(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi seabreeze, no objection to your suggestion too. thanks again for organising the party! Too bad zephan was already cranky at about 2 plus... was trying to keep him up till the cake cutting.. hehe.. must try the cake that's so yummy mah!

re: walking
zephan has also been inspired to walk! after he came back from the party, he was more willing to let us hold his hands and practice his walking.. so cute when he suddenly stopped halfway and started to clap his hands, like v pleased with his achievement! haha... hope he can join the ranks of "toddlers" soon!

ladies ...

no problem! its my pleasure. Q shiok to walk into the shop and say: Uncle, I wan 20 of the rattle. Can cheaper anot?

aidanee and ting ting ...

yar v soon they will be able to walk ... i realise that putting them together does help to 'motivate' or 'stress' them to do things heehee

wendyg ...

ur stuff didnt come in time for the party. we arrange on the collection again k ...

cakey ...

the photos are v well taken ler ... next time we know who to assign the camera man role to liao!! can send me all those with YC ones? Thanks in advance

Seabreeze
agree with all that u are a natural organiser. It's a pity I got to go so soon and miss the cake!

Cakey
Can pls send me all your pics with HW?

hello mommies

To avoid any misunderstanding, I would like to let everybody know that I passed $10 to seabreeze for my pareents presence at the party. Think she forgotton to inform everyone. :eek:)

SeaBreeze
WoW, the gathering very succesful, Thinks everyone enjoyed de gathering.you did a good job liao.

Just want to check!any "toddlers" know their body already, like where is "eyes,ear, toe,finger,legs, mouth, shoulder....
any "toddlers" reali speak already ?

dominic has started walking... he walked out of his room after his nap tis afternoon... scared me... thank goodness i was just in the living room and immediately went to hold his hands. now i super tired... have to hold his hands and walk around the house.

re:body parts
dominic knows eyes and mouth. my maid is a born-educator, she has been teaching him body parts and things around. she will tell dominic "aeroplane" when it flies by and dominic will look up.

he can't really speaks but will say car. he seems to be able to associate names to items, eg birds, planes, bus etc.

dominic seems to be very shy of ppl, he will not smile or let strangers carry him, and he also dun like to play with other babys/kids... how
i worried that he will be a shy boy...

any suggestions?

ladies ...

thanks again for the compliment ... so if there are any lazy or busy mummies out there ... u can engage me as your party organiser lar *wink* i do everything lor hahahahha value for money

haha ilmare, that's a pleasant surprise! some babies are more shy and aware of the surroundings than others. Zephan will observe the environment for a long time before he starts to concentrate on people. Babies their age seldom play together anyway. Keep bringing him to playgroups and get him used to group settings. I think it'll help a bit.

sharon, zephan can point out toes, head, hand, leg, mouth, ears. can try singing the "heads, shoulders, knees, toes" song and guide her hands to do the action. but he doesn't really speak yet.

hi mommies

Can I check if anyone of you, during your last pregnancy, had been found to have high risk in carrying a Down baby and was advised to go for amnio test? Did you do it?

PG
it happened to my colleague. She's 44yr old & was expecting her first born. She went for amnio. Baby born normal, but early 7 wks.

er. actually.. my boi's hair is more to messy than modern.. tried cutting his hair like 2 weeks ago.. but it jus grew and grew and grew.. mm...

oh yea mummies.. what can i do to make Brent's tooth come out?! he's still toothless.. so sad..

wendyg
Ok thanks. So far most people tell me their results are negative after the amnio test. However there is miscarriage risk involved which is concerning.

PG
yes, another colleague related her experience abt her #2. She had a near miscarriage after the amnio test... contractions. But now her #2 is a bright & active 9yr old liaoz.

cakey,
I just saw my email..heehee..
And wow, you hubby is very pro!!! Tot he just read the manual in the morn? Impress~

PG,
One of my frd who is 30, goes for the amino test after her NT scan shows high possiblity of down syndrom. And it shows that she is carrying normal baby. There is certain risk percentage of miscarriage & only trained Gynae are allowed to perform such task.

sharon,
re: body parts
Keyon can only point to his eyes, ears, nose & hair, but can't pronounce the words yet.
even pointin oso no 100% leh, see his mood one.

passing guest,
hey, r u pregnant?

my sis-in-law went thru' amnio for her 2nd child, & this little niece, now 1mth+, is a healthy & lovely baby!

Thanks for the complements on the photos
My hb is not pro. Like I told cat_tail, he still busy checking up the camera manual in the morning.. It's the camera that's pro lar haha... We borrowed it from hb's brother who is a freelance photographer. Actually those blury ones are deleted so you don't get to see the bad ones...
Well at least I know that besides my gal, hb also enjoys the party. Cos got so many cute little models for him to practise hehe...
Due to the large file size, will upload the hi-res for mummies to download later as quite diff to email large file.

Btw. can your dd/ds recognise himself in the photo? My gal will pop up and down excitedly when sees her own picture and tries to pronounce her own name

cakey,
U r too humble lah! He sure got a good sense of capturing.

PG,
Actually nowadays the risk of miscarriage is relatively very low when doing the amino test. It will be better to go for it if he told you to do so. At least it ease your mind.

adelyee, wait till it pop out.. soon you'll be having lesser sleep as bb will be cranky..haha
but its better not to pop out too early..

passing guest, you'll be fine. wat did your gynea advise?

passing_guest, congrats!

