(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

pammie

i guess i have to overcome the fears asap so that i can also enjoy the bathing time with Brennan

Fun

cos my BM not enough and i dont want Brennan to keep waking up crying for milk. Rather let him and myself rest more at night lor. Day time can still latch as and when i can. Have discussed with daddy, he will make the milk for me. heehee

My BM only alot in the morning. every time i latch Brennan on, usually 1.2hr or more. And i think cos he into his 6th week (growth spurt) so need more milk now.

SSL

Demand = supply leh... latch on more often and u will get the amount of milk he needs
he is in his growth spurt tat why he want more and he want u to have as much milk as he wants!

Dun quit leh! hang on!!

Finally got the time to pop by... Grace is sleeping and her next feed is one hour later. Very busy... no time for other stuff. I am giving her TBF during the day and FM at night.

She also takes quite long to burp and will sometimes end up spitting milk during her sleep.
Tried Pampers new born and Mummy Poko new born diapers, good. Drypers is not so absorbent and leaves my baby uncomfortable. Will complete them during the day since buy liao, boh bian.

Do you gals pump your milk or empty your breasts after each feed?

SSL,

I have seen Mrs Wong twice last week due to my engorgement. Now, my girl seems satisfied with my milk flow. If you see Umah this friday, dun forget to pop two pain killers first. Its a tearing session.

Fun

Just now fed Brennan bet 115-215 and just now from 3-325. aiyor..... hope thats normal.

sweetie

Me not seeing umah for engorgement so hope she wont torture me :p. me seeing her to see if my positioning is right. cos Brennan always seems to be "looking" for my nipple one.
esp now in his growth spurt period, he will become so impatient. abit disappointed that i cant get to see mrs wong, but hope umah will be able to resolve my queries on BF and Brennan would be a happier BB

Ever since CL left, I dont have time to pump out anymore. cos Brennan's feed is not very regular and he doesnt want to sleep during day time.

Mummies are u still drinking the papaya soup? was thinking of stopping it cos too mahfun. Since me drinking milo every day, so should be fine. Btw, can we drink those HL milk to increase milk supply har?

FUN : Alden's tummy looks bloated like my baby's. Has he got wind in it? Mine seems like leh... Mine passes a lot of wind when she poos. WHen do you apply the medicated oil? After bath and before feed??

Those feeding FM at night, what brand do you feed? How did you decide?

Hv u all brgt ur bb for the 1st mth jabs?

I'm actually waiting for my ger to reach 6wks b4 bringing her to the 1st jab on 6-in-1 thus she has yet taken her weight and length mesurement at 1 mth.
Any mum up there same as me?
kao_confused.gif

Mrs Tan & Ling ~ ya lor.. wil think n think if i wanna give up or not.. feel wasted but den haiz.. she dun wanna drink i oso bo bian leh..

Jenifur ~ dun mind can update for me.. my ger's name is Ashley Koh and her weight n legnth is 2.55kg/49cm at birth.. Thanks

SSL: Same like you ever since CL left me hardly got time leh ... so tired and restless. 1:1 is really shiong for me and I really can't cope sometimes. Especially when Tennyson get naughty me cried easily as I'm so tired.

My bm ss is v v low now so mostly on FM liao.
Guess I'm too stress liao. Can't take it anymore .....

ruff

I am sure Alden got wind but as he everyday does fart and burp, i not very worried lor. day time we onli apply oil after his bath.. during the nite, i will apply oil whenever i change his pampers

So happy.. just now my girl latched on to my breast.. hehe.. although not very long but still an achievement.. hehe.. she latch on for abt 10min per breast..

FOr yr info..

My breastfeeding baby always seems hungry. How do I know if he's getting enough?
A: Weight gain is the best signal your baby is getting enough breastmilk. However, during the first days at home, keeping a written record of your babys feedings, urine, and bowel movements also will help you gauge your babys progress. Generally, your baby should have a minimum of one wet diaper per day of life until the sixth day. (Example: by day three baby should have three to four wet diapers and a minimum of two bowel movements per 24 hours.) By day six your baby should have six to eight wet diapers and four to six bowel movements per 24 hours. Once baby has reached this amount, his intake is probably adequate.

