(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cat_tail, i bot fr watsons the panties (cotton type) which i tink cost $3+ instead of the cheaper type. the material is more cloth type vs the more paper-feel (cheaper ones). heard dat after delivery, kinda painful & uncomfy down there, so try to get smoother material..

morning! am also curious abt the use of pads after delivery. Re disposable panties, they seem like they will tear quite easily. will we have to change a new one whenever we change the pad? cos i think the flow for first 2 weeks will be heavy, n prob have to change at least 4-5 times per day? feels like we're using disposable diapers like our bb...hehe... some disposables are quite expensive, n if we go chinatown to buy some cheap cloth panties, maybe it can be even cheaper than disposables? anyone can advise how much is disposables on a per piece basis?

Yah, gloomy day today. I saw so many different brands of maternity pads at kiddy. any idea which brand is better? Also, how is the utilisation like? Do we need to buy > 1 packet? If so, I think I better buy first. don't think my hubby knows what I want.

Good morning everyone, have been without menses for soooo long. Enjoying this moment man...

Hi Timie,
I wonder the cotton type izzit those loose type of pantie? I always feel very funny like never wear anything at all. ..haha

morning mummies.
such nice weather. was really tempted 2 take mc or urgent leave 2 stay at hm & sleep.

cat_tail, true. but sometimes, i really dun noe wat 2 eat.

anissa, dun fret. jus come in when u can & chat wif us okie.

cat_tail, ya, i know wat u mean. will prob go back and try out
i did get some cheap normal cotton ones from JL during the sale, think will use those as well. def shd be more comfy than disposables..

Hi Samantha, I also dunno how to use the loop pads.. after tt, I just change to the pads I brought. haha.. the nurse scolded my hb in fact cos right after they pushed me bk to the ward, I went to the toilet to pee and change. Nurses are concerned cos some may faint. I dun like to wear those maternity pads too.. very thick and bulky. Prefer to use heavy flow nite pads with wings!

Hi Tingting, yes.. what I did is to change both the disposable panties and the pad.. so just take off and throw away.. no need to wash stained panties.. cos one day change a lot of times, very ma fan!

Hi Timie, I also got my disposable panties from Watson's cos it's only $1.99 so I grab ah! hahaha..

291343.png

Hi miso,
May I ask how many panties are there in that $1.99 pack from Watson's???
Is it an offer price or all along at that price?

oh, that makes things easier huh... btw, saw Metro having sale for disposable panties too.. think 6 pcs for $1.70. Quality quite papery feel, but if just throwing at every change shldn't worry abt tearing..
time to stock up on those n pads! i like sofy cos it gives a good sense of security with it's length...haha...

dear mummies,
what a morning, pouring rain and super sleepy....i wish i am now in bed resting....
talking about pads, i think the most comfortable one should be those with Wings! I will definitely get those cotton type disposable panties...paper type seems abit hard to adapt.

timie,
your breaky sounds very nice...i like nutella with bread too! i spread it with peanut butter as well, one slice each.

anissa,
don't worry abt not catching up with the postings, me too, sometimes busy so missed a few days.....

My sister bought me some disposable panties liao. my colleague bought 1 pack for me too... so now I have 3 packs. dun think i am buying anymore.
Need to change 4-5 times a day? the flow must be very very heavy. normally for menses, we don't change that often right ? so long never had menses, so kinda forget liao...hehe....

Hehe... am taking bread for teabreak now. not hungry, but i am still eating.

Hi eileen, the pack consists of 6 or 7 disposable panties. Can't really remember.. but I think normally should be about this number. I bot it when Watson's have the $1.99 sale. Now they hv 20% storewide but dunno if they selling the disposable panties at this price anot..

Hi Samantha, 3 packs only.. where got enaf?? Imagine u will hv heavy flow for abt 2 weeks.. I hv about 10 packs in my cabinet now.. still thinking whether to get somemore.. hahaha.. In fact, if consider 24 hrs, we will hv to change more than 4 - 5 times.. considering in the wee hrs when we get up to pump or pee, will change too.

