(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

hi sweetie, thanks for that! i guess when sabie recovers we can see if she can attend the classes in GUG first.. not that i expect her to learn, more impt for me is the social part!

patsy

Actually not much of social to do leh.. every parent is with their kid on their lap, so main thing is for the kid to focus in wat the teacher is teaching.. ($42 per lesson not cheap lor) haha... onli when break time den abit of mixxing ard la.. keke.. to my knowledge, kids at this stage dun realli play with others.. they will play alone more.. kekee

Fun, must sign up for bb class then can go toddler one?
but i think my fren registered for the trial class for 18month old.

sweetie, me also signed up for JG. but go see what they do at GUG 1st

patsy, since on waiting list for JG, might as well do something else first if got slot...kekeke...

sweetie

The Progress of Alden is tat the first 3 times was like exploring the whole class room.. not wanting to take part in the group. he is now very attentive on zoophonics this two weeks.. very much better than the first 3 lessons.. i believe is he picking up the interest slowly

Flo
18mths trial? Alden's class got a 19mths old boi which has to attend bb class even tho he is 19mths.. he refusing to attend the class since day 1.. after 3 tries.. he nv came for class liao..

sweetie

Brennan also dont like to sit still when I read to him or read from a book. He will either throw the book away or play other toys. I was lucky cos one of the bbs cant attend that 2pm slot thats why the teacher called to ask if me keen. so only got 1 slot available lor

Hope Grace and Brennan enjoy their trial sessions this sat
Brennan seldom sleep in the afternoon now. he rather play. but must let him sleep in the morning after his milk otherwise he will be super grouchy lor.

patsy: will keep little sabie in my prayers

sneaky: oh i see
i was just wondering cos i have a BN playpen but never used it for zoe and wondering if it's needed for a new baby or if i can just use the existing playyard i have..
by the way, what's your sleeping arrangement gonna be like for isaac and samuel? zoe now sleeps with me.. and baby and toddler can't sleep together..

about classes..
anyone tried lorna whiston classes? my friend's child has tried gug, jg and lorna whiston and she says that the lorna whiston ones are the best!

zoe's attending GUG now and going for the JG holiday class in june.. i thought i'd decide after she's gone for the holiday class which one i think is better to send.. but after my friend's input, wondering if i should try lorna whiston..

anyone has any input?

Flo and Fun: i also heard must join baby class first.. my friend signed up and got a place in the toddler class for her 2yo child but they still made her child go for half a term at the baby class before being able to attend the toddler class.. and she was only told this after she got a place in the toddler class..i guess it makes sense cos they don't really teach alphabets in the toddler class but teach words and if haven't learnt the zoophonics alphabets child may be a bit lost in the toddler class..

fushiastar, sam just developed a habit of slpg in between hubby & me lately. so now, after i've converted the cot into a toddler bed, i hv been training him to slp on his own. it's been 2 weeks now and he woke up 3 times asking to slp with us. hopefully by the time isaac is born, sam will be able to slp on independently. isaac will slp in his own playpen...will only bring him to us when i breastfeed him in the wee hrs. if possible, i'll lay him back on his playpen after feeding...

patsy, don't pressurise yourself too much, k? sabie will be alright. first of all, you must stay strong for her...

just wondering if your toddlers are falling asleep on their own or do you have to rock them to bed? on an average how long does it take? it's been difficult lately (for many mths now) tammi wont fall asleep on her own, i need to be in her room, sing to her, carry her and rock until she's zonked out.. it can drag for 1-2hrs.. v tiring.. anyone with a magic formula?

sneaky: good that samuel can sleep on his own..
so he is in his own bed in the same room with you and isaac will be in another room in the playpen? i have a cot that can be converted to a toddler bed too. zoe slept in her cot til she was 3m and has been sleeping with us ever since.. some ppl say it's better for the mother to be with the older child cos if not the older child may tend to wake up at night with the arrival of the new baby.. but others say for the ease of breastfeeding better for mother to room with the baby.. what do you think?

Hi morraine,
I think I will put Ying En on 2 weeks trials and see how.

If it is really tat bad, then I will transfer to Colombia as I quite like the programme there compare to Kinderland. But Coloumbia will only take in children after 2 years old. Still got time to let her try out at MMI.

I find the craftwork done @ Kinderland a bit too good which I can't believe it's done by childrem. And moreover, the fee are higher too.

Fun,
it's true that they are like sponge. Everything also can absord. My main purpose is to let Ying En have a better foundation at young so that it will be easier.

