(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi All!

Wow! Today's thread moving so fast.

I was reading the coconut water thingy and checked with my mum.

She mentioned only drink once, one day before you're due. I asked her what happens if baby is a few days early or late? She laughed and say drink when start 1st stage of labour. Makes the delivery "cleaner"

Busy reading all your posts n its so funny to read about the various methods gynaes use to estimate BB's weight... haha.. mine just click on scan machine n measure the BB's tummy from one end to the other n the weight is auto calculated... standard i guess.

Wah hear so many of you cook make me feel so embarassed... I can't cook but my HB can but he hates washing up (can even leave 1 cup in the sink kind) so no choice i got to wash up loh. My MIL stays with us so she'll prepare all the ingredient every morning n after work my HB will come home n cook n I'll wash up all the mess pre & after dinner. But I too find my back is starting to get strained n aches nowadays when washing... think will have to surrender very soon too...

Aiyo.. now that you're blooming down there, nyst try to control your temper, else ur baby born out very irritable one.. Must try to relax, stay calm and be happy. At most hubby wash that time u supervise or better still, spend time together washing. He soap, u rinse, have some fun and laugh over it. Don't get agitated over small things.

BTW, my gynea takes 3 parts to get weight estimate. He uses head, body and thighs. He say 3 parts more accurate.

Meanwhile, I'll try hound shop n save, NTUC, cold storage and Giant see got cheap Raspberry teas around or not.

SY,
i'm amazed that ur gynae can give estimate of bb's weight just by touching tummy!! so li4 hai4 ah

rachel & SY,
actually i also stopped cooking ever since i got pregnant coz my hb doesn't want me to over-strain. So i eat at MIL's place almost everyday now...good home-cooked food

clare,
at least ur hb can cook...1 person can cook, the other wash up can already lah
better than 2 persons who both can't cook right!

cookie

Re:papaya & fish soup

I think can only start drinking after delivery. I dunno if the fish soup has to be made fresh or not but I only know that during confinement, the food should be eaten whilst its hot. So if you make a big pot, make sure to reheat well.

Apparently its really potent!! :D

durainlover
heehee... that's what my colleague told me.
I think by the time she want to stop BF... her milk wont stop so she got to take some injection...
ya all of us praying... our milk will be enough.

Just had my gynae visit this afternoon. Baby is 2.75kg at 36weeks and baby is engaged. But, I put on 2kg again in 2 weeks.
So, depressing.

i asked gyane abt drinking coconut juice and raspberry tea. he say ok

re: cooking
SSF,
think cos we stay very far (u in tampines and i in pasir ris) by the time we reach home, it is quite late and by the time we cook, we end up eating very late. then plus washing etc, i usually can only rest at about 9.30 to 10. too tiring.

wendy
i also wish my hb will wash the dishes but then he seldom helps me do it. my MIL doesn't cook and my mum stay too far. so no choice. can only cook better stuff for myself on sun and weekdays i try to eat more fruits.

krissie,
dun be depressed. at least bb is doing well!!

SY,

You can also try doing a mini-steamboat for yourself during the weekday. All you need to do is to throw a piece of ginger, some garlic and chicken bones into the crockpot, transfer some pork and fish from freezer to refrigerat or to defrost in the morning before going to work. When you come back, all u need to do is cook rice, cut the vege, pork & fish (u can also do it the night before) and throw all into the soup to boil. Like this only have 1 pot, rice cooker, 2 bowls and cutlery to wash

alamak! i had lor mee and kway chap(duck and egg only) for my meals today. feeling so guilty... cause they say pregnant cannot eat those black sauce food.

etelle
he told me himself. anyway, it's confirmed. He's on leave from 16 to 23rd dec. u dun have to worry lah, your EDD is still far. I have to worry, coz might pop when he's not ard.

