(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Hi Emonster & Evelyn,
It's so sweet of the both of you to encourage me. I guess today is one of those 'moody' days lah. *Give hugs to Emon & Evelyn*

Emonster,
Sorry, I can't help with your lower abdomen pain. I haven't experience this yet but I have heard of my 8 month pregnant colleague complained about this. I guess may be your uterus is growing and stretching. Let me do some reading up and I will let you know okay? Also, remember don't be naughty and take sashimi again.

Whoa, I have to say that Phoebe is quite a big girl at week 23. She must be taking all the good stuff from her mommy!!

Dear all mood swinging mtbs,
Hee hee. Seems that many of us also mood swing hor. I also very "HUM BAO". My hubby also says so. Once start cry, cannot stop. Must cry till the eyes swell big big and then cannot breathe properly, nose got stuck so have to breathe thru mouth. Then tomorrow got very swollen eyes. You see if I "HUM BAO"?

So you mtbs just come here and share. We will hug each other,ok? Just that we are having hormones swinging mah, cannot complain mah. All hubbies and fathers, mothers and in-laws also must give in to us now. They got no choice. Hee hee. I sort of enjoying the pregnancy more and more.

Hey JayKay, Piggy, Dolphina and Evelyn, thanks for your kind words. Really had no mood the whole of yesterday 'cos I was waiting for the lady from UCSF to call up to confirm the appt. It will be next Wednesday... can't help but fearing the worst. My OBGYN said he's not an expert in fetal heart health so he didn't even want to speculate what was wrong but what I know is that that baby will be OK in-utero but once he's born (if he has a heart problem) there will be a lot of problems. Hope they can put us out of our misery. Before my doctor visit, I was feeling pretty OK.. not really having mood swings or anything but now very hum bao also... if my husband says anything about my chubby cheeks, I really feel all the tears welling up, even though he's just being his usual joker self. *sigh* Men just don't realise how sensitive we are about weight! :p

BabyD, the microwave steriliser can sterilise up to 8oz bottles and the Isis pump. They have diagrams in the instruction book on how to load it up. It's not that big but you may want to check it out physically if you have a tiny microwave.

Aiyah, another thing - I hv gained 8lbs since my last checkup which means I need to watch my weight! Overall, I've only gained 11lbs but it's not too healthy seeing as the majority of my weight gain was due to the good buffets in LV. :p Die lah, overate liao.. now stomach used to be full so I think I'm being a bit of a greedy pig. My top of fundus measures 29 wks, even though I'm 26 wks only.. eeps.

JayKay, I understand how frustrating working can be. I thank God that I could be a SAHM during this period of time too as I don't think I am strong enough to face all the workplace rubbish. *BUT* I know you can be strong and press on yah? Is it possible to take more leave or some unpaid leave so that you can rest up in the 9th month of pregnancy? Take it easy yah? Just do the minimum required and don't get too upset about stuff.

Hi Catz, *Big hug for Catz for being nice*
I have to say that the motivation for me to go on working is my baby and the company benefits that I can utilise currently. With some income on my side, I can save money and buy things for him. I am also planning to take a few weeks' leave prior to my due date. I doubt I can rest for my entire 9th month though. Actually, my HR hinted that it may not be possible for executives to take the extra 4 weeks of maternity leave in my company. This is really quite unfair. But I will have to wait and see as they are still in the midst of ironing out the policy.

Piggy, Catz, Dolphina & Evelyn, I was a 'hum bao' 2 nights ago. Hubby was angry that I didn't cook dinner for him (I was very tired) and refused to talk to me. Wah, don't know why I just started crying like crazy. Luckily hubby didn't see me cry, otherwise, he will scold me for being such a crybaby and I will sure cry some more...

Hi Jay Kay,

Same here, my boss has suggested to me to go for 8 weeks first and take the subsequent 4 weeks in intervals. Hai... sian... wat to do, cos of rice bowl so have to agree lor. Its better than coming back and realising you are being replaced liao.

In fact, I am ok to take the extra 4 weeks flexibily, at least still can get periodic rest days on my preferred days.

I have a question for you, can pregnant ladies take prunes for constipation? I have being taking it lately cos really cannot go toilet....

Btw. Wong Li Ling has given birth to a baby gal ya...wonder if hers is a natural birth or c section.

catz,

we will keep your little Tim in our prayers....stay postivie okie!!

jaykay,

hmmm if i am not wrong, the govt has already amended the Act and all women regardless of whether cover in Employment Act or not will be entitled to additional 4 weeks of mat. leave wef 1/10/04. perhaps u can go find out more else get "cheated" leh...this is complusory unlike the 2 days childcare leave - this one cover the Employment Act only and for those not covered by it, its at discretion of individual co.

have been a while since i post... maybe i am just very tired and sitting in front of the pc is not really very comfy nowadays... everyone doing good so far? I am feeling heavier and its also getting harder to move around or turn my body. Think we are approaching 3rd tri ...? Or are we in third tri already? Sometimes i have mood swing too, and will feel very easily agitated when that happens :p

okay, i really tired so will not post a long message today... have a good weekend!

