(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

mao mao
Hobbies ah?? Baking, watching animes, watching tv, day dreaming, sleeping (not napping though, I think napping is a waste of time), surfing net, etc.

I can't remember much on my kindergarten days, but I remember chasing and beating guys during my primary school days. Bwahahaha.... sometimes start chasing from the school gate to the carpark where we have to assemble for morning flag raising.

Ju..so if next time Malc kena chased by girls how? Hiak hiak...think nowadays boys more gentle than girls leh...or at least more gentlemanly....SNAG ma!

Napping waste time ah...I wish I can nap now...zzzzz..my colleague say I bitchy today...cos I don't want to talk to him...I say tired talk what la

momo
The buddhist school is Mee Toh Primary.

PCF is PAP Community Foundation. Our good old PAP kindergarten lah...

Maomao... Da mei is siang ah?? Oei! Da mei!! Lu ti toh loh??

LOL!! I also studied very hard but grades cannot make it type.

momoko.. PCF = PAP.. hee..

Ju.. i also will take PCF coz its near my mum's place.. but i will go c hwz the teaching environment there first..

furry, got different syllabus ah.. hmm.. like dat den haf to research n c whh syllabus i wan him to b in?

Becky so clever, knows how to sort colours. Malc still dun wan to put things back into the bucket leh. Teach until vomit blood.

If Malc kenna chased by girls? Good mah, meaning he is popular among girls and they want to play with him mah. But I must screen thru the girls lah. Not pretty, too fat ones, the mommy will chase them away with a fly swatter! Bwahahahaha!!

Cel, the article that day was saying that some PCF centers tried out a syllabus, there's a name for it but it slips my mind now, that originates from Italy where they found kids to be more creative and better readers. Some Reggio Emilio thing IRRC. Must check. The article went on to say that even though it was successful, they will not be replicating it too all PCF centers as its expensive to do so...cos the teacher-student ratio has to be higher or something like that.

Ju..we all so cham...study hard but no results hor

Ju..u very notti.....

Girl big 18 change leh...maybe today fat or not pretty ...next time after many changes come out shiok leh? Hiak hiak....

Better go buy fly swatter cos your Ah Mal very cute

momo
I always think befriending and playing with boys are less mind bogging. Dun need to worry might make them angry, or having them suddenly walk to me and say "dun wan to friend you!" LOL!!

Cel, Found it. Heng my job got access to such "useful" tools.

Italian revolution at three PCF kindergartens
Ho Ai Li
533 words
8 January 2007
Straits Times
English
(c) 2007 Singapore Press Holdings Limited

AT A kindergarten in a quiet corner of Bukit Panjang, an Italian revolution is picking up pace.
There are no worksheets or spelling tests, and certainly no exams.

The pupils at the PAP Community Foundation (PCF)-run kindergarten are asked what they want to study - sometimes even whether they want to study at all.

The pre-school at Block 254, Bangkit Road, is one of three PCF kindergartens tasked with trying out the Reggio Emilia approach. The others are at Block 309, Canberra Road, in Chong Pang, and Kebun Baru Community Club.

So far, 240 children have graduated from the programme since it began two years ago to deliver world-class pre-school education to the heartland at affordable prices.

Reggio Emilia is a northern Italian city which was hailed in 1991 by Newsweek magazine as having the best pre-schools in the world. It is also the informal name of an approach to early childhood education, which sees the child as capable, confident and creative.

Unlike the traditional approach where teachers plan lessons and cover a curriculum, those who follow the Reggio method focus on what children want to learn.

Instead of learning spelling and writing in workbooks, pupils are taken on excursions to places in the neighbourhood - such as the park or the market - and are encouraged to express themselves and ask questions.

Teachers document the outings and exchanges on video and review the learning process with the children and their parents later.

Each class of 24 has two teachers, compared to just one in other PCF kindergartens. The Italian experiment was initiated by Dr Lee Wei Ling, director of the National Neuroscience Institute, after she visited the Children At Street 11 childcare centre for students from poor families in Ang Mo Kio.

The centre used the Reggio approach and Dr Lee was impressed by the creativity of the children. The results of the two-year pilot programme are encouraging.Most parents said their children have grown more vocal, confident and inquisitive after the pilot programme.

At Bangkit, for instance, 95 per cent of the 82 parents of K2 pupils surveyed said their children have progressed in areas such as social and problem-solving skills.

Pupils at Chong Pang pay $120 a month, and those at Bangkit pay $78 - compared with an average of $82 in other PCF kindergartens. The fees at the Reggio schools are largely subsidised, with the real cost estimated at between $150 and $220 per month for each pupil.

'The benefits are quite confirmed, but the question is, how do we bring down the cost and make it affordable to parents?' said Dr Teo Ho Pin, MP for Bukit Panjang.

The PCF does not plan to extend the programme to all its kindergartens. Senior consultant Denise Chan said it requires twice as many teachers and 'manpower is the biggest cost in education'.

'We felt the methods we are following are not any more inferior. They subscribe to the same principles,' she said.

Currently, there are 266 PCF kindergartens catering to about 58,000 children, or two-thirds of the kindergarten-going cohort here as of last year.

Dun talk about curry and durians leh...I miss my lao gong's curry and hmmm durians...but skirt very tight...HIAK HIAK

Where do you normally go for durians?

i go to the stall set up outside the heartland mall in kovan. else if got money, go to the more expensive ones at Hougang. Forgot the name liao.. something 7XX... Shiok ah! I love bitter ones!! Yumm!

momoko,weekday oso can but then hor must be after working hour lor.So which part of jurong u staying?
Wow so many mommies already planing which school to enrol for ur babies liao ah?Me intent to let my son go into church school,cos they speak English more than chinese.

wah - very active thread today hor...talk of childcare and food!!

going to go to the gym for a quick one - getting fat lor..

