(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Esther,

what are your criterias for a confinement nanny? I can ask my friends.. I don't intend to get one cos I'm very fussy... I catered from Natal essentials http://www.natalessentials.com/ last time and i intend to cater the confinement food from them again cos i find the food quite ok and it was still very hot when they delivered. They were also quite flexible when i requested for some adjustments. There's another company but i dunno how yummy their food is. http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

Congrats Esther! So far our mummies in this thread are lucky to have a boy and a gal!

I highly recommend that you have a confinement nanny to help out, esp since you have Renee to handle as well. I totally regretted not having a confinement nanny the last time. I was soooo tired out and I took so long to regain my energy.

Hi Hi all, so busy just shifted office to Orchard road on Tues and it has already cost quite a huge damaged to my wallet shopping during lunch!!

Esther you are so funny when u say you've never been so happy seeing a penis before... Hahah... CONGRATS!!!

Re Hep B
HB & I thinking of taking Hep B. Is it true that for the 6months period while taking Hep B shots should not try to conceive?

esther
congrats! :D

queen
my gal has been doing that to me for quite some time already. whenever i reached my mil's hs, she would just look at me as if i am a stranger and continue playing. only recently, she will smile at me when i appear at the door. then, when it's time to go back, she would still cling onto my mil! this really makes me very sad.... but what to do? i am not the one who is taking care of her 24/7. so, i just have to change my mindset that luckily my gal is closed to in-laws instead of outsider e.g. maid, nanny. and, i just have to try my best to spend as much time as i can with her. and, as long as my gal is happy and healthy, i am contented.

Re:Citibank
I'm soooo fed-up with citibank! Just need to air it somewhere...

Since May last yr, I've not been able to download my bills online, so i've been requesting for paper statements. I reported to the Internet support but they could not rectify the problem. So i decided to cancel e-statement and revert to paper bills. I called them in December to arrange and an officer called me on 11th Jan to confirm it has been done.

But I did not receive my paper bill for Jan till today and deduction is tomorrow! So on Monday I sent an email to Citibank since their hotline is forever busy. Guess wat reply i got! The gal replied that her records show i've never been enrolled for e-statement and so should be receiving paper statements.

That's all she replied! Wah...i got sooo angry, i called the hotline early this morning at 7am. The phone officer could tell from the system that i requested for cancellation of e-statement in Dec, but her colleague did not activate it! Wah...even more angry! I didn't scold her lah, cos not her fault. She promised to help me arrange everything properly.

I still not happy, so i replied to the email officer that i'm surprised her records never show my e-statement enrollment cos MY records show i've been downloading bills since 2004. And that when i called their phone officer, system shows I was on e-statement and have requested for a cancellation.

I continued in my email to tell the officer to check her records thoroughly in future before giving such standard replies to their customers!

Grrrr......

Clare,
my gynae also advised me to give a 6mth period after taking my rubella and chickenpox jab before conceiving.

Esther,
My mum was around to help me look after Charmaine while I concentrate on Aden. Me too I took the package from Natalessential because I din want my mum to overwork. Portion is very big I never finish the food. No confinement nanny for me because I was thinking I want to BF so most of the time baby is stuck to me. You can get trial at $25 or $30 from both companies to try out the food to see if you like or not. I think if you order in advance they will also give good discount. I think if you are delievering in Thomsom, Natal should be giving discount.

Sunny,
Ha ha Charmaine when young sometimes even choose not to go home. When reach home, she will ask po po leh ? Even now she will say I dun want you, I want po po. I think I have spent too much time OT at work last time till she so used to not seeing me.

Tracy,
Ha ha I have given up on call centre though I used to work in call centres of 2 banks. You probably talking either contract staff or so. Some really no commitment and simply bo chup.

Clare,

It is true because I wanted to take hep B then told the dr I oso trying to conceive. He oso advise me the same thing. MMR oso.

Tracy
My hb also had very bad experience with Citibank regarding the e-statement lately. I used to think they are very efficient but not after that incident.

ChickenLittle/Esther
I feel that altho bb will be stuck with you if on BF but confinement maid can help to change diaper/clean up cos that will take up the other half of the time. Also, bb can sleep with the nanny at nite and only bring bb to you during feeding time. So at least still can get half the time to rest lor.

