(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cindy - you have got mail!

Cookie - Oh... i wld be very mad if my in-laws do tat to Celeste... i dun like them to do anytin wfout consulting us... u shld stress to them hw bad the rashes are to scare them mah... must teach them a lesson,if not, always apply their methods...haiz..

SY - hoep your dear son's bump is going off... its hard to keep 100% focus on them nowadays.even then, they are so strong tat they jus wriggle out of our arms ! Celeste also knocked onto the platform when i was putting her on the potty. i was reali in no time to catch her cos she was so fast in arching backwards!!!

cookie
what kind of vicks did they buy? is it for babies? i bought korvar or something like that.. use it to put it on a hanki or towel then put near bb for better breathing..

better dun put vicks on bb body coz sumo also will have rashes if i put direct

Yuki
keke I'm a super kan cheong mummy:p

mamachan
I saw the vick container has a "finger" den.. I dunno exactly how they apply...
maybe kaelyn skin more sensitive.. she has most of the rashes on her chest.. around the nipple area.. aiyo.. but thankfully subside liao.

God's child,
I'm angry also.. but I know if I'm the one doing the talking. I might blow my top so I ask my hb to tell my PIL.
So my hb told my MIL that kaelyn has rashes and we brought her to PD and pD say cannot apply. Hope this will stop them.
I have also hide the vick inside my hb bag.. haha let my hb use instead.
I also ask HB to tell MIL.. n future if they wanna apply or feed any medication.. must call us to check first.
My hb is a good boy to parents.. I only worry he din get the point over seriously

mama chan
btw.. I was asking my PD freind abt VICKs..he mentioned VICKS, Mopico ( the one for insect bite,tiger balm and like wise.. try not to use too much and definitely cannot ingest cos it's contain some toxic.. forgot whats the techinical name..
there was a case, an angry father feed his baby some medication meant for external use, the baby died.
So for him...he seldom use them for his kids even for external use.
So I kinda trust him la.

god's child,
yah his bump going off. i was only gone for a few mintues to the toilet and he managed to wiggle all the way to the bottom of my boy before sliding off....sigh. really must be more careful.

cookie,
sometimes older folks dun listen to us. they only listen to what the doc say. so everytime to stress a point, i will tell them doc say one...

god's child,
yah his bump going off. i was only gone for a few mintues to the toilet and he managed to wiggle all the way to the bottom of my boy before sliding off....sigh. really must be more careful.

cookie,
sometimes older folks dun listen to us. they only listen to what the doc say. so everytime to stress a point, i will tell them doc say one...

RE : VICKS
arh!!!! my mom just rubbed alot on my boy's chest as his nose is blocked! better check tonight!!! and worse....my MIL has bought a new one for him. She's gonna take it personally if I tell her cannot use...."everything also cannot"!!!!!

Re : Hub Loves BB more
Haiz...my hub loves his son more than me. He's away for business trip and he actually asked me for bb pics. I asked him why never ever take my pic, he replied "U will still be the same mah!"

Re : Favourite Activities
My boy loves to have his back scratched and more to have his face stroke. Must stroke gently and tenderly...u can see the "high high" look on his face...

Florence,
I only steam the butternut squash. Pear just blend raw. Think beyond 6 months, BB is able to take most fruits without steaming.

sl / sleepingdeer,
glad to hear you all had a wonder short holiday!
very tempted to go somewhere with BB too...

Sy
hope JH head is better.. I very worry now that kaelyn can rol both way.
Last weekend. both my hb and I doze off int he afternoon with kaelyn tuck in bwt us on the bed..
suddenly I woke up and find kaelyn make a 90degree turn and roll the edge of the bed already. Close shave. phew.

Ya old folk feel they have more experience.. but like queen say they not very well inform on lotsa things.
So now.. we always use Doctor say.. to deal with them.

Y
ya lor thats why I ask my hb do the talking lor...anyway my hb has been the bochap one.. my PIL wun knows I'm "master mind".. but dun care la... and YES we always say the doc say.
which in my case is true.
Tho we din bring her to PD.. but I check with my PD friend whom I trust alot.

cookie,
Aiya...no matter who's the "master mind" my MIL will surely thinks its me...although most of the time I'm indeed the one...hahaha

Well, I better tell mum dun put anymore...so worried now. Put last week too but was okay...urgh!!!!

Y
heehee..same here, most time I'm really the master mind...I use get hb to do it tactfully.

hmm.. dun worry too much, as long as your bb is ok and no rashes.. just dun apply too often lor.

RASHES
Over the weekend, Ethan had a minor outbreak of red patchy rashes around his neck area. It appears when he starts perspiring. Dunno is it normal heat rash or some food allergy? I wonder is it due to durians that I ate on Thur? Thru BM? Or could it be the steamed brown rice I started giving him on wed? Sounds very unlikely hor. My HB says stop the brown rice for a few days & see how. Now revert back to giving him cereals for both meals. Advise needed....anyone?

