(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Confused,

Glad you managed to get an appointment so fast. That's what I like about his clinic. Dun have to wait for ages. Dun worry, things will be fine. Be positive, k?

Angel, yes, you are right, he is very careful, though my hubby has branded him" kiasu", but I think since not easy to get pregnant nowadays, better be Kiasi/Kiasu than to take any chance lor.

Have a great weekend!

Hi love, i dun know how you come with it... thought you were telling us that minus 2 mths at the beginning? How come now only minus 1 mth ah? (for leap year)I am blur now... Beside that i also found out that there is another website which compute it automatically. The result same as previous one http://www.tryingtoconceive.com/chinese.htm

And i also found out another table which diff from the previous one

http://www.ovulation-calculator.com/ttc-tools/chinese-conception-chart.htm same result ...even with leap year or without.

Suddenly come out from my mind, how about those who are twins with one boy and girl? Triplet? and how we know that person conceived on the exact age if we dun know their birthdate? coz lunar age should be after their lunar birth date ..if i am not wrong. Pls update me if i'm wrong...

Hi Hoshi. diff poly leh... mine is Ngee Ann

Hi Erowen, I am not so sure with it too...anyway after check out mine wasn't accurate. So i don't believe it. I only believe when doctor tell me the gender or after i give birth and see the bb...hehe....

Maybe only for those whose are accurate then it will believe on that chart ....

hi everyone, been some time since i posted... just came back from gynae appt and here's a bit of update.

i finally gained 1 kg! actually only 0.7kg cos i was weighed before i went to the washroom for "big biz"..ok, dowan to gross you gals out, but i was curious abt the difference so weighed myself again after that... :p

the scan showed that bb is developing well, and looks like major organs are ok too...(thank God!) but will know more in detail in 3 weeks' time when i go for the detailed scan at TMC. have already signed on the package, burnt quite a big hole! haha...

i didn't do the triple test in the end. i guess we both felt that since we'll keep the bb no matter what, there's no point spending the money. gynae also didn't insist, since we're not in high-risk group. will just depend on prayers for a safe and healthy bb at the end of the day..

the triple test costs $100 for the blood test, and they will also do a NT scan (i think that's the name of the scan) for additional $60.

initially, i was quite settled on choosing TMC, but now from other opinions seems like MAH is more popular. will check out both hospitals when i go for the scan. Btw, it's TMC has increased its maternity package prices. You may want to get an updated copy from gynae at your next visit.

i finally bought some maternity clothes during the week! the maternity tops are still too big for me, cos i din want to buy the early maternity tops that can't last for the entire pregnancy, so the ones with strings behind are still too big for me. bought some pants though, and agree with u gals that they're much more comfy than usual pants! the waistlines are either above or below the tummy, and no longer cuts across the bellybutton..hehe... went to the katong mall shop, but the prices are not really cheap leh.. pants are around $80 while tops go for $40. selection also not that much. bought some drawstring pants at John Little (finally their big size n baggy clothes look feasible for me! hehe), and i also bought something at this place called "Maternity House" at parkway. they also have outlets in PS, Raffles Place n marina sq. prices are quite ok (abt $50 plus per piece), and currently they're having sale.

oh yah, today's scan cld not determine the sex, cos bb din want to show.. bcos i dowan to know while hb wants to, i joked that bb is "obeying" mummy... haha!

that's my update for now. Confused, pray that your mon appt will bring good news to you!

hi cmy...

this is my explaination....

my mum got the chart from the chinese newspaper n it explain that when there is a leap mth in that year..........u need to read the actual lunar mth minus 1 mth.....the rest will be the same if there is no leap year......for eg....if u conceived in eng calander nov that mean ur lunar mth is sept rite...so u read aug mth......

i gues many of ur friends r not accurate if they conceived last yr cos of the leap mth.....n all the internet calculation is based on normal year n not leap year.......thats is the reason y.......

its up to u to believe the chart or not but so far all my friends n colleagues r correct up till this mth.......i will update again once i know my bb gender......

as fot twin n triple....i got np explaination....unless both the gender are the same...

thats all from my understanding......

hi love, the reason why i'm not believed in this chart because my-ex boss was follow this chart and hope for her expected gender baby. That was 2 years ago. As i mentioned not all my friends and colleagues incorrect but got few numbers. Even one of my brother count from this chart also incorrect. Maybe you can search from Chinese website. I had come accross from one of the article about this chart had been clinical studies at Taiwan's university recently. It wasn't accurate only about 40++% accuracy. So which mean is 50-50 chances.

