(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I will be the 2nd one then...

re: holiday with bb
(please copy, paste and add your vote. Thanks!!!!!)
To Bring BB:
1. Cookie (tho I have not done it myself :p)

Not To Bring BB:
1. Maywong (Time to relax with hb ever since the birth in Jan, time together is shorter)

Re:HT teething biscuit...
Talk abt this hor.. guess what... the HT teething biscuit I bought.. it's my MIL who finishes them instead of Kaelyn.. *faint*
I dunno to laugh or cry...

Hi May,

You can install Picasa from the internet. It's a freeware. It easy to install and easy to use. and from that tool, you can do a collate

re: holiday with bb
(please copy, paste and add your vote. Thanks!!!!!)
To Bring BB:
2. SSF (I brought my boy to Bintan and will be bringing him to Tokyo in Oct!) so go ahead and bring ur bb

Not To Bring BB:
1. Maywong (Time to relax with hb ever since the birth in Jan, time together is shorter)

Rena

Thanks for the info on the sling.

RE: Boi boi or girl girl
I notice that most of the time ppl who ask are either old folks or guys. Was at NTUC yesterday and this young lady was playing with Mel. When hb ask her to guess Mel is boi boi or girl girl, her first remark was girl girl cos she's in pink

Tracy, Durianlover,
My hb farts loud and smelly all the time.... sometimes got rythm one wor!!!!

cookie,
Your MIL still got teeth meh!?!?!?!?! kekeeke

Cookie

Re: batch cooking

I actually dun do batch cooking. What I normally do is that I use an electric streamer to steam the veg first thing I wake up in the morning. Ill then express milk after I finish pumping, the veg will be cooked. Ill sieve the veg manually. So far Ive tried peas, carrot and pumpkin. For sweet potatoes and potatoes mashing it will do. After sieving/mashing Ill leave it back in the steamer to keep it warm and will feed her around noon. Cos the amount she eats is very little, so it takes only 5 min to sieve the veg. For her evening meal, my mom will use a slow cooker to cook porridge (either white or brown rice). Shell throw in a piece of pork block (we dont give the pork to Mel so far, is only for taste). For yesterday she added spinach in. After the porridge is almost cooked, shell use a blender and blend the porridge (with spinach) and put it back into the slow cooker warm up the porridge slightly before feeding.

Denmy

Do keep me posted on the yoga lesson.

Re: holiday with bb

I'll vote for 2nd one

Not To Bring BB:
2. Florence (if you can leave him with someone whom u trust)

I dun think u can really enjoy and relax with Keenan around, cos the thot of bringing so many things oredi stress me out. Is Ethan coming? If he's not going, than is a good for u and hb to have some time to 'reconnect'. If Ethan is going, then is a good time for him to 'feel' like a baby again, having the sole attention of both daddy and mummy to himself. Anyway, Keenan is probably to young to feel that he miss out all the fun

may
haha... so cute... i am tempted to buy hair clip for my gal, too.. but her hair is too thin to put the clip.

cookie
it's good that your mil wanna prepare fresh food for your bb.
next wk onwards, i will bring my gal to my mil again 'cos these few weeks my hb not working and he's full time daddy at home preparing food for my gal. i decided to get a list of food that my gal can and cannot take at this age to my mil, and will buy some vege/fruit/root for her to prepare. and then i will let her decide what to cook for my gal liao. 'cos i can't be full time 'supervising' my mil, so boh bian, got to relax a bit loh. sigh....
haha... it's so funny that your mil finishes the biscuit.

I'll vote for 1st one

2. sunny (i want my gal to be with me all the time except the time i go work! hehe)

Not To Bring BB:

sleepingdeer

re: giving solid, reduce milk intake?
ladies, does your bb reduce the milk intake after bb takes solid for the meal?
my gal reduces her milk intake by about 50ml after she takes solid for that meal.

queen
re pram
which airaline did you take. my friend who just cathay pacific said they allowed her pram on board. I'll taking SIA.
Re cereal for dinner
I also feed him cereal for dinner, but he wakes up.

btw, anyone watched superman or hv any good movies to recommend? me thinking of catching a movie with hb.

tracy
thanks.. which airline did u take?

think some mummy recommended a good hairdresser at Orchard area. can give me the contact again, pl. Me thinking of going for a haircut later. thanks!

