(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

hehe, just realized, i let you all try out the classes and will see the feedback here, will enrol xaby in the one that everyone says is good

sweetie: i'm not familiar w semb area coz i live at holland..i'm targeting the JG class in june.. the bilingual playclub is 2hr even though that's inclusive of free play and snack.. zoe can't even take a 1.5hr class. not sure if she'll be ready for a 2hr class in april.. see how.. may send her for hol class to try out first..

yippee,
really? thats great... i hope will see you there too.

my friend's son born in feb already talking and running... guess year end baby is quite a disadvantage....hope can help them by letting them go for classes...

sweetie
yupz, we registered to be on wait list a couple of months back when we were at forum. They asked me if I want Evans Road but I tot it may be a better idea to go forum, despite expensive & limited parking lots, as forum may have more cafes etc which could be better for the other waiting parent.

patsy: xaby's health is more important
she will have lots of time after the surg for many many classes!

fun: oh i see.. yah i live at holland v..
won't travel too far for class one..

sweetie and yipee: i also would have preferred the forum one but i only want the sat 9am slot and it's only avail at evans road.. oh well..

fushiastar
you can wake up so early & still got time to post. Good manz.

Yesterday, I just book Kaiser in for a trial at Gymboree play program next Sat. Think he needs more exposure to kids.

yipee ya ya: zoe usually wakes up at 6am for breakfast and she wasn't awake yet and i wake up earlier to prepare her breakfast mah..
i heard gymboree is good for gym classes

** zoe now has 2 new bad habits. for the past 2-3 weeks, sometimes she will use one hand and tug at the other arm with quite a lot of force.. leaving scratch marks.. while she is doing that she also screehes.. don't know what to do about it.. i tried saying "no no" firmly and there's no effeet.. also tried telling her gently why she shouldn't do it and no effect..
Yesterday, she started to bite her own arm!! leaving little teethmarks!!
She's hurting herself and i don't know why or how to stop it..
anyone has any input? TIA

HI fushiar

are you FTWM? experts say toddlers bite themselves because they crave love and attention.. So if both parents are working, i think sometimes the kid will devise ways to get your attention.. I'm also wondering - could she have picked up from TV ?
The way to react is to stay calm first as the books will tell you - so that the kid knows that this is no way to get your attention. I feel your anxiety..

Hi Fushiar, Here's something from babycentre - might help you. trick is that it will take time but kid will learn n phase will pass.

Q : My two year old has started to kick and bite. How can I stop him?

Penney Hames answers:
Many two and three year olds go through an aggressive phase. But with love and firmness you can show them how to behave.

Toddlers hit and bite, kick and punch because it is a sure fire way to get your attention, something your children crave. You need to show them that it doesn't work.

As soon as he hits out (don't wait) tell him that because he has hit or bitten he must now sit in 'time out' for two minutes (use a minute for each year of his life). Say this as calmly as you can and then don't say anything else. Next, lead him firmly but kindly to a designated chair (preferably one from which his feet can neither touch the floor nor kick the walls) and leave him to sit.

Do not send him to his room or to the bottom step. You need to keep an eye on him, and he needs as few distractions as possible. A chair in the kitchen is great.

If he gets up, take him back immediately. Tell him that the time out will only begin when he is sitting. Put your hand on his leg to encourage him to stay. Do not let him off if he says he's sorry, he needs to sit still first. Don't talk to him during his time out or allow any one else to either. Use the two minutes to calm yourself down. When the time is up, ask him to apologise and then forgive and forget. Eventually your toddler will get the message.

Your toddler is learning what he can and cannot do. With time out and your positive and loving attention whenever he is playing well, he won't need to go on hitting and biting for long.

fushiastar, i think the best thing to pretend not to see. pammie is right, they are doing this to get attention. the more you talk about it, the more they will do it again. just like Samuel....he's developed a habit of playing with his belly-button. at first, we kept scolding him, in fact, shooting his fingers till we gave up. now, he will purposely do it in front of us and if we don't see, he will screech. we will stand firm and not look or talk about it. he will give up in a while. i'm wondering when he will totally stop this bad habit! another thing...it's also his habit to pull his bird bird whenever his diaper is removed. the more we say no, the more he wants to pull...haiz...

sneaky: this is more like a growing stage... clar also sama lehz.. pampers off, she will touch her chee chee.. maid tell her no, she purposely do it. Clar started her 1st two steps.. hope she can walk by CNY.. kekekke.

Noti clar now knows how to shhh shhh ppl when one speaks too loud.. so notiz

carole,
hey tammi also took 2 steps last night. Usually when we make Tammi walk, me and daddy are a few feet apart and she just walk from me to him and vice versa but she wont just walk on her own. Last night she took 2 steps on her own! Also she started to do the "Shh shh " thing using her finger to her lips .. I think they learnt in postive tots class - the mummies in the bus go "shh shh shh".
before that i never saw her doing this.

sneaky

brennan also likes to pull his bird bird when we remove his diaper. hahaha

so i will scold him and say "NO" and he will withdraw his hands. My mum say cos whole day wrapped up in diaper so when its being "AIRED" during the diaper change, they find that they can finally scratch it. hahaha

Carole:
lucky Sherisse not the only one who does that.. whenever we took off her diaper she will touch her shh-shh place de loh.. so dirty have to keep her hands off.. wah if she poo har even worse one person have to hold her hands de loh..

My girl has the bad habit of throwing her pooh bear, or pacifier down from her bed. She seems to derive joy from seeing us picking these things up again and again for her. last nite, she threw (purposely one) 30 times!she throw, we pick, she throw, we pick..sigh...a neverending game.

We tried giving her a stern look coupled with a firm 'NO', she will smile at us. We also tried not picking up for her, but she will climb down the bed and pick up the things and start throwing again..sigh..she doesn't seems to be able to exhauste her energy...

why are our kids developing such weird bad habits...is there really no way to kick those habits?

fiona: just only gng to be a growing phrase. just each kid differ from one another.
well, some of us enjoy this phrase, and some dun.

sneaky: clar sometimes got good mood will say bye.. if bad mood, she no hue lor. like last nite, she touched things in car, hb said no, real loud, she just hide her face so close to me and giving him a pout mouth.. so cute. i was like.. see u noti papa scold. her mouth even more. kekeke

Hmm.. Kaiser likes to pinch ppl at times. Sometimes, he will also hit ppl's hands. We tell him firmly no, he still continue to do it.

he also does the birdie thing when changing diaper sometimes, unless we give him some toys to hold. Once my mom tried to change diapers for him on the floor mattress. Once his diapaer is off, he crawled away quickly & then pee at the door. OMG!

Fiona,

initially my daughter picked up a really bad habit, tossing books, toys, newspapers everywhere. I mean tossing - as in picking up from shelf then throwing it like shot putt. So to overcome that I had to make her keep the stuff she removes from the shelf. I don't scold her for tossing i just say ok times up, let's put the books back and one by one i hand over to her to put back on the shelf. within days, she stopped tossing. I think she learnt that the more she toss the more she has to clean up and she just learnt it

Dear all mum
i dont know you all still know me. I am Amari, my son born in Oct2005. hehehe i read all of your mum stories. interesting.

I would like to share my story, my son Darren now is 14 months. he started walking last month. Now he walked every inch of the house. and the best place is kitchen. maybe new things there. we have to installed the gate to bent.

Having a child is really a warm hearting when you reach home and he is waiting for you and can't wait you enter the house and hug plus carry him.

Darren also very clever, he can going down from our bed. my husband only teach him twice and he can do it now.. hihihi.. using the bottox and he will make sure his feet touch the floor then he will let go the hand.

I also teach him throw garbage. now whenever he saw his dirty pampers (not the poo poo one) he will take it and go directly to the garbage and throw it. cute.

hi amari, talking about throw rubbish. Samuel is also good at throwing stuffs. it's useful when you want to throw something yet lazy to do so. he will throw his own soiled diaper into the dustbin...but the horrifying part is, i think he threw away my watch and hair clip...i've been watchless since beginning this week!!!

pammie and sneaky: thanks for your input.. i only work part time.. 2 mornings a week only and zoe actually gets quite a lot of attention from me.. Will try to ignore her when she does those things.. hopefully it will stop..

Last lesson at GUG today.. Have decided to send zoe for kindermusik from this week onwards
she'll be going for the sun 1pm class at tanglin mall

Re: Throwing things..
zoe loves to throw things too.. but she's also recently learnt how to put things away so not so bad..

ermmm..haven't measured charlize for a long while so no idea how tall she is. By popular demand, i tried to search for the measuring tape but can't find it. Will try to get 1 from mum then let you guys know.

yah, she's very tall, both husband n me tall too. her feet also vey big like us. sometimes when she play with other kids in malls and when we parents chat, they also shocked that she is younger than their toddler.

charlize's bad habit is digging nose. don't know how to get her to stop. Very ugly on mrt.

fushiastar, luckily you called me at the GUG class, now for sure I will recognise you if bump into zoe again. Didn't quite like today's trial. Will not sign up. Will try to pick up zoophonics too.

Wana chk:

Does any babies here have lots of nose 'gold' everyother day? Alden always irriated by his nose 'gold' leh..have to make him cry in order to come out sometime..LOL

fun, samuel doesn't have a lot of "gold" to dig leh...in fact, i hardly clean his nose one...

carole, here's a pic for you...
615250.jpg

Throwing Things

Think babies at this age LOVE to throw things. Mine throws everything out of her cot, from the high chair and from her play area. Even when she's sitting on the toilet bowl. Guess its fun to see things drop.

