(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
hahaha, even for staying at home to play PC games whole day long, my MIL gets paranoid when she reads news of young men who plays PC games all day long and then collapse and die on the spot. She worries over my BIL as he loves to play PC games (online ones which are even more addictive) till the wee hours in the night, even though following day have to work. His lifestyle in the past was really unhealthy, sleeping near daybreak and waking up around 1 plus 2 pm on weekends and having 2 meals. And he's terribly skinny as compared to my hb. Now I believe it's much better since he started having a gf, less time on the PC, more time for social life.

I think handheld PSP or other type of handheld games are really anti-social. I've seen my fair share during this CNY visitation. The kids just sit in one corner and don't even bother smiling and greeting any aunties/uncles that come along and still expects ang paos. When ang paos are given, they don't even bother looking you in the eye and say "Thank You". Sad to say, I suspect that some parents who allow their young kids to play these handheld games all day long so as to "shut them up" and not bother them with questions and possible misbehaviour so as there isn't too much on hand to handle. Those are my views la.

Hyperactive
Hmmm, hahaha, when my hb and I are tired out at the end of the day, and D still wants to play and run and shout...sometimes we have the fleeting thoughts if he might be too hyperactive...but D is one boy who gets excitable easily and has loads of energy to exert! We're really glad that he's been attending PG since mid-Jan, and in the afternoons after his naps, my helper will at times bring him to the play gym or to the playground below our place for him to "run off some steam" before dinner. Even on weekends, there was once I went with him to the Go-Go Bambini on a Friday afternoon and let him climb up and down in the huge explorer (with me accompanying him inside), I was knocked out at the end of the day! So perhaps it's my hb and I that are getting old and stiff all over rather that D being too hyperactive. hahaha

Hi Mommies
A bit late but Happy Lunar New Year!

SY
Poor JH, hope he’s fine

Yuki/Mashy
Re: Expensive toys
I totally agree with Mashy. My cousin used to indulge his son i.e. my nephew with expensive toys when he was young. My nephew is now in his mid twenties. He wanted to buy a car when he first started working, asked his dad to pay the down payment for him. When my cousin refused he had “cold war” with him for one whole month. In the end, my cousin got soft hearted and went to buy a Nissan Sunny for him as a surprise. Guess what, my nephew was disappointed cos he want a Lancer instead…really don’t know what to say.

Cookie
Don’t feel sad, bb does have the mood swing too…is prob one of Kyler’s bad hair day

Mashy
Is C getting better? Actually if use a ear scan thermometer, above 38 then is considered fever

Re: Behaviour in school
Tabbs, Mel also roam off to do her own things when she doesn’t feel like joining the group activities (esp those sitting down ones like story telling and phonics lesson). When the teachers try to stop her she will throw tantrum (e.g. lying down on the floor!). But the teachers said that although she refuses to sit with the group, she’s still observing what they are doing and picking up stuff. The stressful thing is everyday whoever go to pick Mel up, the teachers will “complain” about her bad behaviour and said that she will set a bad e.g. for the rest of the kids. Tell us we must instil discipline at home too
We have been trying to be firm with Mel but she can be quite an obstinate kid, have also told my mom to stop “spoiling” her…really don’t know what else we can do. But the principle is more encouraging tho, saying Mel’s still young and has been coping quite well given that she’s has only been there for 1+ month. She will slowly learn from the rest the “correct” behaviour overtime…really looking forward to the day that the teachers stop complaining about her behaviour in school.

Happy Ren Ri to all mummies. Happy New Year ( abit late but still in time hee hee)

Flo
Aden is exactly opposite in school now. I have pre-empt the teachers on what he will do like throwing himself on the floor, might hit people as he is hitting Charmaine. But he is a ANGEL in school woh. Teachers says he behave worse with us around but at school, he will join the class, no fuss at meals, can eat on his own. Even yday when hb pick him up from school, he was so excited shouting daddy daddy but when teacher ask him to pack the toys that he was playing, he packed before saying bye to everyone. But after school, Aden is still back to his normal self. Dual character.

Mashy,
How is Caeden ? Hope he is fine by now.

Expensive Toys
I agree about expensive toys. Charmaine has to earn that expensive toys which she saw on TV ads and she wants it. When we go Toysrus, if she insist on getting a toy, we will explain to her no and walk out. At times when we feel she has done a good deed, we will ask her what she wants. But most of the time she ask for food. Ha ha who will think a skinny gal like her is eating non stop.

