(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

Congrats Babyjun

Shane
So u xin dong le mah... see baby so sweet and cute....

Baby is sweet and cute... but my bbShane approaching T2!!!

Congrats Babyjun!

Agree, a striking resemblance of her brother but meimei definitely still has her feminine look =>

haha...yah baby daelyn does bear a striking resemblence to her kor kor n she is looking more n more like him by the day....i jus hope she doesn't grow up to be as notti as him too :p

<font color="0000ff">babyjun</font>
Congrats to u too!

Hi Muumies,
Question to ask..
Those who use the food warmer/milk before, which brand is better? Pigeon or the avent one?
Is it better to buy one or just warm the Breast milk with hot water better?
Thanks for advise

Aries,
i'm a supporter of pigeon milk warmer. I had avent before and it was very hot even at milk temperature setting. Pigeon one is good.
avoid using hot water to warm breastmilk because overheating also cause the bm to lose its nutrients.

<font color="ff6000">LV</font>
Just curious - how long do you keep the BM in the milk warmer before it warms up?
Is it safe to keep it in there for like 1 hr?

Coz my sister (who's going to deliver in Apr) was asking me and I have no idea - never used a milk warmer. ;)

Now trying to get JJ back to his usual CC routine. Since CNY holidays, every morning, he would tell me "I don't want to go to school." Sigh...

Luckily for us, this CNY, JJ was not too interested in sampling all the goodies when we go visiting. He was more interested in distributing the goodies in the containers and make sure that everyone there gets one. ???

And I stand-by a small box of his favourite gummy bears - whipped it out when he wanted to take sweets on the table. After 1-2 of his mini gummy bears he never asked for the sweets on the table. Phew... otherwise, we would have to manage a super-high JJ.

How about the other tods?
Did they take a lot of goodies during CNY?

<font color="0000ff">TL</font>
Lucky for us, we sent Ashley back to CC during Chu 3, so her CNY holidays aint that long. :p She was infact looking forward to school opening. Since Jan this year, she annouced to us that she is a big gal already &amp; likes to go school. We still crossing fingers on her words though. hehe.

As for CNY goodies, she got bad cough &amp; running nose, so we refrain her from eating those real heaty ones. I only let her eat some kway lapis &amp; sweets. We dun carry our own sweets with us. :p Anw I took care of her so well, make sure she drank enough water etc, ended up I'm the 1 falling sick like hell. So now she will tell me "oorr u can't eat these now" (she so happy I join her club u see. hehe)

<font color="ff6000">Twinklets</font>
Oh dear, how are you feeling?
Me down with flu on and off. Recovered liao, then hb comes home sneezing away, then we all kenna again. Never ending.

JJ also went back to CC on chu 3 - actually, I was feeling a little bad for sending him back so soon, coz most of his frens not back in CC yet. The CC was very quiet. BUT JJ still keep saying "I dun want to go back school" since chu 3. *faint*

Happy Lunar New Year to all mummies!

W fall sick 3 days before and during CNY, having fever on and off, so most of the time he was at home. When every time he saw us eat, he will tried his luck by asking "Can I eat?" We got a solid reason not to let him touch any CNY cookies, just limit him to a slice of mandarin orange or half pcs of cookies only per day. Luckily he didn't make a big fuss!

W recovered just before the CC open
so no visiting for this year!

<font color="0000ff">TL</font>
Got high fever &amp; flug bug on Chu 3 onwards. Only back to work tis monday. Now better already, just very dreadful of sleeping time. U getting better i hope?

Ya I also feel sorry for Ashley too cos alot of her frens not there too. Think most came back on Monday.

Ya v sian to keep hearing them chant tat statement, really v v v v fan. I can puke white foam 1. hehe. Anw, after the 'holiday', JJ will be back to normal soon.

<font color="ff0000">Audrey</font>
Happy Lunar New Year to u too!
Lucky tat W didn't make a big fuss. Ashley is taking a long time for her cough &amp; running nose to recover. Sighs.

Good morning...

