(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

dili_mummy: mine's the same as chin. did the vaginal swab.

mm.. am feeling so groggy now.. after the medication.. but at least my stuffed nose cleared after 1 dose of medicine.. so u can imagine how much i love my gp! went to the one.. near my place.. stupid gp.. so talkative(talked to my hb while seeingme) then gave me medicine.. took 6 times le.. no signs of recovery at all.. imagine my agony!!

furryfurry: yea.. inducement.. really has got much painful labour pains.. i'll tell u if its painful or not ok? coz am trying not to go on epidural as my pain threshold.. is kinda high.. sigh.. counting down the days.
mum just warned me not to be too happy.. coz still got 11 days.. sianz.. baby might want to pop even earlier. oops.. 4 days to week 37.

aprilpinky: i was just thinking about u when i am typing the earlier post! then i saw ur post..
so glad tt everything's ok with ya.. mm.. i will check out the pyjamas there then.. coz my mum stays in aljunied! haha...

*am feeling very very... groggy now.

i heard from oct mum tt having flu is one of the sign of going into labour soon.. *pls.. am praying very hard tt he wun want to come out tt fast!*

Naughty, ya, I was thinking of u when I was grabbing the PJs also..hahahahahahah...the shopkeeper said she sold a lot liao. A few aunty floral designs lah..hopefully when u go that time still got some bear bear design to choose from.

Having flu sign of going into labor? No lah..got a cold got a cold lah..U will not go into labor that soon one lah.

haha... yea man.. dun really want to go into labour.. but my flu is getting too muchh for me to take it. grgr.. jus wanna faster recover from it. haha...

the pjs long sleeves or short? am looking for long sleeves only coz intend to stay in air con room -24/7. hehe..

naughty, will wait for ur update. I dunno if my pain threshold is high or low but also gunning for drugless birth if possible

Calbee, I'm also from Jal!!!! Oh my god!!! Met my colleague here!!! Which class are u from???

Went to gynae, he didn't comment on bbs' size. But my bb boy's water level is a little low. He nag at me to rest again...He said he's going to deliver my bbs on week 38. Means i still got 5 weeks more to go.
Chris, if Dr Ang going to deliver urs on week 37, and i can 'tong' till week 38, we might have chance to meet in hospital!!

Furry2, ur fav habit very shiok hor.. My neighbour also bf for 2-3 months only.

Can labour start without baby engaging?

Can induce labour without baby engaging?

Quite confusing... doesn't seem possible that baby can come out naturally if not engaged. Anyone knows?

Hihi Dilimum,
Me too just did the swap test at week 36
gynea say if test is positive, then will give us antibotics during delivery to prevent bb from getting pneumonia? (i think so...)

By the way, MTBs, any idea if we can sleep in aircon room during confinement at night? cos i can't sleep without aircon

Oh ya, weight gain - at week 36, i already put on 20kgs... i think can forget abt going back to original shape already! hahahaha ... and bb is already 3 kg. Gynea say head not engaged, but give birth anytime...

323018.jpg

oh ya MTBs, my gynea told me that bb's brith weight will usually be around mummy's birth weight... so MTBs, if u are born more than 3kg, likely bb also more than 3 kg... kekeke... dunno if its true or not...

Dili_mummy,

Read in the book "What to expect when you are expecting" that we can actually go into labour without baby getting engaged - particularly for second (and subsequent) time mothers. For first time mothers, usually baby will be engaged anytime from week 36 onwards. My gynae also said the same thing. Having said this, some of the first time mothers can go into labour, and baby only gets engaged during the labour as well.

For induced cases - I am not sure.

Must go and ask my mum for my weight already lor..! Err..just curious, dun hubby's birth weight play a part too??

I'm also curious about using epidural. Can we use epidural throughout the whole labour?? Does anyone got any idea on tis.
Today, my gynae gave me my hospital addmission letter. We didn't discuss the birthing plan yet. But i have a 'feeling' tat he might wan me to try natural birthing. Cos he even draw my bbs' position on the letter. Told my hb tis on our way home, he said he will tell the gyane on the next visit tat he prefer c-section. Haiz....stubborn.

Abt bb not being engaged still can deliver..maybe loh. I got a friend who gave birth recently and had epidural but last minute emergency c-section cuz bb's head not sufficiently come down yet?! I dont know whether she meant bb is never engaged in the first place. If never engaged I think can forget abt natural birth.

Nik,

Yes, epidural shd be able to last for the whole labor but do ask for it earlier when the contractions arent so jialart yet.

That is what I heard also..bb's weight will closely match mummy's weight. Also, if mom is pre-mature bb, then bb got tendency to come out early also..don't how true is that.

I think my pain threshold not very high, likely will opt for epidural also..hubby keep saying to take early and not until you already very painful cos it takes abt half hour to take effect..if you take too late, then already super painful..

