(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover,
your bb sounds like of good weight.

klisa,
dun worry too much about C-section. in fact, a fren of mine who just went thru it said she finds it quite a good thing. she had no choice cos her bb was breech but the whole process was so fast so she din feel tired. plus after the op, she put the binder so she din experience much pain. so she said she changed her opinion of c-section.

hope you r better now and that the complications are over.

i will be at KKH. haven booked yet but already went thru the package. having a baby is really ex!! are you having a boy or gal?

hi durianlover,
Yeah, I noe, so that's wat making me anxious. Everybody is like asking when I'm gng to deliver, I also dunnoe wat to say because they all noe my condition and if C-Section, I should have a date by now.
But I was hoping I can deliver sooner so that can celebrate Chinese New Year after confinement.

On the C-section scar, Yeah, tink might cover if wear bikini but depending on how big or whether keloid is formed at the scar. Still gonna be ugly lor...

Question to all,
I read in some thread just now about drinking coconut juice and Raspberry Tea Leaf at the last mth, any of you gals do tat?

I also heard about drinking Coconut after 35 weeks but I'm a little doubtful of it cuz coconut is so cooling. Aren't we supposed to avoid cooling stuff?

SY,
I have some mixed feedbacks on C-Sections. Some say pain like crazy after wake up and some say okay. Anyway, will see how. I am better now, just had to stay at home as I cant go out for long period of time. Bored to death actually.

I'm expecting a baby boy. Talking about expensive, because of my boy, I have been hospitalised twice during my 1st mth and 4th mth of pregnancy. So, u can imagine how much he burned a hole in his mummy and daddy's pockets and I had to quit my job also....really jialat and bopian. What about you and when is your EDD?

lisa,
yes some of us did buy Raspberry Leaf Tea and hv started drinking. For me i also bought but keep forgetting to drink...perhaps i shd start soon!
Coconut juice - buy those young coconut. Think u can start drinking since u're due soon! But am not too sure on the benefits of coconut juice actually.
For you, i think the cool thing is that u may get to choose a date to deliver ur bb if u're doing thru C-section. Quite cool leh! i wish my bb can come out on 31 Dec...hee..but it's a wish only...not up to me to control!

mamachan
im now in the antenatal premiere package. so every gynae appointment is going to the private suite. but think most pro will be taking up the premiere package lo. see how is the final decision after the briefing on friday itself. Hb going w me so will decide on the spot.

re coconut juice
it is supposed to help in having a 'cleaner' birth. less bloody. that's what pple tell me. they say can drink 1 month before u r due.

re raspberry tea
the lady told me can drink from 7-8 months onwards. unless u have problems u shouldn't drink.

klisa,
i m having a boy too and will be delivering on EDD.

Rachel

Oh that's nice. I went thru the normal routine Specialist Clinic, then opt for the premiere. My next check-up on 21st Dec will be at the Private Suite. =)

coconut juice - wat i heard is tat it will help in the labour (easier). BB will oso not be too red n bloody after birth. dunno how true is it.

mamchan
i also go to TPS.

rachel,
u mean go to TPS still need to choose btwn Classic or premiere package? what is the difference?

Then I tink I will give Coconut Juice a try. Less bloody is a good thing. I'm just afraid tat it's too cooling... but if dun take too much, shld be ok, i hope.

durianlover,
initially I tink quite cool also to choose date but as my time comes nearer, I've been having sleepless nites on gng under the knife. My fren had a 15cm wound leh.... quite big. Ouch!

mamachan
so u went for the hospitalisation premiere package (1 bedded) la? i think i will be more comfortable w premiere package bah. w a specific team n ur gynae.. private suite is nice.. w comfortable sofa seaters n free flow of hot drinks.. heehee

SY
wat i know is tat for delivery/hospitalisation package we still hv to choose between classic or premiere lo. the details btw this 2 package is left @ hm. details let u know tomo la

cookie
yup, kids tool. same as you. I got the nursery rhyme one.

