(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yuki,
My son now says no more toothache. Keep saying dun need to see dentist. I also dunno how....shld force him to go or leave it till he starts complaining again. I myself need to visit the dentist soon. So, I was tinking of bringing him along & see him he lets my dentist check his teeth.

Cookie,
How much is the PG at Lavina's?

mongs,
Not sure if you remember my post last October...
Isaac had HFMD. It started with high fever for about 1.5 days, red dots appear on his hand, foot and a few on his lower legs on the 3rd day. Ulcers also developed in the mouth on the 3rd day. Isaac had problem drinking and eating and had to be warded and put on the drip. Isaac also passed the virus to my friend's 1 10 month old boy, but my friend's boy symptoms are milder and different. He only had low grade fever, but had red spots all over his face and body and no mouth ulcers... even his PDs (my friend actually brought her boy to 2 PDs) cannot conclude for sure that he had HFMD. But can only deduce that it is most likely HFMD since he came into close contact with Isaac and was down a few days later. Different strains of HFMD may show slightly different symptoms. But generally, fever and red spots on hand & foot and ulcers in the mouth are definitely symptoms of HFMD.
The incubation period for HFMD is usually 3-7 days and id most contagious within the one week where symptoms appear. So if Clariss has come into direct contact (through saliva, nose discharge, touching the blisters) with her cousins, then she is at a high risk of getting it as well. You have to observe her... meaning, from the timeline, say her cousin show symptoms on Day 1, Clariss may be already infected, but will only show symptoms on 3 to 7 days. And if Clariss do get it (touch wood!), she is most contagious during the 7 days of illness & recovery.
If you do decide to bring Clariss home and isolate her from Clarene (and all other kids) and practice very good hygiene. Always wash your hands after handling Clariss and do not share utensils with Clariss. Do not let Clarene touch anything that Clariss may have touched. It is possible for adults to get HFMD and yet do not show any symptoms of it.

May
Wow I'm very impressed!

CL
The cupcakes are nice too. Aden's party looked fun.

Mashy
Mel needs to bring a lot of stuff (even things like her colour markers and books..arrgh). She loves to put her face in the bath water and drink it! She also likes to line up the shampoo/shower foam bottles in one neat row too. I'll sometimes blow bubbles with the bubble bath and she loves it.

SL
No prob, will bring the shoes along if I can make it for RP lunch.

Valerie
Is Kristen feeling better? My mom was wondering if you have delivered that's why Kristen didn't go to school these 2 days. Anyway, today only 2 kids turn up (including Mel), the rest are on MC. Mel also has a bit of cough.

The teacher asked my mom to leave the class after Mel settled down yesterday (she sat in for whole of last week). Initially she pretend to whine but the teachers just ignore her. She was ok after that and didn't cry. When my mom went to pick her after class, Mel was playing with Ms Rani and laughing so loudly. She didn't cry today when my mom left after the class start. Seems like she has bonded with the teachers, keeping fingers crossed.

Wendyl
Lavina programme is $350.00 for 10 weeks + $30 reg fee. She has Sat class at 445-615 or Sun calss at 9-1030am. I taking the sat class cos SUn usually need to attend church.
Oh but.. E is Dec 05 hor.. then there is another class for 2005 kids, price the same but schedule different. Think it's Sat morning and the class content also different.

CL
The cupcake looks wonderful!!
U order from where?
U actually brought Lavina to the CC to conduct a class there?

<font color="aa00aa">Speedy recover for all unwell babies!</font>

cookie,
Lavina is good, I realli like her. I order the cake from www.juzmycakes.com. Was searching all over for a eggless baker so I got her.

Ya I wanted some fun for Aden's class on his birthday. Initially was trying to get kindermusik or gymboree to go but then all not available or other gym too exp. So I tried Lavina , she actually do not do external party but she agreed to help me at a special rate of $200 for 45 mins but the kids realli had fun. Some kids do not enjoy as it is their first few days at cc then 1 juz refuse to join and sit at the side and watch, BUT I had fun except that throughout Aden clinged on to me. This is always how he react after being to cc, he will be ok alone but when he sees us he will cling and not let go.

mongs,
I bought the Ameda lactaline Dual pump from mumsfairy. Cost $320, inclusive of delivery. Din know Robinson selling. $299 is a good deal! Somemore u mentioned with free gifts.