Dili_mummy, how to PM? need to setup anything? If it's yahoo msger, my office barred us from using alredy. So, nowadays I almost never go in..

hahaha... tat is so not true.. about the baby's weight being born near to the mummy's weight lor..
if like my sis how? got three kids? then the last one is premature? mummys to be... dun be so anxious.. about the baby's weight.. unless its gaining too fast or too slow..
tats just my opinions.

as for inducing before baby's head engaged.. is possible. and he can still be delivered.. via natural.. so long he is not too 'high' up in ur womb. if he is near to ur pelvic already.. then it shouldn't be a prob. no sweat i think. hahahaha..

furryfurry: i will try w/o epidural coz i am always scared of vomiting.. not so much of the needle itself.. hehe.. will update after i give birth lo..

counting down the days.. 10 more days to go...
(maybe should start packing le hor?) hehe.. went to do pre admission just now le..

Good morning ladies...

calbee, how come u always wake up so early one *yawn*..

Going back to sleep.

Naughty..pls pack! :p R u sure u can tahan labor pain? I'm just going to ask for it 2-3 hrs into labor unless my cervix super efficient dilated 5 cm or above fr the starting. Oh another Oct mum also got similar experience ..read that her gynae cant pull her bb's head out and in the end need to go for c-section. It happens.

And the worst part is we dont know what would happen until the last moment. Got to be positive but cant help being apprehensive. haha

Not feeling too great today...hot and cold at the same time and slightly achey, like gonna get sick like that. Bah!!

Chin, I also remember reading that husband's genes play a part too in determination of the cub's size. Anyway, all will be revealed soon right? since our EDDs are fast approaching.

Think the engaged vs non-engaged thing also depends on the person's body rite? I've also read of people's experiences of non-engagement and also successfully birth naturally.

Aprilpinky, 2-3 hours can hit 5 cm is awesome hor!!

Good morning ladies..

Glad to see that our thread is getting more active these days...keep it up!! Guess we are all getting more excited also..as the D-Day approaches. I think I am beginning to get that nesting instinct...keep wanting to tidy up the room/ house. etc etc.. haha. Or is it just me?

Recall that it was mentioned during antenatal class that for first time mothers, the cervix dilate (naturally) at abt 1cm per hour as a guide! So..without inducing..normally it will be quite a number of hours lor..

If I do not need to be induced, I will try without epidural first...see how high my pain threshold is first..if really can not take it, then no choice lah. I heard from a friend (who did not ask for epi that she had no energy to push at the end), and ended with C-section also..so between the lesser of the 2 evils (epi / c-section), I will choose epidural.

Naughty - u must be getting quite excited!! Better start packing lah!! Dun dilly dally already ok..

haha..... dunno why.. just dun feel like packing. will probably do so tonight lor.. then continue waiting. hahaha..

as for epidural: not too sure.. like what u said.. nothing is confirmed.. but will try to make do w/o one..

naughty..u better start packing. cos maybe then will realise still got things haven't buy..then can prepare mah..

my sis-in-law just delivered a bb girl two weeks ago. first baby also and she had problem with the cervix dilating. contractions for 2 days but the cervix dilate really really slow..only 1-2cm after 1 day..

i really admire she can thong for so long..But at last also c-section cos the bb pass motion, the meconium thingy, so have to emergency deliver.

i am just thinking cannot anticipate anything one..cos anything can happen. hopefully everything smooth only...as long as bb come out healthy at the end, correct or not?

Just woke up (again) :p

Some ppl reached hospital already more than 5 cm dilated..not sure how come their cervix so efficient (must ask ur mums to chk that out cuz I heard it's in the genes..hahaha).

Bluelips, ya..as long as bb is safe and healthy. Ur SIL's case is known as "slow coach" must c-section one..cuz normally is at least 1 cm/hr but some ppl super fast one.

Take care furry...

Oh ladies, to increase efficiency of cervix..rem to do ur kegels hor..not sure how effective it is but at least we have done someth to help ourselves...

Boy loves to move abt when I do kegels..I think he thot I'm play with him. hehehee

Yes..and also as Furry posted earlier, drink raspberry tea.

Furry - dress warmly..heard from hubby that temperatures are dipping rapidly. Tom only 16 deg..nice..but better not catch a cold.

Thanks Chin, just woke up from an 1.5 hr nap...concussed leh, think body fighting the flu bug...yah, temps turning rapidly, I'm in my long sleeves now and cardis already.

Yah, try RTL? I read that its supposed to help soften the cervix, but of course how responsiev each person is to such remedies are not really "accurate" ba...IMO .

But I read fr what to expect book that it's not advisable to drink raspberry tea before due date cuz it may trugger early contractions. It's the same with other do-it-yourself induce techniques like nipple stimulation which will cause v STRONG contractions.

Yeah, I read that too...different literature has different opinions. I think when it comes to pregnancy and child birth, there are no hard & fast rules. I suppose everything in moderation, it is ok.

Calbee, u can't accept pm also. U can pm me instead. I think i can guess who u are...Hmn....Me from Sin 40. Now on ML loh.

Chin, My gynae did not say anything abt birthing plan yet. But i got 'feeling' tat he might wan me to try natural. Moreover, one of the bb's head is very low down. But i'm not confident lei, plus my hb also not supportive. Btw, the actress Ivy Lee went thru natural for her twin boys.

