(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
i also went to The Private suite. less queue but the queue to pay still quite long. i thought weekdays shd be better?

which doc are u seeing? i know my gynae got clinic at AMK.

flo,
i did wonder whether it is cos he is teething when he spits out food. usually i will try to guage whether it is just for fun or not. cos recently he likes to stick out his tongue for fun. when we dun ask him to open his mouth, he won't spit out but once we ask him to open mouth, he will start to spit out for fun.

Tabbs,
re: Circumcision
No, it's not common here and not necessary, I feel. Unless it's for medical reasons like excessive foreskin. Correct me if I'm wrong: the foreskin protects the top of the penis, as well as aids masturbation/penetration. I don't think I wanna deprive my sons of the simple pleasure of masturbation lor.

Keenan is down with flu virus.. think he caught it off Ethan when he had stomach flu 2 weeks back. Haiz.. now must keep sponging him down and mornitoring his fever... here comes sleepless nights again...

o yes, btw should my SIL go for a cicken pox jab now that she is preggers and her son is having it?

Sharon
Haha! Really so qiao! Except you and hb went 2 days ahead of us. Kekekeke. Oh well, Daren have not been sleeping well due to congested nose and coughing in his sleep. But today his cough is much better, frequency is lesser, but once he starts coughing can hear the phlegm all stuck in his chest/throat.

SY
I collect the Enfagrow from you on this Wednesday before I hit Plaza Sing to meet rachel and cheng? Will sms you again. Do let me know if you have any meeting on so that I won't impose on you at the wrong timing.

Circumcision
Tabby, I actually did think of getting it done for Daren when he's an infant. But never got round to doing it as no one in my family did it. My hb is quite particular about hygiene, so I tasked him to be the one to teach Daren how to keep the foreskin area clean or maybe wait till he's older than get it done. Think have to ask the specialists at KKH?

FLorence
Yes, Daren has put on quite abit of weight since I've withdrawn him from IFC. He's about 12.3 - 12.5kg now. I upgraded my package with Joycelyn to a family package instead =) My hb was quite keen on the idea too since joycelyn also offered our thread a special package.

Denmy
Oh no!! Your SIL should be isolated away from her boy whose having the chicken pox now. I don't think she can be vaccinated against chicken pox now. Think Tracy mentioned before she has to wait a few months till after her chicken-pox vaccination is over before TTC.

Erm, dun mean to be a pessimist here but my aunt when preggers with her 4th child, coz back then my uncle and family all had chicken pox, my aunt caught it and strangely, her water-bag burst and my cousin was born premature at exactly 7 months. She was kept in the isolation ward in the hospital as she's deemed infectious with chicken pox. The doctors back then attributed this to the chicken-pox. Maybe Tabbiesus would like to share her medical point of view? In the meantime, better advise your SIL to play it safe, especially if she's in her 2nd trimester.

mamachan
no prob. just sms me. wed is my submission deadline at 12 noon so after that will be free

denmy
i dun think your SIL can take the chicken pox jab...she shd consult doc.

poor keenan, hope he gets well soon. u must take care too and not fall sick cos u giving birth soon!

need a reply for those who have not indicated their preference, thanks!

RE: MY GYM TRIAL

Hey mommies who have signed up, finally got hold of Jasmine, the date that I've proposed is ok, however, there are already about 10 pax in the class, so plus us, will be 25 to 26. Jasmine mentioned that with a very large class, it is still doable, but we won't have the maximum fun. So, she has opened a new empty time slot for us, which is 12:30pm on the same date. Is everyone ok with that? Please indicate whether you are ok, or you wanna stick to the 2:30pm slot. if so, then we will probably split the class, thanks!

