(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

BabyD,
Yes, agree with Tetra too. I guess baby comes at a time whereby you can take a back seat n see how things work out at work first. Focus on Sherman n baby n yourself. The rewards will be far greater than work.

Insect Bite
L got beaten by something on his sole n it causes him to itch so much n can't sleep at night. Anyway, I tried so many creams, etc n the final one that worked better is the good old Qing Chow You. He missed school today (to his great pleasure) n shall go to school tomolo. Hmm...wonder how is he after the week long break.
How's all kiddos after the week holiday?

Sorry hv been MIA. Kena horrendous food poisoning after a playdate

Tetra, wowwww, soooooooo envious 'cos we LOVED Margaret River! Timo hated the petting zoo though. Teehee.. my urban boy.

BabyD, just take it easy.. ultimately, your reward is not in your work but in your family so just gotta close both eyes and make yourself and baby happy!

Piggy, Timo was DYING to go back to school... so much so that he didn't take a second look at me.. just rushed into class. Haha.. Poor Linus. Have you tried Fucicort (Px by doctor) or worse case, California Baby calendula cream? Those are my cure-all creams!

catz: what happened? is this your 2nd serious case of food poisoning? Must take care. Drink more water and rest well.

You must have loved Margaret River. The LOVE is so big. You must have enjoyed it. We booked a house by the sea, a bit regret 'cause it's so ex but too late to change.

I think Lucas can join Linus, he hates school. Till now, he still don't want to go school when ask. Good that Tim likes school, at least you can also spend more time with Beth.

Tetra, went for a playdate and ate dodgey laksa so the other 2 mummies also kena severe lau sai
All so miserable. Yes yes Margaret River was fantastic! We loved the service apartments we rented.. expensive but oh so worth it and wow, house by the sea is lagi luxurious siahhhhhhh.. enjoy it! Cannot regret now so just ENJOY

Catz,
Oh dear. I hope you are better now?

Tetra,
Yes, both can join the same...don't control me n let me have my way school. This morning, he comes back his usual, "Baby don't like to go to school" & "Baby scared to go to school."

catz: the laksa must be really bad - either the coconut or the clams. are you having more spree since the US exchange rate is so good now?

piggy: For Lucas, he will say that he is scared of the 2 teachers. I think it should be the other way round.

what happen to the other moms after the meeting? emonster? blanche? slamdunk?

Time really passed so fast, Marcus is already 8 mths old. too fast lah... already miss those days of his 1st 3mths. anyone going for 3rd one soon? (me still thinking if to try this year before closing down) Just heard from my colleague that her friend is expecting 2nd child and her 1st one is only 5mth old.

Tetra, no clams.. think my friend cooked the laksa gravy too early hence the coconut milk went rancid

Yah i've been spreeing quite a bit from Old Navy mostly.. if anyone wants to order, just email me..heh. Slamdunk also busy ordering from US...teehee.. Oceans also

As for 3rd one.. aiyah, no way.. I'm just too overworked and maid is not an option for me. You a really such a maternal person lor...

I wish... but no lah, it's my project I have taken from my ex-boss 2 mths ago. Taken so long to complete. Not so easy to work from home as I initially expected, so had to go back to office for 3-4 days to finish up. Will think about 3rd one after coming back from AZ.

Does any of your kid eat veg only? Lucas refuse to eat meat, we could only boil the meat for the soup noodle. Extremely picky about food, can eat carrot & brocolli everyday. does anybody know where to get a good noodle maker? I tried making the dough, ok lah can eat but very exhausting from the kneading and rolling.

Tetra.. ahhh.. teehee.. thought you so fast strike liao!
Congrats though! I don't think I can complete any project! Enjoy your trip... so darn envious!

Timo ah, he's opposite.. prefers to eat meat and rice only.:p Noodle maker ah.. er.. Tangs?

The trip is also another worrisome thing. I wonder how the boys will take to sitting in the plane for 7 hours. The last time when returning from Chiangmai, Lucas cried until he fell asleep when the plane took off. Has anyone tried using the bassinet? Is it optional?

Thanks, catz, will check out at the Tangs.

Tetra, you have to book the bassinet leh.. I used it for Timo and he was able to nap in it when he was 2 years old.. but Lucas might be too big for it..haha. Marcus might enjoy it. Was handy to have the bassinet lor.. extra space for us!

