(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

re: BBQ cum Swimming gathering (4 March Sat) Swimming @ 4pm and BBQ @ 6pm

1. Seabreeze - hubby + YC (cater)
2. Anissa
3. Small Bell - 1 adult n 1 baby (cater)
4. Lib
5. Ting Ting - 2 adults + zephan (cater)
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
9. Cookies + hubby + Ern Ray (ok with both options)
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom
14. snoopy (fine with pot luck or catered BBQ)

temple
delay egg white until after 1yr old. yolk is ok.

isaac is 8.1kg at 6m... PD said he's slightly on the heavy side.. coz average 1yr olds are only 9kg. So mummies out there, dun fret that your baby is too small/ light/ eat too little etc... cannot beat my isaac, every 4hr only takes 150ml average... sometimes only 60ml... can't even finish 1 regular portion of cereal - only takes 2 thirds. Poos once a week, & only after some prune juice! But as long as he's happy, it's fine by me..
now he wants to learn typing m gm l,mk ? /; ;';' ;/xd

so amusing

he's using avent magic cup with 3m soft spout.. likes to bite & doesn't drink much of the water inside. Can hold handles n stuff the spout into his mouth on his own

Hee hee. Worse come to worse YC got to share his bed loh with all the gou-gou and jie-jie.

2. Anissa
4. Lib
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong + hubby + Haowen (cater)
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom

2. Anissa
4. Lib
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom
15. Aidanee + hubby + Cayden (cater)

Wendyg,
Issac 8.1kg at 6MO consider heavy? No wonder my PD is giving me strange looks when I expressed concern over Haowen's recent lack of appetite. Haowen is 8.8kg at 5.5MO. Drinks abt 100-120ml x 5 times/day + 2 meals of cereal (half bowl each).....

ixwong
exactly... so often i read about mummies going "Is my baby underweight" but they're heavier than Isaac... i heard it fr the PD directly - He's considered heavy for his age! Thank God.. o'wise my back would REALLY break... *piak*
Half bowl cereal?!?! wa lao.. mine can't finish 1 normal serving... nvrmind lah, save $$ for mummy, dun spend too much on food. haha.

hey wendy, u home today arh?

finally found a way to make zephan eat his heinz cereal. i mix it with milk powder, currently using nestle nan 2. he could finish most of what i prepared. and he likes his cereal thick too! and here i was preparing liquid form cos scared he cannot swallow thicker mixtures properly... haiz..

erm, does anyone blend leafy veggies into cereal? seems a bit yucky to put it in blender, and the fibre is difficult to remove? i haven't started on fruits n veggies yet, but am thinking of adding veggies n fish to porridge, and give him scrapped fruit at around 7 mths.

Can you share if it is worthwhile to buy a bumper playmat? I am still contemplating.....missed the bulk purchase at the marketplace (haha, what's new?!) Or any mom wishes to let go?

tingting
So fast use nan 2 liao huh? ya, I oso make cereal for haowen using FM cos with BM the cereal v watery like soup which haowen dun like. I haven't tried adding leafy veg puree to the cereal. So far only tried sweet potato, pumpkin and apple. I would puree the veg/fruits separately. Only heat up and add into cereal at meal times. Intend to try green beans or spinach this weekend....I intend to start haowen on porridge sometimes next month. Think will start with potato and veg. Later on, fish and chicken.....

Aidanee
I think my bumpermat is well worth the $$. Haowen has been flipping on it for the past 2 months and I dun have any worries abt him knocking his head against the hard floor. Think the mat will also be v useful when he starts crawling...

ixwong, thanks....i think i will get one for cayden. he hasnt learnt to flip yet....and my mil is asking me this qn EVERYDAY she comes home. sigh...

okie, going off for a movie (fearless)wiht cayden n daddy at Jurong Point. hehehhe...trying my luck! hope he stays guai guai....

before i go...maybe we can cater from neo garden...cos always end up only one or 2 persons doing the BBq......also quite messy n hot.n smokey...not very conducive for bbs ....what do you guys think?

ixwong,

How's Haowen at bbsitter? Hope everything is fine.