SY
I didn't take tea yest. Took today, coz I had an impt meeting and I was so sleepy. Thanks, discharge is lesser, and tightening also lesser today. Last nite, my left calf felt swollen and a bit numb. dun know why leh. is it water retention?

cookie
I ordered the custom made flash card from the other thread. It's $100+. But, hb and I are qt keen and there's 600 cards. We're too lazy to do the cards ourselves.
I think can be used from 3mths to 3-4years?

Celine
See the link that SY posted earlier.
http://www.online.babysayang.com/online/index.php?action=item&id=1975&prevaction=category&previd=5&prevstart=10
Basically, we need to flash it at baby everyday.

Rena
Yeh! good that bb has turned and u can carry the bb till full term.

Tabbiesius
maybe the cheaper safeguard model cant be rearfacing? After shopping ard for a while, realise that usually those that can be used for NB (rearfacing) are more exp. The cheaper ones which I saw cant convert to rearfacing. So, not so safe for NB.

haven't been posting cos so busy at work!

Just came back from visiting gynae. 36 weeks now and BB weigh 2.2kg. Then during the scan, doc says my amniotic fluid is a bit low, and Bb may not be getting enough nutrients. Says 2.2kg a bit small and BB only put on 200g since 2 weeks ago. Need to monitor closelt, else will need to deliver soon.

Last 3 visits not so good, 1st tell me BB a bit small, then say BB size back to average but got high blood pressure, now blood prossure went down and then tell me amniotic fluid low. So he's a bit concerned and had CTG conducted to track BB's heartbeat & check whether BB's growth is normal. Lucky BB is still growing normally! Sigh... but he says nothing to worry about as long as BB is above 35 weeks and 2 kg big. Dunno whether my doc is being too cautious.

Wah...you all very slim pre-preggy leh. I was about 51kg at 1.6m pre-preggy, now 64kg.

SSF,
I'm still thinking whether to stick to the 2-bedded or upgarde to 1-bedded at TMC. Can we decide when we admit?

confused
I bought the flashcards from Kids Mall.

Rachel
I got my nursing bra (Eternity brand) from Metro. $9.90. JL also sells.

Sysac
Yeh.. good that bb is ok and can go home. Take care. Wow, very good that your milk is free flowing from day 4.

Aiyo, I put on 17kg liao..
Am the fattest here.

queen
no need to worry so much lah, since doc says is ok. plus baby is already pass 2kg.
drink more milk and sleep on the left lah. take care.

queen,
It is always easier to upgrade to 1 bedded rather than downgrade. But it is subject to availability.

Rena,
Glad to hear that ur bb has engaged & u can carry to full term. Take care! Only left a few more weeks to tong. *Jia you!*

Zhimin,
Remember not to overwork urself. We are at our last stage liao. Try to slow down ur pace.

Nowadays, I keep reminding myself not to get to pressured by the never-ending workloads. I try to find time to go swimming at least twice a week. Find that it is the only excercise I have now & it is quite relaxing too. Hope to increase frequency to thrice a week before due.

krissie,
i also had left calf swollen yesterday and it felt so crampy. not sure whether it is water retention. all along i only have cramps on right leg but yesterday left leg also...

wendy,
raspberry tea supposed to be good for toning uterine muscles and it has a lot of nutrients. coconut juice supposed to make the birth 'cleaner'.

queen,
dun worry too much. my fren went thru the same thing. doc also told her the same thing that her fluid is low, bb small and she got quite worried but in the end when she gave birth, her bb weighs 3.1kg!

my bb is even smaller and my gynae keep saying good cos easy to deliver.
and i realise it's really true cos my fren's wife whose bb weighs 2.9kg, she din need episotomy. she had a minor tear and could walk immediately after birth easily.

wenyl,
you still go swimming twice a week?? must really learn from u. do u swim after work? i find it cold... can we swim teill just bfore birth?

Queen,
dun worry, bb is already 36 weeks, and 2.2kg, just relax, only a few more weeks to go...

Wenyl,
I love swimming, but lately keep raining and super tired, must make it a point to go more b4 birth

hi mummies....Goooooood morning!!