Tetra,
Linus don't like to eat meat that require lots of chewing or texture is harder. If we eat La mian xiao long pao, he can eat 4-5 xiao long pao on his own. Other non xiao long pao meat texture is a no no for him. Maybe you try to bring him when you're eating out to see if he likes this n try to cook it on your own at home?

I think if I need to bring him on plane, I must try to make him so tired that he will konk out on the plane.

School again
This morning, I am surprised to find that he didn't complain about not liking to go to school. After school, he actually said that baby not scared to go to school liao. Hmm.... I think my 12hour school theory finally worked. keke.. evil mother....

I just got back from a family vacation in Taiwan. It was a good trip, everyone enjoyed it, especially Sherman. I was brave enough to take my parents as well as my in-laws along with us and it worked out really well because everyone had so much fun with Sherman. Very happy about it because our parents are not young anymore and we cannot take their health for granted. It's a rare opportunity for them to be able to go on holiday with their children and grandchild.

Sherman was very well behaved on the 5 hour plane ride to Taiwan and back. He was also really excited about it. The good thing was that it was a day flight, so he took his afternoon nap in the plane, read some books, looked out of the window and guai guai played his toy trains. The only problem this time was the pressure in his ears when the plan was descending. The last time when we went to Perth and Adelaide, he was still small, didn't want to sit in the bassinet and wanted to walk all over the plane. He wasn't interested in his toys or DVD and also didn't get enough sleep on the ight flight, so it was quite a nightmare then. He was so much easier to handle on this trip because he's bigger and we're able to reason with him.

We took a coach tour with a leisurely itinerary that included a theme/animal/amusement park (where Sherman got to take lots of train rides!), a forest walk at Ailshan, a train ride to see the sunrise in the mountains, a boat ride out to see oyster farming, a stay at a very beautiful leisure flora farm, and "camping" in a modernized Mongolian tent (got aircon, attached bathroom, bed and TV). Food was quite nice and we didn't worry about hygiene over there, so I managed to get some rest during this trip after all the stress at work.

Tetra & Piggy,
Think you should be very happy that Lucas and Linus like vegetables. Sherman used to eat them without a fuss, but recently he started to reject them, as well as all fruits apart from banana. We have to hide, squash, or snip the vegetables into near mush in order to get him to eat. He loves meat, but also must cut up or shred for our emperor, otherwise he'll spit out. In fact, during our vacation, he requested for "bak gua" with every meal. We bought the small individually packed bak gua, and dunk it into hot tea to soften it a little, then snip it into little cubes / strips for him to chew on.

Forgot to ask, I'm planning to get an electric pump to use when my baby girl is born. Everyone around me seems to be using the Medela Pump in Style. I find the bottles a bit small leh. It's also really expensive. With Sherman, I survived on the Avent manual pump. I remember some of you used the Ameda Lactaline (Piggy??)... how does it compare?

I also saw that Avent now has an electric dual pump that can double up as a manual pump. Looks very cool in the video, do any of you have friends who have tried it?

babyd: Looks like you have a great, well-deserving trip. It's good to have so many adults around to attend to Sherman; some more with 2 sets of grandparents. Your trip sounds interesting. Will consider it when the kids are much older. Their street food looks interesting to try.

As for the breastpump, I used Ameda and it has lasted since Lucas is born until now. I have used for Lucas & Marcus , lent to my SIL, and it is still working fine. And it only cost half of the Medela PIS. You can buy the spare parts from Moms in Mind, and you can also try the pump before you decide buying it.

That's why I am not overly anxious that he is not trying other food although it will be so much more convenient & fun if he does so. I think he will try out the other food when he is ready to do so, and like Sherman, he may even stop eating carrots & brocolli.

Sherman is so funny, has to go through such great length to eat bak gua.

BabyD,
Your vacation sounds so fun. Was it a free & easy or a group tour? Which part of Taiwan did you go? How did you deal with the pressure on the ears?
Btw, Linus is not into vege. Only vege he takes is tomatoes, a little bit of brocolli & potatoes. He is a dumpling (pork), sushi (tamago & fish roe), fried rice (egg with ham), fries, egg & ham lover.
Ameda: Loved my Ameda. Sold it after using it for one year. Not sure about the Medela PIS except it is very ex. As for the Avent, no idea if it is any good. Why don't you try the Ameda since it is not as ex as Medela & both Tetra & myself swears by it?

