(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ling, durianlover,
hope ur bbs recover soon! my bb juz recovered from cough with phlegm n flu. took her 2wks n 2 visits to PD to fully recover, + antibiotics..its tiring n heartpain when bb falls sick.

my ILs n nephews ve thankfully recovered from cough n flu too. BUT my younger nephew starting slight fever...*groan* again...cos my MIL gave him Milo. she knows he can't take Milo cos too heaty, but she said no choice, he pestered her for it! ?? wat kind of excuse...

cookie,
wow, kaelyn is tall! pretty some more, got model potential.

Hi Krissie,
Dr. Ho did do one scan after Shannon was born, but he didn't do one after my lochia stopped though, to check whether there is still blood in the womb? Did he do yours after the lochia stopped or before?

babylon,

i use the desitin creamy - found it quite good as well. i will use it a lot more frequently when i discover that her private area is red.

Hi SL,
ohh, because my bleeding was quite prolonged, about 10 weeks... initally he wanted to give me medicine to hasten the lochia, but coz I was BFing, so in the end he said let it end naturally... he mentioned that if the next time I visited him, it stil hasn't ended, he will check for me... but tghe next time I went, he only did pap smear... so I just wanted to check whether it was routine to scan after lochia ended...

sleeping deer
i rem dr ho did a scan 1 week delivery...
then the pap smear after my lochia stop. he din do an internal scan on the second visit but i cannot rem if he did a ext scan on the womb tho...

babylon,
I apply nappy rash cream as a barrier almost after every nappy change, especially when he is on disposibles. Got to be vigilant. I use cloth nappy in the day (for about 12 hrs each day). Got to apply around their butt crack too and the section above cos I realise the pee tends to seep there and make the area red and sore.

I used 4 brands before.

Here's my opinion on them..
Johnson's diaper rash cream: thick and tend to be a little sticky, difficult to spread but good barrier.

Drapolene: light but I find it too oily and doesn't seem to protect too well

Neocream: available at PDs/GPs only. I received a sample. So far I think this is the best in terms of texture and protection.

Gaia Skin Soothing Lotion: made from organic ingredients, enriched with Calendula, this is the best all-rounder in terms of scent and mutli-purpose usage, but mild so better as prevention cream than rescue cream.

I think I am a product junkie... tried so many different brands of bb bath too :p

In the end bb also kena heat rash. But he is getting better. I couldn't find Milderma so bought this tin can call Agnesia. It works to dry the area up. Krissie, thanks for warning. I think I shouldn't be applying too much.

today went taka and bought the Safety 1st "car" for Lucas... delivering on Thu. It's an activity seat like an exersaucer. Can't wait!!

Btw, anyone wants to buy a lime green bumbo? My boy hardly uses it his thighs kept getting stuck. My mom too lazy to let him sit on it cos she needs help seating and removing him. It's a little green elephant in my cluttered living room now. Can you imagine: 1 foldable mattress, 2 strollers, 1 bouncer, 1 highchair and the little bumbo!!

cindy,
wow a "car"? Cool! i just bought a Safety 1st foldable chair that can be tied to a normal chair. Meant for feeding

cookie,
kaelyn is really tall! My gal is only 63.5cm.

Re: sick baby
Yes i really hope Janelle recovers soon. Her sleep has been really affected coz her airway is blocked n she has difficulty sleeping. Last nite after much coaxing she managed to fall asleep only at 1am! Then woke up at 1:30am, 2am, 3am, 4am crying n coughing. *faint* i was zombified!

rena,
how did sumo cut his tongue? poor thing!
U really hoping to start no.2 soon? :p

i'm in 2 minds about whether or not to shave Janelle's head as her hair's falling out and now very patchy. She already looks like a boy. If i were to shave, confirmed look even more like a boy. Please vote...should i shave her head or not?? Take a look at her hair...

449078.jpg

RE: Diaper Cream

Babylon,
As mentioned to Denmy, I strongly recommend A+D Cream but is only available in the US, so need to buy on-line or get frens who are travelling to US to buy for you.

449084.jpg

A fren introduced this cream to me previously when my nephew had very bad diaper rash. My SIL tried a number of brands, all didn't work until she used this. I've also recommended the cream to a number of my frens and the feedback so far has been very good. Mel had very bad diaper rash when she was discharged from the hospital and I've been using this cream since then and she now no longer has any diaper rash problem. I'm still using it as a prevention, esp at night.

If Damien is having very bad rashes now, maybe u should let him wear cloth diapers with diaper liners and clean him with warm water and cotton wool instead of baby wipes for the time being.

Denmy, do you still want the A+D cream? Maybe U and Babylon can share the tube first and see if it works before you want to order on-line.