I bought 2 pkt of cotton maternity disposable from Kiddy Palace. the maternity felt quite comfy compared to the Sorella ones. $4.50 a pkt (5 pieces). As for pads, I bought both the maternity (stick-on) as well as normal night flow. Hubby told me he would feel too embarrassed to get pads for me, so I have to stock up now.

Anyone know whether we need to get breast pads? I heard pigeon's disposable and washable ones are good. But I cannot find the washable one anywhere leh. Anyone knows?

Just read Miso's thread. Wah lao, got to standby so many disposable panties. Like that no choice liao, must go get the paper type, more economical. Will check out Watson.

One more question. Do we really need the maternity panties or can get the normal type? I'm now still wearing my normal ones although a size larger....

miso,
I see. Will go check it out since most of you say should stock up. Hehehe...

ixwong,
I'm still wearing my normal panties.

ixwong, i do see the washable breast pads in OG, JL, but not many la. heard fr many ppl dat most dun use washable ones cos it's hard to dry (so must get quite a few sets) and troublesome to wash (mebe milk is sticky & hard to get rid??). it's oso more hygienic to use disposables..not sure leh, so far me oni get 2 boxes of gerber brand disposable ones fr the fair..i tink pigeon ones shd be ok too..can find easily.

i tink Lib bot some disposables + washable ones?? tollyjoy brand rite?

oh, miso, like dat must get some more disposable panties liao..

reenie, i tink use disposable panties more convenient. in case kana stains, must do lotsa soakin & washing, no time and strength la..prob depends on how heavy the flow is oso..

Hi Tingting, samantha, miso, timie,

Do you know where i can find the boyshorts nylon mesh kind of disposable underwear that some spas here use? i don't like the cotton or paper kind leh, all one size fits all, so gross..big and a lot of cloth, can't hold the pad properly/tightly leh...i bought one pack maternity disposable from kiddy palace, one pack from NTUC, one pack from watsons...all so ill fitting! like granny panties, those worn by ah mas! now i'm stuck with 3 packs that i won't use..sigh

timie,
i guess what u said is true...cannot imagine changing my own panties/pads and still changing bb diapers....hahahhaaa...what a challenge! but just curious, after 2 week, the flow will stop?

ixwong, i'm wearing normal panties also... just larger size ones... i just bought a pack of pigeon disposable pads... dunno whether need to stock up on this bcos not everyone will have overflow problems?

reenie, prefer to use disposables cos we're not supposed to touch water during confinement month, n can't imagine hb washing them!

mummytobe, haven't seen those u described. if u patronise a particular spa outlet, ask if they can sell to u or where to find? they may give u their supplier contact. got to be thick-skinned though...

i then lagi malu... when i went on honeymoon i thought it may coincide with my period, so bought a pack of M size disposables... in the end found out that i bought Maternity size instead! That was the ultimate ill-fitting panty i've ever worn!

Hi mummytobe, I hv never been to a spa before leh.. but ur description of tt should be what I am figuring it out to be. After we deliver, the nurses will put on those type of underwear on us and another one standby. I think I got 2 at home. I delivered at TMC for my first one.. I dunno if other hospitals will provide tt too.

Hi ixwong, I did not get the maternity disposables.. find it v. big leh.. I got one pack passed to me by a friend, from Mothercare.. material is good.. but loose loose lidat. So I bot the L/XL normal disposables. I think it's up to individual's preference. And I do agree with Timie on the washable breasts pads. I also bot the disposable types.

reenie, duno leh..mebe ard 1mth?? heard varying periods fr diff ppl leh..i guess will get some normal pads to standby lor..

anyone has any idea if those postpartum healing wash is good/effective??

mummytobe, not sure of those mesh kind leh. mebe ask the spas?? but thot there're some disaposables dat come in diff sizes..

reenie, it varies from person to person.

Timie, usually those perineal spray/wash will be prescribed by ur gynae after ur delivery. It's v. good.

Timie.. but then again, it depends on ur gynae too. I got friends who gave birth at KK/SGH and their gynaes dun prescribe it. Hv to buy it herself. Din even prescribe the spirit for bb's cord. Maybe private hosp and/or private gynaes will prescribe?

hmm..miso, hopefully my gynae will, if not will ask her for it..heee. spirit cord shd hv if deliver @ tmc? rem mrs wong said so, plus the sterile cotton balls..

