(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi guys

finally tabulated all that i think wil be required. took me almost 1 hour leh..

Hi timie, i think TMC got rental of electric pump. so you may consider. i think there are websites that rent pumps too. maybe you can search.

Hi Lib.. oh.. is it? tollyjoy not a preferred brand? initially i used pigeon, it is thick but i hate the smell.. tollyjoy got the aloe vera smell.. so i prefer.

Hi miso, congrats!
mime_msword.gif
compiled by tulip for aug/sep MTB
Items to purchase.doc (29.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi tulip

thanks so much for compiling the list. V helpful!

I am so relieved to find out I can access the forum in the old singaporebrides.com website. Was at a loss for the past few days.

hi miso
congrats! Now both you and tulip has a 'hao' word, one boy and one girl. Ideal!

Finally, I felt my bb move liao.. especially when I am resting, when my senses are most relaxed and alert. Initially thought it is my tummy but it cannot be my tummy churning all the time right :eek:)

Hi miso,

Congrats on getting a bb gal! BTW, what is the spirit thingy for bb's umbilical cord? Is it an alcohol to clean bb's umbilical cord?

Hi tulip,

Thanks for the list. Yest, I was at JL looking at the bb stuff n saw pigeon's manual pump. Do u have any idea if pigeon's pump is good? Manual one is it very tedious to pump? Another question, how long will bb fit in the newborn size diapers? Will the S size be too big for a 2-3 week old bb?

Congrats, miso!

Tulip, thanks for the list. It's most helpful.

Will be going for my detailed scan tomorrow.So exciting! Hopefully bb is healthy and all ok.

Will also check out TMC and Mt A to see which one I prefer. Heard that my gynae is able to upgrade us FOC in TMC. Will check with him tomorrow, if true then will opt for 2-bedder in TMC (upgrade to single-bedder).

Hi Chemistry

not sure abt pigeon pump cos i am avent all the way. manual is definitely more work than electrical. u imagine milking cow the manual way vs electrical pump.. ha.. same situation.
i think NB diapers can last about 1 month depending on size of bb. i suggest you buy 2 packs should you be using cloth nappy in the day. if you intend to use disposables, then you have to buy a lot more

morning ladies,

i missed e tollyjoy sale does any1 have any idea when e nx sale will be?

congrats miso,
on getting a princess.

hi tulip,
tks for ur list.

morning ladies!!!

miso, like you, i also confirmed that i'm having a gal gal...=))

tulip, tks for the list!!

I went for my detailed scan last friday and it was very amazing!! But my baby rather small leh. =( and the skull not fully developed yet...btw when u gals went for the detailed scan, was yr bb'face like fully dev yet? Mine was not lor, so abit scary....and i feel the bb is so vulnerable,the gynae was pointing out my bb's tummy, the vault, their umbilical cord and bloodflow.

btw my placenta is also low...sigh.
And also the gynae advised me to cut down on salt and sodium intake, i don't know how he measureed but he said mine is relatively close to high.

Oh btw, when he first scan, my baby make a thumbs-up movement!!! That was very funny, the gynae pointed that out to me and my hubby and the gynae said that's a very reactive move of the bb, she know we are looking at her!! Then later we saw that she smiling in the screen,...the whole process was really amazing.

i really looking forward to the 8th month scan when everything will be fully developed. =))

christina, same as you, i must put on makeup noawadays, go out to nearby cold storage i also must! esp lipstick for me. I very vain, i don't want people to comment that ''ee, this preggie look so pale and sick'!

lib, did you buy a lot of things from the warehouse sale?
I'm starting to look around for bb's stuff liao..currently only got the bb clothes from my brother's gf.

i think u all can start looking during GSS, start in may right? but meanwhile, if u go shopping then just jot down how much the price of the items for future comparison.

morning ladies!

hi erowen, it's truly amazing to see bb in greater detail rite? dun worrie too much, coz it's still early stages of devt, bb grow veri fast in 2nd-3rd tri..

btw, juz noted dat the GSS will start 27 May to 24 Jul, almost 2mths &amp; juz in time for us to grab the bb items during the period we're more 'mobile', isn't dat great?!

thanx tulip for the compilation! def useful for 1st timers like us

Hi Ladies, sorry for replyng on the tollyjoy sale late.. weekends lar.. as u noe.. hehe.. As i have went to the dept stores to take down the prices (tollyjoy) products and though take in consideration thr is a 20% discount, when i went to the sale i knew that their price is even lower then dept stores then i buy..

