(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hello gals

cookies - Dont stress too much on work. Take care n rest more yeah!

vone - Aiyo! your bb so cute n mischevious leh! let u n huuby see backside

vone - yalor! gal gal very guai hor! boy boy more naughty hor!
So when's your next doctor appt. B4 u go for scanning tell your bb to show u so that u can buy nice nice clothes for him/her mah

vone, i like yr question!! kekekke, gal gal y got so notti 1?? kekeke....let us know during yr next scan ya.

btw gals, my fren was telling me to go to this building in kaki bukit area for baby accessories...but i don't know that area well...does anyone know where's the exact location? tks ya...

erowen, the place to buy baby's stuff at Kaki Bukit is call Shun Li Industrial Park, the address is 83 Kaki Bukit Avenue 1. One of the shop is call Baby's Kingdom. There's another one near to Baby's Kingdom but don't know what's the name of the shop, but you will definitely be able to see it because it's only few shops away from each other. You may wish to call them for direction at 65471677 or 65471647

tks worshippertemple!! really appreciate the details. =))
have you been there before?

timie, i'm not sure whether things are cheap there but i heard from my fren that there are a lot of baby stuff to browse...

i'm planning to go either this weekend or next..will update u if i drop by there ya.

Hi Ero, the other one is call Baby Hyperstore, it is just few units away from Baby Kingdom..

Baby Hyperstore is located sells more on Baby Mobile Gym, Carseats, Prams whereas Baby Kingdom sells more on Baby Cot, Baby Accessories, do have carseats, prams, etc..

thanks, i'm feeling better, fever is down. now jus feeling uncomfortable with the dry throat, cough n running nose.
do u know its ok to drink honey???

morning ladies

Bright and Shine.....its Wednesday! Going to be a short working week for most of us. Isn't it great?

Has to attend a super early meeting today, doing a presentation
kao_yawn.gif

This is my week 17 already! but yet to feel any movement from baby.

Cookies,
i think its fine to drink honey water, as long as its those plain honey, cos' some honey comes with medical herbs or benefits. Example: Manuka honey

Erowen,
Take it easy at work
For me, i also keep telling myself for baby sake, stay positive.

Morning ladies! Today's weather is pretty good.....windy and cooling. =))

reenie, yes! it's gonna be a short week...i can't wait for tomo! Hippy!!! How are you doing? taken yr breakfast?
ya lor, i try not to think too much abt work..my closer colleagues are pretty good to me, but i'm getting a new boss and i heard she's a b*t*ch..so got to watch my steps lor...my current boss pretty ok, but my current boss said with the new boss, i cannot anyhow take MC and urgent leave lor...sob sob i will miss my current boss a lot when she leaves!!!!

lib tks for the info...no wonder quite a few frens kept telling me to go kaki bukit see see...they carry so many things huh

cookies, take gd care ya..glad to know yr fever is coming down.

morning ladies.. yes as of now the weather is very good, but hopefully it last till later.. long long time nvr experience tis weather liao.. hehe

Hi Ero, wow yr current boss so good huh.. since this is also a forewarn from yr current boss tink u juz talik talik abit when u want to take mc lor.. see hows the situation.. Oso juz take it easy remember mummies are not suppose to have too much stress hor.. so juz take it easy!!!

As for Baby Hyperstore & Kingdom, ok lar maybe tat time i have oredi purchased my pram, got my cot, so when i went there find it nothing much for me to shop lor.. But their price is slightly higher for sme of the merchandises.

Hi cookies, take care hor!! since u r oredi recovering, got to rest well, drink lots of water.. as for honey, currently i'm still drinking my MIL bought it from cameron highland, natural honey, last mth when she went thr and says is alrite for me to drink, but dun drink too much..

Hi Reenie, take care ya dun overwork ok..

Erowen,
thanks, i taken a hearty breakfast before the meeeting starts :p had fried beehoon with sotong filet and hashbrown...burp.
understand how u feel now, i dare not take MC unnecessary now too and avoid urgent leave....normally will give in advance, such as check-up. My boss are ok but very operational type, so when it comes to work, no joke man!

