(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Miso,
Wow, your labour was short..second child right? how long was your labour for your first child? Did you use epi for your first delivery?

Btw mummies,
are you engaging malay massage ladies to help get rid of wind and lose weight?

Vone: Noe wat, many pple suffered from backache due to epidural after effect.. But is still on case-by-case basis loh.

Tingting, my bb is on total EBM, very tedious loh, cos every nite i got to wake up to pump. Then when she wakes up for milk, i got to warm it and feed her thru bottle.. She oso the same, sometimes she will wake up almost every hour for milk.. tink juz tolerate for the 1st mth.. many pple say after confinement everything will be fine liao:

hi miso, congrats! kudos to you for not using epi! think it helps that dilation was fast for you... for me, it was at a standstill at 2 cm after hrs...

ok, here's a picture of my dear boi boi... first time doing attachments... hope it works!

306593.jpg

hi miso, gosh, ur labour is super fast, keeping my fingers crossed tat mine will b d same as urs.
u take care & hv lots of rest k. got any pics of ur princess?? if yes, then remember 2 post them here.

mummytobe, i dun noe yet. hb wans me 2 engage 1, but i m dragging my feet abt it.
how abt u??

lib, ya, i heard abt d backaches if we used epi. tink if i can tahan, i'll go w/o. but tink my hb & gynae got other ideas coz i heard them talking abt it d other day when i was doing my ctg. hb was telling my gynae tat my pain tolerance level is veri low, so must standby epi. argh... make me malu...

ting, ur boy is veri cute.
he looks so serene when he's sleeping. got any pics whr his eyes r open??

Hi applejuz

my total hospital bill (cash payment) was abt 1700. I used the citibank promotion and had a single room so that hubby could stay over with me.

Hi reenie

amt to feed baby really depends on baby's appetite. my darling was taking up to 80ml in the first week. i have no idea how much he takes now cos i'm both breastfeeding and giving him formula.

Hi pinkroses

my labour started with my water bag bursting at night (almost 11pm). Didn't know that was water bag bursting... just wondering why i suddenly had so much to pee... hahah no experience mah. think i walked too much during the day. AFter gynae visit, i was so depressed that hubby decided to take me to Suntec to shop and eat my favourite chocolate banana cake.
How did yours start? and how much was your gynae charges?

hi mummytobe
I started my massage yesterday to get rid of the wind and water retention as well as to shape the flabby tummy. The tummy is really quite gross after delivery... It's like a deflated balloon

Hi mummytobe,

My fingers r not just fat. I happen to have big knuckles too. Now my finger is so swollen that I can't even turn the ring. Really regret not taking it out earlier. Any idea what will happen if I really can't remove it? Does the hospital have a way to do it?? I have a feeling my baby will 'pop' any time so so very eager to get it out.

Hi vone & applejuz,

Arrrggh! I have tried all the methods suggested. I put lots of lotion, oil, soap, whatever you can name, I have used. I pulled and pulled and pulled but the ring is still there! I tried in the morning and at night too but it didn't help. I even dipped my hand in ice water but to no avail ...

hi vone, hard to take pics of him opening eyes cos now they still sleep a lot... sometimes open only 1 eye... :p will post them if i get to snap shots of both eyes open!

hi miso,
hee hee.. ur description of water bag burst is so funny... still warm warm one huh.. :p

hi mummytobe,
yap, I've engaged my malay massage lady.
She's Mdm Fauzial, charging at $390/7sessions (if u stay in the west)

hi tingting,
lttle Zephan is so cute...he seems to be deep in his dreamland..

hi Emmie,
Thanks for ur info on hosp $$.. Really very helpful. coz me also intend to use the citibnk pkg for single room... just scared the overall bill is too high. $2K additional top-up is still reasonable.

Hi Applejuz,
I stayed in double room. but, my roommate was discharged on the 2nd day so i had the whole room to myself after that.
However, I think it will be better to stay in single room if you are a citibank card holder. I think single room has a lot of privacy and we definitely need plenty of that!