Zhimin,
No hurry on Spree 2 list, just PM whtn ready. Me also contemplating on buying some of the new items, but the price is high... dunno whether will drop soon.

cookie,
wah... your MIL finished the teething biscuit??? Win already loh!
Yah.. start with plain rice cereals for a week. Then next week give onwards can give a cube of puree for snacks. Start with root vege like carrot and potatoes. Let Kaelyn try each kind for at least 3 days to get use to the taste before giving her another kind. You can let Kaelyn try broccoli and sweet peas as well.
If she show signs of being bored with rice cereal, then add carrot into the cereal.
When she's used to all these, can give her fruits in puree form.

sunny,
Dunno whether my boy reduce milk intake actually. I give him 2 to 3 heaped tablespoons of cereals but do not give milk after that. About 1 and half hours later, I'll latch him on. My MIl is different, she'll give cereal and towards the end, when the cereal turns runny, she add into another 50ml of EBM and feed the cereal+milk through bottle. Effectively, the meal is 2 to 3 tbsp of cereals + 50ml of milk. She said can last him 2 hours or so.

So I think my boy's meal schedule is something like this:
6am - Latch on
9am - 200ml EBM
12pm - 2 to 3 tbsp cereal + 50ml EBM
3pm - 200ml EBM
6pm - 2 to 3 tbsp cereal + 50ml EBM
8.30pm - Latch on
In between meals, my MIL will give him fruit juice and 1 cube of puree for snack.

I think it depends on whether you can 'let go' completely without BB when holidaying...
No point leaving BB out if the whole time think about BB. Like that also cannot enjoy yourself.
For me, think I'll probably miss my BB too much to leave him out if the holiday is more than 1 night! Plus still BF. If Isaac is older, say more than 1 year, I have stopped BF and he can confirm sleep through the night, ywah... maybe I won't mind leavning him out. So for now..

Bring BB:
2. sunny (i want my gal to be with me all the time except the time i go work! hehe)
3. queen

Not To Bring BB:

denmy,

3. tracy

Not To Bring BB:

Altho many ppl say why bring baby when they don't remember anything...i tell them its not for baby to remember, WE the parents will remember. There will be some things they do during the trip that are priceless moments. Like when i saw how much megan enjoyed the Lion King show, i was almost moved to tears..

oops, posted same as queen so update:

3. tracy
4. queen

Not To Bring BB:

krissie,
The other time, I took Qantas & BA.
Not sure about SIA though...
Last night (3rd day on cereal dinner feed), Isaac slept through...
I'm also thinking of catching movie with Hb.
Maybe Friday night.

krissie,
i took cathay pacific. movie selection and entertainment not as good as SIA's. but i didnt get to watch anything anyway..

but CX also ave baby jar foods like gerber and heinz and a baby pack consisting of mustela lotion n nappy cream n 2pc petpet diapers.

i feel that it very much depends on the crew on duty at that time, whether they are helpful.

Krissie
The hairdresser that both sleepingdeer and myself use is Gary Chew at Chez Vous Salon at Ngee Ann City, 5th floor. Need to call and make appt 1st. In fact that hair salon all by appt, rarely got walk in. Call his mobile at 96879808. Say that Sophia from NCC recommended.

