(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

fuschiastar: KP at Causeway Pt. Heh.. actually I thought you wanted them for bb.. cos I used them for my girl when she was v young. It was useful in protecting the mattress from getting soiled with leaked urine etc.

kuririn: ya lor.. me too... when I walk it can be v painful..

Sneaky and Kuririn: Incontinence sheets are actually used by people who have problems controlling their urine, so this sheet is usually placed on the bed, so that if their urine leaks, it goes on the sheet and doesn't wet the bed. It usually has a cotton top layer and a waterproof undersurface..It's disposable, ie throw away after one time use..
After delivary, we will be bleeding from the groin for some time.. So I want the incontinence sheets to place on my bed or sofa when I sit or lie on it, in case blood leaks from my pad, then at least my sheets and sofa won't be stained..

My baby girl Zoe was 1.6 kg at 32 weeks
I'm hoping to gain about 12kg, not more than 15kg by the time I deliver..So far my water retention is quite mild..
12-15kg weight gain is the norm I think.. But at the end of pregnancy, if we have more water retention, will naturally gain more weight one, so that can't be helped, water is also heavier than fats, so weight will be more.. At least water retention easier to lose than fats! ;P

Kris. Oh.. baby? Didn't think of that.. I was thinking of putting water proof cot sheet and a nappy under baby, so that in case urine leaks, then just change the nappy.. I'll try both methods

Was thinking of layering my baby cot this way, any comment? Mattress with mattress protector on top, then bed sheet, then waterproof cot sheet, then nappy.. So if baby drools or leaks urine, can just change the nappy and wash/wipe waterproof cot sheet?

Talking about bed stuff.. Anywhere selling cheap mosquito nets? The only one I can find that fits my baby cot is at kiddy palace, but quite ex leh..Around $50..

fuschiastar: I think the last time I decided the use the incontinence sheets instead of the waterproof sheet cos it's cooler. A wet waterproof sheet will just remain wet and even have a puddle of water on it leh.. At least the incontinence sheets can absorb water. And frankly, dun need to change the sheet everyday one. Cos accidents dun really happen so often.

how does the Incontinence sheets look like? i did see some sheets in blues and whites in a pack at kiddy pal b4. is it those? i rem being given those to bring home when i had a surgery but i din know its purpose!

i am thinking of using the waterproof cot sheet(the thin type) to put juz below baby's bottom, will it lead to rashes?

Thanks Kris
I got that idea from a friend cos her baby drools so much.. So saliva gets on the bedsheet and can't be seen when it's dry and ants go crawling onto her cot and onto her baby! So awful!
She ended up having to wash her baby's bed sheets everyday.. After sometime, she tried this layering method, and easier to wash nappies than bedsheets everyday.. (The nappy is placed on top of the waterproof cot sheet)

I've got nappies and gonna buy a pack of incontinence sheets for myself anyway, so can try both
incontinence sheets would be less of a hassle cos can just throw, don't have to wash..

It's really a good thing you told me about KP-Causeway point today cos I happen to be working at Woodlands today.. I live in the West and would normally not travel all the way up

mybabydream: I doubt it will lead to rashes lah, but seriously it may be a bit warm.

fuschiastar: KP causeway pt is quite big, so maybe if you feel up to it you can buy a few things there today.

I can't wait to have bb come out then I can bf again.. I miss bfing.

hi all, what do you think of my cot arrangement?? i thought of putting a bath towel below the fitted sheet to avoid mattress being soiled. i will be using the Aussino cot set that comprises of 1 x fitted sheet, 1 x comforter, 1 x pillow, 1 x bolster & bumpers. i thought of putting baby on top of the comforter for the 1st few weeks cos i will be covering him up with blankets instead of the comforter. this way, he will not be soiling the mattress. at most, i will only be changing the comforter if it is soiled. show you a pic of my cot set...

310275.jpg

kris: from you way you've put it, you seem to enjoy bfing huh? thanks for giving me courage and confidence in bfing...i'm now looking forward to it also...

Sneaky: Oh yes!
It's most enjoyable! And so convenient when you go out with bb!
I believe my #1 is so close to me now despite me working full time cos of the 6 months that I spent bfing her!

kris: thanks for the moral support...i hope i will enjoy it (provided there's no pain lah)..

fushiastar, that's not my cot lah...it's from the Aussino website...my cot is like that with position swapped....now cot is on the left and chest of drawers on the right...