Hi Samantha,
Yah, the bb's admission and pd's are charged separately. It's ard $600 for that.

Hi Emmie,
it's funny that both of bb decided to come out after our last checkup with our gynae.
When i went for my last checkup, my gynae told me that my cervix is not ready. He told me that if i want to be induced on 8th, it most likely ended up with c-section. But, he leaves the decision to us. While we were thinking about it, i was put on CTG and bb actually showed signs of decreased heartbeat at one point in time, so my gynae decided to induce me.
So, i ended up in the delivery room for 10 hours for bb to come out. but, I am glad that I didn't have to go through c-section or else i won't be able to witness the birth of my bb.
I took a package with my gynae. The whole package costs $ 1600

tingting,
ur ds so cute!!! the feelin must be very great when bb's on ur chest!

miso,
u r back!! wow ur labor was kinda fast hur!

gals,
can i ask u, wat/how is the feelin of contraction? i hav tiz stomarchache or diarrhear feelin since tiz morni till now...went to toilet for many times but nothin.....dunno whther is bcoz after the bf i took tis morn or wat..haha... anw, is still bearable.

anissa,
my fingers also swollen like hell... fat n swollen . so ugly!

It gives me great pleasure to announce the arrival of reenie's princess, Denise Tay. She weighs 2.54kg.

Congrats reenie!

Hi Anissa,
Oh dear, think better not force it anymore. Why don't you call the labour ward and ask them what would they suggest? better not force, after damage a nerve or tendon or something

so exciting!! Reenie has popped. She was still in the forum yesterday. =)

so surprised to receive her sms just now. i was still having dinner and then i received this wonderful news. =)))

congrats Reenie!!!

I just found out that the hospital will wrap up your hand if you can't remove the ring. At least I am not so worried abt removing the ring now

reenie!
Congrats! wow! didnt know u pop so early! now i abit worry liao.... do share wit us ur birth story when u hav recoverd... take gd care ya!

congrats reenie .... wow another mummy has popped ...

was so busy with work the last 2 days that i didn't have time to pop by at all ...

gynae called to inform me that they found some vriginal infection from the vriginal swap test ... so need to be on anti-biotics ... sianzzzzzz ... need to pop more pills now ...

Congrats, Reenie. Such a surprise cos she was still chatting actively yesterday. Do share your birth story when you are back!

hi pinkroses,
Thanks for ur info.. wow u r lucky ur roommate
discharge on 2nd day.. hmm.. think I'll go for single room then since hubby is citibank card holder. Still prefer privacy & hubby to stay with me. :p

Snoopy,
Thanks for sharing the good news. Congratulations, Reenie!..

hee hee Reenie still talking abt her favorite instant noodles yesterday afternoon! :p

Hi Applejuz,

Your EDD is tomorrow! Kan cheong or not? Your gynae indicated whether she might arrive on EDD or few days late? Mine is one day after you, and baby still showing no signs of arriving leh..she like enjoying herself in my tummy..still moving actively around. When's your next gynae visit?

Hi Ixwong, Tulip
Any signs on your side?

Hi mummytobe,
Ya lor.. EDD tomorrow & still showing no signs leh. My gynae only told me if still not out by EDD, he'll monitor another week before thinking of alternatives (eg induce / c-sect).. me super sian now...

my baby also still moving around...how har? he shld have less movement now mah.. aiyo, headache arh... but i can feel my tummy quite low oredi.

my next visit is this saturday. Hope i won't have to wait till then. The clinic's nurse was teasing me last visit...saying how come I'm still here.. ha ha..

skippy ...

dunno ler ... mine seem to be an SOP ... anyway my gynae just ask me to go and collect med ... didnt ask to see me ... so i assume its not serious lor ...

my hubby was very worried though ...

applejuz & mummytobe ...

wow your turn coming soon ... envy envy ...

skippy,
my gynae also didn't do a vaginal swap.

seabreeze, dun worry abt the infection, cos i heard it's quite common for preggies to have it.