Lib,
thanks for your concern
i'm alright, but frankly speaking, sometimes i do feel tired out. Lucky this week is a short week, looking forward to GOOD Fri!

Cookies,
the honey i took is from Australia, its available from NTUC. There's one with Lemon flavour, good for throat.

Sorry office PC was out of action past 2 days so no chance to log in.....

Lib, actually didn't manage to wander too many place over the 3-days BKK trip. However, did manage to go to Chutachuk as well as Siam Square/MBK cos was staying at Novotel Siam Square which is very centrally located.

Think I gorge myself with too much good food in Bangkok cos have put on about 2 kg since my last trip to the gynae *oops*...but cannot resist leh
The Japanese food is cheap and v.good.

I also heard abt the Baby Hyperstore and Kingdom. Initially was thinking to buy a bb cot but mum said no need, so probably will just get a mattress to be placed on the floor and a bassinet for the bed when bb sleeps with us.

Hi Reenie, glad u r ok... juz rest as much as u can..

Hi Ix, welcome back.. yar the food in BKK is very very cheap & tasty oso.. remembered during my last trip, me & hb kip eating & eating.. haha..

Why not ask if u have friends who can lend u the bb cot? no nid to buy, can ask friends if they have and mind to lend u for tat few months?? i oso borrowed from friend.. juz buy the mattress & new bedsheet for bb lor..

Hi lib and reenie, ya lor...my current boss kinda 'spoiled' me liao...she quite chin chye with me...i can sms her in the morning that i will be coming in later or take morning off, she's quite okie...she know my pattern liao. As long as i do my work and meet her requirement, she's not strict with me on punctuality and MCs lor...but with my new boss, she said i cannot be like that...sigh....gonna face difficulties liao. =(

reenie, yr breakfast sounds so tempting! Now i kinda hungry liao. =))

ixwong, did you buy a lot of baby stuff from bangkok? btw i have stayed in novotel bangkok before and yes it's centrally located!
btw may i know what's a bassinet?
hmmm, you know my mum also suggested not to buy a cot....but my hubby wants one...so now i still thinking lor
how was the flying experience? Do you feel ok during take off and on?

lib you very lucky leh, i don't have any frens to lend me. One of my fren supposed to lend me her sister one, but guess what, her sis realised she's abt 1 mth along, so cannot lend me liao. My brother in law will be using the babycot til the baby is abt more than 1 yr old, (baby now only 5 mths) so he cannot lend us also...so we got to buy..

How's everyone! Was so busy with work for the last 2 weeks. Now finally got time! This afternoon going for my detailed scan too. So excited that I can't concentrate on my work now!

BTW, I'm also hesitating whether to buy a bb cot or playpen w/bassinet. My parents say bb cot better cos more lasting & can lower 1 of the sides when carrying bb out and in, so dun need to bend. They say if we bend too much esp after delivery will get backache. But both my hubby and me quite like the playpen w/bassinet. Actually, quite angry with myself for not getting one from the last JL sales! Hopefully, still get that kind of price during GSS.

Hi ix,

U managed to get bb stuff there? My parent got quite a lot and really cheap. They found a street selling all bb stuff at Chinatown in BKK. How I wish I could go to BKK too. But I'm now grounded in S'pore.

hallo babes,

sorry, MIA for the past few days cuz was back to mom's place. went for gynae visit yesterday and was quite lucky to see sex of baby at 15+weeks. i'm expecting a gal. hubby quite happy. i didn't mind but was a little disappointed because i would be letting a lot of people down. My inlaws, esp MIL, the psycho one, quite bent on having grandson. she oredi told gynae once right in front of me that she doesnt need another granddaughter cuz she oredi has one (BIL's kid). but at the end of the day i just want a healthy baby. i'm just a tad worried that my baby wun be loved, cus there are too many gals in the house....