LV, Thanks. think will get Pigeon then

TL,
i think there's a temp setting to select. LV, maybe you can share more with us :p

yes, TL, i think it's safe to put there for 1 hour. At night, sometimes before i sleep, i put it there and feed him when he wakes up within 3 hrs later. i personally tried 3 hours max. 6 hours the milk a bit cloudy, so i didn't give.

twinklets,
poor thing. seems like this pregnancy u keep feeling unwell. Must take care ok. drink more water and also don't be so greedy lah, stop eating those goodies and heaty stuff cos u already quite 'heaty' with the bump. hehe

aries,
u check around see any mummies selling the warmer. btw, my warmer is on 24 hrs for 1st 6 mths and on and off for next 6 mths and then it finally died after one year.

yup, there'a a temp setting for BM. Very good to get the right warmness then using those hot water flask. Too hot will kill the vitamins and minerals of the original goodness of BM.

aries,

the pigeon brand comes in 2 different types of warmer. Get the new one. The old one called the universal warmer is a bit too hot at the setting as well, but that can be rectify by turning the knob lower but troublesome in case other family members don't know. Always try heating with normal ice water from fridge to know the right temp to feed.

hi dear mummies...
it's been a long time, happy happy new year!

I miss chatting with all of you... the last few months were a tough time at work. so after much deliberation, I'm going to cut my hours to better cope with work and family. sigh.. but not cutting a lot, just a couple... can't afford to drastically cut!

How is everyone? I'm really very sorry for not popping in more often to keep in touch.

well, i'm ok and the kids are good too. just that today i made a major boo boo that got me in tears at work. I forgot that today is nathan's birthday!

sigh.. i just hugged and kissed him as per normal when i went to work. forgot today is the day! (we were planning for a party for him on this coming Sunday...no inkling at all today is actual)

well, i went to work. and sometime mid-day, i looked at my emails and saw the date.. wah.. i actually cried in office, cos i felt so absolutely lousy...like major failure.

thank God for friends.. i got time off, came back early, and tried to make up for it as much as i could. HB felt so bad, he bought giant thomas set for him... sigh.. i can't believe it, we became just like those TV parents! forgetting kid's bday...

anyway, I'm better now.. so thought I'll just share a little something (sorry so lor soh) in my first post for 2009.

TL
I having tough time keeping ian from sweets stuffs. He ate alots of sweets and chocolate @ friends house.

Sally
Sorry, didn't manage to sms u yesterday, was v.busy yesterday. so fast we going usa again.. will miss everyone.

Actually Sky wasn't eating much of the cookies... but he love bak gua and kuah bangkit!!
He manage to polish off a big portion of the kuah bangkit at my mum place...

For mei mei...worse...she will help herself to all the goodies... and the DRINKS
She came to realise that the straw is VERY ESSENTIAL for packet drink...and will TRY OUT all the drinks on table...regardless of the owner... so we need to keeping taking the drinks away... Chu yi...she sample 4 packets of drinks... 2 chrysanthum, 2 green tea... belonging to my parents, mine and my sis.... but quite funny to see her sip here and there... then she began to pull out the straw...and attempt to poke thru a NEW PACKET!!!

School
Sky was actually very upset to learn he need to go to school on Chu 3... he actually tell my mum is NEW YEAR...so no school!!!

Mckee
Sometimes we are so busy that we can forget dates..esp after giving birth i feel that i became v v forgetful. Don't feel upset...u are a GREAT mummy!!!

CNY
R had been eating all types of sweets...even mentos MINT &amp; he loves bak gua too! Mei Mei leh...bak gua &amp; NUTS!!! Both of them fell sick this week...R cough &amp; C caught stomach flu from me! Spend a BIG BOMB just bringing them to see PD!

mckee
We are still human, not perfect, so don't take it too hard and blame yourself. I do realise after giving birth I tend to forget things easily too, just do it when you remember or take notes to remind yourself ;) Take it easy and relax!

Glayz
This happen to W too!
He will find all sort of reason not going to school, telling me that he still got fever, teacher says still holiday etc
hahaha... ...

adora
At times W's medical bill cost me $300+ per visit. Scary!