Hi all again,

Breastfeeding:
Honestly, easier said than done. I also thot it is natural for baby to suckle once you put him to your nipple. Not in my case. Maybe becos he premature and is still learning. HB had to problem solve why he was not sucking the hsp teat so well the 1st couple of days. Realised that the hsp teat is long and makes him tired when sucking. So we went to buy NUK silicone teats. Shorter and softer and Cephas took to it easily and was sucking well.

He is not latching on properly my nipple is short and is just at the tip of his mouth. He will only suckle when very hungry. Other than that, he will throw it out after sucking a few mouthfuls.

Recipe:
I drink a lot throughtout the day. I have not taken the papaya fish soup. So far, been taking, fish soup, liver soup & chicken soup. Every morning, I will have a glass of milo, longan red date drink and a bottle of Chicken of Essence. For lunch & dinner, I have a small bowl of soup with a glass of longan red date drink.
I do not have a CL. My mum is cooking for me.

Wound:
As instructed by the nurses, wash the entire area and pat dry from front to back. My flow has been quite okie. Not as heavy and messy as I thot it would be. It is also light flow as of yeaterday. My wound does not hurt but like the guae said, it will become tighter before it starts to dissolve. I am starting to feel the tightness and it is slightly uncomfortable. Other than that, everything is fine.

Advice:
Take it easy and everything will fall into place. Got to get the hang of things. The 1st couple of days may be tough as it is a great adjustment. I had problems getting up 2-3 times the first night. I am getting used to it now. My HB & I get up tog when it's time for feed and we take turns to feed Cephas. I think it is a great help and you will enjoy it more if HB is supportive and doing his part. I am appreciative that my HB is taking part in the feeding & changing of Cephas on his won initiative.

Hello morning Mummies... YEaH finally its FridAy Again.. one more week down!!!

Queen,
Think your bb is almost the same as mine.. Mine was 2kg at 35 weeks 5 days and gynae also commented tat it is slightly smaller than avg.. i was pretty worried at first too but after a while just think it on the positive side.. so long as bb is growing well, we shld be glad and given my small build, it is also easier to deliver..

Lately i have been wondering, besides the signs of delivery eg. show, contractions, water bag burst etc, are there any symptoms that delivery might be near.. dunno read/hear from where that if you feet swollen and subside for 3 times, it means its abt time liao? anyone experience this? This leg and finger swollen thing is really not a good experience.. always complain to HB that i look damn ugly and why all these have to happen when i m just abt 3 weeks away from my EDD..

Think we just cant stop worrying abt things.. be it ourselves or our bb..

Morning all...

sneak in to report to our on my gynae visit before my manager steps in...haha

Baby Celeste weighs 2.2kg at week 34, doc says avg weight... and i think my weight gain has more or less stabilised alittle ( after the huge 20kg gain ) before this... gained 800g since 2 weeks ago... whew!!! hopefully it remains, i wont wana hit the 30kg gain mark... 22-23 will be MORE THAN ENUF!!!
kao_frustrated.gif
in fact, my bank officers cant even recognise me when they saw me at the xmas function... haiz... they thought i was a new staff...

krissie

take consolation in me la... my weight gain kinda comforts you now??? hee...
kao_embarrassed.gif

Hi sysac,
Thanks for your updates and advices. dunno why, somehow i find that you are a vey zhai mum.. everything seems very smooth for you and you handle them all very well.. hopefully we will all but like you!!

Anyone any update on upcoming sales this weekend? besides Metro? JL going to have another round of 20% storewide sales?

I had previously told you that I am having pelvis pain and BH contractions. Went to gynae on Tue and was given MC till end of the year. Gynae says bb's head is very low and don't want to risk giving birth early. I am 34 weeks now. Hence, I can only stay at home and read up on all the parenting books now!

i'm having continous leg cramp at nite n dont know whether my bb coming out soon. Nowadays cant really sleep well liao.

krissie - thanks for the website. Maybe today i go kids mall/ taka n take a look. Yo! dont be sad ok, you can always go on diet after birth. The most important is bb is fine.
Actually i m worse than u gals, becos of my failed pregnancy n tis pregnancy i put on abt 30kg++ . And i tell myself that after birth i must go on diet liao.

