(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

wah..all mothers so pre-occupied talking about breastfeeding that no one helps in answering my Qsss which i posed a few times. Sigh Sigh...........

Anyway, about breastfeeing, for those using avent manual pump, how much can u pump out and how long it takes?

hi mybabydream,
had appt with him last friday. he says my baby is not ready to pop yet. in the appt, he doesnt mention abt aminiotic fluid or when likely to give birth. i also didnt ask. he is having the 3d scan now so can see the baby if lucky. eveytime i also dun know what to ask when he says anything i want to know.
right now, i only assume everything is fine cos he didnt say anything...
was your appt like that too?

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

Think u can stop using e antiseptic since it's like almost 2 wks liao. How's e wound healing?

As for e bra Question, my colleague wore back her normal bra when she return back to work. She said since only BF BB @ hm so can wear normal bra. I guess it's up to ur own preference, though I've heard tt bra w underwire will affect BM supply.</font>

kris: wah...that's too expensive already...maybe i'll try the Avent instead...think it's cheaper...don't wanna invest too much in this...

mybabydream: i tried the Avent manual pump first time today and i pumped twice already. it took me around half hour to obtain the following: -

1st pump = 80ml
2nd pump = 50ml (3 hrs later)

sneaky: i am using a cheap pump tollyjoy battery operated. yesterday 1st pump 60ml, 2nd pump 60ml.

noisy pump but at least got bm

hi pammie

possible to get another help. i also find stressful to be alone wif bb (so far onli wen my cl and husband go to mkt). even now wif hus going to work, my sil will try to drop by half a day to help out so that i can rest (wake up to do nite pump). guess m oredi quite lucky but still quite stress wen bb cries for no apparent reasons.

Pammie,
Cheer up!! We must enjoy the process and not getting ourself depress easily. Same like you my CL leaving next wk ... suppose to be this wk but I ask her to extend ...

BB cries for no reason and if you have chk is not hunger, hotness, wet diapers etc then perhaps is their way of communicating to us.

ClarisseMummy,
My son got watery stool so I changed from Similac to Enfalac A+ but till now 2 days never poo poo leh ... shd I bring him to see PD?

Any mummies here letting their bb drink Enfalac A+? Got any poo poo difficulties?

Just realised that my BM not established yet. Tried pumping just now and only get 10ml.
so pathetic. Think can only get 50ml when breasts engorged and in the morning.

Anyway, anyone sign up as member of BMSG?

mayday

if 2 days never poopoo, better bring to GP or PD cos they will insert suppositories into BB anus to help him poo. happened to my boy before.

mayday: sneaky using Enfalac, try asking her.. her boy always kena poo... sheoso worried n looking to change to Similac. never PS for 2 days? i think maybe Enfalac heaty for ur bb.

Pammie: cheer up girl... we arent super human being who knows how to do things at the first time. All these skill are acquire through time n experience. I hasnt got chance to shower my little girl.. i bet i will have the same problem. but we should not just give up and get upset over it. but instead to make sure each time we try, we try harder and better.

SSL: try hot towel with massage.. it helps.
dun get so stress.. i oso like u.. day 1 i tried expressing..
only less than 10ml.. now day after day i am getting better..
cheer up! u sure can make it.
Dont forget, we already come this far... from worrying abt TTC till Pregnancy till giving birth... all those worries we already gone through, so we surely can handle the Expressing of BM without any problems!

We are a big family, supporting each other.

ClarisseMummy

Thanks for your encouragement. YES, we have come so far ...... and if we can make it through pregnancy &amp; labour, we can conquer BF.

Am glad that we have this thread and such supportive gals.

I have delivered bb Joshua on 12th Oct afternoon.

My birth story:
12th Oct 0000hr
check in TMC for induction, insert the induction pill and stayin the ward for cervix to open (gynae said my blood pressure abit high so got to induce immediately, but I dun have high blood pressure thru out my pregnancy..anyway..)

12th Oct 0800hr
go to labour ward to check cervix opening, its was 2cm dilated so nurse called gynae to come to hospital

12th Oct 0930hr
gynae come to break my waterbag (actually i want to use epi before breaking waterbag so can have a "painless" process but my gynae just break it without waiting for my epi

12th Oct 11+
cervix open til 6cm already

12th Oct 12+
fully dilated gynae reached and start pushing

12th Oct 1pm+
BB Joshua is out!

Really thanked God I only went thru 5hr labour process. And to my surprise, delivery wasn't such a nightmare afterall hence I told my hubby I will want to try for a 2nd one for sure haha...

adel ...

you popping soon right?

viola ...

coping okie lar ... boi has a fiery temper (think he got the genes from both mum and dad ar!!) ... dun stress abt bf lar .. me feel more like a cow and mum sometimes and seem like 50% of the time i am feeding him ... just latch on as much as possible lor ... personally i find latching on much more effective than pumping and my boi can drain my breast much better than the pump ... oso me lazy to wash and steralise the pump lar heehee ...

inc ...

bb are like that one lar .. now me and KS sometimes will just sit there and watch the bb cry ... actually q funny one ... he will scream at his top of his voice for few sec ... then he will quieten down if we dun react to him ... like battery flat like that .... and sometimes even rest before he start the next round ... but of cos we dun let him scream/cry for too long oso lar ... just wanted to let him know that we will come to him just that not immed sometimes lor ...

anyway like i say ... bb only know how to cry lor ... so dun have to be too stress abt it ...

<font color="ff0000">Breastfeeding</font>

I tried to latch bb on in the hospital immediately after delivery actually it was sorta of successful but I noticed due to my abit "inverted" nipples bb really takes time to latch on sometimes my bb got so frustrated.

After discharge try to latch bb on but due to my mum's pressure and seeing the frustration on my bb trying to find my nipples I switch to express milk feeding *sigh*

so now purely depend on my medela pump to pump milk for my bb.

Qns: If i stored 125ml of breastmilk in a bottle (coz i really run out of bottles to store my milk) in freezer HOW to split my milk portion for bb after thaw as I think my bb each feed is now about 40~50ml in every 1.5~2hr time?

Celine: You can thaw the 125ml in the lower compartment of the fridge first 40-50ml and warm it up. YOu will have to make sure the rest of the ebm is used within 48hrs or you'll havr to throw it away.

<font color="119911">kris</font>,

you mean if i need to use that bottle of 125ml i just switch to lower compartment of the fridge till it liquidfied then split it into afew bottles of 40~50ml and warm up but must use within 48 hours, correct?

fantastic! that's a perfect solution for me! thank you thank you so much! my beloved saviour!

Me currently feeding bb on total breastmilk no supp with FM. Pump 4~5 times per day each pump is 120~130ml

But now bb got jaundice so got to stop breastmilk for yesterday and today and feed him with FM

Hello

My friend is going to give birth in Feb and she need to hire a CL. For those who r currently enaging a CL and find that they r good, can recommed her to me? You may forward your CL's name and contact to me at [email protected]

Thank you very much

Celine: You so funny leh.. wat saviour?? hehe.. ay, why bb got jaundice you must stop bfing? You just dun take sesame oil and ginger then can continue bfing liow! bm better at expelling toxins from the body than fm leh!

<font color="119911">kris</font>,

coz i read from book that BM from freezer after thaw must use within 4hours but each bottle I got 125ml at least and my bb can't drink 125ml at 1 feed so i was pretty upset that i got to throw away the balanced.

but now you told me another way to thaw my freezed BM and I can utilized my BM liao heehee...you make my day

my bb was hospitalized yesterday for jaundice he got to put under that blue lighting for 'suntan' I asked my pediatrician can he be discharged today he said maybe yes but sometimes BM will affect jaundice..its wat they called BM jaundice so he offer me to stop feeding BB with BM yesterday to make sure his jaundice level really drop to normal..

I have reduce the intake of ginger but if I dun take any at all its not good for my confinement right?

Celine,

in fact if u are giving bb BM all the time, u dont even need to freeze it. some books actually say u can keep it in fridge (non freezer) up to 4 days (as long as fridge is cold enough) but in Spore climate, better to stick to 48hrs as Kris says.

Actually after giving birth, then I come to learn that jaundice is caused by several things :
1. conflict in blood group type between mom n bb
2. BM
3. inmature liver

even when bb is underwt, it also prolongs jaundice like in my case...
Nurses told me bb on BM tend to have longer periods of jaundice and advised me to give them water and mix with FM.

But after feeding FM (only 30ml per day) for 2 days I stopped and continued with BM all the way. I also try to give some water and sun her when the morning sun is out. well, she's past 3 wks now and v little jaundice left.

Re Ginger, u can always take it when bb is well..

hi girls,

sorry for the delay, here is my birth story for 25 Sept 2005:

24 Sept Sat 9-11pm
Had strange tummy cramps, cannot time cos very irregular, thought it was food poisoning. Called gynae to inform and he told me to admit if gets severe

11-12am
Tried to sleep but really cramps quite bad, had diarrhoea also but thought it was due to the coconut i drank that night. Decided not to drag and just get it checked at TMC if its indeed contractions

25 Sept Sun 12.30am
Reached TMC and told nurse not sure if it was contractions, was strapped on to check CTG, indeed i was having contractions! Nurse gave me enema to clear bowels, then had show immed. after she did cervix check (1.5cm) for me.

1.00am
Was at labour ward and just bear with the contractions.

2.00am
Heard pop sound and a huge gush of warm liquid - water bag finally burst. After that, pain got worse so decided to take epi since gonna take it anyway.

3.00am
Anaesthetist came and gave me epi. Was quite bearable the whole experience except that i had to bend forward at the side of bed with my huge tummy. Quite uncomfy

4.00-8.30am
Just waited, could not sleep at all cos nurses kept coming in to check on my CTG graph, bp etc.

8.30am
Gynae came and checked cervix. Still only 2cm! He said to wait till 12pm and see progress.

12.30pm
Gynae called and asked nurse in charge abt my progress. She did cervix check again. Abt 3cm now. Gynae instructed her to give me Oxytocin drip to speed up dilation and to wait for another 2 hrs.

2.30pm
Gynae called up again to ask. I was still 3cm! Oh man...i was already getting so tired and have already used up 4 tubes of epi! The hp was passed to me and gynae told me that he will do C-section for me cos even the Oxytocin didnt work so no point waiting any longer.

3.00pm
Gynae appeared very soon and after that, things moved on very fast. I was shaved, socks changed, shower cap put on, gynae went to change to OT attire, so did hubby. Was then pushed into OT, my very 1st operation experience. Was too confused to think abt anythg. I was given a strange gas that made me knock out in secs.

3.36pm
Kenshin was born finally! I was woken up by his loud screaming cries and he was brought to me to cuddle. I teared when i saw him, so glad it was all over. After that, gynae stitched me up, could feel very strong tugging and pushing.

My labour was abt a total of 17hrs or so, gynae said cervix just didnt dilate enough and baby was engaged but facing the wrong side also. I guess shit happens and i ended up with C-section altho i thought i would go for natural. I am recovering well and the wound was not as painful as i had imagined.

hi gals, I am back!
My bb weighs 2.47kg and is born on 14th Oct 2005.

Currently, I am feeding her formula as I still dun have milk. I now try to latch my bb on everyday as well as pump it using the medala pump.hope my milk comes in soon.

ling: can't be cheaper than my Pigeon manual pump @ $35 during sale, right?

mayday: yes, i feed Samuel with Enfalac (not A+) and he had poot poot problems...he did not poot for 2 days, then 3 days...so scary...i called PD and she advised me to get BabyLax. pumped it into baby's anus and within 1 min, he started poot pooting sticky stools...no wonder he had been cranky on those nights when he did not poot...my poor boy must have suffered. then yesterday, he started LS twice...1st time dark greenish stool while the 2nd time light brown with yellowish spots...both also watery and smelly...don't know what's wrong also...shd i switch FM now or shd i just monitor for another 1 or 2 days?

Sneaky: I'm giving him Enfalac A+ and he finally poo poo yesterday night as he been cranking since morning ... poor him ... so cranky till whole face red red ...

My boy can't take similac leh ... the stool so watery so scary leh ... and yes Enfalac A+ poo poo is greenish + mustard yellow + seeds + some lump so I pressume is ok and will continue to monitor him. Tink you shd take the similac fr ling to let him try and monitor again.

celine: our babies can celebrate 1st Birthday at Macdonalds together! whahahahahaha... Delivery wasnt a nitemare i must agree.. but the contraction is the Killer! whahahaha

326015.gif

Seabreeze: adel gng to induce today.
kekeke and likely to admit together with Morraine.. kekkee..

Celine: split it before storing... My CL says new born drinks abt 1.5 oz to 2oz. give bb smaller amt first.. hungry they will cry for it.. better this way
dun waste the BM manz.

