(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE : BP / SPREE
Yah...so sad. Now hardly have the time to shop. This is one avenue i can satisfy my shopping crave!!!

RE : Jan Mummies
Hands up for setting yahoo group. Its has been great chatting with everyone. Its a great plc to know the development on our babies and releasing stress. Count me in!!!

RE : Feeding chair
Any recommendation???

Y
I'm thinking of getting the ikea antelope feeding chair
S$33. only prob. is cannot fold away..
449570.jpg

Y/tabbiesus,
was considering the ikea chair as well but ya, like what tabbiesus says, can't fold, so decided to get a used one that can fold. $16 only. collected on sat but a bit disappointed coz not very clean. went home and detached the whole thing and scrubbed it real hard. soak it overnight. tonight go back and see if it's better. anyway, this will be a spare one to be placed at my mother place to be used only once a month. at my MIL place, will be using a hand down from my niece.

I got the IKEA chair...good to wash especially when my big gal is still a messy eater...just bring the whole thing into the bathroom and hose it down...

Sept03bride - What time were u there? I was there at abt 2pm+. Yep, was so crowded!

Y - Bought mine at Baby Hyperstore. Took a pic already. Have not downloaded into PC. Will show when I do so.

Tabbie - Actually it was the Ikea one that prompted me to buy a hi-chair for Cephas. He sat in similar ones at a few places for the past 2 weeks. I like that one too as it is compact. However, the tray is a bit small. So, the tray for the one that I bought is rather spacious.

mongs + rest of mummies
Me too, my office block all access to yahoo/gmail/msn etc. They even block some forums already, lucky not Singapore Motherhood and this is the only one, I can still use in the office. so sad if you all move to other forms of communication which I might not be able to join.

Ya, can join BP in future unless the cost is build into the purchase price, then might not be cheap anymore. so ma fan somemore.

Y,

my girl can sit upright if put her in high chair.. but not for long... then she will slump to one side! I have tried putting her in some of the restaurants high chair and she seems okie in it, that's why thot of the ikea one.. was also thinking of this Jane/ caneton high chair which can be converted to toddler chair & table but $$149+ so dunno if its worth it or will become "zhor dang" if girl decides she don't like it later..cos its quite big hehe...

Babylon,
I use my bumbo to feed her. if not just sit her on my lap and feed her... actually my ma is the who is feeding her daily, i only do on weekends..

re: semisolid feeding..
I just have a few questions, wondering if any of you can help?
1. how much do u feed each time?...
---i just started 2 wks ago on heinz's rice cereal. I mix 4 heaped teaspoons in 60ml of FM. Quite thickish consistency and baby can finish all of it cos its thick, most of it is actually eaten and not on bib like in the beginning when mixt was more watery

2. how much milk does your baby drink after that?
---my girl is drinking less and less after starting the semi solid feeds... sometimes total each day can be only 200-300mls excluding direct latching..

3. when do u give second semisolid feed? evening? after how long?
----i'm scared if I start her on her second solid feed, she'll stop drinking milk totally!!!

Sept03Bride - Did we brush past each other? Haha...maybe huh? What were u wearing? Let me see if my memory is good. I was in a white top with kaki 3/4s. Cephas was trying out the Maxi-cosi Priori XP. After that, I was just walking around the whole place, picking up stuff for a niece who is due in Oct.

Tabbie - Got the Canetons Hi-chair at $119 at Baby Hyperstore. Go check it out. Yep, can be converted to chair & table.

btw just want to share with you mommies
I just got my blender from Best denki, they are having a sale for some of the braun blenders...
Mine was $69 after discount, it comes with a handheld blender, chopper and whisk...blender can use in any bowl, so quite portable.. can bring around to inlaws cos my inlaws are living overseas

449669.jpg

Re: feeding chair
i bought the foldable one from Safety 1st. $42.90. Needs to be strapped on to another chair to bring it to a reasonable height. Can be folded up to a compact suitcase-looking thingy to bring out, which was the reason why we bought it.

Hi Babylon
I suppose you are getting the desitin cream from Sunny and don't need the A+D cream. Denmy wanted to get it previously and I told her I can spare her one first. But not sure if she still wants it. I normally ask my SIL or frens who are travelling to US to buy for me. The cream feels abit like Vaseline Lip Balm (contains Lanolin and Petrolatum) and I paid S$10.50 per tube (4oz).

Re: BP/Spree
Agree with Y, I do quite a bit of shopping thru the forum these days.....so sad

I'm for the idea of a private group too!!! I have both yahoo & msn so either is fine with me

Tabbie
RE: Ikea baby high chair

I've one at home too. The plus point is that it's easy to maintain...as MH said is easy to clean which is impt given that bbs can be quite messy when they come to eating. The only complain me n hb have is that the legs protrude out, so keep tripping over them.