Queen,
thanks for sharing. I don't think I read your post then. I wasn't actively reading the thread for quite sometime before my delivery. busy clearing my work.
We have decided not to bring clariss back for the time being and my hubby who goes to my MIL place everyday will wash his hands and feet once he steps. she is still going to cc. should I stop her from going or inform the cc to take note?

cookie
i m not sure how much monte kidz charge. i know one of my neighbours sends her son there.

mongs
JH also got HFMD before. lke what queen said there is an incubation period of at least 3 days. fever, red dots on palms and soles of feet are telling signs. JH also had ulcers in the mouth so he din eat much during those few days. but once he started on the medicine, he was much better.

got a major complaint. yesterday on my way home, i looked at the livecam to see what my MIL and my son was doing. to my horror, i heard her calling my SIL and telling my son to scold her 'Gugu (aunt) stupid'! how can she teach him such things? so when we reached home, the minute someone mentioned my SIL, JH started saying Gugu stupid. then when my MIL called my FIL on the phone, JH also scolded him stupid. THough i know it was my MIL who taught him that i din expose her immediately. I just scolded JH and asked who taught him that and not to say that. later i pulled my hb into the room and told him it was his mum who taught JH that. so brainless of her and fancy asking my son to scold her daughter stupid! apparently she was angry with her over something so she asked JH to scold her stupid. cant stand her. and later i asked my maid abt it and she said she was so afraid we will think ti's her who taught JH that. my MIL actually went to tell my maid not to tell us she's the one who started it. lucky i never let her take care of JH full time. imagine the nonsense he wd have picked up from her!

CL

Maybe the 3rd kid's mother look like you? Hahhaa. Or maybe coz u look so approachable.

Wah, the CC actually let u engage an external teacher? Is it for Aden's birthday party?

Re: Toothache

Your kids told u their teeth ache? my boy will cup his cheeks and go 'argh' suddenly. So not sure whether it's toothache or he bit himself.

may
me not going to the birthday bash. mayb you gv me the address, i go there myself and see what else they have. hehe....

CL
aden looked so happy!

re: playgroup
yesterday my gal finally went into the class willingly and without any cry. so happy!

re: vitamin
anyone start giving multivit and vit C to the kid? i bought multivit from kordel and vit c from vitahealth. hope that these can boost my gal's immune system and have less episodes of falling sick.

wenyl,
How's the Ameda pump? With meg I tried my SIL's Medela PIS but hated the slow process, loud sound and heavy heavy bag. So I relied on Avent manual throughout. Now thinking whether I should get the Ameda...Can share your views on it? Thanks!

Mashy
Yup cc agreed and it is for Aden's birthday. And if there is any class i feel good for my kids, I can propose they will review and it is good they will ask around other parents. If response good, then can engage them in too. So far they are the one bringing charmaine to most of the dramas and concerts so I dun have to pay my own adult ticket to go. Hee Hee.

They sometimes have Tuina course too so they will do the nanny service while parents go for the course

Sunny and Mashy
So envy that your kids are going to class willingly. Aden will cry the heart out. But today I walk from door to the back to peep and I saw him stop crying and juz clinging on to the teacher.

Mong,
I will keep clariss at home if I were you. Juz in case. And outbreak in cc is quite easy because there are so many kids. The last time there is a outbreak in Charmaine cc , I kept her at home.

Tracy,

You can actually go to BMSG to try out the Ameda. : )

Hmmm.. I was and still am quite happy with my PIS although it's loud, the bag is heavy plus very expensive but it's really efficient and it really helped me tbf charmaine. Till now, she's still on at least 1 feed of BM plus nursing. So I guess no complaints for now.

CL,
You mean can get the Chinese teacher to do enrichment? Hmmm.... Can pm me more details? Cos the timing for Lavina's class is not good for us. That's why a few of my frens and I are toying with the idea of doing our own playgroup. One of my frens just got the kindermusik cert. Would be good if we can get her to do the Chinese portion....

Flo,
Thanks. Paiseh to leave the shoes with you for so long.... How's Melody now? I heard that there are a lot of sick kids around these few weeks so take care.

