(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Denmy,..

I think not true...after 24 weeks not allow on ferries. Bcos when I was 26 weeks,..I still travel back to my hometown by ferries at tanah merah terminal.
I think this might depend on the immigration ...

AK, Wenyl, mummies,
re: Preg and Ovu kits
I am giving away 2 pregnancy Kits and 6 Ovulation Kits. PM me if you want any.

A big Thank you to all the mummies for your wishes!

Flo,

I think its great to have fornmer nurses as confinement nanny. mine didnt do much for me..except gave me so much pressure with bf..she kept saying i've no milk..poor baby not enuf..kept knocking on my door when i was bf..till i broke down and cried!

basically, all she did was cook and wash and bathe baby..tats why i'm considering catering meals instead.

Tabbs,

I searhed internet and found natal essentials as well..only thing is i'm even pickier in food..i dun take pork and stuff like those red chicken, trotters..i dun dare to eat..

after looking thru their menu, i'm thinking if i can survive 1 whole mth of confinement food
so now considering 2 weeks.

Tracy,

For me, it was mostly tiredness due to the night feeds as i didnt have much milk..so i had to express milk and then when time to feed bb, had to wake up again
and then trouble was, i could not nap during the daytime.. tats why i dun know if i really need a nanny.

SSF,

are you taking duphastan?? ya i heard bleeding is rather common in some pregnancies...however, i think you should rest more and not walk too much. i'm not too sure if its also due to low placenta..but maynot be. so try not to walk too much now and not to carry your bb too often ok??

Rachel,

Ya can close shop but also can consider 3rd one..see if i still have the energy and the courage

vmum,

vania's photo is soooo cute and so cheeky!

Rena,

WA! so enviuos ! 2 LV bags...hmm...not that my hb has got his boy...i will go ask him for big present!

Denmy,

Ya can travel up to 32 weeks..when i was preggie with Renee, we came back from Hanoi when i was32 weeks. however, i did take a letter from my doctor certifying that i'm fit to travel..just in case the airline refuses me.

Denmy,
ha ha will show u my big tummy in Disney Tokyo. Have to call airline to confirm.

Linda,
Star Cruise only will reject. I wanted to go on cruise oso but got rejected.

Rena,
Dun think you need to worry much about baby food. Should be readily available in supermarket

esther

i catered for about 2 weeks for my confinement.

it was yucky after a while. same food all the time. even though it has a different name, they cooked it the same way. so sian.

esther

no lah. first 2 weeks my aunt came to help me, so she cooked for me. but she could only help me for 2 weeks, so i catered for the other 2 weeks.

will u be alone? coz catering only help settle the food prob. u still have to take care of your bb like bathe him, change his diapers etc. In case u have forgotten, little babies poo alot, and need to feed frequently. You'll still need some form of help lor.

My hb was ard the entire time to help me then. So it was still alright for me.

esther
My mum did confinement for me and I really enjoyed the food leh...haha I like the pig trotter's vinegar best! If you want i can ask her for recipe if you like that. Basically, my mum changes the menu at every meal and try to cook the same type of meat in different styles lor.

Mashy,

My maid will do the washing and bathing..so should be ok..i'm concern about 1st few days coz mine is c-sec..and from 1st experience..my pain tolerance is so low..i think many things i won't be able to do.

my maid cant cook well at all..so cannot depend on her

my hb will be back to help me but maybe only a week
so have to see how again

Mamachan,

I guess coz its cooked by mum so not too bad..i dunno how to enjoy pig's trotters lei

Esther
If you want I can get the ex nurse contact for you. Is your maid good in handling little baby as in bathing, changing etc? Cos bb just a few days old and very delicate, must handle with great care. Moreover your maid probably need to take care of Renee and do housework as well so maybe difficult to cope. My mom and SIL thot they can survive without a confinement maid when my nephew was born previously, after 3 days they were totally shack out.

Mamachan - Yeah, my mum cooked for me during confinement too. I enjoyed the meals. There was soup every day & fish was compulsory for every meal

Dear mummies - HB, Cephas & I wish all of you & your families a Happy Lunar New Year! I will be partying throughout so likely won't be coming into the forum
May you be Blessed with good health, great wealth & pots of happiness!