As I wanted to bf my bb, so i bought their nursing pads (both disposable &amp; washable), 1 bag of napkins for multi-purpose use, many mittens &amp; booties &amp; nb socks tink total abt 8-10pairs, the I love daddy &amp; mummy pyjamas, 2 bolsters, and other things.

Hi tulip, based on the verdict given by my friends, tollyjoy has a wetter and small wipes which is true though yes i agree on the nice smell pigeon too have fragrance type. smell nice too..

Hi Ero, yar i have started stocking up my bb's items liao.. from steriliser to milk bottles to breast pump to bb's clothings from nb up to 1yr old.. haha... I got my bro to buy my bb's osh kosh clothings from the States, and got him to buy up to 1yr old.. Now can start buying &amp; stock up liao, cos in a way u are dividing your cost into a few cost, u won't feel so pinch..

Hi lib
pigeon got fragrance type? the ordinary is the red/white packaging right? what colour is the fragrance type? i only buy from JL, maybe they only carry the red/white packaging one

hi timie - no prob for the list. it is a revision for me! haha

hi hi timie!
yes, it's really a very amazing experience for me and my hubby, i really cannot believe the little burden of life is inside me.
Basically me and hubby were very happy for the rest of the day. =))
ya i also hope my bb will grown healthily and get to the average side....
so timie, u planning to grab most of yr bb things during GSS?
btw will you be buying a cot or getting it from someone?

hey lib, ya Oskkosh in states is pretty cheap, some even USD$1, when my hubby was in states last year feb, he bought a lot for our friends cos they throwing the full month celebration, but he never thot of buying for us then...abit wasted hor.
btw can what brand of steriliser and breast pump u using?
next time my MIL will be taking care my bb, i rather scared she don't know how to use steriliser.
what abt the conventional way of boiling water and putting the milk bottles in? Is it less hygiene?

hi erowen, my bb was kinda 'overweight' when we did the scan even tho i din eat a lot leh..am waiting eagerly for my comin fri's appt to check on his growth again. was also told abt low placenta, so hopefully it'll grad 'move up'.. ya, sometimes feel quite a 'burden' when my body aches due to the expansion, but always remind myself he's my 'little bundle of joy'!

as tis bb is the 1st for both sides, we'll hv to get most things (veri 'siong' on our pockets!!) we saw a nice cot (like the height &amp; wood quality) cost abt $300, comes with everything &amp; can convert to toddler bed. my fren said she bought it @$250, so will wait for sale (even tho it says sale now). rem miso oso mention mothercare cots, but din see any so far at the smaller outlets..must go to the bigger stores. u r looking for cots too? me oso go diff places to see the steriliser &amp; breastpumps..still dunno which brand better leh..?
kao_confused.gif

Hi tulip yes the packaging for the fragrance one is oso the same packaging, juz wif an added logo on the corner.. if didn't remember wrongly, those coming in offer packs dun have the fragrance type..

Hi Ero, yes not oni oshkosh is cheap, many other brands like gap, old navy &amp; even their own local brands are super cheap.. my bro asked me how come kip insisting of buying osh kosh, their local brands have nicer clothings, but i tld him cos osh kosh have higher value then in SIN mah.. hehe.. I bought the pigeon steriliser &amp; ameda breast pump. if tats the case rite, is really up to her liao, cos i believe for older generation they prefer boiling type. both ways work the same but juz we buy steriliser becos more convenient onli, no nid to go thru the hassle of boiling.. everyting put in the steriliser, pour 1 cup of water, press the button &amp; wait for 6mins &amp; is done.. hehe.