I even read an article about a woman who wants to do abortion just because based on this chart she can't get what she expecting.

Btw, you may compare my previous links.. both 2 links chart are different. So which one should we take?

For me this chart only can take it as reference. Anyway, hope ur expectation will accurate as from this chart.

Juz found out another explanation link of the clinical studies but is from China.

http://www.qingyunju.com/ys/yunqian/qinggong.htm

Sorry for those who can't read mandarin.

hi cmy....

ya this is only for fun....not to take it seriously....i didnt say u must follow this chart in order to get wat u want....hope i dun sound harsh...

hi ladies, went 2 c my gynae yesterday. i m abt 13+ wks oledi. can c d bb moving in my tummy. so exciting...
my gynae even printed out 2 scans 4 us 2 take hm. at my nxt visit, which is at my 16 wks, i m going 2 do d triple test.

hi ixwong, no leh..no backup.. cos this CL says i can call her after cny or b4 march.. then she says she dunno if I want her or not and tt the lady who confirmed her says she definitely wants her to do.. so she agreed lor.. haiz.. I just feel she should at least gimme a call to chk since I sought her first..

cmy,
yup me also from Ngee Ann.... NP....

me from CCS, wat abt u?
since u are also borne in 1979, wat's our lunar age?... 26?

confused, do update us after ur gynae visit ya?.. all the best!...

Breast Gel
I have brand new pigeon breast gel for sale. bought it at $17. Will be selling it at same price.

Maternity Pad
I will be selling it at $4 for a pack of abt 15 as it is not a complete pack. For those buying the pigeon gel, this will come free.

send me an email at [email protected] if you are interested.

hi miso, after discussion with my parents, have decided to get a CL afterall, but for day-time only. main duties for her will be to cook the confinement foods, take care of bb at times, help bathe, wash the nappies n bb clothes, n if possible clean hse once in a while. do these duties sound reasonable for a CL? How much will the market rate be? Anyone got lobang for day-time CL?

when i go back to work, will most prob be putting bb in infant care... but a bit hesitant to put such a young bb in such places...

Hi Tingting, basically, a CL is to take care of u, ur meals and taking care of nb. She will help to do simple chores like sweeping and mopping the floor and/or do the laundry but no ironing lor, if you do not have a maid ie. Cannot expect ur CL to perform the duties of a maid. It's diff. And if ur CL is to sleep with nb in the night, you may need to let her have a nap while the nb is napping during day. In this way, she wont suffer sleep deprivation and can take care of u and nb well.

I have spoken to Beanie, the one who posted info/lobang for CL sometime back in our thread. Not too sure wat's the mkt rate for day-time CL, you may wish to give her a call so she can source arnd for u too. Her name is Irene Oh, HP. 96932858

As for infantcare, can ask more from tulip. I hv got a friend who puts her bb in an infantcare since 2 mths old, and got good comments from her. An alternative you can consider is getting a nanny to look after.

hi miso, housework is not impt cos hb will be at home. my most basic need is to have an experienced hand around, esp to bathe bb n soothe bb when he/she cries. even cooking i can make do with catering confinement food. besides looking for CL, am also exploring whether any neighbour can help. thanks for the contact!

Tingting, from what I know, an experienced CL is all u need in terms of confinement food and looking after nb. And day time nanny's rate is slightly higher than full time. Cos day time, they travel to and fro and usually a Singaporean.

If you getting confinement food thru catering, y not consider hiring a maid?

miso, whole point of not hiring CL in first place was not to have a stranger in the house. besides, it's too much of a hassle to get a maid when i actually won't need her after this critical month, and it's really quite difficult to trust a maid with a bb? i've a fren whose bb got mild food poisoning under the care of her maid bcos the cultery wasn't cleaned properly. not to degrade them or anything, but sometimes hygiene standards in different countries are different and bcos we live in "cleaner" environments, we are more prone to bacteria n viruses.