310287.jpg

celine: shd be a gd choice, i think...cos the material used is very very soft and comfortable...keke...both our babies will sleep on little lambs...

ling: same frequency mah...keke...you bought the laundry one huh? that yellow one also very nice, i also like yellow (my previous car yellow and my hubby's car now is yellow)...but because Samuel is boy boy, that one too girlish for him loh...the material very good and soft hor...i haven't started washing them yet...intend to get maid to wash them when they know i'm in labour...haha...like that the bed sheet is clean clean and smells good when baby gets home loh...
it is no doubt that i'm very eager to see how it looks like when it's fully put up...but i don't want to dirty the sheets...saw the white mattress at the bottom layer? it's custom-made by Kel...high quality foam and it's light...supposed to be cooling for baby...you got yours already?

celine: yah loh...actually i couldn't decide between the lamb, car & lighthouse one...they all look so nice as well...ended up buying the most subtle one...probably can use by a girl too...

Sneaky, ClarisseMummy & Celine:
I also bought the cot set from Aussino.. very cute.. I got this set.. hubby said since she going to be chickie so bought this set :p

310382.jpg

kuririn: wahahahaha...we have 3 sets of Aussino cot sets liao man...they are making money out of us...kekeke..this set very nice also...so fun...

Sneaky, your cot set up already? Mine's not here yet.. Nice chest of drawers too

Kris: Thanks for the encouragement!
I got all my equipment for bf-ing.. Hope I do manage to..

The Aussino sets are so cheery.. How much are they? I just got the ones from Kiddy Palace..

sneaky:
I find that aussino's cot set cheaper than those I saw at departmental store and also baby's kingdom.. plus aussino's one more colorful and cute..

fushiastar:
If I dun remember wrongly, it cost $69.90 per set..

fushiastar: yah...my cot was up 2 months ago...my friend gave it to me when i was 4 mths preggy, so hubby custom-made mattress and in order to ensure that it fits properly, he had to fix up the cot when i'm not around loh...the chest of drawers was custom-made abt a month ago...it's very nicely done...i post somemore pic of it...

310407.jpg

310408.jpg

Fushiastar

I bought those Incontinence sheets at Kiddy Palace Causeway Point. Saw it at KKH pharmacy too.

Kuririn,

U got your GTT result?

You dont have to avoid rice totally. Just cut down the usual portion by half (which is half cos u may feel hungry) and take more vegetables and meat. Thats what i did.

Now when i cook my lunch at home, sometimes, i dont eat rice at all. Oh ya, try eating brown rice, supposed to be better and not so much carbo compared to white rice.

There is a thread on Gestational Diabetes so you can check out the postings. I got alot of advice from there

If you want, can email to me to chat too.

Whow, you girls bought so cute cot sheets for your BBs. I bought mine at kiddy palace cos i bought the mattress at kiddy palace so not sure if the dimensions are suitable elsewhere. Bought 2 sets to interchange.

Kris

When will be a better time to let BB sleep on infant bed?? Cos our cot cant be converted into infant bed so have to buy a new one and he doesnt want to sleep in cot.

Any advice on that??

Btw, I went KKH pharmacy today and bought Desitin Creamy at $11.55. Saw Similac Excellence Infant Formula (400g) selling at $13.90

Wow you all have bought your cot sheet already huh... Me still not yet as planning to get Pooh Cot Sheet which I saw at KP. I am a pooh lover so will most get something that I like for my BB.

Just went to see my gynae this evening. My bb is now 2.1Kg and now I am in Week 31....Seem like my bb is the same as me and my HB as we are on the heavier side...

Today found some stretch marks appearing on my tummy...sigh...
I thought pple who are fat won't get any stretch marks but me still got it...

SSL: When you say infant bed what do you mean?? You mean a junior bed? Or a cot? I'm a bit confused leh.. If you're talking abt a junior bed then some pple let their 2 yr olds sleep in it. Prior to that I think most parents prefer just a mattress on the floor. Even by the age of 3 I believe most parents may prefer letting their children sleep on a mattress on the floor. This is cos these kiddos really toss and turn in bed and can very easily end up on the floor. SO letting them sleep in any height (even 30cm off the floor) may cause them to wake up in shock from having fallen off the bed.

If you're talking abt a cot then bb can sleep in it from day one till the day he fusses abt havingto sleep in it. This usually doesn't happen till bb is abt 3 months+/-.

mybabydream: There's no fixed recommended method lah.. we all just do it our way as long as bb is comfy.

Kuririn, $69.90.. The KP Mamalove series costs about the same
But Aussino ones much cuter..

Sneaky

SSL: Thanks.. I bought mine at KP-causeway pt yesterday.. Sassy toys are on 50% off there!