Hi Twinkle,
I guess all the working MTBs are really 'shen bu you ji". We are at the mercy of our employers. I just hoping for the best outcome for the maternity policy. Anyway, on your query whether prunes (dried ones right?) are good for preggies with constipation - YES!! You can also take prune juice to help. I myself don't really like prunes but rely on papaya.

Hi Dolphina,
Thanks for the info. Will go and find out more.

Hi Sun Moon,
Rest well and take care okay?

Hi Jay Kay,

I took those pitted prunes, brands like Sunsweet. Not sure is that dried prunes?

Try not to take too much papaya as it rather cooling and I heard it will cause bb to be yellowish.

Im going to ask something not concerning with pregnancy, hope yours dun mind hor!
Any Hair Salon to recommend? (At Orchard area.) But dun want too exp one hor, of course $40-$50 hair cut still can afford lah! Must save money for BB mah! heeheee..

Last time I used to go Suntec City-Peter & Guys, but now pregnant, lazy walk lah! (from CityLink to Suntec.)
Going to cut my hair bcoz too long liow!

Hey JayKay, I would definitely be working too, if they allowed me to do so on my visa.. too bad 9/11 changed everything!! It does make a diff to have 2 incomes, vs 1 income. Rather worried about $$ 'cos we've been single income for 1.5 yrs already and if our baby has problems, it will be a struggle. As it is, we prob can't get a car immediately but if baby is sickly, all the more we'll need a car.. rather headachey thinking about all these things. How I pray that everything will be OK.

Thanks Dolphina, you are really so sweet. I am trying to stay positive.. but I also want to be mentally prepared for the worst when I go up to SF.

Twinkle, my constipation very bad in the first tri. Then I go take a glass of water with 2 tablespoon of honey every morning. (First thing in the morning) Now, every day I go poo poo. Why don't you try?

Catz, I know perfectly how u feel. Having to wait for appointment date. Very jibby wibby one... Just to let you know that we will all be praying for your little one. If u must cry, have a good cry so that the heart not so heavy.

Twinkle,
Yes, those pitted prunes from Sunsweet is supposed to be good for constipation. I have also heard that too much papaya is not good so I only take it 2 times a week only.

Evelyn,
You can try Mosche Salon at Hotel Meritus (behind Palais Renaissance)if you don't mind spending slightly more (about $90). Ask for Leslie. Or you can go to Le Salon at Ngee Ann City ground floor (behind Tag Hauer shop). The stylist I used to go to is called Timen but you can chose your own stylist there. They have different level of stylists and charge differently. Have a good time relaxing during your haircut!!

Catz,
I know what you mean. I actually had thoughts about quitting but somehow I feel more secured with a job. I don't want to tax my hubby too much either. I know it's easier said than done but don't worry about little Tim but wait and see the scan results first. As for the financial part, just take things one step at a time. God will show you a way.

Thanks JayKay and Piggy... trying to stay upbeat but scared that I go the other way and become numb, y'know? Sort of like a defense mechanism. *sigh* Husband is so confident that it will be OK.. well, it's better than the both of us moping around in gloom.

Hope everyone has a nice weekend! Sorry, didn't mean to bring anyone's mood down.

JayKay,
Thanks for your recommendation. Anyway cant wait anymoreyesterday after work went to cut my hair at Pro Trim, Woodlands Cway Point (first time visit). The hairstylist said preggiess hair couldnt cut too short, otherwise head so small, body so big, and look very funny! So, my hair cut till shoulder length only.

Taking abt mood swings.
My hubby did complain abt my mood swings and irritability..And asked my gynae any medicine to cure U knows what my gynae told my hubby? He said: the medicine isyou should tolerance her!!! Explained to my hubby why preggis mood swings some more.. (hahaaaa, Im so happy that day!)
Btw, my hubby really gives in to me since that day onward!

Catz,
Hope u can enjoy your weekend too. Dun thinks too much hor! Good news coming next Wednesday for you and hubby and for us too! Good luck!

dolphina,
How was your check up yesterday?

Have a nice weekend to everyone.

Yesterday evening went shopping for bb pdts at john Little. They are having 20% off on most of the bb pdts and if you have the woman's weekly discount card(go and buy the magazine and cut out the coupon), you are entitled to an additional 15%. Me so happy cos I bought the Avent Steriliser for only $110.84 instead of usual price $163. Bought quite a no. of items hence so tired carrying them.

Ladies, the sales end on Sun, pls go down take a look if you can spare the time, really worth buying...

Hello ladies, it's has been a long while since I logged in.

