(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

aidanee,
Thnks for the tip. Will try it out now

hi anissa, u may want to go easy on fruit these days until the problem is solved. 6kg of threadfin?? wow, how long will clarence take to finish that? my dad doesn't keep frozen foodstuff for zephan beyond 2 weeks. a bit ks IMO though.. hehe..

zephan also uses his toy box to stand up/climb onto them, and he has already scaled my coffee table. when he attempts something dangerous like leaning on unstable objects, i'll warn him using words like "careful" "pain" or "dangerous", and keep close watch on him. but will still let him continue, cos i feel he has to learn that he cannot lean on some things for support. after a while, i noticed that he doesn't put his full weight onto stuff that shift easily, e.g. stools, boxes. but still got to monitor all the time lah..

hi aidanee
would love to try, but we're v far, & i hv no business in the west, so.... too bad la. Maybe nxt time i go M'sia will buy a pack to try. Recently Pampers Premium also can't hold his overnight pee.. one morning i saw a wet patch on his PJs, around his tummy area! Coz he likes to sleep on his tummy & guess the diaper soaked thru.

hi Ling
join la.. we've got a mix of working mums & sahm. I'm a working mum.

Anissa,
Did the medicine that pd prescribe help to stop the diahorrea? Is his condition improving?
For fish that is difficult to debone when raw, will use my fingers (after washed) to smash it after cooked. THis is to make sure that I dun miss out the small/short bone. Not sure if there's a better way, though..
Frog? Clarence really takes exotic food..
Wow, and he is able to take 2-3 steps by himself. I look forward to the day when I could see Sarah doing this!

Cat_tail, I've an opposite problem (But yr prob is undoubtedly better than mine). Bb Sarah loves to crawl and refuse to learn walking. This morning, maid brought her to learn walking, she was happy doing it barefooted, as she was prob enchanted by the pool and flowers. But after when she put on shoes for Sarah (as I told her to do), Sarah refuse to even stand up. **Hiaz** If she's so uninterested to learn, not sure when she would really be able to walk by herself.

Vone,
She's still having running nose. Thanks. But I'm constantly tired ever since birth. Doesn't make much difference. :) Except that we'll miss the East Coast Mother Support Group meetup (just registered) and her school.

Aidanee,
I wish I could travel as often as you. But hb only sponsor two trips per year (long trip x1 + short trip x1).

Coffeedrinker,
She used to do that in the past. But having understood the word "NO", I gave her a stern n firm "NO" few times when she did that. She seemed to understand and never repeat it.

Cat_tail and Tingting,
I was feeding bb Sarah this afternoon. After few mouthful, she refused to open her mouth for the next feed. Kept telling her "open your mouth" which she understands, but she remained tight lip. Yap, talking abt the stubborn side of my gal. In the end, I resort to asking her say "ka", or "kaka" (sister in Malay, right? Also, referring to our maid) She happily obliged and I quickly stuff the next spoonful into her mouth. It works! So, I was saying ka the whole time while feeding her. And likewise for her.

Hi Ling,
Welcome! I'm a working mum too
Wanna post some pics of your bb to share?

tingting,
Thnks for the advice. The pd also suggested that we go easy on fruit and veggie. Will do that till his condition improves.

Couple of days ago I was down with flu and went to bed early. Hubby was supposed to keep an eye on Clarence but dunno how it happened, he fell. I woke up when I heard a loud thud. The sight that greeted me will be in my mind for a long, long time. Clarence's hands and mouth was covered with blood. I carried him to the washroom and cleaned him with some tissue papers. Really mad with my hubby for 2 days.

Sarah's mom,
I've only given him the first dosage this morning so it's a little early to tell if it works but I certainly hope so. It's no joke having to wash his buttok and change his diapers every 15 mins to 30 mins. I brought him home from my parents' place at 11.30 pm last night and from that time till he fell asleep at 2 am, I had changed his diapers close to 10 times. Throughout the night, every time he woke up, he has diarrhoea. This morning he woke up at around 8 am and from that time till we left the house at 8.45 am for the pd, he had diarrhoea 3 times.