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Proposed Date: 28th April, Saturday
Time : 12:30pm (new slot)or 2:30pm (existing class with 10 pax already)
Duration : 45 min

Please indicate whether 12:30pm is ok, or you want to stick to 2:30pm
1) sleepingdeer - 12:30pm
2) chicken little - 12.30pm
3) sl - 12:30pm
4) May Wong - 12:30pm
5) Sysac - 12.30pm
6) Flo - 12.30pm
7) Linda -12.30pm
8) Tabbiesus - 12.30pm
9) Rena - 2.30pm
10)mashybrainz - 2.30pm
11)wenyl - 2.30pm preferred
12)durianlover
13)Clare - Both ok
14)sunny - 230pm
15) Cookie
16) Krissie

Hi morning mummies.... :)

Juz a thought....

Do u'al think we should apply for one day leave, n organise a 'high-tea' gathering for mummies only? perhaps we can do it after november? or anytime b4 mummies here r due for delivery... :)

Juz thinking of taking some time together without bbies..... :p

Hi Eshmummy,

why not join us for RP mummies lunch? Hi tea is also a good idea, but the RP mummies lunch are quite good too as no babies around and its during normal working hours.

Denmy

She can't get her chicken pox jab when she's pregnant. Chicken pox causes alot of defects in babies in utero.

She should be isolated from her child if she hasn't had it before... there are risks of deformities and still births. So, mamachan, your cousins prem birth could have been triggered by it. And your family, shouldn't go near her also, even if you are immune. Otherwise scared your baby will get it after delivery.

RE: circumcision
I guess its a guy thing.. they either have it done early or not and my hubby wants it done for his son maybe its a HK thingy, cos i don't think any guy in his teens will agree to have it done unless he had no choice.. kekeke...

RE: waiting at a govt hospital
hehe.. i agree with you.. that's why even i don't go there for follow up...

Mommies
Share something funny with ya!
Last nite i was trying to put tabby to sleep and recently i got a small sofa bed for toddlers and tabby likes to lie on it sometimes for fun.. so i put it next to her cot and told her "next time, de de will sleep in the cot and tabby will sleep here and mommy will sleep on the bed. So tonight you sleep on the sofa bed ok?" Then, i put a pillow on the bed and asked her to lie down and then hubby switched off the light... suddenly she got up and said really loud.. "WHY?"

Me and hubby just burst out laughing and carried her back to our bed.. i don't think she knows what she said but her baby talk was so clear and she just said this one word and the right time... I couldn't help but laugh!

Denmy,
Your SIl should not take the chickenpox vacc now. Best is to isolate herself from them till they fully recover. Taking the jab is actually introducing a small amount of the live virus into you to let your body build the antibodies. The amount is small so it will not infect others. But taking the jab will only cover you 98% against the virus, not 100%. Jus sharing what i learn from the GP when taking my jab.

Hi Mamachan,

Ha Ha, everytime i see people roller blade, i am full of envy! Actually wanted to pick up the sports, bought the blades, the protection pads etc, full gear..... and only to get preggy with Ashley two months later and had since stop. I think now the blades and gear has grown mouldy in my storeroom!

Actually i find those places near the eatery like Mac etc are always crowded. Those not too crowded are usually those without faccilities which may not be convenient for mummies and babies.

Hey, i just saw this morning there is a spot about 500m away from Mac........ N parks is putting carpet grass on it! That would be a good spot for picnic but i guess have to 'chop' the palce early!

Hi Flo,

Yes Megan is quite aggressive. Ha Ha. If i can make it for any of the gathering, you can see. Ha Ha.

SY
I think it could be teething or maybe exploring their tongue cos Mel does that too. She also uses her fingers to rub her gum/tongue (3 of her molars are coming out at the same time!) to the extent that she'll regurgitate her milk sometime. I guess maybe becos is uncomfortable.

Denmy
Oh hope Keenan's flu is not too serious. Get your maid to take care of him and you rest well since you are going to pop anytime soon. Also your SIL can't take chicken pox vaccine now that she's preggy.

Came across this article....juz to share....

Love Your Mother-in-Law

I never forget a face, But, in my mother-in-laws case I'm willing to make an exception.

A husband and wife who were at cold war with each other, were driving along a quiet stretch along Mandai Road when they came across a bunch of monkeys by the roadside. Gleefully, the husband said: Your relatives! Without skipping a beat, his wife replied: Yep my in-laws!