Btw, you put a packet at bbsitter or juz split 50/50 with bbsitter? How many times you feed Haowen cereal now?
Does cereal replaced his milk session now? You add the sweet potato, pumpkin and apple into the cereal and feed him?

Sorry for asking so many questions ... keke

ixwong, yah, cos zephan will be 6 months tomorrow... hehe... time flies!

hmm, aidanee's suggestion is good... didn't consider the mess of bbq... possible to go for swim n have catered food at the apartment? then at least daddies will have their hands clean to take over babies.

aidanee,
yes yes, the bumper playmat is a good buy, but get the bumper ones intead of the children floormat, I've got both & really the quality of bumper playmat is better!
No regrets! Oops.. sorry, not selling at the momment leh..:p

re: gathering (food)
hmm... actually I loves BBQ, but ya, it may be messy... unless 'anyone' got spare hands to 'beng' for us? eg, daddies, maids etc, hee hee...keeping my fingers cross, my hb kenna reservist that period, i may be there with Keyon alone..
Anyway, I can eat anything.
Seabreeze, if u r ordering anything, do split the cost.. dun bear it urself okie..(^^)

Today my mood is super good, finally found a babysitter for Edna.

Hi tingting,
U already started Nan 2? How is it?

aidnaee,
I bot the bumpermat from Wonderbeing. So far so good & it's very comfy!

Wah so happening so fast there is another gathering but I am going to be very busy since I am not going to be a full time SAHM soon...so I cannot join u girls for the outing but do take lotsa pics as usual...

I wanna get a full thermal suit for anton but I dunno where to get it..can anyone tell me where to get those thermal swimming suits?

yeah I think the bumpermat is a great buy!!Anton has the habit of hitting his forehead on his mat after trying to "crawl" or when he gets tired when he lift his head up for too long...

BTW, anton's intake of milk has decreased. Now I give him 180ml of milk in the morning, 3 cubes of variation of root vegetables( eqv to one tablespoon per cube) for lunch plus 120 ml of ebm . At 3pm, 120ml of ebm and for dinner...I gave him 3 cubes and 3 teaspoon of rice cereal and 240ml of milk ( 160 ebm, the rest formula)
at 12am I feed him another 90 ml of formula but I am cutting this down soon. Going from 90 to 60 ml and eventually dun need to feed him any more midnight feeds
he don't drink as much as before and now that worries me haha...

cat tail:
so you not getting another maid?

tingting:
after 6 mths of not working, i wonder if u can remember yr passwords to yr office email, etc! :p

re: bumper playmat
The bumper playmat is really expensive. Was thinking of being cheapo and get those $20 ABC alphabet mat....

ineedmilk, no lah, they suspend my acct liao.. will reissue me the passwords etc when i go back.. prob is, will i still remember how to work?!

cat_tail, he seems ok on nan 2.. this is his 1st time taking formula. will cont to monitor for allergy. in any case, i've also got mamil n similac on standby..hehe...

re: bumper playmat
advise not to get the alpha mat.. for mine, the alphabets can be removed from the squares, and cleaning is a nightmare! saliva gets in between the nooks n cannot just wipe off the surface. for this reason, i'm tempted to get the bumper playmat, but the price is a big deterrent....

re: sleeping
any tips on making baby sleep on their own, besides the cry it out method, and the sarong? my boy used to be nursed to sleep, but recently he doesn't always sleep even after feed. also thinking it's not a good method in the long run, esp after i've weaned him. he cried for a good 30min tonight before going off to sleep in between sniffs.

