(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi erowen,
It's been almost a week since my gynae mentioned induction hence more prepared now and not so anxious anymore... I guess there's nothing i can do except cont to manage my diet so that bb dont' grow too big lor..
As TMC charge the next day from 10.30pm so likely I'll admit after 10.30pm. Then got the whole of Tue for me to induce till delivery hehe... But see how lar, maybe I very anxious then will reques to admit earlier..

tingting ...

I will be at MAH oso ... you think my list is ok?

3 sets of PJ
3 nursing bra
12 heavy duty sanitary pads
6 pair of disposable breast pads
a pack of disposable undiez
jacket
a pair of socks
a pair of slippers
1 set of go home attire for me

1 set of go hm attire for bb
1 receiving blanket
3 pairs of mitten and booties

camera + charger
jacket for hubby
hp charger

skippy ...

me gained 13kg so far .... but my gynae already complaining liao ... think of it this way lar ... its only a few times in life when we can be REAL FAT and no one complains abt us hahahaha ...

me just tell myself that enjoy the 'fatness' now then have to work hard and loose them after giving birth lor ...

Hi ting ting,

Would like to check with you. Have your bb umbilical cord drop yet? My little one still stick at there...is it normal? am start worried now.

seabreeze,
u remind me of the charger n jackets! hee.... almost forgotten...

yeah man... i wonder can i go back to my 49kg after birth or not. but i notice my weight gain is bcoz of water retention...

skippy ...

if its mainly water retention then should be quite fast ... my fren when back to her old figure within a few months cos her gynae told her that her weight gain was mainly due to water retention ...

hi cmy, ur boi boi v. handsome! in fact all the photos posted here all so nice and cute! right gals?

skippy, u may wish to bring more disposable panties and pads, slipper, a pair of socks (optional), camera, charger for the hp. Btw, where will u be delivering at?

And gals, please remember to produce ur receipts from the gynae's visits to the reception when registering. I forgot to do so, otherwise, tmc will give us cash instead of us paying them! haha.. so I paid S$132.55 for a 2 nights' stay. We only produce upon chk up and thus now waiting for tmc to send us a cheque.

miso,
me will be at TMC... okay noted. will pack few more pads into my bag tonight! ;o) wat receipts u were talkin abt and ur stay only cost 132.55 for 2 nites?! tat's cheap!

btw, i only buy 1 pack of 5 disposable panties. do u think enough?

yeah yeah! agree! all babies here r so beautiful & adorable!!!

skippy.. 1 pack of disposable panties is def. not enaf! must get at least 8 - 10 packs! Imagine one day u change few times, then for the whole of 2 - 3 weeks depending on your flow leh? get more get more..

The receipts u get everytime u went to your gynae's clinic. U dun keep it? We can claim up to S$450.

miso,
hur! 8-10 packs!? but i only used the disposable at the hosp. when reach hm will use the normal one...

oh i c.... yeah, my gynae already help me to clip the receipt on to my visit card... think of it, my gynae is actlly quite professional hur... at least i dun need to bother abt tiz... ;o)

hi miso,congrats..

so we jus bring e 1 we pay for e package will do rite, mine is $600. btw, is 10pcs of pad enough? e maternity pads i bought is really bulky.

skippy, u so slim b4 pregnant leh..
i pack 10 pcs of disposable panties in my bag. hope that's enough. btw, e bottle mentioned is for e milk rite? also, TMC won't provide towel for shower ah?

cookies,
yeah, the bottle is mean for the milk... im not sure whether TMC provides or not, but my clinic's nurses told me tt if i want to shower, pls bring my own tower... think maybe tmc doesnt provide unless u request for it...

skippy, if tt's the case then ok. Cos for me, I use disposable panties till no mense then stop using. So everytime when changing, just throw the whole thing. hehe.. no need to wash panties la..

No. TMC dun provide towels. Only a small face towel in the small bag of toiletries.

Wow, miso, your hospital bill so cheap leh... Means total bill only about $1k odd issit?

