(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,
When u say 2 solid meals...do u mean the bb doesn't take milk after dat? My MIL has been keeping JW cereal intake to only 3 to 4 tsp (once a day). And then after that he takes 120ml. She seems quite reluctant to increase the amount of cereal leh....maybe coz he doesn't like to drink water...

Esther

RE: Dentinox teething gel

I normally use apply after I wipe Mel at nite before she sleeps (and in the day if I bathe her). I guess it should be ok to use daily cos the instruction states to use every 20 min if necessary.

Denmy
Clarisse's studio photos were taken at berryhappy studio. I found the contact from "mother & baby" mag with Sun Ho on the cover. I quite like the photographer's style. And the package I took is not so ex... $88 with 3x5R and the edited images on CD on those 3 I selected. But in fact I got back all the un-edited ones.

The outfit is Clarisse's. I bought the dress before she was born... now a little too tight liao... only wear once leh... for the photo shoot can bring a few outfits for the baby to change.

Florence/ Queen
Actually Clarisse is not a very smiley baby... I would love to see her smile more... this is really a rare shot which captured her smile.

Any tips to make baby smile more... I tried tickle her, making funny faces... end up she still looks stone... and making myself like a clown.

Queen
Can bring Isaac take a simple package for the photo shoot for keepsake... I din let Clarisse take those "new born photo" when in hospital... now really regret. That is why I insisted to hb that I wan bring her go for a simple one when she is 6-month and go for family portrait when she turns 1.

Thanks for the microwave pureed tips too... will try to make batch cooking soon, or else everytime steam a little bit so siong.

Let her tried pumpkin these 3 days... when I fed her with pumpkin alone she gave me really funny look... then she will "fake fake" vomiting... haha... think she dun really like... but when mix with cereal she can finish most of it.

SH
My girl likes to pound her own tummy leh... some more pound until very hard also...

Mashy
For pumping milk in office... here is a list of stuffs I need: Sterilising tablets, one big container to sterilise my pumps and bottle, a water jug for boiled water to rinse the pump before use and a small bottle of pigeon bottle cleanser.

Esther
I interested to look at your master piece also...

Florence
Thanks for the link to the organic online store... but just to check with you... they deliver even though I only bought a few items or must be $25 and above? I dun have so much things to buy leh...

Queen
Is the 2nd ON spree close? I got to check with my friend whether she is still interested... but if close then nvm.

sysac
Thanks for the compliments on Clarisse's photo. "mother & baby" with Sun Ho on the cover has featured a few studios... can take a look.

Very interested on the MIM sling class but i think I cant make it cos no transport. Just 2 days ago I took back the sling to use again... but still a bit clumsy when using.

Mikel
Welcome welcome...

Cookie
My MIL also applied mopiko on Clarisse when she got mosquito bites. At that moment I also very angry... but I talked to her in a real nice tone but firm that next time not to use it again on baby, I dunno she will mind anot... but if wait for my hb to tell her then that will be dunno how many days later.

My friends think I a bit over react on this incident but what I a bit unhappy is she never consult me before when she apply. But now I really try to tell myself I am fortunate that I have her to rely on to take care of Clarisse.

Today Clarisse went for her 6-month jab, she is now 7.6kg and 66cm long. Hmm... her length not much different but weight increase quite a bit according to the clinic assistant... which means she is growing horizontally... aiyo... maybe she will follow my gene

Flo,
re: butternut squash & pumpkin
not much difference in taste.

Yuki,
hahaha, Ashley is sooooooo adorable....

tabbs,
re: kids lifting weights
how can train kids to lift weights? later cannot grow tall ah....

durianlover,
hahahahaha... you hb farts in the middle of the nite???!??!! Mine too!!!!

sl,
re: Malacca
Glad Charmaine was such a good girl during her Malacca trip. We had to cancel our trip cos Ethan and hb fell ill on Fri with high fever!!!! AND we still have to pay for the hotel...

cookie,
you can try a few drops of Karvol on a tissue for her blocked nose if dun want to rub anything onto her skin.

Y,
Keenan also gives the "high high" look when i give him his super soft cuddly cow when he is sleepy. He loves sucking on the tag and can drift off to sleep almost instantly.

SY,
re: bb waking up
Keenan wakes up every now and then in the middle of the night but i bochap him and he will go back to sleep on his own.

Sandra Chu,
Its at La Vida Loft Studio
28 Maxwell Road, #04-02 red dot Traffic Building
www.lavidaloft.com
have a browse at the website... if you like it,we can attend together?