Coconut Drink
Just to share this (from what my Granny has instructed).....to drink this once (is sufficient) or else too "cooling"....the purpose of drinking this is to "shrink" the placenta so that it is easy to "disengage" after BB is out and oso BB will b "cleaner"...another "remedy" is to take the desssert Black Sesame Paste (Zhi Ma Wu), it oso serve the same purpose on the placenta.

Am already in my 33rd week, hv taken the coconut drink liao....super duper delicious!!

durianlover
Sleepless nites, yah, be prepared for at least 3-4months.... hb/I looked back and also dun know how we did it...haha... but worth it cos a time of bonding with my boi too.

SSF
The couch is always here (permanent fixture..hehe) but the moment they noe/see u have hb staying over, they will charge u lor. My hb stayed with me except for last two nites,I asked him to go home and rest cos he was so tired...

Klisa
I think nowadays c-section procedures are pretty advanced... see what ur gynae recommends... my gynae never mentioned abt c-section for my first boi even tho he came out so big... think she is v jai... But the only thing is it seems if first child is c-section, 2nd one is likely unless the weight is lighter.

coconut juice - I drank twice during my last few weeks.. dun know if my boi turned out beta had he not taken it or not.. but his skin is v smooth and nice..haha..

queen
U take care. Stimes the gynae's estimation may not be accurate. Just relax and eat well these few weeks.

krissie
I put on 18kg so far but thinking that I'm carrying twins, so quite ok hah, plus now carrying 4.1kg of the gals. The last pregnancy I put on 17kg.

sysac: great that ur baby have returned home. Fyi, the EBM can be kept for 48 hours in the fridge. So it is better not to freeze the milk if the baby is consume the milk within the next two days as freezing will kill some of the good antibodies in the milk.

hi queen
don't worry so much. my doc has the same comment as you. just that he said the amniotic fluid is sufficient. just monitor bb's movement everyday. you are reaching the finishing line.

dear ladies,

any one on you do feel moody and lost at times? Somehow for the past few days I have been feeling so moody, lost and depress.. for what reason.. I really do not know..

queen,
dun worry, at least baby is of an okay size 2.2kg already! Sometimes gynaes are just v cautious and want to let u know the full risks/consequences involved so they tell u everything...then cause us to worry n worry. But at the end of the day, just trust God for the safety n health of ur baby!

rena,
i guess it's prenatal blues? cheer up yeah! hopefully the impending arrival of ur little one will cheer u up

rena,MH,
prenatal blues? or pre delivery blues? i read in earlier thread that some mothers feel very moody before delivery.

yvonne,
can only drink once? i plan to drink coconut juice like every two weeks! yummy.

Rena,
Me too feeling moody suddenly on Tues night... HB kept asking me why i sulking n so no mood i just told him nothing coz i really dun know what's wrong too... HB ask me again when we were lying on bed going to sleep n i just teared... FOR NO REASON!??! Next day Wed i back to normal liao... think maybe tired or wat really no idea... I guess just have to keep praying for GOD's comfort n strength.

SY,
Actually i wanted to hv another coconut drink prob in my 36th week, hv checked with my granny yesterday, to my dismay, she said enuff liao....so no choice lor...drink once only lor...sometimes not too good if take too much, too cooling for mummy & child, just moderate intake.

Hi Rena,

I think it;s quite normal. I guess we are worried about when's baby coming, whether it will be a smooth delivery, baby's health..... all these will only be known when baby arrives. Yet we are also worried about coping with a newborn etc......

Like MH, Thou i am also expecting my second child, the same worries remains....

Try to relax and enjoy your remaining uninterupted days..... Go for a stroll, read some novels, sitback at a cafe to 'people-watched'.... These are the things you will miss doing once baby is out!

Thou we can still do it after birth, the feeling is different cos after giving birth, your heart will constantly be with baby, so while you are out somewhere, your heart is at home .........

Hi durian lover,

Indeed, trust God for the safety and health of our baby! Praise the Lord!

Was teaching my gal how to pray and sometimes we pray together at night. Last night, she was the one who initiated to pray and she begin by saying "Dear Lord....".
Her prayer request includes her soft toys, her VCDs......