Visit to PD

Took Mel for a check up today and was told by PD to stop solid for a while first. She has not gained any weight for the last 5 weeks.
PD said Mel is a gourmet eater (aka fussy) and rem what she eats. Hb has been forcing solid down her throat previously and she now will reject anything that is served with spoon. Plus she's teething now. Am thinking initially whether to stop BF soon, looks like will have to hang on for another few more months until she's receptive to solid.

Re: Drooling Dermatitis
Mel has very bad drooling dermatitis and PD recommended to apply the zinc and castor oil cream from Mothercare (is actually a diaper rash cream) not her chin area and my breast (when I am feeding her direct). So any mummies having the same problem can try the cream too.

florence
what's drooling dermatitis

re: solid food
do you get PD's ok before start solid? i am not sure if i should bring my gal when she's just turn 6 mth for development assessment and get PD's ok to start leh.

re: BP/spree
ya loh.. feel so sad to hear it's gonna stop liao... i find out lots of good bb stuff from the BP and spree leh.

i m ok to join yahoo group, too! mayb we could create a BP group for mothers in this forum? :p

Re:yahoo group
I also agree with forming Yahoo group thingy.. but how to start forming har?

My co also block MSN, so sometimes I use web MSN but the connection suck sometimes and get kick off and really frustrating.
But I'm on yahoo most of the time during office hour!.

Re:Canetons hi-chair
If I'm not wrong Cheong CHoon sell this for $105. Similar to the Jane high-chair.. I am also thinking of getting one.
Think a mummy mention here before.

re: block site..
my co block most web address with word like baby/pregnant etc...

ya fortunately not this website.

Flo,
Yes, I want the A+D cream. Thought you said you were on leave today. Can I meet you tomolo? I 'll be at work at Robinson Road. I PMed you my hp no. last week. Did you recieve it?

Babylon,
I dun mind if you want to share... Damien's rash sounds more serious leh...

Sunny

RE: Drooling dermatitis
Is basically rashes around the cheeks and mouth as a result of irritation by drooling, food, milk or juices. I guess she's teething so drools quite abit and as a result got very bad rashes around her cheeks and mouth area.

RE: Solid Food
I've been seeing Dr YY Yip from S'pore Baby & Child Clinic since Mel was born and he said was ok to introduce rice cereal from 4 months onwards. Mel took it quite well initially but started rejecting it after some time. I decided to swith to another PD (Dr Elizabeth Khor - a senior consultant paediatrician) cos the waiting time at SBCC is too very long. Dr Khor was highly recommended by my colleague and said she's very detailed and spend alot of time with each baby (av 15-20 min) and will follow up with emails exchanges. I was indeed quite impressed cos she even ask us to take pic of Mel's stool over the next few days and email her. She classifies baby eating habits into 3 categories (Procrastinator, Barracuda and Gourmet). Barracuda will be the easiest when it come to food...hungry baby whilst procrastinator will be the toughest...usu fall asleep when drinking. I guess if your bb is okie with food intake then I think should be fine to introduce solid. Actually I originally intend to bring Mel there for her 3rd Hepatitis B jab, but end up she said dun take first cos by introducing too many things at one go might upset Mel

Sysac/ Sept03 bride, is the baby hyperstore the one at kaki bukit? If it is, I was also there yesterday around 2ish. My hb brought back the stroller for the sales staff to help refit the seat. =) Ai yah, wasted - cannot see Sarah's boyfriend.

Hb called home earlier and told me that he's bringing sarah and me to bali this friday. Such short notice! *faint* It's romantic last time when it's just the two of us to pull off such a stunt BUT now with baby - alamakz! How man? Really dunno whether it'll be a smooth trip or a nightmare. *shudder*

Rena,
re: Nappy cream
Why not to apply at every nappy change leh? I do that all the time since day 1 leh... thought it acts like a barrier between bb's skin and weewee/poops....

Durianlover,
re: To cut or not to cut Janelle's hair
Keenan's hair is exactly like Janelle's. Fluffy after a bath. I had his hair cut at 6 weeks. Initially, the new hair felt like bristles and all standing up. Now his hair is longer and feels softer liao.. and what I do after his bath is quickly add a drop of his massage oil into his hair and comb it into shape b4 it dries. It will usually still stay that way the next day.

cookie,
re: mozzy replellant
I got the Pigeon repellant wipes. Works on the kids fine also... light and convenient... no messy spills.

