(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SL

Same here, have never travel with my ILs and have no intention too
Anyway I don't think my hb will ever suggest as well *phew*

hey, anyone interested in a MIM sling demo? maybe we can collate the no. of ppl interested then i can email MIM to ask if they can arrange a demo for all of us.

re:sling demo
1) tracy

seems like potato not very popular. was thinking of adding it to JH's cereal

when u cook porridge, do u do it quite watery? what food shd we add for a start?

durianlover: I am still feeding my gal in the wee mornings. Most of the times, is twice at night. I am those mothers who are child led...no CIO for my baby. Once she drinks, she will sleep and I can still maintain my supply.

Tracy: one of the things to note abt MIM sling is that you need to pleat the sling before pulling it through the ring. Once u get the basic, you can do it anyway u are comfortable with.

Zhimin
I also upset PIL din even check with us first before apply VICK. and some more apply alot.. but still deny
The worst is ... haizz.. when I call back in the morning to check with MIL.. she din even tell me abt the runny and block nose , she even tell me Kaelyn is perfectly alright..
this is what piss me most.. maybe she is just forgetful? but I cannot tahan pple not honest or truthful lor...

Demny/krissie
yes we stop apply medication on Kaelyn.. I use Karvol and it's Great!..
I'm waiting for the chest rub from little dreamer and massage oil

Hi Tracy,

Regarding the sling demo, do we need to show proof of purchase? Cos my fren give me one and dun really know how to use.

flo,

its true that is why hb always ask if all these pp are blind

for the sling no need proof of purchase as long as usign MIM sling

Hi Sandrachu - U r Catholic too! Cephas & Sarah have more in common now!

Krissie - Yep, the prayers sounds rythmic & soothing

SSF - I bought a Venus car seat too. Paid $238 for mine though. Got a black one to go with our car. Will replace with the Maxi Cosi infant carrier once Cephas outgrows it.

yuki
i dressed my gal in pink leh... sigh... they just couldn't see the colour. LOL

sleepingdeer
what could we do in the cruise? i m also thinking of it leh... but scare boring. which cruise is good?

so many posts to catch up on. I also dunno where to start contributing comments.

Sweet Potato puree
I guess Daren here likes sweet potato alot. I started him on Healthy Times jarred sweet potato, then later my friend batch cooked japanese sweet potato and he loves that as well. Eat until got smacking sound

Rachel
Think maybe your friend can try to give other food on it's own other than cereal. Coz Daren also like that. Just when I got comfortable feeding him Heinz Baby Rice cereal, he started to squirm and showed displeasure and blowing out the cereal! Then I switched to Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal and he took to it ok till the box of cereal near finish and he again show disinterest in eating that. Now I'm giving him the Nestle Rice cereal with Mixed Vege Stage 2 and he enjoys it alot. I tried to vary each semi-solid feed with something different so as to give his taste buds something different.

Tracy
You're really patient with your ILs...as for me, I guess my MIL and myself still very cordial with one another so not sure how it'll be if travelling with her. But she's the long suffering type, if anything unhappy or if my methods don't agree with her, she'll keep to herself, won't even tell my hb. But I can sense it. But one thing about my MIL is she's very patient with bb and she's very sad when Daren kept crying in her home when we left him there for a short while.

Daren's feeding pattern for now
He wakes up between 6.30am to 7am for his 1st feed for the day either 180ml of formula or expressed breastmilk. Bring him to infant care and left instructions for them to feed him. 1st feeding at IFC will be 180ml formula, 2nd feed 180ml formula + 4 tablespoon of Nestle cereal as provided by them and 3rd feed 180ml breastmilk. Then when I fetch him home, I quickly prepare cereal for him to eat (between 4 - 5 tablespoon). If I use Healthy Times Brown Rice cereal, will mix with formula milk, the remaining milk let him drink after he finish cereal (usually wait for 1/2 to 1 hour), if using the Nestle rice cereal with mix vege, I'll mix 120-150ml water for 5 tablespoons. During the day, he takes about 2-3 naps, sometimes 2 short naps of 30-40mins and 1 long nap for 1 1/2 hour. then night time he sleeps b/w 8.30 to 9.30pm, depends on how tired he is from IFC till next morning again. Now pretty much a routine for me and makes it easier for me to take care. Daren's been really smiley when he wakes up in the morning after his feed. very good mood and always ready to play with hb.

sunny,
i also thinking if can let baby's legs out will be better. dats why i tot ve MIM demo with us is good. cos they do it with babiesncream regularly.

anyway, having a sling demo is another excuse for gathering
haha.