Tingting, true lor. It boils down to one's hygience habits. Of cos, if it's only 3 mths, then no need get a maid. What I mean is.. on cost wise, CL's fees is approx. $1.6K and confinement catering another $1.5K or so. A lot of money leh..of cos, tt's for the confinement month only. And try to learn from ur CL how to take care of nb, like feeding milk, how to sterilise bottles, how to burp (this one v. impt) change nappies etc.

I hope things will work out fine for u.. unlike me, everything still unsettled.. haiz..

Confusedgal how was yr visit to Dr Chew? What did he say?
i called their clinic last sat and their 4 D scan cost abt $290..but can only see the baby's face clearly...i still thinking...

Lib! u good leh, can play online games so frequently! keke
i went JB last week to visit my grandmother.

Hi tingting, i quite keen to visit Maternity House leh at parkway...may i know it's on which floor?

hey vone! very exciting to see the baby moving around hor. =) so where will you be doing the triple test?

Just a question.. What is the buzz all about having a CL, a maid and a special confinement menu? Why don't you take care of bb urself and ask hubby to help out with the housework? Women all around the world take care of their own children, cook regular meals after birth and do their own housework. Can someone explain it to me? Many thanks.

erowen, ya lor, hb & i was so excited. now whenever i tink of it, i m so amazed tat thr's tis little thing inside me.
i'll b doing d triple test on 19 mar. how abt u??

vone, i haven't decide yet....will you be doing the triple test at a hospital or yr gynae's clinic?

ya very amazing right...sometimes when i see my tummy bopping slightly with the baby's heartbeat!! ekekke, that's one of my fav pastime now. watch my tummy!!!

btw gals, can anyone advise, there's a big big basket of longans at our office pantry now! i really feel like eating. can preggie eat longans? is it a heaty or liang fruit? tks...

newmumsa, after giving birth, you will be very tired. and it's not recommended that you move around too much and let alone look after the baby. You need plenty of bedrest.the first month of confinement is very important. Eat and rest well.

hi erowen, go ahead and eat but moderately k cos it's sweet. Longons belong to 'heaty' group.

hi newmumsa, confinement is all about resting and recuperating and nursing ur body bk to health.

I know confinement is about resting etc. This is all new to me as it is something we don't practice here at all. I know of women that within 3 days after giving normal birth have actually gone back to work! Also many women here don't have maids or anyone to help them and they are doing all the normal chores, cooking, cleaning and taking care of baby all by themselves as their hb has to work. It is not easy and very tiring I know, but no choice here and they are fine. I will also have to do the same thing. No CL, no maid and hb has to work, gotta do all by myself.
Is it an Asian cultural thing? If so, you are very lucky!

hi newmumsa, i also understand tht most other countries do not practice using CL. her duties are mainly to help take care of the newborn while the mother recuperates. esp for 1st time mothers, we are inexperienced. if handle everything ourselves we may get stressed up n unable to look after bb. As Chinese believe that the mother's body is greatly affected by each birth, it needs time to be nursed back to health. hence the need for rest and food for such purposes. I know a lot of pple dun really understand chinese medicine, but if u do read up a lot of it makes sense...

hi erowen, the shop is at same area as kiddy palace and mothercare.

ya newmumsa, probably we are too pampered.... hehe.. my MIL told me she will help me cook, wash, take care of the bb during my confinement period. she says tat it's most important to take care of health after delivery coz if not, next time will have lots of health problems...

Miso tks!! kekek, i went and eat a couples of longan liao.yummy. =))

hoshi, yr MIL very gd leh! she really pamper you hor...

tingting, tks..i will go and take a look this weekend. Currently i have bought 4 bottoms (4 pants with one of them 3/4), but i find not enought leh...sigh...

newmumsa, like what the gals said, we chinese believe that confinement is very impt. =)
Take gd care of yourself ya.

hi love, sorrie for the late reply coz me on mc last fri, backache lah, dunno is it my sleeping or sitting posture. Woke up on fri, feel my lower back very achy.. it's strange coz my tummy not dat big yet leh..btw, my angmoh age is 29 and mth conceived is Nov. So according to yr predictor, i shd hv boy or girl?

hi ladies,tis CL thing quite a headache coz dunno where to find one. someone recommended a CL agency. called them & it's 1.6k but must pay levy coz their CL are msians.but not recommendation from pple i know, so dunno good or not??oni gd pt is the CL won't play u out..any gd recommendations for CL?

robinson's having sale for cot, anyone getting a cot yet?