applejuz, yr EDD is tomo? wow, so near! are you very anxious and excited? Good luck to u ya. =)
btw can i check with you? when u say yr tummy is low, is the dome still very round? cos some of my colleagues says my tummy still high, but some says it looks low. huh? i so confused. But i can only see a bit of my belly button now.

vone, my ML supposedly to start next monday, thus friday is last day at work. But most probably i will still go back office if there's no sign. Alone at home i think i will stress more! cos think and think. Office at least my colleagues' teasing will distract me. =)

snoopy, hi hi, how are you recently?

miso, yr labour is so fast! so cool! =))

erowen ...

same same ... confuse bet the low and high ... i always tot that i am quite low liao cos i always feel as though i am sitting on my bb head ... but my boss commented that my tummy still very high ...

dunno how they define oso ...

me on half day today ... going home to zzzz

mummytobe,
I'm still here. No sign yet from bb except tummy v hard and tight nowadays. Only occasional movement from bb also. Suppose to see my gynae tomorrow but decide to see him tonight (so that hubby no need to take leave). Last Sat check-up my CTG reading not so good (bb not v active, sleeping most of the time and the clinic asst commented that bb may be too big). Think will discuss with him the option of inducing the bb cos have been worried abt bb.

Hi Skippy10,
Ya lor, not popped yet...now playing the waiting game sigh

HI Applejuz,
My gynae only told me that baby engaged, will be sometime this week, most prob around EDD. My next visit is on friday (EDD itself). She told me if nothing happens yet, she will see me on EDD and monitor how..eeks, i hope no need to induce. They say induce very painful right? before and after birth.

Hi Erowen, Seabreeze,
When baby engaged (low) you will keep going to the toilet. Go very frequently, but each time, not much pee... For the past week or so, since baby engaged, i have been going to the toilet like 20 times a day!! toilet paper being used up very fast! one roll last 2-2.5days only leh.. and i keep having braxton hicks..stomach hard hard most of the time..

Re: tummy low
for me,
- when i wear my stripless bra, i dun feel as breathless as last time.
- when i look down at my tummy, slope is more steep now...
ie, last time, maybe can put a tray/ur hands on top.. hee hee.. now, think will roll down.
- when look in mirrow, somehow, i feel bottom of tummy more heavy & rounded leh...
- last but not least... comments for my mum & colleagues.

oops.. hope my description helps...actually, my tummy belongs to those sharp sharp & compact ones.. so maybe easier to differentiate..:p

erowen, i oso can see a little of my belly button. i think u better wait till signs before taking ML.. luckily I return to office, else i would have wasted 3 days!

hi hi lib
how are you and baby kylie this week?
btw will you be going for the 5 in one or 6 in one jab for yr baby?

seabreeze, ya lor me very anxious to know if my tummy is low or not. Hopefully my visit to gynae this friday can shed some light.

mummytobe, really ah? go toilet often...hmmm, i do go toilet often, but i drink a lot alot of water also leh. cos i dun know why, i keep feeling thirsty.
but at night i can still control my bladder lor. Not like first tri, i keep wake up to go release...so my baby is not so low yet i reckon.

applejuz, ya me think ML very precious leh. really dun wanna waste it.

ixwong, gd luck to yr visit tonight ya. Hope to hear yr good news. =)

Hi ero, bb kylie has more or less got stable liao.. able to sleep longer at nite, which means mummy has more time to sleep.. thx goodness!

i still hve decide which one to go, anyway will be bring her for her hep-b 2nd dose on 31st, so see how..

btw, is good to drink lots of water and dun control yr bladder hor.. juz go if u realli nid to,

so hows everything for u? now awaiting for yr girl to pop or has fixed a date for c-sect?

hello lib
my gynae prefer me to wait til next week then decide. But we have discussed the option of different C, he advised me to go for either spinal or epidural. But of cos if i opt for GA, he will also respect my decision.

really ah? drink more water is good, i just dun know why i keep feeling thirsty.