Catz: read about about Tim. everything should be fine given your positive & strong personaltity. remember positive thinking generates postive vibes to baby.

We just came back from our 5 days Penang trip...doing nothing but swim, eat, sleep & read most of the time. really a good break from the daily work routine. sometimes get too engrossed in work that forgot about been pregnant & due in another 3.5 mths.

today also started our 1st 3hrs of prenatal class @ my place conducted by my doula. i must say these classes are quite useful, no matter how much reading or tips from your friends, you will gain the most having learnt from an experienced & independent party. @ least clear most of my doubts/concerns/fear & more certain of what kind of birth experience or pain relief i would want. and also other minor details like having enenema (dun noe right spelling) to clear your stool, having shower after waterbag burst, shaving pubic hair, inducing overdue birth naturally (semen) or inserting pessary etc. Other than the pelvic exercise, it's also good to massage the perineum with virgin olive oil or baby oil 6-8 weeks b4 due date to help to improve the stretching (10cm to allow baby to come through) & reduce chance of severe tear. the class 2day lasted about 3 hrs, really tired @ the end.

now in my 27 weeks, going to the 3rd trimester soon. during my last visit (2.5 wks ago), found that I have put on 5 kg (abt 64kg) & baby +500g (abt 800g+)in 1 mth time. seems like i eat more after my recovery from the cough/flu.

so to all mum-to-be here...be happy & healthy for our babies!

Tetra,
Hello. Glad to hear your baby and yourself r both fine.
I am just wondering if apply baby oil / olive oil to the perineum area, will this cause irritation to skin? Can ask your doula whether what other gel can be used? I am wondering if KY jelly can be used instead? You see, I apply baby oil to my tummy and ganna rashes on my tummy skin, so I sensitive to the oil. (This only happen after I pregnant. B4 pregnant, I am ok to baby oil) If I apply to perieum area, wouldn't I have the same problem?
Just for info, is it expensive to engage doula?

hello girls,

its monday again...

well my checkup on fri went ok...i have put on 6kg so far and bb weigh 700g. (is this ok? coz gynae din say much)

aiyo toking about my pain...as expected he say nothing will help except to do some exercise like the pelvic floor exercise and those taught in antenatal class. most likely is caused by expanding uterus pressing on some nerves..arghh (i think this is wat jyakay said right)..cannot imagine how to tahan till delivery if it worsen. its such a chore to even walk and move around....

went OG to get some milk bottles and booties and smittens on sat...but still got alot of items more to go...

A very good morning to all of you! This week should be quite fun because I'll be attending prenatal classes at TMC on Wed by Mrs Wong. Quite excited. I've bought quite a fair bit of baby stuff even before the classes - I can't help it because Seiyu at Bugis Junction, which is close to my office has storewide 20% discount and all the baby stuff is much cheaper. It's a good time to stock on Pigeon laundry powder and bottle cleanser.

Hi Tetra,
Long time no hear! You just came back from Penang? I'm planning a trip to Penang end of Oct, when I'm about 28 weeks pregnant. Heehee....Must at least have a short holiday break before I pop. Tetra, your doula sounds quite good and seems to be dishing out good advice to you.

Hi Dolphina,
Good to hear everything went well for your check-up. You are already 26/27 weeks pregnant right? I think 700g is just right. Wah, so your tailbone pain is really due to the nerves. Must be quite bad for you. I guess we mommies have no choice but to bear with it until baby comes out. You must be strong ok? BTW, are you going for epidural during labour?

jaykay,
orh, u may see evelyn tan at your wed class leh.. my fren who attends the wed class saw her there with darren.. i am starting my classes at eastshore today.. hope i can make it as i sprained my ankle last night.. resting at home on 2 days MC now..

jaykay,

is the seiyu discount over already or still on? does pigeon laundry powder smell nice?

as of last fri, my gynae calculated to be 24wk 6 days based on my EDD.... he only say bb weigh 700g and heartbeat of 14x+ which is good...so dunno if the weight is ok or not leh...(my hubby commented that i put on 6kg and bb only weigh 700g???) heeee

aiyo praying hard the pain will go away soon, dun wan it to stay till delivery else buah tahan leh..sob sob no remedy at all to relieve the pain somemore....

ya have long ago decided on epidural coz my threshold of pain is low i believe....is there any implications? is it true that epi will cause backache?

oh i will be scheduled for a growth scan on 34th week...is this too late huh coz i thot it should be done on wk 30-32?

Hi Yve,
You better take good care of yourself. How did you sprained your ankle? Remember not to walk too fast leh....It would be a waste if you can't attend. But I suggest you rest well at home today and don't move around too much so that you can recover faster and play by ear.....Wah, can see 'stars' in my class. Too bad hubby not going with me cos he's busy.