Hopeformiracle: girl, Feb when? cos End Jan is CNY leh. does ur friend wan a CL who is strict to observe all rules? or someone who allows her to bath? kekeke.. mine allows me to bathe with herbs and wash hair too.
keep me updated.. if ur friend wan such a nice CL.. kekekke

Celine: u have a CL? my CL told me... water boil with sugar can help to lower jaundice.. kekek.. and try to give bb more water. My GP BIL says, put bb near sun, but not under direct sunlight. my bb has 9.9 for jaundice... thurs gng to see her PD, if her Jaundice improved. meaning the "drink" n sunning works..

errrr... i still take ginger n seasame oil leh... i still BM. my bb jaundice like gng to go off.

Garfield:
326016.gif

Sneaky: KNS!!! Bo Jio!!! manual leh.. kekeke.. mine battery.. kekeke. Aiyo.. Poor sam... keke my poor future SIL.. whahahaha.. tell u a joke hor... each time Clarisse sneeze, i always tease her.. Sam misses u har? lol.. whahah mai angry har. joking only.

Afternoon ladies..

Sorry to intrude.. hee.. i'm frm the Nov Thread, but juz wan to find out frm u ladies, esp those who has 'popped' liao.. wat r ur symptoms when u noe u r in labour? coz i trying to figure out if its true dat those who has bb gers has spotting of blood to inform u dat u r in labour n for those wif bb boys is mainly waterbag burst..

Please enlighten me.. thanks..

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Garfield/Celine</font>,

Congrats.... Welcome to motherhood.

<font color="0000ff">MrsTan</font>,

Gald to have you back here. How's Kenshin doing? Do post more pics of Kenshin leh.

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,

Those of u feeding ur BB EBM, how much r u feeding now? Tried giving Janelle 90ml of EBM last night. She finished everything then still asking to b latch on. Wonder izzit a habit or she's such a big eater or stupid mummy gave too little?

Btw I'm thinking of starting a growth chart as per below.. Pls update me e info like weight &amp; length @ birth

<font size="+2">Babies Growth Chart</font></font>

<font face="Courier New"> <font color="0077aa">as @ 18 Oct 05
Mummies <font color="ffffff">.........</font> <font color="ffffff">.</font>Pop On<font color="ffffff">..</font> BB's name <font color="ffffff">..</font> Birth<font color="ffffff">...</font> 1mth
Fun ............. 11-Sep-05 Alden <font color="ffffff">......</font>
Jenifur ......... 18-Sep-05 Janelle <font color="ffffff">....</font> 2.81/46<font color="ffffff">.</font>
ice ............. 19-Sep-05 Angeline <font color="ffffff">...</font>
Gracemum ........ 20-Sep-05 Grace <font color="ffffff">......</font>
QiQi ............ 22-Sep-05 Boy <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Chris ........... 23-Sep-05 Shaun <font color="ffffff">......</font>
Mayday .......... 23-Sep-05 Tenny <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Winnie .......... 23-Sep-05 Girl <font color="ffffff">.......</font>
MC .............. 24-Sep-05 Tammi <font color="ffffff">......</font>
MrsTan .......... 25-Sep-05 Kenshin <font color="ffffff">....</font> 2.49
Fiona ........... 28-Sep-05 Genevieve <font color="ffffff">..</font> 3.21
inc ............. 29-Sep-05 Boy <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Mybabydream ..... 29-Sep-05 Jx <font color="ffffff">.........</font> 2.70
SSL ............. 29-Sep-05 Brennan <font color="ffffff">....</font>
Sneaky .......... 30-Sep-05 Samuel <font color="ffffff">.....</font> 2.80
Fushiastar ...... 04-Oct-05 Zoe <font color="ffffff">........</font> 2.38
Mdl ............. 04-Oct-05 Tricia <font color="ffffff">.....</font>
Snow ............ 04-Oct-05 Yong Shan <font color="ffffff">..</font>
whitefloral ..... 05-Oct-05 Charlises <font color="ffffff">..</font> 3.50
Viola ........... 07-Oct-05 Girl <font color="ffffff">.......</font>
Celine .......... 12-Oct-05 Joshua <font color="ffffff">.....</font>
Ling ............ 12-Oct-05 Clarisse <font color="ffffff">...</font> 2.77
Garfield ........ 14-Oct-05 Girl <font color="ffffff">.......</font> 2.47
Puea ............ 15-Oct-05 Boy <font color="ffffff">........</font> </font></font>

<font face="calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Celtricia</font>,

I had spotting of blood, follow by waterburst within 15 mins. I've got a princess

Any mummy using bottle warmer to warm up EBM from fridge? If so, standard bottle warmer only got two selections issit? so do u use the same selection to warm up those EBM from lower compartment and those frozen ones?

