(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hey remember last year we meet up at Sun and Moon Dining for makan. The 30% is on again.

Want to meet up next week for makan ? I cannot make it on 18 Mar.

Re. Gap/ON with 30% off spree
Confirmed orders:
queen
Belinda
Rachel
Sysac
Tracie

I think I have to close spree liao. No more slots...

By the way , the 30% discount is up to 22 Mar
Better to make advance reservation.

Because xiao pple like my colleague can eat 3 x a week. You probably see many of my office colleagues there everyday

Hey is tuesday a good day for all ? Holiday liao so maybe our SAHM can join us too with the kiddos

17 Mar - Sun & Moon Dining - Chijmes - 12.30 pm ?
1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan

queen
thank you! do let me know the final amount and i will transfer to you.

CL
i miss japanese food! the tot alone made me drool... but got to give it a miss, got to bring devan for jab on that day.

Hey is tuesday a good day for all ? Holiday liao so maybe our SAHM can join us too with the kiddos

1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.Belinda (TBC)

Simple addition
Just to share that D really caught on the concept of addition with the use of his fingers. i.e. 2+2=4, 5+2= 7. He would put his hands together with the respective number of fingers to show me and count for me to "see". What started as a simple game, he's been practising with my helper when he sits on the great white throne in the mornings.

There was once my MIL was also trying to do the addition thing with him, not sure if she's being funny with him as a joke (though she looked really serious), she went 1 + 1 = 11!!!! I was like so shocked as to what she was trying to "teach" him... I then told her nicely not to "anyhow" teach him the wrong/funny thing first...if not when he goes to school, I'll be the one having a headache to correct the wrongs...

Tracie,
Thanks. Got it. No problem with the code.

Belinda / Tracy / Rachel/ Sysac,
Have emailed you all regarding the spree.
Pls reply ASAP yah? Thanks!

Mamachan,
I'm also trying to introduce Isaac to addition and subtraction. But I usually use objects instead. Not very consistent in doing that though. only when the mood strikes me to. Heheh...
I totally agree about the ILs teaching the wrong things. Isaac is being cared for by my ILs and already, I'm having a hrad time trying to correct the many wrong / inappropriate things that he has learnt from my ILs!

queen
I'm just glad that my boy initiates the addition game om his on with me or with my helper. And that my MIL is not the direct caregiver over my boy, I rather bring him over to her place and let them interact, though she'll complain of being tired out.

sounds like a fun gathering. pity din go. nowadys really feel tired. not enuff sleep. yesteday felt giddy a lot of times

CL
so sad that u lost your stuff. the worst thing is phone. but i had good experience with singtel. got my replacement sim card on the same evening.

re sun n moon
cannot make it on tue. any other days? tue going zoo with my parents b4 they go back to china. haven seen all the mummies for so long

sounds like a fun gathering. pity din go. nowadys really feel tired. not enuff sleep. yesteday felt giddy a lot of times

CL
so sad that u lost your stuff. the worst thing is phone. but i had good experience with singtel. got my replacement sim card on the same evening.

re sun n moon
cannot make it on tue. any other days? tue going zoo with my parents b4 they go back to china. haven seen all the mummies for so long

I really can't wait for the delivery day and I'm only in my 33 weeks! This time round, feeling a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions. And this no. 2 can really twist and turn and I'm not exactly enjoying all these! At the same time, I'm also dreading it... mainly cos I'm not sure how it will be like handling a baby and Isaac. As it is now, Isaac is still in denial. He's not welcoming didi. Sigh. And I have all those worries about neglecting Isaac or that we will grow distant cos of #2. Maybe I'm thinking too much liao.

Does anyone know whether TMC has free internet access? WIFI or anything like that? Wondering whether I can bring laptop.

queen
i know exactly what you are worrying, am going through a challenging period now. i felt very bad and guilty too but as things fall into place, it will get better. now i am able to have some time with dylan, although not alot as before but we enjoy the moments. although dylan adores his didi (he will kiss/sing/talk to his didi)he is having sibling sypdrome still.

it might be more taxing for you when isaac has yet come to term with didi's arrival... you might want to get hb to shower issac with more attention after your bb arrive cos you will be very much occupy with the new born and other adjustments.

Re:RP lunch..
Aiyo... I just change my leave from Tue to Monday...ok see if I can change back. I put my name first.