Hugz for you, mckee
don't blame yourself too much, sometimes the demands of daily life and workload makes us even more forgetful! You are still a super mummy!!!

Thanks LV..
I din know got two types. that day saw one at $75 and another one $56.10 (thk prev promo), but both look the same.. luckily i din buy yet..

no prob Aries.

Mckee, it can be upsetting to feel like a lousy mummy when we tend to forget special things like these.
It's just yesterday that I realise i've not been reading to K for sometime and she plans her own routine by telling me - "later I bathe, drink then watch tv then sleep ok?' oh no...it suddenly daunts on me that that's what I'm been pushing her to ... so I told her I will read a bedtime story to her despite my eyelids were like 10kg heavy. But when we get started it's never enough and she bugged me for more stories until I've to shout light off.

thanks mummies... I've gotten over that... but in my busyness, I realised other small little things! like LV, the story telling...
Worse still, Sat papers had official report on TV watching!! argh!!!

Now I know why dual income families are not the norm in Western countries when the kids are young... how ah???

mckee,
wat was the report abt re watching TV ? I'm totally out of touch. executive summary for a few lines will do =P

Well, we're asian and we're in Singapore. I think it's gg to so tough to survive on one income. Actually how are they (western cty) diff from us ? How come they can and we cannot huh ? But even with mummy not wkg, their kids also got their own behaviour issues.

For now, I'm still ok with reading book. But other frills like educating (writing, recognise alphabets, numbers) are bare minmum. And I only have ONE kid. =( So I really cannot imagine if I have another.

So Mckee, LV, i think u 2 very good liow. just manage what you can. Sometimes it's just beyond us.

Mckee
U are a GREAT mum la...really...
I still cannot remember mei mei BC number... as I dun bet...

Reading
Errr... I was not reading to either of them for a long time... they share different interest...and mei mei keep wanting to turn the page...
I tried intro-ing Leap touch to mei mei... but she is MORE interested in gor gor first leappad...and Sky...also more interested in what mei mei is having..then they FIGHT lor!!! and I try to crowd control by KEEPING EVERYTHING!!!

shane
i think the angmos boh bian. they don't really have the support of grandparents and domestic help is very expensive, so the moms have no choice but to stay at home for the initial years. also it helps that in some european countries, it is compulsory for the employers to retain jobs for mothers even after the mothers took 1 year's no pay leave to look after the babies.

Shane
The problem is...THEY DUN SHARE... becos gor gor dun share with mei mei...so mei mei also assume she dun need to share... and their mindset is also..whatever the other is holding is BETTER..,.

shane,
thanks for telling me that we are still 'good'. it didn't help when i've new mummies around me who's sharing with me about flash cards and weekend enrichment classes like gym play and I'm just happily contented with parking both of them in front of TV as days go by. I managed to 'train' Jr to like barney and i gathered that he enjoyed it when he started doing those shake a bom bom thing whenever music starts.
sigh i must really start doing something about it...

LV
wahahahahahahahahaha
I also park my 2S in front of TV....
Shane also like barney...i assume la... can hear her ATTEMPTING to sing the I love u song.... but all words not there!!! my hb dunno what is she singing...or I am just imagining!!!

LV, Glayz,
dun hv to be guilty lah, esp u have 2 kids. i also offer E TV when I want some peace or me time or when i just had enuf of her liow =P And i only have one. Sometimes i feel damn lousy and feel as if I'm not cut out for motherhood. =<

LV
Sometimes i feel so guilty for not bringing C to playgroup &amp; weekend class. I am starting her on GUG this mth.

shane
This was the article I saw... summary was don't let kids watch too much TV, it stunts development.. sigh..