Many Chinese believe in giving their bbs frog legs. It's supposed to strengthen their leg muscles. Not too sure how true it is but Clarence takes his first step the first day my mum gave it to him. By the 2nd day, he could move another step.

All along I have phobia giving fish to my boy unless it's those fish slices you find at stalls. There is really no 100% that it is free from the bones.

Anissa,
Must give Clarence plenty of water for now.
The "Jing Feng San" I got is powder form. I mix half teaspoon of it with water & let her take once per day until she's ok. So far this is the most effective way of curing Edna's diarrhoea. U try try 1st.

Seabreeze,
I am praying tat Edna can walk on her own one day. Like tat I won't be so siong...

Sarah's Mom,
Dun worry, once she got her confidence she will learn to walk. Let's hope our babies can walk before their big day..heehee..

Re: Feeding
Sarah is soo cute! But trust me, soon she knows this is the way to trick her open the mouth & u will have to find another way to bluff her again. That's exactly what I have been doing..

Aidanee, $45 for 2 hrs sounds like a gd deal. Can pm me the contact? I'd like to try too.

Tingting, maybe you are rite. My gal always point point in the daytime. Mayb its more like a habit. Dun scare myself...

Hi Ling, welcome too! I'm a SAHM.

Bubblyface, oh dear...hope clarence is ok. That time i quarrelled with my hubby and left my gal w him, he accidentally banged my gal's head agst the wall. I was very angry with him too.

bubblyface: Oh dear, is yr bb btr now? i was oso ill last week and didn't sleep on the bed with my hubby & bb and my girl fell and hit her forehead - blue black. mi angry oso... now still hv slight tint of brownish on her head..

I have breast infection!
Was pumping to clear the clogged duct this afternoon and realised yellow pus was coming out.. Yucks. Now it seems like i gotta be on anti-botics for 10 days and supposed to pump and throw. Sigh, could this mean an end to my breastfeeding "career"?

Cat_tail:
wow, Edna sure very fast.. I think she's also the first baby to grow teeth in this thread rite? Seems like she develops the fastest here!

Anissa,
This is really no joke. I could now understand what you're going thru.
Poor poor Clarence. He is such a strong boy in face of these ordeals. Well, he is also a smart boy (could even save himself from choking. Really wish to give him a kiss if he's around.

Cat_tail,
Me also hoping that she could walk before the guest on her big day. By the way, how old is bb Edna? Sarah is born on 19 Aug.
Oh yes, I think so too. Let's see how long this trick could work.

Hi I need milk... my girl just turned 9mths and she has 4upper teeth and 2 lower teeth... & her gums are still itchy.. chewing here & there... hmm...

nvm lah, meanwhile, let yr bb feed on FM and continue when u are well...

Sarah's mom,
i hv not stepped out Singapore since i got preg last Jan.(but before that, i was out of town every 2 months) And the last Japan trip was a biz cum leisure one. no big deal. the next one is also a biz trip.... hehehe...

wendy,
i go to ponggol almost everyday. can be arranged. heheheh just let me kn. just not sure if your isaac can wear L. maybe abit tight for him too.

ineedmilk,
Oh no, hope the infection will be clear soon.
Heehee, u still remember the teeth! She had her 1st 2 teeth when she's around 3.5 mths. But that's it, the rest she's either picking up slow or never..

Sarah's Mom,
Edna is 4 days earlier than Sarah, she's 15 Aug.

LIng,
I'm a SAHWM.

Ineedmilk,
At least I've never seen someone enjoying breastfeeding as much as you. Wah, u're so committed to even view that as career. **Hiaz** I think I'm a letdown to Sarah and HB (coz cannot save milkpowder$$). Started FM immediately after full month.

Cat_tail,
Edna's development is real fast. Oh no, I can't even remember when Sarah has her first tooth. Not sure if my hb knows. Check with him tonight.