hi timie, i also looking for cot...my budget is around $300 - $400. i saw a cot on internet, here's the link, you can take a look
http://www.mykidsparadise.com/promotiom.htm
they are having a 50% discount on baby cot, with free delivery. I saw one that can be converted into toddler bed as well. =))
I saw the cot at Kids Mall, wow, pretty X but they do look nice. I also went Mothercare to look look see see, the staff there was pretty helpful. But i can't make up my mind.

ya, i also hope my placenta will move up. pregnancy is really not easy...got to worry about health of baby and our own health too.

hi lib, ya...i think my MIL would prefer the boiling method..i haven't check with her yet. But my mum who will be doing the confinement for me is okie with the steriliser.btw how much you bought the steriliser and pump?

btw any of u gals watch Sex and the City? If so, you will remembered there was an episode on Samantha helping to babysit Miranda's brady and the vibrating chair broke down.
anyone getting similar chairs? It seem quite cute!

it's a very low chair , almost like a car seat for babies, i not sure of the actual term.

Hi tulip,

Thanks for the advise. I think will have to get a pack of NB diapers then.

Hi timie/Lib,

Me also to a lot of clothes for my bb.
Can't resist at all. But I have not get the other stuff cos waiting for GSS. Oh yes, if u are intending to bf after going back to work, then have to get a manual or battery operated pump cos hard to find a pte place in office with socket to express milk with electric pump. That's why I'm thinking of getting the pigeon one.

Hi erowen,

Dun worry...eat more durians! My gynae say if eat a lot of durians, baby will grow very fast. U can also try taking 1 hard boil egg a day, heard it helps too!

thanx erowen for the link
dunno if it comes with the rest of the things..will check it out. btw,which mothercare did u go - suntec? is it ok to put bb in vibrating chairs, quite concerned even for rockers or those sarongs dat rock up/down. is it good for bb? heard not so good for their brain leh..anyone know?
yup, think when bb born, will hv diff set of worries (jaundice, jabs, BF etc), guess we'll think abt dat when it comes!

hi tulip, thanks for compiling the list. It'll make a big difference in my life, really! 'cuz i'm totally clueless.

erowen, guess what? i did the same thing too when i came back from the States! We stayed there for about 2 years then bought tonnes of bb clothes for our friends when we came back. I had enough to give to other colleagues for bb's birthdays, 1st months etc, but we never saved any for ourselves. i remembered buying osh kosh jumpers for usd5....

i remember that episode with brady but dunno whether we have the same chair here. Will keep a lookout for you when i go shopping and let u know =)

hi chemistry, ya i lurve durians, kekek, i just had them over the weeekend. I also heard that it helps the baby grow bigger, i plan to eat once every 2 or 3 weeks. kekek but i must control, if not, it's me getting bigger instead of the baby. =P

timie, yes, i went to the outlet at suntec and i told the saleslady i was just browsing but she patiently explained the different cots and also the importance of getting a good mattress.
For the chair, it comes with varying degree of vibration, not exactly rocking, it's like mild vibration i think.....
ya i can't imagine the stress and anxiety when the baby is born...i can get pretty nervous at times. I also worry abt jaundice...sigh..really not easy hor...

Christina! kekeke, ya lor, cos i guess we never really thot abt it then right? Now it's like "aiya we should have save some'. My other half gave all to our friends.
isn't brady cute? Did you watch the last season, "Splat"? where a ladyfriend of Carrie fell down from the blg during a snowy night...and there was this scene where Miranda and Steve were out in their snowy courtyard with baby brady. They were all lying in the snow and swinging their hands on the ground together, telling brady that this is snow. I really love that scene.

mrs wong will never recommend anything that is rocking as she said it will hurt the bb. she gave us an example during the class which scared me to death. she said got an au pair in UK took care of 2 dr's bb. everytime the bb cry, she shook the bb and then the bb will keep quiet. the dr parents even said her technique is good.. after a while, the bb died.. apparently haemorrhage due to the shaking. the dr tried to sue the au pair but not successful because they themselves said good job when the au pair shaked the bb until the bb kept quiet.

after that i got so paranoid, i refused to buy sarong bed at all

I haven't been online in a while. Everything is perfect with bb. The downs screening came back very good and so did the spina bafida tests. Guess what, I am expecting a girl! My hubby very happy. I am almost 20 wks now and my detailed scan is next Thursday. Can't wait!

