(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Seabreeze,
Does that mean that you don't pump at work already? Do you mix some BM with the FM or is it purely FM? I'm also getting quite tired of pumping. Cannot imagine i've been doing that for 9 months.

i am back from Tokyo. Travelling with an infant is definitely not an easy task, but we made it!

Flight
We chose a night departure both ways so we had no prob at all. Cayden slept through both ways, and only "whined" alittle when we woke him up for landing.

Weather in Japan
Alittle humid, but windy. Cayden enjoyed the weather. It did get alittle hot towards the end of the trip.

Moving around
Quite tough cos most trains are packed and japanese love peace when travel. Cayden always "struggled" in the train. aiyo, so pai seh. Brought my aprica carrier, but our back nearly broke after using one afternoon.

I borrowed a Maclaren VOLO from my sis, and before i left for the trip, went to buy the accessory pack from Mothercare. It came with a canopy and rain shade. Luckily i got them cos it was really bright and glaring.

Food
Was unsuccessful with the porridge making using Tiger flask cos not soft enough. So cayden took cereal and jar food mainly.

Shopping
No time to shop at all cos our schedule was really packed with meetings adn exhibition. It is quite funny to bring a bb along, but all my business associates were very hospitable and kind to help bbsit....

Was quite tempted to get an aprica pram there cos so much cheaper....but then, i find Maclaren XT more cheo leh! hehehe

Seabreeze,
i searched the entire 7floors of Dasio twice, could not find the stroller hooks. Then i learnt from the staff that they ran out of stock! aiyo....just my luck.

Nepia is cheaper there. Cost about S$11plus for 42pcs L size.

For mummies who are thinking to travel to Japan with bbs, fyi.
tokyo is very pro-bb/family. They have bb rooms and feeding rooms every mall. All are equipped with hot water dispenser. Some even have filtered water for making milk. (kiasu me, filled up all the flasks every time haha.) I went to a suburban mall outside tokyo, and they even have weighing machine and height chart and a consultant stationed at the bb room!!
The weather is getting warmer now....and it can get scorching hot in Aug. so bring along sunscreen for your bb.

Jul04
I am still using Noor now for my monthly massages. i find her good. I think massaging will help to get rid of wind and water....and she is good at it. Other than that, have to depend on BF or exercises to loose the extra inch. hehehehe...good luck! My sis in law who is due in Jul has booked her too.

Aidanee
you are back and thanks for the detailed encounter! Me going to Perth in Oct and thinking of bringing my techno XT. What's stroller hooks by the way?? Can give me Noor's contact? Me thinking of resuming my monthly massage treat!

hello ixwong,

stroller hooks for hanging stuff on your stroller? actually can get here in OG.

how much did you pay for your XT? now robs is selling at $420 before 20% less ( plus 5% rebate) but limited in colours. the new range will arrive end Jul. So might wait for the next storewide sale in Aug. catn decide bet the quest sport and XT.

ixwong,
we went to Perth for our honeymoon in end Sep. Alot of rain and very chilly still. so please bring enough for HW. And if you bring XT, must get the rain shade.

eileenp ...

i already stopped pumping last mth liao ... so you can imagine how patheic my supply is now and i even suspect that now he is just sucking for comfort and fun!! i no longer latch him on to zzz ... i got to sing and dance then he will sleep *faint* i just intro FM ... never mix

aidanee ...

hahahaha ... so 'bitter' ar our luck!! anyway thanks for checking ... i will go OG to check it out then ... i buy for u if i can find it

good lar ... at least you made it back in ONE piece and so did cayden hahahaha

i bought 8 jar of jar food from seng siong that day oso for my BKK trip ... damn heavy!!

9m still call infant? i thought infant means small baby, like less than 3m? but then again, some 3m babies are HUGE!! ha ha

hi sharon
i buy lots of toys for my boy, at least my hubby thinks so. kekeke. i go 4 cheap toys mostly, so that i can buy more.

re: massage
how much is the monthly massage for Noor?? hehe...So she comes once a month? no jamu right for regular massages?

some countries define infant as below 1 year, some 6 months...

hi aidanee, am glad that u made it for the japan trip! i'm quite keen to go japan with zephan liao.. haha.. maybe go with another couple friend so can take turns to go hot springs..

hmm, zephan was down with cold (runny nose, fever) last sunday night, and now gradually on road to recovery.. thought BM is supposed to ward him off sickness? he's been sick twice already... haiz...

No Wendyg, din feed her any water or milk, coz her last milk always at 9pm, after that will be next morning. Afraid that feeding her will make it a habit for her to wake up next time.

aidanee, welcome back.
m glad tt u guys njoyed ur trip. hearing abt ur trip makes me wan 2 go 1 on my own.

sharon, nope, i didn't buy much toys 4 my boy. coz i realised tt he loses interest in them after a short while.

seabreeze, njoy ur BKK trip.

ting, poor zephan. give him a hug fr me k.

rowena, u can get fr d confectionery shop.