Hi klisa - i agree with SY, since your gynae didnt tell you the weight, u ask him those question. Then u'll be more fang4 xin1 liao. Dont be afraid to ask cos u pay for his consultation.

sysac,
thanks for the advice! u sound really calm. think we must really try not to worry too much and take one step at a time like u say.

i must say your HB is really supportive. i hope my HB will wake up at night with me for the first few days.

so is cephas drinking both FM and BM now? do u feel tired most of the time? my fren said she din feel tired but her CL told her to rest cos if she doesn't rest, she will feel the effects next time.

so rest well, eat well and post more pic of cephas when free!!

very glad to hear from u.

wendy,
maybe i shall try that. must really think of ways to wash less things or no motivation to cook. i m getting a maid end of the month so by then shd be able to eat at home more often.

casey
how come u got MC? is it becos of BH contractions or becos bb's head low?

i feel my bb's head low and like trying to push my pelvic region apart sometimes. but gynae din seem to worry and even tell me to start expecting to feel BH contractions.

confused,
did your gynae say antyhing abt leg cramps? sometimes it's due to lack of calcium

krissie,
wow so exciting! baby's head engaged already! It's ok to put on 2kg lah..dun worry, coming to the end of the journey already...soon u'll be losing weight!

rachel,
how come preggie cannot eat black sauce food? i've been eating lor mee n kway chap too! so far nothing wrong.

casey,
do take care...at least now can rest at home n read up to prepare for bb's arrival!

SY,
i also feel the pain in pelvic region at times...and recently a lot of BH contractions. Sometimes until i gotta bend my back a bit forward so that can walk properly.

sysac,
thanks for the advice given! u've got a supportive hb who'll wake up in the middle of the night with you! i dun think i'll ask my hb to wake up at night coz i dun really know what he can do to help since i intend to bf...also dun want him to be too tired out for work!

Confused - my leg cramp for the whole pregnancy till now i think about 3 times only... normally after i walk too much or eat Kang Kong... leg cramp got link to whether bb is coming out or not har??? have yr doc advise approx when u will give birth as he advise tat u might be giving birth early.

i check with my gynae and he feel tat i wouldn't be giving birth early as i dun feel any contraction as of now... i think the number of times of contraction you feel now affect when u will give birth...
everytime after poo poo (sorrie, sound disgusting), i feel my pelvic region will lower down...

durianlover,
me too..each time got BH, got to bend forward to walk or else feel so difficult to walk.

pochacco,
i also seldom get leg cramps and even if get, it's not very painful.

heard from frens that swollen feet is a sign of early labor. dunno how true. if ask gynae these kind of things, he sure say there's no basis for such things one.

does the number of times of contractions u have say how soon u give birth? so far i can remember about 3 times that i m quite sure.

Pochacco,

Oh you are really right.. so for I do not really have any leg cramps at night until yesterday night.. coz dinner I took kang kong..

My gynae has left for a holiday and will be back only 3 weeks later. but if there is any emergancy he has assign DR Peter Chew for me but we will have to pay..

Oh man that is addtional from the package..

hm.. is that the practice?

Sysac - thanks for the advise

SY - yes, gynae say mayb be lack of calcium but even though i take calcium pill every day, i still got leg cramp leh. (i already cant sleep well liao n leg cramp make it even worse) i always get up 5-6 times every nite. Maybe due to the air con blowing directly on my body.

Pochacco - Wow! so nice leh, only 3 times. (mine everyday ah) No. Gynae only told me maybe 1-2 weeks earlier (after 38 weeks). he ask me whether i prefer December or Jan (i oso dont know leh) i heard peple say if give birth in Jan our bb will be older by 1 yr? Very confusing leh? Anyone knows?

rena,
you mean u have to pay additional for consulation? but u took a package with your gynae? not sure what is the standard. but sounds a bit unfair cos u have a package already...