Just wanted to check with you all, how many of you can feel bb kick already? Since 16 weeks I could feel movement already but since the Sunday the 3rd I am feeling regular little kicks from bb. It's the most amazing feeling!

Hb and I went to buy a cot, pram and mosquito net and Pampers diapers yesterday. So exciting to shop for bb. I hear from many moms here that Pampers is the best as they keep the baby drier for so much longer than all the rest and less risk of nappy rash.

Have to log off now, hope you all have a good week, hope to log on again soon.

Send my love to Singapore.... sure miss it!

hi newmumsa, it's been a long time! congrats on having a gal! most of us already felt the kicks... but for me not that regular..usually during afternoons or evenings...

last weekend went to my grandma's place n she mentioned that the cloth diapers that I used to use were still around! so my mum took them back to wash...dunno whether still can wear or not lah, cos may be yellow n all, but if it's ok, then i think it's quite amazing... hand-me-down diapers through the generation... family heirloom? haha!!

i think sarongs are ok, bcos the whole baby is moving at the same pace..and it's v gentle.. just dun get kids to shake cos they might shake it as hard as a swing...

my bb is also slightly larger than average... gynae says bb develops at different rates for the first 7-8 months, and this is normal (so long as not too extreme far off). only during last month will she be able to tell whether bb will be born larger size or smaller size... so even if you are thinking of eating more to increase size of bb, beware that he/she'll be larger than usual during delivery!

i'm prob using boiling method at home n at my mum's place. but not sure how does the sterilizer works though. u have to put in a sterilizer tablet?

erowen, ur gal is soo cute! i can just imagine her being a diver n giving the thumbs up sign

hi garlic, it's not exactly a kick, more like a movement or bubbles-like feeling in yr tummy, perhaps before you sleep, try to relax and maybe you will feel it.
For me, i only feel the movement from 19th weeks onwards.

hi tingting, think larger than average is okie. A few mums here also experience the same. I think for me, i must really take more nutritious food(but not fattening . =P).
ya, the gynae was laffing when he saw this, for me and hubby, it was very very touching. how i wish i can touch her little fingers. =)

Hi ladies, thanks for all ur well wishes! Am so happy!

Hi garlic, for me also abt 19 weeks onwards though they say as a 2nd time mummy should feel it earlier.. hehe..

hi garlic
don't worry, it's normal not being able to feel it at 17wks. I started feeling kicks only a couple of days ago and I am currently 19wks+

Hi erowen
mine is quite distinctively a kick albeit quite mild. A few days ago, I can feel it only when I am relaxing and lying down. Now, I can feel it even when working. Just felt it a couple seconds ago. BB v active!!

Hi girls
Do you experience cramp-like achy feeling on your butt extending all the way to lower leg-calf? I've been experiencing it for the past few weeks! It kinda pulls and then release. Sometimes I even experience difficulty getting out of bed and need to move very very slow cos it hurts.

wondering if it is normal.

Halo Garlic,

Not 2 wori bout not feeling d kick from your baby. Maybe baby prefer to sleep more than moving around. If it's your 1st baby, I believe the kick might not be so obvious yet. As long as the scan is showing well then u shouldn't wori tat much.

hi angel, read somewhere abt this lower back/leg pain..

SHOOTING PAINS IN LOWER BACK AND LEGS
You may occasionally feel shooting pains, tingling, or numbness in your lower back, buttocks, outer thighs, or legs. These occur when relaxing pelvic joints, the baby's head (or your enlarging uterus) presses on the major nerves that run from the backbone through the pelvis and toward each leg. Sudden, sharp pain that begins deep in the buttock on one side and travels down the back of that leg is due to pressure on the sciatic nerve in your lower back, hence its name sciatica; it is aggravated by lifting, bending, or even walking. Tingling numbness and pain along the outer thigh is caused by stretching of the femoral nerve to the leg. Rest and a change of position that shifts the pelvic pressure away from these nerves should alleviate the pains. These pains can be very debilitating for some women. They are so variable from woman to woman because of individual differences in pelvic bone structure and shape.