Last year we have a bunch of kids running around with Charmaine. This year these kids are all sitting at one corner playing either PSP or gameboy. Alamak, realli no social interaction. We used to take this opportunity to sit down with the kids and talk about school and their friends but this year no more. And these bunch of kids are actually those in preschool or primary. It is a big contrast at my auntie place with old kids who are either in Uni, working or JCs. These nephews and nieces were busy playing with Aden and Charmaine. And my kids have more fun with them instead of playing with the kids of their age at hb's auntie place.

Ha ha we oso own a PSP but hb has downloaded the kids' cartoon in there so it will keep them quiet at meals outside. Ha ha it has been our savior.

If you ask Flo and Mamachan, ha ha they must have witnessed how a portable DVD player keep my kids sitting down for meals.

Tracy,SY
Personally I feel the booster seat does not realli help much and it is quite uncomfortable. During Charmaine's time, hb wanted to save space in the car, and switch her to booster from age 2.5 because she is tall. 1. she din like it. 2. It feel so fragile. In the end, we got her those buckle which can lower the safety belt then it will not cut across her neck.

sysac,
Yes you can tahan. That day Charmaine's fren step up on my new sofa and jump, I just walk up to her "hey you want to pay for my new sofa ah"

If it happen to my place, I do not need to react, my hb will go after the kid liao and pull them out. Those with oily hands will probably be seated on the floor not even on my sofa.

Flo
heehee.. I'm checking to see if there are any sprees gg round.. coz i dun hv much to buy.

cookie
dun be too sad.. i can understd how you feel.. but, we hv no choice.. at least your MIL helps out, then no need to worry abt maid abusing bb, etc. anyway, accdg to my colleague, the kids will know who's mummy when they grow up.

CL
can the colt fit 2 car seats? we are thinking of changing cars cos of that.

re ex toys
ha think i buy for myself. since i got my Wii, JH has been quite excited whenever we take it out for the guests to play. but Wii is more interactive than those handheld games i guess. at least it is multi player

JH can't sleep again cos of his cough. last night he was coughing from 1+ to 3+. poor thing. think i need to go and ask PD for strong medicine tat can knock him out.

SY
Can fit lah. Just that the 3rd person will be abit squeezy lor.

Hope JH recover soon too. Does he have phelgm ? If yes need to get the right medication to resolve that first otherwise it will sure tigger him to cough

CL,
wats the buckle which can lower the safety belt? means the child will sit like an adult? my problem is also hubby dun wanna put in 2 car seats. cos he wants me to be in between the two kids. with 2 carseats, i cfm cannot be in the back with them cos with 2 car seats on each side, can't even get inside the back liao. dunno why he cannot jus let them sit behind while i sit in front. :S

SY,
oh dear...hope JH gets well soon. Have you seen a PD for the cough? sometimes we think its the usual cough and give the same meds, but it may turn out to be another type of cough and need other meds. happened to meg once. we kept giving the usual cough med and it didn't work. brot to PD then he gave another type of med.

CL
JH has no phlegm anymore. sounds like a sensitive cough to me leh.

hee, do u think my maid can fit between 2 car seats?

Tracy
i have already seen PD 2 weeks back. the med was given by PD. then when we saw GP for his bee sting, i mentioned abt his cough again and the GP checked his lungs and it's clear. she changed his medicine then but i wonder whether the dosage she gave was too low.

how come your hb wants u to sit behind with them? hee, JH always sits alone when we dun bring the maid out. he will ask me to sit with him but i always say no.

Flo/CL
Thanks for your concern. My boy is 'up and ready to play'. Hhahaa. It's what his toy bunny says. He's well already. Just the short burst of temperature that afternoon.

Yuki

Refusing to buy a toy doesn't make you a bad mummy, in fact it makes you a good mummy. It's easier to relent than to refuse. It's tough love.

Re: Handheld games
I also agree that it's totally anti-social. Those kids I saw with the hand held games just sit in their little corner and play the game all day long. No social interaction, nothing. It's very bad coz in the world ahead of them, they will need to talk to people too. This definitely doesn't help them in their social skills.

