(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

skippy
my immediate boss very ok with me.i myself monitor my MC, and my work is very individual one, no project or anything to cover, so my colleagues dun make noise. As for my boss, i really appreciate her understanding lor, she very chin chye with me. Allow me to take off go see gynae also. That's why when she make the request for me to take 2 mths instead of 3 mths, i agree lor. i dun mind doing this for her.

dun let yr colleagues affect you. no worth it. As what u said, they are not going through this wonderful process. So think of yrself as being priviledge and so lucky to be preggie. Ignore them.

seabreeze, i'm very surprised to hear abt yr company's policy!! why like that? sometimes thing cannot be helped what. if not well how to come to work? hmmm, i think i better check with my HR also.

Yeah, the coconuts @ Cold Storage are not fresh. Not expired but already turned back. Had wanna go ask for refund but I threw away the receipt liao. Shld let the management know b4 more pple buy the coconuts.

I've been getting this brownish discharge since last night but the contractions are few hrs apart. Called my gynae last night and he said I'm ready. Asked if I wanna check in last night. Anyway, decided to wait till water bag burst ... wonder how long it will take.

lib, y u say not 2 take epi if we can tahan leh??

reenie, tat's gd news. my notti boy is still not engaged yet even though i m aso in 38 wks. sigh... doc said tat he's 2 comfortable inside.

raisintan, u can jus ask ur gynae 4 d mc. tink tat they'll b more than willing 2 give.

ero, tat's d 1st time tat i heard d if bb is 2 comfortable, it means tat he's happy & well-fed. tink mine is 2 happy inside... m kinda of glad 2 hear tat. at least it shows tat my tantrums hvn't affect him tat much.

skippy, ur colleagues r so bad. u ignore them okie. they dun noe how tough is it 2 carry a bb 2 term & deliver it.

anissa, congrats.
tink u shld b ready 2 deliver at any moment. get prepared & dun b scared okie... remember 2 update us when u pop.

anissa, congrats! you got sign of delivery liao. all the best! =)

vone, ya that's what my colleagues and people in other forum said, baby very settled and happy inside, so no sign of early delivery.
oh ya my gynae seems to really believe in talking to the baby, everytime he will ask me ' got talk to baby'? last sat i replied him, ' i no mood talk to her now, i scold her instead!!'

ero,
ur boss is so gd.. my immediate supervisors r ok. not my leave cover n her gang. they like to talk bad abt me. i also dunno why. maybe im too new to their gang. cos they hav been workin together 4 10 plus yrs n im only a yr or less to them... tat's why now i dun care, i will just take full ML n my AL to end my holidaes till end Nov... ;p hubby will be gog overseas 4 trainin 1 mth during nov.. so i will be alone at hm to accompany bb... ;o)

gals,
can i know wat do u all mean by engaged but no dilation? how to see whether u got dilation or not? or only gynae can tell. my gynae told me tt bb's head is slightly gone down (i think she mean by engaged..) but bb is facing my left side n not totally my back.. hmm....

Hi erowen,
same here.. i oso no mood to talk to baby now that I'm so frustrated with the waiting..now keep asking hubby to cheer me up, hopefully not to affect baby's mood.

Hi skippy,
it think only gynae can tell if our cervix dilated or not during the cervix check. My baby's head also lowered & gynae says he's facing my right side... position is ok for natural birth.

Ladies, Thanks for the encouragement. I'll continue to psycho my bb to move lower, also doing some squatting exercise as I heard it will help encourage the bb to engage.

Emmie,
Thanks for sharing. Felt much assured to hear natural delivery is possible even without engagement.

Seabreeze,
Thanks. Ya, my company can be quite meow abt MC before delivery. Had a staff faced the same issue (she was on 3 days MC, 2 days hosp leave before bb popped). HR initially told these would be counted as ML as she did not come back to work b4 starting ML. But in the end, she "fought" with them till she got her MC, so I now got her as a precedent shd be ok.

RaisinTan, just tell your gynae you want to rest before bb comes. They are usually v understanding.