1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.Belinda (TBC)
5. rena
6. Cookie

Mamachan/Queen
talking abt MIL teaching....I overheard my MIL last nite trying to teach Kae the following in Mandarin "Wo zai kan diang shi, ni bu yao lai cao wo!" it's soooo like my MIL, so rude in her speech.
I went to my hb and ask him pls inform his mum not to teach the kid to speak so rudely.
MIL always refer to Mickey Mouse as "Fatty meow", I really dunno why.... but I always correct her when she teach the wrong stuff.

queen
not to worry how to handle 2 kids when the bb arrives. just do one thing at a time. you might wanna get your hb to be more involved in taking care and handling isaac so that when didi arrives, you can attend to didi more when he needs.
me too, at time, feel guilty of neglecting my #1 after #2 arrived. but, i just try hard to balance my attention to both of them. sometimes, i will just bring #1 out and have mother & daughter outing without hb and didi. that helps a lot.

cheer up!

cookie
talk abt what in-laws had taught the kids. that day, during dinner time, i told my gal that she couldn't take durian 'cos she's not fully recovered from her cough and flu. guess what my in-laws taught her? they told my gal, 'bu yao gen ma-ma jiang.' so angry leh. and now they always complain to me that my gal likes to tell lie. see, who teach the kids to tell lie 1st?

Re:RP lunch..
yeah manage to change my leave.finally can join RP lunch le.

1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.Belinda (TBC)
5. rena
6. Cookie ( i confirm..)

sunny
Wow! Sounds really headache....I guess they are trying to make themselves "more close and fun" to her.... but must remind them they had encouraged her to be sneaky...

cookie
wow...that sounds bad....D gets scolding and sometimes caning if he gets really rude and after warning him and he still does it.

hi mommies

Thank CL for organizing the gogo bambini outing!!

It was really good to be able to catch up with all the mommies who could make it.. our kids are really big now...

I'm so sorry you lost your phone and stuff... pai seh...

RE: helper
Anyone looking for a helper? I'm going to let go my helper. She is ok. Not the best but she is quiet educated, can speak english well so can teach.. she reads to tabby quite often. She can cook for adults and babies, relatively well at that (at least I can tolerat, and she knows how to boil soup). I've had her since didi almost 2 years, so she has experience with younger kids as well as older kids. Her contract is supposed to finish in june but i am leaving in April for the USA, so if she is staying in Singapore, I can recommend her. She is quite hardworking and so far honest. She is filipina. I would have tried to bring her to the US but my mom doesn't want cos she is coming with me. Pm me if anyone who is in need of a helper is interested.

1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.Belinda (TBC)
5. rena
6. Cookie ( i confirm..)
7. Tabbiesus

queen
don't worry about taking care of 2 kids. You will figure it out when no. 2 comes out. But, you will definitely need hb help for I. Cos he will feel it. But maybe remember to include I. for everything, like get him to help get diaper/ clothes and other things for didi. Like get him to help prepare didi's bed so he feels like he's not forgotten. DOn't forget to get him a present from didi so that when he sees didi at the hospital. It will help him welcome didi better.

For me, I used to get tabby to sit next to me when I'm nursing didi and read to her. I will use my breastfeeding pillow/ sarong carrier to carry didi and sit next to tabby and do painting and other crafts when didi was sleeping/ nursing. Its easier the first 2 months cos didi only sleeps.

Only thing is less time playing outside cos have to stay indoors for 1 month during confinement. So it will be good for you to get hubby to bring I out to get so that they can run around and release all their energy.

Hi, may I know what you are reading to your 3-year olds? Besides the readers, what does your kid enjoy you reading? I'm into the 6-yr old books and realize that sometimes the 3-yr old needs his own level of books.

.ky.

Thanks for the advice on handling #1 when #2 arrives. Isaac understands that didi is in my tummy but he just doesn't want him to come out. He says didi stay inside the stomach.

tabbiesus,
I'm not sure whether the 'present from didi' thing will work. Cos Isaac is 3+ years old already, he understands a lot of things. I don't think he will believe the toy is from didi.
As it is now, my HB is Isaac's playmate. Yah, but I think I do agree that HB has now got to focus more attention on I when #2 is out.
And I note the reading part. As it is now, most of the bedtime reading to I is done by me. Must be mindful to continue doing so even when #2 is out.

ky,
I read all sorts of books to Isaac now. Sometimes I dread reading those older leval books cos it's so lengthy and when I'm so tired at night, I struggle to get through the whole book and Isaac will not let me sleep unless I have finished the entire book!
I would also still read baby level boosk to him... sometimes, he will just pull them out and want me to read. I guess he just enjoys the stories and the pictures.
I bought a lot of books from Amazon. Books with different kinds of theme, trains, dinosaurs, music, fairytales, nursery rhymes...

cookie,
wah... if you think 'fatty meow' is bad, you should hear how my MIL calls 'bra' and 'breasts'.
She calls them 'nen nen pok'. Isaac knows how to repeat after her!!!
I will correct Isaac and say that it's 'bra' and 'breasts'!

Hi queen,
for me, i try to equally divide the attention among the kids. THough S is not jealous of L, but I do catch her listening intently when we give L attention. So whenever one of us talk to L, like my mum, I will respond similarly to S to involve her in the conversation. Like when My mum say,'mei mei,you likes to bite your fingers huh?' I will go 'S, you used to do that when you were a baby, remember?'

