(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Just wondering.. about weight gain in last trimester - do we gain the most or the least during that time? Some pple have told me that the most drastic gain is in the second trimester, and we tend to gain little in the last trimester. Others told me that we do not really gain much at the end, cos baby has less space to grow already... what do u all think? and what have u heard / experienced / seen?

correction to my earlier post: others have told me that we gain the most in the last trimester since that is when the baby grows the most...

weight gain: mmm... could be true.. my cousin's wife didn't gained much during the last tri.. i think at the most 2-3kg only.. coz she was at 12kg.. during last part of second tri.

Aprilpinky, ya lor.. he hor anything also ok one.. so everytime i wan to ask him something, i will always tink wat he would reply me b4 i asked.. kekeke.. coz his answer is always wat i expected.. kekeke.. oh! he says u gaining too much? hmmm.. will update u on wat he say during my checkup on monday.. but at his clinic can't measure bb's weight ah.. so sad.. i wan to noe my bb's weight leh.. but i dun wan to spend xtra money.. haiz..

naughty.. i tink best nt to haf ur baby to come out on ur hubby's bday, coz tis way, Brent's bday will b more special mah.. rather den its d same as daddy's bday.. dat kind of stuff u noe..

My mum said TBF babies don't need to drink water! My TBF friend also says so... cos BMilk has 80% water. According to mum, "not as heaty as formula milk".

Bras,
Unfortunately, I'm already a D now, can foresee an E when start BF... so un-wired bras are out of the question. Kelly, if you got good lobang for good bras, must let me know!

We have a very interesting list today!

<font color="0000ff">as @ 21-Jul-05</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender/Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>Morraine</TD><TD>18/10/05</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clee</TD><TD>01/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chin</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SusanY</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">GyAnn</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Naughty</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brent Chng</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veil</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>07/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emm</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>11/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Orlando Lee</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>HappyMum</TD><TD>12/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nmum</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluelips</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Woofy</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilpinky</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coral</TD><TD>15/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kaden Ngong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>FurryFurry</TD><TD>17/11/05</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ju</TD><TD>20/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Malcolm Wong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeddie</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTC2nd</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dili Mum</TD><TD>24/11/05</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie&amp;Jillie</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Fat</TD><TD>29/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hiroshi Yoon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nik</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meixue</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>04/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>(overseas)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sexxy</TD><TD>12/12/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JeslynLuvRenee</TD><TD>07/12/05</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris</TD><TD>10/12/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonbell</TD><TD>11/12/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>14/12/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>24/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>27/12/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

legend
<font color="0000ff">ESH - Eastshore Hospital, MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, RH - Raffles Hospital, SGH - Singapore General Hospital, TMC - Thomson Medical Centre</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect, not up-to-date or left you gals out!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

Hi Chin, my friend gained the most weight during the 2nd trimester and gained only about 1-2kg during the last trimester. Like you, I've also heard that last trimester will gain the most, so i now quite confused.

Actually I've not been eating much more than usual. I take the same portions of meals as my hubby, and just some snacks (cakes, bread, fries)more than him. Dunno why will gain 4.5kg at 21 weeks.

Aprilpinky, your Ah Boy must be very big in your tummy, mine was measured at 18.88cm (length).

Adel aka naughty, it hasn't been decided that u need to be induced, right .. having same birthday as the father .. quite cute also ler - same birthdate, same character, same zodiac .. but it wouldn't be so special for him when he has grown up, as very likely he'd spend his b/day with his frens rather than family, right ..

Dili_mummy, thanks for the updates .. u can put my Ah Girl's name as Chia GyAnn for next week updates.

aprilpinky..i think i gain the most weight cos at week 22,i gain 9Kg liao.. shocking rite?? my gynae didn't complain ..he just asked me wat good stuff u eat huh?? *hmm thinking is it the durian or milk??*

chin..my colleague also told me the same thing abt gaining the most in last trim..

Venus,

My gynae also said must weight gain in last Tri but many friends shared the contrary and said most in 2nd tri. *confused* We must cut down on our food intake already..especially durians..hehe.

Susan, my images is as big piece as urs but splitted into 2 parts, one showing his round head and the other the body only. Next time will ask him to take one full pic.