Yesterday night, my feet suddenly balloon like nobody's business. My goodness. Feel so uncomfortable.

hi seabreeze,

no. of panties should be the same as pads, cos it's more convenient to throw away everything than to change the pads (disposable panties might tear). I brought 2 pairs of socks & used both. One was to wear at delivery suite, which can get quite cold, and it got stained when i first stood up to go toilet. I also wore socks at the ward to keep warm. If u want to bathe, bring along ur bath towel. MAH provides a toiletries bag like those in hotel rooms.

skippy, slippers for use in ward n toilet.

miso, me too using disposables till now... v convenient.. hehe.. but now finishing my 9th pack liao.. think got to stock up some more soon.. how long does the menses last?

Hi all MTBs & mummies,
Finally can come in & breathe for a moment. How's things going? As for me, lucky I engaged a CL or else I really peng san.

Thanks ladies for praising Edna. She does seems cute but when she cries, she becomes a little devil.

The initial part is so tough tat I almost want to break down. Thank god, my hubby is ard to help me. She's always hungry & drinks more than the recommended amt!! Now her jaundice level is quite high, so we have to diligently bring bb out for a morn sun & polyclinic everyday for blood test. Very tired but no choice lor. Now I know how "wei da" is a mum.

Did your feet balloon until like that?

307702.jpg

Oh My God! Is this mine???

Sorry if the photo gave you all a scare... I just cannot believe it. Hahaha....

tingting ...

Ok noted ... just threw one more pack of disposable panties into my bag liao ...

cat tail ...

hang on there ... yap agree that mummies are really wei da .... me really appreciate my mum more after i became preg too =)

eileenp ....

wow your leg really very swollen .... guess its cos your work really require you to stand and walk around alot ar ....

try doing some leg exercise and sleeping with your leg popped up using your pillow ... might help ....

eileen,
wow! ur feet really swell like hell! but nvrm, mine also the same! got company! haha.... my fingers also swollen.... so ugly! fat n ugly! yucks! but the old tales say if u feets swollen hav subsided means u r ready to go labor liao....

skippy & SeaBreeze,
Yah lor... But i try to sit as much as I can when teaching already leh... Sigh... Will try to pop up legs when sleeping.

Really ah... My baby still moving quite often. Now 34 weeks old. Think should be quite a while before pop.

Do your legs 'suddenly' blow up? Mine did leh.. so weird.

eileenp ...

mine did once ... but not as serious as yours ... so every night i do some light ankle rotation exercise before i zzzz ... seem to help ....

Wow!!! All the baby photos look so adorable that I can't even decide which one I like best. Hehehe ...

Anyway, latest news, I'm checking in at MAH on Monday morning at 8 am. Guess that's it - the real show's gonna begin! So relief when my gynae agreed to let me 'drag' another 2 more days. I was so scared until my stomach hurts for 3 days. Crossing my finger for a natural birth now

anissa,
all the best... but why u checkin in so early? still 2 wks b4 ur edd right?

went to see my gynae todae. bb is now weigh at 3.2kg at 38wks.... gynae said anytime. but i got the feelin tt i gotta wait another 2-3 wks lor.... my weight gain stagnant from last wk till tiz wk. so gotta do a CTG just now... "phew" everythin is fine..... :eek:)

here's Denise!

Thank you all so much for your concern, well wishes, visiting and gifts, i am finally back home with my princess!
307720.jpg

Denise has to stay back for her jaundice cos' its quite serious at Day 3, its called G6PD deficiency, we need to monitor her condition till next Tues when she visit her doc. In the meantime, we have to sunbathe her from tommorow onwards, so i am praying for sunlight!!!

Here's my birth story:

16th Aug 3am - 6am
i had very bad Braxton hicks since 2plus, at 5min interval. Called my gynae at 4.15am and i am asked to go TMC to check if i am in labour. Packed my handbag, hubby grab the hospital bag and we went off to TMC. We still tell our parents that we are just going for a checkup and would be going Mac for breakfast! haahahhah.... 5am we reached TMC, i was put under observation and the contraction was every 5min so i am not able to go home....from then onwards, alot of things happen..i was sent to labour ward to wait. I am only 1-2cm dilated.