Queen,
The Annabel Karmel book mentioned that it is better to steam or boil the fruits at least for the 1st month cos bb digestive system is still very weak.

Y,
Ur boy so cute... got high high look! Kekeke. He must be really enjoying ur tender lovingly strokes.

sleepingdeer,
Welcome back! Shannon looks so happy swimming on the cruise ship yah!

sleepingdeer,
wow looked like u all had fun! How come shannon's picture is so much bigger than the other 2 pics u posted?

SY,
My gal also fell off the bed...heh, careless me. But think she has coconut head...no bump or anything.

Re: baby vicks
i use this brand called Snuffle babe that i bought from Guardian. It's like vicks meant for babies. Applied on baby's chest area but she is fine with it, no rashes. Alternatively can apply on baby's clothes to prevent rash.

Re: steaming fruits
i also steam fruits since i just started Janelle on semi-solids. Thought better to make it softer and more digestible for her since it's her first try!

hi Wendy,

RE: Rashes
Shannon also started having rashes around her mouth too, bought her to see PD and he said it's the saliva, too much drooling.... the patches are red and very dry...

Durianlover,
haha, after the warnings abou posting pics, I dare not post too big... shannon is ok coz everyone know how she look like liao.. ;)

BTW..Flu jab
we went to see PD on sat for her rashes, and while we were there, decided to just go ahead and give her the flu jab.... at least covers 80%, so I can stop being so paranoid.... PD says that though I got the flu jab when I was 7months pregnant, and am BFing her, it only helps a little...

wendyl and sleepingdeer
Heard that california baby's calendula cream is suppose to do wonder to lotsa skin rashes...
u may wan to try or buy 1 to stand by.

Re. steaming of fruits
Yah, agree that if your BB is just starting out on semi-solids, best to steam everything. But for my Isaac, I started with vegetable purees (carrots, potato, broccoli, peas) & cereals for a month. Did not introduce fruits (only gave him Heinz fruit juice and let him suck on grapes) until 2 weeks ago (pear & dried apricots). Figured that since he's already on semi-solids and purees for a month liao, so I just puree the pear without steaming. Think the Annabel Karmel book also says that beyong 6 months, it's ok not to steam fruits if BB is taking well to solids.

Re. MS after introducing semi-solids
BF mummies, any obvious dip in MS after starting Bb on solids?

Wenyl, Sleepingdeer
my boy also has the rashes on the neck. It's due to saliva n sweat. PD gave me hydrocortisone and after applying it is ok already. the rashes get really bad when the weather is hot.

re semi solids.
think i m quite boring when it comes to what my boy is eating. so far he has only tried cereal and carrots. planning to add potato this week.

cookie,
my boy also does 90 degree turn. now i shift him to my room and sometimes i wake up to find his head near the wall! so scary. but he likes that position some how.

yesterday so funny. it was only 9+ and we put baby on the bed and i went to shower. when i came out, he fell asleep already. i din want to let him sleep so early cos i haven fed him. my hb was doing work beside him and next moment bb fell asleep. both of us were so surprised at the speed he fell asleep. if only it was so easy every night.

re baby waking up
any mummies still having this problem? mine wakes up twice a night now....

Queen,
Yes, I tink once babies are eating well on semis, it shld be ok to give raw riped fruits. Gonna buy bananas for Ethan to try.
I also felt that my MS also dipped after he started eating semi solids.

Cookie/SY,
Thanks for the quick reply! Today's weather rather cooling & I hv been wiping & powdering bb. So far so good! Will continue to monitor. Thanks!

TOSSING & TURNING
On fri nite, I found Ethan sleeping in a weird position. After doing a 180deg turn & flipped tummy down, he somehow wiggled out of his PJ top with 1 hand & half body exposed. Faintz! (The top was abit roomy but he has worned it many times but never slipped out of it b4.) Furthermore, the aircon was blowing at 23 deg. I quickly woke my hb to see the funny sight cos I thought I was dreaming wor!

Queen,
my period came back after i introduced Shannon to solids, so yeah, definitely MS dropped... nowadays can only pump out pathethic 60ml, when it used to be 100ml, which was pathethic as it was already...

Queen

I've been expressing only, not latch on. So didn't affect the MS even with semi-solids.

Sleepingdeer
Haha, that's what I get in the morns. My best amts altho some days better got 70ml. Wonder if i'll still be as motivated to express once I start work. After all, it's really really pathetic. haha. Enough to give him 1 feed per day only.