Dolphina,

I think the sale should be on. Will be popping by during lunch and will let you know. As for the Pigeon laundry powder, I'm not sure whether it smells nice but it's recommended by a few of my colleagues.
700g at 24 wks 6 days is good!!! My boy was 653g at 23 wks and my gynae said he's on the fat side. If I'm not wrong, Emonster's girl is also quite heavy. Tell your hubby this is normal. Some of the 6kg is the fluid, etc...

I am also opting for epidural. Don't think I can tahan the pain either. However, like what you mentioned, some ppl complained of backache later but it is not clinically proven. As for the growth scan, may be your gynae thinks that your baby is growing well, hence later?

Dolphina,
Seiyu Storewide 20% discount is only from 1st-3rd Oct. Thought I could grab a few more things...sigh...

Wow, all your Babies appeared to be quite big hor base on 23wks! Mine seemed to be on a smaller side weighing abt 450g at 23wks.

I had a growth scan last Thursday and things looked quite good at first with BB laying on her back with her little legs crossed and stretched out straight towards her head. You know, KKH sonagrapher very funny one, she seemed to be reluctant to calculated how heavy my BB was, and I insisted telling them how come my friends(referring to u all) can tell their BB's weight.

Then after she told me that my BB is 450g, she dropped me a bomb.
She told me that my amniotic fluid was low and this get me worried. Asked her how, and her reply was to talk to my gynae.

The Specialist make a check from the vaginal and tested to see if there is any leakage, but the reults was not conclusive. So i was referred to a Consultant who explained more. Was told to admit in hospital, but refused. At the end, i was given another scan. This time to check if placenta is supplying enough blood to BB and also the blood flow in BB's brain was ok. Results were that all is normal and my amniotic fluid had increased frm 5.4cm to 6.8cm. However, i was told to go back again this Thu for monitoring again!

You know, now, i am glad that i did inisist to have a scan. For my checkup last Thu, i wasn't scheduled for any scan, but i insisted to have one. Otherwise, if the doc just listen to my BB's heartbeat, nobody will found out that my amniotic fluid level was low!!

<font color="119911">Catz</font>, i know how hard it is to wait for the day to come. Just try to stay positive! All we want is to deliver a healthy BB, but guess these are obstacles that we need to cross. Try to stay positive and happy!
I am working hard at that too!

<font color="0000ff">JayKay</font>, how come ur hubby like dun papmer u so much one? He seemed like very insensitve to preggie's need leh!! I thot he shld understd us slightly more and shld know that sometimes our mood changed due to our hormone level going haywire!! Must asked him to sanyang u more hor!
167488.gif

<font color="119911">Evelyn</font>, no lah! Think my hubby bored with me liao lah! Otherwise, how come he faces computor more than looking at me!

dear mummies,
i have some items for sale. should u b interested, pls email me at [email protected]

brand new condition:
1) medela double electric breastpump
2) my 'brestfriend' breastfeeding pillow

brand new:
1) 3 pkts of pet pet s size diaper
2) 1 pkt of 20 medela storage bag n 1 pkt of 10 avent clip

Hi Oceans,
Luckily you insisted on the scan. It's good that they detected this earlier, at least the consultant can monitor you closely and take the appropriate actions. Don't worry so much if everything else is normal according to your gynae. Why did you refuse to be admitted?

As for my hubby, I think he's is just stressed out about work, especially this week. So I don't think I want to bug him to come with me to the pre-natal class this week. I will ask him for the next class. But having said that, I have to say that he is a bit insensitive to my changing moods and hormones....I guess he is a man after all. I did complain to him why he never sayang me like all your hubbies, then he kept quiet. Well, may be I am quite independent and I am used to him not following me around as he's quite busy. Sometimes, I also prefer to be alone so that he doesn't nag at me so much (worse than my mother). Heeheee......

jaykay,

oic, thanks for checking that out! hope they will have another one in the near future soon...

oceans,

dun worry too much since everything is fine now okie! how come last thur you also have another checkup? your checkup has become weekly visit??

u so fast had your growth scan? just called kkh and ask if i can bring forward my growth scan in dec coz hb maybe unable to take leave. then was told growth scan will only be done ard 33-34 weeks so i cant bring forward the scan as it will fall outside the 33 wks leh....

twinkle,
actually hor i dun know exactly whats a growth scan but the term is on the appointment sheet...i suppose its to track the bb development..(girls correct me if i am wrong pls)

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, actually last Thu was my normal checkup after my detailed scan which was 4wks ago. This routine checkup was initially scheduled without any scans, just see a Medical Officer. As i always said, i dun believe any checkup without any scan and thus I INSISTED on having a scan even doc had said no need!

But why was it a Growth Scan, i also dun noe.
I only found out that it was a Growth Scan on last Thu when the Sonagrapher, Specialist and even Consultant asked how come i was having the scan so early? I meant how i noe... I just insisted on U/S to be done!
167616.gif
It was not KK norm to have Growth Scan so early as you had mentioned.