Piggy, so Linus eats the same veg everyday?

BabyD, i'm using the Medela but it's really pricey so unless you're planning to use it for #3 and #4, maybe you go with the Ameda?
So envious of your holiday..

Catz,
Of course not. Broccoli maybe once a week? Potatoes n tomatoes maybe 3times a week. He will ask for sushi every other day!!

Piggy, Tetra and Catz,
Thanks for the feedback on the pumps. Yah, all along I've been thinking of getting the Ameda because I remember some of you saying good things about it. Just that my colleague and close friend both highly recommended the PIS, so I started wondering. Is the Ameda easy to wash at work? Where is the best place to buy it? How to try first before buying?

The vacation was really fun and very suitable for kids, adults and older folks because it has something for everyone. It was a organized tour group by CTC. Our family (plus my in-laws got another couple who is their travel kaki and good friends to come a long) made up more than half the group. We started in Taipei and went to Alishan, then Kaoshiong, can't remember the names of the places we stopped at in between. I even saw Mr Ma campaigning in Kaoshiong as we flew back one day before the Taiwan elections.

Piggy,
For pressure on the ears, it's best to drink or eat something. For younger infants / toddlers, I would BF or give milk bottle. Sherman never fussed for all his previous trips, but this time, he refused to drink water, so I bribed him with his favourite chocolate Pocky and he stopped whining. We tried massaging the ears or trying to get him to blow his nose, but it doesn't seem to help him much. But then he's also quite manja, I suspect he's the type who will continue to while long after the pain is gone.

Hi babyD,

i have been mia from the thread for a very long time but pop in now and then to catch up...have tried all three pumps, Medela, Ameda and Avent ISIS Duo (not the Uno), i find the Avent ISIS Duo the best and most comfortable electric pump out of all of them. It is not cheap over here though, $799 but you can get it thru vpost and amazon for about $380 (inclusive of shipping costs) - that's what i did in the end cos i loved the Avent ISIS Manual so much when I had No 1 and always wished they would come up with an electric version. So if you like the Avent ISIS manual, chances are you would like the Avent ISIS Duo. Very powerful. Only drawback i would say is that I think Medela has the best customer support out of all three brands but i just love my Avent ISIS duo so much, no regrets. Dont know what i will do about warranty issues though cos i got mine from US but heck, still very happy with it.

My two cents...after Avent, my vote goes to Ameda as it is half the price as the Medela PIS and same performance (both quite rough on the nipples, ouch)

Piggy, har? So Linus has no poo problems even with his lack of veg everyday?? Waaaahhh..

Al, wow, you've been MIA soooooooooooo long.. update lah!

Hey girls...me too MIA for a while leh.. nice to see all your updates.... babyd..me tot of visiting Taiwan wiz my kids too...

Tetra...hope u have a good trip ya.. enjoy..

I m also flying to korea for a 8 days trip with Hubby only.. both desperately needs a break... kids will be with in laws and maid.. hope everything turns out well...

Take care girls.. will log in when free...

Hello Al and Twinkle, good to see your update. It has been awhile since your last posting.

Al: you must really love Avent ISIS Duo, good idea to order from amazon. Will advise my friends about this.

twinkle: wow, so good to go holiday with hubby to Korea. Don't know when can I go holiday with my hubby ... if ever got a chance, Kyoto will be the place as I heard not suitable for kids, too much walking & not child friendly. Maybe have to wait for a long time. You have a good & safe trip.

Heehee..yeah, i love it! so interesting huh to see the new developments in baby stuff since we had our first kids in 2005! if your friends wanna get from Amazon, then tell them might as well buy some spare parts to ship together oso...

got some cheaper us websites but they may be very swaku and not use vpost...i kena one so in the end went back and ordered from Amazon.

am using it as we speak! it is a very good efficient pump that doesnt hurt me as much as medela/ameda cos i am an exclusive pumper so my pumps really matter to me - managed to latch on more with no. 2 but for some reason everytime i latch i get stuff like milk bleebs...think i got a barracuda baby lah so i pump more than i latch.