Clare,
Hee hee, Robinson must be smiling
Actually Hep B jab is recommended as one of the pre-maternity jab so I guess is true lor.

Re: Baby not close to mommy
I guess sometimes is inevitable for bb to be closer to the main caregiver esp if mommy tends to be the disciplinarian. Mel is usu closer to me but when she wants to get her way, she'll look for daddy and ah ma. For me I don't really mind if my gal is close to my mom but I guess this boils down to the PIL-DIL thingy cos I'm not sure I would react the same way if it's my IL

Esther - so happie for you!!! congrats...
do take care and try to walk lesser,so excited for you!!! your HB must be over the moon now!

Tracy,

I pm you my sil's contact for your goodie bag. I passing to her during lunch today. She says u can pick up from her house blk 116 after 7.15 today if you are going

Re : MIL
ytd nite ,HB told MIL not to cook so tat we can have a dinner outside minus Celeste. And we actuali made it chop chop,did a little grocery shopping aft din and headed hme at 8.30pm. upon reaching home,guess wat... MIL told Celeste : quick! scold mummie, go out and enjoy herself! i kept mum but was feeling a little cheesed. com'on, it is not always tat we do this and i wonder which mother on earth will feel so sore tat his son is being loving to his wife and not taking another woman out for dinner on V-day!!!!!! grrrrr.... and HB also told me tat when she asked HB if he is working the afternoon shift ytd and HB replied no, MIL told FIL : see, told u aldy,he surely not working one... well, sore again tat his son is not working so tat he can keep his wife company for vday... menopausing hormones raging for MIL??? yes or not, the words she said to my gal sent me in a hormone rage too... celeste is stil young and does nt understand wat shes saying... but if she were to say tat again next yr,i will tell her to mind this kinda language. she cant possible teach a child to scold the mother rite@#$%^

god's child

your mil diff from mine. maybe coz she doesn't take care of C. my MIL kept encouraging us to go and pak tor and leave C with them so that they can babysit him. They are always coming up with excuses for us to leave him there.

For CNY reunion, i asked her what time to go, she said as early as possible. haha, she wanna see her dearest grandson, but i only bring him to see her once a week.

Actually Celeste can understand what she is saying already. So it's still better to make your MIL watch what she says.

Perhaps their mentality is that if you're not working, you should be taking care of Celeste and not leave her to them to go out and 'enjoy'. Is she very tired of taking care of Celeste? maybe she needed to shop for CNY?

haha mashy,
i think my mil probably also hopes that I can leave Caleb with her.. But no way i will do that.
I only bring Caleb to her place like once a month or sometimes once in 2 mths

Mashy - its not MIL who is running aft Celeste lor..its my maid. so i dun see why she can say tat,as if im am throwing a burden to her. and the matter of fact is,other than the days i need to study,i knock off punctually to go home and tend to my own gal... i always bring my gal grocery shopping wf me even,not the other way round as in buy aldy then come home later... no la,CNY gorcery done liao,we aldy brot her to Giant 2 weeks ago,the market shopping will be tmr nite...

you MIL so nice!at least it allows you and HB to breathe as a couple when your want to... for me, i always hav to consider how my MIL will think and stil kana whack...sigh...

esther,
so happy to hear that u'r having a boy! congrats!! =D

cookie,
i'm not too sure if u can find ngor he in goldcoast. maybe u bring ikan billis to make the stock instead? actually i'm not too sure if ikan billis is even allowed. u gotta check loh. else at most go for white meat like chicken? or vegetarian for a few days?

esther - congratulations! can understand you all must b e jumping with joy on hearing you got a boy. i really hope it will be a girl this time for me. hee... btw, are you bleeding coz i am lor. doc just ask me to continue eating the an tai yao. he said bb more than 11 weeks and he is happy with the growth...so shld be OK. will i be at risk? this morning, i woke up and have dark brown discharge again when peeing. its quite frequent but only in the morn when i pee. any advise? is it because placenta is low?

Re: Citibank
Tracy,
Same here...after we de-enrol (coz we can't seems to download all the time), we also didn't receive the physical statement for months!