<font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, I think Growth Scan was done on the last trimester to check on BB's growth and measurement. To see if BB's size is correct and within the average range! Guess more or less like our detailed scan, but maybe not as detailed bah.... I know about this cos when i was having my detailed scan last mth, the sonagrapher checked on a few third trimester mum-to-be and she told me they are looking at the size of BB.

Oh <font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, i was scheduled to go back for another scan because although on that day, my second scans showed that the amniotic fluid index had increased, i am still under the borderline case. And currently classified under <font color="ff0000">High Risk</font>, thus the gynae need to monitor me closely....

<font color="aa00aa">JayKay</font>, i really do find ur hubby very insensitive,
167617.gif
,pardon my saying that.
Regardless how independent u r, when a wife is pregnant, everything changed! Sometimes, my hubby will say i big enough, then i will tell him, but i got a small one inside my tummy. I can take care of myself, but i need someone to help me to take care of his BB!

Nevermind
167618.gif
, let <font color="0077aa">Ocean Jie Jie</font> sayang u!
167619.gif

Oh, i dun wanna to be admitted cos i had very bad experience in KKH before. So unless it is neccessary and my admission will do some good to my BB, i will go ahead. I guess the only advantage of being admitted is that I will be under Hospitalised Leave instd of Medical Leave as most of my MC are almost used up!

Hi All....

Busy day again...

Hi dolphina, I also cannot understand why my appetite hasn't picked up. When I think of food, I feel like puking... when I see food, I frown, close my eyes and try to stuff as much as I can, my hubby always thinks that I'm trying to control my weight gain...
But my eyes brighten up when I see sashimi...
but I don't dare to take them anymore since my last 'incident'. I always envy those who can eat well... at least you enjoy what you eat mah...

Hi JayKay, me feeling similar to what you are feeling now... my hubby also not very caring towards me leh.... also no sayang, only care about his football on ESPN...
Just cried for an hour yesterday afternoon because of his insensitive words and actions. Was there thinking 'can change husband anot?' hahaha crazy thoughts... but I feel better once my precious gave me a power kick....
*Sigh* dunno when my mood swing ordeal is going to end, definitely hope it doesn't turn to Post Natal Blues..

Hi Catz, Keeping you and little Tim in our prayers..

*Paging for Yvoyvo* eerr, I remembered we are in the same ante-natal class leh, but dunno which one is you. I find that the class is too big.. 28 couples... I am the one with blue specs.... I really enjoy the part where Mrs Wong handled the new born baby, the baby is so cute....

oceans,

oic..maybe it was ticked wrongly on the form coz above growth scan there is a screening box... hehehe :p

hmmmm u dun worry too much okie..maybe your girl wan to be a petite lady leh...

aiyo oceans you sound as if you are very old like that, wat if you are younger than us then how???

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, dun noe lah, actually the form that the MO used was the "extra" that the Specialist previously wrote for me, but din used as that time KK 24hr clinic change the date for me and gave me another form. So i think the MO under my insistence, recycle that form!

Ai yah, <font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, since i wanna sanyang <font color="119911">JayKay</font>,
of cos must play the role of Jie Jie mah!!

<font color="aa00aa">Emonster</font>, pls dun eat sashimi hor!! i know it is nice, but cannot eat for the sake of your little precious!
167632.gif

Hi Oceans, tried hard to avoid leh, but that's the only food I have craving for..... I have been counting on my lucky stars until I kana last week....hahaha serve me right lah!!! The next nice thing on my mind is ice cream... Haagan Daz.... yum yum. I also cannot eat too much, too cold liao, later Phoebe keep shivering.. :eek:

Evelyn, how was your shopping today? I wish i could come but i dont want to pass my virus to more people. It is really too bad that i kena this from my friend and now suffering from bad cough and sore throat. When will you be having leave again? Hope next time i recover liao we can go shopping together again!

I so much want to go shop for the long list of baby items and everywhere is having 20% discount. John little, Isetan also sale sale sale. I am quite undecided between Pideon pdts and Avent Pdt... which one did you gals prefer?

okay, not feeling good, got to go.

ocean,

if u r using up your mc quota already, maybe u can request for hospitalisation leave next time. I was given hospitalisation leave at kkh even though I din stay in hospital. So far, the short HL i took was 2 days and the longest was 2.5 weeks. Just check with gynae next time ...

Just found this and hope it is useful for us:

Note that this is just a guage. Not all babies grow at same rate.