Catz...updates hah...i just had a christmas baby boy last December and he is 3 months old now....No. 1 is a real handful and incredibly jealous so actually the most siong part now is dealing with sibling jealousy...waited a bit long to have no. 2 lor...no. 1 is a real princess and with the recent HFMD scare, have to take her out of school this week so am running out of things to occupy her with at home and she is turning into a tv maniac.

thinking of bringing her to see ballet in the park but scared of rain recently..she is taking ballet classes now (toddler version) and it's very fun to see her in class...they grow so fast that i cant remember her as a baby lah...no. 2 much more easy going maybe cos i am also more bo-chap now.

so...which brave jan 2005 mom going for 3 huh? i think i tutup kedai (close shop) lah...want to be able to spend enough time with both kids properly instead of dashing from one to another.

Catz,
So far, he is ok with Poo.

Twinkle,
Wow, envy envy. Enjoy n everything will turn out well.

Al,
Yes, good to know that the "older" mums from this forum still visit us.
Ballet? I ask my boy if he would like dancing class? He told me straight, "No, Mama. So tired. I don't like." Keke..

Hi Al,
Thanks so much for the feedback on the pumps! I'm a bit surprised you bought from US... do you have a problem with the A/C difference (US uses 110V, SG uses 240V). This was the main reason why I didn't invest in an electric pump for No. 1 as I was worried the power wouldn't be compatible and all my engineer friends advised me against using transformers to convert the voltage. I saw some mum's feedback that the Avent electric was quite top heavy. Could have been the Uno, as the Duo is much more heavy duty, is that correct?

Twinkle,
Haha... I wanted to go Korea for this trip actually, but not so suitable for Sherman and grandparents because most of the itinerary had a ski portion and they were all afraid of the cold. That's why we ended up going to Taiwan, but no regrets lah, we enjoyed ourselves. I highly recommend my tour for people wanting to bring kids. Don't go for those city tours which take you to night market every night. Too many people, not very clean, may have to carry them for safety, end up exhausted, not buying anything, plus kids don't enjoy shopping. Enjoy your holiday with hubby!

Tetra,
How to try the Ameda before buying, huh? And where's the best place to buy from?

HI mums,
Any good recommendations for family portraits? Used to go to Kids Picture, but they have increased their price, so thinking of trying other studios.

babyD: You can find more info via this link http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html .The price has increased to $368. When I bought this 4 yrs ago, it was about $290 something. I bought from this guy who brought in this product & other medical equipment to hospitals. You may want to do a search in this forum but you may just want to buy from Moms in Mind to save time & trouble.

Last week has been a busy week for me, had driving lessons everyday, sometimes 4 hours a day. Instructor said another one hr, can reach Genting. haha... Did an assessment today, maybe blood pressure high or caffeine overdose, kanna 28 demerit points. Hope to get an earlier test date before my holidays.

BabyD,
I saw the Ameda on sale at Mothercare and if I am not wrong at Robinsons too. But I think the only place to try is mons in mind.

Tetra,
Don't worry. Is it your first test? I got 2 immediate failures during my first 2 attempts n passed only on the third. I remember the tester was a huge man & my car rolled backwards at the circuit slope. Haha... I told him, oh dear, I got no strength to pull this handbrake. He joke and laugh with me and I thought...sure fail men...but atlas he passed me in the end. So just hang on and I hope that you will pass the second time round.

Tetra, wow, driving lessons everyday!!! I used to do that after my A levels.. teehe.. but don't worry.. keep cool, less demerit points. Keep calling up the test centre.. think I got my license in 5 months flat.

Al, oh wow, you had a Christmas baby? My #2 is a real handful.. very diva indeed :p So you pulled #1 out of school? I had Timo at home for a couple of days last week and man oh man, it was super tiring 'cos my 2 can play so well together but also fight like cats and dogs :p

Piggy, Tetra,
I went Robinsons yesterday, don't have Ameda leh... I read online reviews on the Avent Duo, wah... people have really good things to say. The main thing I like about it is similar to Al, I used Avent manual and was very comfortable with it, plus I have all their bottles already. I'm not in a hurry to buy, since baby isn't due until June and I still have the trusty old manual one. But unless Al can confirm that sets bought from US can be used in Singapore (voltage difference problem), I will probably get the Ameda. Did you find it easy to assemble, disassemble and clean? Tetra, did you get your set from Euramedics? I checked some old posts, but wasn't sure.