Hi Dili_Mummy,

I came across a shop selling bras and Novena Square thinkl second or third level. They have larger sizes that's wired. And price is quite reasonable. But I haven't bought anything from there yet because when I saw it a few months ago, I wanted to be sure I won't be growing any more!!! And that place is a little out of my activity area lah.... so going there to buy bras is a little far for me.

long time din come in, have been busy with work. wah the list seems almost complete!! n i must say there'r lots of boys!!

i did my detail scan n confirm that my gal will be having a little meimei
... now she keeps touching my tummy n call meimei, very nice feeling.

but the scan at TMC was disappting, i din get to see my little gal's features (eyes, nose, lips etc)... 2yrs ago, when i did detail scan for my elder gal, i cld see her face. n can sort of gather how she look like.

hi Adel,
i m sure your sis n her little gal will do well.

Oh and on the water part, yes I read from several sources that TBF babies do not need to drink any water. When I had my girl, the nurses in KKH also told me not necessary to feed baby water even though I was feeding her with the formula provided by KKH. Don't understand why though.....

Venus/Sexxy - I gained the most lah, I'm in the lead now, he he he 10kg so far!!

Aprilpinky - my latest pic can't see the leg, only can see the head, body &amp; her fists, he he he

TTC2nd - congratulations for getting another princess, your elder gal will have company to play with her in the future ..

If no need to feed newborn with water, then when can we start to provide water?

Aprilpinky..

Dr Yeo scanned ur boy and print out into 2 pieces ah.. hmmm.. i will c if i can haf it in 1 whole piece as well.. hopefully he won't find it to troublesome.. hee..

Celtricia, not really, it's only 1 piece i.e. the normal size ones we have but then with 2 positions on it so ended up each half cant take in the whole bb.

hihi, wah...so active today!! fun fun!!

Adel, so sorry to hear your sister's situation. Hope everything is ok.

Chin, yes, its the SILLY weather here la...plus nowadays I feel SO HOT internally, not sure if its just cos I'm sick and therefore heaty or its the preggie hormones doing their work. Yet I feel cold at times too. Hen ma fan. I actually wear shorts to bed whilst my poor DH shivers under the blankie at nite.

TTC2nd, I managed to see my cub's features too as my gynae in SG had a 3D scan. My DH says got hai lam tao...so bad hor! (Cos I'm hai lam also..but he's not!)

Talking about weight gain, my one month stint in SG saw me gain 3.2kg!! EEPS! So scary ok..I was whining away to my gynae and he agreed say 2kgs a month is the guideline. Hopefully next visit will be better, guess there wun be as much fun snacking in China. I hope.

I think different people gain at different stages la...I do have a gf who gained most in 1st and 2nd trim and 3rd trim was very little too, whilst some are the other way around. No matter what, weight gain is scary for someone like me who spent MOST of my life trying to lose weight! *eeeekkkks!!*

Going to a friend's child's 100 day celebration this evening. Wierd how they celebrate 100 days so big when we do 1 month

wow susany..pei fu ni man.. 10kg.. *shocked*

furry.. u too..3.2KG in a month.. must be the good food in S'pore lah..

as for 100 day celebration,think onli koreans do this cos my hubby's boss is a korean too..

Nik, my DH thinks hai lam tao is high forehead, like "kok tao"? he's just joking as usual

Venus, 3.2 is too much
hopefully no more such gains !

Furry,

I also feel very hot internally all the time, likewise, i feel really warm in the air con while hubby shivers away. I do not think you are sick - it is just the weather plus hormones.. sigh, just have to bear with it and drink lots of water. So depressing. Ok ok - I shall not complain so much, since I am heading back end of this month!

Staying here sures dampens the appetite, I have not gained any weight since I got back! No appetite to eat due to the heat..but I think the baby is a bit angry...kicks me so often and hard, esp when I am hungry.

I am in a spring cleaning mood today.. just cleared up all the cupboards etc.

TGIF. Have a good weekend, ladies.

Chin,

yah man...u heading home liao...SHIOK! I agree, everyday makan time dunno eat what. So tuna sandwiches (thanx to ur insipiration the other day), jam sandwiches, rice with pork chop and egg or campbell soup...

very anti-chinese food.
Must be your nesting instinct setting in ... dun overstrain though

Dili,

Shd we have another weight gain column in the table..hahhahahaa...just joking..depressing man. Dunno how much to gain would be ideal then cant let bb go hungry also. I have been feeling v hungry since morning. After lunch then felt full.:p

Ex-boss shared w me that she gained 15kg but lost 8kg immediately after delivery then 7kg completely after 6 mths' of breastfeeding. Her bb boy is abt 3.5 kg.

Actually, i think for weight gain - really depends on the individual and the food of the respective country.