Hi Zhimin

RE: Organic Food
Yes for delivery is must be min $25 and that excludes stuff under the other sections. Veg such as carrot, potatoe, sweet potatoe, pumpkin etc can keep for more than 1 week. To make up the difference, I just order some papaya, banana etc for the adults. As I mentioned to Tabbie, I paid $16 for a bag of spinach & a pear at Brown Rice Paradise, so I might as well add another $9 to get a basket full of veg/fruits. Alternatively you can go to their farm or share with another mummy staying near you.

RE: Photo shot
Is the quality of the edited images on the CD good enough for printing?

Denmy
Thanks for the info on butternut squash

RE: Baby yoga
Do you buy the passes for the lesson (similar to adults)?

RE: sucking tag
Same same, Mel like to suck all kinds of tag on her toys...haha

Flo
where's the organic vege farm?

re: pumping
currently i still pump 3 times in the office, 3 hours interval. the amount is not consistent. sometimes can get 500ml or a bit more.

re: falling down from bed
that day i put my gal on the my bed and have nap with me. i fell asleep before her. then suddenly heard a 'pop' sound.... gosh... she was on the flr!!! she didn't cry till i carried her up. luckily no bruise or cut on heard or body. and no vomit or fever after that and she's still active as usual.... phew!!! feeling so guilty about it.
kena lectured by my hb when i told him.

cookie
re block nose
can try karvol. I tried it and it works for Ger.

To mummies who hv travelled abroad,
how do I bring the pram on the plane. Can i hand carry it or must check into cargo? thanks. mine is a small and light combi pram.

i'm back from hongkong! take-off n landing on the plane was fine for megan. only inconvenience was our mealtime, we had to gobble our food n take turns to carry her. she slept on the plane too.

the only time i enjoyed myself on this trip was at disneyland. megan was very excited when watching the Lion King performance. weather was cool and breezy at disneyland. thank god.

BUT...any other trips in future with ILs, i'll consider real hard..i quarrelled with hb almost everyday in HKG. haiz...this whole trip was 'organized' by me cos i got my regular agent to book. here are jus a few things my ILs did that irritated me:

1) MIL grumbled everyday about no chilli available. everyday!!! every meal!!

2) MIL don't allow SIL's maid to mix her luggage with us. so at the airport, we dump our bags onto trolley to push, poor maid had to carry her own bag, push stroller n look after nephew. reach hotel, porter took our bags, maid must carry own bag...i find that ridiculous!

3) first night went ladies' mkt, very very hot. at 10pm, megan started fussing n i had to carry her. told hb lets go back first, they can carry on shopping. they said no need, jus awhile more. kept dragging n dragging...my arms wanna break liao..carrying a struggling baby for an hour plus. no one helped.

4) reach hotel, almost midnight, megan too tired liao so fussing about. ILs kept calling our room (3times) to ask us go over to eat snacks!!

5) second day at disneyland was ok. megan can even fall asleep amidst the loud fireworks. i carried her for 1.5hrs!! no one offered to help hor..in fact whole trip, ILs never offer to help carry when she fusses or is asleep. they only carry when she is in good mood. so going on trip with ILs is not much help!

6) after disneyland, back at hotel i was preparing megan for sleep. MIL & FIL suddenly came knocking on our door. hb n i were in our undergarments only! they kept knocking n knocking. when we let them in, they juz came n took megan to my SIL's room. i was sooo angry! i told hb go take her back! then we had hard time making her sleep.

7) ILs kept grumbling room is small, hotel inconvenient (cos all other hotels fully booked) etc..

8) last day breakfast at a restaurant, MIL say utensils dirty, wanna use hot water to rinse all the things!! i said no need lah, even got stomachache also back in s'pore already lah!

they were discussing abt next trip to shanghai. i immed say count me out. i don't like shanghai.

sori so long-winded, had to grumble somewhere..

tracy77,
sorry but i had a good laugh reading ur complains! :p coz it's very drama, tot it only happens in tv serials! really pity u sia, but also "pei fu" u got such patience. if it were me, i would have dumped my ILs aside and go enjoy on my own :p

Hi Sunny
The organic farm is located at 41 Neo Tiew Road S(719028)

Re: Falling off from bed
I also felt very guilty when Mel fell off the bed when I dozed off. But I guess is part and parcel of growing up, so dun blame yourself

hahahaa Tracy..
i must say that u are indeed very patience with your ILs. Why ur hubbie din help u to carry megan ar? He busy shopping as well?

sleepingdeer
Wow.. the cruise loooks fun. how many nites did u stay in the cruise? hmm.. maybe I can suggest to hb for cruise too. the rocking motion will hopefully help him in slp.

queen
if u blend the pear w/o steaming, wont it oxidise?
re MS
It depends on how many times i pump a day.. haha.. so not affected by bb starting on solids.