Tingting
Just over a week ago, I started letting Annette sleep on her own without being nursed or carried. Mimicked Gina Ford's method (from Contented Little Baby Book) with some variations. First night she cried almost 40 mins, but as the days passed and as her schedule gets more regulated, she would cry for 5 mins or less before falling to sleep. This evening she cried less than half a min, found her thumb to suck and here I am, surfing the net and doing my work. Try it :)

ineedmilk,
Ya, no maid for me liao. Too tired to re-train another one. Plus maid is not supervising by anyone so not realistic lor.

tingting,
How abt poo ok? I heard Nan2 may cause constipation, but dun noe how true lor.

tingting/ Passing Guest
re: cry-it-out
then in the middle of the night will u pick baby up when he cries? What if he's really hungry - leave him be? Coz Isaac will still wake at 1am & 4am to eat. And he does eat.. not just suck for fun..
What about daytime naps?
I'm so tempted to try it... coz he wakes so often & just needs a cuddle to fall back asleep again. And nowadays i'm getting so immune to his cries.. even in the middle of the night my hsbnd has to wake me up to tell me that baby wants to eat. Somehow i can't hear it anymore..
But yet PD said it might be teething issues, so hv to put up with it. ?!?!

tingting, how did u change baby to nan 2? change to nan 2 instantly or half nan 1 and half nan 2?

re : FM
anyone knows whats the diff between the singapore's and malaysia's Nan milk? my baby is at my MIL's place this 2 weeks and run out of the Singapore FM laio.. So MIL bought the malaysia one for him.. But heard b4 that we should not buy FM from malaysia.. anyone knows the difference?

For mummies using bumper mat, does the bb roll off the mat? How do you prevent that? or does the mat big enuff to cover some part of the wall as well?
Was thinking of getting some sort of mat or mattress but still bb will roll/struggle/'crawl' till the edge and I'm not sure how to handle that. Abit headache since nowadays bb sometimes refuse to sit in walker/bouncer and it's diff when I'm alone. Even if buckle her up in the bouncer she'll struggle to pull at the side or her toes such that she might slide off it (unless i really buckle very tight till she can't move).

wendyg
Annette would be put to bed at 9pm sharp these days. When we first started this system, she would wake at 3am to feed (I will still oblige coz I also cannot sleep if I'm hungry, so I'm sure baby too). Yesterday we fed her solids for dinner as well and she managed to sleep thru until 6am. We'll see what happens tonight.

For daytime naps, she should have 1 long one around midday after her lunch and 1-2 short ones in the afternoon.

What time does Isaac usually sleep? Do you want to loan the book, it's very thin. Can finish in 2 seatings.

cakey
I have seen a mattress that comes with raised borders on all sides. It's very safe to use and good even for toddlers. When you don't need it, you can fold it and it will look like a mini "sofa bed".

passing guest
i mean did u let annette cry it out for her daytime naps too? Cry-it-out method, read it many times on the net... only thought abt it & partial execution some months back. Does your book say any different..
isaac has been sleeping abt 9pm for sometime, but tonight exceptionally early - 6.30pm he knocked out liaozzz

wendyg,
I use passing guest method since bb was 3mths and it works. The middle of night crying will reduce over days, i took about 1 week. The feeding pattern works similarly to adult. If you wake up to take supper every night, then you cannot change the habit. So don't worry about Isaac going hungry.

re: Jar Food
Does anyone use jar food? i tried making all sorts of different puree but still failed. My boy simply loves eating jar food, about 3 jars per day. He doesn't like plain cereal but if mix with some jar food, he accepts. I just can't figure out what's so special in the content that makes it so tasty. Now i worried that it is not very healthy and very costly for me to continue feeding jar food in the long run.

small bell
re: cry-it-out
will see how.. tmr is another day! Did u let Patrick cry it out for his daytime naps too?

Yes i'm using bottled baby food. Not too adventurous, only tried Heinz Carrot & Gerber Pear & Gerber Prune.. Isaac most definitely doesn't like carrot.. he'll spit it out! But he gladly takes the powdered cereal, provided it's thick enuf. I mashed some banana for him before, he liked it.
Wah, 3 jars a day!! Dat's a lot huh! It's been over a month since i opened a jar of carrot, & he hasn't finished it yet! Very little, considering i gave tingting half a jar...
I think he can finish a jar of Gerber Pear a day, it's sweet! But i dun give him everyday.. only when he threatens not to poo, then i give him some. Plus the ever faithful prune juice too..