Durian lover, I think Janelle is really cute. My hb also chuckled on seeing her picture. =)

Trim can already lah. Hair whether even or not will eventually grow out after a while. We can then bring baby for a nice haircut when it's all grown out. =)

Denmy, where is ur sandwich shop? Tried to look for it the other day when I was waiting for my hb to finish work, but can't find leh...*sotong*

So frustrating... Me nearly fell asleep in front of PC doin up my report just now, plus mouth dun know why abit bland bland these few days (but my appetite during meal time just as good) so had this teeny weeny thought "could i be pregnant??" (menses not back yet btw) Decided to take a walk to buy something to munch and at the same time buy a preg kit at guardian. Typical cheapo me bought the cheapest guardian brand $7.85 (next avail is $8.95 looks slightly better but figured just for fun only no need to waste extra $1). Went to toilet n did the test... Guess what?? NOTHING appeared. I was so frustrated and did a 2nd time on the same piece of kit and STILL NOTHING happened. I am quite sure i'm NOT pregnant cos i can only recall 1 time BD without protection so to STRIKE on that try i must be damn lucky... but still, i'm frustrated with the stupid kit and angry with myself for being cheapo... save $1 & end up wasting $7.85!! Urgh...

Sandra,
Wa.. ur hb so romantic leh... just arrange and inform you.... we're going in August and I'm the one arranging it... and we're going with my elder boy, sans bb...

re: yahoo group
I'm also for it. Who is going to start the ball rolling?

Flo,
I was using that Mothercare barrier cream on Keenan until he got the nappy rash lor!!!

Sandra,
Wah so romantic really... n he even said bring Sarah along leh so nice... the last trip We had to Penang (HB's company family trip) i have been bugging HB almost everyday ask him if he's sure he dun wanna bring Ashley... tried all sorts... "Sure?"... "Poor BB... sure dun wan?"... "free trip leh, bring lah"... etc etc... HB's answ always "NO".

Sandra,
It's along Robinson Road, at 61 Robinson Centre...right infront of the 2nd taxi stand.

Clare,
hahahaha... you so funny!!!!!!!!!

re: menses
wa, mine came liao on Sat...finally man... and i told my hb, "eh, if you want a girl, we can seriouly try liao... my yima came to visit..."

Insect Repellent
Here is an easy repellent to make that has a shelf life of around six months. Label jars mosquito, tick, etc. for quick identification.

1o to 25 drops essential oil
2 tablespoons vegetable oil (olive oil is fine)
1 tablespoon aloe vera gel (optional)

Combine the ingredients in a glass jar. Shake to blend. Dab a few drops on your skin or clothing.

Here are some suggestions for your choice of essential oils:

Bug Repellent Essential Oils
Caution: Pregnant women should consult with their doctors before using.

Ticks First Choice: Rose Geranium
Other: Palmerosa, bay, eucalyptus, European pennyroyal
lavender, tickweed (American pennyroyal)

Mosquitoes: Pennyroyal, lemon balm (citronella), thyme, lavender

Blackflies: Sassafras, lavender, eucalyptus, pennyroyal, cedar, lemon balm (citronella), peppermint

Head Lice: Tea tree, rosemary, lavender, eucalyptus, rose geranium

Fleas: Orange oil

A note about wasps and yellow jackets: Dont wear perfume, hair spray, or scented deodorant. Avoid wearing bright colored clothing

------------------------------------------------------------

I got the above tips from: http://www.care2.com/channels/solutions/home/1386

Hi Denmy, Clare - my hb not romantic lah. How to make trip romantic when there'll be a baby there?! Clare, I opposite from u, wanted to leave bb at home, but got no one to look after. SO NO CHOICE... =( anyways, hoping that the resort we stay in will have a baby-sitter service. =)

Ok, denmy - will check out ur shop when I'm around that area. =)

Sept03Bride & Sandrachu - Wow! We were at the same place at the same time! Haha...

Took some pixs of baby on Sat. It was candid that he chose to pick up ball & smile at the same time

449835.jpg

449836.jpg

Re. No more BP / Spree
Yah, I'm quite upset about it...
Anyway, if you all have recommendations of good stuff to buy, let me know. I wouldn't mind organising for you mummies.

Tabbiesus,
200-300ml excluding latching doesn't sound too bad. How many times do you latch a day? My Isaac seemed to have stretch the interval between milk feeds. Ever since started on the rice cereals, his feeding interval has stretched to 3 hours or so. It used to be between 2 to 2.5 hours. So now he only take 3 to 4 bottles of EBM while I'm at work instead of the usual 5. But I did increase the milk amount from 160ml to 180ml. I'm also wondering when we should start giving 2 feeds of cereals a day...

Re. semi-solids
Isaac started on brown rice today but he wouldn't take it if it's spoon-fed. My MIL said she has to add more milk to make it watery and fed him through the bottle, only then he'll finish it. Dunno whether he's reject spoonfeeding or that he doesn't like brown rice? I also gave him carrot puree over the weekend which he only took about timy spoons. Made potato puree as well for my MIL to feed him today. She said he doesn't like it at all... sigh... but I told her to keep trying. If anything, more to let him sample a variety of taste.

Clare,
heehee, you so funny! My menses are not here yet as well. Sometimes, appetite is so good that I wonder whether the 2nd one is coming. I'm not using protection during BD... but think maybe have to liao.