Esther,
I had low placenta when I had Jamie. Went to look for a massage lady, she managed to help me push the placenta back to the correct position. You might want to consider that also. But must get an experienced and certified one.

God's Child,
Understand how u feel. I will be boiling like mad if my MIL were to say that in front of Jamie too. Now our gals start to understand our language already. Maybe u can just casually mention in front of ur MIL that we ALL should take note what we say and do in front of our child now as they start to learn already.

Vmum,
I was laughing away when I see ur gal's pic. So cute.

Cookie
Thanks for the info. Wash Mel's dress today and the colour is still intact

Vmum
Vania looks so cheeky. She's such a cheerful baby!

Tracy,
Not all mummies are lucky here.. I'm one who longs for a girl but God gives me 3 boys....

re: Goodie Bag
Anymore news on the lost goodie bags? I'm actually quite keen on KidzLoft's vouchers. Any mummies here who dun want it? Can give me please?

re: Australia
Wa, you mummies really make this place sound so baby-friendly. I'll make it our next family holiday after #3 arrives.

re: confinement lady vs maid
I'm also contemplating whether to get a CL or just cater confinement food and let maid help out in the other areas... but considering the fact that she will also be looking after Keenan & Ethan & cook & clean.... tough on her no?

Denmy
I personally feel that it might be too taxing on your maid. Looking after a new born is a full time job, he'll feed and poo poo every other hour plus Keenan will be very mobile and active by then and looking after him will be a full time job too. Also you should try to get as much rest as possible and don't do anything else except feed the baby so that you'll be able to recover well and fast. Some of my frens who didn't do proper "confinement" are complaining that their health have deteriorated after giving birth.

Mummies - thanks for the consolations and advices... will tell HB to hint MIL on the language to use in front of the kids then... i too find its kinda unhealthy to say these words,sigh...

SSF - i also had bleeding during my week 6 and 10,got red and got brown... scary ! i bled so much i gota go hosiptal bt aft taking the jab and being on duphaston, it was ok... i was given bedrest of 1week each on both occassions and rested as much as i can... so take care and carry caleb lesser k...

esther/god's child - yeah was taking duphastan the small round white pill. will try to rest more and monitor. this morning there isn't any bleeding. my next appt is mid mar..so will ask him again by then.

to show that our little bb can understand what we said already:

everyday, i'll ask my boy 'where's bubu'. That's the name of his stuff toy monkey. Everytime i asked him that he'll look down coz the monkey is at the side of his car seat. I placed the monkey on top of the car seat today. When I ask him the same question, he looked up. U c, he can understand already.

tell us something very heartwarming. Yesterday a baby at the IFC was crying, my little boy looked at him and at the supervisor. When he saw that the supervisor wasn't coming to comfort him, he went to give the baby his pacifier. But the bb still kept crying, so he started to sayang him. Isn't that sweet?

He was also hammering away on the table, but when he was told he needed to be gentle to his schoolmate (bb girl), he stopped and sayang her.

I'm so proud of him.

Esther,

Has your maid taken care of a newborn before or is a mother herself? You still have time, train her up to what you need her to do. I have my maid when I have #2 and we really train her down to the details. She does everything for me - brew herbs, prepare bathing stuff, housework, bathing & changing baby and fetching #1 from school. Actually a newborn sleeps most of the time and when awake doesn't require much attention, so you will have time to setup with a new routine with the new baby. As you are bfg, you should look at your diet carefully. Confinement food will help to nurse yourself back to your health as well as provide the nutrition to your baby. I do hear the confinement catering foods is quite good. My hubby had planned the menu and got my maid to cook it. And btw, my maid was quite slow but she could cope with the additional work given. Why don't you try for natural birth? Take epidural if you can't take the pain. I could get down the bed on the same day of delivery and that helps a lot in your own morale esp if you have to manage somehow bfg and new expectations of the new baby.

.ky.

Flo,

It will be great to have her contact. My own maid is not good at all with small babies..not even when renee was 3 mths old when she came. She didnt even know how to bathe her. But i stay next door to my mil and her maid is rather good. so she'll probably help me out. Coz she only does housework and take care of my bil who is 10 and he goes to school in the morning.