Piggy: It was not even the actual test yet, only an assessment by the instructor. Already fail terribily. Lucky your tester has a sense of humour. Some of the instructors so serious, make you nervous. Another lesson tomorrow for assessment, if ok, I can book an earlier test date.

catz: you must have an intensive driving sessions that time. There are so many students taking driving lessons now. I look like I am too old for this. haha... so nice to hear that both of them can play together now. I am sure Beth is definitely not the one to be bullied by Tim.

babyD: You are right, it is from Euramedics. That gentleman even came to my office and show how the thing work. It's good to hear that it is available in more places now.

Al,
Hope you still come in this forum. Does Avent electric pump from US really work here even with voltage difference? All the online pictures don't show if there is an in-built transformer / voltage adaptor that can switch between 100V and 240V

How easy is it to use vpost? Are they reliable for shipping things like an electric pump? I'm so keen to get the Avent Duo leh... just so scared the voltage won't work out.

Today Lucas is eating like a horse. Beside his usual marcoroni for lunch and udon for dinner, he had 8 small bananas, 2 french toast, and half of the apple. I had to hang up the bunch of banana high up on the cabinet as he will keep plucking and eat it. There were banana skins all over the place - on the floor, sofa... I was joking with him that with all the food in his tummy, they are having a food war inside. He replied that all the food will come out as poo. True enough, he was so excited to announce that he was going to poo later in the night. Maybe it's because he has no milk today. Strange...

Tetra,
Oh my goodness!! 8 bananas!!!??? I think I would have severe stomachache if I ate so many. Was Lucas ok? Haha... at least your Lucas likes fruits. Sherman has a funny aversion to fruits and will only eat bananas, but he likes to look at other fruits and feed them to me. Strange hor...

Tetra,
Forgot to tell you that when we went to Australia, we bought packet fresh milk for Sherman to drink as it was easier than making milk out of a tin during a car ride and bringing a whole big unopened tin there. He also likes packet milk and cold milk a lot, so everybody is happy.

It'll be Autumn in Adelaide and Perth, a little bit cold. Let me know if you need some warm clothes, because we bought quite a few sweaters and jackets for Sherman for this Taiwan trip as well as his previous Adelaide & Perth trips. The big ones (3-4 yrs) will definitely fit Lucas, but not sure if Marcus can wear the smaller 12 mth sized sweaters. Let me know if you want to borrow, yah?

Hi babyD: Thanks for the generous offer. I will be bringing 2 sets of sweater/ jackets for Marcus and Lucas as I do not intend to bring too much clothing, just one big luggage, one small luggage & one handcarried bag. There will be laundry facilities in the apartments that we stay so hopefully the clothing I packed is enough.

Do you think windbreaker is necessary? What I have is those thick sweater or jacket with zip & hood. Will this be adequate? I also not sure how cold it is going to be. Otherwise, I would borrow from you if you don't mind.

BTW, do you use any form of baby carrier? I am currently using sling for Marcus. Don't think can tahan walking with the sling for too long. I think Marcus should be about 10kg.

Must the formula milk tin be sealed? Can I carry an open milk tin? I have switched to Nan for this trip since they can also be found in their supermarket.

As for fruits, Lucas eats apples, grapes, oranges, water melon, strawberry, kiwi and bananas. Sometimes we will juice them so that he gets to try the taste first and if he likes it, he will eat the fruit.

He has been pretty busy today and yesterday, going around the house, trying to fix things with his 'handy mandy' tool sets, and now trying to be "Polly" playing the pink teapot sets. Got split personality...

Tetra,
Wow. 8 bananas is alot.... Must be on a growth spurt.

BabyD,
Linus is anti fruits. Even the fruits in Yorgurt, he will not take.

HFMD
I suspect that L is down with this. He had fever since Wednesday night and this morning, I see some spots on him. Hmm...must bring him to PD to verify.

