(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi smallbell,
no leh, i didn't buy organic..my reasoning is that if start giving organic at such a young age, must continue until when leh? worried if get them used to organic, system too clean, next time if eat outside food then how? at home we also don't eat organic...

the heinz sweet corn is by itself or mixed? so far i only see Pumpkin sweet corn or sweetcorn chicken. Do you know where i can find just plain corn?

smallbell
gerber prune is sticky type.
Isaac was in his own room from... 2 months old onwards i think? can't remember

I'm a Mummy!
you are right, if give organic will have to continue with it. I bought the Heinz sweet corn (plain) at Giant but it's for 6mths and above.

wendyg,
Do u need to use bb monitor for Isaac?

Hi smallbell,
actually i do buy some bottles of organic baby food for their flavours which the normal ones don't have (heinz golden vege mash, and heinz sweet vege mash) but i don't give solely organic, only once in a while haha that day i went giant didn't see the sweet corn, maybe eyes stick stamp keke will open my eyes big big next time 8)

btw, when do we move on to second foods or stage two? when baby is 6/7months?

small bell
my bb monitor is on, but the way he screams, actually dun need it.

i'm a mummy
isaac started eating a Stage 2 cereal ystrday. He's 6m+. Tastes great! finished his portion - good boy.

I popped in here few months ago; my baby was born sep 11 05.

I'll like to check the current weight/ ht of bb as my girl is 8.3kg/ 64cm --- is that too big??
doc said ok but frd of mine 7.5mos babe only weigh 7.3kg...

hope to hear from you soon! thank you in advance.

amz:
big! but babies fat fat then cute rite?
Since yr doc says ok then don't worry lah.

Wah, 1 day didn't log in only, so many postings!

Tennyson_mummy
Our babysitting arrangement is working v well. Thanks for the concern. I put the baby cereals in a lock n lock box and pass to nanny every monday, only take back on Friday. Haowen takes cereals for both lunch n dinner at nanny's place during the weekdays. Yes, the cereal will replace his milk feed and we sometimes add the puree into the cereal, sometime serve separately...

Cat_tail
welcome to the babysitter club!

Re gathering
I oso prefer catered food rather than BBQ.

Triniti
try Taka for themal swim wear. Think I saw some there.

Re sleeping
Haowen oso started out as a sarong baby (rocked to sleep then transferred to cot), but ever since he learnt how to flip, he prefers to sleep side way and on the bed direct. So nowadays, I'll just change him, put him in cot and turn off the light. He will automatically do a half-flip and doze off within 5-10 mins - no crying. As he sleeps at 8pm, he would usually wake up once in the night for a milk feed (more frequent like 2 hrly if teething). He will oso sometime make noise w eyes closed but I'll just plug in the pacifier or feed him water.

Small Bell
Haowen sleeps in his own room since 2MO. Found it v convenient for parents cos we need not disturb him with our morning preparation for work. Only need to wake him up when it's time to leave for nanny's place.

Amz
Dun worry lah. My boy at 5.5MO is already 8.8kg/70cm.

My bb boy just weighed today and and had his 4th month injection. Weight is 7.8kg.

re: BBQ cum Swimming gathering (4 March Sat) Swimming @ 4pm and BBQ @ 6pm

1. Seabreeze - hubby + YC (cater)
2. Anissa
3. Small Bell - 1 adult n 1 baby (cater)
4. Lib - 1 adult + kylie cater
5. Ting Ting - 2 adults + zephan (cater)
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
9. Cookies + hubby + Ern Ray (ok with both options)
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp + hubby + bb Kai (fine with both)
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom
14. snoopy (fine with pot luck or catered BBQ)
15. Aidanee + hubby + Cayden (cater)

I'm sorry if i missed reading this, but where is this held?

I'm a mummy,
2nd food for Gerber doesn't state the age group, so i assume for 6mths and above. I didn't notice organic ones have different flavours. Then I shall try too, only cost a few cents more.

ixwong,
that's so convenient. Does Haowen gets angry when you wake him up to go to the nanny place?