Talk about hb with bb alone. Hmmm, dun seem to have such experience before. Think my hb too lucky, coz if I'm not around in the evening, will send bb Sarah to my mum's place. Should I try? Maybe it will be at my dd's risk..?

ineedmilk, was it u who was telling me about a LC pricking the "pimply" thing for you the last time? is this the same? i had that thing, and actually i still latch zephan on. one day, i fed up n decided to squeeze it out like a pimple, n was amazed at how much pus there was. asked my hb whether there'll be any problem that zephan has been latching on, he laughed at me n said that pus is a result of white blood cells killing bacteria or something like that, so dead bacteria will not cause harm.. hmm, ok, i didn't do v well in bio at school anyway... :p

wendy, can i get a few pieces of Pampers all night from you to try? oh yah, if he's leaking, gotta change to L size loh.. i always give him a fresh diaper just before his bedtime. Think Petpet L can also do the job nicely.

re: feeding
if zephan refuses to eat, i gotta sing song or say silly things, stop at intervals and say "arhh.." then he'll open his mouth. or distract him by asking him to point to this n that, asking questions... hmm, find that i'm more creative since i've become a mother!

Aidanee,
Whatever. I juz wanna sit on the plane!! I missed travelling terribly. Last month, when I've to see my hb off to NY on biz trip, my desperation to travel esp. when at the airport was no less a drug addict. Craving was so strong then...

anissa ...

yar think u gotta tell ur mum go easy on the food that she gives clarence ... honestly his diet is more like a 1YO or 2YO diet and not a 10mth or 11mth bb diet lor ... and they say so young cannot take orange ... will make them cough and lead to asthma

give him a hugz from me ar .. poor boy ... the fall must be v bad

aidanee ...

then bring him the jar food there to feed him lor ... wan employ one more person anot?? i can help to share your work load hahahaha

re: teeth

hahahahaha i think YC is prob the only bb here WITHOUT a single teeth

cat_tail, tink edna belongs 2 d category of bb who dun crawl bt walk immediately. if u can't take it, ask ur hb 2 takeover?

anissa, d fishmonger will nt b as careful as us. so even when i asked him 2 de-bone, i'll still chk when i mashed up d fish b4 mixing it into his porridge. tink ur mum is feeling guilty, so she blames it on d fishmonger. bt if no harm is done, then jus leave it. i m sure tt ur mum will b more careful fr nw onwards. clarence is her grandson afterall. dun worry k.

hi ling, welcome.

sarah's mom, u mus find time 2 rest k. it does sarah no gd if u fall sick.

i need milk, oh no. u take care k. if u hv 2 pump n throw, then isn't it easier 2 wean elizabeth off?

seabreeze, dun worry lah. YC is d youngest bb here. his time will come.

Thanks for your concern, Clarence is alright now. Just hope the scar is healing well. I don't dare to lift up his upper lip to check. Dunno what you call that, if you lift up your upper lip, there is this 'joint' that join the lip to the gum. His broke when he fell, that explains the blood.

cat_tail,
He hardly drinks any water today. Every time I give him his bottle, he will shake his head. I have to force it down his throat. Will try the 'Jing Feng San' if the pd's medication doesn't help. Thanks again for sharing.

kathy & ling,
I've no idea abt others' hubbies but mine is certainly hopeless. Earlier I asked him to take care of Clarence while I cook his porridge and when I stepped into the room, he was playing on the computer and Clarence was climbing abt. Just as I was abt to open my mouth, Clarence fell. Damn angry with him.

i need milk,
You very hardworking leh. I give up pumping when Clarence hit 6 mth but I still so partial bf every night.

Sarah's mom,
Clarence is good at removing things from his mouth if it's not to his liking. My mum gives him pear and he can spit out the skin and just eat the flesh.

seabreeze,
Yeah, tell me abt it. Many pple have commented that Clarence can pass off as a 1 to 2 yr old bb. Wow, YC still without tooth? That means he will be the one with milk teeth left when ours all drop

vone,
Yeah, I know. She keeps 'scolding' the fishmonger. Think she is feeling guilty

Anissa
hope clarence is alright now. My mum also said rice water will help cure diarrhoea.