Last week, I met a Jap girl who is also pregnant - she is due on Nov 8. She told me that in Japan, the normal weight gain is about 8kg for the entire pregnancy..so since she has gained 5kg now, she is in "trouble".

Then I also know some Indonesians, who told me that the norm for them is like 20kg. Some British lady told me that in UK, the weight gain is similar.

And we know in Singapore, the "permissible" weight gain is somewhere in between.

So I guess it is best not to stress too much over it. Just have to make sure we work hard to lose it after that..

Furry, jia liat liao. I, myself, abit 'kok tao' one. Now, u mentioned, i realised my hb also got very high forehead. Argh....

Chin, I worked in japan mah, i also talk to my japanese colleagues before about their pregnancy weight gain. Cos i always see the japanese mummy all so slim. It's true tat they cannot gain more than 10kg. Their gynae will scold. Epidual is also not common in japan. Only 3 hospitals in the whole japan has it. So, most of their preggie go on natural birth without pain-killer. I salute them...

I asked my gynae abt weight gain before also. He told me, single pregnancy should be ard 12-13kg. For me, twins should be ard 16kg. I already gain 7kg also. Still got 'allowance' for another 8kg. Hehehe.

Nik, so tonight u can go back and tell your husband abt the hai lam tao

Wah..jap women really wei da! Good for them!

Naughty, our thread v quiet on weekends one. hehe. I bought avent ISIS pump already. Heard that medela is good but v ex and I only plan to breastfeed for 3 mths so avent shd sufficient.

Joyful, I went for my first antenatal class in TMC today. It was v fun with lots of exercises, massages with the help of hubby and lots of useful info gained from Mrs Wong. She's v good but she said she's teaching on Sat, Wed &amp; Thur only. Luckily I signed up for her sat classes. There were 24 couples..v packed! They wld be renovating the classroom soon but guess wont get to enjoy it.

Oh John little at Specialist got v good sales. Bought some bb wear for $8 (3 pcs!).

Oh one more impt piece of info for all of u, dont sayang ur tummy in a circular motion. According to Mrs Wong that's what nurses do when doc ask them to induce contractions! Do it in a upward motion instead like doing facial. haha. Then u can also stimulate bb's movements by using a cupped hand to tap each side of the tummy lightly then top then bottom (like drumming). hehe. My boy really moved after that.

Oh, dont buy those gadgets that places the ear phones on the tummy for bb to listen to music, sometimes it may be too loud and affect bb's hearing after birth. No good. Just light classical music in the background will be good for the bb.

<font color="aa00aa">Aprilpinky,</font>
Thanks for sharing the info you got from the class! Very helpful indeed! Now I know I shouldn't sayang tummy in circular motion! Oops!

I was gonna suggest a weight gain column in our list... but then gave up the idea... cos I think that'll add too much pressure and unnecessary worries. Hiyah... most impt is that baby is well and we can all shed the weight after that!!

<font color="aa00aa">Naughty,</font>
I bought Pigeon battery operated breast pump... it's not the most popular pump to buy, but I bought it for a few reasons...
1) my best friend has been using it for a year and it still works well for her (pumps twice at workplace)
2) can use rechargable batteries
3) CHEAP! $43 after 20% from Kiddy Palace
4) small and compact, easy to bring around
5) I reckon I'm too lazy to use manual pump

If it doesn't work well for me... it's cheap enough for me to buy other pumps without feeling sim tia!

Naughty, update us on your sis and her baby, hope baby's doing better by the day.

<font color="aa00aa">Furry,</font>
I didn't think it was anything when you said your cubbie keeps you awake at night. I've been having terrible nights for the past week... surviving on 4 hours sleep each night! Hope that doesn't mean she'll be a night-active baby when she comes out!! arghhhh...

Good morning ladies,

Just woke up!

Dili, no problem. Will share more impt info to all of u subsequently. True, the weight gain column would add more stress hor. Ok lah, y'day mrs wong strongly stressed that breastfeeding is the only method that can help mothers shed the weight gain v quickly and permanently. hahaha. v assuring. She also said for ladies BMI 20-25, max weight gain is between 11-15 kg
I think I still have some buffer for the coming 3 mths..

Naughty, forgot to tell u that I saw the medela pump (shd be basic set) selling at causeway metro for $99. In case u are interested...