Gestational age Length (US) Weight (US) Length (cm) Mass (g)
(crown to rump) (crown to rump)
8 weeks 0.63 inch 0.04 ounce 1.6 cm 1 gram
9 weeks 0.90 inch 0.07 ounce 2.3 cm 2 grams
10 weeks 1.22 inch 0.14 ounce 3.1 cm 4 grams
11 weeks 1.61 inch 0.25 ounce 4.1 cm 7 grams
12 weeks 2.13 inches 0.49 ounce 5.4 cm 14 grams
13 weeks 2.91 inches 0.81 ounce 7.4 cm 23 grams
14 weeks 3.42 inches 1.52 ounce 8.7 cm 43 grams
15 weeks 3.98 inches 2.47 ounces 10.1 cm 70 grams
16 weeks 4.57 inches 3.53 ounces 11.6 cm 100 grams
17 weeks 5.12 inches 4.94 ounces 13 cm 140 grams
18 weeks 5.59 inches 6.70 ounces 14.2 cm 190 grams
19 weeks 6.02 inches 8.47 ounces 15.3 cm 240 grams
20 weeks 6.46 inches 10.58 ounces 16.4 cm 300 grams
(crown to heel) (crown to heel)
20 weeks 10.08 inches 10.58 ounces 25.6 cm 300 grams
21 weeks 10.51 inches 12.70 ounces 26.7 cm 360 grams
22 weeks 10.94 inches 15.17 ounces 27.8 cm 430 grams
23 weeks 11.38 inches 1.10 pound 28.9 cm 501 grams
24 weeks 11.81 inches 1.32 pound 30 cm 600 grams
25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams
41 weeks 20.35 inches 7.93 pounds 51.7 cm 3597 grams
42 weeks 20.28 inches 8.12 pounds 51.5 cm 3685 grams
43 weeks 20.20 inches 8.19 pounds 51.3 cm 3717 grams

JayKay &amp; emonster,
Hang on there, OK? You can come on the forum for our support. Sometimes men can be very insensitive one. Just tell him that he must be more sensitive, otherwise, fat hope for another baby in future. I am thinking hor, the rest of us may get sayang from hubby now, but when baby is born, we will cry buckets of tears cos no more sayang. So ultimately, we will be in the same boat, eh?

emonster,
For you is sashimi, me is peanut butter with bread. Writing this make me salivate....

Sunmoon,
You sick uh? Got go see doctor or not? Try to drink lots of water, ok. Best cure for all sickness. I bought all Avent for feeding bottles, steamer, etc. Heard from friends that it is the best. But the bottles very fat fat, not easy to hold. If you particular on this, then better buy pigeon cos the shape more "normal". I also have friends that use Pigeon only.

Ocean,
Baby grows in spurts, so don't have to worry that too small now. Just need to monitor that really no amniotic fluid leakage. It was good that you insisted on scan. But really, did you leak any fluid? All of our gynaes do not check fluid at this time, then how are we to know if our fluid is low too? Having said that, just be more careful, don't carry heavy things,ok?

I went for sugar tolerance test and check up today. The result for sugar tolerance not back yet. Was worried that they will poke me on the same spot. (total kana pokes three times today at one hour interval) So I told lab pp not to draw blood at same spot, otherwise I sure cry one.

Baby is OK. He is doing a sit and reach in my tummy when we did the ultra sound. Gynae says he is 1.06kg and in the normal range. But then, he was in the fat range in my last visit. She says that next visit, should expect about 1.5kg.

I have put on a total of 5kg to date. Now at 49kg. Gynae is aiming for 3kg for my boy. Ask me not to eat too much. So I ask her what is the record weight gain for her patients? (The most gain and the least gain) She says least is zero weight gain and most is 30kg. (Faint) So I guess the zero gain is vomit all the way and the 30kg is eat all the way.

Hi Sun Moon,
After KKH, I'm reached IKEA abt 3pm. Then had my lunch at Ikea restaurant. 3.45pm then start shopping, hehee!
After shopping at Ikea (5pm+), my conclusion is everything looks nice for me; I hope Im rich girl, so that I can buy everything home. hee!
You really really must take care of yourself hor!

Oh ya, Dolphina and Ocean,
Did you make bed reservation at KKH? Today Im clear my leave, so went there to make a booking. Wow, last time (yr 2001) when an admission, they asked for only S$300 as deposit, now increase to S$1,050 for B1 Class, so terrible! (By cash, chq, nets or master card.)

Piggy,
Thanks for your useful list.
Wow! now only 49kg? Still slim le! BB weight aso very good!

Wow, this thread is moving fast.. haven't had much mood to really post even though i've been checking in everyday... thanks to all the kind ladies here for their support and prayers.. me and Tim really appreciate it!

Piggy, think you can change your nick liao.. 49kg is very light!!!! Actually I know a lady who put on 30kg 'cos she tam jiak... ate like nobody's biz and drank 2 litres of full cream chocolate milk everyday
My overall weight gain is same as yours, 5kg, but I gained 4kg just in LV buffet so not so healthy lah.