Aidanee
I bought my XT at $299 but it's 2005 model. Heard the 2006 model is better with full canopy and lighter weight. I was also thinking abt quest but later realised quest is narrower in width compared to XT.

Re bassinet
Oh oh...bassinet can only fit up to 75cm? I book 1 for haowen for our perth trip but think he cannot fit in liao cos already more than 80cm...Luckily only 4 hrs flight.

Ling,
welcome. I'm a FTWM.

seabreeze
u still bf right? Then dun need teeth so fast.. when isaac's upper teeth sprouted, i had to stop latch-on coz pain like mad. Seems that he has been latching incorrectly since Day 1.

aidanee
Hv PM'd u abt Pampers All Night..

tingting
wait until i get the stuff from aidanee first..
bath @ 7pm, bedtime @ 8pm. Wear Petpet for 1hr then change to Pampers Premium? No need la.. anyway during bedtime he's sleepy liaoz, dowan to agitate him by changing diaper.
Yeah, may need to upgrade to L size liaoz, sianz. More $$$$$ for L size diapers.. been procrastinating this move!

ineedmilk
if u pump & throw, supply will still maintain.. then when u recover, latch on again.. Or u may want to take this chance to *stop* bf. I've stopped & my boobies belong to me again. During bf, my old tops so tight, now can wear liaooz. kekeke

Sarah's Mom,
Probably I have taken too many durians when I conceived her, so she "zhao shu"..hee~

vone,
Can forget abt getting help from my hubby cos he's always home late. Lucky got a maid around to rotate shift or else I am going to be mad. So how's things goin at your side now? U convert to a SAHM?

Seabreeze,
Serious? YC still w/o tooth? Oso good lor, like that u don't have to bother much abt cleaning his tooth.

Anissa,
Then the milk got to dilute with more water just to prevent Clarence from dehydration. If all these methods still dun work, better bring to the PD again.

cat tail
i was browsing other threads & saw your earlier postings (during preggie days) about not wanting to get a maid.. So now u 180 degree change of heart hor?

wendy, issac is still using M size diapers? tot he had upgraded a long time ago oledi?

cat_tail, ic. then u ask him 2 sponsor u 4 massage k.
m nt a SAHM yet, bt i m gg 2 b 1 soon.

anissa, try giving fruit juice diluted if he still refuses water. agree with cat tail, got to take care not to let clarence get dehydrated. when zephan was down with fever i doused him with water every now n then...

wendy, zephan bathes at 5pm at my mum's place, but during weekends he bathes right before he sleeps. if ur bath time is only 1hr before then just upgrade to L size la.. try petpet L first. it could hold zephan's overnight quite ok. in fact, am quite tempted to convert him to full petpet now, cos noticed that zephan doesn't seem to pee as much at night as before these days.

vone
yeah he's still on M size for Petpet & Pampers Premium & Mamy Poko. For Huggies he's using L size, also for NTUC diaper, but haven't bought that for sometime liaoz.
Now the Petpet M size he wears as hipster.. hahaha

ting2
i always thought that Petpet *cannot* make it for overnight... 12hrs leyyyy. Ok one night if his bath & bedtime is delayed, i shall pluck up the courage to use Petpet L overnight. See 9-10hr how. Did u get your Petpet from Rivervale Plaza yet?

hi mommies

here's a video of megan walking using push walker. I realise they need to be guided that they can walk using the walker. When I first brought the walker out for her today, she stood there and kept playing with the toys. I had to hold her hands on the walker and push it. Suddenly, she realise that she could walk with it and kept walking heheheheh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rlT4pidVno

wendyg,
Haha, u r good leh, can browse my previous posting. Somemore all the way to my preggie times.