Hi MH,
dun tell me you were on the same cruise? Yes, I saw a mummy with a bb about Shannon's age... she was slinging her, and on the 2nd day, the family ate at the Jap resturant...my hubby and me ran off and left Shannon with my parents, treated ourselves to teppanyaki, sau ku me first time eating teppanyaki... dun tell me so chiao... hee hee...

Sunny,
cruise is really just relaxing and zhou bo...
I love the sea and sea breeze, and it's really relaxing coz no where to go except eat and sleep, swim and walk walk around the ship... the crew organise games such as bingo and horse racing... and there are evening show performances... and of course, the casino... 2nd day we stopped at Rendang, and we were all prepared to go down, but Shannon chose to fall asleep at that moment, and we decided to stay on board and enjoy the near empty ship's facilities.

re:sling demo
1) tracy
2) MamaChan
3) sunny (TBC)

sleepingdeer
what other facilities they have? other than casino, swimming pool? and the price that we paid doesn't include meals right?

tracy,

I am interested in the demo but then my sling is not MIM sling. : (

Actually I am quite okay with it already. The lady at BBay Supplies shown me how to sling charmaine with her legs out. It's quite easy actually. I just wanna know how to change from the kangaroo style with her legs out to another position where I can bf her.

hi sy,
i do feed brown rice cereal after 6 leh.
its good cos it can tahan Caleb till the next morning. It helped us to drop the night feed.

SY
should be alright. I feed Daren at around 7pm sometimes 7.30pm. When we go out shopping in the evening, sometimes even feed him 8pm cereal...that is when we're outside, which means his bed time around 10.30pm

Sleepingdeer: yes! I am the mummy slinging (purple cotton sateen) my baby in the Jap restaurant....hahaha...aiyoh, if I know u earlier, it would be much fun!

we went for the Redang, but I think my baby got a bit sea sick..so quite cranky that day...and my elder gal is cranky cos afternoon no nap...so that dinner was quite stressful for us

sunny: there are 3 inclusive restaurants which u need not pay...got entertainment at night too...

babylon,
ur 2 boys look really happy and handsome in the pic!

Re: baby boy or girl
Many pple also keep asking me whether Janelle is a boy or girl even when she's dressed in all pink, including pink cap with flowers! *faint*
But i suspect that pple ask for 2 reasons:
1) they don't notice what the baby is wearing
2) they use it as a conversation starter. U know like how we say things like "today's weather is good"...for them it's "boy or girl?"!! Then their next question is always "how many months is he/she?"

Re: baby drinking milk at nite
i think i'll just continue letting baby drink milk at 5am when she wakes up, though it'll be good to drop that feed coz i don't want her to be too dependent on it to sleep! But seems tough to drop that feed leh.

Re: potato puree
i'm super excited about making purees for baby! Already made like 1 month's supply of frozen purees for my gal! haha. And i LOVE to eat potato so i hope my gal will love it too! hahaha...anyway i have so much frozen potato puree in my freezer, she'd better eat them all if not wasted! Or at the most i'll eat them up lor...but then again perhaps not since i mixed it with EBM which i don't enjoy drinking.

mamachan,

my elder boy does not love his didi everyday..it depends on his mood...but damien likes to play with him...

durianlovers,

thanks for the comments..

btw, stupid me..still do not know how to make puree..care to share.

sept03, mamachan
maybe i will try to feed him cereal in the evening if can reach home before 8. i think it will make him fuller so hopefully he won't keep waking up at night. i feed him milk before sleeping as well.

durianlover,
my bb dressed in all blue, also got pple ask me whether boy or girl....

SY

Then gotta teach your maid to feed leh. Coz sooner or later, your bb will have to take all solids. If she doesn't know how to feed, how? Drink milk until he can feed himself?

sleepingdeer & MH
Wah, u gals so chiao, go same cruise. How u gals let your bb sleep on the cruise? They provide cots? Cruise beds very cramp...

mashy
another way is for me to rush home and feed him. then on days that i m late, i will let her feed. cos the last time she feed, she fed him so fast until he din like it. each time i feed she will keep saying must feed faster.

will have to teach her to do it lor. but when i m not at home, i feel a bit worried that she feed too fast and bb choke. so maybe will supervise the first few times.

