(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Huh? Pain on nipples?? How come I don't experience it at all till now?
But I realise that my nipples become bigger liao... and the color also changed darker... my hb said not nice looking liao...

Puea:
ya mine too.. then hubby said why become so big?? bb how to suck from there.. bb's mouth so small.. sigh..

-SusanY, Your baby's name is very unique..

-Jenifur, my baby kicks everywhere... from near the bellybutton to near my pelvis..

-Sneaky, thanks for the link.. just wanted ut.. The mother's nipple looks so elongated i the video..

-Kuririn, mine no pain yet..

-Kris: Kyra & Ember..Kai Le & Kai Xuan.. Like Kyra too..
And they have lovely meanings.. You take good care and rest well
kao_sleep.gif

~My
295876.gif
Zoe's chinese name will be Shi1 Min3
kao_love.gif

Shi1 as in poem.. Min3 not decided yet..
Any suggestions, everyone?
I like "En" too.. My bro is called Zhi1 En1.. Was thinking of Wei3 En1 If I ever have a son..

fushiastar: yah loh...elongated...but it doesn't look very painful huh? let's hope we have an easy time breastfeeding our babies...

I thought people said if having boy the mummy will be ugly with swollen nose, pimples face etc coz alot of male hormones. But if having ger mummy very pretty with glowing skin.

That's why I keep monitoring my nose and skin. But one thing is I got pimples breakout on my chest and back area my face is ok. Dunno should cry or not

Sneaky.. yah.. The mother's nipple was stretched and pulled so much!!.. Scary leh.. Does that mean that after breastfeeding we will have elongated nipples and our nipples won't be round anymore...?

fushiastar: i think it's gonna be like that during the whole breastfeeding period...it shd go back to normal (maybe not as nice as before) after some time...

Puea.. Yeah.. was watching the video link on pumping Sneaky posted..

Sneaky.. eeks.. I just asked my friend who was breastfeeding..
She says that during breastfeeding, nipples are elongated.. shaped like beans.. after she stopped breastfeeding after 3months.. said her nipples are not as elongated like when she was breastfeeding but they are not round anymore.. Then she told me that her friend was direct breastfeeding for 1 year and after a year, her friend's nipple which she saw, looks like the NUK teat!! The sacrifices mothers make for their little babies...

kris: Baby Bear clinic is located at Blk 849 and its near evergreen sec school. I think its a padetrician. Maybe u can check it out one of the days.

Fushiastar: wah, your contract not very flexible hor. No notice period allowed one ah? more commonly will be to deduct as unpaid leave and given your current situation, its not that possible to extend your contract right
Maybe u can talk to the HR. Probably the boss and HR agrees to let u go off earlier cos of your health??

Me thinking of getting Similac NewBorn. Didnt really scout or compare milk powder lor. U really do your homework ah... So Frisco can also be considered. Intend to get it later together with diapers

TMC will give us a small bottle of Lactacid (not sure of spelling) when we discharge from hosp after delivery. Its a non rinse type for BB.

I actually bought Pigeon 2in1 foam bath but yet to check if its non rinse type.

Think will keep the Aqueous cream in mind. Only intend to get Drapolene and Desitin Creamy. Saw TMC selling $17, not sure if KKH sells cheaper or not.

SSL.. Yeah.. I'm actually still bonded to the government- Ministry of Health, cos they paid for part of my Uni education.. So this contract has pretty strict terms.. I can leave earlier but then it's considered breaking my bond and I have to pay the government back.. It's quite a lot of money.. I'm still trying to figure a way out..
No lah.. just look at baby milk powder ingredients when I'm grocery shopping..
There are so many types with different bases and ingredients.. Just trying to make some sense of it all ..

~Find that I'm getting tired a lot these days.. Gonna write a list of baby things to get for hubby and have him get everything else.. Too tired to go hunting anymore.. Thankfully have gotten the larger bulk of things..

Last night hubby and I were talking about logistics.. where the confinement lady's gonna sleep.. We decided to put the baby cot in the living room-common area, better, then can see what the confinement lady does with baby.. Then the confinement lady in our spare bedroom which we are using as a 2nd storeroom now.. That means that room has to be cleared out..
My MIL was telling us that we have to try to be nice to the conefinement lady cos she has a hold on us.. the baby.. don't want her to take things out on the baby if she's not happy..