SY
Did u try the pear drink? A feb forum mummy was told to add Ju Bing in the drink. Her gal's cough cleared within the day.

Re: Cars

I was also wondering what happens when you have 2 kids. 2 car seats? If have a maid, how to squeeze her in too? Can't change car coz we're tied down by the loan.

Just to share. Mummies with no. 2 and interested in ergo carrier
My fren tested my ergo carrier on sunday. Now she is trying to run a BP to get discount. If you are interested let me know so I can redirect you to her

CL, SY,
oh i see...but i tink meg too small for the belt now. aiya...such a dilemma. cos i'm going to use the current britax seat for the newborn cos it can be used from newborn to 18kg. i got another one like infant carrier, maybe will use dat for the newborn for first few months. anyway will hardly go out. then after my maternity leave, need to transport both to MIL every morning then will need to switch meg to something else. By then meg will be 2.5YO, hopefully grown taller and heavier. :p

Dunno why my hubby wants me to sit behind with meg. even when she's asleep in the morning on the way to MIL he wans me behind to dunno do wat. maybe now i can give excuse say the back seat cannot recline further, now preggy and my back aches so can let me sit in front? heehee...

mashy
i cooked pear with the almond before. JH refused it.

i need to change car leh cos my maid so big size....unless she sits in front..hee

CL
i dun think i will get infant car seat. i will get those convertible ones. can use from infant to toddler. thinking maybe i put JH seat in the front seat?

tracy
hee, yah lor, shd try to train them to sit by themselves... good excuse to give hb

sy

colt is a tight fit for 2 car seats.. i got a Mitsubishi colt plus.. no space for anyone else at the back if baby on each side. a skinny person can sit in the centre.

I got the grandis instead somemore the TV is a savior on long trips for tabby...

I think when you have 2 kids... maybe have to start thinking of MPV already cos otherwise no space for inlaws...

RE: ex toys
I'm not adverse to getting expensive toys but i don't think i will want to get a PSP and def not a game boy.. these are major causes of myopia!

Can you imagine play on computer all day at home, go out also cannot stop playing?

I think its hard to avoid computer games on PC cos now teaching involves computer work and certain games do improve hand eye coordination but i think everything in moderation is fine..

I wanted to get the Wii for myself though!! I guess if our children see us playing.. how to tell they can't play? Double standards right??

I have bought tabby a sunshine playhouse when it was on sale during the last toys r us sale.. so that's considered an expensive toy right? I do buy her lots of toys too, but seldom when she asks for it.. more like i go shopping i see i like, then i buy and keep for an occasion when i get so bored at home, then i'll suddenly bring out a surprise.. even her christmas presents.. i haven't opened all yet.. i like to stock up on toys during the sale so that when tabby has any birthday partys we have a ready stock to give away.

I guess nowadays, since i don't indulge myself on clothes/ accessories, i sort of buy toys/ books to sort of relieve my shopping itch!

Hi Tabb,

Haha...Myopia..... Almost forget we have an eye doctor here.

Hi Mashy,

Tough love.....i am one heartless mummy who will walk away from ashley when she threw temptrums....

Once she insist i go the other way in the shopping mall and keep pulling my hand...... i let go of her hand and told her " you can go that way and i go mine." then I walk away. When she follow me, i warn her that she should follow me and not me follow her.

Re: ON
I dun mind doing a spree for ON - I saw some stuff that I like but the problem is I don't know how to split the shipping charges equally. : ( If any mummies got standard formula then I just follow I don't mind the spree.

Flo,
Does she run around during Hi-5's story session too?

I think as they get older, they will become better. Charmaine used to run around during the sit-down activities during the first term at JG too but now she can actually sit down for the story sessions. I can also actually complete reading a short story to her.

I agree that need to instil discipline at home. I notice that charmaine's better behave at my mum's place than at my mil's place.

Re: Expensive toys
Sad to say, being the only grandchild at home, charmaine's totally spoilt by both families. She has got a car, motorbike, swing. My aunt also bought her a 400plus swing/slide playground thing at toy r us if I didn't stop her in time. I would rather bring her to the playground so that she can learn to share and take turns.

Err.. have to confess, my brother's got Wii at home and when we are at my mum's place, we played that a lot even charmaine. She loves the bowling game on wii. I think wii is more of a social game than psp and game boy.

