(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi tingting

Think the weight gain is normal for 2nd trimester. Last week, I also gain 1 kg overnight and the thing is that I did not increase my food intake at all. The weight gain might be due to water and bb growth rather on yourself.

Hi erowen,

I dun have nay constipation anymore. Are u taking the pre-natal vit call Obimin? Heard it will reduce constipation. Otherwise, can try to take more high fiber food, like potatoes, honeydew, raisins, prunes etc.

morning ladies

angel, can include me please? me details as follows:
* gynae: Dr TM Chua at NUH
* EDD: 11th Sept 2005
* weeks: 11 weeks
* home: Sengkang

here's my gynae visit summary:
2 bad news:
* my weight dropped due to poor appetite over last 2 weeks plus morning sickness. gynae bit concerned.
* glucose in urine, detected trace/small amount of glucose and now have to do glucose tolerance test next week. pray that test will be negative.

good news:
* did nuchal test scan, to calculate the risk of having a Downs baby. my claculated risk based on scan is 1:913. now waiting for blood test results to come back for combined risk calculation, this will be known on 30/3 appt.

we waited for 1 hour for the scan, saw many preggie women with nice round tummy going for scan, i felt so silly cos not really showing.

we had a very good time during the scan, Baby is now 5.3cm from head to toe (i think) and very active. can see the head, body, arms and legs clearly, i kept thinking 4 weeks ago Baby was just like a kidney bean. pretty amazing! Baby kept turning, waving arms and bit of stretching legs, overall seems to be enjoying him/herself. not able to tell the gender yet, will have a detailed scan at 22 weeks, about 2 months from now ( i now 11 wks). technican showed us Baby's beating heart.

it was pretty exciting for us, first time HB see Baby, and better than any hollywood blockbusters! how i wished that we could video-tape yesterday scan, even to thought of glucose in urine was forgotten and all that crappy days/moments were all worth it.

hi erowen, drink lots of water. me no conspitation, but stools rather soft.

tingting, i hope to gain some weight after yesterday visit, so worried that BB not getting enough. now i always tell BB to be good during mealtime, so that both of us can get nourishments.

i got a question to ask, can we drink starfruit juice now?? HB bought 4 yesterday and want to make juice tonite but not sure if i can drink? he thinks that i will get MS/discomfort if i drink the wrong stuff.

Morning girls!
I am down with a slight flu and headache....oh gosh...cannot take any medication. And still have to work
Please take care everyone! Weather abit funny, cold and hot...

hi Vivien,
I guess i will not be around when the contractor do all the painting works, or when my hubby and the rest do all the shifiting of beds or furniture, just to play safe. I heard of a story from my aunty that my cousin has a patch on the buttock because they painted the house!!! So i better not get involved. But i couldn't delay the shifting to new house, as my old flat has to be sold before i give birth in Aug.

hi Erowen,
i feel the pain more now that i am into my 2nd trimester, i heard from my colleague is the expanding of our womb. I try not to get paranoid over it. How's your apetitie now?? better? i couldn't eat alot during evening time. I think my digestive system is slower.....wondering if the baby is getting enough from me
Breakfast is quite alright, usually my hubby will get me food from kopitiam, quite a hearty breakfast.

hi ilmare!
you are so lucky!!! Even my baby is at wk13 when i do the OSCAR test, the baby didn't move alot, just slightly, can see baby sucking thumb, another hand over head, sleepng side way!
Its definitely very exciting and happy to see baby action movie! I remembered back at wk7, baby so small like a bean...at wk 11, can see the head, hands, legs and spine clearly...

I couldn't wait for the next appointment to come!

Hi reenie
take care ya, why still working, take a good rest at home.....did you see yr gynae abt yr flu?
ya my appetit is slightly better now, considering i can more slightly more at night, but i find that i cannot eat too full...i will feel extremely bloated and uncomfortable, sit or stand also very kang kong. Do you have that problem?