RE: gathering at Rena's place in Bishan

SAHM / PTHM
I am organising a 2nd gathering a my house

25th July 2005 Tuesday

1) Rena + bb

re: potatoe puree
talking abt potatoes puree.. seems like lotsa mummy mix with FM or BM.. does mixing with milk will make potatos taste better? or make the conisstency better?can mix with water?
Mixing with milk.. does it cause the puree to spoil easier?

sorry ask so many qns .

cookie,

have to mix milk with potato otherwise to thick and dry.. like adding milk to make mash potato! haven't tried mixing with water tho... milk should taste yummier.. if mix with EBM, get more watery consistency... if mix with milk, cannot store frozen for so long...

mashy: for my case, we stayed in the balcony room, so my 3yr old gal, bb and I slept on the single beds while dh slept on the sofa bed. My baby still does not know how to flip, so still quite ok....

after speading out the sofa bed, quite cramped though...

tracy
Finally I read your posting on HK..
U really good patience...
and really hard on you.. I think if it's me.. million of my cell will died becos I get angry the whole time.. keke

Hi MH,
oh my! You know, my hubby and I actually noticed you and hubby when our cab stopped at the Singapore cruise centre... your cab was just behind ours.... my hubby nudged me coz he noticed that your bb was about Shannon's age, so we wondered whether would be on the same cruise... so chiao! Both your gals and you have such thick hair! Especially your bb... so adorable! Which deck were you on? I was on deck 9...

Mashy,
same here, we stayed at Balcony room too, for our case, we requested a bb cot for Shannon, so one queen size bed and one cot in the room, quite ok...

Sunny,
the cost includes all meals.... there is a buffet restuarant that you can enter anytime it is open and they serve BF, late BF, lunch, tea, dinner and supper... there are other 2 restuarants which you can enter for one main meal, and other 5 food outlets which you will ned to pay if you choose to eat there... Depending on which cruise you go for, there is land excursions like what MH mentioned... we went Redang, but if you go for the KL/Malacca cruise, you can go offboard to do shopping...

Re: batch cooking...denied

Just now.. was telling MIL I want to start feeding Kaelyn semi-solid...show her some new tupperware I bought meant for freezer storage and fridge storage
Then at the same time... told her I will cook and freeze the veggie and root.
As expected.. her reaction is shake head then follow by saying freeze veggie will lost all vitamin etc etc...blah blah blah...
Of course everyone know cooking fresh is best.. but...anyway end of conversation make me feel like I'm a lousy mum, want to pre-cooked and freeze food for kaelyn.
Then nevermind.. I dun insist now and I told her must use blender to make food into good consistency, then she start to say everytime cook just little bit how to blend?.. just steam and chopped and mash will do or press thru a sieve...
haizzz...anyway MIL say she rather cook fresh for kaelyn every day.. so I'm thinking let her be.

What I do to ensure she give variety to Kaelyn is to buy different kind of veggie for her to cook for her during the day.

Just a few qns:
(1) any mum start bb on green leafy veggie like spinach or heng Chye already? My MIL say so little cannot blend.. can only chop
but I feel leafy veggie dun blend like very difficult to swallow ley.

(2) if dun use blender.. just steam till soft and mash or press thru sieve.. is it puree enough?

(3) I thinking of buying new roots/veggie every weekend to start cooking and feed kaelyn and let MIL continue during weekday...
1st week : rice cereal
then add carrot puree, then potatoes, then butternut squash or pumpkin, then mix 2 types together, then pear, apple, etc...

what else can try?

Damn sian lor.. things that I buy back... MIL will say my house also have and all no need $$$ pple give

My mum give me a blender.. then my MIL will say she also has a blender can blend very very well..
then I ask her what did she blend using that blender.. then she say she buy already never use??!!!..
then what is she talking abt her blender very good?
SOmetimes I talk to her.. it's like committing sucide..

Flo,
re: bb yoga
Yes i bought a set of 10 lessons (I think).. got 9 left. Contacted the instructress Regina yesterday. She is in the midst of re-structuring the syllabus cos 10 weeks to attend is quite tedious for the baby: thinking of doing it like workshop style, over 2 to 3 weekends (or week days). Each time about 1.5 hrs or so. Will update u guys when the site is ready.

re: holiday with bb
I also at a lost (STILL...) whether should bring bb or not. Will the mummies here help vote:
(please copy, paste and add your vote. Thanks!!!!!)
To Bring BB:

Not To Bring BB:

Demny
*muack* thanks for picking up the Kits!!

I start the ball rolling hor.. err... since so many mummy ok to bring bb overseas.. I suppose u can too esp u are experience mum!

re: holiday with bb
(please copy, paste and add your vote. Thanks!!!!!)
To Bring BB:
1. Cookie (tho I have not done it myself :p)

Not To Bring BB: