(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

realise tummy gets bigger fast recently...

fushiastar, may i know wat are the 3 signs?

btw, hv more discharge wen walking..it is yellow (on pantyliner but not wen wipe) and not watery.. is tis common...

Tks all.

fushiastar:
Me also might have pregnancy diabetes.. cos my last checkup glucose was detected in my urine (1 plus).. so gynae say if next checkup still got then I also have to go for the test..

So right now I'm controlling my diet.. I actually gained 5.5kg at ending of 21wks..

Mrs Tan, Thanks.. Avoiding sweet stuff's not that difficult for me cos I don't really like things that are too sweet, but now I'm going to totally cut it out of my diet.. all my beverages will be sugar free from now on and no more biscuits, cakes, pastries or deserts.. And cut down on carbo too.. Will also tell silly hubby to stop tempting me with muffins and cakes.. Yep, yours sounds like Sciatica.. Conisder a pregnancy support belt?

Inc, they are: Needing to pee more often, increased tiredness and I've forgotten the 3rd one..
But it's not just that,
-my urine test was positive,
-plus I have a positive family history of diabetes (either one first degree relation or two second degree relations with diagnosed diabetes) - both my maternal grandparents have diabetes and my paternal grandma query diabetes,
-plus my weight gain is 3 kg too much..
-and the 3 common signs indicating diabetes
So it's everything put together..

Fushiastar, don't worry too much. You need to be determine and keep to a really simple, sugar free diet. Maybe just for these while till delivery. Hang on ok

mrstan, i also experience that kind of sharp pain near the buttock but its' more like at the upper portion. Between the waist and the buttock. When it happen,you just can't really move right? yeah.. very painful. And it attack suddenly hor

oh gosh.. i seem to fall into dat category too.. see my urine test for the next round.i suppose dr will only ask us to do a test if the urine test is +ve...

i tot go toilet often is common due to the weight of bb.. so wat is considered often now?

<font face="Calisto mt">
295087.gif

So is meeting on <font color="ff0000">6-Jul</font> ok with majority? Agree tt we cannot meet everyone but if most of us is ok then we should proceed. Location wise, hmmm.... how bout Cafe Cartel @ Raffles City?

<font color="0000ff">Fushiastar</font>,

Congrats. Glad tt ur little princess is doing well but hor u also must take gd care of urself leh. Diet very important now</font>

<center>
295088.jpg
</center>

morning everyone! i got a v bad leg cramp at night...and poor hubby had to wake up and help me massage...

fushiastar:u muz really take care wor...gestation diabetes is as serious as normal diabetes.....*HUGZ*

295091.jpg

mrstan: i have the same pain...it's buried right deep inside...actually, if massaged correctly, it can be felt...i felt it when the massage lady did it for me...it's so painful hor? i wear panty also feel pain pain...

inc: my discharge also like yours...it just stains the panty and is not wet...

Fresia, Jenifur, Garfield.. Thanks..Yep..
I have to take good care of myself if not baby will suffer too.. Was just reading on the various things that can happen to a baby with a mother who has uncontrolled diabetes.. Must definitely do whatever's needed to keep my blood sugar at nornal levels.. Hopefully it won't get to the stage where I need insulin..

Inc.. Just asked hubby.. the third sign is increased thirst.. I used to go the the toilet about 4 times a day.. Now I go about double that amount.. Don't worry too much.. You may not have it.. Your urine test has been ok so far, right? My last one wasn't.. So it's really everything put together, not any singular factor..

~ So many people seem to be having Sciatica.. Maybe cos we are all expanding very fast now..

fushiastar:
ya lor.. must really cut down.. now i only eat meiji plain crackers for my snacks.. drinking only plain water or green tea.. cutting down on rice intake.. eating more of bee hoon soup and kuay tiao soup..

Kuririn, You may want to note that Carbo's that are recommanded for people with diabetes are the ones with low glycaemic index. They include Wholemeal breads, brown rice and short strand pastas..

Fresia &amp; Sneaky,
ya..its somewh between waist and butt. and when i press and try to massage that area, its hard to find it. it feels a bit like the ache after doing abt 1000 squats! but really sharp excruciating pain for me. whenever i sit down on my chair or get up to walk, the pain shoots. i hope it goes away...or else how to tahan thru another 3 mths...help...

mrstan: i think there's nothing we can do except to apply hotpacks...hubby offered to go shopping with me this weekend to get one...i know it's very painful...so am i feeling it too...

fushiastar:
ok.. thanks will take note.. will start to eat wholemeal bread from now.. hehe.. can't always eat pastas leh even though there's a pastamania nearby my workplace.. btw short strand pastas means fusilli those type??

