(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi chemistry,
i also think the same, maybe schooling time will have a problem..hahahah...but that's so far away.

hi wishes,
yup, maybe bday will be the same day! hahahah..it so exciting.

maybe next time, we can organise a gathering at someone place and bring our darlings to go! Then we will be able to chit chat and let them be friends!

reenie, aiyo, my other half also commented on that. He said 'jia lak, next time our daughter will have to fight for boyfriend liao. " =PP

wishes...ya, it will be fun to bump into each other at TMC. =))and seeing our princess sleeping side bu side in the room.

anyway, my EDD keep changing everytime i visit my gynae.

chemistry, i also feel that this year a lot of preggies. People keep telling me that it's bcos i'm preggie also, that's why i noticed. But i don't think so cos i can bump into 2 or 3 peggies in one day! Just last sat at Compasspoint, i saw 8 preggies!!!! gosh!!

oh my goodness, now i just thot of it. Lib, were you around at CP on last sat night?

btw nobody knows where i can get cheap maternity swimwear? I'm looking for one now....really need the swim to relax me.

hi erowen, think i saw some swimwear in one maternity apparel shop when i went kkh to visit someone earlier. but dunno if it's cheap.. u can call & ask them the price range.

1. timie ~ prince (1st August) TMC
2. cmy ~ prince (1st August) Mt.A
3. lib ~ princess (7th August)
4. chemistry ~ princess (9th August)KKH
5. tingting ~ prince (9th Aug)
6. miso ~ princess (16th August) TMC
7. mummytobe ~ princess (19th August) TMC
8. ixwong ~ prince (20th August) TMC
9. hoshi5 ~ princess (23rd August) Gleneagles/MtA
10. erowen ~ princess (26/27th August)
11. wishes ~ princess (28th August)
12. reenie ~ princess (29th August)
13. tulip ~ prince
14. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
15. angel ~ princess (Sept 4) Raffles

Hello everyone

Gosh there are lots of little princesses this year. My chart indicated I was supposed to be having a boy and everyone says I look as if I am carrying a boy but it's a girl. On Thursday I will be 20 weeks. I started feeling movement from 16 weeks, like bubbles moving around and at 18 weeks I felt the first proper kick! Now she is an active little girl! She likes it when I sit in front of the tv at night coz then she really dances around in my tummy! hehe

13. tulip ~ prince
14. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
16. newmumsa ~ princess (Sept 1)

Btw, I am looking to give my little princess something from her Chinese heritage. I want to give her a Chinese name also. Any ideas where I can find nice names online or perhaps some of you have some suggestions for me? An easy name to say please, bearing in mind I am Angmoh and not good with Chinese pronunciation.

Thanks and enjoy the rest of the week.

13. tulip ~ prince
14. angel ~ princess (Sept 4) Raffles
15. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
16. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles / Mt A

Mine is a price to 'save' all the princesses heehee .... Thinking bet Glen or Mt A oso ... but likely to choose Mt A cos its nearer to my house (same gynae as hosi)

hi all mum-to-be..anyone here interested to be featured in a Chinese Motherhood magazine??..please PM me if you interested..i'll tell you more from there.
if possible, please attach a pix of yourself.

I'm delivering at TMC as well and my edd is 12 Aug.

I'm adding my little prince to the list too...so all the little princess hv one more choice liao. Hee hee

5. tingting ~ prince (9th August)
6. everafter ~ prince (12 August)TMC
7. miso ~ princess (16th August) TMC
8. mummytobe ~ princess (19th August) TMC
9. ixwong ~ prince (20th August) TMC
10. hoshi5 ~ princess (23rd August) Gleneagles/MtA
11. erowen ~ princess (26/27th August)
12. wishes ~ princess (28th August)
13. reenie ~ princess (29th August)
14. tulip ~ prince
16. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
17. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles / Mt A

i'd like to join the forum too... i'm due in mid-aug...

hi musicgal, welcome and congrats!
can share with us some of yr details, e.g. gynae and where you planning to deliver?

thanks timie, i will try to go down to take a look. I find that the maternity swimwear are pretty X, over $100plus...i don't wanna spend so much.

ya christina, it seems that we have progress to the stage where most mummies in this thread know the gender. It's really exciting, from the news of pregnancy to first trimester to 2nd trimester and the detailed scan!! What a journey. =))

hi erowen,
i couldnt agree more with you. its exciting and wonderful to know that we've each other for support. reenie is right, maybe we should all have a gathering after bb is born to celebrate and reveal our secret identities. heheheh

Hi musicgal, welcome!