Thanks Timie.
What you posted is exactly what I've been experiencing! The pain always starts from my left butt and travels downwards :eek:(

talking abt bb movements... was reading a book n resting it on my tummy... when bb kicks the book bobs up n down... v cute n amusing...

Went for my detailed scan today. Confirm bb is a boy (manage to see its genital!). Everything looks alright including my placenta, and bb is very active....

I'm reading the postings on the april/may/june MTB thread. Many of the MTBs there have popped, so their topics is quite interesting. Seem like many are facing bf challenges...sounds very difficult...getting concerned.

Anybody can advise whether we shd get a breastpump before delivery or after? I'm thinking of investing in an Ameda one which would cost me $400 (very ex but heard good review).

morning ladies

hi angel, good that you can experience a kick, mine can't leh, til now is a swimming sensation, but these 2 days very frequent, esp in my right lower ab..can feel the bb moving around.

ya tingting, that's why at night i always like to see my tummy bob up and down...wondering if the movement is caused by the heartbeat?

vone, when you going for your detailed scan?

hi girls!
i didn't know the postings is back! oh my god, have been trying the Singaporemotherhood :p

Went for tmy detailed scan yesterda! And guess what? My baby darling is crossing the legs so tightly....the radiographer only manage to scan from bottom up.....and saw a line, indicating its a girl
I am having a little princesss..hope its accurate!

Everything is fine from the assessment feedback by the doctor, except there's a statement/comment that bothers me "Bilateral mild dilatation of the renal pelves", the doc says some baby has this problem, something to do with urinary or passing of water. Have to scan again on 28/30 weeks, i pray everything is fine with my baby.

Baby weighs around 320g, should be around 14cm, she's at correct size

A curious question, for those having a little prince, is it really easy to tell?? i keep asking the radiographer to confirm again, she says' its a girl although we are not able to see from the front or top. Scare i buy all the girly stuff but turn out to be a boy! ahahahah

Hi reenie, usually a line or 3 lines indicates a gal and a circle indicates a boy boy lor. Can see the diff in the scans for both my boy and my gal. hehe.. Oh my, just chk my bb's wt, it's now 368g. Dunno the length though cos bb's length surpass the monitor screen liao. haha..

Hi ixwong, congrats on ur having a boy boy! Yes, bfg is v. challenging, do read up more on bfg to prepare urself both physically and mentally. It's btr to get one b4 u r due so u can bring to the hospital to pump out if bb fails to latch on. Some hospitals do have rentals of breast pumps too. But if you are getting one, then get one b4 u pop.

morning ladies.

erowen, i read somewhr tat our bbs r oledi stretching their legs in our tummies. it cld b tat ur bb's kicks r so gentle tat u can't feel it yet.
i'll b going 4 my detailed scan tis fri, kinda of excited abt it.

reenie, congrats on ur little princess. if u r worried abt buying d wrong stuff, y dun u wait 4 a few more wks til ur gynae cfms d sex??

hi reenie, ur bb is really secretive... detailed scan also dowan to let you see properly...
for me, the sonographer doesn't seem to have any doubt leh.. we also saw the organs, so shld be accurate... but everything black n white n we also dunno what we're seeing most of the time unless she points out to us what is what... hehe.. u may want to buy some neutral colours clothes first.. anyway, when pple buy bb clothes for ur bb after she's born will usually buy pink for gals n blue for boys...

erowen, i dun think it's the heartbeat, cos it's not felt all the time... also it's not that strong right? must be either the hands punching or legs kicking...

hi miso,
really?? my hubby so happy to know bb is princess
don't want to disappoint him =P although he loves boy as well.

hi vone,
thanks, i think i will ask the gynae again during the next scan....hahahaha...

hi tingting,
yes! my baby so shy!!!!!! she will put both her hands over the face, the radiographer says she is playing hide and seek, she will take a peep at us and hide again...heheheeh..i can see from the scan very clearly the feet, hands, fingers and features. Her feet is 3cm long and chin is abit oval shaped like me.