Jokes about in-laws especially mothers-in-law are plentiful. But, if you care to make the effort to get along with your in-laws and come to accept them as part of your extended family, the benefits are immeasurable. You get to enjoy the love, support, and more, from both sides of the family.

If you alienate your parents-in-law, you are depriving your children of the joy of having grandparents who will love them to pieces - often, even spoiling them. Those of us adults who are or were close to our grandparents have nothing but the fondest memories of them.
Sometimes, friction occurs when in-laws intervene because they want to help their child and their child's family, but in healthy relationships - they also understand that couples have to make their own mistakes and recover from them. (Kinda not true.. :p.)

On your part, if you try and understand that they have your best interests at heart even when you dont totally agree with them. Agreement is not necessary, but respect and understanding are. When it comes to listening to their advice, there is nothing wrong with it. What you choose to do with it is up to you and your spouse.

Tips on getting along with your in-laws:

Make an effort to get to know more about your in-laws, their lifestyle, and what they consider to be acceptable behaviour.

Stay in contact by visiting or calling them regularly. Gifts and outings are simple ways of showing your love and care for them.

Dont make statements about your in-laws, such as You are just like your mother, so stingy!
Agree with your spouse on the amount (and limit) of time and money you give to each others parents. Reassess your agreement from time to time as the needs and abilities of your parents/ parents-in-laws change with age and circumstances.

Treat each others parents as fairly as possible.

Find mutually acceptable ways for each others parents to have time with your children.

Recognise that their intentions are good although their ways of doing things may be unacceptable to you. Grant them the right to be involved with their grandchildren.

Turn a deaf ear to remarks which are negative. Remember, that we too from time-to-time are also guilty of saying hurtful things.

Esh_mummy

Nice article. Good idea for the high tea too ha ha but with or without kid leh ? I went to a high tea recently and saw some mummies with kids, very busy feeding and chit chatting lor.

Tabbi
I am realli impressed with your gal. My hb was just telling me yday, he feels that other babies in this thread are realli toddler but Aden is still like a big baby. The only thing is he grows well in size. Ha ha

Denmy
Try to let maid look after your little Keenan. Sorry but avoid visiting your nephew too. My nanny's whole family got the chicken pox during her confinement for the youngest boy and the baby oso contracted which could be life threatening as per her.

Mamachan
Thanks for checking out the kiosk for our May day cycling. Think it will be very crowded on that day. Looks like another big event of Jan thread.

May
I salute you for being patient with your in laws. Glad this weekend is over. By the way, your hb has any advice on getting rid of lizard within the house since he is with pest control ?

denmy,
u are so funnie on the part about not wanting to deprive ur sons the simple pleasure of masturbation!! so funnie but yet so true!! hahaha!!

wenyl,
i tried giving edgar the si-sen powder but it doesn't help. think edgar can just survive on air.

flo, don't think it's a passing phase for edgar. coz he has been rejecting his food for the longest time. can u imagine his lunch time is around 1pm and by 7pm, which is his usual dinner time, he's still not hungry and reject his food. most babies will have screamed for milk or food by mid noon already. but since edgar doesn't drink milk anymore, we stopped giving him. so it's only 3 meals for him, breakfast,lunch and dinner.

tabbie,
ur daughter is so funnie!! couldn't help laughing when reading ur account! :p

need some help:
i know some of u mums here are very familiar with central japan. I'm thinking of bringing edgar there in jun/jul. but i don't think i want to join the tour coz of edgar. so i need some help in planning out the itinierary. can someone help me here? i need advice on where to stay and where to go and how to get there. We're looking at about 5-7days trip. TIA!

tabbiesus
Thanks for your insight on the chicken-pox during pregnancy =) Yah, the doctors back then confirmed that it was the pox that caused my aunt's water-bag to burst.

Tracy
Oh didn't know for chicken-pox vaccines, they use the live culture. Coz normally vaccines, they use the inactivated-virus/bacteria, which means the virus cannot replicate in the body to cause the infection but has the properties enough to trigger and stimulate antibodies production against what you're vaccinated for.