May
Like what SSF said, I used the picture tool call Picasa which I downloaded for free and it helps to upload whatever picture to blogger too. Really easy to use. Do note that when you do the picture collage, make sure the size of the picture file is small so that you can see each picture in the format I used i.e. picture pile. Have fun!

denmy

3. tracy
4. queen

Not To Bring BB:
3. MamaChan (like what Florence say, if you can leave bb with someone u trust. Great for couple time alone too. Marraige is as impt as children are to the parents. Give your hb some lovin')

denmy

3. tracy
4. queen
5. rena ( you will miss your bb like mad)

Not To Bring BB:
3. MamaChan (like what Florence say, if you can leave bb with someone u trust. Great for couple time alone too. Marraige is as impt as children are to the parents. Give your hb some lovin')

RE: gathering at Rena's place in Bishan

SAHM / PTHM
I am organising a 2nd gathering a my house

25th July 2005 Tuesday 2pm onwards

1) Rena + bb

denmy, if you are coming then can bring the kits... thanks

SSF/ krissie - pirates of caribbean sucked, both hb and I liked the 1st one better. Maybe it'll appeal to kids.

Superman is better than pirates but my hb also think it sucks. Nowadays got very few nice shows. I want to catch Thank You For Smoking. I think got potential in that.

Krissie;
Re: Pram/stroller

when we went to london on BA, crew allowed our stroller on board. and we collected it on the way out of the plane. but on the return flight, crew only allow pram up to boarding gate and we had to collect stroller from the luggage carousel.

And when we went to melb on Qantas, crew also only allow pram up to boarding gate. Ditto for the return flight. had to collect from luggage carousel.

So I think it really depends on how 'chin-chai' the crew is?

I heard Emirates is VERY baby/kids friendly...the crew members are very good with babies and children.

denmy

3. tracy
4. queen
5. CassCL (we've done it twice cos can't bear to be away from bb!)

Not To Bring BB:

Pai seh, didnt see rena's posting!

3. tracy
4. queen

Not To Bring BB:

Denmy

My vote

2. wenyl

Not To Bring BB:

For me, I m the sole caretaker for Ethan & we went Perth when he was abt 5mths old. Leaving bb with my MIL is out of the question cos I will miss him like siao & will worry like siao too! But admit that bringing bb is indeed very tiring & our iternery all depends on him. But looking back at the photos taken with bb, I didnt regret a single bit lor!
Another alternative if u dun want to leave bb behind, is to bring ur mum along so that she can help take care of Keenan. Tat I regret not doing. Haahaa~!

Heehee! Me too!

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl

Not To Bring BB:

Denmy

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
7. Sysac (I wld! That's y we had baby in the first place! To share everything together)

Not To Bring BB:

Flo,
What's a electic streamer? Sorry very suaku. Haven't prepared anything for bb yet...so was thinking, if steam carrot, peas will have to steam very long before they become soft enough rite? I at first tot of boiling the carrot, potato....but heard that boiling would make the food lose it's nutrient....
Oh yah...one more thing what does the sieve looks like? Don't have that or a blender. Can use fork to try mash it up?

Started JW on one feed of FM on monday. Since then he hasn't poo poo till today. :-(
Don't know if it's the FM or it's just his normal routine. Coz like my MIL says, when he is on total EBM, there are times when he also never poo for 4 days +. But back then don't really care coz they say when baby on total BM it's ok not to poo for a number of days as long as he is still happy & active. Does this same theory applies when he is on FM? now don't know if I should stop the FM or not...any advice?

Cookie - I am feeding Cephas spinach & cauliflower. What mum/I do is scrap them 1st and then throw into the slow cooker. By his 1st feeding time, it's usually quite "nua" already. Just smash it up further b4 we feed him.

So far, we have fed him carrots, potatoes, sweet potato, wolfberry, scallop, cod fish, ngoh he, spinach, cauliflower. These are for lunch and dinner. We alternate the ingredients.

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
7. Sysac (I wld! That's y we had baby in the first place! To share everything together)
8. durianlover (i'll miss bb too much! Plus i dun trust my parents nor my ILs to take care of baby for more than 1 day)

Not To Bring BB:

Flo,
What's a electic streamer? Sorry very suaku. Haven't prepared anything for bb yet...so was thinking, if steam carrot, peas will have to steam very long before they become soft enough rite? I at first tot of boiling the carrot, potato....but heard that boiling would make the food lose it's nutrient....
Oh yah...one more thing what does the sieve looks like? Don't have that or a blender. Can use fork to try mash it up?