Hi Anissa, i hand-washed all my bb's clothings but in separate rounds, can't tahan to stand thr for so long. Normally i will soak it with the laundry detergent for abt half hr, then rinse it and use machine to tumble-dry loh.

Hi LAdies, was out the whole of ytd went to Ikea & IMM to shop hehe..

Timie, yes i bought both the disposable (Tollyjoy) & washable (tollyjoy & free gift from Palmer Nursing cream). Also have some pcs (pigeon) passed over from my friend.

Ixwong, is quite hard to find the pigeon washable breast pad, only saw it once at MEtro Sengkang.. Went to quite a few dept stores and find can't find it. And also for the disposable panties, I oso bought the normal panties (L).

Hehe.. went to IMM, Baleno saw their tank top & spagethi strap top are selling at 2For S$15, manage to buy 2.. And they so good, allow me to try the tops b4 purchase..

been busy last few days! finally get to come in to chit chat. Eat Char siew rice from the tiong bahru market. WERY WERY nice!

Thanks to Lib and her shopping list, i managed to get 70% of the items at Kiddy palace last night. I saw one last pack of Avent disaposable bags, but i am not sure how to use as it is stated that you have to use with nursing bottle (what is that?) n must get the clip separately. in the end i just took the pigeon bags...`15pcs only to standby if bb does not like the breast! Quite tempted to go back n get the Avent ones since it is the most economical. but how to use?

As i missed the Feeding lesson at TMC, any mummies can help? do we massage our breast before delivery or after to prepare/ stimulate the milk flow? I know that milkflow will come in only after 2/3rd day. We continue to let bb suckle cos of colostrum and for stimulation, Technically, bb can survive without milk for the 1st 3 days...but what if he is wailing non stop....will you give formula to supplement?

Do we need to sterilise the pump everytime we express?

suddenly, i feel so inadequate! hope my bb will suffer under my care!

I saw the pigeon breastpad washable ones at causeway point kiddy palace...but not many left. maybe can call the outlet.

Hi aidanee, the avent disposable bags are more economical. After u have pump out yr BM to the attached bottles, u then pour the milk to the bag, clip it (wif date) and free it.

Thanks Lib. The thing is i cannot find the clip there....so lazy to search....,did you get any? i thnk i might go back n get the Avent bag. After discount is only around S$12 for 100pcs!!!!!!!

Aidanee, the clip u can get it from anywhere.. Ikea is also selling at S$6.90 for 30pcs, Avent is also selling but can't remember how much. CAn also obtain from those neighbour shops.

Hi mummytobe,

Don't know the kind you are talking about. The last time I went to spa, they gave me very ill-fitting underwear too... yucks.

I think for confinement, maybe I will use normal underwear. get my maid to wash for me...hehe...
I finally see the benefit of a maid.

Ixwong,
I saw the pigeon washable breastpad at compass pt kiddy palace. You can try there if you living nearby.

Hi aidanee,
Where did you find the avent disposable bag har? tried to look for it at compass pt kiddy... can't find leh.

hi samantha, think sengkang kiddy palace sold out already... i found the bags at Tampines Isetan, price is about the same...

as for clips, tampines metro has them.. it's $11 before 20% discount for 10 clips n 20 labels... was tempted to use other clips to replace, but dunno what sort of clip will suit the bags so in the end decided to buy the avent ones...

hi aidanee,
your char siew rice sounds yummy!!! today i have this craving for "chicken in the biskit" crackers! wonder if its too salty for bb =P
i think for pump, i will sterlise it after one time use
i have not thot of a way to store the breastmilk, but should be using the 125ml feeding bottle, seal it with the cap. So when bb is hungry, so warm the entire bottle. I have not seen any Avent disposable bag before...

just a quick question here, if we place the breastmilk inside the fridge to freeze, how do we warm it up?? do we soak it in a pot of hot water to defroze?

Lib. Ting Ting, thanks for the lead. I will swing by to get the clip.

Hi Samantha, i saw the Avent bags at causeway kiddy...but only one pack left.