Yuki
Haha. Really? Maybe now it's a good time to pick up blading again =) IN fact, before I confirmed my pregnancy with Daren, I went roller-blading. I suspected I might be coz we TTC during my ovulation period...kekeke Thank God I didn't fall or trip during my blading session.

Esh-Mummy
Haha. Good Sharing on PILs.

Long time since I last posted. I've been reading, but can't catch up with all the posts. Hv been busy doing research for our F&E trip to Perth. Anyone has anything to share abt Perth? Sorry for the delay in replying.

Esh,
It's a nice story but dun think it will change my views of my MIL. hehe.. but no matter what I am grateful that she had give birth to my hubby that is really impt to me now.

I had try ways and means to give in and accomodate her but things seems to turn out differently. She tried to interfere too much and loves to control us.

need a reply for those who have not indicated their preference, thanks!

RE: MY GYM TRIAL

Hey mommies who have signed up, finally got hold of Jasmine, the date that I've proposed is ok, however, there are already about 10 pax in the class, so plus us, will be 25 to 26. Jasmine mentioned that with a very large class, it is still doable, but we won't have the maximum fun. So, she has opened a new empty time slot for us, which is 12:30pm on the same date. Is everyone ok with that? Please indicate whether you are ok, or you wanna stick to the 2:30pm slot. if so, then we will probably split the class, thanks!

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Proposed Date: 28th April, Saturday
Time : 12:30pm (new slot)or 2:30pm (existing class with 10 pax already)
Duration : 45 min

Please indicate whether 12:30pm is ok, or you want to stick to 2:30pm
1) sleepingdeer - 12:30pm
2) chicken little - 12.30pm
3) sl - 12:30pm
4) May Wong - 12:30pm
5) Sysac - 12.30pm
6) Flo - 12.30pm
7) Linda -12.30pm
8) Tabbiesus - 12.30pm
9) Rena - 2.30pm
10)mashybrainz - 2.30pm
11)wenyl - 2.30pm preferred
12)durianlover
13)Clare - Both ok
14)sunny - 230pm
15) Cookie
16) Krissie - prefer 2.30pm (12+ is Ger's lunch time)

Was wondering, mummies who chose the 12.30 session, do you intend to feed bb before or after the class.

Sleepingdeer
how long is the class?

Aileen and other mommies
RE: eating
I was thinking of giving my tabby some vitamin drops with lysine, its supposed to help with their appetite... have you considered or tried this?

RE: babbling
I think tabby took after me cos i started talking early, according to my mom i could talk simple sentences by 18months. And, according to my husband.. i can't seem to stop babbling even now.. kekeke...

Krissie
Initially i wanted to take tabby for the 2.30 class but i think i will try the earlier class becos for one less kids and i think its better for her to run around after her nap and not on a full stomach so i'll feed her after the class.. anyways, food isn't a big thing for my girl.. maybe will give her some milk 1 hour before class so she can last longer...I don't think the class will be longer than 45 min or 1 hour.

Krissie,
I choose 12.30pm bcos Jamie's lunch is normally around 12. So I will feed her at 11.30am that day so by then it will be ok to run about. 2.30pm is near to her nap time and I worry that she will not be interested in any other thing. The lesson will be 45min or might drag slightly to 1hr.

May,

Hee hee, of course i know... it's only applicable to 'eh zi dong' pils... keke
Those 'buay zi dong' ones... no article is applicable.... :p

Aileen
RE: eating
Do you still grab Edgar by his chin and force him to open his mouth? Maybe that is causing him to reject food even more. Do you cook the porridge with chicken/meat stock? If yes, maybe u can add some huai san in it, supposedly to kai wei.

Tabbiesus
Tabby is so smart. Maybe she really understands what you are telling her and is into her "why" phase oredi

Aileen,

Dun worry Edgar is not alone can survive with air...damien is also practising that..
I have cut down his meal from 5 meals to 4 meals.
7am - 5 oz of milk (if he did not want to take it..i will added cereal ..and spoon feed him)
11am - porridge
3pm - porridge
8pm - 05 oz of milk (if he did not want to take it..i will added cereal ..and spoon feed him)

Feeding him really need to take a lot of effort to pacify him to eat...how i wish he is like other bb that are taking 8oz of milk.