I thought Citibank was bad then. But then i got an even worse experience with OCBC. After I changed my mobile phone, the SMS OTP didn't work even though my number is portable (Apparently, the telcos dun forward internet sms...only normal sms). so I can't login to internet to pay my bills. I called them up and they told me need to send in form to change. ATM cannot, go branch cannot, call in cannot, fax in cannot...can only send via physical mail. So troublesome. I told them my credit card bills will be overdue...they say never mind, they will waived.

Left with no choice, I mailed in my form. But it took them weeks and yet my new number is still not updated. Called the hotline twice...both officer promised to checked and get back to me...but they never did. Fed up, I used the internet to log a case and a complain. Took them 3 days to email to say they will investigate. Then the worst thing happened, I got a call on the 4th day from an OCBC officer chasing me for payment on my outstanding credit card bill! Faintz.

god's child

my mil got ulterior motive lah. that's why suggested us to leave him there. my little boy is her bao bei. everytime go her place, she'll hold him tight tight and keep saying 'i love u'.

u know my boy's dinner at her place usually will cost more than our dinner? ai yoh. that's why i don't dare to leave him there, sure get spoilt.

ai yoh, think your MIL is that kind will go and complain type hor? Will she go ard telling all the relatives that you 'left' celeste with her to go and 'enjoy'?

SSF
when i was preggy, i bled all the way till i gave birth. no prob at all. my gynae didn't know the reason either. but to be sure, lift your legs up when u sit, don't walk too much.

Mashy,
when bb's molar come out, they will ask for more milk? Is this different from the front teeth coz last time my bb teeth came out, his milk intake dropped.

Godchild,

Whenever I come home abit late..eg like hour....my mum will tell my 2 boys..see mummy go and eat snake again..coming home late.
Lucky my elder boy will answer her back ..mummy is not eating snake..she is working hard..earning money for my education
Nowaday, I just simply ignored what she is say....

I m going on leave tomorrow..i can't let my mum know..othewise she will come out with all sort of excuses to spoil my plan

SH

Apparently the milk intake part differs from bb to bb. Some will want more milk, some milk intake dropped. For C, he suddenly had fever for 1 day on Tuesday, very cranky. Last night also woke up crying. The IFC supervisor said she felt the back of his mouth, seems like his molar is coming out.

God's Child,
I think your MIL is just jealous that you and hb have lovey dovey time together

SSF
I also have brownish discharge for a few days when I was in my 6th week of pregnancy. Not sure was it due to exercise. But I went to see a Chinese physician and she said was due to tiny fibroid in my womb. The discharge stop after I taking some 'an tai yao' that she gave me. I can sms u her contact if you are keen.

rena
recieved your photos of elijah.

god's child
maybe you want to get your hb to let mil know that dont say negative things to celeste. i agree that our babies now understand what we are saying already. been doing lots of talking to dylan and he knows what i want him to do or dont do, although its the very first time i told him on certain things. so better let her know dont talk rubbish.

sysac
cephas sure looks very much like daddy!

esther
congrats!!! can close shop le =p do rest alot.

re: bushing teeth
can i ask how should i encourage dylan to like brushing teeth? bought the first toothbrush n toohpaste but dylan just dont really like it. do you teach your baby to spit out the water?

Queen,
I think no worries about Issac sticky to mil. I believe that at the end of the day, babies will know who their mummies are. The CNY suits which we got, is at the Chinatown place. Its not strictly speaking a pushcart but rather like a temporary stall. Its right across the Da Zhong Guo Bing Jia. Its on the street next to Smith Street and across from Maxwell Market. I think its called Sago Lane. Have attached the url of map here: easy for your reference http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel.php?travel_id=21376&travel_site=1

Celine,
Charmaine too! She would refuse to let us hold her hands and she loves to run around in shopping centres! She would like run and laugh and when we tried to chase her to carry her, she thought that we are playing catching with her! Gosh!