Tracy,
I sit behind with my gal all the time cos both hubby and I felt better at least some sort of supervision. I guess if there's a maid, I will get the maid to sit behind with charmaine instead.

May,
If the pair of huggalugs is still available, could I have it pls? Charmaine loves it and it's really useful for me. In fact, I was thinking of doing anohter spree for it but the exchange rate for aussie is really high. : (
Anyone tried the jshopper version before? Is it good?

Re:Car
Mashy
I've a 5 seater and 2 child car seat. Britax and Safety first. Really left no seat behind but my helper is slim so she squeeze in between. As long as no in laws, we are still doing fine. But I miss out the time sitting behind playing with babies like when Kae was younger and alone.
If MIL need to be driven, we will have to carry #2 and put the car seat in the boot while kae remain in her seat.
we are tight on budget too.. but when time come we are considering Honda Edix cos it's a 6 seater and a BIG boot space and we really need the boot space without compromising any seating space.

SY
Can you give the mirror website again??
If you want your maid to try out if she can squeeze in bwteen, can come try in my car.
But I think.. my cerato is wider than the colt
Let me know if u wanna let you maid try on my car..

RE: Ex Toys
My hb is the one that stopped me from buying toys for Jamie.

I think I cannot resist if Jamie plead me in getting PSP or gameboy. Cos mummy here also like to play. My hb just bought me a Nintendo DS Lite last night as V'day present. Was still thinking of what to get for him.

SL,
Fairy Floss taken by CL. I reserve the LOVE design for u ok? Will u be going for the Bash on 1st March? If yes then pass u on that day.

RE: Huggalugs
Did I wear it wrongly or not? How come ur children loves it but Jamie hates it? Arm to wrist she is quite ok. But where do u pull until for legs? From ankle to knee cap or thigh?

Oh Yeah.. almost forgot to update..
Last nite I rush home without hb and manage to spend lotsa time with the kids and Kyler is a sweet boy again, really must be bad hair day for him on Monday :p..phew..I felt so happy and felt like a mum again..hahaha...
Thanks all again...for making feel good and up when I'm down down down....

Krissie
Thanks I know I have to be Thankful and I really are that MIL is helping so I dun have to worry. Tho sometimes our method are different but I know she did with best intereste.

I have ON stuff to buy too.. will join the spree if there is one(in fact I'm making my list already). MIL has bee complaining no sleeveless for #2, end up let him kaelyn one.. so girly...

yuki

that's not heartless. It's how it should be. We shouldn't be the ones to be following our kids. They should understand that they are there becoz of daddy and mummy. Not that Daddy and Mummy exist becoz of them.

cookie
wah, you'll hold #2 to make space for your MIL ah. I won't compromise on safety. Well, then again, maybe it's coz my parents and ILs have their own vehicles. My MIL wanted to squeeze into our car before 'so that the whole family can be in the same car' but i turned her down coz of car seat. My car is a City, so once i have the car seat, i can only squeeze in 1.5 pp at the back. They suggested to remove the car seat, but too bad, i'm a stubborn gal. I ever told my father to go take a taxi before when he asked us to fetch them. No space. Too bad. Hahha.

SL,

in fact i also prefer wii but good thing is that we can bring PSP out.

Sad to say taht duncan already own a game boy and now we still get him PSP.

RE: OLD NAVY
I am interested in getting too. Will it be in time by 01 March? Cos we are going to Genting on 02 March and I am interested in getting long sleeve top for Jamie.

RE: FIRST HOLIDAY
We are going Genting on 02 Mar and it will be Jamie's first "oversea" trip. Any idea what should I prepare? Am worried that I cannot get her to sit still in the coach. Will be staying in First World Hotel. Just want to see how she adopt to environment change before we go somewhere further. But I am not sure what should I prepare for her on bus, for weather change and etc.

SL
Seems like lotsa pple interested in ON. pls keep me in loop if u starting.
For shipping ocst sharing.. maybe u can check with Queen on her experience

Mashy
U are correct about the safety part.. but sometimes it is very difficult for us.
Now we are requesting them to take taxi whenever possible, as #2 is older, we have to always let him take the car seats.

May,
For me medication is one. does she sit still in car seat ? Car seat is a good choice. Then I will prepare lots of snacks, and of course portable dvd player if cartoons keep her still.