Hi Timie...

Do u stand on long hours?? If yes, that is the reason why u feel the back aching....

Just to double confirm....u r 29 this year n u conceive when u r 28...according to ur ang mo age...which is last year??

hi love, me 30 tis year, so conceived when 29 according to angmo age.. nope,in fact i sit the whole day
dats prob the reason..

erowen, i'll b doing d triple test at my gynae's clinic. hehe... ur 'tummy' seems 2 b veri active. mine got not much action yet.

timie, if u r going 2 hire a cl fr d agency, make sure u interview her b4 u cfm her. a fren of mine's cl is veri horrible. no sense of hygience & hving veri funny schedules 4 bb's feeding, etc...

hi vone,yr fren's CL fr agency?ya,must interview first.dats y if recomm by someone we know then probably more reliable..u getting one as well?

Have anyone felt your bb kicking already? I think mine had started kicking last Thurs. Felt like a tapping feeling on the tummy. Since then have been feeling the tapping daily. It's a very wonderful feeling. Dunno how to describe!

Oh yah during my checkup last week, my gynae say my bb is likely to be a gal-gal, but to confirm during detail scan next month. According to the chinese age vs conception chart, I should be having a gal too.

timie, ya, it's fr agency. i agree tat if it's recommend by some1 we noe, then it's more reliable.

i dun tink so leh. but we hvn't plan tat far yet, so c how it goes.

hi mommies

please let me have your latest update. Meanwhile

<table border=1><tr><td>@28 Feb 05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mommies-To-Be</TD><TD>Mommie's Age</TD><TD>Place of Stay</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Name of Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Choa Chu Kang</TD><TD>1-Aug-05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmy</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Khatib</TD><TD>1-Aug-05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr Hii Hoi Chin</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicole</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>5-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>maltbibi</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C T Yeong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emmie</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>6-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Libtuarius</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>7-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chemistry</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>tba</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendyg</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tingting</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>9-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle Chow</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>Johor Bahru</TD><TD>10-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Tan Jui Seng</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>miso</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr S H Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixwong</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>erowen</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>20-Aug-05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cakey</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vivien Lim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>28-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Pin</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoshi5</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Bukit Batok</TD><TD>29-Aug-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>vone</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Chan Siew Tung</TD><TD>tba </TD></TR><TR><TD>cat_tail</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Kallang Airport</TD><TD>30-Aug-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Wong</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>angel</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>4-Sep-05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Koh Ghim Hwee</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karin Chan</TD><TD>35</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Sep-05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SeaBreeze</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>christina</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep-05</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>angieooi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>16-Sep-05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wei </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>confused</TD><TD>29</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Sep-05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>reenie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>26-Sep-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>BellyButton</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>27-Sep-05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi angel
i'm coming to 15th week and my edd is now 22 August 2005. Thank you!!

timie, how do you usually sleep? on yr back or by the side? for me, i find that if i sleep on the side, sometimes i will ache a bit. I have always sleep on my back.

vone, maybe you focus on yr tummy before you sleep, in a recline position on bed...you will see your tummy bopping up and down slightly. =)

chemistry, how many weeks along you are now? i cannot feel any movement from my baby yet. That must be pretty exciting for you. =)

erowen, okie, let me try tat out &amp; c how.

timie, i hv no idea which agency &amp; how much she paid 4 as it's my fren who's using d cl. paiseh...

hi erowen, i sleep on my left side nowadays (heard it's supposed to be better?). i noticed dat if i sleep too long on my back (sometimes unconsciously when i fall asleep), kinda feel dull numb when i turn. anyway i still dun sleep well,everynite wake up a few times (not to pee tho), dunno why. then daytime feel tired. my hb commented i'm having panda eyes
sat nite, i slept at 12 and woke up at 2am, toss &amp; turn till 3am. was so fed up so went to watch tv till 5am
kao_angry.gif
i tink the problem is i tend to slouch when i sit..bad habit but hard to change leh..

Hi angel,
can update me at 14 weeks?

wah, chemistry, it must be real exciting for u!!.. wonder when will I feel the bb's kick too...