Hi gals, heard from my cousin, when she breastfeeding last time, my nephew was kind of not able to reach her nipples & just somehow "bite" her nipples, so end up her nipples were crack & bleeding... see how noble we are going to be! :p

fushiastar : You got to take care! Maybe can talk to MOH see whether any workarounds for your case since you're bearing the baby the govt want? :p

And yes, should get all necessary things to be done by now liao... my cousin keeps telling me, if missed out anything, never mind, when baby is out & you need it, then ask your HB to buy lor...
As long as you settle confinement lady & baby sleeping place, and some necessary things, that's should be enuf liao.
Don't tire out yourself...

I have got all baby necessary things prepared, and dun want to shop around liao cos nowsadays it's too tired to walk around...

wow so scary ah..the nipple will change shape wan?! so sian..

i expecting a gal, yet nmy nose is swollen & red wor....and i have pimples outbreak on my face & back...so i think if u expect boys..urs will be opposite of me? hehe

fushiastar

Oh, then its abit hard to negotiate i guess. Unless they agree to let u continue your contract after your "maternity leave"

Ya, i also bought most of my BB stuff, only left diapers and milk powder. If there are missing items when BB born, can always get hubby to buy
My hubby will most likely be taking 2 weeks leave to be with me

For me, the CL will sleep in the spare room with my BB and the cot. Its sort of the nursery ma. At least we can ensure that the room is clean. And there's already a bed in the room.

I have trust in this CL cos she is recommended by a close friend
so hope things will go well. We cant possibly keep our eyes glue to the CL at all times so i guess trust is very important.

confinement lady that i ever promised you all. her name is Mei Fang, 40 something years old, she is a nice lady. she have been booked for this month for confinement in Yishun. her contact number in singapore is 6261 6775.

SSL.. yep.. Your hubby can take 2 weeks-that's so good... Mine can only take 10 days max..

My CL also recommended by a close friend and I actually met and saw her while my friend was doing confinement.. I have an issue with trust I guess.. Find it very difficult to trust my baby that's so precious to me although she's still unborn when she's so so tiny to a stranger.. Hubby's suppose to keep his eyes glued to the CL when he's on leave, then I'll try to keep mine glued to the CL as much as possible thereafter..

10 days about the same as 2 weeks la. will see how things goes, if he is too busy and CL and I can manage ourselves at home, then he can go back to work.

sneaky: u said u had back pain. Do u feel the pain while walking? Is it those kind of twitching pain (nerve) that comes suddenly if u happen to use that particular side of the leg to walk?

Harlow gals..!I long time neber logged in liao...How's everyone & your precious doing?

Getting tired very easily nowadays..really have to salute those of you who can still go swimming/ yoga..me walk 15 minutes tired liaoz..

Help! Does anyone experience pain at the belly button? Coz I do these 2 days..and the belly button feel like going to burst..is that normal?

Also have you all chosen your paedatrician? How did u go about choosing?

hi breakbeats,

i do get the pain at belly button but not frequent. only happened twice lately but the pain went away after a while.

Havent really decided on any pedatrician. Probably go to the one near my house

Btw, is it necessary to go to a padetrician for those BB jabs or we can go to GP?

Breakbeats.. I haven't gone for yoga although I was planning to..
I haven't chosen paediatrician yet.. Gynae will usually recommand..

SSL: Think can go for either.. I'll be going to a GP.. I'm opting for the 5 in 1 jab for immunization..

Breakbeats.. I haven't gone for yoga although I was planning to..
I haven't chosen paediatrician yet.. Gynae will usually recommand..

SSL: Think can go for either.. I'll be going to a GP.. I'm opting for the 5 in 1 jab for immunization..

fushiastar: wah...so scary ah??? look like nuk teats somemore...my SIL expressed "pink/strawberry" milk when her daughter bit her till her nipples bled. she ended throwing the whole bottle of precious milk away...

garfield: i'm expecting a boy and yet i'm having all the mentioned symptoms too leh...i look ugly now...