Hi Tracy

Welcome back. Ya your hol is really drama indeed. If I were u I'll get hb to carry Megan. I guess is never easy going hol with whole family esp in-laws. Me and hb are so used to holidaying on our own. After hearing the experiences of mummies here, I think me & hb will prob leave Mel with my mom and go for our own hol until she's much older

tracy
Wah.. can imagine how irritated you were. Did u bring pram ah? how to bring on board the plane? Me was also thinking of going for a trip with my MIL.. heehee think no need liao.

flo
thanks for the address.
luckily my gal's neck is stronger now, if not, don't know what can happen leh.. :p

tracy
pei fu for your patience. if i am in your situation, i will tell them that i go shopping with my gal alone without them.

SH

Yah, he still takes milk. Still can't stop milk at this stage. He's taking 150ml milk + abt 50ml cereal. I'll feed him milk first coz he's more receptive to spoon feeding. So even if he can't finish the milk, he'll finish his cereal. the cereal is abt 2 tablespoons cereal mix with 2 tablespoon vege/fruit/milk.

Tracy

Haha, should have told me you went with your ILs then I can mentally prepare you. Hahaha. Went 2 hols with my ILs b4. 1st time package tour, so nothing much to complain abt. 2nd hols, I planned everything. Very sian. Went Japan, then don't eat anything raw, refused sushi and wanted to eat chicken at Tsukiji (fish market) very unadventurous. Told my hb no more hols with them. When I told them I made my boy's passport liao, my MIL told us to plan hols in Sep or Dec then she can go. As if I wanna go with her!

Haha, but from your description, i think your MIL more fussy than mine during hols. You are indeed very patient.

Zhimin,
ON Spree 2 is still on...

krissie,
Can use the pram after checking into departure hall all the way to till boarding time. Then have to fold the pram and pass to the airport staff. What they'll do is to chuck it in the cargo plane as well. So up to you lah.. you can check-in with your luggage first and carry JH till you board, if not just pass to the aircrew later. Prams are usually not allowed on board.
As for blending of pears, I only peel and cut the pear just prior to blending, so the pear does not oxidise much.

Tracy,
haha, so funny you story. Sigh... MILs. Always got story about them one hor, last night was just complaining about my MIL to the girls on MSN. My Hb keep syaing want to bring my in-laws along to Genting so they can help jagar Isaac while we go casino. I say thanks but no thanks!

Re. BB sleeping through
All along Isaac has the 4am waking up habit to feed. But for the last 2 nights, I started cereal feed at 6pm, followed by latch on at 8pm. He'll conk out from 9pm till to 6am (only heard him stirring for a while at 3am). I even had to wake him up at 6am to feed and pump before preparing for work! Dunno if it's the evening cereal feed working or just a coincidence...

yes mummies,
consider hard if u wanna go trip with ILs... i was jus complaining to my colleagues. can't wait to grumble to my mum.

krissie,
got pram...my SIL brought two prams (she offered to bring so i tot ok lor)..my hb said regret ah, shld ve brot our own pram. hers cannot make it lah! wheels very stiff, hard to push. folds into half those kind, not compact one..no strap to carry, must lift up..poor maid carry.

Sept03,
my hb never buy anything at all..haha. when megan is awake, he's in charge of carrying her in the carrier. when she wanna sleep or gets cranky, its my job. when she's deep sleep, its the pram's job. but hkg is not stroller friendly. alot of steps in the MTR. n LOTS of people so hard to move around.

sl, sleepingdeer, SY,
Janelle also now wakes up once at 5am or so for a feed when she used to sleep thru. Wanna ask u all - is it really impt to try to make them drop that feed? Dilemma leh. Coz breasts will also feel full, so it's good to feed. And i've tried not feeding her when she wakes up at 4/5am and it doesn't work. She won't get back to sleep till i feed her. Which also means she's dependent on the feed to get back to sleep, which isn't very good right?

cindy,
i've also been using the Snuffle Babe Vapour Rub and Illiadin on my gal. Illiadin was prescribed by PD, can only use for max 6 days or something like that. Think it does help!

zhimin,
yah forgot to say - i thot that was a really lovely smiley pic of ur gal! Beautiful