Find that its abit hard to gauge if cold EBM warm enough for BB by using the normal method of putting in hot water.

Congrads, Celine

oh when will it be my turn

Kris, we have the same EDD, have you pop? I'm getting impatient leh... keep having pains/cramps but always nothing happen.

mayday: yes, that does describe the colour of my boy's poot poot...keep monitoring...i'm switching it to Similac soon...

ling: i buy as i shop mah...last time i got it during the kiddy palace sale...wahahaha....maybe they are thinking of each other leh...my boy can giggle in his sleep leh...so cute!

Seabreeze,

Me feel the same way too, like a cow...most of time, she would suckle for 1 hour, until satisfied.

luckily my gal &amp; I are comfortable in the lying position when BF. So sometimes, both of us fell asleep during BF, or I watch TV while she BF.

I feel the same about the crying part. but my hubby gets very upset when baby cries, esp when screaming at the top of her voice...if i take it too easy, he gets upset with me lor...so during the day when he's not around, i'm not so stressed, dun have to react IMMEDIATELy to her cry...hehe...my massage lady (also a nurse) said that crying is sometimes good for babies to practise their lungs.

Sweetie:
When are u due? Are u using epidural? :p for my appt, I always prepare Qs to ask b4hand. if dr ang din say anything, that means baby is fine. J dun worry. Normally I ask him about babys weight or other Qs I have in mind and he s very willing to ans. I think and did read in other thread that hes quite accurate in predicting when u will give birth when checking the cervic. That time, he said I would deliver soon since my cervic was open. In my next appt when I saw him again, I had show and he told me I would deliver the next day and my labor would be bet 3-5 hr. in the end, I did delver the next day wif 6 hrs labor.

Jenifur:
My wound no longer painful. But I still use water with cottonwool after every pee. When can we stop cleaning totally?

As fpr the bra, if I wear those padded ones, its hard to stick breast pad on leh how huh?

Sneaky:
Is it tiring to use manual pump? I havent tried, has always been latching baby. M/o, my milk production is not much (maybe due to partial bf?) so I dun know If its worh the time to pump out.

Tennyson:
My bb drink Enfalac A+ and so far, she can pass out very smoothly.

Celtricia:
I had show.my waterbag was burst by my gynae. I have a bb girl.

Seabreeze

cannot help it.. tink it is my character lah..get stressed wen he cries on top of his voice.. and we still dun know wat he wants :p

mybabydream: the Avent one is not tiring...the Pigeon one is EXTREMELY tiring!!!! eh, i thought that if i buy one now, i can use it for my next baby...if so, it's worth it...

Mummies:
1)does your baby has the white thing in the tongue? Its hard to wipe if off. Can we leave it alone?

2)my bb seems to be very sensitive to sounds now , unlike last time. She will wake up very easily fr her sleep if she hears sound. Does your bb goes thro this change as well?

fresia: I'm still around leh... just came back from gynae's appt. She said cervix still v high, bb still not engaged. I will be seeing her again next monday to do more detailed scan of bb's weight. She said next week then see if can wait for natural signs of delivery or to decide on other course of action. Sigh... Right now her est (on her machine) is that my bb already 3.3kg... She also advised me to stop working liow so that my water retention can ease up a bit. She said my face also kena water retention.

Anyway 2moro is my last working day lah..

sneaky: Next BABY?!?!?!?!? tt's fast.. whahahahaha... keke maybe sam is thinking of Clarisse.. kekekekeke

Hopeformiracle:
326170.gif

Kris, you better rest at home now. 3.3kg is rather big liao.

btw, if bb haven engage, waterbag still can burst right? Go for c-section?

fresia: yes hubby sleep with me. First wk v kuai never on aircon but after that hubby gg back to work so on aircon at 28 deg. for him to sleep better.