SY,
My mil taught my daughter that if daddy beats her, she can tell mama and mama will beat daddy. Bet that your mil cannot win that....

CL

Think Aden just needs some time to get used to it. Yesterday, the school gave me a magazine which had an article on separation anxiety. It said that it's normal &amp; healthy to have separation anxiety and it shows that the parents and kid has a very close relationship. But the children will eventually learn that there are times when they will have to go abt without their parents.

SY/sl
The other night when I was having lessons and my MIL came unexpectedly for dinner without tellin us in advance so can prepare extra food and rice for her share. Heard from my helper that after dinner, my MIL slapped my hb's thigh quite hard and loud and my hb was going "ow ow ow" and D saw the whole thing and laughed!!! He thought it was funny. So seeing how happy D was, my MIL repeated again on my hb. So much so that D, thinking it was fun, went to hit my hb too. At that point of time, my hb didn't think and indulge D by pretending it was painful and making him laugh harder.

So when my mom came to visit and play with D, he went to hit my mom's thigh in front of me, and of course he added in his cheeky laugh. Of course I scolded D and tell him that he cannot hit people for no reason and laugh, that it's not funny at all. D got really upset and sat in one corner and cried (his way of throwing tantrums when he feels 'wronged'). That same day, I asked my hb if he taught D to hit people's thighs when I was having lessons coz he was doing it to my mom, of course he said "No"......thinking about it made me annoyed.

CL
Think Aden will soon adapt well to CC bah. D also starting to settle in CC le. My hb told me this morning there was minimal crying during the handover and he just followed his teacher in and his mood on the way to school was quite good.

sunny,

clariss has been taken natural nordic's fish oil and goat's milk calcium tablet. the goat's milk calcium tablet is taken for fun. she doesn't like the fish oil so my MIL will give her the milk tablet to suck after the fish oil. she tells her that "it's a sweet". she likes milk a lot so the taste is very nice to her. didn't think of multivit. think won't give her at the moment. thought fish oil will be better at boosting immune system.

Re: Imitation

Our kids really learn very fast nowadays and we've to be careful abt what we teach them.

Over the weekend, my boy was clucking away with his tongue. I wondered what made him do that. He woke up doing that and went everywhere doing that. Then today I found out from his teacher that they were learning to make sounds from their body parts and that's what he learnt and had been practising at home!

CL
i think my gal can pass the crying phase fast partly also because my mil is the one who sends her to school. i dare not try sending my gal myself though mil told me that she willing to go to class herself now. 'cos she's really sticky to me.

mamachan
sometimes when i beat my hb for fun, my gal will said, 'mama beat papa.' but i told her the reason i beat daddy.
for D, mayb you wanna explain to him instead of scolding him? 'cos he's still so young and i doubt that he really understands the reason of beating and always relates it to playing 'cos your hb played with him by repeating the action?

mongs
where did you get the goat milk calcium tablet? my mil gv my gal a glass of goat milk everyday.
for fish oil, we can't take 'cos we are vegetarian. so, when i saw that the multi vitamine can be taken after 2 yo, i just bought it and let my gal take it.

Hi CL,
I'm Lucida, the one who got the chinese book from you. Can you PM me the number of Yunma again? Would like to check with her on the chinese classes. Thank you!

is anyone ordering sambucol again? it is very good.. elijah's health got better... I was thinking of ordering a few more..

rena, re: Lucky Vitamin spree (vitamins/sambucol/non-bulky, lightweight items only)
I'm thinking of getting more sambucols and other vitamins from luckyvitamins too. I'll organise the spree. Please PM/email me your orders. I'm limiting the orders to non-bulky items (sorry, no shampoos/conditioners) to save on shipping cuz shipping costs have increased.

SL, re: winter clothings
I think you're the one who passed me some winter clothings? Can I pass them to CL so that she can return u during the bash?

My son has this funny thing about holding hands... Daddy cannot hold mummy's hand... funny.. every time he tried to hold my hand my son will get angry and try to break our hands free then he will hold my hand instead... funny hor

sunny,
Oh, forget that you are vegetarian and so is your gal. So is your gal cc aware of it?
I have a gf who is also a vegetarian and she is giving birth to her 2nd daughter soon. was wondering what to buy for her coz she can't take chicken essence. what would u suggest?
I have 6-7 boxes of chicken essences from colleagues and relatives who visited me. don't know how to finish them.

