(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

ssl: no lah.. not the durian..it's a flu thingy.. magmag i used to put in steriliser.. abt iliadin,usu have to work v fast.. just aim into nostril and squrt once, whatever goes in goes in lor..i also do it carrying zoe so one arm cradle her, the other just aim and squrt.. she of course hates it but no choice..

yipee ya ya: zoe goes to half day ifc.. sigh.. maybe caught fr there or possibly fr my hubby..

sneaky.. sounds good..

morraine, but last time he was also taking semi solids mah...he will finish 150ml EBM but ever since he's on 100% FM and he fell sick, he's intake reduced to 120ml or less. is there a cause for concern? is it because of FM?

SSL, yes, Kindermusik main studio is full. my friend and i were the last 2 to join in the class. we even missed lesson 1. maybe when the next class starts, i jio you all ok?

MagMag
as for the magmag, i sterilised everyday until the cup went out of shape. i have stopped using it already. now i'm using another colourful Pigeon straw cup with versatile handles. Samuel drinks water too quickly; sometimes cannot breathe and has to spit out some to clear his passage...

Sneaky: Thanks! will consider after 1st bday then! Also, reduced milk could be because FM a bit more filling than BM

Fushiastar: hope Zoe is feeling better. And Zoe is like Xaby, loves durian

Yippee: have you tried those air purifiers with Eucalyptus oils? Seems to have solved Xaby's sensitive nose issues, used to be I had to pump out mucous from her nose every morning but since I started using the air purifiers, she's been mucous free!

kris: do you use saline solution to clean baby's nose? I'm scared dry cotton buds may be too rough for their nostrils.

Trying to get used to corporate life again... keep wantiing to go home and cuddle Xaby

fushiastar,

i try to follow the one drop (looking at the measurement on the dropper) so probably take longer time lor.

Sneaky

I guess when BB fall ill, they dont have appetite. When brennan's blocked nose and cough started last week, he refuse to take any porridge, milk. Only want to drink water. so no choice lor. but luckily managed to feed some porridge and milk nearing to last weekend. He likes the pigeon spinach biscuit i bought for him. Its like those "xiao man tou". i dare not put the ball into his mouth cos scared he swallow it so squash it before putting the bits into his mouth. MIL puts the whole thing into his mouth!! wonder if its safe. so scary.

Hubby and i want to see how brennan reacts to the trial class lor. then decide if were to sign up. actually there's one at north oaks which is very near my place but the instructor is pregnant so i scared the classes will be disrupted and location changed once she delivers lor. so the next place would be Babies N Cream. Was puzzled cos the North Oaks one wanted me to pay registration if i sign up but the Babies N Cream one say no need. ???

i plan to stop the sterilisation process after brennan turns one year old. anyway now, sometimes MIL already not using the spoons and bottles i sterilised.

SSL: ok, i'll go and look for them. Thing is, my mum sent over a whole lot of cotton buds from the US (fillers for the boxes of stuff she sent for Xaby, we even had American toilet paper for a while ;)) so what i do now is i trim the buds and drop saline solution on it so it's not too rough.

Re: Trial classes, do you have to pay for these at Kindermusik? Where is Babies N Cream?

patsy & morraine, maybe FM is more filling or maybe he doesn't like the Enfapro i'm giving him. anyway, i have a sample tin of Promil Gold, maybe i'll let him try to see if he likes it and if it's suitable.

SSL, i think the spinach biscuit will dissolve easily in baby's mouth. do not worry, k? actually, Carole advised me to start teaching Samuel how to pick up things using his fingers. now, he picks his Gerber stars very well and put it in his mouth. he can even feed daddy, mummy & nai nai when we ask him to...

i guess different schools have different policies. some of them buy the syllabus from Kindermusik to teach. i need not pay registration at Kindermusik main studio cos i signed up for the trial (last min). if i don't, i'll have to.

Sneaky: this mum at the clinic last month said Friso tasted better (Xaby is taking Friso soy) and her children prefers it to the other milks... maybe you can try?