As for making baby smile more, i think may be a bit tough right? Depends on baby's personality. My fren's mum claims that my fren HARDLY smiled at all when she was a baby! But she grew up fine! So no worries

Denmy,
yes my hb farts in the MIDDLE of the nite! And i get awoken esp when we sleep with aircon coz the windows are not open and the smell just wakes me up. Can u imagine?!

sunny,
same thing! My gal also fell off the bed coz i fell asleep! The only difference is that she was already sleeping when i lay beside her to sleep. So somehow in her sleep (or perhaps she woke up) she rolled till she dropped off the bed and cried.

tracy,
Agree with the other mummies - u're indeed very patient! i've never tried travelling with ILs before either. Think sure will have conflict when travelling with the whole big family!

Re: 2 cereal feeds per day
Do we have to feed milk together with the cereal feed? Usually i will latch Janelle on, then when she's had enough, i'll give her cereal. And she surprises me coz she never fails to finish up all her cereal! And i usually give 2 heap tablespoons of rice cereal, which i think is quite a lot considering she has already had her full milk intake. Hmmm...

of my of friend's girl refuse to take her cereal. now from 3 meals of cereal to half a meal. my friend worried. beside cereal, baby is on her mummy's milk... pls help. im on msn with her now. she had moved to meixco with her hubby and bb recently...

Demny to be honest I only went yoga twice in my life. So dunno wat to expect for baby yoga. I just want to sign baby up for sumthing so that she will be entertained a little (as oppose to staring at my face the entire day). So, just lemme know when u going, I'll go with u. Can u make it during the day or must it be after work? =)

Tracy, u're so funny. Sleepingdeer ur description of shannon eating also very funny. =)

sleepingdeer,
nice trip on the cruise! shannon is 7.45kg? quite ok lah, same as megan. shannon's very cute. i like her confused, puckered lips look when she's out. heehee.

oh ya, in hkg, the people there love babies. they give way when they see you with baby, unlike s'poreans.

they ALL think megan is a boy. always get a shock when i say she's a girl..even at customs, they wanted to check her stroller with her in it, the guy came over then stare at her, ask girl or boy. when i told him, he called his female colleague and said, 'girl lah!'

faintz...

SSF/god's_child,
Did you get my latest email to you on the wipes? Lemme know if you still want.

Cleo(?),
Think i received PM from you. Have replied. Cheers.

Tracy,
I dun think I'd want to travel with my ILs... spending a day with them is enough already, can't imagine more days.

sandra,
i tried yoga during my pregnancy. its good. with yoga, i felt more energetic. i tink it'll be fun to do baby yoga.

krissie,
ya, when checking in your baggage, let the counter staff know u wanna use your stroller till at the boarding gate. they will then tag your stroller first. then at boarding gate, they will tell u where to leave it.

durianlover,
my hb is also the great 'farter'.. but thank god not smelly one, jus loud..:p

rachel,
sorry can't help on cereals. jus re-starting cereal for my gal.

Rachel

Agree with what Sandra said. Maybe she's bored with cereal. How abt mixing some vege/fruits to the cereal? Or just vege/fruits puree?

I remember someone mentioned a good PD in Elias Mall? Can give address & contact details? Thinking of switching JW to a PD nearer to home else have to go Gleneagles all the time for his jabs very siong. Btw, does anyone know abt the Pneumococcal jab? The original PD recommended but says it's optional. So don't know if should take....

tracy
i understand how you feel when ppl mistaken your gal as boy.
'cos 9 out of 10 ppl will think that my gal is a boy! and i feel so happy if someone guessed correctly! haha.... think mayb she looked like my hb and she's still botak. :p

Tracy

haha, my boy looks very boyish and still can have pp coming up and ask if he is a girl???!!!! And he was wearing blue all over!

So I think maybe they just wanna be sure lor. Just in case...

RE: Baby food

was feeding megan potato puree but she didn;t quite like it. Hubby commented that it's tasteless that's why. Told him that every new food to baby is something new and interesting. It's us adults that are so used to sweets, salt, favour etc that we think it's tasteless. We are the one who 'spoil' their taste buds by introducing favours etc thinking it's tasteless.

Hi Durainlover,

My hubby farts alot when he take alot of protein (for body building). The fart super smelly. But from the fart i can tell that he has ate alot of protein! Gross right? Ha Ha.

Hi Rachel,

Can try brown rice beside cereal?

Hi Tracy,

Thank God the HKgers are polite when they see you with baby. I went there a few years ago and i find them pretty rude. A bit of culture shock for me.

