bear with the initial teething problems like added crying, whining and more tantrums but that slowly got ironed out over one month. As for studies, I'm wondering if my boss will be willing to "help" me as in sponsor part of the studies and I get bonded to the department for 1.5 years or something. I guess the best time to bring that up would be during my appraisal which will likely be sometime in October. Coz another collaborator with my boss mentioned to me that even Clinical Trials Researchers (CTR) are very highly sought after and that if I'm considering to stay on in this field whether lab research or CTR, it will pay to have a BSC and it got me more spurred on to pursue and further my studies. The plus point is that I can do it at PSB academy, recognized Uni and don't have to go overseas.

Hi Sunny,

No use threatening Megan...... i threaten to throw her bottle away and even walk to the dustbin she couldn;t care less.

When she is really naughty, i threaten to leave her outside the house, even if i carry her all the way to the door, she also refuse to budge........she play with the shoes etc outside the flat and couldn't care less..... This girl.... really don;t know what to do...

Hi SY,

JH threw money??? haha...... I would to be at your block...waiting for money to drop. haha

Megan can be very persistence. This morning, she refused to let the maid bring her to toilet and insist i do it when i was bathing.... so end up she pee on the floor......

Megan is officially diaper free............
brought her to pee before to sleep and first thing in the morning. Tried two weeks liao and so far one miss.......

Tracy

Yah, that's her. It's another book, 'Can you keep a secret'. It's hilarious. This is the first time i'm reading her book and i really enjoyed it.

Re: Toilet training
How ah? My boy can pee standing up when i bring him to the toilet. He'll even try to squeeze out some pee even when there isn't any. He'll wipe himself and pour his pee into the toilet bowl. But he just won't tell me when he wanna pee.

How to train him when he doesn't even tell me?

babylon
have you smsed linda if she will be attending the annual get-together (ex-bday bash)? Do update the committee is her attendance is confirmed. thanks!

SY/CL - What can I say if her parents allow such an act. Besides, she is a friend. Makes it all the more difficult. Anyway, was over at her place last nite. She passed Cephas something to eat. So I told Cephas "Sit down &amp; eat. U can only move after U've finished." Cephas sat down &amp; she told her dau "U see Cephas didi. He sits down to eat, unlike u walk all over to eat..." Another friend who is the girl's godma commented "Think need to send u to Auntie Steph's School of Discipline." Oops...I sound so tyrannical.

Yuki - I think it's a phase. There was a period Cephas wld throw his shoes after taking them off &amp; then laff abt it. He found it funny that we would get flabbergasted over the actions. One day, I took the shoes &amp; threw them into the bin. Told him "Since u throw yr shoes, I'll throw it away and u'll have no shoes to wear." He was shocked, cried out, dug out his shoes from the bin &amp; stopped from that day onwards.

SL
me too. pm you my ON order liao.

sysac
ha ha I oso want to send Aden to yours. Ha ha he can only sit down and eat in school.

Yuki/sysac/Mamachan
Me too. Am good at throwing things into dustbin. Anything that Charmaine and Aden does not keep, I warn and they dun do it, I throw. And when I throw, I will even empty it at the rubbish chute.

Now I learnt another trick from a forum mummy. Keep a box high up on a wardrobe or cupboard. Anything like toys, books or shoes they do not keep. I warn, give time to perform the act, count down 10 to 1 , no movement, and off the stuff goes into the box. They will stay there for a month. This type of can see yet cannot reach is very torturing for them.

CL

I do that too. Whenever my boy doesn't keep his toys, off it goes to the top. He'll cry and ask for it for days until he will totally forget that it exists until he sees it again.

Surpise
Had a surprise last night. After we prayed at C's bedtime, I'll usually ask for a hug from him. He said, 'Bu Yao, Bu Yao Bao'. I was shocked. Firstly coz all the while i thought he's a banana, and out came chinese words. My hb also heard. 2nd, he doesn't even speak more than isolated English words and out came Mandarin words! We're not sure whether it's random babbling that just happened to sound like these words or it's conscious wording.

Hopefully he does know how to speak. Hahaha, but i doubt he'll repeat the same feat again.

mashy
dun worry too much. i m sure C can speak. it's a matter of whether he wants to or not.

think i really need to change maid soon. she doesn't seem to be concentrating at work already. yesterday evening she gave JH some kiwi though i din ask her to and it triggered his cough very badly until he vomit even his lunch out. as my mil was there, i asked her why she din stop the maid. the maid had lied that i was the one who told her to give. sometimes dunno who to believe.

re sitting down to eat
JH has been wandering abt as well during meal times but not all the time. we dismantled the high chair recently so got nothing to keep him at one spot. but he knows that he is supposed to sit and eat.

yesterday he was so clingly but he is sleeping better at night already. just wake up one time to drink milk only.

re vday surprise
yesterday got a surprise from JH. they did a craft for vday and it was on my table when i came home. it says happy valentine's day from jing heng. hee, not that he did it by himself but still happy to get it....

yesterday so angry with my sponsor. we had a discussion with him at 5pm and by 6.30pm he still couldn't finish. and he had to go for another meeting. he just told me and another colleague to stay in the room and wait for him and that he will come back in half an hour. we waited until 7.40 and still no sign of him. my colleague who is more senior than me suggested we email him and go off first.

so inconsiderate right. he din even bother to check whether we had our own appt and just told us to stay back to wait for him. and after waiting for an hour, he shd have just told us to go off first...