2. Anissa
4. Lib
6. Cakey
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom

another option is that i book the function room then we can have our dinner there ... the function room is big enough to accomodate everyone + stroller heehee ... so shall we vote ... BBQ or cater food

hmmm neo garden is nice ... anyone bday in March ... then we can qualify for the 20% discount heehee

wendyg:
day time also must cry-it-out??

tingting:
eliz needs to be nursed to sleep every nite. i am now a human pacifier. think its becos i have been nursing her to sleep every night since day 1. Became a habit for her. Does Zephan have the same habit since u too nurse him to sleep everyday? I wonder if giving a pacifier will help.

wendyg,
Opps, i still can't figure out how to regulate the daytime naps. Some days Patrick takes long nap and other days several short naps.
I have become the supporter of Heinz and Gerber. The best value flavour is the Heinz Pumpkin Potato Beef as beef is something not easily prepared. I didn't know there is prune flavour, will try that too.

mmm.. so sad tt i can't join this gathering... coz got to go batam.. mmm.. but i think there will be another one right? hehe... anyway.. enjoy urselves..

ineedmilk
isaac can only fall asleep if someone rocks him or in a moving vehicle.. whether daytime nap or at night. So i was thinking - may as well let him cry it out all the way.. why only for night? But must find a good time to start. Or rather there's never a good time to start letting your baby get so traumatised about getting to sleep... sigh.

thinking about the cry-it-out again.. my sis tried it before & her boy became so frightened that he'll cling on to her even tighter before she could put him down in his cot. He refused to go near his cot for weeks, even after she gave up & continued to rock him to sleep. She had to re-introduce the cot to him again...
i read some postings on foreign bulletin boards that share their misgivings on the method.. makes me doubtful again!

re: cry it out
what my hb did last night was to sit by the cot n pat him even when he cries v loudly (n pitifully!). sometimes provide a soothing voice. it lasted for abt 30 min or so before he settled down. Later in the night, at abt 12mn, he cried again, but i didn't go to him bcos i know he couldn't have been hungry yet. it lasted not long, n he went back to sleep. fed him at 3am, and just now at 7am. btw, his last feed is about 6.30-7pm.

oh yah wendy, if they expect to be fed to go back to sleep, they WILL feed, even if they can still go on for extra hours without it, so dun be fooled!
it's like a habit for supper.

think will try again tonight. will still have bathe n feed routine, but if he doesn't stay asleep, will have to let him cry again.

i don't want to intro the same method to day naps bcos i reckon they'll outgrow their need for naps, while bedtime is for long term. also, my boy will be taken care of by my mum soon, who will definitely not subscribe to this method. I've also read that babies will not associate naptime routines to bedtime routines as well, so they're quite independent.

re: nan 2
i've not used nan 1 before, so just jumped into nan 2 straight away. only tried for 1 day, so not sure abt constipation prob. but i'm only using it with cereal, once a day, so effects may not be as prominent as those who use it for all feeds. he's still on BM for the rest of the day.

hi passing guest,
Where do you get this mattress? How much it cost and what's the size? Thanks. Some colleagues are using playpen but I think my gal sooner or later will reject it as well. For the time being, I'm going to try lower my cot and make it a temp playpen.

2. Anissa
4. Lib
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom

We can also lay the catered food near bbq pit and make it outdoor right? Those sleepy bb (or sleepy mum/dad??) can rest at function room..

i need milk,

i've already started on the pacifier long time ago..hehe.. actually the nursing to sleep was started by me. it's part of his sleep routing of bathe, feed, sleep. but when he's at my parents' place w/out me he'll have a bottle then placed in the sarong to sleep. sometimes my dad will put him on bed n pat him to sleep using pacifier.

passing guest
I usually let anton have 2 cubes of sweet potato for lunch and one cube of green bean/zuchinni/carrot. Sweet potato I will usually add some milk to make less starchy. If I run out of sweet potato I will use the rice cereal. I am just letting him try as many variations of vege and fruits...
I follow the recipes from Gina Ford books as well
So far anton loves all the food except swede ( it has a really strong taste and smell) but he loves carrots, zuchinni, pear and apples.