Don't worry, if you are eating right, yr baby will still absord the nececcesary nutrients..

chemistry, i'm taking this pink pill, pre-navit, not sure if it's the one you refering to..it doesn't seem to help me with my bowels. I have tried 3 servings of fruit per day, but still painful and need to use a lot of strenght.

ilmare, tks for your detailed report of yr scan ya! ya itn't it exciting to see the baby during the scan? =))

for starfruit, i ate a few pieces last week. but i find that nowadays i prefer fruits with softer flesh e.g. honeydew, cherry, blueberry and dragonfruit. I find harder fruits like apples and guava not really to my taste recently...

hi ilmare, are you already underweight before pregnancy? i am, and did not gain weight for my entire 1st trimester even though i do not have much ms symptoms.... if u cannot take enough food, maybe reduce ur activity level a bit so that u can conserve some of the food energy? may want to try n take more high carbo food e.g. rice, pasta.. but if bb is still growing there shld be no cause for worry... from ur scan everything looks ok right? my gynae says bb develop at different rates, and will even out only ard 7-8 months.

think when u get to 2nd tri, u'll be amazed at how fast ur tummy n weight grows! only 2-3 weeks ago maternity pants were too loose for me, and now i can fit into them liao!

hi chemistry, thanks! turned out that i had parallex error while reading the scale, and it's only 1 kg increase... hehe...too used to seeing same figure, can't get used to seeing an upward trend...
hope the gain's mostly to bb.. now tummy really quite obvious!

erowen,
Good to hear that you are eating well now

me too will get super bloated and uncomfy if i eat too much at nite. I normally try to control...
Didn't see the gynae for my flu, hope it will recover soon. Don't want to travel all the way to TMC.

Hi reenie, I got this small little yellow pill for flu.. safe to consume during pregnancy. I got it from our co.'s doc and my gynae gave the same type for me as well. Cannot remember the full name off hand.. it started with Cho...sth.. heh..

hm..today I feel so energetic leh.. haha, cld be due to the cordyceps I took on tues night.. hehe.. but appetite still same..

Hi ilmare, sometimes there'll be traces of sugar in my urine test as well.. but not on every visit. The day u visit ur gynae, makes sure u dun take anything too sweet and drink lotsa water. The GTT test is horrible...u r made to drink loads of glucose water. Just seeing the glucose alone.. scares me.. yaks! I hope not to hv to undergo it again. haha...

ilmare,
i think what Miso says is true, try not to take anyting too sweet before you got for your urine test nxt time, i always force myself to drink water before i see the gynae, partly to keep my bladder full for the scan, secondly i know there's an urine test. It could be our food before the test that makes the sugar level higher and inaccurate? If we do have high sugar level in our body, even flashing down with alot of water will not help during the test, to be accurate, drink plenty of plain water before test.

Good afternoon everyone.

U all start to put on the maternal wear already? I bought some pants that is a size or 2 bigger than normal cos neither I can wear my normal pants or fit in any of the maternal wear yet... grrr...

Hi tingting,
Can check whether you have rec'd my email cos I dun have any error while sending it. Let me know again.

Yea, last time I dunno, will hv my lunch b4 seeing gynae, then always got traces of sugar in urine.. now I make sure to down tons of water b4 seeing him! hahaha..

Hi cat_tail, I started wearing maternity clothings when I was abt 3 mths preggie.

cat_tail, I got mine from Perfect Mums. I bot those V-shaped front pants. Very comfy and it stretches as ur tummy grows. Even after delivery also can wear. I also got some from first pregnancy, the clothings from Thymes, Mother World, etc. The mums here got from various places.. u may wish to look thru the archives.. :p

Hi miso

din try on ds although she crying yesterday.. u know why? she got blocked nose.. already sneezing in school.. so yesterday largi cranky. at first stil guai.. until she saw her daddy drinking guava juice.. then she also want.. daddy din want to give her, then she cried and cried.. until non stop until 11pm..
then my mil angry with hubby for drinking guava juice.. my gosh.. yesterday night.. until midnight then my house quiet... i think my eyebag can become shopping bag liao

tulip,

Got bring ur dd to see doc/PD? I think my son's PD gave Dimetapp for running nose, blocked nose and congestion. Very effective. I gave b4 sleeping time, he will sleep thru.

hi miso

din cos stil got the flu medication from Feb period.. will check if it is same brand. the medication is orange in colour.

oic.. Dimetapp is purple in colour, but hor, think I saw it being sold in pharmacies. It's got a grape taste. U may wish to check it out.

when our child gets sick, we parents are the poor thing ones.. u take care k?!

Hi tingting, just to let u know, Beanie aka Irene got day time confinement nannies. Just spoke with her.

ok. i will check it out if she dun recover by tonight. Thanks..

ting, if u get daytime nanny then u take care at night or mil/m take care?

reenie, hope you are feeling better after lunch....how's the flu?
ya lor, very easily get bloated at evenings i find, lunch still not so bad.
i also drink a lot of water before i see the gynae...don't want waste so much time in the toilet. =)

cat tail i'm kinda officially wearing maternity wear now....bought a few pants and 2 dresses..i bought from Perfect Mum and Spring Maternity.
Where did you purchase yrs from?
why do you say it doesn't fit?

my colleague told me juz now tat certain pimple cream can't be used during pregnancy. Ever heard of this before?

Just now went to bellysim website to see.... saw some nice pants and top... anybody bought from there?

hoshi, i visited their website before...and went down to katong mall, staceyheidi ( one of the shops that carries their clothings)..their clothes are nice but i find most of their tops not long enough for me to cover the backside...cos i very round, i need to hide my fat ass lor. but i do like their halter top...

didn't heard of the pimple cream before leh, but i did heard of whitening facial wash cannto used.

Hi hoshi,
I went to their shop in Tat Ann Bldg. Their tops are quite comfy, especially the tank top. But i won't recommend their pants. i bought 2 actually. They are draw string but not as comfy as those with a v-band. and i find that it keeps 'dropping down' even though i have tighten the string.

Hi miso & erowen,

I always wear pants for my work so I went to the Motherworld & Suntec area to check out. When I try them, all very loose like can put a whole chicken inside.
I even went to Staceyheidi on Sun but they were closed.

Is Perfectmum good? Sounds like a lot of ppl buying clothes from them.

cat_tail, I myself prefer the V-front. Try it. It's really comfy! I dun like those rubber ones where u can adjust the size at the sides with buttons, cos tt one has to be worn high up arnd ur tummy, I find it itchy. And the front portion will still hv some cloths left.. very funny.

hi cat tail, i still haven't received the email... just tried sending a test mail using my other account... see if my yahoo mail got problem or not...

i also have the same problem when buying maternity pants.. they look quite hideously large indeed, but usually u wear loose fitting and long tops over them, so the end effect is a rather relaxed look, at least for now.. :p i bought 2 v-front pants and 1 high waist with adjustable buttons. though the v-fronts are more comfortable, i prefer the high-waist one for now cos tummy still too small to wear real maternity tops, and normal tops are too short to cover the low waistline of v-fronts.

thanks miso! been busy past week so no time to call her yet.. .just came back from my parents'... mother feels that it's waste of $$ to engage CL... sigh... got to weigh the pros and cons ourselves... maybe she too long never take care of bb so dunno how taxing it can be already... :p

tulip, we intend to look after bb at night ourselves, cos hb took long leave during that period, so not worried that it'll affect his sleep and work. now got 2 issues to consider: CL and infantcare.. my workplace's infant care has got a long waiting list, and there isn't one near home...

saw the john little advert on newspapers today...there's a stroller that's really cheap! only $69 i think, and suitable for newborn to 2 years old. had a nice time walking thru bb dept of shopping center after work today... those stuff are really cute!

Hi cat-tail

i think staceyheidi closes at 4pm on sunday. heard the owner has a small child at home. but they do open if you call them before hand. once my fren wanted to visit them on monday (their off day), but they opened it specially for her with no obligations to purchase. call them before u go lah 64404847. i am happy with their service so i dun mind publicising for them.. retail market tough.. they carry newmaternity, bellysima and mums r us. they sms me yesterday night said tonight got new stock from new maternity. so i do hope to go down on sunday.

hi ting, i also saw the stroller.. quite cheap but u must check the quality okay? cos some are cheap so it is wobbly. but i do recommend if you want to buy the playpen, it is really worth at $58 cos i got mine at $99 (without the bassinet somemore). i was hoping to get a carseat, the pierre cardin one at $138 but i checked the quality like the buffer not enough.

can you imagine next time my car got infant car seat plus toddler car seat.. then if i get a maid plus my PIL join me go outside.. i think must drive VAN liao

dear all

thanks for the info and encouragement! i was having my lunch with HB before my urine test. really hope that it was a false positive. i know that the GTT is horrible, some of my frens commented after taking the test. but now no choice, thinking of doing the test next week.

HB very concerned about the weight issue, i hope to gain some weight too. my mum also super gan chiong about the weight and sugar, she had high blood pressure during the 3rd tri (when preggie with my bro). guess just have to leave it to God now.

i also tot that i never gain weight not impt, more impt BB is developing well. BB had a very busy 4 weeks to grow from a little bean-like to mini human-like! sorry 1st time preggie very excited over little things like these.

speaking of infant care, we are going to view the one near home tomolo. too bad my parents can't help us full time.... HB getting very worried about what to do after birth.

Hi ilmare

never ever compare your weight with others.. cos some may be gaining weight on themselves but not on baby. i gained 15kg, my baby was 3.6kg, my friend gained 20kg, but baby only 2.5kg

hi cat tail, finally received your email. thanks! dunno why it's gone to my bulk mail folder meant for mass sending...

Tulip is right on the weight issue, do not let it bug u. Just eat more regular small meals. Eating more carbo may also lead to traces of sugar in urine. So limit a bit la, for my case, I scared I hv to undergo the GTT again cos first one I did. Now I make sure to drink lotsa water b4 seeing him and skip meals till after seeing him. Not even fruits hor. hehe..

wah! playpen at only $58?? so cheap leh!!

Tingting, maybe u can call irene. She's v. helpful in providing infos. Do check from her and tell her what you expect of a CL. She will be able to advise you. No obligations so dun worry! She got me an aunty and will fix an meet up between us b4 I cfm using her. *phew*

gals, saw from another thread tat there's a baby fair at Taka this weekend... u all planning to buy anything yet?...

good morning
anyone went to the JL sales today??

May i know playpen, can it double up as a baby cot? I heard some people also use it for the baby to sleep in, i saw one playpen before and the height is not really low, quite enough for mother to reach and carry the baby, but the only concern is the rocking motion. Need some advice.

hi tulip and miso,
can you share with us what are the necessary baby items to get besides the usual pram, baby cot/playpen?

i am so clueless
Like what type of bottles to get for baby, there's so many range and brand out there! Tall and short type.

Hi reenie, for me, the first one I din get either of these.. cos usually me and hb's friends/colleagues will get for us as gifts. I just bot the necessary items like diaper clothes, clothings, mittens, booties, receiving blankets, hankies, nappy creams, ru yi oil, bottles.. just to name a few.. long list la.. haha, I did provide a list sometime bk ago.

Personally I like Avent bottles and it prevents colic probs in bb. But of cos, any other types are fine. Me getting Pigeon ones for no. 2.. dun wan to mix.

hi Miso,
Thanks!! you got a list?? maybe i got to search back the postings...hahahaa..

i saw a few brands out there, like Avent and Pigeon, some cute ones like Piyo Piyo. I'm sure i need to shop for quite a number of things.

Hi guys,

playpen can double up until a certain age. cos as they get active, the playpen may topple. for the first 8 months, i put the play pen in the living rm and cot in bed room, so that there is place to put dd. but after a while, she refused to get in cos she is used to being in infantcentre where it is childsafe and they roam around. so now my playpen waiting for 2nd one to occupy. playpen shld have 2 different heights where as cot has 3 heights. cot will cost abt $290 to $390. we bought the $390 cos next time can convert to toddler bed.

for me, i bought all these barang cos like all of u now.. very excited mah.. here is my list and comments
i) cot - must buy (check if get free mattress, quilt cover etc)
ii) playpen - can buy later or buy now if sale
iii) stroller - buy later
iv) car seat - buy later
these are the big $ items.

these are must buys
i) steriliser
ii) pump (be it manual or electric) - can buy later if flow established
iii) bottles - i buy avent. if u buy steriliser/pump, they got give a few free ones inside
iv) cheap clothings from JL (usu 3 for $10)
v) mittens, botties (from JL, during 15% sale)
vi) hankies (fr market)
vii) nappy cream (drapolene from ntuc)
viii) ru yi oil (fr medical shops)
ix) blanket (from JL, during 15% sale)
x) nappies (pigeon nappies, 2 packs minimum)
xi) clips or snappy fasteners for nappies
xii) j&j top to toe wash/ pigeon powder / cotton wool/swab
xiii) baby bathtub
xiv) pigeon rubber mat (for changing, in case bb slip)
xv) baby wipes (pigeon or tollyjoy)
xvi) bath towels
xvii) nail clipper and nose clearer

i think i spent a lot of $ buying.. but i buy during JL sale 15% plus 5% for members.. if u not member, better sign up now.