My test results showed a 1 in 30 chances of a down syndrome baby. But hb & I managed to narrow down our conception date of nicole, which seemed to indicate that the test was done on the 15th week (normal result) instead of 16th week (abnormal result). As gynae said there is a 1 in 300 chances of a miscarriage after the amnio test, I decided not to do it and to wait for the 5th month detailed scan. The detailed scan can also tell if the baby is normal or not (was told they look at the amount of fluid near the baby's neck or something like that.). After the detailed scan, it was confirmed that nicole shld be normal. And thank God, she was born normal.

passing guest,
Congrats! Do cheer up, hope everything is fine.
Have many successful cases, so its still hopeful. U'll have our support :>

passing guest,
Woo, Congrats ha ! everthing will be fine.don worry

Tingting/applejuz
good! your dear son can do so well,when is zephan/keyon birth date ha?

PG, congrats! I have a fren who did amnio voluntarily for both her boys cos her family got history of down syndrome. To her, she rather take the risk of miscarriage than to risk giving birth to a DS baby cos she witnessed how tough it is to bring up such a special baby. Both her boys are tested normal and are now 2.5 YO and 9 mths liao!

hi mommies
Thanks for all the advice and encouragement :) We are taking a couple of days to consider whether to do the test or not. $1100+ (excl consultation) if we wish to know results in 3 days. OUCH!!! All donations are welcome. Heeeheee...

snoppy
1 in 30? Is that a typo error?

vone
Hehe... I'm a bit pantang if I have not crossed first trimester, hence few people know. Those who knew had to pretend they did not. *wink*wink* You know who you are :)

hi PG, congrats! Praying for a smooth pregnancy for you!

sharon, zephan's born on 3 aug. but it all depends on how much u stimulate him, e.g. repeating the words, pointing the items, or flash cards. mine's considered average compared to babies who are being shown flashcards.
but they'll all catch up in their own time, dun rush them too much.

PG
maybe if your families dun hv DS history, u can wait for detailed scan.. u how many weeks liao ah? When is EDD? Will u kena confinement during CNY. kekeke

PG,
I was 1 in 150!!! Hubby's close cousin delivered a DS child. So I had a very high probability. Thank god.....all's well. Experienced alot of contractions after my amnio.

I did it at NUH by a prof. Yes, after medisave, i paid about 600plus. That's y i say, Cayden did not come cheap! but it's all worth it!

Congrats!!!!!

Thanks again all mommies. Snoppy, thanks for the detailed explanation last night. I will call the clinic and check.

wendyg
EDD 22 March 2007. Apparently detailed scan will not show abnormality that are non-physical.

As promised,here are some photos of the party. I only started taking photos after the cake cutting heehee so only Zheng Xi, Tyanne, Daryl and YC are featured. And of cos the Yummy triple layer chocolate cake!!

534201.jpg

Yummy cake!!

534202.jpg

Zheng Xi with the rattle

534203.jpg

Lets get back the rattle!!

534204.jpg

Dun get me involved pls!!

534205.jpg

Anything lor ...

Talk about DS. Any mummies who didn't do this test at all for previous pregnancy? Now I am a bit worried. I didn't go for any DS test for this time round. Any advise?

cmy, i didnt test at all. the test is call OSCAR but my gynea said nonit to waste $$ loh.. she measured the next thickness and monitor for a few visits only.

Nice meeting you and your babies in the party.

Seabreeze,
Thanks for organizing. HB and I had a great time.

Applejuz,
What's the blackmail photo abt? Sounds interesting.

hi cmy,
I did the neck thickness test and since result is ok so I just did the triple blood test and not the oscar test. Did the test last week and din hear anything so I suppose it's normal.

Hi passing guest,
Your EDD is close to mine which is ard 18 Mar. Can understand yr dilema here... It takes me sometime to decide even for the much simpler oscar test. Was considering cos of my age... Pray for you to have a smooth prenancy and a cute, healthy bb

cakey,

u r preggie again?...
wah, why u mommies so fast har?...

Me handle one baby already so tough, cannot imagine with another one!...

wow, so many preggies! like hoshi, i also quite cannot fathom taking care of another baby.. but what my hb says also got a point, that we should finish the babyhood phases early, while we can still remember how to cope, as compared to few years later when we need to relearn everything.. :p

Hi Cakey,

your NT scan did by gynae? My gynae measured and said is normal. Wonder he will do triple blood test or not. Will ask clinic later. Thanks for mummies reply.

PG,
U r rite, detail scan is just rough guide only. Amino test is still the best cos it will goes down to check the chromosome. Hope to hear some gd news from u soon.

cakey,
No wonder I see something pop out from your tummy lah..wahaha.. blur me...

tingting,
What r u waiting for? Try to make one..heehee...

tingting,

me cannot... very tough taking care of my gal!!... dunno want another one or not.. maybe 1-2 yrs later..

From the beginning after i gave birth, was down with high fever 2 times due to engorgement... and so difficult to breastfeed. Not only that hard very bad back pain for the 2 months. When I lie down on bed, hard to pull the 2 sides of my bed to get up... sigh...
Then my gal kena flu from her ah-going when she was 1st month... then on off she kept falling sick... somemore till now, she still wake up at night for her milk.... wah seh... I cannot imagine anohter one...

tingting
Making wasn't easy too, considering we were trying during the World Cup season :p

To the rest of preggy moms
Congrats too! BTW I was informed that the amnio test is not Medisave deductible unless one is treated as impatient. Hope that you do not need to go thru one.

Cakey
Apparently I have 2 EDDs. 19 Mar if based on last period and 22 Mar based on scan. I'd use the later date coz I wish to have an Aries baby :) I'm with MAH, you?

I just call my gynae's clinic, the nurse told me the Triper blood test only 65% accuracy! Oscar test is 90%. *pengz*.. I can't reversed do the triple test especially only 65% accuracy right?

Passing Guest,
I was told by the clinic, Mt Alvernia from 1st Sept onward will collect full payment during admission. Which mean we have to folk out cash first then they will backward calculate how much for medisave and will return the balance. (only few wks later know) I might switch to Thomson.