May,

Oh..I dun think I would dare to do it. Was yours very low? my gynae says mine very low and is covering entire cervix..so it sounded a little scary to me..

SSF,

You take good care of yourself ok..remember dun exert too much!

Mashy,

your son is soooo sweet! his future galfriend would be a lucky gal!!!

KY,

I'm very sure my maid would not be able to handle all that your maid has done! Plus renee is walking and running all over the place now and she has to cook for her.
I think daytime is ok as I have my mil's maid to help me out..

Wa, your hb is so caring..knows how to plan the menu..i think my hb cannot even stay with me during my confinement. With my maid taking care of Renee and mil's maid helping me out, plus bad experience with 1st nanny, thats why i'm considering meals. However, when i looked at their menu, i know that i wont be able to tolerate eating 1 mth of it!

My gynae told me c-sec so i assume its still too early for me to go for natural since 1st one was c-sec and my scar was hurting a little..

Denmy,

I was looking for the kidzloft voucher to pass to u..then realised mine doesnt have it ..

Esther

yah lah, his future girlfriend will be a lucky gal. but i'm not a lucky mummy leh. He bites me, used his finger nails to dig into me, pinches me etc. sigh. he doesn't do that to his daddy. only to me.

Mashy - C is so sweeeeeeeet!! wah,so young aldy know how to win baby girls' favour...heeehee

Happy Chinese New yr to all mummies too!!! have fun time going hse visiting wf your little ones... im reali looking fwd to it!

Hi mummies,...

Happy Lunar New Year

I wish all of our bb and mummies + families will have a lovely Chinese New Year,..good fortune and health.

RE: Baby smart
Now are days,..our bb in the forum are really smart...we really need to watch our conversation in front of them and our action too...
2 days ago,..Gracie took 1 small mandarin orange without MIL approve....she was enjoy ate the orange inside hb study room and lay down on the mattress...MIL looking for her and though she so GUAI and sleep by herself...when MIL went it to the room and found out she has actually bite and ate the orange ...
MIL called her and let her know not to eat without permission..
The next day after this..MIL brought her to Greatgranmother house and in front of Gracie ,.MIL told this story to our cousin . Gracie was cried non stop with 2 hand put on her own face and did not look at them...MIL and cousing realised it that Gracie was angry and paiseh cos MIL has told her mistake to cousin...And somemore our cousin is guy not lady....MIL comfort her and sayang sayang her but she keep cried for half an hrs...
After MIL told me this....I realise my Gracie is Big girl and I'm really happy that she understand that...

Hi Mommies
Am posting this message on behalf of Joycelyn:
"I know many bb in the forum r sick. My nephew is down with fever too, but he is still super active. Mothers of all sick bb r worried n tired. Get all mom who can to say a little prayer for all bb this afternoon. Just a simple prayer to ask God to protect all the bb from virus. May God's blessings be upon them. May God's healing hands comfort the bb n give strength to all those taking care of bb. United prayers r v strong."

Flo,
Hahaha... that's what I tell myself too... I'll be the old emperess dowager with 4 men under me...kekeke

re: Confinement lady vs. maid
Ya lor... I agree with you. I didn't get to rest properly when I had Keenan cos mum insisted she could do the confinement job but only ended up preparing the food, that's all. I had to bathe, bf and change nappies the whole time. Was totally shacked out!

Esther and all preggy mummies,
re: pre and post-natal massage
If you gals want any, I have an old fren who owns a Javanese massage place. I can arrange for some discount for you..

Esther,
Thanks for looking for the vouchers.

Denmy
My sis ordered the catered confinement food during her confinement. I assure you, you'll be better off coaching your maid to cook confinement food for you. IMHO, I think your maid should be able to handle. To make the job easier for her, you can take care of the newborn yourself and ask her to cook 1-2 confinement dishes and another 1-2 normal dishes for the whole family, ie, your family eats confinement food as well so that there is less work for her. This way, she doesn't have to do extra or anymore than what she is already doing now so, coping shouldn't be a problem. There is still time for you to teach your maid to cook confinement food and they're not hard to learn.

Esther
Will find out the confinement maid contact and PM you.