Hi miso,
I din noe Stacey closes so early. I think that time I went on Sun was around 4 plus so next time I will make sure I give them a call first. U got your V-front pant from them too? Can fit our size? Oh yah, I saw the ads on the playpen from JL too! Its so cheap & tempting!!! But then, this is too early to buy now so maybe when I am around 7 mths or so then go & jalan jalan for these stuff.

Hi tingting,
Glad you recd my email finally..haha. I think its your setting so probably u like to check it out. So far have you called Auntie Veron? I understand your problem, my mom also say its a waste to engage a CL & the way she tell me is like very easy to take careso she nag nag nagkeke. And then when she knows I already engaged one, she suddenly offered to volunteer to help me out for the first 2 weeks (now then she tell me). :z Well, I still proceed on cos she can anytime back out since I know her style & I feel safer to have a experienced person to teach me how to take care rather than leave me alone to handle.

Hi tulip,

Thanks for the info. It does come in handy for our shopping list. Will it be cheaper for their warehouse sale?

I saw the neighbourhood furniture shop are selling baby cot for only $120! It's cheap but I am wondering whether it's worth to get since it's hard to justify their wood quality & the safety of the paint. Any comments?

hi tulip!
thanks for the detail listing of items!

wow, certainly need to spend quite a bit on those stuff, but i guess its all worth it!

hi cat tail, yah, my dad was suggesting that she take 1 week leave to help me n cld see that she's considering it... but given her naggy nature n dislike for my dog, think i'll have more stress than relief with her around whole day! will try to call both yours and miso's contact this weekend...been really bogged down with work n feeling super lousy this week...sigh...

i'm also thinking it may be too early to buy now.. maybe will wait till GSS... we shld still be in time right? think i'll also be getting 1 playpen n 1 cot... at least bb can follow me when i watch tv..haha...

my mum recommends that i get 2nd hand infant clothes, cos they're softer after multiple washes, so more comfy...

Hi cat-tail, i think the neighbourhood cot may be smaller. i have one handmedown the cheap one.. which is foldable.. so i leave it in my MIL home.

not sure abt JL sale cos i only been there twice and when i see pple digging for cheap clothes.. i get a headache. but i do remember getting a jumper for my daughter $1.50 only and really had to dig.. that was the last time i ever go warehouse sale

my hubby said if have 4 kids, average out then very hua suan. i said he xiao

Sorry, whole week too busy to log in, finally manage to catch up on all the postings.

I also been trying to look for some value-for-money maternity clothes the whole week. Bought 2 tops and 1 skirt from bellysima (online).... didn't turn out as well as I thot cos the arm holes of their tops are much bigger than the usual M size clothes I wore, so need some alteration.

Also find the skirt to be too simple (stretch material with elastic band), not quite value-for-money at $49. Would suggest those that are interested to go to their shops to try before purchase.

Hi gals....

there is a baby fair at taka....many sale item to grab....and also JL sales....so items are going at 20% discount.....very worth it....

Hi tingting,
I hope u can settle your confinement soon so after that u can just relax & think abt bb. But if yor mom can help out, then u can save a lot of $$..heehee. And what happen to your job? Remember u r preggy now, so dun feel so stress & try to take a deep breath to keep yourself calm & happy ok?

Hi tulip,
I think I will not get a wooden cot cos I found something better & suitable!

Did anyone go to the Taka Baby Fair? Their stuff are really cheap! Example, the price of the Avent sterilizer is $40 cheaper than the market rate! I was even tempted to buy the "Piroro" playpen cum cot with a pram that cost $189, but was controlling myself. The sales lady told me that the next fair will be in Oct, so by that time, I had already given birth.

Hi Cat_tail

What alternative are you considering beside cots for your bb? I'm looking for alternatves too but not sure what would be good.