San:is Babies N Cream good?

patsy, i heard that Friso is the sweetest among all FM wor...i don't want Samuel to take sweet stuffs cos got family background of diabetes...

Patsy:
not sure leh.. cos never been there.. that time I went trial at this place called WinChester Preschool..

Sneaky: hmmm... must ask her cardio bout it then. he was the one who recommended it.

San: ok, will go and check also. For now Xaby can only take kindermusik classes because Gymboree too strenous for her

ssl: Illiadin is for nose. I was talking abt Karvol when I mentioned the hankies.

sneaky: Once bb goes onto full fm chances of falling ill increases. This is cos there is no more protection from bm. Bm, no matter how little, still provides protection for bb. My older girl was like that. The moment she went on full fm, she fell horribly ill. In fact I think that time she actually kena the rotavirus. Vomitted several times per day for 7 days, high fever, lethagic as a rag doll..

And yes, Friso is the sweetest. I've tasted. Heh.. similac is still ok and Enfalac has a metalic taste (to me at least).

patsy: I always use a dry cotton bud.. heh.. I'm v bad one, I'll get hb to hold Ember down and I clean her nose. She will struggle v v hard and scream lah, but I dun care. Heh.
Only if I clean her ears I put some bb oil onto the cotton bud. But she loves having her ears cleaned.

Kris: same here, HB hold down Xaby's face, I try to clean the nose as quickly as possible! Once she cried and screamed so much she turned blue and started gasping for breath... both of us were soooooooo scared! Now I think she's learned here lesson and doesn't cry so much anymore, just have to make sure there is something to occupy her and she will let me clean her nose.

Carole: Heh.. I bought it liow! But hor, the ideas in there are for older kids leh.. Our 1 yr olds can't do wat they suggest! Unless of cos you have a party full of 3-4 yr olds!

kris

brennan also like it when i clean his ears. he will smile when i do that. heehee.

as for nose, maybe brennan is boy so has more strength, really very hard to hold him nowadays.

patsy, that was what i heard ah...may not be true...but it's good to ask...

kris, har? does that mean my boy will be more proned to falling sick? aiyoyo...he's already fallen sick so many times even though he was on BM. all thanks to the cousins ah!

if i remember correctly, friso and the wyeth series contain vanilla flavouring so taste better..

Ear cleaning: zoe also keeps v still when i clean her ears and has this perculiar expression when i do.. v funny.. :p

Formula milk: i think i'll end up using the enfa series.. but enfapro is til 18m and enfa grow is fr 1year onwards.. so what would be more suitable for 1-1.5years??

patsy: yah.. zoe's eyes grow v wide and she will open her mouth really huge and stare at the durian! but i limit to only one seed at at time..

sneaky: i tried giving zoe rasins to pick up and train her w fingers but she still uses whole hand..

fushiastar, wyeth contains vanilla flavouring ah? aiyo...maybe i try to see if Samuel likes it or not. i'm also quite puzzled about the enfapro & enfagrow. when to start with enfagrow since enfapro can be fed till 18m. the price difference quite great leh...

keep training zoe. she will pick small things up from her fingers real soon. my mum told me Samuel gave her a silly smile when he managed to pick up a tiny piece of biscuit bit that dropped on the floor to put into his mouth...so funny..

i'll be working on all these infant/follow on formula in my new job and i'll give you guys a run down as soon as I have the info!!

fushiastar: do you let Zoe eat the raisins? i'm afraid to give Xaby coz she might choke on it??

Sneaky, my gal she's taking Friso Gold, So far so good liao.

1st year celebration for Sabrina's
Date : 17 sep

I went there 1 year ago, thinks that is a nice place to celebrate there! they will be doing the decon, invitation card for guest , will ask HB friend to do MC and games organization ,they are fully book for sep !
any comment?

magmag cup
Aiya i also have to Pigeon magmag cup but
Sabrina's also still don know how to drink from
straw and cup, now leave it there collect dust

Hi I'm need an advice from all
Sabrina nowaday has wakeup for night feed don know why? izzit mean that i can feed more solid food ?
very funny is when she wake up @3am she drink 120ml then refuse to drink again anyd then 4am wakeup again for another 120ml . haiz don know how to solve this problem, any one?