Remember, its very common for a newborn to eat frequently, sometimes every hour and a half. Such frequent feedings are necessary because breastmilk is easily digested. Nursing as often as your baby wants will keep him content and you comfortable. Whats more, frequent nursing will build up your breastmilk production and provide your baby the warmth and comfort of being in your arms.

For yr info on burping..

Tips for burping. Hold the bottom of the bottle high so the nipple always has formula to keep the baby from swallowing too much air. Burp after every couple of ounces of formulaor between breasts, if breastfeeding. Be prepared with a cloth to protect your clothes.

Burping baby
On the shoulder:
Make sure baby is positioned high enough so that her diaphragmjust below her ribsis even with your collarbone.

Sitting up:
Place baby across your legs, supporting her head and chest with one hand; pat and rub her back with the other.

Face-down on lap:
Support baby's head by holding her chest and chin with one hand; pat and rub with the other.

Mayday

I understand how u feel. Our boys are about the EDD. Really cant take it when they cry and we dont know what to do.

I think hubby and myself are improving day by day, learning new things. Not as kalang kabo as in the beginning. Although I'm the physically tired one (hubby the mentally tired one), I am always telling hubby to cool down when he gets too frustrated not knowing whats wrong with BB. With work stress, it seems more so for him to get easily stressed if BB keeps crying.

For me, though very tired, i have to tong cos if i also like him, then both of us will be very siong and probably quarrel. Hang in there, just remember, we will have to go through this. Thats why sometimes if i really dont have time to log in, i will sms a couple of the forum gals to "chat", which I feel better knowing whats going on with them and their babies.

I've kept my pump cos no time to use. now trying to latch BB as often as possible. sometimes he struggles and fidgets during BF and it hurts me so much. Felt so useless and sad that my BM is not enough. but i will try to keep positive lor. Sometimes i find that i can only say and not act as what i preach

Hi SSL,

Opposite for me here .. I'm the impatient one and hubby is the patient one who will take over if see my face changes ... Although he's tired coz need to work but he still willing to help me wiz night feeding.

re: feeding
Tennyson is drinking very slow .. he's drinking 80-90ml now but always left wiz a 20ml and takes more than half hr to finish it coz he always wan to sleep.

How? Shd I force him to finish or let him sleep?
Shd I bring him to see PD to chk anything wrong wiz him?

tennyson

how old is yr bb? maybe can try new level de teats liao.. maybe 2 poked holes instead of 1 de lor so tat the milk flow is faster?
i nw trying to use avent teats for two mths old bb for Alden

SSL
Sometimes Alden will cry, struggles and fidgets during BF too.. we finally found out tat he wana sleep more than eat.. its just tat he wana latch on while he goes to sleep lor.. my nipples are like pacifier to him :p bo bian.. tats wat he wants..
when he realli doze off.. i just put him back on the bed.. dun wana wake him up for burps liao lor..

Milk and Supply
Milk supply and demand

Talk about the ultimate in efficiency! Your breastmilk production is based solely on demand from your baby. If you skip regular breastfeeding sessions, your breasts eventually will produce less milk. So to keep producing the milk your baby needs, you need to be consistent in your feedings. Your body will do the rest! Here are some tips to help you maintain your breastmilk supply for your hungry baby.

Monitor feedings.
A baby who nurses all the time or who never seems satisfied may be going through a growth spurt. If your baby is demanding more frequent feedings, meet his needs until the growth spurt passes. An increase in breastfeeding during the day also may be triggered when he begins to sleep through the night. If you suspect that your baby still isnt satisfied even though youve increased the number of feedings, talk to your lactation consultant or doctor. Frequent weight checks also can help you determine if hes eating enough.

Offer both breasts at each feeding.
This way your breasts are equally stimulated to produce milk. Typically allow baby to nurse for a total of 20 to 40 minutes.