anyway, do any of u drive? i'm driving to taka for the 1st time without hubby today so wish me luck! got my license a couple of years back from the states so i'm always squirmish about driving here....taxi drivers are the worst....and i cant park for nuts. the lots in the states are two times larger than the ones here, so when i parked crooked, the car was still within lot....hehehh. didnt dare to drive much here cuz i've scratched the car many times already....btw are u getting uncomfortable with seat belts yet? i always feel that the bottom belt presses on to my belly too tightly so i always have to pull it out and hold it manually till i reach my destination *-*

Question: I have heard so many conflicting reports of when a pregnant woman will feel her baby move. Even the doctors seem to disagree. I am about 18 weeks pregnant and sometimes I think I feel something, but I also think I could be gassy. When do women normally first feel their baby move?

Answer: The reason that no one has the same information for you is that there is a wide range of normal. "Most" women feel fetal movement (quickening) at 18 weeks if it is their first baby (i.e. 18 weeks from your last menstrual period -- LMP). Some multiparas (those who have already carried a child to term) feel movement earlier, simply because they know what it feels like. The normal range is 16 to 20 weeks (LMP).

Fetal movement feels like "little mice tumbling around in your lower abdomen" or "little flutters that stop just as they started" or "gas bubbles" or any number of different ways women can describe it.

If your care provider has a doppler, he or she could tell you when they hear fetal movement and then you could decide if you feel something at the same time. Generally, if women think they feel something, it is usually fetal movement.

One of the difficulties with normal times to feel first movement is that we don't all have 28 day cycles, even though certain pregnancy landmarks, including due dates, are calculated as if we all did.

Hi timie

i have been there a few times and only some of the things are cheap like pram or car-seat. they have more choices. but things like milk bottles etc.... are not that cheap. sometime it's even cheaper to get it from places like Robinson....

Hi christina, I sometimes drive during weekends.. weekdays very ley chey for me to drive cos that would mean I gotta drive bk to in law's hse b4 gg to work. I got my licence last year on my birthday! My best birthday pressie! haha.. enjoy ur driving trip today!

And hor, we are not to be 'blamed' or be responsible for bb's sex leh.. it's up to hb's sperms! hahaa..

wow, chemistry1 u going for the detailed scan? so exciting!! Let us know ya...where will you be having the scan?

christina! same as you, my gynae said it's a gal for me too....don't worry so much...my case more or less similar to yrs, my PILs are hoping so so much for a grandson, i can see that my FIL was rather disappointed when my hubby broke the news to him last weekend..but for us, most importantly the baby is healthy and fine. gender is not so impt lor...try not to let it affect you ya...
btw how's yr cough? better this week?

Hi erowen,

yap... been there a few times... even brought my pram there from Baby Hyperstore & Kingdom with a discount. sometimes, there have really good offers...

Question: Is it okay to eat foods containing honey while pregnant? Will these foods harm the fetus?

Answer: Many parents know that it is not safe to give honey to a baby younger than one year of age. The reason that this is advised is because honey can contain the botulinum spore that in the proper environment may cause the deadly food poisoning botulism. Acid will inhibit the spore from growing and producing the botulism toxin. A baby's immature digestive system is not yet acidic enough to inhibit the toxin from being produced, whereas the digestive system of an older baby and adults is. In other words, the baby's digestive tract provides a nice warm, air-free, low-acid environment where botulinum spores just love to grow. When it grows it will produce the toxin. The toxin produced by the spore is the danger.