Ya, when she cries, I'll pick her up and then try to rock her to sleep. At first i restrain frm doing that becoz i scare it will become a habit. But she will cry and cry until she vomit. In the end still hve to pacify her. After a few times, i throw in the towel.

Hey,
BB Sarah could finally stand on her own without support for about...5 secs. Seen her doing it 3 times, twice on the bath tub and last near TV consol. But she still refuses to practise her walk despite of my relentless attempt to guide her.

Tingting,
My dd also down with flu and has not recover from running nose, and cough with phelgm. Hope Zephan is well now.

Kathy,
Its very unusual for bb at this stage to wake up 7-8 times. And we're talking abt consecutive days here? If so, she must be very distressed or uncomfortable with something. You might want to consult yr family doctor, or a pd?

Aidanee,
Appreciate your good advice. I'm looking forward to my first vacation with bb Sarah this December. The last trip was long ago during my first trimester to CA. Deciding between NZ, Aust, San Francisco n Seattle, or Hokkaido.

one thing i can't understand is having to buy a ticket for the baby if he doesn't occupy a seat. I can understand if we have to pay for his insurance n airport taxes etc, but the seat itself? hmm...

sarah's mom, hope that sarah is recovering soon. zephan seems to be over the fever already, but still stirs a few times at night. been rushing in cos afraid he's unwell, but think tonight got to retrain him to sleep through again.

re : ticket for infant

think it's outright profit for the airline since the baby doesn't occupy any seat and their tickets are not cheap! Even if there's no bassinet available and the baby has to sit on our laps, we still have to pay for their ticket. sigh.

re : spitting out food
any babies here who can do that? Ryan can't. When he has something he doesn't like in his mouth, he will stick his fingers in to dig it out or just not chew, maybe hoping it will disappear. *faint*

emmie:
u wouldn't want them to learn how to spit out food.. trust me. Elizabeth spits ALL the time. Its messy and tiring to clean up.

kathy:
i let elizabeth cry and vomit over 3 nights. Then subsequently, she's okay leh.

re: spitting out food
when zephan doesn't want to eat, he'll just stick out his tongue n everything dribbles out. guess i should be thankful that he doesn't spit. he likes to blow bubbles when my mom spoon feeds him water though.

re: learning to talk
any kiddos starting to talk? last time, zephan could only say single consonants(?) like "ba ba ba" or "ma ma ma", but these few days he's beginning to babble in a string of different consonants, sounding like an incoherant sentence. and it sounds so cute!
tried to record with my hp but usually unsuccessful cos he'll just want to grab it when he sees it..

Kathy could it be teething?

Aidanee
Thanks for sharing, I might be going Japan end of Aug, will it be too hot? Heard that there isn't any escalater or lift in their train station so is it tedious to move the pram around?

Rowena
I think you can get a lot of celebration stuff at Centrepoint, there is a shop selling all kind of stuff there. I think is at the top level...

My gals suddenly dislike to sleep in sarong (she used too). now we are putting her on mattress.
It take us half to an hour to put her to sleep..
and it is so difficulty to have a schedule for nap.
How to do ? Mummies can advise?

Her Usual Schedule :
7am wake up + Milk
10am -11.15am nap
11.30 lunch
1.30-2.30 nap
3.00 Milk
5pm - 6pm nap
6.30 Dinner
8.30 good night

but now all go messy... Some days , she don't want to fall asleep in the morning, some day ok..

Some days, she wants to sleep at 11am.. but it's going to lunch.. how ? No lunch for her ?

same for afternoon..
I'm ok that she skip the evening nap..

My only concern for the "sleep when she like" kind of timing sometime "jam up"/clash with meal/milk time..

How ????

Pls advise.
when She used Sarong, it's so easy to get her to sleep on the timing we want.. and meal can be schedule nicely.. as well our bedtime.

Is it baby who sleep on bed is so difficult compare to sarong? she don't like to be pat.. we have to be with her and toys and slowly she just fall alseep..

she is 9+ month now

I need milk...really huh...let her cry and vomit until few times and then ok liao. Shd i try? Forgot to tell you guys, there were few times she was talking to herself at abt 3 plus at nite and once i woke up and ask her "Yes bb, what r u doing?" Then, she babble something and point behind me. I turn ard and saw nothing behind me. Wa lau...i tell you, shivers dwn my spine man. I remb and told my mum yest, she told me there might be 'something' ga jiao my bb at nite. I'm not superstitious leh, so was like half half...but why my bb behaving like that? What you guys think?

Tingting,
I'm sure it won't take long for Zephan to fall back into his routine once he is completely well. There may be some discomfort still if virus infection hasn't gone completely.