Playground
anyone bring their BB go playground? because i had bring sabrina go there, to pratice walking , climbing,now she can climb very up there..haha,

sneaky: Of cos it doesn't mean that lah!
It'll take some time for his immunity to build up! And u nvr know, he may just end up as the strongest kid in school in future!

patsy.. will wait 4 ur info.. i soak the raisin first, then cut 1 raisin into quarters then mash, so don't think will choke..

sharon.. i bring zoe to playgrpund but only sit on the rocking horse, swing and see saw..

fushiastar/sharon: where can I find a public playground here in Singapore? We don't live in a condo so don't know where to find a playground.

fushiastar: will try, i've been teaching her to feed herself and she's doing quite well with a spoon. But still won't crawl or walk :-( am started to get worried!

patsy..eh.. i live in hdb so playground just downstairs..fast xaby, already self feeding
zoe only sometimes.. don't worry, all babies develop at different rates, as a baby, i never crawled.. went from sitting to walking.. maybe xaby will too!

fushiastar: no playground around our HDB

last night the aircon in our bedroom died so we went camping and slept on the floor in the study... she was so amazed at the air mattress and kept trying different spots to see if it was as soft everywhere. slept at 1 am and i had to get up at 5 am to express milk!!!

Patsy
Wow u already teach Xaby to feed herself! Must be pretty messy in the beginning. Can imagine the spoon will go here & there except into the mouth

Kaiser wont even want to hold his bottle, but maybe he may like the idea of spoon but will be messy & end up not eating anything.... Maybe you can share with us how you train Xaby on this?

fushiastar
Guess I a bit too protective over Kaiser, I never let him touch/sit on the things at the playgrd cos think they could be dirty
guess I shd let go a bit huh?

patsy.. oh,, hmm.. check street directory? it shows playgrounds..
xaby is so funny!
guess air mattress is a new experience for her..
you must b tired only 4 hours of sleep..

yipee ya ya..i bring wet wipes and tissue and wipe everything before zoe touches it..then will wipe her hands after she has played at the playground and wipe her down and change her clothes when she is home.. me v fussy abt stuff like that.. hubby always shakes his head`when i do that..but i think it may be dirty too :p

Yippee: she doesn't feed herself all the time yet, sometimes she gets lazy and doesn't want to even hold the spoon. But most meals she will eat at least half of her food by herself. I started giving her a spoon of her own while having fruit so it's not so difficult to clean up if we make a mess... i just started giving her a spoon and guided it right side up to her mouth, and she took up from there. She's still not an expert with picking up food from her bowl so i will still help her do it. Try to help them when it's early in the meal and they're hungry so more receptive to any new things as long as they get to eat! And yes, there is food in the nose, ears, hair, neck, floor, on me - EVERYWHERE!!! Just put a plastic sheet (i use an old vinyl table cloth) on the floor for easy cleaning.

I shall go and find a playground, but our estate is very small so i may have to drive around to find a playground!

fushiastar: will do! and i'm the same with Xaby. My HB says i'm the single biggest customer of Pigeon baby wipes because I wipe everything that Xaby could touch when we're outside - even the door of the taxi! Specially the high chair in a restaurant if we're eating out. Am thinking of bringing her to the east cost for bike ride this saturday, hoping for good weather!

sharon, my friend's baby also taking Friso. it seems like my boy is okay now with Enfa again. yesterday, he finished all his milk...Samuel has been going to the playground every wednesday at my mum's place. there's one just downstairs and is visible from her house. whenever we ask Samuel where is the playground, he will crawl towards the full glass panel and point at it. he loves to play there especially at the slide.

kris, maybe hor...since he's already been exposed to so many kinds of viruses, he could have been immunised...so in school, he will not fall sick...

patsy: Hmmm.. can, but then again how long can an opened bottle keep in the fridge? It would be a good idea to use for when we go out shopping etc cos no need to bring hot and cooled water and powder etc, but how to warm it then? Warming a bottle should take abt 5min in an avent warmer... but u know how some ppl feed at v late cues when the bb is screaming his head off rite? Hmmm... how? I'm just helping u throw out idea k? Not picking bones.