A pregnant mom can safely eat honey. Her digestive tract is acidic, and will prevent a botulinum spore from growing -- no toxin will be produced. There is no danger to the fetus from the mom-to-be eating honey or honey-containing foods.

hi christina,

when it comes to driving.... just don't panic and have an enjoyable time driving.... the more you panic, the more nervous you will be.... when you relax, you will tend to drive better :)

hi erowen, my cough is much better already. thanks. i've been drinking warm honey water, sometimes with lemon slices, seems to work. my dad has a pregnancy chart from china, supposedly very accurate, used for centuries kind. he predicted that mine would be a gal when i found out that i was pregnant. i didn't believe the chart at first but i'm speechless now. hehehh, now he says he would help me with a boy by predicting the favourable months, when i'm ready for my second one. 1st gal then boy, to make up for the chinese character "hao3"

miso, congrats! did upass on your 1st trial? mine license is kinda a cheat. i got it in us, then converted it directly when i came back here. prob is i dunno anything about right-side driving then heheheh

hi worshippertemple, u read my fears...hehheh i'm very bad with emergency situations and tend to panic....last time i drove there were drivers honking everywhere...so demoralising. so today i shall take ur advise and take leisure drive to taka, then head right up to the 7th floor where there are fewer people and ample parking lots. thanks for ur support!! *hugs*

worshippertemple tks ya! will certainly pop by to take a look...

christina, glad to know yr cough better! It sure feel so much better without coughing around. =))
wow, how did yr father get hold of the chart? when i first pregnant, i don't know, my gut feeling is a gal gal liao and my mum also think it's a gal. =))

Hi Ero, i'm juz lucky tat my friend is 1yr ahead of me plus she has another cot, tats y she's to let me use lor. anyway her son now doesnt sleep in cot liao..

Hi Chemistry, dun worri from now till Aug'05, still have a few months.. but tink can be abit ks liao, if u see any good offers juz grab home.. for me, i'm, has oredi stock up my house wif bb stuff liao.. heheh..

Hi Christina, aiya don't be too despair, yr bb will still be loved.. most imptly, bb's mom & dad shower her wif love.. if the bb isnt love by the parents then i would say the bb isn't loved!!

No Miso, i was abt to reply and reaslise u log off.. anyway i'm going off for lunch soon.. meeting my neighbours upstairs for lunch at CP.. remember the poo poo aunty.. hehe.. And hor, yr Q&A for feeling the bb sounds so chim too me.. hehe.. my bb feel is not oni the fluttering feeling, it adds on wif tapping..

Wow worship, u still can manage to buy the pram.. Tat day wen i was thr, the oni thing tat can capture my attention is their mobile gyms.. all so colourful and hanged all up the ceiling.. then play with the mobiles as well... hehe..

hi erowen, it was in the chinese papers a long long time ago. my dad got it from a friend who owns a medicinal shop. quite a well organised chart. next time when i go back home, i'll get a copy from him then post it here. it was so accurate that my mom used it to conceive my bro 21 years ago (she started to panic after 1st two children are gals)....though i refused to believe at first, now am beginning to suspect that everything my parents said is indeed right....

Hi erowen,

I'll be doing mine at KKH. It will be done by a specialist, not my gynae. A bit sad cos my gynae is very nice and always allow my hubby to view cam the screen, process etc. Dunno whether this specialist allow us to do that or not.

Dun be affected by your in-law's reaction about bb gender. I think my MIL also hoping for bb boy cos she had 2 granddaughters and 1 grandson and that grandson like got no company if mine is a gal. But she's ok when she got to know mine is a gal. I think gals are better too, cos closer to parents compared to boys

Hi christina,

U can get this seat belt clip from giant to lock your seat belt so that it will not retract back. My brother got that for me and it's quite good.

lib, enjoy yr lunch ya! Me feel like eating Macdonalds!! kekekek.....ya no choice lor, will have to buy the cot if hubby really insist..
wow, u so fast stock up liao...we haven't buy anything at all...will start slowly...i don't know why i keep wanting my baby stuff to be piyo piyo stuff...everything with the piyo piyo cartoon!!!

christina, sounds very 'zun' leh...how does the chart calculate? based on woman's conceiving age and month? (in lunar month?)

hello gals

christina - u feeling better liao mah? Must have a good rest n take care yeah! Can understand your feeling driving to taka. When i first drove to taka i oso very gan cheong. (try not to be gan cheong n take your time to do the parking. if some cars behind u , let them go first then u can park slowly liao)

wow you gals all can drive...hmmm...i most kayu one...i very scared of the idea of driving, very chicken hor? =(
i took my basic and passed last year, was thinking of taking practical this yr but with pregnancy i very lazy to learn....

