(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

meow,
wat dvds u all toking abt? got lobang again??

tsp,
Now u into making bread? Nt to worry, practice makes perfect.. ;) My mom used to own a bread maker and it took her a mth to succeed in getting the right taste and texture.. We were so sick and tired of bread after being her guinea pigs for a while then.. haha..

Dewdrops,
It's ok, he is prob tired..

Poohy,
Has Samuel lost his bb fats? Ur 3 kids realli cooperative to let u take a nice pic of them tog. I always have a difficult time capturing my 2 gals..

San,
U're nt alone.. I have also been thinking abt their P1 registration.. Still considering to shortlist the schs first then decide if i want to apply for PV or nt..

carla
tat website very useful. so far, i can see all the schools (popular or non-popular) don't need to ballot for phase 2A. then i can dun join alumni liao. But phase 2B in popular schools, even do PV also have to ballot.

meow/bub
PV have to complete 40hrs but like i said, may also need to ballot. You go see the web carla provide you will know. What if do volunteer liao still need ballot and sway sway can't get in, then the 40hrs effort will be wasted.

San,
i saw...think my choice of school also need ballot. Me thinking to select somewhere near my parents but i read hor to be that both parents needs to work full time. Hope by then i got job liao then will be easy. But hor, you got wonder if ballot fail then how? Bring them study where. My choice is actually South View Pri...i will never send my children to Teck Whye Pri lor.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies:
have to check because i know, rather have heard of schools increasing the quota of volunteer hrs needed. eg: 80 instead of 40 hrs due to the large numbers of parent volunteers.

sigh... yes, the time: for us to worry about Pri 1 registration, has finally arrived... </font>

Batman,
i heard they very academic lor and not much 'play'. Me choose that cos nearest to my parents place lor. As for PV, i dunno to do or not to and if i can do it now

I've started planning last year... hahaa... Went to do my research and really like the webpage kiasu parents cos it is so informative!

I'm the most kiasu here... have wrote in to the school of my choice for PV programme... hahaa... still have to go thru interview, do a proposal on what you want to do for the school... need to complete at least 40 hrs... and you might not be selected as a volunteer!

<font color="ff6000">Carla,</font>
Thanks for the website! It's really informative.

Hmm...the school of your choice must be a very good/popular sch. Still need to go thru interview and do proposal? Really sounds like a job interview leh. So stressful.

Based on the information in the website, the school that I shortlisted has a 233% of applicants vs applicable places for phase 2C. The highest rate in my constituency even though this sch is not considered the top sch in the constituency.

Looks like I have to sign up for PV.

Tigger,

I went to the school website and downloaded a form. Complete the form and send it to the school. Call the school a week later to see if they have received the form. If you are shortlisted, they will call you for an interview...

Thanks! I will check the school website then. Hmmm...still must wait to be shortlisted for interview ah? Maybe I can start volunteering now since I am on maternity leave?

tigger,
Going for Chong Fu?

Pri School,
Lucky i am ex-gal of a not too bad school hence this sort of take away 1 headache from me and I also very lazy person to do PV. Actually, didn't really intend to send her there but after hearing stories from frens going for ballot etc and end up didn't get in and then got into the most lousy school, then i decided to let her go back my old school to prevent balloting to test out my luck. My mum even said so many pple fighting to go in to the school which my gal can get priority and why do i want waste the chance. In future, she can also pass this down to her child. Long term investment! haha. Only problem is I may need to shift nearer to the school when she starts.

Btw, i wonder what are the proof to be given that I am ex-school gals? I not sure where is my report book already. PSLE cert don't know can or not.

Ya, I think I will call the school soon to sign up. haha, really KS.

<font color="0077aa">San,</font>
Nope, not Chong Fu. Going for Northland which is much nearer to my place.

tigger,

My hb thinks that I'm being KS... hahaa... but can't help it cos i don't want my girl to end up in a lousy school... my primary school closed down... my hb's primary school standard is quite low... so, to me, i think i would like to increase my chances but being a PV. If phase 2b i can get in, i still have phase 2C...