. Switch off the television set
The box can stunt your child's development, so use it sparingly. -ST

Mon, Feb 09, 2009
The Straits Times
MYTH: 'Watching educational and children's shows is good for my child and helps build his intelligence.'
REALITY: TV can restrict your child's development.
ADVERTISING executive Kelly Tan, 30, used to plonk her two-year-old daughter and five-year-old son in front of the television set whenever she needed to snatch some time for herself.
At weekends, her children used to watch up to 10 hours of mostly educational DVDs or children's programmes. That was until her son's kindergarten teachers complained of his hyperactivity in class.
The child psychologist she consulted warned her that TV could be a key factor contributing to his condition and that she should restrict her children's viewing. What she did not realise was that extensive research has been conducted on the effects of TV on children and that it shows it often does more harm than good.
WHAT RESEARCH SHOWS
One of the leading academics in this area, Professor Dimitri Christakis from Seattle Children's Research Institute and the University of Washington, has conducted an extensive review of 78 studies published over the last 25 years.
His key finding is that the studies indicate that watching TV programmes or DVDs designed for infants actually delays language development.
For example, a 2008 Thai study published in the journal Acta Paediatrica found that if children under 12 months watched TV for more than two hours a day, they were six times more likely to have delayed language skills. Another study found that children between seven and 16 months who watched baby programmes on DVDs knew fewer words than children who did not.
Infants as young as 14 months will imitate what they see on a TV screen, but they learn better from live presentations. For example, one investigation found that children learnt Chinese better from a native speaker than they did from a video of the same speaker. Excessive TV can be a factor in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).
A study of 1,300 children conducted by Prof Christakis in 2004 found that the amount of TV a child is exposed to between ages one and three has a direct effect upon later attention problems. Watching TV, in other words, can shorten attention spans.
The study found that a child who watched two hours of TV a day before age three would be 20 per cent more likely to have attention problems by age seven.
Why does TV have such a negative effect on children?
Prof Christakis explains that it exposes children to flashing lights, scene changes, quick edits and auditory cuts which may overstimulate developing brains.
Things happen fast on the TV screen, so children's brains may come to expect this pace, making it harder to concentrate if there is less stimulation.
In other research, he and his colleagues looked at the impact of early TV viewing on the cognitive development of those at school age. They found that children who had watched a lot of TV in their early years did not perform as well when they underwent tests to check reading and memory skills.
A separate New Zealand study discovered that those who watched the most TV were the least likely to go to university and get a degree.
It monitored the TV habits of 1,037 children aged between five and 15 in 1972 and 1973. When it was finally published in 2005, it tracked the educational achievements of the same children. The study found that the 7 per cent of children who watched the box for under one hour a day were the most qualified by the time they were 26.
But shockingly, the over 20 per cent who sat in front of the TV for more than three hours each school day ended up doing the worst at all academic levels. Most failed to get high school certificates, trade diplomas or degrees.
The researchers also discovered that although excessive teenage TV viewing was strongly linked to leaving school without any qualifications, earlier childhood viewing had the greatest impact on getting a degree.
At this stage, even bright children and those from well-off families who watch a lot of TV are less likely to go on and get a degree.
The researchers concluded that excessive TV viewing leads to poor educational achievement. It displaces homework and revision and takes up time, which would be better spent in more educational pursuits, such as reading.
WHAT PARENTS CAN DO
If your child is under two, do not let him or her watch any TV at all, recommends the American Academy of Paediatrics. For older children, some TV is beneficial but parents should be selective and limit viewing time to no more than two hours a day. It is important for parents to familiarise themselves with the media ratings systems, so as to make good viewing choices for and with their children. Compare products, read reviews, and choose wisely.
Check the age-appropriate level to see if a show contains violence, sexual themes and profanity.
Studies have shown that consuming media violence may desensitise children when it comes to real violence. Glamorised body images in the media create expectations about attractiveness, and some depictions of sex or substance use run the risk of normalising risky behaviour or illegal activities.
Do not hesitate to turn off the TV set or leave the cinema.
Where possible, parents should watch programmes with their children and talk about them.
Teach your children to deconstruct a movie by analysing it and taking it apart so that they can look carefully at its components. This helps to empower them and ensure that they control the media rather than let the media control them.

@
me too! My N2 hasn't had anything.. thinking of starting on GUG too.. but probably Suntec.. cos near office.

Shane
i found out that in western countries, many mums stay home to take care of kids. It seems more norm than s'pore.. perhaps because of our fast paced and high cost of living, both parents got to work here...
then you read about the baby bonus? nothing goes to non-working mum... how like that?
sigh... this just gets me more confused on what I should do...