16th Aug 10am - 6pm
Doc came to check, i am still 1-2 cm but with constant contraction, so he suggested i go on Epidural and break my waterbag to speed things up, plus induce. I said ok. The "Show" only comes after waterbag burst. After that, i was in sleep mode throughout, till 4pm, gynae check again, i am only 3-4cm dilated!!! i prayed hard that my cervix will open till 9cm...reallly praying hard and hubby is very comforting throughout the whole process. Due to Epidural side effect, i vomitted quite badly and also shiver alot...this feeling is worst than my actual labour or contraction.

Finally 6.25pm - 6.58pm
Nurse came to check and said i am ready to PUSH!!!! i am so happy, nothing can describe my feeling at that moment. The nurses are very helpful and good, guide me to take deep breathe and push hard
After 3 good push, we are able to see Denise hair! So they called my gynae around 6.40pm. When my gynae arrived, i am so eager to do a few good pushes, and after 4-5 pushes, Denise is out!!!! I am so touched and cried...

When the nurse bring Denise to me and hold her in my arms, i gave her a kiss on the mouth directly...i said "hi Denise, this is mummy" and she looked into my eyes....

Alrite! for those who are waiting for their prince and princess, good luck and take good care!Make sure you have your hubby right besides you to comfort, hold and witness the entire process, because its a very special moment and day which you will never forget. I reallly wish everyone here have a smooth and good labour! Huggies...

Denise has keep me(basically like a COW) and hubby quite busy since Day 1, i really hope to find time to come in and chit chat, will try to upload photos for you all to see too, hubby has been very hardworking in photographing Denise

Hi skippy10,

My gynae wanna induce me cos my baby is showing sign of reduced growth. According to him, it won't do the baby any good by staying 'inside' me to full term. Was supposed to go for it last weekend but I was too scared ... been trying to put it off ... Anyway, gynse said there will be complications if I wait any futher so I guess I will have to go for it on Monday

Been telling my baby to 'come out quickly cos mummy very scare' since last week. The little one must be laughing at me. Even my colleagues are asking me why I take so long to check in. I started my ML on 10th Aug. Wasted almost 2 weeks being a 'chicken'.

Hi SeaBreeze,

Thnks for your best wishes ... wonder if I will chance upon anyone in the forum at MAH. Accoring to the list, 2 mummies will be delivering there next week

Hi Reenie,

Your little gal is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo adorable!

Reenie,

Denise look so cute! Your story is so touching! especially the last part when you finally met denise....after such hardship.
So, denise stayed a few more days in hospital because of jaundice?

Anissa,
All the best! Don't be scared cos all of us will have to go through this.

Miso,
Aiyoh, i super blur.... thought one pack of disposable panties enough liao and i move the rest to my mum's place. Now still need to wait one weekend to go back to my mum's house to collect :p

eileenp,
Your legs look really swollen! guess you have to lift them up and see if the swell goes away. My colleague seems to swell until she went to give birth leh.
For me, i think my legs grew fat. i don't think it's swelling (although everyone, except my mum, tells me they think it is) cos i can still see my ankle...hehehe. Guess mum knows best!

Thanks for all the luck and well-wishes. I made it back and proud to annouce that my boi Hao Wen was borned on 18/8 (Thu), weighing a 3.44 kg!

Here's my birth story:-

17/8 2300 hrs - admit to TMC for inducement (pill insertion). Was placed at the ward (2-bedded), so hubby cannot stay with me

18/8 0030 hrs - Cervix v closed. Dr was worried that inducement might fail. Nonetheless, decide to proceed to try. Pill inserted. Started to feel contractions (like menstrual cramp). No problem, continue to sleep.

0230 hrs - Dr came again and insert 2nd half of pill. Contractions tripled in intensity, and frequency.

0230 to 0600 hrs - Tahan the pain using deep breathing, but pain really built up v fast.

0600 hrs - hubby was allowed to enter ward. Supported me thru the contractions which are now every 1 min....

0830 hrs - Gynae still not in yet. Cannot tahan pain anymore, request to go to delivery suite for pain relief. Luckily, gynae just arrived in suite...checked my cervix...2cm open. Good news cos got good chance to delivery naturally.

0900 hrs - Gynae broke water. Cannot tahan the contractions, request for epi. Instant pain relief once epi was administered (thank whoever for the invention).