I used to believe if the child is clever, he/she will shine in whichever sch he/she goes. But once i became a mum, my thinking changed. Plus, i noticed that in my company, the big shots all came from reputable schools... hence, understand the need to build a strong foundation right from the start...

Now, I'm waiting for the school to call me... not sure if I'm being selected as a volunteer leh...

sweetbabe
oh, then that's gd cos' if not, i really dun know where to dig out my report book.

Tigger,
Northland i saw Phase 2B for past year dun need to ballot at all. Only Chong Fu. If it is within 2km fr yr place, you are qualify for phase 2B registration so you dun need to even do PV. Phase 2C is for those staying further/ and nvr do PV or those who failed to get a place during the earlier phase in another school. Go check yr house distance and the school distance to confirm if you are within 1 or 2km.

Good schools are far from my place. Also the stress level is higher for both kids and parents.

My uncles and aunties keep asking me to send Keane to a good school (eg. ACS). They say it's not only for him but also for his next generations to come. My boss also say the same. My son is not even in K1 yet and I already kana stressed by the good intentions of my relatives and boss.

I thought Phase 2B is for PV, or parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

If I am not a PV, then will fall into the 2C category.

tigger,
Nope, i read somewhere within 1-2km is under phase 2B not 2C. Fall under same phase as PV or clan etc. Priority also given to kids staying near the school so how can it be those kids place under the left over 2C phase.

Hmm..okok, let me check with the school again. If no need to do PV, lagi best.

I think my place is within 1km of the sch.

This is what I read from MOE website.

Phases of Primary One Registration Exercise
Category 1: Children who are Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents

Phase 1
For a child who has a sibling studying in a school of choice.

All children registered under this phase will be given places in schools.

Phase 2A1
For a child whose parent is a former student of the school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 Jun 2008; or whose parent is a member of the School Advisory/Management Committee.

Phase 2A2
For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the school of choice; or whose parent is a staff member of the school of choice.

Phase 2B2
For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2008 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2009; or whose parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

Phase 2C
For a child who is ineligible for or unsuccessful in earlier phases.

Phase 2C Supplementary
For a child who is unsuccessful in gaining a place in a school of choice at Phase 2C.

Category 2: Children who are neither Singapore Citizens nor Singapore Permanent Residents

Phase 3
For a child who is neither a Singapore Citizen nor a Permanent Resident.

Footnotes:
Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies in any phase, places will be balloted according to the following order of priority:

Children living within 1 km of the school of choice.
Children living between 1 km and 2 km of the school of choice.
Children living outside 2 km of the school of choice.

At the end of Phase 2A(2), 50% of the remaining places will be allocated for phase 2B and the other 50% for Phase 2C registrants in a school. In the event that less than 50% of the allocated vacancies are taken up at Phase 2B, the remaining vacancies will be carried forward to Phase 2C.
Children who are Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents and who have not registered at any of the earlier phases are also eligible to register at this phase. Registration in this phase will be done on a first-come-first-served basis.

San,
I'm already within 1km of the school that i wanted to enrol my girl into... but i still need to be a PV... within 1km does not automatically puts you in phase 2B cos a lot of ppl are within 1km...

Tigger,
To me, foundation and peers are impt factors to consider apart from the distance. I will not send my girl to a sch full of super rich kids... cos peer pressure to compare (Daddy, mummy not rich)... but will try to send my girl to a decent sch.

Carla,
the place you stay so many top schools so quite easy to opt for schools. Think most students studying there also stay around your area which is consider rich.

Like what you said, my nieces school though not in those district 9 or 10, her classmates all the family background quite rich as pple really come all the way fr different parts to send their kids to a gd school. I know it when 2 wks ago they invite their frens over for bbq which only like 8 of them. 2 of them stay landed, 1 semi-d and 1 bungalow and even come wz a pool. Then there's 2 of them stay Tanjong Rhu. Then the rest also stay stay condo. When parents came to fetch, can see the parents drive Volvo, Esteema etc. I was telling my hb, if next time our gal classmate wz such family background, I wonder how will she feel when we only stay HDB. haha.