Breakbeats: actually hor, after doing yoga, i find myself more energized! All the stretching kinda jolt me up..think it is good to do yoga or some other exercises like swimming as it will perk u up..

i haven't decide which paedetrician yet....must really go to paed for bb jabs ah? think these kind of specialists cost a lot....think i will be going to polyclinic for the jabs.my sil's son having all the jabs at polyclinic, it is cheap and i find it ok. maybe if bb fall sick next time, will bring him to see gp instead of polyclinic or paed..

sneaky: i also looked uglier now as compared to my past...think everyone differs...but it is "all thanks" to our hormones during pregnancy lor..

SSL: Thanks, at least now I know its not unusual..
But the feeling is really weird leh..can feel the belly button very tight..

Garfield: Okie, shall follow your advice..
shall try to exercise more..

SSL/ fushiastar/ garfield: When I was booking the hosiptal ward thru my gynae, they asked me if I have my own paediatrician or not and I dun have..that's y I consult u all..

For bb jabs I think going to follow garfield by going to polyclinics..cheaper mah..

Hi breakbeats,

My gynae didnt ask me if i have my own padetrician when booking the hosp ward leh.

Maybe different hosp practice differently. Mine is TMC.

For jabs, i will go nearby (within walking distance from home) GP or padetrician cos most likely will be going on my own. If go far, then hubby got to take leave. With BB born, i feel its better he keep his leave for emergencies.

SSL: yes, that sounds like my type of pain...as long as i move/lift up my right foot, i'll feel the pain....sharp sharp one somemore...

garfield: yah loh...i think "ren ming" loh...for the sake of baby, ugly also nevermind...as long as we can get back to close as before can liao...

<font face="Calisto mt"> Ladies,

R we still meeting up tmr evening?? If not then I going swimming.</font>

<center>
295958.jpg
</center>

Breakbeats: I'll be sticking to the same pd as my #1. I'm also with TMC like SSL. Our gynae will ask if you have a pd in mind or will recommend/assign a pd cos newborns need a pd to check on them everyday while they are at the hospital. My pd would report to me every morning in my ward when I delivered my #1 and tell me everything that he has done/administered for my girl. He also monitored her level of jaundice and discharge he after photo-theraphy etc.

For jabs however you can go to the POlyclinic but make sure they monitor bb's growth properly and check bb thoroughly. When bb is very very young (0-6 months) and falls ill it's best to go straight to the pd cos experience has taught me that GPs and polyclincs simply don't have good enuf medication for these very young ones. The pds will also give us parents advice on how to dilute bb's feed if nec and what to look out for if things take a turn for the worse. From 6 months onwards it's ok to go to the GP for a simple cough or cold, but even until now when my 23 month old girl runs a high fever I will still bring her to the pd. They are really more effective and can check immediately if bb has UTI or other more serious illnesses. So dun avoid the pd completely. You may just end up spending even more money bringing bb to one doc after another.

Kris: You're a saviour, thanks for the detailed info and great advice!
kao_kiss.gif

In that case, I'll monitor how good is the pd recommended by my gynae, then decide whether to continue to go back to him/her in the long run, or look for alternative pd.

Sneaky.. baby suckle until nipple bleed!!!.. Oh no.. Your poor SIL

Jenifur, I cannot.. Have dinner with inlaws tonight..

Kris, are you feeling better today?

About baby's medical care.. I'll be going to a GP for all the immunization jabs.. From what I hear, polyclinic is sufficient for immunization jabs, It will come up to $200-300..

I agree with Kris that if out little babies fall sick, polyclinic is not sufficient.. What is more important is us as parents.. We need to be able to tell when the baby is ill and when the baby is not..
For eg I think things like eczema don't need to see paediatrician, can see gp..
But if baby develops a fever or keeps vomitting or stools are a strange colour, or become breathless, or keep crying..then must see paediatrician cos they are more experienced although more ex.. This kind of money cannot save one..
As for which one.. I haven't really started sourcing yet..

good morning girls..

wow u all so fast talk abt immunization jabs n paediatrician liao ah.. hehe.. I will be going to polyclinic for immunization jabs.. my colleagues told me its cheaper lor.. as for paediatrician, there's actually one just opposite my block but then always alot of people one.. guess I better go look around see if nearby have a not just in case..