I think we can hv a gathering both before & after birth! That will be interesting as we can see each other now & after birth!

hi everyone!

thanks for the warm welcome!

the doc said the baby's a boy but strangely, i keep having a nagging feeling it's a girl! more of the ppl ard me guessed it's a girl too! like one of the kids i teach in church? when she found out i was preggers, she immediately told her parents it's a girl... strange hor?

how do u determine due date? i've had a range of due dates, changes every time we visit the doc but it's all between 16 aug to 19 aug, if i'm not wrong... btw, i'll be delivering at raffles hospital, but v few gals going there huh?

did all of u go for the detailed scan? my doc didn't refer me for the scan cos he thinks it's pretty pointless since he's pretty confident everything's normal and all and that the scan only adds 2-3% more assurance... but he says he can still refer me for the scan if i like...

but i a bit 'gian' leh... seems everyone is going! i've read about dr chew's scans in this thread... sounds exciting! anyone went for dr chew's scans? did u get pics??

ok, that was one long post... better get back to work! sian!

hi musicgal,
i went for Dr Chew scan and his machine is pretty amazing, There are 3 screens, one for him, and 2 in front of me. He was really 'detailed' in his detailed scan, my hubby and i were amazed at the whole process...cos he does 3D scan for our baby and we also listened to the blood flow from my body to the baby.
Even though i'm not his regular patient, he gave me a lot of details and i spent abt 45 mins in his room. he gave a DVD, printed some scans and a full report.

But then again it really depends on you, cos since yr gynae is very confident of your baby healthy growth. =))

don't worry abt the change in EDD, cos that's what happen to me too! My EDD has been changed from 25th to 22nd to 26th and recently 27th August. =))
btw you are how many weeks along?

everafter and christina! Ya, that will be so fun, a grp of mummies with their princes and princesses. =))

confused, me hv not gone 4 d scan yet. will b going tis fri. will update u gals again.

welcome musicgal.

hi erowen

Dr Chew's detailed scan is so cool ah!!!! I am very tempted leh. How much does it cost again? Thanks! I will decide whether I want to do detailed scan next Tuesday after I've seen my doctor. If my doc still didn't do more measurements, I will do detailed scan at Dr Chew. With DVD for keepsake, next time can show bb when bb is older.

hi erowen,

wah! the dvd sounds real cool!! i also want... told u i'm gian! hehehe! but dunno whether i can still go cos i'm about 22 weeks along liao... when did u go for the scan? dr chew's so detailed? 45 mins is real long! and the dvd is included in the $290? what about the pics? are they the 3D type? sorry ah, got so many qns!

hi vone!

hi angel,

i'm seeing dr tan yew ghee... so u've decided not to go for the scan either?

hi musicgal

i am still not sure if I want to go for the scan. It is very pricey leh.. still thinking abt it. Jus spent $189 on antenatal classes at TMC starting 11 June and still got lots to buy so not sure if I want to spend $290 for 3D detailed scanning.

Seems like gynaes in Raffles not pro-detailed scanning. Your gynae is the most senior gynae in Raffles liao... think he is the dept head.
At 18wks, my gynae did measure size of head and body + length of thigh bone for me, plotted on a chart and tell me that my bb is average size.

How much did u pay for yr package? I paid $1550 after negotiation cos I am my gynae's loyal patient since 8 years ago. hehe

welcome musicgal!

Hey everafter/ christina, i agree with u.. think we should all mit up.. in the beginning we did tok abt mit up, but at that time most of us were still in 1st tri.. Now since we have all moved to 2nd/3rd tri,we shld mit up..

This fri, i will be going to my next checkup, by then i will be in my week 24 liao.. how time flies.. today my baobei has been kicking me since morning.. till juz now while i was watching tv, she kicked me and i told her baby guai, dun kick mummy ok, hmm it really works, for the past 2 hrs she hasnt been kicking me.. hehe.

3. lib ~ princess (7th August) TMC
13. tulip ~ prince
14. angel ~ princess (Sept 4) Raffles
15. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
16. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles / Mt A

Hi lib,

U missed out my name...anyway, this is the updated list now.

3. lib ~ princess (7th August) TMC
4. chemistry ~ princess (9th August) KKH
5. tingting ~ prince (9th August)
6. everafter ~ prince (12 August) TMC
7. miso ~ princess (16th August) TMC
8. mummytobe ~ princess (19th August) TMC
9. ixwong ~ prince (20th August) TMC
10. hoshi5 ~ princess (23rd August) Gleneagles/MtA
11. erowen ~ princess (26/27th August)
12. wishes ~ princess (28th August)
13. reenie ~ princess (29th August)
14. tulip ~ prince
16. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
17. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles /Mt A

vone, enjoy yr scan ya. =)
You and yr other half will certainly have a good time.

angel and musicgal, the dvd is included in the package, it really depends on you gals, cos yr gynae from RH seems pretty confident.
angel, does yr package from yr gynae include delivery?

erowen, tks. i m pretty excited abt it. hv been telling bb 2 b co-operative during d scan. now keeping my fingers crossed tat bb will do tat.

