(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Puea,
GP charges $100 only? OMG, the PD at Rivervale Mall charges at $400 for 6in1, i tot already much cheaper than Dr Terrence Tan's one.

Mrs Tan: i have jus brought Brent out on my own to taka as well... at first i thought tt he will fuss too.. but i was terribly wrong.. he seemed to be enjoying himself.. n slept thru almost the outing! hahaha....

sneaky

the pump is battery operated but can pluck in adaptor to use too. its faster that way. maybe the other brands of pumps are better but too expensive me cant afford cos only hubby working.

SSL: just pump every 2-3 hours. not before bb's feeding time. cos BM might not be enough, so always pump before so that if one pump is not enough, 2nd pump to make sure the desire amt to feed. i usually dun pump middle of the nite, my last pump is abt 11+pm

ling: my hb drove me there... yea.. went to taka to meet the aug/sept mums! hiak hiak... was bored to tears at home.. so got out of the house lor... anyway.. i went shopping for a bit.. and it went on pretty well.. wanted to try the escalator.. with the pram.. anyway.. it went on smoothly! hiak hiak...

adel: lkekekek next time we can go orchard together too... aimai? not now.. i dare not try gng out alone with her, though i am brave to bathe her. kekekke

ling: no problem.. the pram is really easy.. on escalator.. coz i was quite frustrated when waiting for the lift! decided to try the escalator instead!

would love to go out together!

sneaky

if what clarissemum says is true, then no point getting ameda when i already have medela.. looks like i'm just one of those moms who can only latch on and have v little to pump out. flip side is i never know how much she's taking

re infant car seat - can samuel sit in one when his neck is not steady yet? Im thinking of getting those suitable for small infants up to 9kg ones.. just not sure and dont want a white elephant in the hse..

pammie: get a baby head rest for the car seat... if not use the cloth diapers and shape into a shape to hold the neck

clarissemummy

Brennan's feeding time not very regular now, esp he is in his 6th week. sometimes i BF every hour, sometimes less than 1hr, sometimes interval longer. so its hard to gauge when he wants feed

Now the avent warmer costs $70.35 at robinson and KP. think u bought during the BB sale at Taka right. i saw it but didnt buy cos didnt want it to become an white elephant.

thinking of Tollyjoy (which is about $35) or Philips (which is about $49.90) at KP. Robinson only carries Avent. Wonder should i use robinson voucher or buy second hand or what. haiz.....

are u still using sterile cotton balls to clean BB's eyes or are already using the normal ones (baby brand)?

Do u girls wake up your BB for feed when its time or let him/her continue sleeping till he wants feed? Do u based on schedule feeding (ie. very 2 or 3 hourly feed) or feed on demand?

kris

Brennan only drinks alot more at night (bet 6-12) issit normal cos now he is in the Growth Spurt" period.

SSL: i using the normal cotton pads. Sterile ones cost more and infact, the sterile ones will become same like normal once you open the sterile packaging so i din waste money buying sterile ones.

I will only feed my bb when she demands for it.

ssl,

i long time ago give up latching liao coz my son too impatient to suck my nipple n i always see him so frustrated i find him quite pathetic coz my nipples got problems one - flat nipples.

anyway y son on Tbm and I express milk during nites too that explain why i completely shack out thou now still confinement month :p really very tiring lor but no choice i got to increase my ss for my son every feed...tough life lah really like a cow!

SSL:
avent warmer: no leh. i just bought it recently, like 20 Oct.

bb milk time: u should wake bb up if bb passes the milk time for once after 4 hours of sleep.

Celine: i understand the tireness to wake up to pump... i did it this mornign at 4am.. now stoning away.. whahahah

garfield

i ks mah, i put those sterile cotton ball open packet in a container lor.

celine

at least confinement still got cl help. i also woke up to pump at night during my confinement. but after cl left, dont have time at all.

yest tot my ebm of 120ml enough for him (thats his usual FM intake) in the evening when my bm ss lower, but he drink liao not enough, so bo bian got to top up another 60ml of FM

clarissemummy

issit? hmm... maybe i call them to check.

so sad mil tells me if can dont wake hubby up at night for feeds
cos he got to work. me not tired meh..... i told her he only wake up when bb hungry for feed anbd make the FM for him. then he will go back to sleep... like that also cant ah... keep asking me to go sleep daytime. which i cant cos sometimes, when i nearly doze off, bb wants feed. so i rather stay awake.

does medela have storage bottles for ebm? if yes, are they cheaper than avent ones (which can be recycled)?