Bluelips,
Then I send mail to your Yahoo email?
You can accept PM by going to your Profile, uncheck the option under Preferences.

Hmmm..sian..luckily on leave for tomorrow ..hahaha..

Nik, if u r not confident, it's better to let ur gynae know. I think it's impt that the mum must be comfortable with the birthing plan. Imagine u posting pics of 2 bbs here soon..hahaha..so envy. We only have one each..

Aprilpinky, i'm very fickle-minded hor. Wanna to try natural yet very scare also. Yup, will tell him all my 'fears' before deciding wat to do.

Nik - understand...even for one baby, we all also have our 'fears'..let alone 2 babies! But I think very impt to have the professional blessings from your doc. So have to really discuss with him.

My gynae also gave me an admission letter without a word abt pain management or type of delivery. I thk it depends entirely on the situation that plays out during that time..

I am very curious abt something..not sure if any of u know. If and when an episiotomy is done..i.e. when the doc make the cut, do they administer any LA to numb the pain? Or is it really like what some people tell me - the labour pains are so immense that u can not even feel the cut?

Back from lunch..sleepy...I am such a piggy!

Chin,
Think they don't administer any LA when doing episiotomy. cos if u are on epidural, that already u can't feel anything... and if u are not on epidural, i heard u can't feel the pain cos the labout pain is more immense. However, if I am not wrong, they will numb the area when they sew up the epi, cos that's when the Epidural already wear off or not more anethestic already...

yah...I think the epidural will be able to help u tahan the episio pain. I'm not sure abt the numbing when they do the sewing part though..scary! That time bb already out..so maybe we will be too overwhelmed to feel the pain? hehe

Such a hot afternoon with a little "sun" in me. hehee..I love aircon!

haha... aprilpinky: i seriously think all of us should thank the technology of air con.. haha...
just came back from my mum's place. oo.. my maid finally knows how to do a lot of things le.. so proud of her!!! she is thrifty tries to save electricity and water for us as well.. mmm.. now just need to practice what she has learnt. really very happy tt she knows how to do housework le.. *phew*
i left her with my mum for one night.. and miraculously.. she learnt everything over there.. ahahhaha... and my mum's full of praises of her.

eloz everyone...

hwz everyone's? Manage to buy the pigeon disposable breast pad frm JL on fri, much cheaper den NTUC, only $8.90 per box.. hee.. den today bought other things whh we left out n manage to wash all of bb's clothing as well.. den realised we got so many 2nd hand bb clothings dat we got no place to hang liao.. hahaha..

Hello every1,

Cannot move now..v full after eating dinner..:p

Oh Celtricia, Fri got the JL $5 voucher also for $25 purchase right? Super worth it loh.

Naughty..your mum can run maid training centre already !! can we send our maids to your mum for training or not??? haha...just kidding hor..

chin: my mum is so scared tt i will scold my maid.. until very jialat.. so to prevent this.. she faster train the maid lor.. hehe..

i just came back from dinner as well.. had a long walk... oo.. so tired.. mm.. i came back and found that my room.. is spotlessly clean!!.. haha.. hubby commented tt its like walking into a hotel room like tt.. keke.. mmm.. so i guess the maid's not bad after all. did all the tasks i assigned w/o much problems. haha.. oo. time to watch apprentice lo.

Hubby fixing the bb cot now..not easy leh..also packed the hospital bag until 7788 already. I keep on telling him got ppl gave birth at 37th wk or earlier leh..which means 2 weeks more if it's me! He said what's to come will come.

Hoping for the best lah.

Wow..naughty, glad that u have found urself a good maid. Hehe

Aiyoh... naughty, you're a huge procrastinator! Set yourself a deadline to pack TMR!!! Today... just go thru the list and make sure you have everything, then tmr, it'll be just a matter of throwing everything into the bag lor!

Nik: What is pm? Sorry, me quite new here
Anyway, nice meeting you here. I still duno who i am talking to.. *blur* you know who i am? heehee
Congratulations to you, must be very excited to have a long2 feng4 tai

Aprilpinky: Aiyo, ask you gals hor...... do you often have nightmares? Me these days can't sleep well loh... 4am will wake up go pee... then try to sleep but ard 5plus will be awake again by my dear newspaper man throwing paper in front of door. *sigh* 6plus schoolbus man will park his bus near my unit ( me stay 2nd flr), keep hearing those aunties hurrying their kids. Like that how to sleep.......*whine* Imagine next month all of us will be nightowl....every 2hrs feeding our precious baby...

Procrastinator..yes...I AGREED! hahahahahahahhahahaha..pls lah. Pack tomorrow lah..ask ur maid to help u pack or wat lah.

PM=Private Msg.

Nightmares ya..Fri Nite I slept without aircon on then got nitemare then woke up feeling v hot! Quickly on it and have a good nite rest fr then on.:p

I think I'm not easily awaken type especially when hubby is at home. Try to close ur door to lower the noise disturbance or wat.

Have a good nite rest ladies!
323213.gif