Thanks, Tulip. The owner has already sold off her pump.

In any case, I'll probably buy a new one (if no good 2nd-hand deal comes along). For mtb who are interested to purchase the Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump, I manages to trace down the supplier Euramedic. They are selling the new pump at $280, the bag at $80. Free delivery with 1-day lead time.

Not sure if there would be discount if buy in bulk, but if there are a few mtb interested, we can call them to ask (tel:68447717)

hi ixwong
that's the breastpump I wanna buy too but I am afraid that I dun have much milk so I think I will buy after I've delivered. Thanks for your contact!

Do u know what is the retail price of ameda Lactaline Dual Pump in retail stores?

hi angel!

wah!! i didn't know can bargain one!! but i'm a first-time patient leh so not much bargaining power to begin with... *sigh* think i'm paying the usual price, issit $1.8K? can't rem liao... actually issit v ex ah? i mentioned to a colleague before and she seemed quite surprised... but i'm v comfy with the doc and i like the hospital environment!

hi erowen,

i'm so tempted to go! is the dvd footage long? i think i've seen some footage online before, it's always quite 'jerky' cos such it's not like the usual video recording right? but i still think it's a real cute keepsake!

Hi morning gals!

Hi musicgal, what teacher are you? so cool! I also did not go for any detailed scan. My gynae will just do the normal scan and chk wt, heartbeat, the heart chambers, spine, thigh bones etc.. tt's abt it.

hi musicgal
actually cannot bargain la.. but i 'bargain' because i know Dr Koh v well and for many years already! heehee He once didn't want to charge me for surgery somemore. :eek:)

Somemore, all my surgery were done in Raffles, my ear,nose,throat doc is Stephen Lee from Raffles, my general surgery doctor is Dr Yang from Raffles. All my docs are from Raffles.

Actually the package is not expensive la.. but I think the hospital charges + misc might be expensive compared to other hospital.

Like you, I also like the environment, doctors and nurses. The ward nurses are so young and pretty. Not a single old nurse in the ward which I last stayed for a week. All my guy friends like to visit me cos can see pretty nurses hehe

Hi Erowen,

Which hospital is this Dr. Chew with? So good, got dvd! I paid $290 for the scanning done by a Dr. Chang at TMC, but no dvd leh..the scans he did sound the same, but mine only 15-20mins and i feel cheated i did'nt get a dvd haha

Hi Ix,

Is the Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump a manual or electric one? Do you know how much is the market selling it for? So they will deliver FOC to uor place?

HI Reenie,

Do you know how much is the pigeon pump you have selling in the market? Is it noisy? Me looking for a battery operated, not so noisy and not so painful breast pump heh..

How do you tell if we have enough milk? I scared i not enough leh..

The Ameda Lactaline pump is a dual electric pump. Check this weblink for more info http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html

Moms-in-mind selling the pump at $310, bag $105, together a whole set @$398.

I know BMSG is also selling at same price as MIM for non-members. Members got a cheaper price. More info at http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html

The FOC delivery is what the sales person says over the phone leh. Can always double check with them if you are ordering.

hi mummytobe,
i'm not sure how to tell if we have enough milk =P that's why i hesitated in buying one. Probably will consider only after my confinement.

The pigeon pump is a hand-down by a friend of mine. Should be around 100plus.

btw, any of you tried using the powder or dry shampoo before?

I recently bought two types of powder shampoo to try, so that i would know which brand is the better one to use during confinement. I bought one from Stila, and one from Klorane. Both supposed to use the same way.

However, when i use either, i end up looking like an old lady! My hair is white because of the powder, and no matter how much i comb or brush, there will still be a tinge of white.

Also, it doesn't really get rid of the greasiness. It just coats the greasiness. Just imagine rubbing powder on your oily nose..that kind of feeling. So by the end of the day, my hair feels stiff and thick and icky..i think because of the cornstarch properties in dry powders?

am i using it wrongly? I'm just using it after one day of not washing my hair. Can't imagine if i were to use it during confinement. I would look like the Bai Fa Mo Nu in Xiao Ao Jiang Hu haha

hi mummytobe

ur msg makes me laugh : P

why? cos mrs wong in the antenatal class last time told us abt a lady who used the powder shampoo.. they saw her fr far fara awy and wonder how come the lady aged overnight...

according to mrs wong, it is okay to shampoo hair so long we dry it later on (last time pple dun have hair dryer, so they use dry shampoo). she mentioned abt some practice we have ie like drinking DOM etc. she said last time pple drink DOM because pple in china which is temperate is cold, so they drink DOM to warm up the body. should we be drinking in our era, we dun have to consume soo much. she mentioned a lady who drank DOM until she passed out but luckily the bb was not bf.. else bb also will pass out.

hmm.. seems like my memory not bad for a preg lady.. almost 1.5 yrs still remember what she said

Long time no chat here.