296028.png

fuschiastar: My voice still not back yet leh.. and still very tired. But 2moro will have to go back to work liow lah. You leh? Better?

Kuririn: Always crowded means the doc must be good! Like the clinic near my place with 2 doc who come on alternate days. On days that the good doc is in the clinic will be crowded but on other days the staff there just sit around and hit mosquitoes.

kris:
but crowded means u have to waiting time is longer lor.. everytime walked past the clinic, very crowded inside.. got some parents even standing outside the clinic waiting..

296090.jpg

Kris.. If you are still sick, take MC tomorrow too?
I'm better.. No more phlegm but still coughing so so badly.. I don't like being sick..

Sneaky, that's quite scary, then can't breastfeed til breast heals right? If not feeding baby our blood.. eeeyew.. I guess we should invest in a good nipple cream..

triangle_right.gif
Heard that the Medela Purelan is good.. Any comments??

Sneaky : my friend was given Bengay cream for pain relief by gynae. Hubby's colleague also recommend this cream. Maybe u can check with your gynae if its useful in pain relief.

kris: ur pd in TMC right. Can i have the name cos remembered hubby's colleague recommend one at TMC but i cant remember the name liaoz

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">So I guess we're not meeting tonight rite... next time then</font>

<font color="0077aa">kris</font>,

Do we get to choose e PD during our stay in TMC? If yes then mayb can u recommend urs?</font>

<center>
296099.jpg
</center>

fushiastar: yah...must wait till heal...while it's healing, can only pump gently...as for Medela Purelan, my SIL recommended me this cream and i bought it 1 month back. i've used it only once so far and feel that it's quite sticky. but SIL says this is the best cream so far...so listen loh....

jenifur: i think many of us are not prepared for tonight's gathering. we shall schedule again, k?

hi all, been bz today now then free to login..

i intend to get Medala Purelan since a lot of my friends recommended it. One of my colleagues advised me to start moisturizing my nipples with the cream now...especially towards the last trimester...this is to moisturize the nipples so that when breastfeeding, nipples will not crack easily....

i think i will apply during my last trimester say during my last month...hehe

hi kris,

i just checked the bottle. the Pigeon 2in1 shower foam is rinse type. when can BB start using rinse type of bath foam??

Guess i better go buy those non rinse ones.

jenifur, i think dun bother to schedule for gatherings lah coz seems like not very enthusiatic response. thank you very much for your effort.

Garfield, can we use Medala Purelan before delivary.. Thought I read somewhere only for after birth.. Not sure.. I have this Camomile nipple cream that I use when my npples look dry now...

SSL.. Good question.. I just assumed that babies can be bathed with water immediately.. Didn't know cannot?...

about Immunization:

1) 3in1
* Diptheria, Tetanus &amp; Pertusis (DTP) (jab)
* Polio given oral
* Hepatitis B (Hep B) is optional payable by medisave
* no HIB (to prevent meningitis)

2) 4-in-1
* DTP + HIB (jab)
* Polio given oral
* Hep B separate, payable

3) 5-in-1
* DTP + HIB + Polio (jab )
* Hep B separate, payable

4) 6-in-1
* DTP + HIB + Polio + Hep B (jab)

fushistar: my colleague said can apply now leh...but i din apply now lah..i din even buy the cream yet.hehe...maybe will start to apply during my last month....my nipples are ok...not dry so i din bother to apply any cream.i just try to go as natural as possible.
wow the jabs sounds so confusing...i dunno wat to choose leh...

All: sorry, abit drowsy now.. dunno who exactly to address to, but the Purelan cream is indeed one of the best nipple cream. And yes, you should start using it in the 8 or even 7th month cos it can soften the nipples and prepare it for bf. I did that and suffered no cracked nipple at all!

SSL: Once the umbilical cord dries and drops off can start using rinse bath foam liow.
As long as the cord doesn't dry up and drop off, you may not want to immerse bb in water. Just do wiping can already.

And my girl's pd is Dr Ong Eng Keow from TMC Singapore Baby &amp; Child Clinic. If you wanna see his face he answers qns in the Health Q+A column in the Young Parents magazine. Nice and patient man. Has 3 children of his own and definitely very pro.

Fuschiastar: Cannot take MC already lah, v pai seh liow. Better go back to work 2moro.