Any one brought their babies for high tea?? I tried and it was fun. She ate quite a lot of stuff with me and was able to sit through the 2+ hours. Quite worth it bringing them out to eat... Only adults pay!

whitefloral:
easy to recognise charlize cos of her height
yah, try out the zoophonics set

sneaky and carole: that's such a nice pix of clarisse
and samuel looking at pretty clarrise

Re: Positive babies trial
the babies and cream ppl called and asked me if we are signing up as a class! i said no.. decided not sending zoe for positive tots after all..going for kindermusik

SWING
does anyone here own a toddler swing? can recommend a brand/type for me to get? wanna buy one for zoe..
the fisherprice 3in1 smart stages rocker swing would be too small for her now right?

fushiastar
Kaiser & I are gog for a trial at Kindermusik Tanglin Mall tom while on wait list for the new term. Hope he will enjoy himself better tom.

fushiastar,

Be careful when you buy swing especially when its moving, kids tend to hold their hands on the handle and get caught when the swing move forward and backward....

grace didnt like to sit the fisherprice one... gets bored and wants to come down.

yipee ya ya.. me going for kindermusik at tanglin today too!!! 1pm class.. what about you??

sweetie: oh.. will take note.. i was thinking of getting zoe a swing cos she enjoys it so much! IFC has a swing, but it's the kind that hangs down from the ceiling and i sometimes bring her to the swing at the playground nearby and she so loves it lor.. at ifc she sits in the swing by herself and the teachers tell me that once she is in it, have to swing her for at least 20min if not she will yell and yell! when i bring her to the playground swing, i sit on the swing and she sits on my lap and we swing together.. she likes that too..

do you feel that the fisherprice swing is too small for our toddlers now?

both hb n i are thinking to get clar a slide and swing set. so tat when her baby friends popping over can too play with her be it indoor or outdoor. now have to think which is a better buy... i prefer little tikes, but hb like the rabbit slide and swing.

Hb bought a red merc bag for clarisse, nice big RED! just love tt bag, but she wont get to carry tt till she is older.

my mum bought clar 2 presents, one a remote control car and the other a BABY Doll with stroller. Clarisse loves the baby so much, and she carries it and feed her too. and even put her on stroller and push her. SHe pats her to zzz, when i told her to pat bb to sleep, she will carry and pat the doll's on her back. So cute! we all laughed at clarisse and so happy she enjoyed playing with her new toy.

Guess being the only child for the time being really has the added advantage on getting the best. But sometimes i felt, this will make them real spoilt too. I hope i will go for a 2nd one soon, so that clar can learn the beauty of sharing.

fushiastar
ya, in the same class as you this afternoon. Indeed Kindermusik has a better classroom environment compared to Babies & Cream.

AS expected, Kaiser only warmed up at the end of class. Hiaz... hope he will pick up speed faster in the next few classes.

Yippee & Fushiastar

I went to kindermusik at babies n cream too. think the theme that time was do-si-do. same teacher as the positive tots. so dont really like it.

Heard that the tanglin mall one very good but always very pack. so never for trial there.

Whats the theme that you attended today? comparing the teacher and environment, would you sign up at tanglin mall branch?

yipee ya ya: at least kaiser was happily exploring by himself at the end of the class.. zoe the koala was still stuck to me leh.. i told my hubby that the next time, he has to come in and take over half way through the class too.. v tiring carrying and swinging zoe round the whole class..

SSL: the theme today is dewdrops.. suppose to be related to flowers and a more sedate theme..

this teacher's voice is not that great, kinda nasal but she is v friendly with the babies and can see that the babies who have been here previously do like her.. she also makes the effort to come round to talk to everyone.. quite different from my other tanglin mall kindermusik experience where the teacher had a much nicer voice but wasn't so friendly..

Environment is definitely better..Room is brighter, more pix on the wall.. More instruments for the babies to explore with..

i actually only called up last week to get a sunday slot and managed to.. so can try for a trial.. thinks depends on when you call.. when i called, one class was at the end of the term so higher likeklihood of having slots..Already signed up at tanglin mall- Kindermusik..

carole: good morning.. x'mas shopping ah.. eh.. probably this week lor.. been too busy and i guess its time for me to do some x'mas shopping le.. hehe...

fushiastar
I also sign up aldy for Sun 1pm class. In fact I was pleasantly surprised to find out that our trial yesterday was actually the 1st lesson. That's why I chop chop sign up as I want Kaiser o go classes consistently so that he gets used to classroom routine & other babies ard. BUt of course, I agree with you that I also prefer yesterday's class compared to Babes class last weekend.

SSL
hehehe... see fushiastar also same sentiments with me re Kindermusik leh (although I din exactly take note of the teacher's voice).

I went for photo shoot with foto-U yesterday. So fun! Grace and my hubby enjoyed it. I really find it very meaningful. Hubby gave this to me as my christmas present. Will be getting the photos this week. so excited....

sweetie, we used her too, was very happy with the way the pictures came out!!but how come you have to wait so long for your pictures? i got mine the next day!

hi gals, just wondering if you babies have recently gotten bored of story time? I used to be able to go through a whole book with Xaby with her sitting quietly and listening to me but these days, she'll get so bored after the first 2 pages and start struggling to get away. I've even gone out to buy her those pop up books and those that have actions but so far.. she was more interested in tearing the pages than listening to the story!

Sweetie: here it is: http://uk.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/patsy_sg/album?.dir=2520scd&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//uk.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

6 days to Christmas!!!!!!!!