Erowen,
wah, you already consumed 23 days MC??

hi erowen & applejuz,

i totally understand what u gals mean by not having the mood to talk to baby! now all i tell him is come out now! hehehe...

ero, haha... u r so bad...

skippy, engaged means tat ur boy has lowered into ur pelvis. tis means tat he's ready 2 b delivered.

hi skippy,
vone is right, engaged means the bb head is lower into the pelvis area, getting ready. But doesn't mean the baby is coming soon. Mine has been engaged since week 34...hahaahah...

erowen,
i think you have a very good boss, i only taken a day MC so far from my gynae, today i am so surprise that he ask me if i need any MC??? hahahhaah....but i din took any from him since i am feeling alright
My work project oriented, so cannot absence for too long, anyway MC only 15days...
sigh...don't think bb well-fed by me, cos' i always eat junk food =P

Emmie,
thanks for your advice!
i am quite worry about BF, therefore seeking advices on how to make sure bb is not hungry if my milk supply is low. Roughly how much should we feed our bb?? i am using Avent, hopefully bb will not be confuse.

Anissa,
i think your turn is coming soon! With brown discharge, the chances are quite high
Do note that not everyone will have their waterbag burst, so if your contraction is regular, like very 10-15mins, think better call up your gynae and head to hospital
All the best!!!!!! WAiting for you good news!!

vone, what to do? my temper all along not very good liao. And with my rashes, really buay tahan this pregnancy. sigh. I look at other mummies with that bliss look and i really wonder how they have it. I dun think i have any maternal glow, maternal scowl is more like it. =P

musicgal and applejuz, ya lor. I everyday also nag and nag at my tummy!

ixwong, ya. very jialak hor. First tri i got spottingcough, abt 1 week MC and 3rd tri got backac, so i took abt 9 days of MC for bedrest, then 2nd tri i got serious flu and he and last week due to my rash, i on MC for 6 days. so when i calculated my MC, alas! 23 days liao!
btw does squatting really helps?

skippy, dilation means your cervix is opening. i think only gynae can tell lor. by doing the cervix check.
ya take yr full entitlement, AL and ML. dun let them affect you.

reenie, you very discipline leh. only 1 day MC.

erowen,
i bo pian, sometimes can tahan i will try to work, cos' u know my job is contract, so MC is not very advisable, esp. when they review the performance
I think whole of this year, i only taken 1-2 days MC, the rest i took leaves for checkup.

reenie,
hee... i also like to eat junk food. recently i bought alotz... esplly mamee! i finished the whole 10 packets in 2 daes! ;p of cos my hubby does not know... hee.... then i bought a lotz of pocky too! yum yum.... think better control my diet... no gd for bb... ;p

anissa,
tot when we hav any brown discharge, we shld admit to the hosp liao?

vone,
thanks for the info... ;o)

hi skippy,
me also, snacking alot, chocolates and wang wang seaweed rice cracker especially! no wonder there's a weight gain =P Or maybe too much Mac meals? heheee..Yesterday raining heavily, i was so tempted to call the KFC delivery..i love Pocky too!

Erowen
You poor thing..your bb must really be kwai kwai cos you suffered much for her. I dunno whether squatting will help. But still a good exercise as long as you don't overstrain.

reenie,
how's ur new hs now? everythin settled? i hav moved in to my new plc. kinda settled... haha...oh yeah, now i hav cravin to eat indo mee goreng! maybe cook it for dinner tonight! haha... ;p

ero,
when will we do the cervix check? oh well, cant wait to tiz saturdae to see my baby again. now only wkly basis..

Hi erowen,
my 1st tri same as u leh...also got spotting & bleeding!
I've been going to gynae almost every week for hormones pills & injection.
already took approx 2-3wks MC within that trimester!
Luckily baby was saved

So I really cherished this little guy inside me.

me also been eating lotsa junk food & cold drinks!
Just had KFC ytd..& Pepsi! So guilty, but wat to do, confinement cannot eat liao mah.. hee hee :p

applejuz,
hey, i took the hormones pills n injection as well. so painful...
gynae give me abt 2 wks MC. when i came back from tiz 2wks MC, i heard alotz of ppl bad mouth me liao. sickenin right. but these only bothered me awhile. most importantly is my little prince is saved.