Oh dear...gotta start doing PV liao...
Better volunteer now when i'm going to clear my leave...but really must go find job too...stres...

Meow,

Got to the school website. The form can be found under Admission -> Parents Volunteering Scheme.

San,
Who told you that the area i lived in has many top schools??? haha... I'm not that rich to stay near Nanyang, RGS, etc.... my area all neighbourhood school... only one top school... hence, die die must volunteer mah...

Carla,
Yr area is near those RGS etc hor. Only a bit difference nia mah. Only wz or wz/out the Upper word on the St. name only mah.

Btw, that day i saw an article on asiaone that even Zoe Tay looking into letting his son go Nanyang and had contacted the school to be a PV.

Carla,
i call them liao. Have to go personally to collect the form. Then to start doing PV only aft jul 2010 leh but can register for PV jul 09 lor.

San,
There's a GREAT difference w or w/o the word "upper" leh... I would of cos prefer w/o upper.. haha...

The area I'm staying is nowhere near RGS... nearer to bukit batok.... Can only afford to shop at West Mall leh...

Meow,
That school confirm will select you as volunteer is it??

<font color="aa00aa">RGS:
i have a colleague who is an old girl. she told me that the sch is getting alumni members to pay... she said they are like differentiating between paying and non paying alumni members.

if i can recall correctly, she said she is like paying $300 per year..kind of like securing a seat for her girl.

carla:
keming is a pretty decent pri sch. it has gone up over the years.</font>

Carla,
No i doubt confirm will select but i think still got chances bah. They say even now register wan to do they also wont let you do cos priority stil got to the kids born in 2004 only

Krazy,
Yeah Keming not bad ah.

<font color="aa00aa">meow:
yaps. they are.

san:
i have 2 in mind. will apply for teaching posts in both and see if i get in. else its through church affiliation.</font>

sorry to suddenly "bump" in like that..

carla,
keming is next to the dew...
it is near my mil's plc too..was thinking if i wan to enrol R there or not..

pSi,

My cousin's daughter got into RGS by ballot. She mentioned that high chances of getting in by phase 2C cos all those living within 1km should have gotten into the school of their choice by then (RGS, ACS, Nanyang, etc...)

Then another cousin of mine got her son into Nan Hua by balloting too!

Don't know why they can be so lucky

carla,
where do u stay? any schs near u?
heard that princess elizabeth n pei hwa oso not bad leh.

i'm shortlisting between pei hwa, princess and keming..

Forgetmenot,
I'm staying near Bukit Batok.

Hear Pei Hwa has lots of snobbish kids... not sure where is princess elizabeth (is it a mixed-school?)

My first choice will be Nan Hua, followed by Henry Park (cos near my parent's plc)... Haven't thought of my 3rd choice yet...

carla,
princess is at bt batok too..yup..is a mixed school..

is it? i dunno that about pei hwa..
anyway..still thinking lah..cos abit inconvenient for us..R most likely has to take school bus to school if he goes to pei hwa..

but heard from my mil that there are alot of indians in princess..dunno true or not..

i like nan hua..but very difficult to get it..n is not in bt batok n oso quite far..

forgetmenot,

what is the diff between nan hua and pei hua? What do u like abt nan hua? I am asking cos we were considering getting a condo nearby so that may be one plus point for us to consider.

like you, S will go pei hwa via church affiliation or rulang (if we can get parent volunteer). I must be the most kiasu.. I emailed the school when S was only 4 months old. Last year I checked with them again and this year we had called them a few times liao to make sure we din miss the PV application.

poohy,
actually i oso dunno leh..haha..
cos nan hua from my understanding..all along is a good school..especially chinese..

but i heard hor, for nan hua..even staying within 1km oso need to ballot leh..

pei hwa there is no PV right?
but pei hwa got those student care centre in the school..so i feel not too bad