Pammi,
Normally before Bedtime, I will let Ying En watch her favourite TV Programme or read her a book. I will said : "Ying En, It's will be bedtime time soon. After reading the book, we got to sleep okie." Normally, she will nob her head.

After finished reading, I will off the lights, TV and anything that is distracting. I will lie beside her and tell her "It's Bedtime & close your eyes. Pa Pa, Ma Ma, Baby [her baby doll] and Ying En got to sleep now."

Then she will close her eyes and pretend to sleep. I will close mine too and pretend to sleep too. Once a while, I will took a peep to check on her. If she open her eyes again, tell her to close again and agin till she fall asleep. Normally half hour, she will Knock off liao.

I used this method on her nap time too.

Hope it help.

pammie

brennan nowmally goes into the bedroom with his daddy after his last milk feed (around 8+). They will lie down together on our master bed. brennan will roll around, play (disturb) with his daddy before he too tired and knocked out. After he kunz for about 10mins, we will shift him to his playpen.Whole process can take about 1/2 to 1hr.

Nuts/SSL - thanks.. Nuts, so from the time u switch off lights until Ying En sleeps, usually how long? I've always been impressed by her..I feel she's advanced beyond her age..

U see, usually after dinner and shower, I will take Tammi to her room around 730pm for a time of bonding and reading... Sometimes we just have soothing music playing in the playground.. but there's no high activity going on from 730pm onwards. Then at about 8-815pm, I will turn the lights out.. sometimes i hold Tammi in my arms while she rests her head on my shoulders... but i can't last in this position for too long.. I can't put her down otherwise if she's not asleep it will take even longer for her as she'd be crying.. sometimes i put a mattress down on the floor and just lie next to her.. it can still take up to 45min before she finally knocks off.. with or without milk..

nuttnuts

i understand abt yr aim for yr gal, but dun be too stress up over which school is the best.. as long as its a MOE registered or recongnised school i dun think theres a difference and moreover u have already shortlisted those u think its better for her.. Just let her try the one u prefer lor.. they will learn in any enviroment.
If they dun learn, sometimes it may not be the school or teachers prob too.. yr gal also play a part
Dun worry too much.. just do the thing u think its right for her.

pammie

Our magic formula would be his nursery songs cd.. have to play it during his sleeping time.. and usually we will tickle him until very jialat so tat he can somehow waste some energy keke.. on top of that, routine is also very important.. must do the same steps every night like finish milk, change pampers, wear long trousers, give pacifier and den look for his soft toy buddy to hug.

fushiastar, no all 4 of us will bunk in the same room cos there're no spare rooms in this house. i insist on letting sam slp on his own cos sooner or later, he will have to do so. why not start early? however, with the elder one slpg with mummy, it's difficult to breastfeed the younger one at night...cos from past experience, i breastfed sam till we both fell aslp.

pammie, i'll have to sit by sam's beside and play him lullabies (music box) from my mobile phone while drinks his milk and stones away. sometimes after milk, he's still wanna stand up and play. it has been a habit for him to ask where's who and who. i'll have to answer him at least 30 times...haha...then after a while of ding dong here and there, he'll start to KO. this takes around 30 - 45mins; starting from 9.30pm cos we only get back into our room at close to 9pm.

nuttnuts, maybe you're right. just hope this goes on...Ying Eng is such a darling...so easy to hoax one...sometimes, i wished sam's like that too...but at least, he's not too bad...

may sabie recover soon and join GUG and JG!

Grace enjoyed her lesson this morning at GUG, no cries, can see her smile so much... considering enrolling her for class for the new term.

Is brennan enjoying his class too?

Pammie,
I think the fastest is 15 min and the longest is 45 min. Normally, I will not let her sleep after 4pm in the afternoon. For wkend, after Dinner, normailly I will bring her for a slow walk so that this will make her tired and she will doze off faster.

Sneaky,
She is easily to hoax sometimes only but then she is also active too. Sometimes, I really think that I am lucky to have her earlier. If not, I dun think I would have the energy to play / take care of her if I am older. U really got to run after if u bring her out for shopping. She is so sociable till she went ard tagging ppl and smile at them which made me malu sometimes.

So end up, I rather bring her to the park or playground as there is more room for her to play and run ard.

Fun,
It's true too that my gal also play a part in learning. But overall, I sill believe it's the teacher who also needs to play the most important part.