RE: Sick Baby

Weather has been bad lately and alots of bbs seems to be falling sick. Hope you all will get well soon and mummies do take care of yourselves too

Durianlover,

Janelle is soooo cute. I'll be in a dilemma too - to cut or not to cut. I notice that most bbs hair tend to drop off at the sides. My niece's hair also started to fall off when she was 5 mth old, similar to Jenelle. But in the end my SIL decided to trim instead of shave. And her hair only started to grow fully when she's almost one. Most ppl said if shave hair will grow more evenly and faster but I'm not sure if this is really true....any mummies have experience? If yes, then I'll vote to shave and then wear hat for the next few months.

cindy
I was at taka today too.. wonder if I bumped into you. I saw the safety 1st car. Gerald loves it. was hitting it non-stop. haha.. but it seems a bit too big for him, is it just nice for Lucas? How much is it? any special offer now?

durianlover
hmm.. qt patchy. can shave lah. anyway, she seems to hv qt a lot of hair. so, surely will hv her hair back v fast.

RE: diaper rash

try not to put on the cream every time .. apply only when necessary or when bb skin is red.. if not next time his skin will be dependent to the cream.. if dun put will have rash next time..

so far california bb and mustela is good... and nice smell too..

i use it for his heat rash too.. me very kiasu one..

one more thing try not to use bb wipes to clean him unless outside .. if not try to use cotton wool and water only...

RE: #2

yah I am ready for no.2..the max i want to have is 3..

Re:purchase from drug store
I think read that some mummy wanna buy things from Drug Store??
Is anyone starting a BP or something like this? keep me inform.

Re: mosquitoes repellent
Anyone bought any of this?
Any brand to recommend?
I'm thinking of the California Baby Bug Repellent Spray with Citronella ...suppose to be safe for evern new born..

Durain lover
Hmm.. my vote is probably trim it shorter so it doesn't look so patchy.
I dunno if it s a good idea to shave ley

Durainlover
same...Christa is sick also, for the past 2 nite sleep at 9pm, wakeup at 11pm, 2am, 4am, 6am and fully awake at 7am........lucky its weekend, if today also the same...i would wonder how I can go to work tomorrow...Also during her nap in the day also affect, she nap from 10min to 30min....this 2 days, I tht when she nap in the afternoon, I can relax a bit...but...ai...

Janelle....heee...soooo cute...I can't help keep looking at the pic, I would suggest trim her side a bit.....

Rena how U know sumo cut his tongue, yestersday saw stain on Christa's bed...not sure if its blood..a little, but when I check on her, cannot see any cut leh...so dun know where the stain come from.

durainlove
forgot to add... heehee janelle soooo very cute

she can sit already!!
kaelyn is still swimming frog style now..heehee..

durianlover,

it seems like janelle and sumo is the same like to lean forward while sitting..

the floor mat that you have I also have one set but i did not use it any more.. now I put him on matress..

Durianlover,
Janelle can sit on her own already? Jamie is still very unstable. U might conside just to trim her hair instead of shaving it?

Rena,
I bought the same sea horse mattress as u.So happy that I bought two, one for my MIL place, one for my mum's place. At least now Jamie have a clean mattress to lie when she is at my MIL place!

cookie
we got a mosquito patch from PD. selling outside. It's qt effective. we used it when we brought Ger to East Coast and it worked. It's cheaper than the spray. also using citronella.

thanks for ur comments on whether or not to shave Janelle's head! I thought of trimming, but trimming doesn't hv same effect as shaving right? As in, hair won't grow out thicker or more evenly. Still undecided! Anyway even if i shave her i'll wait till she recovers fully. So still got some time to decide

May,
Janelle can sit on her own but must use hands to support, like what u see in the pic. Not very stable either. She'll topple to her side after some time. Very funny one! I like to put her sitting on her own to watch her topple! Heh sadistic mummy here!

lingling,
yeah hope that christabel recovers soon. Last nite was better for me. Janelle woke up 3 times only. But bad enough considering she usually sleeps thru the nite when she's not sick!

durianlover,
for me, I will choose to shave janelle hair. if you think it's too drastic, maybe trim first and if you still don't like the result then shave her. I shave clariss earlier when she was around 3 months and now her hair is nice and even.

cookie,
I bought the mosquito bands from the BP. receive it already but yet to try it.

demny,
I have been using desitin creamy. it's good. my sis whose son has nappy rash, changed to desitin creamy and it improve almost immediately. can buy from guardian pharmacy. must get it from the pharmacist and not all guardian carry it.

clariss can sit by herself! she can do so without the support of her hand and can sit for quite some time, but if she jerk or turn her body suddenly, she will fall to the side. she is still trying to master her balancing skills. I am quite surprised. she is 6mths exact yesterday.

Demny,
i've been using desitin cream too. no nappy rash, very good.

durianlover,
i vote to shave, cos my gal shaved n now her hair alot more n evenly grown.

durianlover,
I also can't help keep grinning at Janelle's picture. Her hair makes her look cute leh. I also think trim can already.

krissie,
i was there around 4pm. The car was $249 but now selling $199. Uhmm.. come to think of it, we didn't try. But we've put him on exersaucers before, he enjoys looking at people while sitting on it rather than playing with the toys. I think I bought the car more for myself heehee..