JayKay, I had a HUGE crying episode that day too. I guess in the build-up to Wednesday's detailed scan, I am feeling ultra ultra sensitive. So my husband was making his usual silly joker comments and I ended up crying for one hour. He was so panicked so he's been really well-behaved since then. Guess we need to let our sometimes-neanderthal husbands know how sensitive we can be.. and how much support we need (no matter how unreasonable we can be sometimes).. At my prenatal class, my doula/instructor always reminds the dads to be loving and supportive. Apparently the nicest women can become monsters during pregnancy and esp during labour transition phase when the pain is the worst. Anyway, I don't think your husband means to hurt your feelings but you need to really tell him how bad he makes you feel inside.

sun_moon, pls take care yah? Drink lots of water.. maybe you're still not used to Singapore weather.

Ocean, you are very assertive! Good for you. Actually, I'm quite scared of having to go to KKH 'cos I didn't hv good experience there either during a routine pap smear.. Pls take care of yourself and don't worry too much as I read that amniotic fluid levels do change during the course of pregnancy.

Hi Piggy,
I will check with my doula what is the alternative to baby oil. i think the K jelly also can as you need some lubricant while you massage the perineum area. Otherwise got friction as the skin there is very thin &amp; soft. As for the doula, paid $1.2k for her service so must save in other areas. Deliberated for a long time &amp; my gynae even said "wah, she is been paid more than my 9-mth consultation fees." of course lah, gynae only spend 5-10mins in each visit. Anyway, this doula worked as a nurse for 24 years &amp; spent 18 years in labour ward in TMC. She also used to conduct the Parentcraft @ TMC. so if u got any concerns, I can check with her for free. must make every cent counts.

Jaykay: will u be travelling to Penang by car/coach or air? If it's the latter, better get a letter from your gynae as some airlines will ask for it before letting u board the plane.

Dolphina/Jayjay: I think I'm probably grossly overweight then...so is my baby. Gynae estimated about 800g during my last scan @ 24w6days. He commented that maybe it's bcause I've been taking the aspirin for a mth (prescribed my gynae) to improve the blood flow of nourishmt thru placenta to baby. can u believe it some of my maternity clothes are getting abit tight. maybe have to wear sarong to work soon.

dolphina: as for the epidural, i think you or your hubby will have to sign a form. Some degree of risk is expected but very low. I have spoken to several mums who asked for epidural &amp; everything was ok. I think most importantly is what you want &amp; feel most comfortable. nobody should force u to do/not to do this/that. Those who din ask for epidual, other than the risk, is to be able to feel the contraction so that you can push in tandem. as the mum will feel numb in the lower part of body &amp; if mum can't push, the chances of using other intervention is higher i.e. forceps or vacuum which usually will require an episiotomy. The chances of using relief &amp; intervention depends on mum's stamina &amp; duration of the 1st-stage labour (depends on baby's position, etc). some strategy adopted is that mum will ask for an epidural (of lesser dose) to allow them to rest for a few hours. When she awake, she will have recoped her energy to go through the 2nd-stage labour to push without the drug relief. hope this above info is useful to you.

emonster,

hmmmm since phoebe weight is ok altho ur appetite not too good also never mind lah... as long as she is growing well can liow! hey i also crave for ice cream leh but kena ban by hb coz just recovered from my long lasting cough...so sad...

sun moon,
u take care and drink more water okie...and rest more!

piggy,
eh solly my memory failing me...did u ask for the sugar tolerance test or its complusory huh? yahor u still so slim leh..so envious!

evelyn,
were u ask to make reservation? any idea when the latest we should do so? no one mentioned anything so i din leh...ask u hor if we book b1 now, can we ask to upgrade to A at delivery time?
b1 is it for 4 bedded?

oceans,
u going down kkh for a scan this thur right? can do me a favour to ask them coz my next appt will be in 4 wks time leh at amk.. thanks a lot!!

catz,
do keep us posted of little tim progress okie...

tetra,
heee going by the chart, my boy also bigger leh...hee u so cute, wear sarong to work?? thanks for the info on epidural!

Hi Dolphina,
Sorry, I found out that the Seiyu sale is still on. It's just that those items that are already on price-off do not have a further 15% off now. So normal priced items still have 20% off during this period.

Hi Oceans,
Thanks for being so nice. At least I have you to sayang me. I must try and be 'manja' with hubby so that he'll be nice to me. Heeheee...

Hi Catz,
Hey, sometimes it's good to cry and let it all out. I believe your hubby is also worried about little Tim but may be he is showing it in another way. Keep us posted on little Tim. Little Gideon and I will pray for the both of you. All the mommies here will give you our support.

Hi Piggy,
Thanks for your support. Wah, your boy already exercising in your tummy!! It's great to hear that the glucose tolerance test is good. You must be so relieved! I'm really very envious of you leh...49kg only....

Hi Tetra,
I will be flying to Penang. I have been advised to get a letter from the gynae by the airline. I'll be seeing the gynae next week, so I better remind myself to do that. Can't wait to see baby again. I'm also looking forward to the holiday break - must eat all the Penang Laksa and Prawn Noodle Soup!!! Tetra, don't be so 'gua chang' lah - you must look so funny wearing a sarong!! Heehee....