I recall bargaining with one auntie - asking if i can have more discount if i buy more pieces (logical isn;t it?) Her reply - Then if you buy even more, doesn;t that mean i give my whole shop to you???!!!! ;p

Hi Sleeping deer,

Cruise sounds nice. Would love to bring my gals someday

Looks like Shannon enjoys herself.
Btw where does Shannon sleep at night? Those bed on the cruise are usually quite narrow isn;t it?

Hi MAshy brainz, sunny and Tracy,

Guess it's hard to guess the baby gender just by look. But actually can guess by the colour of the clothings right?

LAst time i dress Ashley in pink frills flower swimsuit and i have this uncle coming up to ask me whether boy or gal???!! I simply refused to answer him.

Yuki,
haha, that silly uncle! yes, megan can be in a dress and have people saying she's a boy. wat were they tinking?? that we parents are psychos?

tracy,

sorry but your acct is really very funny. next, I just wanna say that you r very patient with your ils. I can foresee all these problems cos my mil gets very worked up when bb is fussing. besides, when my mil told us abt her travel experience, I already knew that I won't travel with her. I have already told my hubby that I won't travel with her.

denmy,

oh dear! is ethan better already?

denmy/durianlover,

I thot my hubby's snoring in the middle of the night is bad enough. : ) imagine that he can wake bb up with his snoring.

durianlover,

For me, it's okay for charmaine to wake up for feed at 5am. I just carry her to my bed and feed then I close my eyes to rest.

mashy
not that i dun wan him to take 2 solids meal but my maid doesn't know how to feed and i have to work so by the time i reach home it is too late for him to have solids.

re baby waking up
i try to ignore my boy but he will end up crying really badly...how?

re milk after cereal
my boy doesn't need to drink milk after that. he's quite full. i give him 2 tbps of cereal.

durianlover
JH alos dependent on milk to go back to sleep. he was playing by himself at 3+ last night and only after i latch him then he go back to sleep

SH,
the clinic is Pasir baby and child clinic. 65810032.

Rachel,
how many days has it been liao? your fren's bb may be on a food strike.... seems like it happens occasionally with bbs... milk strike too.... read that just keep trying to feed bb, it should last no more than 2 days or so...? If longer than that, then maybe see a doctor?

Krissie, Tracy, Yuki,
Cruise is nice, but it's not value for money lah, so dun think about it if you decide to go.. hee hee
But we had fun, so we just think of it as a present to our little family! We requested for a bb cot for Shannon, the mattress was super soft, like quilt, maybe that's why she zonked out every night.... she never moved at all during the night, and in the morning, when we lifted her from the cot, can see her body imprint on the mattress... hee hee..

Yuki,
my gal also didn't enjoy potato, strange.... but she quite liked today's porriage with carrot and pork, just kept spitting out the lumps as usual.

Tracy,
your description is so funnie, I agree, I also very scared to go on holiday with MIL... and we were thinking of visiting my freind in Perth later this year with my MIL!

Denmy and Sandra,
I think Mamachan was also asking whether anyone interested in Yoga or not...

Cookie,
thanks for the tip on the cream.

thanks for your input. actually my friend had tried intro porridge too with carrot but still reject and constipation... sigh

so we conclude its due to teething?? haha

btw, when can we place baby's car seat to be front facing? dylan nowadays keep wanting to get up. still doing him rear facing...

Durianlover,
yes, i have the same dilemna... if I dun feed her, I still have to get the pump and pump for about 10min, very sian to get up in the middle of the night just to pump... worse thought is if after I finish pumping, she is still not settled and keeps crying for milk then how?

sleepingdeer

food strike?! wow... you know what can cause this?
think its been a few days liao, but lucky she still drink from her mummy. she is 6 days older than dylan but only weight 6.9kg.... a worried mummy my friend is now...

Rachel

Mel has the same problem initially. Did you fren force feed her gal? If yes dun do that and maybe just stop solid for a while first, then re-introduce. If not maybe she can try adding other puree or try other types of cereal. Mel prefers oatmeal cereal to brown rice (cos I think is sweeter). But the funny thing is she dun like potatoe and sweet potatoe (??? I thot is sweet) but instead she prefers peas, green beans, spinach, pumpkin and carrot. Have not given her any fruits yet.

tracy/mashy/yuki/sl,

You are not alone. Me too, dress Mel in all pink and wear hairclip (yes despite Mel having quite a bit of hair), one uncle can still ask me boy or girl??? *bang head*