Rena: I think if it is a scheduled consultation, then no need to pay, but if u need to pay for unscheduled consultation as per ur package, then u will need to pay lor...

MH,

but he did not schedule any consultation for the next three weeks..and I am so used to seeing him every week..and will feel uneasy and worried..

maybe that is the procedure...

Hi edd2jan,
Tks for the words of encouragement! I guess it is maternal instinct that will make all of us strong and willing to do things for baby when it's time. Everyone will be zhai as you said it

Hi SY,
Yes, Cephas is on BM & FM. FM is becos he is on a project initiated by NUH for a study. My HB & I were tested positive for Rhinitis (nose allergy). As a result, Cephas may have it too.

In Singapore, probiotics are in FM for babies for 6 mths onwards. The study is to introduce FM with probiotics to NB babies. The study has shown positive results in UK & NZ in that probiotics introduced at birth to babies helps reduce Rhinitis/Eczema/Asthma.

We have to feed Cephas at least 60ml of the FM daily. We also do not know if the FM given to us has probiotics. Only the one who issued out the FM cans knows. He will be on the FM for 6 mths. At the end of 2 yrs, we will be given a report to show all the tests and results of this study on Cephas. His jabs for the 6 mths will also be taken care of by the study team at NUH.

I am getting the hang of things so dun feel so tired. Impt thing is rest when you can. Take care of your back. Lean back as much as you can in feeding or expressing milk. I felt the ache and so was resting a lot yesterday. I feel better today.

Yep, a supportive HB is impt. I was surprised that mine took his own initiatvie in doing his part for Cephas. We did not discuss this and as you know, Cephas birth came as a surprise to us too

Rena - my hb alway tell me not to eat kang kong cos it is cold... when i having cramp i will shout in the nite and he will wake up immediately and massage my leg and say, "eat kang kong loh"... hahaha...

Confused - i very kiasu... weekday morning i will take 1 cup of enfamama in the office and 2 tablets of calcium pills at nite... supposely to be 1 pill at nite, but doc say if no drink milk then take 2... i think i got surplus of calcium... i think also must eat fruit to help in absorb of calcium... so take note...

tonite when i got hm, must read up the breathing techniques again so tat when real labour come, i can still remember cos i short memory now...

Hi pochacco,

Eat kangkong will have leg cramps ah? why ah? You mean you dun have BH contractions at all? so good leh.....
Normally, closer to delivery date, you will have swollen ankles and feet(if haven already) ...but tink it does not indicate how soon.

Confused,
If have a choice, better to deliver in Jan. Your bb will be one of the oldest and not youngest, so when he/she is in pri school, he will be ahead in terms of his maturity and academic ability. My girl is a Nov bb, so she is slower in class as she is only 6+ when she started pri 1.

will ur be going back in-laws place for reunion dinner during your confinement??? My MIL ask me to go back for dinner and also to stay wf her for tat few days when CL is back in Johore for CNY... but i dun quite like the idea of adjusting here n there, esp during confinement...

confused,
yes if u're born in Jan, u'll hv a headstart when it comes to school coz u're older than the rest n can learn faster. But personally i prefer to be born end of the year...esp if bb is a girl. It's just my mentality that it's better for girls to be younger among the rest of the classmates, rather than to be the oldest. But too bad, my bb due in end Jan..so will most likely be a Jan bb girl.

sysac,
wow not bad...they pay for all Cephas' jabs n vaccinations? And i suppose the FM they give is free too right? Saves some money

rena,
it doesn't sound very fair that you have to pay the other doc if u need to visit him while ur gynae is away. After all, if ur gynae didn't go away, u'd be visiting him once a week right? So it's only fair and right that you visit this alternative gynae without paying for it - at least that's what i feel.