Yuki, I was at Animal Resort on Sunday; they are still doing renov ya? I didn't know can catch longang fishing but pond looks quite in a bad shape. There's a Mushroom farm which is on the same road which hubby wanted to visit. We were given a 5-min tour of the growing house; go on the hour if you want to catch the tour. The mushrooms smell very nice and we bought tons home. We love farms, any more to recommend? We got this herbs farm on our to-do list; that's in Yishun though.

Re : Explorer Kid
I'm warned that it gets super crowded on weekends with kids and parents. There's one at Toa Payoh Safra but only kids are allowed. Nothing much for 1-yr old toddlers. There's another at Yishun; that's a 3-storey structure.

Ferber Method (aka controlled crying method)
I've executed this more than 1 week ago and Keith's still crying *sigh*. He'll cry abt 5 mins when I put him down, that's ok, but at 12 midnight, another round, so I nurse him, then 3.30am, another round which I refuse to nurse, and that can last for an hr, and he'll start again at 5.30-6am.... I'm wondering if I should nurse him at night at all, cos that's causing the confusion that sometimes he gets it and sometimes don't and being very stubborn, he'll keep on crying. How?

Re : lysine
Tabbiesus, is tabby's appetite very poor? I knew of a mother trying all sorts of method to feed her girl coz sometimes she'll vomit when she eats well or can feed for 2 hrs a bottle of milk. And she tried Lysine. Can't comment much on how good it is.

Cod Liver : I've started Keith on Cod Liver (the original one). Don't know why but all the babies all LOVE it. They simply just open their mouth and lick the spoon clean. I find the taste yucky.

May, did I see u in Gymboree at harbourfront?

.ky.

Mamachan,
According to the GP, they use live culture for Chickenpox jab. In fact after the first jab, I had very very slight appearance of the spots. And I also felt terrible after the jab! Sore throat, feverish.

krissie
I've been to Perth before. Lovely place. I went on self-drive with my hb and mum. You can go to the famous Fremantle in Perth, for the lovely Fish n Chips and yummy Clam Chowder at Cisserello (I think tat's how they spell it). Fremantle markets are only opened on weekends i.e. Sat/Sun, so maybe you can plan one day at Fremantle on a Saturday to explore the E-Shed markets. They have a few coffee places too, so can take a walk about.

Swan Valley is a nice place to drive down to. Think they have a Margaret River chocolate factory branch there and lots of wineries to visit. Also the Whiteman Park (think there's a zoo there if I'm not wrong.

Perth City Centre is a great place to go. Thursdays are considered their extended shopping hours day so you can visit the centre at night. Kings Park is a nice place to RnR for picnics. Habourtown is another great place for shopping, they have their so-called factory outlets located there including Nike and their local brands like sportsgirl, jeans-west, etc etc.

If you are there for slightly more than a week, you can take a drive down south towards Albany(if self-driving).

Ky

Have you figured out why keith is crying at nite? Is it cos he wants milk or just wants to feel u nearby, cos nowadays, tabby will cry out and if she cannot reach out and feel me next to her.. she will cry out non stop.. if she can feel me next to her she will caress my arm for awhile and go back to sleep. She does this with her eyes closed so i think it slightly subconcious. I think its their separation anxiety kicking in. If you can, you get your hubby to attend to keith for a few nites, then maybe he will kick the habit.

Hey, i love cod liver oil the original one.. it tastes yummy! I haven't started tabby on it yet though...