Sneaky,
ya i also thinking of getting one. i know Osim got one hot heating pad (green), just put in microwave and can put on any part of body. I only have the pain at one side of butt...its so suan tong now, bit numb from the pain too. I so scared become paralysed leh...do u think need to tell gynae ah?

fuschiastar: You mean you're allowed to put on 3 kg by week 23???? So little meh?? Aiya, I think I may have V infection... going for unscheduled appt later to find out.. some more I got a cold and sore, itchy throat+cough.. You all think can get medicine for common cold from gynae or not ah? Otherwise tonight must go see GP leh.. now I scared I pass my virus to my girl, then if she falls ill I'll be dead having to take care of her too!!!

All: Thought of names for your babies yet?

Hmm.. none of you wanna try the maternity support belt for the pain? The reason there is pain is cos the weight of the baby pressing on the Sciatica nerve.. So it the baby's weight is supported, by a maternity support belt, think it may help?

Kuririn.. Do be careful if you are eating pastas outside, cos they probably add lotsa stuff that are very rich.. like cheese and stuff.. I got the "short strand pasta" from the net, it mentioned that generally the short strand ones like fusilli have lower GI than the long strand one like spaghetti.. There's a thread on gestational diabetes.. It's pretty informative..
I PM you some info in diabetic diet I just consolidated fro the net..

Kris, yah.. I was told 0 kg for 1st 3 months, thereafter 1-1.5 kg a month.. 10-15 kg in total..So week 23 is the end of the 5th month and it ahould be 2-3kg lor.. I don't know if gynae Rx flu medcine.. But take good care..

Kuririn, cannot PM you leh..

fushiastar: huh ah?? 0kg for 1st 3months?? i already put on 5.5kg in my 1st 3 months liao!!!!!!! and currently in my 23rd weeks so for my current 2nd trimester, i put a total of about 3.8kg...

Ladies, there's a mattel sale at Concourse from today till sunday! Got mattel, fisher-price, sesame street stuffs.

It is a crazy sale! By the time I went there no more fisher price stuffs left I only managed to grab 2!

fushiastar:
change my settings liao.. u should be able to PM me.. hehee..

kris:
ya i know.. cook pasta at home b4.. hehe.. ok tomorrow's n sunday lunch I will have pasta at home.. but i can't cook n bring to office eat.. cos no microwave or wat to heat up..

Yah, my gynae very strict about weight.. A few of my colleagues saw her too and she also told them to watch their weight.. I'm actually underweight to begin with but even taking that into consideration, she still says that amount of weight gain lor..

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

Rem. U mentioned bout going for massage few wks ago. Where did u go for e massage? Izzit gd?

I need to go for a massage too, whole body feel so stiff</font>

mrstan, as for the pain, i don't think there is anything the gynae can do leh. Massage the area and put hotpack. Maybe can use the bellybelt as suggested by fushiastar.

Kris, I'm having cough and sore throat now. I went to gynae yesterday and was given cough mixture and lozenges. He say over the counter from pharmacy also can. Better inform pharmacist abt pregnancy if you buy from pharmacy.

fresia,
ya i thot so too..i prob will get the hotpack lor..cos can use it for other areas also..belly belt i went to see at kiddy palace, like quite thick, scared hot leh, cos gotta wear beneath clothes.
eh u better take care since u are sick now. drink lots of warm water.

fresia: Thanks! I'm not seeing my own gynae later cos my gynae's too packed. Am seeing another gynae whom I dun really like, but what to do, really must get myself checked out.
I'll ask her if she can gimme anything for my cold and cough later! Can save an extra consultation with the GP!

mrstan, thanks.
I am coughly badly and I worry will bb feel uncomfy since when I cough, the belly will move up and down. Maybe bb will be dizzy? hahhaa....
Will drink more water

I think all of us should take good care now. The news said the Bird Flu seems to be coming back. So must be extra careful.

hey ladies, how do we maintain a good posture so that we can minimised backache? How we know we are not arching our back too much?

hi girls

u may want to check with your gynae if there's any cream to apply on the pain area. i too am experiencing the pain. Its exactly at the place where i used to have lower back muscle spasm
so i thought i'm the odd one out.

now, i only use some medicated oil to apply on it when i really feel its hurting too much. Dare not apply tiger balm which i used to.

kris, fresia

pls take good care of yourselves ok.