SY,
Aww...so sweet to receive a vday present from JH.

Mashy,
you should start on the shopaholic series too. It's really funny!

Re: Toilet training
Past few nights Megan also started to tell us that she wanna pass urine before going to bed. And when we bring her to the toilet she will indeed pass urine. Hopefully can be diaper free soon so I can save $$. Gotta be spending diaper money on #2 soon!

but then again, i'll dread having to bring her to toilets in public..

SY

So nice to receive a v-day present from JH. You must be so delighted.

Your sponsor's really inconsiderate. You needed something from him? Guess if it's the other way round, he probably won't treat you that way.

sy,
lucky you. Me got from Charmaine not Aden. Ya better change maid now and get ready before no. 2 comes. Hey so your no. 2 boy or gal ?

Tracy,
Ha ha dun be so not Man Chu. Ha ha Aden wont even tell me. Dunno when he will tell. After finish his biz, we ask if he poo, he just walk to us and turn his backside to us for us to check.

tracy
yeah, i din really see it till quite late cos was so busy over the coughing episode before JH's bedtime. hee, i think i even happier to get that than the flowers hb gave....

wow megan will tell u she wan to pee? that's very good. i also hope to toilet train jh so that can save money on diapers

mashy
hmm, he's called sponsor cos he's the sponsor for my program that i m working on. not exactly that i need anything from him. he is just overall inconsiderate. he will send emails to my colleagues at 11+ at night and tell them to get things ready by 9am the next day. been hearing a lot of complaints abt that recently. one thing is he is very smart, so he moves very fast and expects everyone to keep up with him.

CL
dunno yet leh. my bb hides the gender from me. hope can know at detailed scan.... i also hope to change my maid soon. if can change faster i will do it lor. cos her mind not here already...

CL

sama sama. Even when his poo is so super smelly, dunno how he can tahan and not tell us. I could smell his poo from the other side of the room! Maybe something wrong with his nose....hmmmm....

SY
I think he's used to doing things quickly and his way. And there's no one to tell him that he's being inconsiderate. Some pp are like that. High IQ and low EQ. But i would expect that you can learn alot from him if you can catch up with his pace.

SY
ha ha then hope this baby is like my Charmaine. So shy till 7 months then I know her gender. Already told gynae I dun want to know because I quite sure is a gal. Then my hb quickly ask.and gynae typed on scan I am a gal.

Mashy
Ya man. I thot the other day he says "ta bian" so he knows how to tell. But before he poo, he will quietly go to a corner and start. Can tell from his face.

My boy oso starts to pick up more mandarin as his main teacher is a native Chinese.

mashy
yeah he is very smart i feel but he needs to aritculate himself better. if i can conc on my work, i think there's a lot to learn. hee but i just not in the mood to work....

CL
really 7 months? i dun think i can take the suspense..haha

CL,
meg also does that! she goes to a corner to poo and when we look at her, she will ask us to go out or go watch tv. haha...they also know how to paiseh.

SY,
most of the time if can't tell gender early will be gal. hope yours is a gal!

my gynae was saying this pregnancy so cham, everytime fall sick..so she told me after this stop liao lah. but i still hoping for another gal after this one. so that meg will have a companion. i tink its good to have a sister.

Tracy
ha ha you should ask Meg after this didi. Ha ha like Charmaine, I just casually ask her if she wants another sibling after Aden, she wants boy or gal. She says boy leh then she is the only gal at home. ha ha

Tracy
Your gynae so weird, our governmant is encouraging us to populate Singapore while she asks you to stop. I guess it just so happened that you had one thing after another going on for you. It wasn't that bad when you had Meg right?

Chicken Little/Mashy
My boy so funny, like the boys, he won't tell us if he wants to poo. But once he poo in his diapers, he'll exclaim, "Oh no!! Poo!" while coming up to me or my helper at home to indicate he did his business in in diaper.

Just read in the news today about a satay-man got charged for molesting a 9 year old girl. My hb and I recognizes him! He's the one who sells satay at my block downstairs every other week!! Aiyoh....and to think we just bought satay from him on Tuesday! tsk tsk... what a shocker.

tracy
your sinus better? guess this pregnancy really lowered your immunity. maybe next one will be better?
i also hope for a gal! it wd be nice to have 2 gals.....

mamachan
oh dear, that is really shocking. imagine seeing a person u know in the papers over such a news.

JH will tell us if he wants to poo. or sometimes he suddenly goes quiet and the expression change, we will know he wants to poo. quite funny one.