Re Feeding Solid
Ashley is almost 7 months already n yet i think I am also SUPER slow in introducing solids to her... so far only gave HT brown rice creals, HEINZ banana breakfast cereals (she loves it), steamed carrots (dun really like) n last night we pureed Carrot/Brocolli/Sweet Potato she also refused to eat (after all the hard work sob sob)... in the end i ate them all, quite sweet so i think the reason why she dun like is becos by the time we finish preparing it was pass her 4hrly feeding time she was too hungry already.. sigh... anyway I'll be on leave for 1 whole week on the 1st week of Aug so i really hope I can cook something healthy for her everyday... but I AM a DUMMY when it comes to cooking, in the sense i need VERY SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS (eg. exactly how much rice & water to put in)... any one has any recepies to share... pls??

Re Teething
Ashley was very moody yesterday... first time didn;t really simle to me when she woke up in the morning so sad cos usually she's a very smiley baby... last night she was also very moody n grouchy... I suspect her teething gums must be painful for her so so after wiping her down for bed n brushing her gums, i told me HB to apply some of the Dentinox Teething gel... straight away she was all smiley n happy... wah such a miracle leh like epidural haha... anyway didn't last very long though she starting to be abit grouchy & sleepy later so i latched her on. Think the teething gel really quite good. =)

sleepingdeer,
anyway to adjust their sleep patterns? my boy was sleeping thru the night for a period of time and suddenly change already.

clare
u r doing better than me! mine only tried cereal and carrot so far...hee, will be adding potato this weekend.

haha clare, u're very funny. =)

Welcome back sleeping deer. Sounds like u and hubby had fun.

Denmy, Im very interested in the baby yoga session. Can tell me more? When r u going?

Sarah's 6 mths old today. So happy that she's put on quite abit this month. Up 600g - she's 8.2kg now. Feel a little sad that she's not drinking so much BM anymore though. I tried expressing the other day and I also found that my BM supply has gone down. =(

Hi Tabbie
I was there around 7+. Dun think you were there at that time cos didn't see any bb around. If not my gal will sure want to "make fren" with your gal. In fact she tried to befriend a 8mth old boy in Royal Sporting House. Kept pulling his stroller close to hers. I think the poor boy was abit overwhelmed by her friendly...haha

Clare,
No lah! It happened at 4+am tat day!I was so zombified then. Was searching for my specs. Quickly dressed him back cos scared he will catch a cold.

Hi Tabbie
I was there around 7+. Dun think you were there at that time cos didn't see any bb around. If not my gal will sure want to "make fren" with your gal. In fact she tried to befriend a 8mth old boy in Royal Sporting House. Kept pulling his stroller close to hers. I think the poor boy was abit overwhelmed by her friendly...haha

cookie
ok =) thanks for the advice on the vicks. I only use when daren starts having block nose. use sparingly. an angry father used that to feed his own baby? goodness!!! i'm sure he must have lived in regret after that.

sleepingdeer/Mashy,
Dunno whether my MS has dropped. Cos ever since Isaac started solids, I changed my pumping pattern at work. Now will latch him on just before going to work and stretch my pump interval at work to 5 hours. So only pump twice at work. Total yield is about 380 - 440ml. Last time was 3 times at work, 4 hourly, but do not latch before coming to work. Can get total about 550ml to 600ml. Isaac is waking up at 4am to 5am for feed, so I'll pump and latch as well. If not one breast will feel very full, can get about 160-200ml. So maybe MS didn't drop or drop a little only? Was wondering whether to drop the 4am pump... Isaac is starting on 2 feeds of solids today. how much milk does our BBs need now? Wonder whether can afford to pump less if still want to TBF till 1 year old.

Wenyl, sleeping deer & SY

Re: Drooling Dermatitis aka rashes around the cheeks and mouth

My previous PD gave me hydrocortisone cream but find it didn't really help (also didn't want to apply too much cos have steriod). This new PD recommended zinc and castor oil cream from Mothercare (is actually a diaper rash cream). I normally apply around her chin area after bath and my breast (when I am latching her on). Since then her rashes has gotten much better. So maybe u can try too.

Clare

Mel likes Dentinox Teething gel too, I normally apply after I bathe her and she's will be like getting ready her lips to taste it...heehee

Wenyl and Queen

Thanks for the info on steaming of fruits. We have only given veg but not fruits to Mel yet cos hb afraid she dun want to eat veg later...so deprive hor

Queen,

I am like you. Was pumping 3 x at wk at 4 hrly interval but have decreased to 2x at 5 hourly. Yield is also same as yours, per pump I get abt 200-250 ml. Which is usually more than enough for Ryan as he drinks only 3x140 ml when I am at wk...so usually still have excess to freeze.

I dun wake up at 4 a.m. to pump but I latch him on direct...and I latch on the side that feels fuller...