I feel that my baby is very active at home, but very shy in public. She will not move alot during scan, but moves alot, kicks and turn at home.

hi hi reenie! same as you, i'm also expecting a princess. =))
don't let the comment affect you ya, if you really need to know, why don't you give a call to your gynae and ask for his views abt the comment?
btw how many weeks are you along now? I'm 20th week and 3 days and my bb is 307g.
But i forgot the length.

maybe during the next visit with yr gynae, your gyane can scan and confirm again the gender?
For newborn clothes, are pretty unisex, cos got white and yellow...

ya, vone, it's pretty exciting! Enjoy ya. =))
for the kicks, ya, hopefully it's gentle kicks. =))

tingting, kekek, wow, then our babies are pretty active right, really, esp at night in front of tv, can feel the up and down bob. And nowadays when i talk to bb, i can also feel more movement.

hi erowen!!!
congratsssss!!! the gynae says will scan in 8weeks time to see if the development of baby has mature and the dilatation is better. I am in 20th week and 1 day. If i didn't hear wrongly, my baby girl is 147mm. The weight of your princess is quite close to mine, 320g.
I intend to get mostly white or yellow/green for now.
Me is quite worrying, although gynae says not to worry too much, he is always positive and baby is still developing
Afterall being parents, i am concern about baby. Nothing is more important than having a healthy little one.

erowen, mine can b quite violent at times, esp when hb is talking or playing wif him. even though it can b quite painful, i kinda of njoyed them. so funny of me hor.

reenie, don't worry too much okie. Have trust in yr gynae, most importantly yr gynae says that yr baby is still developing.
yes, totally agree with you, nothing is more impt than the healthy growth of our little ones..

wow vone, yr baby can learn martial arts next time. =))...it shows that yr bb is very reactive. =))

btw my new boss kinda got teary eye in front of me cos her child got the handfoot mouth disease from childcare, she was very sad and she said her heart breaks everytime she see the rashes and ulcers on her kid. I don't know how to react, think i'm too stunned cos we not close and still new to each other. So i just said take care and maybe take leave these few days to monitor the situation.

hi erowen,
i guess all mothers are the same, even your new boss feels sad about her kid's health. i'm sure she will be able to understand your pregnancy situation too

this morning i was saying to my baby girl "darling, you must be healthy ok, mummy loves you so much"

hi girls,
i have signed up the package with my gynae already. Around 1500, inlcuding of delivery fees.
This include 2 fetal growth scans at appropriate gestation. Checkups is based on 4 weekly visits from 20-32wks, 2 weekly to 36wk, weekly thereafter.

My hubby and i opt for the 1 bedded room as he would like to stay with me. Heard the nurse saying got to pay $60 extra for a single nite stay for hubby or companion. This will include 3 meals and also a pull-out sofa bed @TMC.

erowen, hehe... true... will keep tat in mind. oh gosh, seems like kids going 2 childcare hv a high tendency of falling sick. hand foot mouth disease somemore. tink wat u did was appropriate. mayb u can ask her a few days later abt how her kid is.

reenie, i agree wif u, d most impt thing is 4 our kid 2 b healthy.

This HFMD not only occurs in cc, though in there will hv higher chances of getting esp. if there are kids infected and not detected quickly. I knew of a friend whose niece was outside and touched sth, then came back and down with HFMD. Scary right?

Congrats to Rennie and Erowen for your princesses!

My scan shows that bb is 383g at 21 weeks &amp; 2 days. Quite average and within the 5th &amp; 95th percentile based on the graphs.

hi reenie, so you have confirmed with your gynae your choice of hospital? I have yet to check with my gynae yet though i have more or less decided on TMC.
so sweet of you to tell yr bb that. =) I'm sure she can hear it. =)))

vone, i also don't know, but this is not the first, not the second but the 3rd time her kid kena HFM disease, so she really gek sim! I listened to her tales i also very scared leh...sigh, poor kids nowadays. I also hope her kid will recover soon.

hi reenie,

u so fast confirm with the hospital already? I tot we have to book the hospital only one month before our EDD?....