I also had conversations with S to tell her I wont be able to handle mei mei when she comes, can you help mommy and be mommy's helper? I think it helps...

And yes! I was dreading the last tri with L. Really counting down the days... haha!

ky
I still choose those colorful pictorial books with minimal words, i.e. Spot goes to school, Spot says goodnight, Spot goes to the farm. It's his few favourite Spot books. He actually remembers the sentences from the books and pretends to read them to me. I've not yet ventured to getting readers... I might buy new books for him but he still loves the "Spot" range of books. I focus more on "story-telling" from the pictures, what each scene tells us, what are the details that we see and what the characters are doing. More on engaging him in the book.

Sometimes I feel I'm not reading enough or the slightly more wordy books, but I figured since he enjoys the simple books, thought it would help him in recognizing the 3-letter words much easier as he grows older.

queen,
same here, when i was expecting Duncan and falling sick all the time, i couldn't wait to pop early too!

TMC has wireless. After you deliver, get hubby go registration counter to get the password. Got charges but minimal. I brought my laptop along.

Queen,
U tried praising Isaac and getting him to help out in daily things? I find it works for Jamie. In fact she had been telling pple that her meimei is coming out soon.

In another 11days I am going for c-sect already (wk38 for me), so now being 36wks, I really hope that it will come out faster. Very tiring to do any other things. Will be going for my last checkup next mon.

KY,
Same with Mamachan, I read to Jamie using the pic rather than really reading out the words. Jamie dun have the patience to sit there for long if it is too wordy. She enjoyed the time when we both cuddles with pillows and listening to stories. I will try my best to do it even meimei is out.

U can try reading from pic, and then get him to describe and speak out from the pic as well. It will improve his language skills as well.

Tabbs,

Helper

what a waste. I just helped mil find a new maid to replace existing one. I hope she turns out well. If she doesnt and your helper is still available then, would very much love to take her in.

tabbs
if i decide to change my helper, will check with u. currently this one not very good. really slip shod. giving her one last chance and see whether improving

queen
i have the same concerns as u before jx arrives. and till now jh has a lot of behavorial problems. sigh....he really changed a lot. think if all the mummies see him, will be really surprised. he is very rude now and will hit me sometimes. and his behavior in sch also getting worse. the worst thing is jx sleeps very little so i have very little time with jh.

ky
i read a variety of books to jh. he has some wordy books and sometimes he lieks to read meimei's books...haha. and his sch has some chinese readers that he can read by himself (memory reading i think). nowadays he likes his pop up books.

Exams finally over - but not good I think.

Tabbiesus,
So sorry that can't go for the gathering the other day. Was really tied up.

Re: Helper
I talk offline? Am thinking of changing mine....

Re: Sun with Moon
CL, will let you know if I can make it.... I like Sun and Moon! esp the cod fish!

So long haven't meet with any of the mummies...

Anymore joining for lunch tomorrow 17 Mar ?

If no, I will go ahead and make a booking for 8 first.

1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.Belinda (TBC)
5. rena
6. Cookie ( i confirm..)
7. Tabbiesus

Reservation made at 12.30 pm for tomorrow. 8 pax under my name. If anyone joining last min, call me so I will in crease the number. lets meet directly at the restaurant

By the way, keep forgetting to highlight. Like every other time, after the lunch we can go book fair. Got book fair at bras basah.

I am bringing Clarisse to Taiwan early April for around 1 week.

Should I get the flu vaccination done for her? Any other things I should take note? First time bringing her go oversea leh.

hi mummies...was so tired with 2 sick toddlers at home. C is down with chesty cough again. mummies who bought nebu, can i asked where did you get the solution ? I went to my PD on the weekend and my PD seems against nebu at home. He said KKH is moving away from nebu to the chamber as they are worried parents will nebu kids without seeing the doc and may be risky. however in TMC, they are sayig a different thing. now i am so confused and stucked with a nebu and a chamber. J on the other hand is down with fever and diarrhoea since last wed. seems like a viral attack. btw, just wanted to share that J has a cyst growing on his face since last yr. brought him to NSC today for his follow up and it seems the cyst has grown bigger. Doc is referring him to a PD surgeon from KKH to have a second opinion. Most likely may need a op to remove the cyst wall. i hope its not so traumatic for him as he has to be sedated throughout the procedure and most likely to leave a small scar on his cheek.

zhimin - yeah it be good to get her vaccinated before the trip. i think there is 2 doses. u may want to do it at the earliest. thgs to bring is biscuits...water on the flight for fear of blocked ears, games to occupied ur child on the plane, extra clothings on the plane for fear of vomitting or pee leakage, sweater on the plane, pull up pants(as changing diaper on the small toilet can be challenging) and tonnes of tissue papers. a plastic bag can be handy on the plane to throw away rubbish and keep the sitting area clean and tidy, socks on the plane to keep feet warm and lastly, hand and mouth wipes! very impt to have....i swear by it