You know, I never thought I'd even consider thinking about not working and taking care of kids full time... but now that thought is looming in my horizon...

mckee,
thks for the article.

It's a lost cause for E liow. I think she started watching TV when she was quite young. *opps*

Long time back, in a parenting talk that i attended, the speaker also said not to let kids watch too much TV. Reading is better as it processes thru the brain. TV is just watching with less being absorbed. someting along this line.

oh there's a GUG in Suntec now ?

Taking care of kids full time
It has always been in my agenda but not prepared enuf to take the step yet. V hard to survive in Spore on one income. For a start, must learn to live simply.

Due to my own childhood experience, I feel having a parent at home for school going children is important.

Congrats Babyjun!

Mckee,
U are a great mom!
Nice party for Nathan.
Where you did the personalised bubbles invites? So cool! :)

TV
Die lah, me is the one addicted to TV. Faint liao.
I m always fighting with A for TV n of cos I always win, heehee. I do limit him in watching TV cos BIG excuse for me to watch my drama series. heehee

SN
Wah Seh...ME also SIAO LIAO LA
But... We are on the losing end of who should control the remote.... Sky will watch Playhouse from morn till night...even hb had to give in...as he onli have Fri nite n Sat to watch...

LV
me too! After I saw that, I kept te remote, laid out the entire thomas train set in the hall. well, it worked for three days so far... not sure if they can go tv-less longer..

SN
thanks.. aiya.. that is photoshop! We just got ordinary bubble bottle, printed the invite on those envelope labels, stuck on it and ta-da! Cost me about 50 cents per invite!

Shane
GUG is on 3rd floor in suntec. so that's just a few floors down from office. but so ex leh... i've not actually gone in to check out enrolment!

full time mummy
it's the first time my maternal instincts are calling out for me to do that.. but like shane, reality bites!

<font color="0000ff">TV</font>
oops I also started Ashley on TV pretty young too. Worst now watching every 9pm show with us. -__-" Keeping the remote away is impossible cos Mummy here must watch TV 1!! :p I think so long dun sit infront watching all day long &amp; not doing any other things, think still shd be fine bah?? I hope??! haha .. i also a TV kid since young, but I think I still grow up normally lor. hahaha. excuse. :p

I go to this forum to read whereby some parents really discarding their TV cos of their kids. I'm definitely not belong to this group of parents. I still find watching TV is a form of entertainment &amp; good media of obtaining info. I think so long moderate shd be fine. But I gotta admit watching adult TV will make the child early mature. Just like ashley. Haiz, recently say she wants to marry 1 of her classmates when she grows up big next time. -__-" Sighs.

<font color="ff6000">Full Time Mummy</font>
got thot of going into that once I got a 2nd child, however Hb doesn't approve such idea. He still finds women work is better, at least keep up with the society &amp; wont be aunty-ish.
Think he got alot of influence from his working Mum. Sighs there goes my SAHM dream.. Anw like Shane mentioned, we have to sacrifice alot of things when depend on single income. Unless the hb is earning a reasonably good income &amp; the comfort level will still be maintained. Guess reality bites, especially staying in Singapore.

Full Time Mummy
I feel like wking PT when they start Pri Sch...at least i can stay home to monitor his schwk.

Twinklets
My hb also dun encourage me to be FT mom.

adora,
I also thinking of working part-time after my kid start pri sch. Whenever i see those school children loitering around after school hours, i will think of my child. Especially a girl, who will be easily bullied by boys if she mixed with wrong friends. Really, mothers are the greatest.

adora, septvirgo,
PT is my plan &amp; solution but whether will execute or not, is another thing.

Esp if i only got 1 child,like so boh hua =P haha... it's more worthwhile for those with 2 kids or more.

twinklets,
you can explore PT as well as least still got some income.

anyway now our kids still young, dun think so far yet.... but as I'm typing this... also realise not too far away ... this yr they're 4YO liow!!!!

OMG, i have known you all for a long time! hee hee... *feeling sentimental* keke....