0930 - 1330 hrs - relax in delivery suite. No pain due to epi. Cervic dilated to 10cm. Ask to push bb out, tough cos half body numb. Gynae threatened to use c-section. Double up my effort.

1400 hrs - Baby Haowen finally borned, with the help of vaccum and 2 midwives!

Hi eileenp, yes about there only. it's split up to 2 bills. one is hospital package, the other is bb package. For the hospital package, all deducted using cpf and for the bb package, also use cpf to deduct till i only need to pay S$132.55. If i were to submit the receipts earlier, then tmc will give us cash instead. :p Gynae's fees we hv to pay separately at his clinic..

Hi tingting.. wow, u use ur 9th pack of disposable panties liao?? I hard to tell u how long it will last.. I think usually abt 2 weeks or so. For me, now I can use the normal pads liao cos the flow not much.

miso,
I see. Hmm... I'll pack my receipts with my hospital bag. Hehehe...

ixwong, wow... it sounds like you dilated pretty quickly after you relax hor? So all of us out there who have not delivered. Remember to relax!!!

Samantha,
Hahaha... i think everyone of us put on a lot of weight. This is the only time where we can excuse ourselves. So dun worry. I think I put on close to 20 kg oleadi. Last check on weight was 74kg.
kao_scared.gif

ixwong, congratulations on the arrival of your prince Hao Wen!

Thanks for sharing your birth story with us......do post some photos of Hao Wen when they are ready.

reenie, denise looks so sweet in the photo, and I love the cow next to her too....where did you get that? Thanks for sharing your birth story too.

eileep
dun worry abt yr swollen leg ya
i got that twice, after i stood to bath for too long. prop yr leg up as and when you can
once subside, it's a sign of delivery i heard
are yr fingers swollen? rem to take out all jewellery ya.

congrats reenie! yr princess looks so pretty. dun worry abt the jaundice, it's pretty common. I'm sure it will subside soon.
how's yr breastfeeding coming along?

miso, how's yr malay massage lady har? is she good?

ixwong, congrats on yr boi boi! rem to post pixs leh.

i visited my gynae last friday and gal is now 3.2 kg at 39th week. My cervix soften but no sign of dilation leh. I suggested to go for induce but my gynae prefer me to wait. Cos he had a case of unsuccessful inducement the day before and he warned me, once insert pill, if dilation not successful, have to go for C section. I told him i'm prepared also. But still he advised me to wait lor.....hmmmm.....

ixwong and reenie, was the induce painful?
btw how's TMC charges like? from what time check in til what time is counted as one day?

cakey, tomo u going for inducement liao. good luck and all the best!

reenie & ixwong!
galz! u r back with ur little princess/prince! gosh! i think im pretty emotional now. read thru ur the birth story n i almost tear out. cant wait to hold my bb in my arms....

after listenin to so many gd comments on epi. think i decided to go for it w/o hesitate anymore. was thinkin maybe i can tolerate the pain but guess i dun want to take the risk ....

anissa,
dun worry too much ok. u can make it. and looks! so many mummies here made it and why cant u!? right?! be brave! god bless u! ;o)

ero,
did ur doc say bb too big? did u put on weight anymore? my gynae didnt do any cervix or viginal swap for me during last visit... she just said tt anytime from now i can pop.... make me so worry now....

Erowen,
Inducement is quite painful cos the contractions are needed to "make" the cervic dilate. So be mentally prepared hoh. For TMC, if u check in after 2300 hrs, they would count it as a next day charge. So even though I stay for 3 nights, they charged me as a 2-day package.

I had a pleasant epi experience. if you wish to appoint your own anesthetist, can try the one who did it for me at TMC - Dr Loo Chee Chuen. He's quite pro and hence the epi was quite painless for me. I was lucky to get him as I did not appoint anyone in advance.

