(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy brainz,
i did ask my gynae abt it and he said it's cos of the uterus expanding and putting pressure on the pelvis floor muscles. i also read in books abt it. it is not that painful. maybe at my next visit i will mention to him again.

berlin,
i also saw this clarawee msg somewhere else. she posted it in a new thread somewhere. i was at specialist centre last week but din see this shop. only saw mamachic which is under renovation now.

Hi Sing Yee,

Sometimes I oso think I worry too much.

There are times when i really lose sleep over all these problems.

I would wake up in the middle of the night worrying about this and that.

juliann I c...I think if possible get a CL, is there any auntie u can depend on? I really appreciate the time to recuperate during confinement.

ways to save money: in addition to mashy brainz: u can bring ur baby to polyclinic for jabs. It is much cheaper there and once u make appt , u get ur turn in half an hour time. Try to scour in yahoo auctions for barely used second hand maternity or baby clothes if you dun mind.

hello gals

juliann - i was told not to buy maternity clothing at one time cos our abdominal will get bigger n bigger n the clothes got to buy again(very xiong)

pup_pup - yo! our EDD very close leh, mine on 19 jan 2006.

Juliann,
you can check out the marketplace in this forum. realised some of their things are quite cheap and good. i have not tried before but was quite tempted to buy some of the baby stuff that pple are selling. but too early so not buying.

u planning to BF? pple tell me it can save a lot of money. of cos the main aim is that it is good for baby but another plus is it's cost effectiveness.

Pup pup and confused, my fren told me that EDD may shift one after doing detailed scan. dunno whether that is true... hers shifted earlier by a few days.

Hi all MTBs,
caught a cold last weekend. Now still coughing badly and I have finished the bottle of syrup the doctor has given me... Should I do see another doctor? Don't think this syrup is effective leh. But preggy mums can't take too potent medicine right?

sing yee

my gynae told me to ignore the EDD on the scan printout and to rely on the first EDD she gave me. Apparently, the est is most accurate at earlier stage.

Sing yee - yeah! i was told our EDD will be earlier (dont know how true leh) i hope that i can have a rooster baby. yo! now i m so anxious to know bb gender. hopefully can know in 2 weeks time.

Your gastric ok liao mah?

Hi queen,
i had a very bad cough in my initial weeks. i coughed for nearly 3 weeks and had so many days of MC. in the end i took so many different cough syrups and only recovered when i took antibiotics. i know it is not too good but doc say there are some antibiotics safe for consumption during pregnancy. it was given to me by my gynae and i read in a book that it is safe. still better to get the med from your gynae.

mashy brainz,
is it really more accurate at the earlier stage? most pple i know delivered earlier than their EDD...hee my colleague delivering in Oct. i shall wait and see

confused,
i still have gastric but seems to be better today. think must make sure i dun eat anything that will aggravate. how come u wan a rooster baby? i wanted a doggie... hee my hubby even give our baby a nickname little doggie.

Chua
yeh. never believe the EDD as it is an est. only, for my first child i give birth 2 wks ealier and so those with EDD in the first half of Jan 06 might have Dec 05 bb.

Thanks for all your advices.

I really appreciate that.

I will try to go for natural birth and skip edipural (if possible) to cut down on hospital and delivering costs.

Juliann,
Dun worry too much. I got a fren who did everyting on her own. Initial 1stmth, hubby stayed @home 2 help. Later he went back 2HK, workg there. So my fren on her own...BF & take care of bb....if u can, BF! Not only can save money also can save a lot of time & trouble sterilising & washing bottles!

When we 1st break the news to my inlaws...they also look damm bochap...somemore it's their 1st grandchild. My parents side were all happy for us...2nd grand/greatgrand child.. my mum & grandma hug & congratulate me & hubby. I tink it's a different family upbringing. I also not happy & start questioning my hubby why his family so bochap... somemore my mil mentioned 1st grandchild must be boy! Wah lau! Add unneccessary pressure to us only!!

But guess the best thing to do is to just ignore them & focus on yourself. We mummy2b are more sensitive & tend to get depress easily due to surge in hormones.

Wenyl

My ILs also like that, already assumed boy when we told them at 5 weeks! sigh!

And my hb big mouth go and tell them that i think it's boy.

my ILs side relative as well,met them last wk and they keep asking my girl want brother or sister. my girl said brother and image what they said... correct good answer. so i responsed to my girl 'oh no, so a sister is wrong answer,so u are the wrong answer.' they stop bothering me after that, i think 2 of the aunts complain to my hb but who cares.