Erowen, don't be affected by what your MIL wants. What the bb needs most is her parents' love. As you said, most important is she's healthy. I actually quite envy you as both hubby and myself were hoping for gal, but doctor says likely a boy. But nevermind lah, so long bb is healthy. Will still love him v much.

Aiya, didn't know BKK Chinatown got sell bb stuff....so didn't spend any time there. Did check out the departmental stores but all stuff are more expensive so end up din buy anything for bb. Decide to shop in Singapore instead. In anycase, many people advise us not to buy too much clothes for bb as he would outgrown very fast.

Hi christina, while parking and there are a lot of cars behind you, just stay cool and treat them as invisible. U dun wanna galang gabok and crash the cars in between right? hehe.. let them wait, u r entitled to park in at your own time. But of cos, not too long la! hahaha... maybe when u park in enaf for the rest of the cars to go first b4 u try and park in properly again.

hi ixwong tks...for me i want a gal gal as my firstborn...cos i like big sister..kekeke...but you know lor, PILs are very traditional...although they still look after me and ask me how am i...but i know they are disappointed lor...i'm not really affected but i just hope that my BIL will quickly have another baby next yr (they have a gal gal last year, so pressure is on me this yr)and i hope they have a boy so at least me and hubby not so pressurised.

thanx worship, will probably go down & take a look at the prams & cots. wat brand u buy for the pram? $119 quite ok leh.

still hesitant whether to get cot or not, but most ppl say it's advisable to get one. hb oso feels it's first one so shd get. the other day we went kidz mall and saw most are expensive but veri nice finishing/wood.

erowen, also saw quite some piyo piyo bb stuff at kidz mall. the piyo piyo shop in suntec closed down oredi..can't find it..same as u, me oni passed basic then too lazy liao. mebe later then take the auto one..coz so confused with all the diff gears for manual cars..heee..as for boy or gal, aiya, can't really choose one, so 'shun4 qi2 zi4 ran2' lor. PIL may sound unhappy, but i'm sure when they see the bb so cute, their hearts will melt, dun tink they're so 'stone hearted'..

christina, if i rem correctly, when u turn into the taka carpark, hv to go few rounds b4 reaching basement, do be careful, a bit steep. same for coming up from carpark to main road.. juz go slower, i'm sure u can do it

Hi Timie, if u getting a bb cot, maybe get the one from Mothercare, I find it v. durable and it can be converted to a toddler's bed when ur bb grows older. JMO.

Hi timie, not too sure though, but I think arnd the range of $300+ and it's big, comfy and v. steady! I think money's worth lor cos convertible to a toddler's bed then no need to buy another one when bb is old enaf to slp on his/her own bed.

Mine was given by my boss.

erowen - yalor! i agree with the gals here dont bother too much abt your PIL. So long u n hubby love the child. (Traditional PIL always want aboy boy) Me too prefers a gal gal first cos next time can look after ti4 ti4 (brother)

Nevermind maybe after u giving birth liao then start your driving lesson lor. (i think dont get it now cos since u no confidence n scare n can be dangerous) my gal friend took driving lesson when she's pregnant n she met an accident n lose the baby.

timie, is kids mall located in suntec also? i remembered i was at this big big shop selling baby stuff at suntec, i bought a maternity top but i don't know what's the shop name....
if they sell a lot of piyo piyo stuff i will go back to take a look.

confusedgal, tks leh...u gals so sweet. =)) ya lor, i will try not to care too much abt what my PILs think....
the story of yr fren very sad leh....hmmm...actually i was still thinking of learning...cos some of my frens said it's okie, i also scared with confinement and later looking after the baby i may not have time. But now i seriously think i will drop the idea of learning practical first.

Oh no confused! Ur friend must be really sad and devastated.. I got a friend who is preggie and took her test at abt 8 mths gestation and she passed.