Actually I am still against maid but really got no choice cos it's hard to get help from our working parents. And then I tried a local nanny but things oso doesn't goes smoothly. Btw, this maid is my 2nd one & so far so good. Cross my finger she can serve me till the end of the contract..or else I better nag my hubby to let me be a SAHM...hyiak~

vone,
Really!!! U goin to be a SAHM!!! How's your maid doing? Talk abt massage, this Sat I am going to Bintan & make my hubby to pay for my spa! Yoohoo~

eileenp,
Got any pic of yor dark prince? Heehee..I like tan boy.

angel, megan looks v pro at the walker! i tried letting zephan use that some months back, but he just lurged forward n nearly fell. after that i sold off the walker liao.. :p maybe it was too early for him. am thinking of getting another one for outdoor use. seen a baby use that around my estate's garden n thought it's a good idea. at least more spacious

wendy, havent had a chance to go rivervale plaza.. u going there? there were some occasions when we didn't have a chance to change zephan into PP, so let him sleep in petpet, and it was ok. maybe bcos it's L size so can hold more. but must remember to tape properly cos the leg hole is larger.

hi Anissa,
Do try the porridge water.. it's also mentioned one the leftlet I got from NUH's children clinic. Also milk will cause more diarrhoea so it's ok to reduce milk intake. but need to increase water intake to avoid dehydration.
Ya I think yr mum is feeling guilty. Let her vent it on the fishmonger and that will save her some face lor... I bet she'll be grateful to you for not pursuing further w her. This is what i learnt also when issues as such arised when my MIL taking care of my gal...

Abt bleeding at mouth when fall, I hear a bit of white sugar at the bleeding area will help to ease the pain and hasten the healing.. also the kid will stop crying cos it's sweet

hello mommies

i just discovered tat she could walk using the walker as my previous attempts weren't successful but that was months ago lah... She will either sit down and play with the toys on the walker or just crawl away.

Will take more videos tonight using camera. The above video taken using my hp.. hehehe

OUr babies look really cute learning how to walk

tingting,
Think you need to get a walker with traction control. The walker in the video is tomy/disney and it has traction control and it's great, cost $75 from kiddy palace/Taka. Another good walker is the elc walker but it cost $100!!!

I think it's not true that using conventional walker will delay babies unassisted first step.

hi angel,
my gal still not able to stand stable to play with the toy and dun wanna walk even when held. So maybe can get from you 2nd hand by the time my gal needs it and megan outgrown it haha..
I guess my gal is too heavy at 9+kg so more diff learning to walk/stand.. unlike Megan more agile.

hi cakey

encourage your gal to stand by playing standing up peek a boo by putting your gal inside, blocking off her cot using a piece of cloth so that she needs to stand when she wants to see you while playing peek a boo. Think it will help

wendyg:
u stopped bf? Thot u going to "tong" until 1 year.
Oh apparently, Doris told me that i can continue latching eliz on even tho i m on anti-botics.. so i guess i can continue for a few more days..

tingting:
nope, its not that pimply thing... all i know that its very painful.

vone:
huh? u going 2b SAHM?

anissa:
no lah, not hardworking.. i stopped pumping in office for more than a month liao. So only latch morning n night.

any of your babies lost weight even tho they didn't fall sick? Just weighed Elizabeth and realised she lost 200g. Now she's only 8.5kg.

i need milk
It should be normal especially during the transition from milk to solids. My baby's weight at 9 months went down to the same when she was 6 months+

PG, u clearing wardrobe arh? hehe.. i also did that sometime back
btw, i received reply from the punggol volunteer for mummyunited. let me know if u want me to pass you the contact. i plan to clear my hb's wardrobe also n give all together, with my soft toys at my mum's place.

the walker is interesting. I bought 1 type w/o control so i have to be the "control" standby there to restrict from moving forward to fast. hmm, think tis btr.. Kiddy palace sell har? any brands to recommend??

Bubblyface: we can't throw our bb to hubby totally... at times still gota spot check them.. look c look c... keke

wendy, ic. mayb u can upgrade him. then it can hold more of his pee?

angel, megan is so clever.

cat_tail, ya, i'll b a SAHM 4 a while b4 i find another job. luckily my 4th maid is okie. so i m keeping my fingers crossed tt she can finish her contract & extend somemore. haha... wah... spa at bintan. mus njoy urself k.

i need milk, ya, 4 d time being. dun tink i can b a permanent SAHM. m nt inclined 4 tt. i really admire SAHM coz they hv a lot of patience.