Wenyl

Wow u same as me leh... Me oso MIL totally bo chap till now im oredi 4 mths + they didn't even call and ask how am i. I oso think is upbrining loh.

As for my family wow, all my relative congrat me. My parents kip buying thing for me to eat, go marketing for me etc....

So i oso very mean tell my hubby that im not goin to visit his family anyway. They wanna see their grandchild ask them to come my dad. And hubby oso think his family in the wrong . His parents kip saying busying, pls lah use 5mins to call oso cannot meh.

So this yr im not goin for lunar new year or even visit them. Haahaa.... after a long argue my hubby agree.

What about your HBs? Do they have any preference of the sex? My HB says he doesn't mind either but I think he secretly wants a boy. Cos he is always looking out for the 'didi' during the scans. I got a feeling that my bb could be a girl cos she is conceived soon after my menses.

Sing Yee
9mois is slightly more exp than Spring. Capris are $79, long pants, $89, tops around $50-$80 depending on the design. Jeans are usually more exp, so, most shops sell it at $109.

Juliann
If my finances permit, I'll take centre (a). I prefer a higher teacher to bb ratio. Are there any infant care near your workplace? Dont be sad, I think your mum and MIL cares, sometimes old pple dun show your love and concern very well. My MIL is like that. So far, she never ask me how am I feeling, etc.. but she shows her concern by offering to make bird's nest for me & cooking more nutrious food for me.

I agree with MH. Actually, i prefer going to polyclinic for such blood tests, vaccinations. Anyway, they are all the same. I went to poly for blood test, only $21 whereas gynae charges $88. Best of all, the person drawing my blood does it all the time that it is not painful at all as compared to my GP's experience which was so painful. Avoid the poly on Monday or after PH where there is a long queue, otherwise, shouldn't have to wait too long. I think they have a separate queue for baby vaccinations.

Queen
I think u shld either tell your doc to change your medicine or see another doc (rem to say you're preg). Shouldn't take that long to recover. In the meantime, avoid chicken, oranges, salted veg and cold stuff. It aggrevates cough. Hope you'll recover soon.

Thou my hubby says he is ok with either boy or girl as long as bb healthy. But deep down i know he got tis pressure from his parents to have a boy 1st. So last weekend when I probe him & say I got the pressure from his parents, he finally admitted it!

We went to his granny bday gathering recently. None of his aunts/uncles congratulated us or even mentioned abt the bb topic although all of them knew. Apparently, my MIL told everyone abt the news before we arrived. Its their family 1st great grandchild somemore. Weird behaviour right! No wonder I can sense pple staring hard at my tummy tat day! but no one open their mouth. Haha..my tummy still look like a normal bulge...so they must be staring REAL hard boy!

Yuenyuen,
Agree with MH...tatz a good & fast response! At least they open their mouth to talk abt it. Me no chance cos they like to talk in my absence leh.

Baobao,
For me its different. Usually we will go over for a meal once a week. Now I hardly go over cos no apetite to eat esp my MIL cook very bland food for me. Yucks! I had to force myself to finish my rice during the last visit. U know...old pple will stare at u eat if u dun finish ur food. Even I eat slowly (actually struggling liao), she also can sense it one! Stressful! I enjoy going back to my parents place to eat cos if can't finish, I just tell them cannot go in anymore! Dun have to force myself. heehee!

Most probably we all will be doing our confinement during CNY so you got a very good excuse dun have to visit them. Some old pple very pantang, they also dun like us to visit them cos they think it is "dirty".

Wenyl

As me, kinda lucky no nid to visit my PIL at all. Cos they working oso very busy. The thing i can stand is they don't concern abt me loh. Oso first grand child wat.

It ok lah as long i know my parents excited for me can liao. No nid to bother abt my PIL. Lucky my hubby oso don't insist me on goin to visit them. Glad that i didn't marry the wrong man.

Hopefully mine oso doing confinement during CNY. Hope my baby don't come out so early.

Wenyl

Really? They won't be visiting us during confinement? THank God! I was so worried everyone will pop by at my place if i'm doing confinement during CNY. I think all i want is rest and not to have so many pp at the house.

yuen yuen/babylon/MH
How are u 2nd-time mummies doing? Pardon me I had left any other mummies out. berlin, u first time or second time mum? Sorry, my memory fails me....

singyee
Have u gone for your scan yet?