Topic of the Day:
Breastpumping Tips

Who better to offer some pumping tips than the dedicated moms who do it themselves? We asked some moms who pump to offer their tips of advice and encouragement. We hope you find these helpful!

Believe in what you're doing - it's hard to have a love affair with a machine, but think of your milk as a gift to bring home every day for your baby.

Surround yourself with supportive coworkers - this may mean reevaluating where you work or who you work for, but your life and pumping relationship will be doubly hard if done in an antagonistic atmosphere.

Wash your hands first and buy some nice lotion to use after - you'll be washing those pumping parts constantly and will deserve something sweet smelling.

Eat oatmeal cookies "just to enhance your milk supply!"

Learn to do work while you pump or, better yet, relax while you pump... whatever feels most satisfying.

Remember: you'll only be doing this for a very short time in your (and your child's) life. Parenthood will be about all sorts of other more gratifying experiences for which pumping and breastfeeding lay the solid groundwork.

Do buy a nice pump. Having a pump that's slow or just frustrates you when you have to use it will cause you to loose interest in pumping.

Keep a current picture of your baby nearby. Before I began pumping I thought this advice was hogwash. Now I find looking at a picture of my Zack helps me to concentrate on thinking of him which leads to a faster letdown.

Commitment and dedication! Dedication and commitment! I can't say that enough. I wouldn't be pumping today if I only half-heartedly wanted to pump.

To keep your milk supply up, try to pump as much as your baby would be nursing if you were home.

If you are sharing the pump in a pump station, always check the suction control!

Try to pump into the same bottles that you give to your baby.

Breastmilk stains silk! Bye, bye silk blouses.

It won't take 45 minutes forever! I'm now down to 10 minutes flat per pumping.

Breasmilk lasts for 5-8 days, no need to freeze every day.

Consider buying a pump before you have your baby. Those first few days after birth, you may become engorged and a good pump can help alleviate the pain and discomfort and help your baby latch on better.

If you aren't pumping as much as you think you should and you see nothing more coming out, continue pumping for a few more minutes. I have only recently discovered that I can have 2 or 3 letdowns, but there is generally a 2 or 3 minute pause in between where NOTHING comes out. Just when I think I'm "empty", a few minutes later they're going like fire extinguishers again!

Having two breastpump kits (the breastshield, valve, piston, cylinder and other parts that are detachable from the pump itself) can come in handy. You can leave one kit at home and take the other to work.

Laugh about it when it feels like one more grueling, sleepless thing to do!

Sarong: mummies!!~~ do u all put ur bb in the 'yao lan' if so at what age ah? i mean which week or month? any side effects? any info on the use of *yao lan*?

thanks clarissemummy

adel

my boy sleeps in sarong during the day. so far ok unless he pees or is hungry. started last week.

adel: the only effect is next time when u are out with bb, u likely have a problem getting the little one to sleep. cos they would have gotten use to the yao lan. my mum ask me to get, i said no. i dun wan to have a problem having to bring the sarong out or even rush home to sarong her to sleep.

but medela one is longterm whereas avent one got to throw away after few use wo

wonder if medela one can fit pigeon pump. should be able to ba cos medela pump can fit pigeon bottles. :p

maybe i consider. prob take a look at JL if i got go

try not to rock him when he is asleep. so that he wont get used to it. reason why we using that cos besides relieving our hands from carrying him, its more airy and cool to sleep in yaolan cos of the netting. and its like hugging him..

whenever we go out with BB (for PD apts), we carry BB and didnt use pram.

clarissemummy

think its morraine issit? gathering!!! i think maybe wait till BB 3mths old. hahaha
cos most mummies will be easily BF BB and me will be kalangkaboing making FM. :p

wahahahhahaa....
ssl: dun worry... when i go out.. i will bf him and supplement him with FM as well... wait untill 3 months old ah.. tts a long wait@!

adel: kekeke guess we both and sneaky more challenging.. whahaha.. dare to venture out..

my girl like fan and wind... so all i have to do is to carry her sit near to the fan, and she will fall asleep.