SY, Cookie and Durianlover

RE: Falling off from bed

Yes have to be very careful now and you can't use pillow to block the side of the bed cos they somehow can crawl underneath and fall off the bed (which was what happened to Mel).

queen,
i even lazier. i stretching my pump intervals to like 6 hours and sometimes 7-8 hours! i also want to drop the night pump. my boy wakes up 2 times so i feed one time on each breast. getting really lazy to pump.

was wondering when do i need to start my boy on 2 solid meals? he doesn't take solids everyday now cos i prefer to feed him myself. is it a must for bb over 6 months to take solids everyday?

florence,
i usually dun do the pilow thing. still best ot have someone watch over....

SY
Ya is a real headache. The only place I can safely put my gal now is her playyard. She's trying to "cruise" inside her cot and cos she's not very stable yet, she'll sometimes fall and knock her head against the railing. I now let her sleep in the sarong cradle. To my horror, she woke up the other day and managed to get herself into sitting position. Luckily I came into the room in time, if not she'll fall off from her sarong cradle...haiz

SY

Why don't u wanna start your boy on solids? Don't quite understand the part on you preferring to feed him yourself and thus don't feed him solids everyday. Even if you don't have time to feed him yourself, you still have to increase his solids. Get someone else to feed him. If you start too late, he might reject solids next time then you'll have a big problem.

I'm feeding my boy 2 solid meals already. If you feel very sian abt it, go and buy those ready made jars lah. Mix into his cereal and feed him. That's what I do. I stopped feeding him solids b4, and I realised that he also forgot how to use the spoon after that. So had to teach him again. So it's important to be consistent.

I think you feed him everyday, coz it'll make your life easier. And remember to make the cereal less watery as he progresses.

florence,

dentinox

its ok to use dentinox so often??

cos renee has been crying for past few nights after she falls asleep.. can according to some mummies, might be due to pain from teething.

i've not tried applying but i feel like trying to see if she'll stop crying.

is it ok to just apply?

hi Mashy,
yah lor, sometimes want to pump also sian.... when all you see for all the effort is two spoonfuls of milk... sigh...

Clare,
you are so funny, yup, I know what you mean about all the effort... did potato the other day, steamed, mash, added precious BM, and she rejected it totally.... I couldn't even eat it myself coz unlike Shannon, I hate the taste of my own breastmilk... haha... so far i only tried rice cereal, porriage, carrot, apple and pear juice... agree that it is alot of effort to make her meals... I also have to get off my butt and be more diligent... gonna try pork and carrot porriage tomorrow, I hope she eats it after all the effort!

Re: thickened cereal
I realise my gal HATES thick cereal... she spits it out, and if there are lumps in the rice cereal... wah, enuff to make her kick a fuss! She will give me the fake vomitting sign... then spit out the lump of rice cereal... bang head!

Queen,
think bbs need about 500ml of liquids a day.. I also wish to drop the 11pm pump, but think cannot, coz that's where the milk for the cereal comes from...

Sandra,
thanks, yup had fun... wish to go again, haha... I love the sea and beaches... my perfect holiday is to go somewhere with a beach and a jacuzzi... dream on... imagine bringing a bb to Banyan Tree!

Sarah Mae is still going strong in terms of weight! Shannon is a puny 7.45kg at 6 and 1/2months! Must be all the lumps of cereal she is spitting out, that's why she is not fattening up!

Thanks Florence for the advise,
I will try it out if the cream my PD gave doesn't work..

SY,
I really want to get her off the night feed too, but think I am too used to it, and scared too... coz I think the only way is to do cold turkey, and I turn pale at the prospect of a screaming bb at 4am in the morning...i'm probably in denial coz at the back of my mind, I know sooner or later have to bite the bullet and just do it... haha..

sleepingdeer/SY,

Charmaine wakes up at 5/6am for a feed too. If you consider that as night? For me, it's okay cos I latch her on and continue to sleep. Otherwise, my breasts will feel too full too.

queen,

I started my gal on solids for 2 wks liao. Total ms pumped out at work didn't drop. But then my pumping schedule is very irregular due to my work. I don't pump at night cos too lazy. : P

Re: VICKS
Shucks, I just bought Snuffle Babe Vapour Rub and Iliadin nose drop (recommended by PD) today... Think I'd better try on myself first.

Re: Rashes
Wenyl, my boy had exactly the same red patchy rashes. It lasted for 1 week and even got bigger. That's when I brought him to PD. She says its atopic dermatitis (mild eczema). I asked why it looks so much like fungal infection, she says bb skin usually prone to it too. So some fungal was on it. Gave me Zaricort (hydrocortisone based). I applied about 5 times and all cleared now.

I am really waiting for the Gaia BP to buy the Soothing Lotion, heard that it is good to prevent eczema/rash. Any update?

Re: Vitamins
My PD gave me a sample bottle of Pharmaton Kiddi. Anyone feeding bb this?

Hi Cindy,
my gal had that too... PD also gave me Zaricort and it was effective.... but the mouth ones are very resistant and cannot use Zaricort so near the mouth, so have to use another cream...