2. Anissa - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom

Amz
aiyo, let your baby be big lor.. o'wise how, put her on a diet? As long as she's happy & healthy, dun worri too much lah.

hey i'm a mummy, my gal is exactly like urs! she sleeps in the sarong in the day but if u try to put her in the sarong after 7pm, she will cry her head off! haha.. She will want to sleep in her cot or on our bed.. i also wear mittens for her.. but will find it all off in the morning..

i din have to train her to sleep on her own. She has been sleeping thru the nite since ard 3mths.. last feed ard 8pm until 6am.. sometimes can even sleep for 12hrs straight! her usual wake up time is 8am.

But nowadays she wakes up at ard 4-5am and wants milk. i think cos she is hungry, probably need to start on solids liao (i haven't given her additional stuff to her milk). I tried to increase her milk qty but she refuse to take in more than 180ml per feeding.. only the feeding intervals getting shorter and shorter..

Hi mummies out there,

My bb is currently on Nan HA & I'm thinking of switching formula cos it seems tat he doesn't like it. He has only been drinking 2 to 3oz of milk lately especially after his fever 2 days ago...

Still thinking of whether to buy Similac or Enfapro...any bb using Enfapro A+?? Any comments?

cakey
It is called Shine Mate baby mattress. I saw at a road show. I have the namecard somewhere, will try to find it. I think the price may be around $100, cannot recall.

triniti
How do you prepare zucchinis? Blend the seeds also?

wendyg
For daytime naps, sometimes Annette dozes off herself, sometimes we carry, sometimes we let her cry. Not very consistent for day.

Re: Nepia diapers
Any Punggol or SK mommies want to share a delivery? I'm ordering 2 packs but they only deliver for 4. $14 per pack for any size.

hey PG
Yeah dun need to peel the skin just wash it with salt and boil it with a little bit of water and blend it. It will be quite watery so now I will add into the cereal and he loves it

Small Bell
So far ok, he will be "gong gong" when we wake him up but no crying or anger. Guess by 7.30am he had enough sleep liao cos slept at 8pm mah. Anyway, if we never wake him, he would oso usually wake up by himself around 8-8.30am....

2. Anissa - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong + hubby + haowen (cater)
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom

hi passing guest,
Thanks for the info. $100 is not cheap too for the mattress cos I wonder how long can I use it before she climb over the boundary hehe.. Heard that KiddyPalace is selling, will dropby there to take it look. Thus you don't have to take the trouble to find the namecard

Hi moulinmum,
Guess what? my girl also always drink 180ml of milk only haha :eek:) yup, when she was 4mths, she started waking up at around 3 or 4am for milk, so i started her on solids. After that, she just slept as per normal till 5/6am :eek:)

Thanks ixwong for the info.

haha ... mine also dreamy state when I wake him up at 7am every morning. Haowen can sleep till 8+ good leh ... mine is really a rooster bb ... 5+ can hear some noises make by him and when I take a look he 'eyes big big' look at me liao

Pat him to sleep back but can't sleep long leh ... at the most 6+ ... wkday I dun mind but wkend can't sleep late .. **sob*sob**

i'm a mummy/ small bell
what do u do with the glass bottles from the baby food? Seems like such a pity to throw them away ley.

i'm a mummy, serious ah?? haha.. i think jasmin will make good frens with my julia. and just realised that ur gal has the same name as me.. but mine with 'e'!

wendyg, the gerber site is v informative. now i know roughly wat to do to start julia on solids. thanks! the next step is to decide which brand of food to feed her! dun know whether shd feed her home-made stuff.. like kinda waste time to make something and just feed 1 or 2 teaspoons rite? hmmm..

moulinmum
dat's where the freezing ice cube trays come in.. prepare more qty & freeze in per serving cubes. When it's time to eat, just defrost accordingly.
I guess home made is the best, coz u control what baby eats.. but for convenience, the bottled food works v well. Be sure to read the label for ingredients.

wendyg
but i tot vege lose their nutrients over time?? so if freeze the food then food over a few days, is the baby really getting the nutrients?? very chim.. btw, when u defrost, have to re-cook the food again rite? will that destroy the remaining nutrients?

to defrost i just put in a small cup & dump in the Avent warmer..
regarding the nutrients - yeah i guess it's true about the loss of nutrients, dat's why the Gerber bottles indicate refrigerate after opening for 2-3 days only.. nvr mention freezing, & cannot keep too long. Btw, i dun DIY my baby's food... i use bottled food..

tingting
i remember u wanting to get rid of some cereal that Zephan doesn't like... does the package indicate to finish using within a month?
Saw this in the Gerber site
Q: How long can I keep an opened container of cereal?
A: An opened container of cereal may be kept up to two months in your kitchen cabinet.

wendyg,
i keep some of the glass bottles to store EBM, puree food or cooking stuff (ginger, spices). It is useful container as the lid is very tight.

For gerber, I use 2nd food and even 3rd food (sweet potato and carrots) as the texture is the same, just larger in quantity. The cost is only a few cents more, so might as well get the 3rd food. Heinz is better as the texture is different for the age group.

Hi wendyg,
I throw the bottles into the recycling bin..too much junk lying around in the house.Actually i started keeping the bottles, but hubby told me to throw away, so we have a lot of Lock Lock airtight containers, no need to use these glass bottles, and dangerous also..duunno lah, i also find wasted, so i collect and put in recyling bin lor

Hi moulinmum,
hehe ya...maybe next time they can go to school together...will you be sending your daughter to your 'old' school? i most prob will, so don't have to queue up from scratch haha

wendy, yah, they recommended to discard after 1 month. same for FM. gotta throw away my heinz soon.. think i'll stick to nestle. he seems to like the brown rice cereal. finished the entire pack today. but i read that babies are quite fickle in their foods, so may change their tastes frequently.

tingting:
the nestle cereal got sugar..... maybe thats why babies like it. I chose Heinz cos no added sugar and no salt. Think let them try bland food better... cos once they taste sugar, they will always want it. Not to mention kids get hyper with sugar.

Re- Grobag

Any mummies purchased Grobags for your baby? Is 1.0 tog good enough for aircon room around 25/26 degrees? or must buy 2.5tog? is the grobag a good buy?

i'm a mummy
i think angel has grobag...

smallbell
u say Patrick finishes 3 jars a day.. so for 1 meal, u just feed him bottled food issit? Any cereal?

tingting
isaac can finish 1 sample pack of Nestle at 1 sitting. I measured - dat's 3 tablespoonfuls. Did Dr Vanessa give u some samples? She gave me a few packs.
Is it a good idea to let baby try different types of cereal? So far isaac tried plain rice, brown rice & wheat.. standby some multi-grain & flavoured cereal also. Punggol mummies i dun mind share portions with u coz maybe can't finish within the time frame. Just come with air-tight containers & i'll gladly "open ceremony". For now i dun dare to open the rest of the boxes yet, today just opened 1.

hi wendy..

celest here (ur coll).. happened to come by tis thread & so happy to c tat u r in here too

ok.. actuali i nid some advise fr some exp mummies here..
my gal who is 2m+ doesnt like to drink water.. whenever i try feeding her.. she tends to do get cranky & 'quarrel' wif me

do mommies here face such probs wif ur newborn huh? or stil hv e same prob? izit ok for bb not to drink water?

hi madam...
long time told u to drop by liaoz... now going back to work then discover huh! =P
isaac initially hated water too.. so i started to feed him water at night instd of bf.. heard that the water feeds was supposed to deter him from waking, but alas! It's been at least 2-3 months & he's still waking up at night. Nowadays for night water feeds he drinks much more, eg 50ml at 1 shot. Last time the moment he figured it was water, he would spit out the teat & protest.
On the advise on my granny & aunts, i added Guniliang (Niu2 Nai3 Liang2) - available fr pharmacies, i think. Has a bit of honey taste, acts as "detox" - coz isaac didn't poo for over a week.. Now that his poo is better, i stopped adding the Guniliang & he still takes the water.
When feeding solids (for u, next time lah), he also seems to appreciate water to wash down, esp if i'm giving some cereal then switch a few spoonfuls of vege, then cereal again..

i was juz plain lazy to drop in earlier on.. kekeke..

ok.. i guess ur guniliang is gripe water rite?
im giving gemma too.. & lucky for me.. gemma oni wake up 1x in e nite.. initially when i feed her wif gripe water, i diluted it wif water.. but she didnt want it & pushed e teat out & cried like mad.. so bo bian.. i stop feeding water totally.. then like issac lor she din poo for almost 5days! i was worried sick.. then my mum told me to feed her e gripe water directly & spoon feed her water after tat.. tis method was stil ok.. at least she stil managed to drink abit of water.. some aunties taught me to gif honey but some said beta not as it can cause phelgm.. any advise on tis? how abt ribena? izit too early to gif her?