Quite funny, I find tat i have an unusual surge of energy these few days,So better do as much shopping now. I was late for work this morning! woke up at 8.30am when i am supposed to report at 9am! it's just too comfy!

Hi hi reenie, the rice was really yummy. still have some chui kwey in the pantry for tea later....hehehe... talking abt chicken in the biskit...you make me drool!!1

Hi all, what is the Avent disposable bag for? I thought you all were talking about storing EBM. Can use that to store? Wah... $12 for 100 pcs like very cheap leh.

aidanee,
I once read that you must try NOT to feed baby with formula for the first few days or weeks. Baby will find that it is easier to drink FM, no need to put in too much effort drinking FM. If you let bb drink FM, they will not trigger your body to produce BM as they are not sucking our breast. In the end, they will just be taking FM.
Therefore, I think first few days must be very discipline. Only expose them to our breast and NO FM. (Just my 2cents worth.)

reenie, chicken in a bisket is veri salty. remember 2 drink lots of water after eating them okie.

aidanee, ur chwee kwey sounds yummy.
so nice 2 hv them 4 ur tea break later.

vone and aidanee,
cannot resist the temptation of biting into the biscuits! hahaaha...reallly yummy..once pop, cannot stop, i will drink water

aidanee,
basically u eat all the famous tiong bahru food...heeheee...chwee kueh!tasty with chai poh. Regarding breastfeeding, actually my colleague who give birth at TMC, the nurse just passed the baby to her after wrapping bb up, immediately breastfeeding her baby after birth....

think for those who bought the avent disposable bags ... we can just use rubber band to tie up the bag ... thats what my fren did and she just write the date onto the bag itself ler ... save more space n $$$ oso ....

seeing you all eating all your fav food made me so envy ... yest vomited out my dinner ... v sianzzzz .....

Seabreeze,
u vomitted out your dinner? huggies...thot you are feeling much better already. Try to take less oily or spicy food at nite. Drink hot milo before bed, u feel better.

Hi aidanee, can understand the feelings you are feeling now with regard to bfg! Me too! been asking all my friends who are bfg on tips etc.. for the clips.. a lot of ppl say the Avent ones are not really good. Best is to get those from Ikea cos it comes in assortments.. from small to big and alternatively, can buy whole roll of those wire strings. Just cut to desired length anytime. Wire strings are those you see some confectionary shops use to tie their packets of breads, buns..

Hi reenie, for frozen ebm, u can place a few packets of frozen ebm to the normal compartment to defroze it. eg. per day say bb will use about 5 pkts.. U can plc 5 in the normal compartment so when bb wants it, u just bring it out and warm it up in a bowl of hot water. DO NOT DEFROZE FROZEN EBM DIRECTLY IN HOT WATER. Anyway, we will only freeze ebm if we have excess bm. For the intial days if u are expressing it, just place it in the normal compartment, no need to freeze it.

Just for info: EMB can be refrigerated for 3 to 5 days and can be freezed from 3 - 6 mths.

So unless u hv excess ebm, u dun hv to freeze it. In my opinion..at least not for the 1st mth. Hope this info helps.

291480.gif

hi miso!
thanks for your advice! now i understand....hehehee...so blur me. Wow...sparkling rose in crystal? prettty!

hi reenie, no problem, we are here to help each other ma. We try to know better so we wont panic when things go wrong. For first time mums, usually bgf is a big headache and a lot of first time mums will find themselves in a depressed state. Y? Amongst some of the things are ..

1) bb did not latch on well, cannot suckle well.
2) we tot we are not a good mum cos bb still crying and wailing after few minutes of sucking on the breast, thus thinking we are not producing enaf milk for them.
3) MIL/Mum/CL etc whoever is helping you out may be saying u are not producing enaf bm tt's y bb is hungry and not full all the time, thus the constant crying.

etc etc...

So, we have to learn more about how breastfeeding works etc to prepare ourselves mentally. And the tips I got from my friend is not to latch bb onto our breast only when bb cries for milk. Try to latch them onto our breast, even if they are still sleeping, every 1.5 - 2 hrs interval so as to encourage them to suckle and increase our milk flow.