U mentioned u woke up hungry? Maybe can put some biscuits/crackers by the bed so u can munch on them?

Do careful what u eat cos I had diarrhoea once when I must have eaten unclean/not fresh food.

B/feeding - can save money for the first three months, but if u are going back to work, u will need to invest in a pump (unless u borrow) and buy those breastmilk bags to store milk and clips.

confused/singyee
FYI I delivered at the 39th week for my first born.

confused
Actually I feel if the maternity pants are of good cut, u can wear the one size till u deliver.. .but tops are a different matter cos our tops and tummies do tend to get bigger...

juliann
Yeah, gotta pay extra for the scan.. me took it at another hospital.

About your lack of help, why dun u consider getting a part-time maid to help with the household chores and cleaning of bb stuff? At least that frees u up a bit... really no joke if u try to handle everything urself... hb can only help for limited period.

FYI I used disp diapers for the months when I was on maternity leave... did not wanna bother using the cloth ones cos NBs pee and poo pretty often.

Saving money - I think u cannot decide whether u can opt out of epidural - cos who knows, if u find it so painful, then u might change ur mind (like me!) the epi jab is $300 if I'm not mistaken.

Bb clothes - yeah, get hand-me-down... no need to spend so much. Maybe u can start to stock up on diapers now???

Dun worry too much, cos the stress may be passed onto your bb. Take one step at a time and enjoy your pregnancy.

wenyl/mashy brain
Wow, think I had visitors that time, quite stressed cos b/feeding and dun know what time they would come!!

long time didn't come in. how's everyone?
my morning sickness finally is subsiding.
which week did you see the gender of your bb?

Baobao,
so lucky dun hv to visit pil regularly. Mine both not working. Mil expects us to go back eat regularly. Drive only <10mins away. *sigh!

I m glad dat my hubby dun force me to go back to his parents place nowadays. He rather eat out with me than to see me "suffer" although i knw sometimes he misses his mum's cooking.

If ur relatives pantang...then they wont step into your hse. But if they aren't &amp; very kancheong want to see bb, then bopian...will still appear at your doorstep. I tink i will ask hubby inform them if possible to call first b4 coming over. They will definitely have lots to comment esp if we bf bb. They will be so worried...dunno if we got enuf milk or not... need to buy milkpowder standby or not....

Only adds more stress on us....sigh!

Hi gals...
was very busy with work... din have time to come in... try to reply to your message hope I never miss any.

sin yee
Hmm.. I think finally 1 fine day we will be staying with my PIL. But currently they still have their house and stuff and even when my MIL take care of my SIL ( her daughter) kids, she travel up on weekday and come back on weekends to her own place.
But with the new baby. i think it is possible that both MIL n FIL will come to take care of bb and probably stay for good.
I have no objection abt that cos I need them to help take care of bb when I'm working and MIL also cook meals for us which is good lor.
Inevitably there are still habits I dun like abt them :p but cna't be help.

Kriss
wow u r coming to 16 weeks already... so exciting...
I also heard TMC has very famous classes too...
anyway I haven't tok of which class to attend like sleeping deers says, getting familiar with the enviornment is lor... since I will delivery at Mt A.

Confused
Ya I suppose...I'm blessed one to have PIL to help. But PIL help also got cons lor, cos they may spoil the baby ( like my friend's) and maybe sometimes their teaching for bb is not the same as mine. Anyway I dun think abt it now, settling confinement is the priority I guess.
My MIL also haven't give me any Bu Pin yet... she say around 5 mths then she "dun" for me.

Think I read someone wrote abt soya skin, ginko nuts dessert... after reading I tok wanna ask my MIL cook this sunday !! hahahhaaa...yum yum...

Juliann
You are so tough... not afriad of hardship...
Coping COnfiement alone can be very tough. So I suggest u make BACK UP plans, just in case you cannot cope or totally tired out.
SOmetimes we can be very stress then develop post natal blues, dun take this lightly but I hope u can cope la.
Hope All our babies will be all Kuai kuai and very easy to take care....

just went to maternity exchange website...
their charges not cheap ley....