To increase your supply of breastmilk, use a breast pump between feedings. This pumping will stimulate your breasts to produce more breastmilk so baby will always have enough. Whats more, you can freeze the additional milk to use later on and to allow dad to feed baby from a bottle.

Producing breastmilk takes energy, so get as much rest as you can during the day. When your baby takes his afternoon nap, take a quick catnapeven if for only 15 minutes.

Drink plenty of liquids.
Drink water, juice, or milknever ignore your thirst. This will help keep your body hydrated so you can produce more milk. Its also important for maintaining your general health.

Add the daily recommended amount of vitamin B complex to your daily diet to help produce more breastmilk. Eat green, leafy vegetables, such as spinach, or take a vitamin/mineral supplement.

To start breastfeeding,
cup your breast with thumb on top and forefinger underneath.

Lightly touch your baby's lower lip with your nipple. She may mouth or lick your nipple at first.

Wait until your baby opens her mouth widelike a yawnthen draw her in close (rather than leaning into her).

Check
that your baby is latched on correctly. If her mouth is open wide enough when you draw her in, her lower lip will curl down to ensure that she latches on correctly. She should have her mouth around the nipple and as much of the areola as possible. Once she's latched on, you should hear her suckingusually several sucksa pause and a swallow.

To release
baby from the breast, break the suction by pushing in on your breast or gently placing your finger between her gums.

TOPIC: Can I conceive while nursing?

Answer: Yes. There's an old wives' tale that says you can't get pregnant while breastfeeding but it's not backed up by science or women's experience.

Although you may not menstruate for months after giving birth, your body usually releases its first postpartum egg before you get your period. So you won't know you've ovulated until two weeks later when you menstruate. So if you know you don't want to get pregnant while nursing, begin using birth control as soon as you start having sex again. Many doctors recommend barrier methods such as condoms or a diaphragm, but some think the newerlow-dose oral contraceptives are safe to use while breastfeeding and pose no harm to the baby. Ask your doctor about the "mini-Pill," which doesn't contain estrogen (a hormone that can interfere with lactation), only progestin.

That said, if you're breastfeeding your baby exclusively, day and night, you may not menstruate again for up to a year after giving birth. If your baby sleeps through the night at an early age, your period will likely return sooner typically within three to eight months. The same is true if you're supplementing with formula. In other words, the more often your baby nurses, the longer it may be before you get your period again. Experts believe this is because breastfeeding curbs the hormones that trigger ovulation. But remember, you could start ovulating again at any time and you probably won't know when it happens. If you want to make sure you don't get pregnant, use some form of birth control every time you have sex.

Topic: If I give my baby a bottle of pumped breast milk and he doesn't finish it at one sitting, can I give it to him to finish at a later time? And how much later?

Answer: While most health professionals will tell you to discard the unused breast milk, it is really hard to throw it out! After all, you worked twice for this precious food: First your body made it, and then you had to pump it!

One very small study (of six women) indicated no significant difference between bottles that were partially consumed and those that were not exposed to the baby's mouth for five of the six participants. Though this project provided evidence that it may be safe to re-feed a child a bottle of breast milk, because the study sample was so small, further tests should be performed.

The milk was expressed, stored in a 4- to 6-degree Centigrade refrigerator for 12 to 36 hours, warmed to 37 degrees Centigrade, partially fed to an infant, and stored in the refrigerator for 48 hours. Clean, but not sterile, techniques were followed during the initial storage and feeding. <font color="ff0000">Based on this study, which admittedly needs to be done on a larger scale, it would seem to me that expressed breast milk, fed to the baby, partially consumed, and then refrigerated, could be used for one more feeding no more than four hours later.</font> That's probably fairly conservative. One of the best tests of whether the milk is spoiled is to do what you do with cows' milk: Smell it and taste it!

I am also sianz with my milk supply...so low.
Almost on total FM now with silmilac

btw, do you all still wrap your babies who are about 3 weeks old with towel or nappy cloth when they sleep?
Think I asked this qn b4 but no reply yet..

fun: what abt Gerber's freeze bag? if order from website i think its cheaper... exclude freight abt US 7.15

Clarisse's mum

thanks for the info. but i think still quite exp :p thinking of getting medela bottles for storing
can bring to work lor.. no need to transfer milk from bottle to bags after pumping.. just change the bottle after every pump

fun: I am with u...
anyone here knows how to use sarong sling?