Tingting,
I'm sure it won't take long for Zephan to fall back into his routine once he is completely well. There may be some discomfort still if virus infection hasn't gone completely.

Sarah's mom,
you sure are an adventurous mom to be flying to CA during your first trimester. hahaah....anyway, i would love to visit hokkaido next time....but this time it will definitely be a leisure trip. hahaha....and i make sure i bring my mom and dad with me. hahaha...

Oh, just received a note that we have to go to tokyo in Sep again.

Massage:
noor charges S$45 for 2 hrs. Good strength and good attitude.

Poko
It will be quite hot, so be prepared. but at least no rain lah.. Most train stations have lifts/escalators for handicaps. The locals do not use the escalators if they have prams...so most will use the lift. but the lifts are usually located at some corners, so you really have to search for it. What we did is to carry the entire pram (with Cayden our KING) up/down the stairs when we did not see any around. So if you have a light pram, should not be that bad. It is faster also...

sarah's mom, poor bb sarah. i hope tt she gets well soon. u take care aso, dun tire urself out.

emmie, ur boy is clever, can still use his fingers 2 dig it out. mine will gag & give me his wan 2 vomit face. then i need 2 save him & dig out d offending thing fr his mouth.

ting, ya, mine does tt. it's so cute rite.
i managed 2 record it on mon nite. let me try 2 upload it n show u gals.

coffeedrinker, tink ur gal is used 2 sleeping in d sarong, tt's y her schedule is haywired nw. tink u hv 2 ren 4 d time being til she gets used 2 it. gd luck 2 u k.

kathy, tt sounds scary. if u wan, mayb chk wif ur mum 2 c wat can b done?

kathy, i guess bcos it happens at night so it seems more scary, but these episodes happen during day time too. talking to herself, well, all kids do that, and the pointing could just be a random thing? zephan likes to point everywhere, and sometimes at nothing in particular. sometimes my boy also wakes up in the middle of the night and babbles a bit before going back to sleep. i think it's bcos they woke up during their light sleep mode. after a while, they'll drift back to sleep again.

seabreeze, count me in too.

Children's Day Party
Date: 30 Sep
Venue: Bishan Loft
Cost: $5 per adult/ Children FOC

1. Tingting & Hb
2. JT and family
3. Cakey & family
4. ixwong & family
5. vone & hb
6. smallbell & family
7. applejuz & family
8. aidanee & family
9. cookies & family
10. snoopy & family
11. Sarah'smom & hb
12. featherG & family
13. Hosanna & family (13 my lucky no. my baby's bday!!)
14. eileenp & family
15. dressaholic & family
16. Samantha & Family

Ting Ting,
Go for it! and YES, bring another couple friend along to help out. How about Wendyg? hahaha....

And talking about the bassinet. i think cayden fits in just nice. any bigger, i think he will not be able to sleep in it. The max wt is 14kg, but i think the lengthwise, it is abit tight cos cayden is about 75cm and it seems that there is no more room liao. The next time if we have to travel with him, prob must get a child's ticket to secure a seat. cant imagine if i have to carry the child throughout the flt.

Seabreeze,
ai ya, wanted to offer you the jar food. I carry 8 there, and brought back 10! so stupid!!!! and so heavy. So i think you dun be so ambitous lah. just give milk! hahaha...

Mummies using aprica,
can i have your feedback on the pram?

It's quite amusing to read what your babies been doing. My gal just pick up a new skill on how to prevent Mummy from feeding her porridge. She will store the porridge inside her mouth & refuse to swallow so that I can't feed her. I almost tot she's a hamster. *peng sanz

Re: Walking
These few days Edna is driving everyone crazy! Suddenly she wants to walk & refuse to sit on her mat or walker anymore! I know it's good but the thing is she wants us to be her walker. She will hold our hands & walk non-stop around the house! Once we stop, she will fuss. Just checking anyone has this problem?

coffeedrinker,
I give pacifier for her nap.

kathy,
This is really freaky...

haha cat tail, so cute! nice for 5 min but not 5 hrs! zephan will clam his mouth shut n turn away. he's also beginning to show the stubbon side of him... :p

hehe wendy, u hear aidanee? let's go somewhere besides malaysia!

money money money....Genting cheap ma, $120 for 4 nights..
besides, so difficult to co-ordinate 4 adults leave schedule, remember Deric works 7 days a week & hard to find replacement coach. SIGH

I am on leave these 2 days cos Clarence is not feeling well
He has been having diarrhoea for 4 days already. I have to change his diapers 10 over times throughout the night and his buttocks are so sore that he keeps crying out loud when I try to clean him.

re: Fitti diapers
Any bbs here use Fitti? I have 2 packets (both opened up) to give awawy. 2 sizes, M and L. If I am not mistaken more than 60 pieces left (add up together). Clarence's skin is sensitive to that so I have to switch brand.