I read that some of you bought lotsa tops and bottom already...
I bought some but... seems like very little compare to you gals..
I only have 2 under tummy long pants, 1 skirt and 7 tops. haven't buy any new bra yet...
seems like my bottom very little but I plan to mix and match and bottom can repeat during the week...kekeke...as long as I dun dirty them...
weekends can wear gym wear 3/4... hopefully can last me to full term...

u all think can or not har?

cookie
I'm into week 16 this week.
very fast hor.. most prob will take the class at Mt A. I called both up yest &amp; the TMC one was quite inflexible. furthermore, it's $63 more exp. will discuss with my hb on the schedule before deciding.

cookie
I can't wear my pre-preg yoga pants already. Bought a pair (XL) last week from WH. hee hee.. can expand a lot, I think shld be able to last till full term.

kriss
oh really ah? I tok these classes shold be conduct either on weekends or weekday after work...Looks like I should check out more too.
Hey.. our HB join the class also need to pay?
the Mt A... seems like HB need to pay too... is it common?

kriss
I still can wear my yoga pants but now they will row to below tummy...
I hope I wun expand too much in other body areas except tummy so that draw string pants and yoga pants still can wear..
I dun wish to spend too much $$ on maternity wear.. I really spend on something else for bb.

Hi Berlin,
not sure whether they carry all of the same clothes on the website in the store. was in a bit of a blur and i only looked at the website when i came back from the store.

prices are pretty reasonable if you're renting,like 200 over bucks u can rent 8 pieces of clothes.

as for buying, tend to be a bit ex, i felt, but i guess many can still afford

for gals taking Prenatal class from MT A
FYI... just checked, Hubby join for free too ! yeah!
I just registered for the Oct class... so KS hor..
I called for enquiries and the lady ask if I wanan registered... so just do it lor.

i also hope pple won't keep coming during confinement. it would be really tiring and inconvenient. if come once a week, i dun mind. but more than that, think i will ask my hubby to keep pple out.

stylobb,
i haven gone for my scan yet. will be going for NT scan on Mon and seeing gynae for follow up next sat. feel excited as haven see bb for some time....
i also had diarrhoea once cos i ate cheese so now i stay of cheese.
i used to put crackers beside the bed but got sick of eating them....

cookie,
your PIL sounds not too difficult to get along with...
i know staying with PIL got pros and cons but i just got married so dun really want that in the near future and i find that PIL tend to spoil the kids. it's harder to tell them what i wan then to tell my own parents. but your PIL sounds reasonable.

krissie and cookie,
i also want to stop buying. think may borrow some from frens. got a fren who say will pass me some of her clothes. i haven't bought any bras yet. think shd start buying soon.

so when do we need to eat 'bu'?? is it a must?

phew, so tired, keep wanting to doze off.

do u ladies drink ginseng tea? the type where u throw a few pcs of the cut up ginseng, add a bit of salt and hot water to drink? it's gd for keeping u alert, juz not sure if we can take it though.

mashy
no need to pay immediately. The lady say issue cheque also can, pay on the day also can... anything...heehee..

stylobb: think MS is geeting better although still feel tired during weekends...

pup-pup: I have the ginseng powder with water when I feeling bloated, tired. Helps a lot!

Wenyl: dun worry abt those kay-poh aunties, I just ignore my aunt. And I tell my mum that I am strongly against feeding FM to my girl. If they come when I am breastfeeding, I let them wait until my girl is finished.

Juliann, Singyee: Try to get your baby items when the department stores are having 15+5% or 20% discount. They will be cheaper than NTUC then. In addition, JL sells diapers too and if u see the $5 coupon in newspaper, sometimes they can be used for diapers too.

Berlin: I think the rental service is expensive. $299/8=$37 per piece of clothing for 4 weeks only and 4pcs at one time. So what are u wearing when u finish rotating these 4 pcs in a week?

So its $299 for 8 weeks(2 months). If u continue renting from them, that would be two more renting cycle (assuming u start renting when u are in the 4th month). This means that the total rental would be $299*3=$897.

For $299, I can wear buy at least 4 pcs from places like mother envogue and wear it for 6 months(24 weeks) and get to keep them for my next pregnancy too. Since I am not that fashion conscious and a bit of cheapo, I think I can buy more items.

In addition, if anything happens to the clothes, u have to pay for it.

of course, if u are those who like to have different things to wear every week, and have the budget, I think it might not be a bad idea too.

just my 2 cents

a very practical MTB.

hi mashy, thanks for the info. But I wonder is 30 micrograms in one milimetre too concentrated? Anyway, whatever thing we eat, we have to moderate lar...me drink only 2 times so far only.