Hi Wendyg,
Where can i find gerber prune? is it for babies above 6mths only? so far i have been looking high and low, but ntuc and cold storage dun have lei...

Hi Smallbell,
When we let baby eat jar food that is a combination of different foods, must we beforehand already have let them tried each item individually? ie. pumpkin carrot mash. So before hand, baby eat pumpkin puree before and carrot puree before, so we know that bb is not allergic to either? So for Heinz Pumpkin Potato Beef, how har? My baby also like yours, eating jar food most of the time. but one jar can last her 3 feeds, cause i mix with 3 tablespoon rice cereal and FM everytime. So far i've fed her green bean, carrot, sweet potato, peach and pear. Intend to start broccoli, corn and peas soon. Does gerber or heinz have single flavour of broccoli or corn? i bought peas already :eek:)

re-sleeping alone
has any mummies started letting your bb sleep alone in his or her own room? so far my girl is sleeping in her cot in our room, right beside my bed. When should we start letting baby sleep in her own room? but this mummy is a worry wart leh..every night wake up dunno how many times to see if blanket accidentally cover baby's nose, if she turn until head bump the railing, if her leg sticking out of the railing etc. Wah, if baby don't sleep near me, dunno how man...

Hi tingting,
my girl like your boy, daytime only want to sleep sarong. But at night, she wants to sleep in her cot. If put her in sarong, she will scream. it has always been like that. Since newborn until now, everytime at night, just put her in her cot, she will just play or amuse herself until she fall asleep on her own. she usually plays with her soft toy rattle, staring at it until she sleeps. Recently she has picked up another before-sleep habit. she will pull at each of her mittens until by the time she is asleep, both mittens are off heh (i still wear mittens for her at night, cause aircon room, scared her fingers cold)

i didn't have to use any cry it out method or anything..i think if baby has enough sleep in the day, at night also will sleep easily if baby is kept warm. but on the occasion when my girl cannot fall asleep on her own, and she starts crying out of frustration (she keeps tossing and turning, eyes half closed but still cannot sleep) then i will pat pat her back for a while, then she'll sleep.

so far i think i'm quite lucky hee, cause she has been sleeping through the night since she was 2.5months old. Since about 2.5months old, she has been taking only 4 feeds a day (last feed around 8pm, then she will sleep until 5+6am)

oh forgot to add, sometimes during the night, she will make noise, but her eyes are still closed. I will just stuff the pacifier in her mouth and she will suck and go back to sleep hee

i'm a mummy, wah, envy u leh! ur gal so nice to u.. hehe..

my boy sleeps in his own room, in the cot. at first we used baby monitor, but after a while, just lazy to wake up all the time, since he can go back to sleep on his own. but if both doors are closed, better use the monitor. we don't switch on the aircon.

RE: Nan2
Tingting,
Thanks for the info. Am pondering whether to get Nan2 or Similac ..heehee... too many choices in the market liao until I blur.

i'm a mummy,
Glad to know that i am not the only one feeding bottle food. Yes, i will try out individual flavours to test for allergic. Gerber will have more single flavour (1st food peas, carrot, green bean). Heinz have sweet corn and sweet potato. I don't see broccoli at all.

As for mix flavours, when no allergic to pumpkin and potato, i just give the beef potato pumpkin bottle. Do you get the organic ones? Just wondering if it is necessary to buy the organic.

tingting,
what age did you start your boy on sleeping in own room. I am tempted to try.

wendyg,
is the gerber prune sticky type or more watery?

small bell, he started at least 2 months ago, think ard 3rd mth. that was bcos we placed him in aircon room while we slept in non aircon cos my hb got sinus. after that, we just left him there.. without aircon.. hehe..

2. Anissa
4. Lib - 1 adult + kylie cater
6. Cakey - 2 adults + bb (cater)
7. Ixwong
8. Temple
10. Applejuz
11. eileenp
12. vone
13. Nicky's Mom