........................ i can try all sorts of way but still he refuses to sleep! can fuss for so many hours.. until.. i almost gave up!

adel,

saw yr pics in sep thread.. v xian mu leh.. most of the time i go out with tammi alone, if not with hubby only.. how i wish can meet all other mummies too.. almost met mrs Tan then one day tam was cranky next day her son was cranky.. haha .. like that we never go out leh! however i really want to meet other moms who are equally enthusiastic to meet.. anyone game??!!

those who wnat to inc milk supply - can try to take Fenugreek (one btl of 100 cap retailing in GNC around $23). I take one tab a day only on those days i feel ss abit low, even tho' doc recommended 3 tabs a day. the effect is v significant.. i got blocked duct the next morning after taking..
Initially i read on the web abt the side effects but since it's so well recommended, i decided to just take 1 tab a day, instead of supplementing with FM. Reason being I think my girl is allergic to FM (i suspect she's lactose intolerant) cos' it seems she vomits out alot of milk on occasions when she's being fed FM>.

pammie

i read that fenugreek is related to peanut so those (either BB or mummy) allergic to peanut may have to avoid or probably reduce dosage. that time Brennan got quite bad rash and doc say he may have eczema so me avoiding nuts now. so duno can take or not.

Thinking of the tea but scared the effect not so soon. wa maybe u already got milk liao leh? Is the FM suitable for your girl? maybe u can change to those HA ones?

Jenifur

Are u the one that is making the "tai Mao Bi" for your BB at the chinatown shop? Can i know how much issit? Do they have a branch at KKH?

Any feedback about their shaving services?

i read from website search...

it will also reduce blood glucose level for those diabetic patients.

but i guess all things got side effect if u take too much.

btw, are the pills BIG cos i cant swallow pills. Are they those capsule ones? or like panadol pattern?

Only GNC sells? any idea if Guardian or Unity Pharmacy have them?

Hi SSL,

RE: TAI MAO BI

The one Jenifur mentioned may be from Huaxia. They do hv a branch in KK Hosp.
Currenly they're on promotion for free home visit(hair cut) till end nov or early dec. Need to to call them for an apoointment.

My ger had her hair shaved bold on mon at home.

My budget initially was not exceeding $100 but somehow chosed a brush at the end costing me $150(slight betr quality compare to those cheaper range starting fm $38 =p) +$10 charge for engraving parents name.

Mdl

So they come to your house to shave BB's hair. and you can choose the brush design from catalogue?

ssl: battery operated still not too bad lah...the manual is really hopeless..wonder why Pigeon ever come out with such a product...

adelyee & ling: i want to go also...kekeke..i'm also against putting baby in sarong!!!

pammie: yah...it's no point getting another similar pump...well, the infant car seat that i have is one that you're thinking about. i tilted it in such a way that Samuel's head will not dip down. when i drive at corners, i will slow down so that his head will not swerve to one side...if it does, i will adjust it back straight with my free hand...ling has given me a good idea...use the nappy!

ling: my ah boy also like natural wind...he sleeps very well at my mum's place cos it's windy...

pammie: my gal vomitted out twice just now.Vomitted like a merlion!! Really scared me to hell. Could it be like what u said, that my gal is allergic to FM? But my mil supplemented her with FM every night and there was no problem.

I gave her my ebm at 10am this morning then FM at 12pm...then just now she vomitted. My ebm was kept in the fridge for 3 days.

Now not sure wat is the reason....but i really scared...so now dare not sleep..keep checking on her to make sure she is alrite

pammie: me too giving NAN 1 HA to my girl

sneaky: so both adel n me on u for an outing lol, but adel stay in the east leh.. super far! whahha.. if just u and me. i dun mind holland village

my plc not very windy at times. so fan is ok.

garfield:
my girl also vomitted her milk out.. my CL said cos her tummy shallow so cannot one time feed alot.. feed half then burp her then continue to feed.. seems to work for my girl lor.. maybe u can try..

hi Jenifur,

please help me to update Shaun grow chart as below
At birth : 2.5kg/47cm
1 month: 3.7kg/53cm

Thanks a lot...

SSL,

Yes. Hair cut was done in my hse. B4 hair cut, that man had a friendly hand shake with my ger first, maybe hoping her to cooperate? So cute,me can't help laughing at the scene and during hair cut when my ger was half way shaving bold. hahaa.

The seller will bring all kind(diff design & price range) of sample brushes for u to choose after hair cutting. Also, samples of umbilical cord stamp.