no it's not gripe water. It's Guniliang. I can show u when u're back.
Ribena?! I nvr heard ley.. so young start them on sugared drinks? I heard of using honey to get them to poo, but since the guniliang worked, i didn't use honey.
Isaac is one breastfed baby who doesn't poo regularly... help me save diaper $$... *hiak* But use back the same $$ to buy him prune juice. So even out lah.

i'm a mummy, cannot leh.. my old primary sch already 'extinct' liao! hahaa... kanna change to secondary sch. Also, it will be tooooooo far to send julia there! It's in amk, now i am living in jurong. probably send her to the nearby neighbourhood sch... but hey! it's too early even to think abt that rite? heehehe...

25 degrees not very cold wat, just wear long sleeves and long pants can already. My gal sleeps in 23, sometimes 21! She loves to be frozen! duhz... i only wear long sleeves and pants with mitten and socks for her. Cover 1 pc nappy and 1 pc thin blanket.

re: cereals
i bought the dumex fine cereals but realised that it's only for 6mths and above! even for their step 1.. Guess have to go and racki other brands. Anyone feeding some chinese brand name brown rice cereal?? Is that good? I saw that it can be given to babies 4mths and above. Any other brands that can be feed to below 6mths babies?

celest, if breastfeeding dun need to drink water is okie. But if formula, then old people will tell u that it's heaty and must give bb drink water after each feed.
Last time julia also 'hated' water. Give her will spit out like mad. Even after i switched to formula, she also dun take water. Only when she was abt 3mths plus then she started to take in water. But also depends on her mood one. When she is thirsty, she can even drink up to 100ml of water. Can't be hungry cos she knows the diff bet water and milk. I tried giving her water when she is hungry, she die die also wouldn't drink. Just spit out the teat and cry even louder! hahaha.

But i realised that giving warm water really helps to encourage her to drink. Maybe cos milk is warm so more acceptable to her. U can try it out.

re: honey
my mum and aunties also kept telling me to feed my bb with honey so can 'cool' her down. But i read somewhere that no supposed to give babies below 1yr honey in case of reaction to pollen. Quite dangerous. Well, the old people will just say 'last time also feed u, u also become bai bai pang pang wat!' To each his own, i guess. I rather be safe than sorry. But i started to feed her with boiled barley recently.

wendyg, the prune juice is those especially for babies one?? wat brand?? Or is it the normal prune juice? Do u dilute cos the normal one taste v strong rite? Sometimes julia also constipate and the poo is very hard and dry. Hopefully, after starting to feed her fruit juice will be better. Intending to start her on cereals and juice this wk cos she is starting to behave like a hungry monster! hahaha!!

tmr i'm morning off..
here's what's on the guniliang box..
Efficacy: refrigerant, phlegm-dissolving, cough relieving, disgestive, stomach ache etc.
(Allowed for sale as a Chinese Proprietary Medicine)

moulinmum
prune juice from Heinz or Gerber. I think it's Apple Prune Juice. Heinz is for 6 months & abv. Gerber - under 6 months also can. I will still dilute it coz direct fr the bottle is too sour...

moulinmum:
Try the Heinz Rice cereal (blue box). Its for 4-6 mths old. The chinese brand brown rice ... is is Si Sen brand? Heard it tastes yucky.

wendyg:
went to dr sears website and it said that Peas are one food that may cause allergies. Shucks. I just bought 1 jar of sweet peas!!

i need milk, yah! it's Si Sen something one.. it taste horrible?? well, wat do u expect from brown rice.. hahaha! In that case, i dun buy liao. Will go and look for the Heinz one then.

wendyg, thanks, will let julia try some of that then. Btw, is the guniliang some clear and quite thick liquid?? I think the medical hall recommended me to get it when i was pregnant to feed to the baby. But up till now, i din use it.. it's sitting in the cupboard. haha.. it's meant to clear up the milk deposits on the tongue and mouth rite??

wah... u all talk abt brownies at this time of the nite.. make me crave for it only!