Durianlover & Mamapanda
Hee hee what are both of them eating...look so cuteee!

Mommies
In case have no time to login, wishing you, your little darlings and all at home a healthy and prosperous Golden Pig Year!

696439.jpg

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MUMMIES !!</font></font>
Not forgetting the Babies and Daddies!!
May all of you enjoy the FIRST Chinese New Year Visiting with your little darlings!!

Last year our babies are still so small and some are still having confinement bah. So this year is something different !!

Rena,
They're eating yogurt. I was having a great time feeding both babies while Angeline was busy in the kitchen preparing Janelle's lunch. Haha!

Durianlover
Forgot to tell you, its in her 1 year old folder.. I'll shift it to 13 months soon.. after my nap with Ariene.. seeing her nap makes me sleepy too..

Before the day ends and everyone goes back home,

let me wish everyone

<font color="ff0000"><blink><font size="+2">A VERY HAPPY, PROSPEROUS & HEALTHY NEW YEAR!!!!!</font></blink></font>

is 7 weeks too early to detect heartbeat? forgot liao. my friend couldn't detect the heartbeat for her bb at 7 weeks leh. very worried for her. Gynae advised her to D&C.

mashy

could it be she has wrong dates.. my baby's heartbeat was detected at about 7 weeks... before that had an empty sac... does she have any bleeding... if she really wants to be sure.. wait one or 2 more weeks.. if she starts to have bleeding and still no heartbeat maybe miscarriage. .. if got heartbeat then don't have to worry.. or can do the HCG blood test if not rising then that means preg not viable

tabby

she didn't have bleeding. the sac (or bb) is 11mm. Her gynae said it is consistent with the 7 weeks. HCG test ah. Forgot to ask her. already forgotten all the terms liao. ai yoh!

Yah, i told her to wait till next week then go and see again. now praying for a miracle.

mamapanda,
Ok thanks for the photos!!
Haha yes it was indeed very funny see them both with the 'yoghurt-moustache'!

mashy,
Wow your son is really amazing! Even know how to sayang other pple
So sweet! My girl only knows how to bully and not sayang. hahaha!

esther & all the other preggie mummies,
Wow must be really exciting to be going thru the whole planning of baby all over again! It did seem like not too long ago that our January babies were born and now your 2nd one's on the way...so fun! Take care!

All mummies,
Have a blessed and prosperous Chinese New Year!!
I won't be able to check forum as will be really busy doing visiting. So enjoy your holiday!!

My wish comes true!! Jamie started walking 3-4 steps without support this afternoon!! And quite a few times in the evening. My wish is that she start walking before CNY and true enough that she is walking now. So happy! Hubby saw it as well and he is also very happy.

God's Child/ Mummies that bought the same costume as Celeste,
Is the costume Pong Pong at the side? Jamie's costume is like that, and I sew the two side to make it slimmer.

Here's a pic that I snap this afternoon after sewing:

696846.jpg

Esther,
My placenta is covering 1/3 of the cervix only. But gynae say it is back to normal after dunno how many weeks as I told him I am going for Pre-Natal Massage. Anyway I ended up with c-sect in the end also.

Re bbs not sticky to mummy
sob sob.. my boy also loves daddy more.. he's so sticky to daddy. everytime daddy goes out of sight, he'll cry, and when daddy carries him, he will not let me carry him. He'll cry when I try to carry him. How sad...

Esther
Congrats!!! it's a boy..
Ya, stay here, you hv us with us to keep you company ma..

Clare
It's true that when u take the Hep B shots , you should not try to conceive so soon. That's what the doc told me when I took my jab that time.

rachel
my dentist says not to intro toothpaste till maybe when they're 2years old, when they learn how to spit out the toothpaste. but, now to brush 2x a day with cloth or toothbrush.

denmy
i can send you the voucher. you wanna PM me your addy?

mashy
I think 7 weeks might be a bit early to determine doing a D&C. If I recall reading from somewhere correctly, it should be 8 to 10 weeks?

mashy
but I cant rem for sure.. hmmm.. get second opinion? anyway, there is no urgency to do the D&C now, right? can wait a few more weeks, just to confirm and double check that not killing innocent life?