I just collated my baby expenses.. It stands at $1041.82 right now.. Mummy expenses stand at $596

My collated diaper pricelist to share

Fitti NB 38 pcs $10 (NTUC/KP) 26.3C
MamyPoko NB 28 pcs $11.90 (NTUC) 42.5C
MamyPoko NB 28 pcs $10.50 (Guardian) C
Pampers Cottoncare NB 36 pcs $15.40 (NTUC) 42.7C

Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $7.95 (PC) 17.3C
Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $8.80 (KP) 19.2C
Pet Pet S Up to 6 kg 46 pcs $8.90 (JL) 19.3C
EQ Dry S Up to 7kg 40 pcs $8.00 (JL) 20.0C
Pureen S 3-8 kg 66 pcs $13.50 (KP) 20.5C
Pureen S 3-8 kg 66 pcs $13.80 (JL) 20.9C
Drypers S 65pcs $13.90 (KP) 21.7 C
Fitti S 36 pcs $10 (KP) 27.8C
Nepia S 60 pcs $18.50 (Isetan) 30.8C
MamyPoko S 52 pcs $16.3 () 31.3C
Pampers Cottoncare S $22.50 58 pcs () 38.8C

SSL:
Still no news leh.. the nurse said if results come back positive then will call me.. so now I presume no call means good news lor.. hehe.. I will go read up that thread.. thanks for the advise..

Nuttnuts:
Me also have stretchmarks liao.. but its not on my tummy.. its on the sides of my buttocks and also a bit on the thigh area.. hubby was laughing at me say how come my stretchmarks are on the buttocks not on the tummy one.. sigh...

310533.jpg

celine: the aussino comes with not only the covers but the pillow, bolster and the comforter itself...if you want to get pillows and bolsters, you can get them at KP...i bought from KP 1 pillow and 2 bolsters, then i bought the aussino cot set...so now, i have 2 pillows and 3 bolsters..i also bought a foam pillow for infant...quite good leh...

kris

Sorry for confusing u

Yap me talking about junior bed. Ya, hubby and I also thinking of getting him a mattress so that he can bunk into our room.

Cos we already got a queen size bed in the nursery room which we intend to let our child have that when he grows up. So no point buying junior bed.

Been having gastric attacks while sleeping. I think should be gastric attacks cos just below my chest area
Issit normal? cos BB pressing or what happen leh?

Fushiastar

Thanks for the diaper pricing

Kuririn

Maybe u can start to cut down on carbo and sugar if your gynae thinks that you are putting on too much weight.

Celine,

I bought my boy's pillow, bolster from Kiddy Palace. Didnt buy any quilt cover cos will be too hot for BB. Bought normal blanket

Actually newborn dont really need to sleep on pillow cos it maybe too high for them. Can fold towels and let them sleep on it

But i bought it cos they are so cute. Probably put one side first. heehee

SSL:
gynae no say i gained too much weight leh.. based on my last checkup, I've gained 4 kg in 5 weeks lor.. In total at end of 30wks I have gained 11.9kg.. is it alot?

my mum made me 2 small bean sprouts pillow and 1 small bean sprouts bolster for my baby.. plus we bought a cute pillow and the pillow and bolster from the aussino set, I have 4 pillows and 2 bolsters.. duno how she going to use so many.. hehe

kuririn

Then its ok la. maybe just control your sugar intake

Beansprout pillow is to put at BB's tummy to "ya jin". not to sleep on, so its ok. heehee

Celine, mine also fr kiddy palace..

Kuririn, your total weight gain is probably ok (I gained about 10 kg at 32 weeks at the rate of about 1-2kg per month), but 4 kg in a month is quite a bit.. Maybe your gynae's worried that you'll gain 4kg per month for the next 10 weeks? Then you'll end up with a total weight gain of 20kg.. Do you have very bad water retention? Cos that may be why you gain 4kg.. Could also be because of the diabetes thing too.. Just watch diet for next 2 months.. Jia you!

SSL: You are welcome

Everyone, I'm getting numbness on my fingers when I wake up again.. Think it's Carpel tunnel syndrome.. Backaches's also getting worse, cannot survive without my pregnancy support belt.. Also waddling like a duck!!!

actually hor, i think i've got a lot of pillows, bolsters and blankets liao...hahaha...here's my collection: -

- 1 foam infant pillow
- 2 normal pillows
- 2 normal bolsters
- 1 big beansprout pillow
- 1 small beansprout pillow
- 4 blankets

fushiastar: i'm getting stiff fingers instead of numbed fingers in the morning...they do hurt a bit when i try to clench my fists...i use maternity support belt occassionally only when i wear a dress...it does help a bit...

310553.jpg

fushiastar, sneaky :

Ya, I oso experiencing stiff fingers in the morning when wake up, especially my right hand.

Cannot stretch straight the fingers, and I got to use my left hand to stretch straight the right hand fingers... very jia lat...

fushiastar:
ya i start to have water retention liao.. feets are slightly swollen.. my hubby commented that my legs look plumper but duno is it water retention or fat lor.. my gynae no mentioned about my weight gained leh.. she more concern about glucose keep appearing in my urine test lor.. sigh... will jia you..