Miso/Lib,
Need your advice. I think my milk has just came in cos today my breasts are hard and painful, but when I tried to get bb to suckle or hand-express, I only get droplets. Is this normal? When did you BM start to flow? Any tip to get it going? Meanwhile, I'm supplementing my bb, spoon-feeding him with formulae.

hi miso, hehe, yah, initially i was quite scared of infection, so changed frequently..

ixwong, u may be facing engorgement? i also had it.. u can try to massage ur breasts a bit before expressing, or use cold compress. when expressing, do not attempt to pump too hard, cos it'll stimulate further supply that prolongs the engorgement. It should be over in 1 day or 2. For me, i had colostrum till about 1 week after delivery, when the transitional milk came in. The colostrum quantity also quite little.

Thanks, tingting. Will try out your advice. The amount seem so pathetic today that my boi cried out in frustration after suckling for 5 mins and get close to nothing....did u know how much milk you got when your milk finally come in?

Have a question to ask: Will the gynae have to cut your vigina when you are delivering? Will you feel the pain at all? And how abt the sewing up after that??

Hi new mums, congrats & welcome little princes & princesses!

Reenie, is really so warmth & touching to hve seen yr little ones after keeping you suspenses for 10mths rite!

Ixwong: is normal to get juz droplets during yr first few days, my flow oni starts come in on the 5th day with a pathetic amount of 20ml, then 30ml, then 60ml now to 3rd week liao and oni 110ml. Wat i did b4 pump was to use warm towel to maasage the breast, drink lots of fluid. most impt the support given by yr family!

hi erowen,
Thanks for the well wishes
Now feeling abit of flu and quite tire (maybe throat infection) Hope it doesn't affect my delivery...

Anissa,
You delivering in MAH? I'll be delivering at TMC. It'll be our turns soon.. hope we all have a smooth and pleasant delivery experience.

ixwong,
Great to get to see yr birth story. It's really encouraging for me
Will keep in mind the recommended anesthetist, this is definitely useful cos I quite sure I'll be using epid hehe... Do you know why the pill is used instead of the dripping method? cos. i thot the dripping method is more effective. Btw what's your total bill including DR, TMC, bb and medisave? Sorry so many questions :p
Hope your breast milk will increase soon and bf successfully.

Hi Cakey,

So you have decided to deliver at TMC? I saw from the list that you were comtemplating between the 2. Was thinking we will meet in the hospital
Anyway, all the best to you. I am feeling sooooooo nervous now. Baby seems to know he is coming to the world tomorrow. Been very active the whole day, keeps kicking me. I was just telling him not to stay up the whole night then tomorrow during the deliver fall asleep and leave all the pushing to me. Hahaha ...

Hi erowen, my massage lady is not bad. But last 2 days she's down with sore throat and couldnt attend to me, so I had only 2 sessions with her. She dun do on weekends. Will continue 2mlr. Her charges is $50 per session and will give you a binder and oil at the end of the whole sessions. No minimum sessions or package. Up to you. Her name is Norimah and you can call her at hp. 97853413.

Hi ixwong, first of all, congrats to u! How does it feel to be a mother? My bm only came in at day 6, and frankly, not much.. v. depressing actually cos i pump out only like 20ml, 30ml and on lucky days 60ml. Are you latching her on directly or pump? Try to put a hot small towel over ur breasts b4 feeding or pumping, that will encourage blood circulation and in turn, ur milk will come in.

hi iswong, my milk flow came pretty soon... on 4th day i felt the engorgement, which went off by 5th day.. phew! after that, my supply was ok i think, cos baby didn't cry after each feeding session n just went to sleep. I was also eager to pump out, but somehow i felt that pumping during the first week or so sort of disturbed the balance of demand n supply.

Now i have leaking breasts problem... they leak whether i'm feeding or not! My breast pads always get soaked through and cannot sustain me through 1 feeding session. Any heavy duty breast pads to recommend??

It's so weird to feed on one side n hold a bottle to contain the leak on the other.. or should i say flow instead? It's getting more serious, from leaking as much as 40ml per session, now i can even collect 60ml on some days! And my boy chokes a bit when he drinks for the first minute, cos the milk just gushed out too fast for him, and he just cries in fustration while i have to grapple with the leak from both sides.... once i even "sprayed" milk on him!

Btw mummies, my boy has got little bumps on his face, forehead n neck... dunno whether it's due to heat or sweat or something? Anyway to clear them? I heard some say it's due to hormonal adjustments after baby comes out of the womb, some say it's due to irritation... how to clear them?