Hi mummytobe,

Nuk teats cannot be used on avent bottles. U can use them on pigeon bottles. If u deliver in KK, u can get the samples of nuk teat from the nurses when u feed your baby.

Hi ixwong,

My bb is also not engaged on the day of delivery. Some babies engaged only during labour. So no need to worry too much. But keep yourself active as it will help baby to decend faster during labour. Do more walking.

skippy,
yup, settle in already
since mid-june, 2 months oreldi!!! My fave instant noodle is Myojo!! Chicken soup noodle or the 100% Spicy Ramee...hahahaaha...but my hubby control alot..so i didn't get to eat much.
Hmm...your colleagues sounds not very nice people...i don't know how to work like this if i were u. Baby is more impt than anyting! Glad u are not bother by their remarks or behaviour

hi Lib, just wanna check how's ur BF coming along? Thot my bb has already settled into 3 hrly feed, n was rejoicing that he only wakes up 2x at night for feeds, but nowadays he wakes up almost every hour at night, and sleeps during the day instead! when will they settle into a more predictable routine? I'm v tempted to totally go EMB feeding, cos bb fusses at the breasts n fustrates both of us... much easier to stick a bottle into his mouth...hehe...

eileenp, have you checked out on the MAH wards? i find the 2 bedded wards quite affordable bcos mostly paid for by medisave. My bill was high bcos bb had to be under UV light treatment for jaundice..

actually, i advocate epidural, though before delivery i was also strongly against using it... :p it speeds up the labour process n helps in the healing process after birth as well, cos u're not as exhausted... only thing to look out for is the nauseous n giddy spells... where possible try not to walk during the first few hours...n for first few times, make sure there's someone accompanying u.

tingting,
do post some pic of ur boy... ;o) seem like BF is not easy. now b4 i started i already thinkin of EMB cos is more convenient..wow! u gotta wakeup every hour at night! gosh! tiring right!

reenie,
well, get used to them. im glad tt im gog on ML soon. n when im back i will request to transfer out. tiz dept really not my cup of tea. hav already "ren" for 11mths ...so just bear wit it for another few more mths...

tingting,
yup. I check through the MAH website, the price for the 2 bedded and 4 bedded only about $100 difference. Might op for 2 bedded instead.
coffeedrinker called MAH and checked that the 4 bedded renovation was over. Therefore, think same level with the nursery again.

Applejuz & erowen,
I was experience spotting during 1st tri as well. Was on MC for 1 month. Kaos, so stressed at that time. But my colleagues were great. I wanted to go back after 3 weeks MC and they insisted that i stay at home and rest and refuse to let me go back to work. Really appreaciate all of them.

skippy & reenie,
me also junk food lover. basically, everymeal also junk food. Hahaha... hb has been scolding me. Once I craved for Maggi Mee and he simply refused to let me eat. Sooo angry. Anyway, I drink COLD water all the time. I can't stand lukewarm water leh. Make me even more thirsty.

thanks for the encouragement on the breastfeeding. Hopefully, i can successfully breastfeed my bb at least 3 months.

Hi Cattail,
could i have the no of your LC in case i need professional advice on breastfeeding?

Hi Chemistry,
How frequency do you pump your milk? My bb's feeding is every 2-3 hours. So, do i pump my milk in between the feeding?

Hi Emmie!
Congratulations on your newborn baby!

So, what's your bb's name? So, how did the labour start?

Hi Applejuz,
i quite like the service at GEH. I felt that everyone at the GEH is pretty service oriented. From the admission to the ward. However, some of the nurses might be a bit inexperienced in handling labour patients.
My hospital charges is around $2000 for assisted delivery. The extra charges are medical supplies, medical gas and medicine. Btw, bb's admission and pd's charges are charged separately.

Hi Cakey,
the after effects of epidural is nausea which the nurses will advise you not to eat anything after delivery.
For me, i think my 2 legs felt really wobbly after i gave birth. couldn't make it to the toilet on my own. need nurse' assistance. felt really weak.

Hi erowen and applejuz
Don't feel so discouraged. I think once your bb is born and when you hold her/him in your arms, every pain is forgotten.