I really don't know where they got the goat milk tablet from. I will ask my MIL.

Rena

Maybe he's jealous of your hb? Hahhaa. When I ask my boy to kiss me, he will kiss his daddy as well. To be fair. hahaha. He likes to hold both our hands. U know the typical family ad where the kid is in the centre with the parents on each side?

jus heard from my MIL that my niece fever is caused by throat infection which she gotten from my SIL, the PD says that 80% is not going to be HFMD but still need to observe. likelihood of Clariss getting HFMD from my niece is quite low. so relief to hear that. I was still thinking if I should cancel the full month celebration for Clarene if Clariss really gets it. now I think we will go ahead even if Clariss gets HFMD. just have to put her at my MIL while the party is happening.

CL,
I see. maybe after she finish the natural nordic, will change to scotts emulsion. I find the cod fish smell quite strong. was afraid that she will reject that. that's why started with natural nordic.

sl, may, mamachan
what i cannot stand is abt my MIL is that she taught him to scold someone just becos she's not happy with that someone. ridiculous lor.

sl, my MIL is the same as yours. got one time, my hb was playing with JH and he poked his head for fun using his finger. so JH gave a pitiful look and my MIL immediately said Papa naughty, nai nai beat him. and she will tell JH things like if Papa scold him, she will beat Papa. silly right. and she told him if any kids beat him in school, tell her and she will go and beat them back....

i dunno how these pple think man...

SY

wah, your MIL is advocating 'an eye for an eye'. Teaching violence orh.

My boy has been beating his own hand when he's naughty. I hope he doesn't go ard being self righteous and beat other pp.

My MIL said that whatever u teach them now, they'll bring it to the school. Like if u beat your kid with your hand or ruler, he will do the same thing to others in school. I can only hope my boy doesn't do that to his friends. Parenting is such a complicated thing. How come the kids don't come with a manual? sigh.

Mashy
Yup parenting is realli complicated. When you cane or beat the child, she might think that so wrong must beat. So when she goes to school, she see someone did something wrong so have to beat lah, she will beat man.

mong
for your friend, you can buy the tonic drink called 'hui ji bu yao jing' from NTUC. it's in red box. Currently, there's promotion going on, selling at around $40 for 700ml bottle.
i am going to take this tonic drink during my confinement period.

told the playgroup teacher already. during snack time, they would only gv the kids biscuits/bread. but, we still bring the bread and ask the teacher to gv to my gal.

rena
wow.... your boy is jealous of daddy har? haha...

mashy
yeah, i always tell my hb cannot beat him or he will learn it next time but he doesn't listen to me. sometimes JH will beat us also....

BEATING

Hubby and i sometimes playfully slap each other on the thighs and sometimes i pretend to cry.... My gals will come and protect me and 'sayang' me while both eyes watching daddy in case he hits again........

Sometimes i also wonder if i did the right thing by pretending to cry..... dun want them to have the concept that daddy can hit mummy or daddy is hitting mummy.......... so confusing right?

Hi Mashy,

Ya man, they dun come with manual!

Flo, haha, no, haven't give birth yet, though it's going to be anytime after this week. Wah, only 2 went on Mon. Heard from Ms Rani that even the morning classes are also affected. Think really have a bug going on. Sometimes, Kirsten will share food with other kids after being familiar with them already, so I think chances of her falling sick is quite high. Wow, Mel settles pretty fast! I think Kirsten could have been the same if not for this bug. My neighbour's girl got it very badly, became a lung infection and has to be hospitalised since Mon night.

Mashy
I dun. But my hb does. So very confusing for them too. Sure have impact one. When Aden sees Charmaine being scolded , he will go beat her. So he has associated doing something wrong means beat beat.

Then I have to punish Aden but I cannot beat him. Then if Charmaine beat Aden, I oso have to tell her off but cannot beat her. If beat her/ him, then they probably will think " you oso what !"

Tracy,
I din use PIS b4 so I cant comment on that. But I know many find the yield very good. But too ex for me to buy &amp; try la.