Cookie,
Congrats on a job well-done! And thanks for being the guinea pig and sharing advice! Now I can go home and wash Charmaines already. : )

Re: Australia
Its real easy to bring bbs to Australia. I brought Charmaine there twice already. Its really very baby-friendly. You will enjoy it. For me, the flights there are really good cos they are night flights and basically Charmaine slept throughout the flight. The only drawback is that for the second trip there, she refused to sleep in the bassinet cos its so small. Her legs are outside the bassinet and she got no room to twist and turn. Luckily the seat next to mines empty so I let her sleep there. Otherwise, its fine. Also, SQ does provide baby food. You just need to request for it in advance. On the first light back, they offered me baby jar food cos Charmaines only 6mths then. On the second trip back, they offered me real baby food with potato, corns, broccoli and carrot. All finely mashed and blended as in you cannot see bits in it. It also comes with orange juice (which I didnt let her drink cos its not the baby version) and fruits and chocolate and potato chips (?!!!). The stewardesses and stewards are great on all my flights are great too! They will offer to servce one of us first while the other took care of the baby. On the second trip I was alone in econ class while hubbys in biz. The steward carried Charmaine around the plane and kept her entertained while I have my meal. : )
Also, I cooked Charmaines porridge as well, Its really convenient in Australia since we are staying in Svc apts. Just bring a thermos to keep the porridge warm. I brought along the thermos lunch box which is a thermos jar and bought rice, meat and vege there. Basically I will boil the stock the night before and cook her porridge in the morning while we have breakfast then keep it in the thermos flask. It can last till 5pm for her dinner.

Oh ya, one more thing, Brisbane got new factory outlet - DFO near the airport. Very good for spending some time after arriving there.: )

re: fish
I don't recall seeing threadfin in Aus but they have cod fish. You can also go to fishmonger instead of Coles - more choices. There's a fishmonger (sort of) at the row of shops across the street from Phoenix which is very near Surfers.

Esther,

congrats! Now just nice you have one boy and one girl. : )
re: confinement
I didn't have a nice experience with mine either. When my aunt visited then I realise that she didn't cook all the supposed confinement dishes for me. When my hubby asked her, she said that she thought that I won't like to eat "these sort of things". huh? Somemore she very anti-breastfeeding. Always tell me that I don't have enough milk that's why charmaine's always crying for milk. Luckily, I had lots of encouragement from the LC otherwise I would have given up bf long ago. Sorry for being so longwinded but I am still very cheesed off when I talk abt her.

Re: VD
I had a very enjoyable dinner with hubby last night. It's has been really a long while since we have dinner like that. : )
The downside is when we reached my mum's place to pick up Charmaine at 10pm, she's on the verge of crying already. My mum said that she has been looking for us since 930pm. : (

Hi mummies !
Hope you had a lovely valentine's with hb. Me went out for dinner with hb and vania. Nothing fancy or romantic but it was lovely.

I am yet to finish catching up with this thread *pant pant*

just want to brighten your day with my daughter, Phua Chu Kang Jr.
695382.jpg

If she knows I am posting this, she will be sooo mad at me kekeke :p

Celine
I think For Aust.. cannot bring any food stuff in. My alternative will be Cereal with scramble Egg and Jar food. Still thinking abt it.
I think probabaly can find Cod Fish in Aust if no Ngoh He but cod fish better not to eat everyday since mecury level is high.
I also find buying fish from supermark.. got lotsa bones in it unlike buy from wet market can ask uncle to skin and de-bone it nicely.

SSF
I have no experience in what u have mentioned.. maybe U should check with Gynae to see if you should be worry abt. I think should ask la.. since it's bleeding, but if it's dark brown mean it's old blood, at least it's not fresh blood.

SL
Thanks for sharing your experience in Aust.. make me sooo excited! I really wish I'm going! and if it realise, hope the flight will not be FULL! so I can let Kaelyn sleep comfortably.

Re: V-day surprise
Last nite... no V-day dinner! but I receive a little suprise from HB still.
I'm the guilty one.. cos HB say only he give me suprise I have no suprise for him.
My HB secretly upgrade my HP memory stick. I wan to upgrade it but very stingy to spend the $$...

Hi Rachel - Yes, Dylan & Cephas look like their daddies. For the momento, will I be able to use one of those photos from the website from the shoot? Is it big/small enough?

SL - Wow, great to have the street directory. I'll be going to Smith St to have breakfast with ofc pple 2mr. After that, can shop Chinatown!

God's_child - Yr mil made such unnecessary remarks. I wld be pissed if mine made comments like that too!