My Avent pump costs $59. Bought it during a sale. Bought 2 more bottles for storage purpose yesterday. hahah..as if I guaranteed have so much milk to store. They have storage bags to sell also but quite ex and not reusable.

oh man................ u mean u saw... the medela pump at 99 bucks ah...
sigh.. nvm... now thinking of what to buy to transport the milk to the hospital from home/work to hospital... for baby. headache... spent quite a lot le .. like giving birth twice like that... double spending..

my bmi is 17-18 if i can remember...(pre-pregancy) i suppose my weight gain should be lesser is it?

naughty,

according to mrs wong it's the contrary. U can gain more than me. haha. surprisingly...cuz u can afford to.

2day is the last day of GSS. I know OG still has 20% for most of the items. Bought my avent bottles from OG yesterday.

U mean u have to transport ur sister's milk to hospital for bb or what? Use bottles or milk bag will do. Must sterilise bottles..

<font color="aa00aa">Naughty,</font>
I intend to buy Coleman Cooler Bag to transport my EBM next time. Read that it's not too bulky and very popular among young mums. I think the Sports Section of any departmental store will have.

<font color="aa00aa">Braxton-Hicks...</font>
I don't know if what I'm experiencing is BH contractions. My tummy feels tight and crampy... and it comes and goes. I get it very bad especially when my bladder is full.

naughty,

Yes, for keeping in the fridge, bottles or bags will do. But to deep freeze for more than 24 hrs must use bags loh.

Dili, is the bag reusable?

aprilpinky: such bags usually can reuse not only for transporting breast milk... eg.. when ya play golf.. can put cold cold drinks also! haha..

just settled my sis home.. she got to breastfeed and send the milk to sgh everyday. sigh.. so tedious.. somemore husband not cooperative... refuses to send milk..such a small errand also cannot run!grgr... *#*#*#####*****???!!

the medela pump not so bad... she's using it le.. mm.. think its a good buy lo.. except the sound of the motor... wah.. actually very tiring for her.. so i assume it will also be very tiring for all of us real soon!!! enjoy your er ren shi jie first!

naughty, I see..maybe wil go take a look at the bag. envy ur sis loh. Got milk to pump... dunno I will have enuff for my boy or not..yah they said sometimes the pump will distract the bb say if u feed bb on one side and pump on the other side.

U take good care of urself too! Dont tire urself...

Hello! I'm in my 24/25 week of pregnancy and have rashes on the backs of my kneees, my thighs, and a bit on my inner arms. Just wondering if any one has this problem as well? And if there is a solution to the itching? Would appreciate any ideas, thanks!

?? mmm.. that will really depends le... is it sensitive skin? if so then switch to skin products meant for sensitive skin.. if not then it could be too dry!! apply one layer of moisturizer over it! hope that it helps!

aprilpinky, usually for the first few days.. will only drip a bit only... probably a few drops oni.. must be patient and... your pain threshold better be high man... my sis's like... in agony when she's expressing the milk!

Aprilpinky,
Thanks for updating us on your antenatal class. Makes me wanna look forward to my class starting in early Sep

When I register for the Sunday class I fogot to ask if it's taught by Mrs Wong. Anyway even if it's not, Sunday is the only day hubby &amp; me are free, so no choice lor.

Oh yes, you're right that we're not supposed to stroke tummy in a circular motion, eg when applying stretchmark cream.

Naughty, dun ur BIL wan to see his bb?? Hope ur sis is coping well.

Aprilpinky, thanks for ur info. I've been applying bb oil on my tummy in circular motion. I will stop doing it from now.

nik: i have no idea... dun know whats happening btw them.. dun wish to know anyway..

wat a monday...everything looks blue to me today...

how about everyone?

hi naughty
guess it's the monday blues for most and esp for us expectant mums prob due to the rampaging hormones.
Everyday counting down to the day I can see my girl and that thought perks me up a little. Or else will go out and get something decadent to cheer myself up... love ice-cream and once nearly sat through half a tub of chocolate chip ice-cream... hmmm yummy... but still must pract restraint... =)

Helo mummies, it's really a Monday Blue, so much of work to do ...

Aprilpinky, Thanks for sharing the info from Mrs Wong's class .. where can i get such storage bag for milk? Can a Ziplock bag act as one?

Thanks Aprilpinky for sharing tips from your class. I will be attending (alone!!) the class starting 20something Aug on Wednesday evening. I tried doing the cupping and drumming thingy on my tummy, and my baby really moved in response to the drumming! It is so cool. Thanks again.

I have also been massaging tummy in circular motion when applying the anti-stretch mark oil - will stop doing that immediately. :p