Btw, what time would you be home tonight? Can I drop by?

mongs
wow... you bb can sit up by herself! did you train her before that?

babylon
i have spare desitin cream to sell. you want?

there will not be anymore BP or spree unless pay the management at a price. current BP and spree will be remove by the friday 30 May.

so sad.....

Message from Chin Leng:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=27&post=1807676#POST1807676

"As such, we'll be charging a fee of $10 for a new thread to be listed in the marketplace and exchange corner for a 7-days period. The threads can now be business in nature. The threads will be subjected to approval as inappropriate items (eg. non-authentic items, pirated materials) will not be allowed. To apply, please e-mail to [email protected]. All the current threads in Marketplace and Exchange Corner will have up to 30 June (Friday) to complete all transactions. After that, all threads will be removed. Sale, bulk purchase or any inappropriate threads listed out of marketplace and exchange corner will be removed.

Yah.so sad. Can we still do BP within our own thread ah?

Like our Leapfrog/ Bumbo? We didn't ask other pp from other threads leh...

Heng ah, used items no need to pay.

dont know leh... will we be suspended if we do BP within our thread? worry leh...

or maybe we do it through our email? scare if anyone not from our thread report to chin leng and we kena... unless this $10 is spread out and pay by all the BP mummies, so still okay. but BP / spree have to get approval from the managemnt first, so ma fan.

yah, maybe next time if we wanna do BP, we better use email.

How abt creating a yahoogroup for Jan mummies? Feb mummies have created one.

It will give us more freedom to talk, post photos and do bulk purchases within our own group...

If you wanna sell away a brand new item, will have to pay leh. Doesn't matter whether it's a gift, the clothes are too small to fit your bb etc leh.

Re: aiyo why so ma fan
Whats the din abt BP and spree all about.. why make the forum so ma fan now har..

ya hope our leapfrog bp will not be affected and YES.. perhaps we should all contact thru yahoo/hotmail/gmail email on BP.

Aiyo like that I cannot join the BP on drug store lor..

Kriss
can tell me the brand of the patch u bought from PD?
I thinking of bring kaelyn to zoo.. think the bug patch is necessary lor.

great idea! will have more privary too.
i vote for that, what other mummies think?

with the restrictions, we will really miss out lots of good bargain for our bb...

Mummies - MSN or Yahoo? I have both so am okie
Just let me know!

Yesterday, went to Baby Hyperstore & Baby Kingdom (finally stepped into the place). Was supposed to hunt for a car seat for him now that he is out-growing his infant car seat/carrier. Ended up buying him a hi-chair (can be converted into chair & table in future) plus his new car-seat. Keeping the car-seat till abt another 2-3 more mths b4 letting him use it. We tried so many brands. He didn't smile until the last one. So, we bought that one for him cos he looked so happy in it.

Durianlover - Janelle looks kind of cute with her hair like that. Maybe gel it down. Think baby gel is being sold in the market.

aiyo...so sad. Dun worry abt the leappad. I will contact all of ur thru emails once ready for payment & collection.

mashybrainz
I agree with you about setting up the yehoogroups for the Jan mummies. From there it'll be much easier to form BP as well as exchange pictures of babies =). Good idea!

msn: mongs, can they block web based msn?

hi sysac, was there at BB Hypermart and BB Kingdom yesterday too. BB Hypermart very packed and quite luan. Was there with my preggie cousin, so scared she will trip and fall with so many items lying around.

wow missed out on a lot of the posts the past few days... busy busy moving house and now fall sick...

can include me in on the msn/ yahoo... my email is [email protected]

So sad, no more BP/ sprees, i find it so useful for buying cheaper stuff for baby... some more I'm too busy to organise my own spree...

Denmy,
Desitin is really good. i have been using it since baby was born. Must get the creamy version cos its easier to clean off. The original version is for really bad rash and smells funny. I am also running out on stock. KKH only sell the 2oz version, I haven't been able to find the 4oz version in singapore. i usually get my stock from US when friends/ relative travel there.

cindy
I'll be home later, ard 8plus, coz going for dinner, then supermarket. Is it too late for you? Can you sms me again, pls. I accidentally deleted your hp no. Maybe tom?

Re: BP / sprees
Oh that's so sad! Got so many good bargains when there's BP. Such a pity. Even if form our own yahoo group we won't have the luxury of the wide variety of choices as compared to having BP on this forum. Oh well.

Denmy,
Yes i think Desitin creamy is good! My gal used to have nappy rash when she was a NB coz i used Drapolene. Drapolene is hopeless for my gal. But Desitin creamy worked wonders

sysac,
baby hair gel?? Really? i didn't know there were such things!

But i think i'll most prob still shave Janelle's hair off - that is, if i don't waver by the time she recovers from her cough! Who knows what may happen in the next few days...i may just change my mind again. Esp when my MIL keeps saying not to shave, scared baby catch a chill coz botak head, not pretty, etc etc.

sunny
2nd hand stuff is fine to post for sale here. but BP and spree cannot, unless pay 10 bucks per week and a normally BP and spree can last for around 1 month which add on to 40 bucks!! thats alot wor.
ya agree with durian, we will lost so much of wide variety of choices... sian