glad to know baby kylie is doing well. Is baby sleeping with u or in separate room?
btw can check with you also? did u 'sun' the baby mattress before letting her sleep? my house very difficult to 'sun' items.

hi ixwong,
i'm still here
Thot might be going for induction tonite but still not engaged and not opened yet!! So was sent home and asked to come again on Mon... *sian*...
Mon shld be last day I'm going to wait cos likely bb quite big if cont. to wait.. By then I think if cervix open/softened can try induce.. If still hard or bb quite big then probably I'll go for c-sect lor...
But dr ang say anytime i feel like c-sect can just tell him lor...
Btw. why you need CTG? Dr din ask me to do that leh.. Is it becos I told him bb moved alot? and how much does it costs?

So all the best for your checkup tonight

Engaged:
I've ask the Dr why I not engaged yet and he mentioned 2 reasons: My bone too small so not so easy for bb to move down.. Or..
The BH/contraction is not strong enuff yet to push the bb down the womb.
Although I'm not yet engaged, dr did say the bb is quite low.. well at least I can breath and yawn easier now

gals,
i also notice tt my bb not so active nowadaes. only can feel his stretchin n his butts... no more kickins...and my stretchmark gettin more n more!!! gosh!

Cakey,
Can understand your disappointment...Didn't know must wait till engaged and cervix opened then can induce? Thot he said even if no dilation, got 70% chance? I also dunno why he put me on CTG, maybe just to confirm that bb heart beat is ok. It costs $15. But my result like not v good leh, the clinic staff (the preggie lady) told me my bb not v active, maybe too big and need to be induce. I'll check with Dr Ang on the result later.

Wish me luck! Hope he gave me good news when I see him this evening.

ixwong,
where did u do ur CTG? only 15 bucks!? tat's cheap... i did mine at my gyane plc at TMC cost 35! ;o(

cakey,
i thot my gynae told me unless u want to induce ur bb otherwise just wait till the time... she nvr mention tt we need to wait till bb engaged or cervix open....

Skippy,
The CTG is done at my gynae's clinic at Sunplaza. It works like a simple machine that amplify bb heartbeat and churn out charts right?

I had the same gynae as cakey. dunno why sometimes his advice quite different from other doctors *confused*

Congrats reenie,
Wow. That's fast leh. Hope my labour will be like that.

Tonight going to visit gynae again. Hopefully can have more information on baby. Everytime i go and come back like didn't find out anything much. Got no questions to ask her also. Hehehe...

hi winnie,
As by default i'm trying for natural birth hence not much discussion with Dr on epidural or GA. But reading the thread 'cesearan delivery' seems like epidural is quite OK and see bb immediately.

skppy10,ixwong,
Today during checkup the Dr says the cervix is still not opened and no sign of delivery.. so he thot not quite ready to be induced (i.e. cervix may still diff to open even induced).. maybe to him 70% chance is still not good enuff? Also another reason he decided to wait is cos the bb maintained same weight i.e. not growing big so fast.

With so many uncertainties really feel like giving up and choose c-sect instead... but it'll be such a waste if bb turn out to be small and I'm actually capable of delivering naturally.

ya ixwong, hope to hear your good news

ladies ...

was on half day leave ... tot will spend the time to zzzz ... end up my fren visited me with her bb gal ... the bb gal keep sticking to my fren ... very sweet ... wonder if my bb will stick to me anot ... but think boy more diff ar ... more playful ...

went to collect my med from my gynae just now ... on a 5 day-course of anti-bodies ... the clinic asst was telling me that if the bb happen to breathe in the bacteria during the delivery ... he will suffer from breathing diff in a few days time ... so they will inject some anti-bodies when i am delivering to prevent that from happening ....

hi Anissa,
My gynae say about 2-3cm shld be 90% successful.. my case maybe still quite hard and not even soften, so only 70% of successful. Maybe he's just being on the causious side.

Hi seaBreeze,
I've infection also but gynae say no point taking anti-bodies so soon.. just take after water bag burst will do leh... Guess diff gynae diff practise.