I thank God that Clarence knows to how spit out food/remove it from his mouth using his fingers. 2 weekends ago my mum fed him fish porridge and he actually removed TWO fish bones from his mouth. I almost fainted when he took out the 2nd bone. I immediately asked my mum to stop feeding him. Really can get a heart attack!

re: learning to talk
Clarence is also doing that now. In fact he loves to sing. When I start singing, he will 'sing' along with me. And the louder I sing, the louder he will sing too! It's like he is trying to compete with me

Re: walking
Clarence is able to take 2 to 3 steps unaided but unlike Edna, he has to be prompted to take his steps. However, he does enjoy crawling very much. Lately he also enjoys flipping thru the pages of books but his concentration span is very short.

hi anissa
i'd like to get the Fitti from u...
will pay u token sum la. I'm on leave this afternoon & will be going back to Punggol
so maybe c u later =)

Hi wendyg,
Aiyo, talk $ no gd lah. But I only have the Fitti Premium L-size with me now (abt 40 pcs). The M-size is at my parents' place. If you are ok with that, I will pass you the L-size one first, k? Just give me a call at 9125 7047.

anissa,

maybe u want to wash his buttocks instead of using wet wipes, then pat dry or air dry before putting diaper on. how is clarence now?

aidanee, haha... nvm, i m most willing 2 lend it 2 u 4 ur nxt trip.

cat_tail, sometimes my boy does tt. bt tink he's 2 lazy 2 walk 4 long coz crawling is faster. haha...

anissa, poor clarence. wat did d pd say? i hope tt he gets better soon. gosh, ur mum is quite careless leh. luckily clarence noes hw 2 take d fishbone out of his mouth. can't imagine wat will happen if he swallows it.

tingting,
They are getting smarter each day ..haha..

Anissa,
I give Edna "Jin Feng San" when she's having diarrhoea & it helps a lot. U wanna try?

Re: walking
vone,
At least your boy crawls & u can have a little break. Dun noe why Edna still refuse to crawl & straight way she wants to walk. My back these few days are aching~ *sweat

coffeedrinker,
Is she spitting every meal?

i have about 25pcs of Pampers All night L size. Anyone wants to try?

note: the cutting is smaller than Pampers premium.

tingting & vone,
I have started washing his buttocks instead of using wet wipes but it doesn't seem to reduce his pain. At first I thot his diarrhoea could be due to teething but according to pd, teething will not cause excessive diarrhoea. I suspect it's the food my mum feeds him but she insists that she hasn't been feeding him anything that is out of the norm...

This morning when the pd was examining him, Clarence kept pointing at him and babble. According to the pd, he seems to be alert so there is no cause for concern.

As a matter of fact, he is 'tearing down the house' now as I am typing this reply. Almost got himself strangled earlier. Guess what he did? He put his head thru the sling of one of my bags and got all tangled up! Thank God he ahhh ahhh ahhh else I wouldn't have known! Weeks ago, he even put his head into the toilet bowl! These days, he likes to use stools or boxes to aid his climbing. He can climb onto the sofa and low table. This reminds me it's time I get those safety gate.

Vone, guess what? My mum blamed it on the fishmonger. Said he didn't do a good job in de-boning the fish. I was really mad. He could have died if he didn't know how to remove the bones from his mouth. That day I watched a programme on the tv. This mum was sharing how she lost one of her babies due to choking. The bb was 6-8 mth (can't recall the details now) and she died choking on milk!

aidanee ...

thanks for the offer heehee but u can bring the 10 jar of food back there in sept lar ... i am sure u will be bringing cayden too right

i dun think YC can just take milk only now lor ... he will show sign of hunger v fast one then he will end up eating baby bites again heehee

cat tail

edna so cute ... she should be walking pretty soon then ... my fren's daughter skipped the crawling stage and started walking before she was 1YO

Seabreeze,
I really suspect it's due to the food my mum gave him. Recently my mum just returned from M'sia. She bought back 6 kg of threadfish and a few kg of frog for Clarence. Wonder if the food has turned bad?? The only 'out-of-the-norm' food she has given him at the moment is heinz yougurt. And ya, she has recently starts giving him one HUGE orange a day (those selling for $1.30 each at NTUC). I just can't seem to stop her from feeding him so much.

seabreeze,
no! i will not be bringing him again to Japan. abit costly. he may just join me to KL next month. hahaha..

and yes, pls bring alot of bb bites. this was the only way i could tame Cayden during our dinners with our associates. he was just too active for my comfort in Japan. maybe not much stimulation and too much movement confinement (in the pram). hehehe...

Anissa,
Fast and effective: give rice water. boil some rice and scoop out the water after 10mins of boiling..... this was my saviour the last time when Cayden kena diahorrea. Try it.