Mrs Tan.. I don't wear my belt under my clothes.. Quite uncomfortable, esp cos I'm applying stretchmark cream.. I wear on top.. My job allows me to do that cos I have to wear another gown on top of my normal clothes anyway, so my gown covers the belt that is above my clothes.. I find that it really helps me lor.. When I take out my belt (to go to the toilet etc) I can feel the weight of my belly.. If I can get away with it, I use my hands to "carry" my belly when I'm walking and I'm not wearing my belt, if not, belly very heavy.. Also wear it above my clothes at home, No one to see, so never mind..
Backache has been less..

Fresia.. Yah.. About the bird flu.. Must be careful.. I stay away from people who are sneezing.. Really cannot afford to fall sick if we can help it lor.. Good question about posture.. I guess things like making sure we don't hunch when we walk and sit down? If possible sit in chairs with back support? I find putting a small pillow at the small of my back when I'm sitting helps..

Btw, try not to sleep on your back but on your sides cos i realised that its hurts more if i sleep on my back too long (too tired and didnt realised that i am sleeping on my back)

If you are sleeping on your side, place a pillow or bolster between your legs. More comfortable. HTH!!

fushiastar : Congrats to you on ur little princess!
Do take care of your diet, ok!

Mrs Tan, sneaky : Yes, I have this pain too, right-side of buttock too. Think since 1 mth ago.
Checked with my gynae, he said it's due to the baby's weight, cos baby's weight starts impacting our buttock liao... I don't feel pain when sitting or walking, just feel very pain when lying down, can't move my buttock at all... :p

My gynae suggested to me to apply some tiger palm cream to rub rub... very funny ley him...

Hi all..

wah , today v active.

I realise that gynae will always tell you to limit wt gain to 10kg becos' they know that eventually some mothers allow themselves to balloon to beyond 20kg! so upfront i think it's a good call for them to limit us first. plus with all this gestation diabetes..

Btw, I do not have any urine glucose but my gynae still insist on me taking blood test to determine if I have glucose in my blood - she says signs like feeling thirsty, fatigue, and peeing very often are indications of diabetes.

So far i haven't limit my intake of sugar but anything we eat can be converted into sugar, not just sugar sugar..

Kris - how come u suuspect u have V infection? is it itchy there? many antenatal infections dont have symptoms so i keep washing myself there.
If you take antibios, it also causes itch below - because anti bios kill good and bad cells.. it's a v common side effect.

Look like all of us have some pain here and there!! i describe myself as a broken down machine... I guess doc can't do much except tell u it's normal to feel pain because of water retention, loose ligaments etc.. so take care all of you!!

MC: I've been having this strange rash there, at the sides, and it's super itchy! And I had also just got well from another V infection...
Aiya.. plagued by infections leh... v sian..
Must go liow! Tata!!

mrstan: i think tell gynae better...maybe he has a pain relieving cream suitable for you leh???

jenifur: yes yes...i went for massage 3 times already...it's called Heritage House of Traditional Javanese Massage. there's one at 6th avenue and another one at thomson (opp the prata shop and next to UOB bank). tel for the 6th avenue branch is 64673306

puea: i feel the pain most of the time except when i'm seated...i'll try rubbing with tiger balm...must buy tonight...

poshbb:
be careful hor tomorrow b4 ur checkup better dun eat or drink too much sweet things.. cos the other time b4 i went checkup i drank a packet of yeo's lemon tea.. then go checkup.. guess wat my glucose in urine very high (triple plus).. gynae was so shocked.. until I told her cos I drank the lemon tea.. she let me off tat time.. hehe

girls,
help! i just ate some strawberries &amp; lychee, the fried chicken Shihlin and now munching on Roti Boy! oh no..my appetite is so scary! guilty guilty... and i had horfun for lunch just now leh.

mrs Tan... here i am too ashamed to admit that i finished my floss bun and a bowl of tang yuan dessert (v sinful, peanut tangyuan in peanut soup.).. yummy... Now i know y my frens say in 3rd tri alone, they gain almost 10 kg!!