Try reading more childcare books cos' i think once the bb is born, you will realise that a lot of things on childcare have to rely on confinement caregiver and sometimes, you will be wondering if that's really true or jus midwife's tales.

reenie, gosh... urs is engaged since wk 34?? tat's fast. mine hvn't engaged yet. dun worry abt ur diet. as long as ur gal is growing well, then it shld b okie.

ero, no worries. when u c ur bb, everything will b worth it.

skippy, brown discharge is oni a symptom of labour. if got brown discharge & regular contractions, then go 2 d hospital.

Hi pinkroses,
can i just check with you... u were saying that bb admission and pd charges are separate. U mean the 2k u paid doesn't cover that? BTW, did you take single or double room?

morning ladies

this morning i woke up, stoned for 5 mins, sat up and cont to sit like zombie. really feel like hitting back to the bed. zzz..then my hubby said he dreamt of me giving birth last night.

reenie, did yr company talk to you recently? any news abt furthering yr contract?
My office recently got one assistant director resigned and my boss most probably will be promoted. Sigh, think when i come back i will have a new boss.

skippy, my gynae so far did 2 checks on me, from 37th week onwards. A bit eeky, cos he insert his fingers in and really poke. Wah! very painful. i told him. He said if painful, no sign of dilation at all!
maybe u wanna check with yr gynae?

applejuz and eileep, ya that first tri of spotting was really so full of uncertainties and worries. So glad we have moved on from there ya. =)
eileenp, u very good, got such nice colleagues. I'm sure they really make a difference right?

pinkroses, tks for your encouragement ya. Btw look fwd to pixs of yr darling.

oh ya speaking of snacking and junkfood, gonna miss all these during confinement!! arghhh.
Oh btw nowadays whenever i take pepsi and sprit, i justify by saying that the caffeine level is lower than coke!

wondering if anissa is in labour or has given birth liao....

ero, me aso dun feel like waking up tis am. so when u starting ur ML?? at least u can sleep later during ur ML.

no news fr anissa yet. hv msg her, but thr's no reply fr her. will let u noe shld i hear anything fr her.

gd mornin gals,

ero,
yucks.... poked his finger in!yee.....

vone,
when u startin ur ML?

eileen,
haha...think we are in one gang! all junk food lovers! ;p

skippy, me planning 2 start nxt wk - 22 aug. feeling veri tired oledi. so i tink tat i'll start earlier so tat i can rest at hm.

Hi gals..
Hmm.. seems like today's thread very quiet huh..
sigh.. counting down 2 more days to my EDD, & I'm still in office!

Btw... r u all still on Iron & Calcium pills?

skippy, tink shldn't b a prob. jus remember tat u going on ML soon. anything u aso can tahan k.

applejuz, u okie?? how come u in ofc still?? thot u shld b on ML oledi?? i m still on d iron & calcium pills coz my gynae said tat i can continue taking them.

Hi vone..
Aiya...me still no sign of dilation/contraction leh.. so better come back office...dun waste my leave. Anyway, not much work load too... now also 'Eng Eng'.

I'm also continueing the pills.. gynae give, then eat lor.. :eek:

Hi pinkroses,

I usu bf my baby 1-2x a day only. Other than that I pump every 2.5-3 hrs from the time i last pump or bf my bb.

Hi erowen,

Not true that u are not dilated if u feel pain during the check. I was 2cm dilated when my gynae check me and it's painful. Even when warded for delivery, I still feel pain during the check and that time, I was already 4cm dilated.

Thanks, Chemistry. Hopefully my bb kwai kwai cooperate during the labour.

morning ladies,
just managed to log in. Slept in later this morning cos couldn't sleep well last night. Nowadays, my left pelvic joint hurts quite badly whenever I move and my water retention on legs and hands quite jialak too. Luckily on leave now cos I'm not sure how would I survive at work..

Erowen,
tried to relax when your gynae is doing the cervix check. It was painful for me the 1st time he did it (caught me off guard) so 2nd time I deliberately breathe out to relax the muscle there, and it did not hurt as much.

Applejuz,
you will be working until you go into labour huh?