For weather, I will dress more then if not so cold then I will remove the first layer

May,
For me medication is one. does she sit still in car seat ? Car seat is a good choice. Then I will prepare lots of snacks, and of course portable dvd player if cartoons keep her still.

For weather, I will dress more then if not so cold then I will remove the first layer

CL, is it ok for the kids to watch while in a moving vehicle? I find it giddy to read while in the car myself, and I'm not sure if that's good for the eyes

.ky.

i really feel like changing my job but can't cos will have no ML...really dun like this place..
feel so stressed recently and dunno what the boss wants...

cookie
glad to hear that kyler is back to normal! at least it is just a bad hair day...

i dun think my maid can squeeze in btwn 2 car seats if u remember her size...

sl
wii is really quite fun. when JH is older, i dun mind letting him try to play some games. as long as can set the time limit on playing i think it's fine. me an hb will sometimes play when jh is asleep...heehee

ky,
may have to let tabbiesus answer that question. I think for may if it is for a trip it is ok. For me I will not allow night viewing in the car. But usually my kids tends to doze off after watching

SY,
hmm what is happening to your new job ?

CL
suddenly got things to do and really dunno what the boss wants. feel like trying to get what he wants and he wants things so fast. becos of him, this dept has seen so many resignations. i m not really in his dept but i work on his projects so i seat with his dept.

like yesterday, when i went to see him with another colleague, he asked how we arrive at the number of companies. actually he was the one who arrived at that number but i took the cue from my colleague and just kept quiet. they say no point telling him he was the one who said before. he always forget and then later ask how we arrive at it. seems like it happens all the time.

CL,
my colleagues even concluded that he got something wrong like attention deficit disorder or something like that. he can never listen to pple finish their sentence also.

like now, ask me and a colleague to come up with slides and he expect it to be done in like 15 min when we not even clear what he wants. we manage to buy time till 5.30 cos he got to go for another meeting....

may

not sure about coaches but my boy enjoyed his 1.5hr train ride in japan by looking at the scenery. So don't think you need to occupy Jamie the entire trip. Probably half the trip. Then have some toys to play with, walk on the coach a while, walking at toilet stops, snack time and nap time.

Also prepare meds, favorite toys, a book to read at night before bedtime, layer clothes.

And oh, i read reviews of First World Hotel (was considering going Genting too) and heard it's lousy and old.

hello mummies...tmr is V day. how are you guys celebrating? my hb's co is so good. treating spouse and employee for lunch date at the clubhouse. so i be gg off early and join hb in raffles place for lunch. hopefully the food is nice!

SY - oh no..ur boss sounds like those typical one u watch on tv. no nonsense type. when are u due? just hang on and count down to maternity leave. can avoid stepping on his toes..then avoid. after tat, can slowly find a better job.

may - hee..i am gg to malacca on 1st mar. medication is a must lor and bring some sweaters and socks for Jamie. she shld love the nice weather. i been to first world and i dislike the hotel. its abit crampy and the toilet is small...but then i dun think you will be in the hotel most of the time. so ok la. i think ur gal will enjoy herself in the amusement park. on the bus ride, you can bring biscuits, sticker book, story books, etc to keep her occupied.

first world hotel
i was there last dec. But this time i booked the delux room.
pretty big unlike the standard room.
Dun dare to book the standard room, experience before..to room tooo small...esp the toilet.

Brought my tiger food jar and tapao porridge for damien.

SSF,
Very nice hb hor. Ha ha dun think my hb doing anything. Ha ha he is on leave till today and going back to work. Me heading to kids's cc for lou hei session during lunch tomorrow

Babylon, SL
ha ha we were tempted to get in Japan when we saw it liao. Ha ha but never

CL
my reporting officer is not this boss but this boss is the one who will do my appraisal...

imagine how many pple left cos of him....even HR is very concerned. in 1 and half years, 3-4 directors left. usually directors dun change so fast right...

SSF
my hb sent me flowers at the office. quite sweet. i quickly went to raoul to buy something for him too.

babylon
after watching wii demo, i pestered my hb to get it for my xmas present..haha...it's really fun.

cookie
yah lor, a lot of bosses are like that but my previous boss wasn't like that. the worst part is, for this boss, u can't tell him he is the one who said it. my colleague said just keep quiet or u cannot get out of the room...