Started JW on one feed of FM on monday. Since then he hasn't poo poo till today. :-(
Don't know if it's the FM or it's just his normal routine. Coz like my MIL says, when he is on total EBM, there are times when he also never poo for 4 days +. But back then don't really care coz they say when baby on total BM it's ok not to poo for a number of days as long as he is still happy & active. Does this same theory applies when he is on FM? now don't know if I should stop the FM or not...any advice?

may,
i'm amazed u managed to clip Jamie's hair! So cute

Yesterday i fed Janelle rice cereal at 7plus and she slept thru till 6am. Not sure if it's the cereal that helped or what. Shall try again today!

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
8. durianlover (i'll miss bb too much! Plus i dun trust my parents nor my ILs to take care of baby for more than 1 day)
9. Mashybrainz

Not To Bring BB:

SH

It's those layered electric steamer such as those from Tefal. I have 1 of those and I've converted it to sterilise my bb's stuff. hahaha. Works fine for me.

Krissie

Mikasa Hair Salon
400 Orchard Road #03-44 Orchard Towers,

Tel: 68875525

My stylist is Shirley. You can ask for Alfred too. Saw his clients all Japanese. But haven't tried him before.

Like Cookie, I vote for bringing bb...though i have not done it myself either. Can't bear to leave him here. So many days cannot see him.

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH

Not To Bring BB:

Denmy,

I would bring my bb - cos still bfing mah. If not, need to bring pump leh. Besides,I think I will miss her like mad....

so my vote is.....

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl

Not To Bring BB:

btw, where are you going?

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl

Not To Bring BB:
4. Babylon (going taiwan is Sept.shopping shoppingnot going to bring hubby and bbI need to have my own time.) Lucky I got my mother that I can trust to take care of damien)

my vote is to bring bb coz like SL, i'm still breastfeeding and i can't bear to leave Edgar behind. will miss him like mad!!! i'll be bringing Edgar for a holiday in the 1st week of Dec but haven't decided where. Most likely Aussieland.

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl
12. celine

Not To Bring BB:

denmy
i vote to bring bb too!

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl
12. celine
13. Sy (planning to go hol in sept with bb)

Not To Bring BB:

re batch cooking
thanks for sharing all the ways to start bb on solids, i m thinking whehter to do batch cooking cos it is really a waste to steam just one small carrot for him.

so i can add in new stuff after 3 days? i m thinking of giving him porridge for noon and cereal for dinner. in btwn, can give him a snack like carrot etc?

what are the vegetables that we can give them at this stage besides carrot?

can i ask abt cooking porridge? must we use slow cooker to do it? can just use normal corningware? then if i add in carrot, i must mash first is it?

for the porridge, do we add in things like pork or chicken for flavor? last time the PD say cook plain first.

Denmy,

My two cents worth; I travelled, 6 weeks after delivering Ryan, to tokyo with my husband. It was a trip planned before I had delivered and I tot i shd give myself and my hubby a break (without bringing BB). At no time did i anticipate i would develop such bonding and love for my BB. As the weeks drew nearer to when we had to go tokyo, i struggled to tell my hubby I no longer wanted to go. His response was that I not only must love BB, I must love him too and this would be a rare opportunity to travel without BB cos as BB grow older, we would usually have to travel with him. So in the end, we went, without BB. I cried everynite in tokyo cos i miss BB, but i enjoyed myself still...couple time with HB. When i came back, i was happy to see BB well taken care of by my mum. On reflection, it was a good couple time with HB. Bear in mind I was (and still am) TBF. So in 6 weeks i managed to accumulate 45 bags of milk!! Pumping like a cow everyhour! Which I was very disciplined to do cos i felt i owe it to BB since I wouldnt be around.

so my vote is.....

3. tracy
4. queen
6. Wenyl
9. Mashybrainz
10. SH
11. sl

Not To Bring BB:
4. AK