Nope, I haven't delivered yet and Vone, your msg didn' get thru. I have this brownish discharge since Sunday night till yesterday but contractions are still very far apart ... Gynae said as long as baby is still moving everything shld be alright ... I also heard that for some pple the water bag will not burst. Really dunno how long more I've to wait.

Tried to remove my ring yesterday and discovered that my fingers have grown so fat since pregnancy. Now the ring is stuck! I tried until my finger is now swollen and I can't try anymore. Have tried using soap, lubricant and oil but nothing seems to help. Any suggestions frm anyone?? What if I really can't remove it, what is the hospital gonna do??

Hi Anissa,
I had the same problem as you when removing my ring. Mine is not fingers fat, but rather knuckles swollen. i put lots of soap, water and twisted and pull, twisted and pulled until i forced it out..hurt like mad and knuckles were all red..best time to do it will be at night or early in the morning, after you are in the aircon room for some time and finger/knuckle not swollen. if you do it in the afternoon, will be more difficult.

Hi all mummies
I just wanna ask, will you know yourself once the baby is engaged? Or you have to wait for each visit for the doc to determine it for u?

Hi ixwong,
wow so good.. u r at home now. Ya, if u feel uncomfortable, better stay at home to rest. coz labour needs lotsa energy.
For me, still can walk & squat... me not much water retention. so will wait till signs like blood stains/regular contraction, then stop work.

hi Annissa,
u r still around! Hmm.. maybe these few days liao.
I agree with mummytobe, in aircon for sometime, the ring will loosen...
in fact, i dropped a few times in office or when I was driving.. u can try

hi triniti,
we usu ask gynae if baby is engage or not... sorry, can't help much.

Everafter,
Have u pop? ur EDD over liao leh...

applejuz, oic. tat's not 2 bad. but if u feel tired, then rest at hm k.

ixwong, u poor thing. u hv lots of rest & dun move around 2 much k.

anissa, oic. no wonder u nvr reply.
was wondering wat happened 2 u. since ur contractions r still far apart, then u listen 2 ur gynae & wait til it's time. everything will b okie. u dun worry k. as 4 ur ring, u can try removing it in d morning when ur finger is not so swollen.

triniti, when bb's engaged, u can feel tat u can breathe easier & ur pelvic area will feel more pressure. u may visit d toilet more often aso. tat's 1 way 2 noe. if not, u can chk wif ur gynae during ur visits.

Hi ladies, am back! haha..

Just a brief account of my labour story..

I had brownish discharge on Fri at abt 1pm+. Then arnd 4 pm +, I noticed some blood stains but it went off after I had a bath. Nevertheless, I put on a pad so easier to monitor if there's water leak, burst or show. Had regular contractions, but bearable type. So went home as usual.

Then arnd 2. 50 am, water bag broke! I grabbed my hb's arms and he opened his eyes so big! hahaha.. v. hilarious. Then I quickly walked my way to the toilet and let the water flow out. There also some traces of blood. After tt, as I walked back to my own bedrm's toilet to take a bath, I saw hb dressing up liao.. so fast. He tot I was gg to brush my teeth and wash up only, but found me bathing instead! Just then, ds cried and woke up. So told him we are bringing him to ah ma's place and he say.. ok.

Reach in law's plc arnd 3 am+ and put ds there, also had chicken essence and 2 eggs. Then off we go to tmc. By the time i settled the nurse checked me and say I was only abt 2 cm dilated, then was in the delivery ward and i asked for the gas. After a few contractions, i am 5 cm dilated.

Then the nurse called for my gynae and lucky he reach in time.. cos i was already pushing like dunno what.. haha..

Then 6.15 am, my gal is out.

hi miso,
welcome back!
kao_welcome.gif

Seems like your dilation was quite fast...
btw, at 2.50am when water bag breaks, how much was the water flow?
Was the pain bearable when u r 5cm? u din take epi right?

Hi applejuz, the water flow is like suddenly u on the tap type then when i stand up, it just drizzles down.. warm warm one. Mine, according to the nurse, could be leak only and not burst cos after tt, when i put on a pad, it stops..

hm.. then pain was excruciating but I managed to get over it w/o epi. U all can too!! Jia you!