Piggy, oh dear, I hope it's not really HFMD... I just had a scare last night. Opened up Beth's mouth and spotted what I thought was the HUGEST grossest pus-siest ulcer.. rushed to PD this morning and it had disappeared!!!! Think it was a piece of biscuit stuck on her gum.. grrr... but anyway she was due for pneumococcal jab. Sigh... then Timo sick again with chesty cough (always at night) and doctor commented that he's always sick so got probiotics and Zaditen (for his lungs) for long term. Argh. So expensive.. end up paid $360 for today's visit to godpa Ong EK.

Tetra, FAINT.. 8 bananas plus all that other food????? Wowwweeeee.... Your trip sounds like so much fun..

Piggy: Oh no. How is Linus now? This HFMD is so wide-spread now. Pump him with some vits and barley water. Remember to change his towel and beddings when he recovers.

Catz:You are so funny. Luckily, it's just biscuit. Lucas has this long dry cough for a very long time (since Feb) or maybe kanna the '100 days cough', from the contagious phelmy cough to dry cough (only when he wakes up). A GP prescribed Cough-En to me & I recover. I tried this for Lucas and it has helped. Can get over the counter.

Lucas will eat normally on most days and will fast once a week when we visit his great grandma. I think he has vowed not to eat whatever she cooks because she always complained and nagged @ him. She felt that Lucas has a serious problem and we should use cane or whatever means to make him eat porridge or food that she cooks. She can't accept the fact that Lucas don't want to eat her food but will eat well when @ home.

Catz: I think you are craving for a break, rite? Can plan for one after Tim recovers.

Tetra,
We went to Perth in May 06 and Adelaide in Nov 06. We brought a mixture thin cotton jackets / sweatshirts/ fleece sweaters and layered over long sleeved T-shirts according to the weather. When the sun is out, it's quite nice and Sherman could go around with just a long sleeve T-shirt unless there's a strong wind (usually the case near the coast). But if it's cloudy and windy, it can get quite chilly, especially if you go out at night.

You can take a look at some of our Perth pictures taken in May (link below). The blue body suit is fleece padded and windproof. Actually Sherman wore it to sleep some nights when it was quite cold, because it's difficult to get him to use a blanket (I zipped him up in the cotton wearable sleeping bag blanket). We used it during the day when it was cold, especially in the mornings, as May is nearing winter. We also had 2 fleece pants which he wore over pajama pants in Perth (funny, he didn't grow fatter, now still can wear, we took with us to Taiwan). I think Adelaide might be colder than Perth in May, do check the temperatures. We're not going anywhere, so you're welcome to take a look at what I have and borrow whatever you want for your trip. In the same link below, you can see the baby carrier we used for Sherman when we went hiking / walks in the cave. He was quite big for it by then (16 mths!), 10kg Marcus should be no problem. We travelled quite light too, most of it was Sherman's stuff. But I think with 2 kids, you might need a bit more.

http://babyshermantalks.blogspot.com/2006/05/sw-western-aust-trip-part-2-margaret.html

As for milk, we always took an unopened tin. Baby food is no problem, just declare. I'm not sure if opened tin can or not, cos I never tried it. Unopened tin sure can.

Piggy,
Sherman exactly the same, will reject the fruits in the yogurt and make me eat it up and tell me "Mummy eat the fruits."

Hi babyd, the blue body suit, fleece pants and the baby carrier is definitely useful. Will you be @ home tomorrow? is it ok for us to drop by @ yr place to pick up those stuff? you can pm to me your contact no. Thank you once again

The final verdict is chicken pox. The boy is filled with them now n am considering if I want to give him medication to suppress it. Hmmm...played with him doctor & patient just now to try to re-enforce to see if I can prevent him from excessive scratching.

Piggy,
Aiyoh, chicken pox! The medication will help a lot, but it's very expensive. Last time both Sherman and maid got it, they both took. All the new poxes that come out after taking medication will be smaller and less likely to scar. Even though Sherman got CP last year in June, his scars from the big poxes that initially appeared have not faded. I can't imagine how many more scars he would have if we didn't give him the medication.

CHICKENPOX!! Did Linus take the vaccination when he was 14 months old? Arrgghhh.. faint... poor Linus!

Tetra, I cannot go anywhere until my hubby finishes his course in Oct leh
That's why I super gian.. pathetic hor?

piggy: Both you and and Linus must take care and rest well, drink lots of water. My hubby's colleague's daughter who just started nursery, also had chicken pox after recovering from HFM.