So far, I have no complains with the Ameda dual pump. Its lightweight for sure. Easy to wash cos very minimal contact with the BM. Only the funnel and the rubber piece touches the BM. The tubing stays dry. I find the noise comparable to the Medela hospital grade pump I used in Mt A during my stay. Its definitely milder than my Medela mini electric pump. Tat one sounds like a lawn mower! My yield is more this time as compared to during Ethan's time. Takes me abt 15-20mins to pump abt 140-220ml each time, depending on the intervals. Only think u probably need to take note is the rubber pc. It can be abit filmsy. My maid just tore one while washing. She is quite chor lor lah!

I tink Moms In mind does rental for the set for u to try. U can check out this weblink http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html. Rent is $120 with $100 as deposit. So its only $20 for rent for 3 days. Hope this info helps.

SY / sl,
I can't believe your MILs! What a thing to teach your todds. I dunno whether my MIL tells Isaac such non-sensical things about beating... so far I haven't heard any, though she certainly had said plenty of other nonsence. MILs (and our mums) are really of different generation!

Mongs,
Glad to hear that Clariss is not likely to get HFMD. Very tough on us and our todds when they contract viruses like these.

Re. Nordic naturals &amp; Cod liver oil
My Isaac hates it and I still have an unopened bottle at home! I think he doesn't like the fishy smell and oil texture. Is there a better smelling cod liver oil in the market other than Scotts emulsion?

Re. Beating
Isaac will also imitate me and HB when we beat each other playfully. I think he knows it's playfulness? He only imitates when he sees me and HB beating each other. I don't think he associates beating with punishment. He'll bang his hand on the table when he's angry though, does that count?

Re. caning
Since we are on the subject of beating... Isaac has never been caned before. I have used the balloon stick to smack his hand only twice and that was quite some time back. Even then, it's not like a real hard smack. Other times, I just use my hands to smack his hands and legs. Me and HB have never been angry enough to think of caning, even when Isaac throw tantrums. I wonder whether we are too lenient sometimes and spoiling Isaac.

Hi ChickenLittle

I happent o stumble upon this thread, may i know which watson did u buy the Kanyu drop? I have one tin given by my ex-boss fr Japan, he gave my son to try. But i can't find in SG. Is it those watson with phamacy counter?

hi mommies

so exhausted.. tabby's got a runny nose again.. sigh.. from childcare.. she just got better from the previous bout.. almost every few weeks she'll fall sick.. sigh.. dunno how like that.. this time she got a block nose so can't sleep well at night and she's moody... although no fever at all.. plus she and didi waking up alternative every hour makes me so tired during the day.. hope she builds up her immunity soon. She's already on vit C and sambucol.. she doesn't like the nordic fish oil.

Her baby bugs are quite powerful cos daddy is still coughing his lungs out since christmas.. i've recovered my voice but seem to have kena her runny nose again so looks like our whole family will have to be on multivits soon!

RE: beating
i will occasionally smack tabby's hand but my mom doesn't beat tabby, her daddy does so sometimes a little too hard for my liking. My hb is the type that has a stern face and loud scary voice when he's stern so its quite frightening for tabby (and me!) if he gets angry.

We got her the karen katz book on manners which says you can't beat mommy, you can beat a drum so when she playfully hits me (yes she thinks its funny) i will straight away look at her and tell her she made me sad and she can't beat me, only can hit a drum.. then she will immediately say sorry and pretend to hit a drum instead... I think she gets the concept but thinks it harmless unless reminded that she's not supposed to do that. I guess we have to be consistent in this...

I_bless,
I saw it at watson lot one so I assume all watson has. I usually get it from my GP same price at $28.

Queen
I thot using hand to smack hor somethings it is difficult to control that strength your exert. Ha ha i thot that hand is for sayang, cane is for punishment. For me I start to send charmaine to her room and switch off the mains for the TV inside. so she has nothing to do but just sit there and relent. Usually initially, I can hear her complaining aloud like she has not done anything wrong etc. But when it takes too long, it will be silent inside, then either hb or me will walk in to talk to her till she understand she is wrong. Hb still uses canes, and it is quite hard and I will hide in another room very scare to hear and yet cannot interrupt