Citibank - I've snubbed that crazy bank for yrs aft an incident! Called me up & said didn't receive my cheque for CK Tang bill. Asked me to re-send another cheque which I refused. They sent 3 reminders & called me up everyday like a loanshark. So I sent the second cheque aft 3 days of hounding. Guess what, they found the 1st cheque the same time they received the 2nd cheque. So when I asked for refund for the excess, the call cen lady replied me "We do not do refunds...why not leave the money & we'll deduct from your subsequent CK Tang bills?" I told her "I do not want to leave the money cos it's not a small amount. I want a refund." They refused. I was so angry I called CK Tang & complained. CK Tang intervened & I got back the $$. Crazy bank!

All this holiday talk is making me go crazy! Hee hee...tempting me...tempting me...tempting me...

Hi cookie - I hope yr holiday wish be fulfilled. Since Kaelyn is already 1, maybe can let her try the food there too. It's only for 4 days & u'll be with a tour group. Buy her bb friendly food - Potatoes, carrots, eggs, bread, etc. My aunt fed my cousin banana mashed with egg with fresh milk 4 breakfast when we were there. After that, he was hooked! Hee..

vmum - What a sweet photo of Vania!

Hi Esther,.

congrat,..take care

Hi God'schild
Dont angry and I understand your feeling..MIL wont said that to me during those special occasion ...but there is a time when we went movie together and MIL found out and said NEVER BRING MUMMY ALONG....Sign....hee...hee...than hb tell her back WE ARE YOUNG COUPLE AND NEED PAK THO....I will leave hb to said out but not me...

I think your MIL is jealous cos your hb brought you for dinner but your FIL not did that to her

Next time if happen to you again...you may tell her in nice way and let her know no to talk unreasonable thing in front of children...
My MIL did asked me yesterday that Why I did not go out for dinner with hb. I told her that because CNY is coming soon and you still got a lot groceries need to purchase..I better come back and look after Gracie
sign sign.....she paiseh haa,,,,haa,,,,,,
But actually we have our early lunch V day on last sunday with Gracie at Crystal Jade

But so far MIL quite ok if I and hb went out for movie or dinner gathering....and this CNY she has bought me 3 clothing so far.....
MIL will depend on her mood and what ever she said I will say ok ok just open one eye and close another eye. I remember one of our mummies here from our forum ..said that her MIL forget what she done and feed to bb ..
For me is already JIA CHANG PIEN FAN ..cos MIL more worst....
for example...she will forget what she has feed to Gracie like vitamin. And medicine for fever....

She will leave her sunglasses at the fridge and look for it untill get mad..but finally I found it at the fridge. I got surprise when I found a pair of sock but is clean one at Rice cooker...
haa...haa.....a lot lot think that really small case or big case for me liao....Even today and last week I pack and clean all the house nicely but when I reached home I saw all the thing untidy ...oh my god.....included Gracie wardrobe.
She will forgot what she has eaten .....and anything that she found out still mashy ..she will blame us but actually all done by her

For me just try my best to make her happy and make my life easy...so far she ok and I know she's kind and she treat me good but only that is her character ,,,as I can't change her character......

RE: Bank
some bank customer service are really lousy and will really make us angry..
It was happened to me...DBS bank
HB asked me to paid credit card bill on the due day as we have forgetten and foud our on the day.
So I ran to DBS bank and tell them I paid on behalf of my hb but we have forgot the amount of the Credit card bill...I paid to the counter SGD 1,500 cash and she give me the receipt too. When reach home we found out actually we only owe 200++ for the credit card bill that mean I have over pay

2 weeks later hb found out that they charge us 45 SGD for the late payment...and hb called up and scold them ...after that they ware off the charges

For Citybank ....I also scold them before cos I issue cheque for my boss for his credit card payment...I called them up and check with them if they have clear the cheque..
but they wont tell me and keep saying even though the cheque is from my account but they will not tell me the information.....I asked the lady name and I called again to look for the person in charge...and complain

I'm so sorry but really make me angry and mad...