I heard some kids are responsive to lysine so was thinking of trying.. tabby eats ok, not a lot and she's not the type that opens her mouth to all food.. in fact, like aileen's edgar.. sometimes the first mouthful she will struggle like we're trying to poison her.. even when i'm trying to feed her something "yummy" like icecream, chocolate.. things that other babies seem to lurve.. she will poooi it out.. can you imagine.. my girl hates chocolate.. i've tried giving her so many times.. so strange considering i love it but it maybe reflective cos when i was preggers with tabby, i was off chocolate.. couldn't stand it.. so maybe its just her tastes.. i think she prefers savoury foods... we don't really force her to eat cos she's growing alright but i think she's more interested in adult food and playing with food then really eating it. Its just frustrating feeding her at meal times outside cos she'll wail and wail and it takes forever.

I think must ask linda re: vitamins cos she was giving gracie some vitamins from young...

krissie,
I've been to perth with my company twice so far and for both trips we did self-drive, booked our own accommodations etc. Beautiful place.

In Perth city, we tried staying at Mounts Bay apartments (not bad for small family) and Perth City Hotel. Although Perth City Hotel is convenient, room wise is like budget hotel. I prefer Mounts but its about 15mins walk to the shopping area. Shopping is quite nice there!

http://www.discoverwest.com.au/hote...rtment-hotel-apartments-hotel-perth-6051.html

Must visit is Fremantle, for its Fish&Chips and weekend market. We didn't stay at Fremantle, it was just stop by. We also stopped by small towns like Bunbury, Busselton. The Busselton Jetty is nice but can be very very cold in the mornings.

We drove down to Albany too, about half a day's drive but its worth visiting. Must stay at least 2nights there to visit The Gap, The Natural Bridge, Blow-holes etc. Their website is great...even helps you book accommodations. http://www.albanytourist.com.au/visitalbany.asp

We stayed one night at Margaret River at the farm too. Quite a nice place. Visit their web at www.sunflowersfarm.com

Most of the time we take a night flight there, and spend about 5days, which includes Albany. Rather tight schedule but with proper planning, its ok.

Krissie
All preggie mummies trying to get out before delivery. Just like me previously went to Japan at 32 weeks ha ha. Let me know what you need to know because my sister is residing in Perth now.

Aileen
I will put down a list of where you can visit in Japan. You know there is a Thomas Train land where you realli can go on board the thomas Train. Disneyland and disneysea is like 2 days liao. Sanrio land probably not of interest to Edgar.

Ya forcing Edgar to eat will make him detest food leh. Hmm you may like to use toy to teach him how to cook, let him play scooping of the porridge into his bowl and see if he will have more interest.

tabby,
don't think i'll let him take the vitamins, coz i foresee that itself is going to be a huge challenge! :p

flo, ya we are still using that method if he keeps turning his head left and right. i can't think of a better way to make him eat. we used to give him hwai san but we stopped coz we didn't see any improvements.

babylon,
at least ur boy still drinks milk, mine only drinks water and still gotta coax somemore. faintz!

tabby,
i hope our next bb will be an easy baby. most pple say that's the case; when u have a tough one for the first, the next one will be easy. i certainly hope that's true!! :p

CL,
thanks for the list in advance! ya i know forcing him will make it worst. but it's always only the first mouth, once we get that in, he's ok already. we usually also give him a toy to play with and let him watch his dvd. like tabby, he's more interested in playing with the food, rather than eating them. even if it's food he likes, he only takes a tiny bit, like potato chips. give him more, he'll reject as well.

Aileen,

his milk intake depend on his mood..sometimes he might not want milk..once he see the bottle, he start running away...I m thinking to change milk powder for him...not sure which brand yet..currently he is taking Gain IQ.

Sometime i will buy fresh soya milk for him instead of drinking normal milk.

Aileen

Your bb is opposite from mine. Mine has been on an eating spree since he recovered from his stomach flu. His porridge at each meal can be more than what I will usually eat! And he kept waking up at night to drink milk. So tiring. How to stop him from waking up at night to drink milk? I tried adding cereal but still the same. sigh. He really ballooned and I'm now worried I might have to put him on a diet if this continues.

I just read a book on the personality of our children called 'personality plus for parents'. my boy is a true blue phlegmatic. He's easy going, undemanding, happy, adjustable but unresponsive, slow and indifferent. Also lazy, avoids work, quietly stubborn and fearful.