Rena/Clare
I had this moody feeling yesterday too.....dunno why oso....when HB asked me why i told him I DUNNO LAH....it was for no apparent reason or whatsoever, it just happen lor....but after a while ok liao....think due to hormones changes?

Yuki: precisely, although I have 7 plus weeks to go, dunno whether will be able to have a safe delivery and whether I be able to cope with a NB...nervous leh...

yuki
your gal so cute.....can really see a child's innocence thru her prayers.

yvonne,
think my frens drank more than once and they are ok. will ask ard again.

yuki,
yah your gal is so sweet n cute! hee

i haven't really been moody but my mind is always active...keep thinking about what i haven't yet prepared, what else i need to do/pack, how shd i react if symptoms of labour come on, etc etc! every night i go to sleep trying to play thru my mind the labour n delivery process! kan cheong already...hee.

Hi Rena, Yvonne, MH and durian lover,

I guess different people have different reactions. Some moody, depress, excited etc.......

Hi SY and durian lover,

That's true. Children see things differently and it somehow open up my mind...... like the other time, my gal wanted to 'borrow' her cousin's birthday so that she gets to cut the cake......... Being adult, it's something that will never cross our mind.

Hi Yvonne,

Hee, i drank a couple of times during my last pregnancy. Baby is ok.

yuki,
this reminds me of a bday celebration that i attended. when it came to blowing the candles, every kid available just tot it's their bday and starting blowing the candles. then u see all the mummies try to stop them (cos they blow so hard and bday boy never get chance to blow). all adults laughing so hard!!!

krissie
thks for the info! wil go take a look =)

SY
sure thing! wil let u know in detail abt the two different packages

sleepingdeer / tabbiesius
abt the papaya + fish soup. its indicated white fish tail... so meaning as long as its white meat fish any kind wil do?? or hv to be selective? only need the half portion of the body n tail rit? sorry if it sound silly... =p

yuki / SY,
yes kids are so funny when it comes to bday celebrations n blowing candles! all of them will always want to blow n inevitably lots of saliva will be added to the flavouring of the cake too!

Re: coconut juice
oh no, just talking abt coconut juice makes me feel like drinking it! recently i've been hoping to drink coffee and coke - though previously i never liked these 2 beverages. Really strange..never thot i'd crave for this but seems like the grass-is-always-greener-on-the-other-side! feel like eating sashimi, half-boiled eggs, etc etc too!! sigh sigh. Must tong for a few more wks!!

durianlover,
u too hv these cravings?...whoa, me too, was walking pass this kopi place the KOPI-O smell damn solid man.....but after HB said since i already tong for sooooo many months liao, so beta to continue & tong until after confinement lor....what to do....for the good of BB, sacrifice abit oso nevermind rite?

hello durianlover

read ur post abt not eating sashimi, half boiled eggs.. hahaa.. i was like u when i was pregnant. keep wanting to eat all those raw things.. before i was pregnant already my fav.. sashimi, oysters..etc... but after pregnant have to stop eating.. i think it was a torture... hahahaa
u say tong for a few more wks (meaning after u give birth)??? haha.. u are wrong man.. if u intend to bf, u also shd not eat raw stuff.. the bacteria will pass to ur baby!

my gal is now 3 mths old.

Yuki,
Yah it was really so sweet of your gal... think these are the child innocence n purity of mind & heart that will make us forget all about the loss of freedom n melt all our wearies away.... = )

stlobb
you're carrying twins more, hv to put on more than us..

For me, I'm starting to worry if I can take care of bb when he is born. Yet, I am excited that I'm seeing him soon, but also worried abt labour.. aiya.. such mixed feelings.

me too feeling moody today
Talking abt coconuut juice, can i buy it at cold storage?

SY - dont worry, since gynae say your bb size no problem, then u can fang xin. Frankly speaking, i prefer bb to be samller cos need not have to go through c section. (i was told c section take a longer time to heal) and it seems that i've no choice, i got to go for c section.

krissie - Thanks. but i cant find it at Kid's mall leh. Btw, how does the box look like?