Durians - I have a contact for a stall at Serangoon....really really good bitter durians. They deliver as well - I have not tried delivery but I have tried the durians at my friend's house.

Furry - hobbies.....hmm...what hobbies? I read, too. But not much time for anything else.

Ju, I don't know abt PCF, maybe you can call up and ask. My son's go to childcare so got place immediately can go in liao. I'm not very pro-PCF and I don't know how the syllabus cos' nvr attend b4.

Momo, think P1 registration will start in Jul. I very stress cos' the school near my mum's place very diff to go in one.

Hobby:
furry, i like to read too but i only pick up reading habit after i left school. i usually buy my books cos' I take my own sweet time to read hee... genre: don't laugh at me, actually I prefer kids fantasy like Harry Potter, Narnia & the books by Anthony Piers (can't remember the name liao, think is something like Xanth series), I find these books very interesting
. I also read book of other genre like: Parenting, literature (like Les Miserables), well basically anything the interest me. Sigh... but now hardly hv time to read cos' when i pickup a book, the kids will come and disturb.

I also like cooking, baking but not expert hee..... I also like to watch movie but as usual, now no time for movie except cartoon/animation.

Chin: can give me the durian delivery number.... i crave for durian till.... SIGH... and hubby refused to buy for me!! He say too much sugar in durian!! Now got home delivery option.... SHIOK arr!!

Durian delivery: Ming Hong - 91007717

I did not actually go to the stall (so no idea of the name) - I ate at my friend's house - very good - and after that, I asked my friend for the contact...cos my hubby wanted to eat!!! But we never got around to calling again before he left for Shanghai. Anyway, I tried to give Darion some durian - he hated it - and threw up his food. His expression was priceless.

so our topic goes from childcare, to hobbies to durians now!!! hahaha very active hor!

toking abt durians, i think one of the factor contributing to josh's big size (3,.74kg at birth, rem?) is bcos of so much durians i ate during pregnancy!

hmm, got home delivery somemore? wow, must record the number down!

oh PCF is PAP huh, sounds so different liao haha

wah, baby2005, thats fast, got to register in july07 or 08 P1 intake! half year in advance huh... stressed hor!!!!

ju/furryfurry yah lah "SHIOK" sounds abit ....shld say "CHIO" hahahaha

wow, today thread so active.

Momo - I also crazy over historical romance book. Judith Mcnaught is my favourite. Now children story book become my 'in' thing since I will be buying for jav's to read. However, this boi prefer to use his tongue to taste those texture book instead of using his hand to touch those furry part pengz.

Ju/Chin

Is it 777 durian at opposite Upper Serangoon Shopping Centre. There durian there nice and famous.

For Pre-school, I will put jav's to those PCF kindergarten near my house. As for Primary School, haiz there only one 'Xinghua' here so choice very limited and I dun like tat school. So maybe worst come to come, I will move house hiak hiak hiak. An excuse for me to move house too.

Chin

Javier enjoyed his durian puree from the cafe at merchant court hehehe.

Ya I also heard eating durian during preggie time will make the baby bigger however my gynae dun advise me to eat too much cos high in sugar bah bah bah

Good afternoon! The thread is v active, a lot to read!

Furryfurry, I love books too, just not much time to read nowadays.
Favourites include Paulo Coelho, Stephen King (not the horror ones), Neil Gaiman, JD Salinger, etc etc etc...

Momoko, I have also read some of those romance novels - v easy to go through and great for passing time while waiting!

Preschool etc: anyone thinking of Pats Schoolhouse? I would want one that let kids play on both English and Mandarin, and this is one school that does.

Durians: I am not a good singaporean, I can't stand durians!

OKay, baby up from nap, got to go!

Funny thing was I was turned off durians during cubbie's time...so hopefully that doesn't indicate that she doens't like durian!

baby2005

So qiao, u study there before? Then I'm sure you heard of Parry? I study there hehehe. Am thinking to let jav's study my primary school but a bit distance to travel.

Elaine, ya so qiao hor, look like we grow up in the same kampong haha.... But last time Xinghua is not at the current location, it was at the current Serangoon Stadium. Ya, I heard of Parry. Is Parry still at Parry Ave? Shd be quite near right?

baby2005

I dun noe Xinghua used to be at serangoon staduim there cos when I take my school bus it will always passby hougang ave 1 where the school is now. You are rite, Parry is at Parry Ave and it still there. I can't remember d street name keke u remember better than me.

Elaine, hee... actually hor we always cut thru Flower Rd to go to Serangoon Nth where my mum stay so definitely will passby Parry Ave.

wa elaine..

my husb used to be from parry.. n me from ur parry neighbour school.. rosyth!!! heez =)

but elaine, xinhua not bad lehz e school... so i heard my friends who came from there lar... xinhua also very near for me.. kekeke

Wow, Parry has been arnd for so long liao!!! Hmm... infact Xinghua also arnd for very long liao. When I was in lower Pri, the school alrdy celebrating 50th anniversary.

Sarah

So ur hb is my senior schoolmate keke and so qiao u are my neighbour schoolmate. Dun noe leh, my impression of xinghua so so only maybe becos from young I know tat school. Who know maybe next time, byran and javier can become classmate too. hehehe.