Update to include May:

Positive Tots Trial
Date: 22nd April Sunday, 4pm **Confirmed!**
Cost: $105 divided by number of attendees on actual day

1) SY
2) cookie
3) Flo
4) sleepindeer
5) tabbiesus
6) rena
7) sl
8) May
9)
10)

Wenyl - Thanks. Will definitely bring Cephas on a weekday!

May - Next Positive Tots Trail is on 22/4 @ 4pm.

Tabbiesus - Tabby is one cool babe!

Denmy - Take care take care!

babylon,
i tried changing milk powder, milk bottle, cups, straws. nothing works. so i totally gave up. i take soya bean drink every morning, so he'll take a few sips from me. but that's the most he will consume. give him more and he will reject again. he's more for the novelty than anything else.

mashy brainz,
if edgar will eat after a bout of stomach flu, then i don't mind him falling sick! haha! but the problem is he doesn't fall sick at all! the only time was when he was around 6mth and it's all thanks to his dad who passed it to him. then again he recovered very fast. guess my breastmilk must be damn nutritious! well that's what every one says coz considering his terrible eating habit, he's quite healthy. furthermore i'm one super bo chap mum who's not very particular about cleanliness. like i don't mind my dogs licking him and i won't insist on cleaning him up after that. i believe he can build up his own immunity.

Dear Mummies

I am Nov mum, but would really like some help...currently my ger is 4.5 months but she is not drinking well. wat happen was, when she was about 3 months, she will cry and cry when we want to feed her only after a while like 20 mins then she is willing to drink her milk...its for every feeding...then there was a period for a few days she will cry and cry refuse milk then go to sleep...normally her feeding time is every 3 to 4 hours but that time she will only drink after 6 hours...got worried went to PD but says nothing is wrong with her...after that got better but lately another milk strike...this time worse...drank at 5plus in the afternoon then dun want to drink till the next day...only willing to drink water....got so worried so brought her to c doc...doc says she seems fine...so i change the milk powder from enfalac to friso...after some coaxing she drank and it was well for the next feeding...but the night feeding she refuse to drink again....sigh....really dunno wat to do....these two days she did drink but also after coaxing her how ah? any of face with this kind of situation? me very stress and worried

aileen

just read in the 'what to expect' series on appetite slump and think that there;s probably nothing to be worried about.

it said that if the bb is not sick, it could be due to 4 factors:

1) budding sense of autonomy, a characteristic of normal toddlerhood. will ermerge at bath time, play time, bed time too.
2) normal slowdown in growth.
3) newly active lifestyle: becomes engrossed in practising walking and other new skills that they are reluctant to do anything else including eating
4) improved memory: infant feeds like there's no tomorrow. but a toddler will begin to think that if she doesn't eat now, she can eat later. if she's otherwise occupied, may see no need to stop what she's doing for a meal.

It's no cause for alarm and it's perfectly normal. study shows that healthy toddlers who aren't pushed into eating consume enough food for normal growth and development but children who are forced tend to develop chronic eating probs.

Record your child's food intake over 2 or 3 week period coz it will likely balance out.

Hi Mashy,

I read the book too!

I am also a phlegmatic and Ashley too! Megan is still too early to tell...... not phlegmatic thou. More likely to be a sanguine. ha ha.

Hi ky,

Yes, some places at the Animal resort is kind of run down. Ha Ha. Usually i stay for less than an hour. Oh yes, you can rent the pail and net to catch longang fish.

The mushroom farm sounds nice!!! Now craving for mushrooms. ha Ha.

mashy brainz/yuki,
can share what's the title of the book u mentioned? i'm referring to the one about kid's personality. interesting read?

mashy,
i'm not worried about edgar's eating per say. coz he's still eating, just that we need to coax him. and as it is he's not eating alot, so i don't think i can cut down his meals anymore. else i believe he will be malnutritioned. hopefully he will have more teeth soon, then we can try introducing other solids to him. now he only has 5 teeth and not fully grown somemore.