Hmmm does no. of contractions = earlier birth? i also dunno. If so it's quite scary coz i get BH contractions every day. And it's quite a few times everyday!! As long as i stand up and walk for some time, i'll feel my tummy tightening already.

Rena: I thought u are more than 32 weeks already? Usually there will be appointment every 2 weeks from 32 weeks onwards until 36 weeks...
Since he is already on holiday, guess there's nothing u can do...

Morning mummies...thread moving real fast again. as usual was so busy at work. finally managed to come in and join. hehee..

krissie - wah engaged already. so at 36wks ..i guess you can deliver anytime. when are you planning to start your leave?

sysac - great to hear you are coping real well. so have you started bathing and washing your hair? good to have ur mum to help u during your confinment. for me, my mum is helping me too
so how have motherhood chg you? any changes??

god's child,
for me it wld really depend on how old baby is during reunion dinner! If baby is like just a few days' old, i dun think i'll go out. This may be quite likely since my EDD is 27Jan.
i guess ur MIL means well when she offered her place for u to stay during reunion. But do a lot of frenz/relatives visit her during that period? If so, may not be so conducive for u to stay there with a young little baby...

god's child- nope i am not gg back my in law hse. told her already and she is fine with that. but she asked my hubby to go over. so i will have the dinner at my mum's place with hubby and he go over later if he wants. so this yr can siam already! hehee

Thanks for all your concern!

For my case, I started having pelvis pain and BH contractions at week 32! As I am only 34 weeks now, bb is still immatured to be delivered. So, gynae gave me MC till end of the year so that bb can tahan till then. Whenever I get out of my chair (after sitting for 1hr+ in office), my pelvis area hurts! But now that I am resting at home, I don't sit still for that long hence my pelvis is not that painful. But I am still experiencing BH contracttions now and then...

MH,

I am 34 weeks but since 30 weeks I am seeing him every week due to opening of interal cervix.

I have sent the contacts to you.. but casey , since you are out of office so I guess the mail can't reach you..

rena,
is your gynae away already? maybe check with him again on the schedule of the visits before he leaves for hol? i think as we are nearer, we shd see him every 2 weeks esp if you have complications.

sysac,
really thanks for all the advice! i think we must have the mentality that we need to be open to all sorts of things happening as we adjust and not feel stressed out by it. cannot expect babies to behave the way we think they will behave.

oh, so you won't know whether Cephas has nose allergy till he's older? or u will only know after the study concludes?

hmm, i think your HB takes his initiative cos he din expect bb to come so fast. but it is a good thing that dads are involved in their daily activities. helps them to bond. like i feel my bb doesn't respond to my hb much now becos my hb doesn't spend a lot of time with him. he tries but bb doesn't seem to want to respond to him...

god's child,
i used to think abt how i want to arrange my reunion dinner cos i m delivering after that. but then i told myself not to think abt it too much cos bb usually come earlier. think if u r still in confinement, u prob dun want to go to your MIL's place for dinner. maybe ask your HB to tell MIL to decide on this later cos it all depends on when bb comes.

if my bb does come after that, i will prob ask my HB to arrange dinner with MIL earlier and then back to my parents' place later. the only thing is i dunno whether he still want to go to his grandma's place but i will tell him not to cos i think 2 places in one night for a pregnant lady (esp one who's due) is more than enough. parents shd have priority.

then if i really am in confinement during that time, it's up to him whether he wants to go back to his mum's place for dinner. but if he does, i will expect him to go to mine as well as my representative.

rena,
received your mail as well. thanks!!

Sysac
Your hb is so supportive...that's good. Hope my hb will be like that too, else I wld go mad.

cel cel
My weight gain seems to be going up again & my appetite is increasing.
So, I might put on more than you lah..

confused
thanks for the encouragement.. I keep telling myself that it's for bb loh..
Bo bian lah.