Wow, looks like the hottest topic is the gender! I will be doing my scan this afternoon, then can join in the fun. So exciting..heehee

seems like ameda is recommended..hmmm but veri ex leh..and like wat reenie & mummytobe say, me oso not sure if got euf supply.. does the hospital loan us breastpumps to try out after our delivery? am thinking of juz getting the avent manual one which is not too ex..anyone has comments on this pump?

hi mummytobe, you'll be following the strict confinement practice not to bathe/wash hair?? can wash with herbs? me still not sure can tahan, coz now i wash my hair everyday. have heard fr friends abt the dry shampoo thing, not veri good review fr them too..the after-effect sounds like the dry bath powder i used to put on my rabbit, juz tt she was with white fur, so can't see the "bai fa mo nu" effect!
in the end, i bathed her too, even tho ppl say rabbits cannot take baths..

hi cat_tail, enjoy yr scan ya and we will hear from you then. =))

hi mummytobe, Dr Chew is with Mt E and here's his contact, 67340800.
kekeke, u so fast try the powder shampoo liao?
for me, i do intend to buy leh, but i'm curious i thot the powder supposed to absorb the oil, how come it still stays white? or maybe your hair is very fine and not oily enough.

reenie, last time my colleague she didn't store in our office fridge, cos our fridge is super packed and got a smell. eeeee.. She bought a small bag which is suppose to keep the breast milk cold. I think i saw it once at Kiddy Palace. Another one of my fren more drama, she bought a mini-fridge and bring in her office to store her milk!!!!!

musicgal, er...to be honest i have yet to open the dvd and see!! ahahha, very lazy leh. and also busy lor. I will go back and see tonight and let you know tomo ya. =))

mummytobe, hehe... i like ur description abt d bai fa mo nui. but honestly, i intend 2 wash my hair as normal during my confinement. only thing is tat i'll make an effort 2 blow dry it after tat. dun tink i can tahan not washing it 4 1 mth. eeks...

cat_tail, looking 4ward 2 ur update.

Hi timie

i used the avent isis one. i think it is not bad, except it got a few parts which you have to take out to sterilise and then put them back again. like for all manual, a lot of hand effort to press and hold and press. on good day, i cld express 120ml in one round which i am quite satisfied with. i do hope i can bf my 2nd one so that he can have better resistance (cos my dd currently kept falling sick, i feel guilty if it was my fault for not bf her for six mths)

i know my fren loan from TMC before she bought her own after the flow has been established

hi tulip

is the antenatal class useful? I juz signed up for Mrs Wong class starting June.

Even now u r expecting yr 2nd child, still need to go for antenatal class? sorry being kpo here

Hi Vone, Erowen, timie,

I also don't think i can tahan a month without washing. I wash my hair everyday normally, somemore got long hair..that's why looking at the dry shampoo as an alternative. There are also some non-rinse shampoos in the market, maybe try using it.But i'm most concerned with the fact whether these types of shampoo will affect breastmilk? Also, if we wash hair, what shampoo can or cannot use? I am paranoid about passing something onto the breast milk..

My mother and aunts keep nagging at me, say cannot wash hair, will get splitting headache like a thousand needles stabbing your head..freak me out. I already suffer from very bad migraine (with puking, blurred vision, seeing stars etc). so i don't want to risk getting another type of monster headache, but the thought of not washing my hair is crazy man..

that's why i bought the dry shampoo to try, see can tahan or not..but no use leh, the dry shampoo not good, doesn't clean hair, just camouflage oiliness only..

I saw two on the web.. a non-rinse one being sold by www.bbshop.com.sg and the Warming Shampoo and conditioner by Little Dreamers..but must ask them whether safe for breastfeeding women or not..

Hey, talking abt powder for hair, it totally sucks when I first use it! So sil bot for me a No-Rinse shampoo. I think it's Sebastian brand. Can check out in some hair salons. Just spray on hair and towel dry. Very nice smell too! Really good!

This time, I will be buying the Warming Shampoo and Warming bath to be used during confinement cos I dun intend to use herbs for bathing.

Do not worry about not having enaf bm cos the flow will comes in when u hv frequent suckling and pumping.

Hi mummytobe, from what u say, then I think the powder and dry shampoo are not for u.. I also cannot stand it when I use it for my first confinement. Totally yucky! U may wish to chk out Sebastian spray, it's really nice and hair v. smooth after spraying. TRUST ME! hahaha..

If not, then maybe u can also consider the Warming Shampoo since it contains ginger to rid wind. So I think wont cause additional headaches right?