Caterers: help! anyone engaged neo garden before? is it nice? pls advice?

Adelyee
neo garden very highly recommended in SB.com

I considering between those angmo front carrier and sarongsling..

fun: i have got both.. but i want to learn how to use the sarong sling.. coz new born the neck is not so strong yet.. so sarong sling is better.. mmm..

fun: kekek.. tts wat i did.. get more bottles n store. Cos u ask abt the Gerber bags so i saw i cut the link to u lor

adel: me using Neo Garden.. simi tai chi? klekkekeke

adelyee: hi, me using Neo Garden too for my bb full month celebration. Neo Garden is highly recommended by some of the gals here in this forum and furthermore, there is 20% discount for order for full month celebration.

Clarissemum: i still wrap my bb gal with towel event though she is into her 4th week. I think the wrapping gives my bb some security.

all: agree that bfeeding is tough! Currently, i am on tbf throughout the day and at nite, i will supplement with formula. I decided to go on tbf throughout the day &amp; nite after my confinement is over. hopefully, more milk will come in. Currently, my milk supply is abt 100ml/3hrs interval. *SIGH* i m on the verge of giving up bf but my hubby keeps encouraging me...lucky for me...

Tennyson: my hubby also like ur hubby. In fact, he has no temper and is very patient with our bb gal. I am the one who is impatient...hehe...thought motherhood shld make me more patient....hehe

Fun: haha....kinda agree with your hubby. The pump is relly v ex! Must make it more worthwhile mah! I using the Medala Electric Pump (single).Thinkg of getting the Medala Traveller Dual Pump cos I heard the traveller dual pump is very good. Thinkg of getting 2nd hand wan.

Anyone here using the Medala Traveller Dual Pump? Any comments?

fun

dont think Brennan is sleepy at times. he will gek until face red red and manzhang and keep pulling my nipple in all directions and then pop, it came out from his mouth and he will cry. So got to relatch again and this can happen many times. so gotta fight fight fight. I always have this feeling that he may not be comfortable with the positioning hence got this reaction.

Last time, he only manzhang when he wants to urine or farts during BF. now dont seem to be the case anymore.

ya, sarong sling. i dont have but seems useful hor. how much and where did u get them? i also dont know how to use leh... I have those baby carriers but must wait till neck steady then can use.

SSL: my bb gal also like tat.She will stretch and gek till face red red and all the while, my nipple is still in her mouth then suddenly she will pull my nipple in all directions and then pop...my nipple will be pulled out from her mouth. it can be painful at times wor.....

i think the sarong sling is useful if u r on tbf and intend to bf her while u r out shopping. my fren bf her bb using the sarong sling while she shops for her clothes etc. She said it is v user-friendly. i will be getting 1 from my fren.

Fun,

Tennyson is 7wks old now. I'm using avent mth 2 teat on him but still slow as tortise ... buay tahan

If he's not sleepy can drink within half an hr but if sleepy how u 'shake' him, he oso stay still one. *jin angry liao*

garfield

I also having Medela single pump lor.. i just used it.. managed to get 50ml onli i heard the sound of the pump hor like kinda funny leh... like old car cannot move smoothly like tat leh.. duno isit going to spolit liao :S

For the sarong sling.. i trying to ask monsinmind if we get more from them, able to get better rates anot.. waiting for their reply

Tennyson

ALden this wk 8 weeks old liao.. i mixing 2 and NB de for him to use.. sometimes even NB de he can have mouth leak leh! so angry! duno isit he purposely wan! :S waste my milK!

garfield

ya ya.. he like that i also dont know what to do. haiz....

fun

maybe once u get the confirmation, can gather the gals here for bulk order :p ngiak ngiak

any mummies using nursing pillow? i have one moon shape one but not sure if the way i'm using it is right. seems to be more mahfun then helping me leh.