RE: Best Denki
Recently FIL bought 37 inch LCD TV and Hb use Credit card to paid.
When goods deliver to our home and delivery man found out with out TV stand..buut actually is suppose to come with it. So delivery man called up the sales guy but he ignored and did not talk to the guy. And he called best denki customer service for this matter....The customer service called back to us and said they can only deliver to us on next working day. And when we look for the sales man ..the customer service said he is on leave...
FIL said what to do since like that than have to wait to next day....and we know this is not Delivery man fault they just do they job according to DO mentioned item...
As I and hb quite angry and we dont want to wait till next day..The salesman was irresponsible
I got his HP from the sales invoice and FIL called him and ask him to send it to us ASAP. He agree and said another delivery man will send it to us by 3;30pm ...sign..
But at 4:45pm ,..the delivery guy still not come...I called up and look for the salesman...I warn him by 5:30pm if I still not received the item..I will CANCELL THE CREDIT CARD PAYMENT. He was said how can you do that and is not right as we need time to get the item from our warehouse somemore our warehouse is at TUAS...I told him back if like that you should not agree to me that goods deliver to us at 3:30pm......and I dont care where you want to get ...but I want it to deliver to my home at 05:30pm sharp......
They reach at 5:40pm and installed for us...we also gave them ANG BAO...
The best part is the sales guy called MIL and said your daughter very unreasonable.....and the man that came for done the installation is actually their own sales guy..They told us that this salesman got Cancer....I and hb not believe on that as this is their tactic to help each other to cover up if they got done something wrong on the sales.....
From my experience...for mummies who buy electronict goods from them...be careful with them....

Queen,
Thanks for the soya bean stock recipe. And the payment for the spinach!!

Mashy,
the playgroup idea sounds great. U see: if the mummies here aren't as educated, there won't be such thing as playgroup liao.

Rena,
U soooooo lucky lor!!! Xmas got notebook, Vday get 2 LV bags. What's next?

Celine, at least now you get a pressie every occasion. For me I have to remind and hint. I couldn't believe my ears when he told me he didn't get me a pressie 2 Xmases back. So last Xmas, I 'warned' him not to miss this time out again or he'll get it. heee

Anyway, for us, we went for dinner last night at Blu. This time no checking in the hotel cos I'm not in the right 'form' anyway...kekeke

Gymboree Trial
Wawawawa!!!! I just signed up for 4 classes at the Parkway Centre branch after going for a trial last Fri!!! No freebies for me liao. My slot is the same as Esther: 4.15pm on Fri. If you gals are forming a class on another day, count me in please.

re :bank
just got my UOB CC bill and realisted that last month i pay short of $11.30..coz i lost my bill. I was being charged $6 plus for interest. Called up that back that i m not happy with it..lucky they waived off.

esther
congrats! u must be really relieved.
do take good care of yourself and update us regularly.

no time to catch up...catch up later!

Re:Banks
So many of us are experiencing lousy services with the banks. Yes, the problem now is they are using many contract service staff, some even with such heavy accents I can hardly understand them and they also can't understand me when I talk too fast. Sometimes I think must write into Straits Times forum in order to get your problem solved!

SSF,
hmmm...I would go to the gynae for a check, juz to put your mind at ease.

Cookie,
ahahaha, all your talk abt Aussie is making me so gian to go!! i think wat sysac suggested is good. No need to cook porridge for those days. Make mash potato with carrots etc. Ang moh style. Quite convenient too.

Denmy,

The bags are not for Vday leh.. more for a one year achivement.. we did not celebrate Vday too.. we were so busy so we end up ta bao back to eat lor..

rena - at that time, caleb was at 9 mths. so i brought my HT cereal and fed him. Occasionally will give him jap rice to eat. Elijah is quite big now...maybe u can try giving him jap rice + toufu.

Cookies,

No problems. : )
Btw, you can bring foodstuff into Australia - just need to declare. I have brought baby biscuits on both trips. Just to share that the baby biscuit choices in Coles is quite limited. I couldn't find Gerber stars or the Japanese biscuits there. I heard from my colleague that you can bring FM in as well but must be unopened tin and the contents of the FM must be clearly stated on the tin.

CL,
re: travel during pregnancy
Didn't know you can still fly in your 3rd trimester. I know that after 24 weeks, they dont allow you on Star Cruise and other ferries. Thought the airlines will refuse entry too.