Hi Kris, that's exactly what i need before i start proposing that we work on this product, someone to have discourse with. If re-sealed properly (this will be part of the package design) then it should be ok in the fridge for 24 hours. What about if it is warmed before going out then put in a bottle warmer? At home... what if we make the container microwave safe and suggest a recommended microwave time/temp combination to prevent heat pockets? at most it will be 30 secs heating time?

patsy: That sounds ok!
But I still feel insecure abt feeding the ready-to-drink milk on a 100% basis. I will definitely consider it for going out though. Also, say I warm a bottle and keep it in the warmer and bring out. But it's kept closed and bb doesn't drink it. Can I cool it again and rewarm another time? How many times can I warm a bottle (unopened one of cos)? And of cos by affordable price wat does that mean?

mummies:
does your baby start to reject food or eat v little? what should we do about it?i try using different food in cereal or porrige...it does not help.

i also realise she starts to wake up in the middle of the nite...is it coz she ate very little in the day, causing hungryness at night?

how do u clean the ears of your baby? I dont mean the hole area but the surrounding area. There will be peeled-off-skin to be removed as time goes by but its very hard to remove it unless i use my nails to remove from her ear....how do u normally clean?

jkids: If bb is 9 mths or so u can try giving bb different textured food to experiment with. Sometimes they are just bored with the usual fare or with blended food. You could try adding a wee bit light soya sauce to tempt bb as well. As they grow they start to wan more tastes in their foods.

As for the ear area, the best time to clean is during AND after bath. Use a wet hanky to clean bb's ears during bath and after dat when drying bb and changing clothes use a cotton bud to circle around the outer ear. This, if done daily, should get rid of any dirt/ skin flakes.

hey everybody, i'm new to this thread. my boy was born on oct 15 2005. am cracking my head how to celebrate this 1st b'day. any suggestions?

Hi Eileen,

Welcome to the thread. For my Xaby's birthday, i have planned the following:

Venue: NUSS function room in Suntec
Invites: home made
cake: no 1 in pink from room for dessert
ballons: going to order from twinkle balloons,
decor: asking mum to buy from the US. (some very nice ones in Centerpoint 5th floor)

some mums on here have posted their plans so maybe you may want to check through the archive.

WOW!! Sabrina gng to have her bday at Hard Rock Cafe!!! ekekkeek

my girl knows how to drink from straw from magmag. but at times she will do silly things like spit the water out.

1st Birthday Bash of October babies!!!
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Sabrina (Sharon)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD>17-Sep-06</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>Hard Rock Caf</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Invites</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Clarisse (Carole)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD>8-Oct-06</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>The Warren</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD>Neo Garden &amp; Chocolate Fountain</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD>Secret Recipe</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Invites</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Xaby (Patsy)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>NUSS @ Suntec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD>Room for Desserts</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Invites</TD><TD>Home Made</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Balloons</TD><TD>Twinkle Balloons</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kaiser (Yippee)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD>Waitg for feedback for YLS Catering</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD>Maybe a home baker</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Invites</TD><TD>Self print on cards</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Balloons</TD><TD>Twinkle Balloons</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Zoe (Fushiastar)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD>1-Oct-06</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>booking fn room at friend's condo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD>friend's dad to cater</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD>a large one fr friend's bakery for adults to eat and</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> a small homemade one that zoe can eat </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Goodies Bag</TD><TD>decorating bears for ifc instead of goodie bag..1 bear for each baby</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brennan (SSL)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Date:</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>at home</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Food</TD><TD>home cooked food</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Bday Cake</TD><TD>Room for Desserts</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>