<font color="119911">Evelyn</font>, nope, KK had not asked me to book for a bed yet.
U have actually made reservation liao?
167877.gif
Wondered if Jan'05 got lots of mums-to-be popping or not!!
167878.gif
I was actually supposed to asked them more about their delivery package last Thu, but ended up, din cos of low amniotic fluid.
It seemed funny when things are not confirmed yet....

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, will ask for u too if things are alright! By the way, do KK give those samples of milk powder for mum-to-be? Heard that others do give them sample to try....

<font color="aa00aa">Catz</font>, we all jia you together ok!
167879.gif
I guess in KK, if you know your rights and ask and maybe insist, the doc and gynae will take u more seriously. You wun have such problem if u r under the Premier charges... Pay more, better services and less waiting time!

<font color="ff6000">Piggy</font>, seriously, i wun noe if i leak any fluid cos i dun feel it.
Think it is good too... Just hope
167880.gif
that there is no leakage and the level had raised!

<font color="ff6000">Piggy</font>, am glad to learn that ur BB is growing fine! Maybe u try to cut down on your sugar level intake. Try to take things that are soupy!

<font color="119911">Sun Moon</font>, u not feeling well? Do rest well and sleep well!

<font color="0077aa">Poohy</font>, i dun noe if KK will give me hospitalised leave or not. The last time when i had a M/C, i went back KK 24hr clinic few days after discharged due to pain. The doc wanna me admitted for another D&amp;C again.
Told her i prefer to stay at hm due to bad experience and dun wanna undergone the surgery again.

Asked her to give me extended HL, but she said cannot as i was not admitted. In fact, my HL ended on Fri and she gave me overlapping MC from Thu to the next wk.... Find it stupid! KKH had double standard??

ocean,

I am not sure leh. Cos my gynae always give me HL automatically .... unless its only 1 day leave. When I had m/c last time, he also gave me HL leh. I checked with my cousin who is in HR, she said that no matter whether you are admitted to hospital or not, as long as the doc states on the medical chit that its a HL, then its considered a HL liao by your company.

Me have been underweight for most of my life. Was only 38kg before married. Then after married, put on 5 to 6 kg. So look more like an adult.
But hor, my gynae keep reiterating that I cannot put on too much weight due to my heart condition. She says the more you put on, the harder your heart has to work. So that is not good to stress the heart too much. I try not to eat too much but I also don't go hungry. Hope that the next three months won't suddenly ballon to fat fat lor..

I called gynae today and was told the sugar tolerance test is normal. So that is good news.

My visit yesterday, she also asks me to do home work, think about: breast feeding, pain relief during labour and child paedetrician. (Spelling???)

You gals got any thoughts?

I think try to breast feed unless really no milk, dry like dessert. Pain relief, I go for the most relief, i.e. epidural. (I very scared pain) Child PD, I have spoken to a few mums and like read some of the threads, I think we better find out who is good this 3 months. Also, my friends say try not to take up any immunisation package so as not to be stuck to one PD.

Catz,
We shall all be praying for you here. Let us know after your visit tomorrow to SF, ok?
Wa biang, how to drink 2litres of chocolate milk each day? Not easy task to accomplish, you know. Must be a craving for that before you could consume that amount. Also can be costly, better off renting a cow....and add cocao powder...

Jaykay,
I also want to go for short trips leh but no time. When u going to Penang uh?

Tetra,
Thanks for checking with doula. Let me know what she says.I think $1.2K is reasonable as she is expected to be with you when u go into labour, right? It is like having some one u can trust like mum and some more knowledgeable to offer support. How many sessions u have with her prior to labour?

Hi Sun Moon,
Take lots of water and rest okay? Get well soon!

Piggy,
I will be flying off on 22 Oct and back on 25 Oct. Going there to eat &amp; eat with my hubby and my parents!! Of course, I will be visiting some of my relatives too.
Piggy, don't worry about your weight. Just carry on what you are doing now and you should be fine. As for your questions about breastfeeding, pain relief and paedetrician, I have more or less decided:-

Breastfeeding - will try for the first 3 months and if everything goes smoothly, I will continue for another 3 months. Breastfeeding will help us to go back to our original shape faster.

Pain relief - going for epidural despite comments that there may be adverse effects after that. I don't think I can tahan the pain, worse, I can't imagine having episiotomy done on me without anaesthesia....urghhhhh.....

Paedetrician - I was recommended Dr YY Yip from S'pore Baby &amp; Child at Gleneagles by my sis-in-law, so I will most probably use him.

hey girls,

does anyone know if John Little and Robinsons sales still on (any 15% + 5% for members?)

anyone heard of bf pillow? any idea how much it costs huh?