The reason I am still with BJG is because she has a great teacher. Teacher April believes that every child has their own potential. My gal belong to the active type and also easily being influence by other children. So when the teacher is flashing card, she will tend to roam around. But the teacher will make her stay back after class and redo the set with her again. The most impressed incident is tat for the last few lessons, the teacher manage to convince her to sit in front of her and concentrate while she is flashing the card.

I believed that not all the teachers are of that kind.

sweetie

brennan was abit grouchy at the last 10mins (heng man) cos its his sleeping time. Other than that, i'm quite surprised when the teacher was reading story book, he actually sit quietly and listen to the teacher reading the story
and oh, he love the water game that the teacher played.

I dont think i will sign up for any lessons cos brennan is in transition between infant and childcare and I believe they will have similar activities too. And its not cheap too lor.

sneaky: oh i see
i agree with you.. i also remember breastfeeding zoe til we both fell asleep.. by the way i like the name isaac
by the way are you stopping work soon? i remember you saying you'd consider stopping work if you have more kids..

fushiastar, both hubby & me agreed on this name the moment we came across it. the rest of the names were not interesting after that...haha...at the same time, it is a biblical name...i like it...both my sons have biblical names...i don't intend to stop work now cos of the heavy financial burden. i will only consider if hubby tells me one day that he will support me and that i need not work anymore...

GUG classes:

GUG opened a bilingual class on Sunday 2pm slot for toddlers! So i signed Alden up for it instead of the normal english class luckily i doubled chk with the counter lady abt the bilingual class available slots.. phew..Anyone wana join me?? ;D

haiz.. got a call from the doctors, maybe we have to postpone sabie's surgery coz the anesthisist got sick!!! and the one on standby is already in emergency surgery now!! i hate this waiting!! but unforseen event no one can do anything about it... would rather all the docs were healthy i guess!

fun,

i registered grace for sunday, 9.30 parent & tot class. Dun think can take 2p.m. class cos that is grace nap time. she slept from 2 to 5 on sat afternoon, guess too tired after the class...

how much is your billingual class?

sweetie

wah so early ah.. 930am we just finish his bath niah haha.. the price is the same leh.. $320 for 8 weeks. 2pm is just nice for Alden.. after his nap and lunch
he KO again at abt 4pm..

carole, i hope that day come soon though...but when that happens, i hope to have my own home...cannot imagine living with in-laws and being a SAHM....faint

Carole

Kaiser also has a motor bike like this. But we nv charge the battery for him to step on auto (we will push him). He likes it very much & keeps putting things into the compartment behind. Does Clarisse ride auto, it goes fast or not?

Clarisse looks dainty on her bike

sneaky: yah man.. i can't imagine facing in laws 24-7! faint!!! facing them once a week is more than enough for me..

carole: clarise looks so sweet on that bike!!! i've been thinking about whether to get zoe one of those tricycles but still can't decide...

fushiastar, it's not only the folks i'm gonna to face (which i don't really mind), it's the other kids and their mother. cannot imagine having to hlp out with the 2 other children as well. i can't possibly ignore them if they come to me, right? i will end up having to look after 4 children in their mother's absence...faint

i gotren clarisse the tricycle too.. she loves it.
she likes to venture out for the pedals, but her legs just too short.

sneaky: i hgelp u to double faint..

everytie at my in laws plc, i got no problem with my IN LAWS. Just i hated the way the stupid nephew behaves and the way his mother super bo chap and never care to teach her son. sick

carole, same problem lah...recently, samuel is at risk of being knocked down by 2 bicycles. his cousins have been riding on their bicycles in the house. many a times, he was hit on the face by the handle...i couldn't complain much cos the mother just wouldn't stop them from riding in the house! last night, their father said "daddy said no bicycle in the house". guess what the mother said? "aiyah, you put outside, they will also bring in one lah". so irresponsible of her! they're not the only ones staying in the house. can't she just be more considerate? the night before, her stupid son's bike nearly ran over sam's leg. fortunately he managed to stop in time. he rides so fast! all these, i cannot complain...this morning, i instigated hubby to voice out if he happens to spot danger the next time. also to mention that it would be too late if an accident has happened...

fushiastar, i'm glad you see my point..haha

same lor.. tt oti idiot brought his tricycle into the house, and i scolded him and he cries. i dun give a damn.

he pushed clarisse the other day, yk saw it and carried him up and scolded him real loud, then he cried for 30mins.

this boy scare both of us, so not that bad, he tried to be funny infront of his mum, thinking his mum will side him.. i told him off straight infront of his mum, "Even your mum is here also fake one, if you need to be scolded and punished, no one will help u"

his mum shut up. whahahahah..