(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

sun_moon

welcome home!

hey were u at the Yun Maternity at Hitachi Tower? I find the selection so little leh....

dunno why been feeling crampy again...a bit worried coz dun think we are suppose to feel crampy at this stage right. correct me if i am wrong...

i sometimes do feel crampy... when i was 10-12 weeks time... now not so much... only serious aches!!!

I agree the selection not much... but the design still acceptable... and i have one serious problem... either i dun try the clothes... once i try, i then to buy... so you can say it was impluse buying la... but i tot, nvm lo, go other shops also buy maternity clothes... wear a few months... anything nice will do lah!

<font color="0000ff">BabyD</font>, for me, not just some weight, but alot of weight!!
Imagine 4kg more at wk 4... Goosh
114869.gif
, wonder how much weight i put on after the 9mths!
Heard that at 2nd trimester, most of us will put on more. It is the stage where baby grow faster!!

<font color="119911">Elle</font>, sneezing is not one of the systoms. Too bad hor!! Maybe we had grow more sensitive? <font color="ff6000">eMonster</font>, maybe it is our baby sneezing!! Keke..

<font color="aa00aa">Dolphina</font>, yap, currently at KK, but under the subsidised rate. So not seeing any particular doc. Just see how things go lah... my appt next Monday! Quite worried and pray that baby is growing well!

<font color="0077aa">Sun Moon</font>, welcome home!!
So nice, u still trying to stay pretty pretty.
For me, difficult lah. Found that my complexion grow worst and then i put on weight so fast!! Scary men!!

So envious of sun_moon!!! Last night, I was dreaming about my fave crabs from Ang Mo Kio.. *sigh* I never missed any local food until I got pregnant. :p I also hv butt aches but I thought that it's because I lost weight so less cushion for me to sit on. Hehe.

emonster, I've been with Yvonne Chan since her days at KKH. Are you seeing her too?

BabyD, when are you flying up to the US? The long flight may be rather uncomfortable... take it from me 'cos I did 2 long-haul flights during my first trimester and they were not enjoyable at all. Bring along an extra pillow and don't be afraid to prop your legs up on your husband. Hehe.

Elle, I think your sneezing is probably 'cos your allergies are acting up. Most moms get a reprieve from their normal allergies but in some cases, it does tend to act up. For me, I just find that I have lower immunity in general and I get tired very easily. Hence, my 2 naps a day! *oink*

Dolphina, perhaps the cramps are from your round ligaments being stretched to accomodate your growing uterus.

Actually I get a lot of my answers from the What to Expect when you're Expecting book.. really indispensable. Whenever I hv a new symptom, I look it up fr there.

Aiyah, I don't expect much from these so-called baby friendly policies. Smaller companies will be loathe to implement them and lose money. If you want to hv kids in S'pore, it's a lot of sacrifice lor.

Ocean, are you having pregnancy acne too? I am having the worst breakout in my entire life!

Ocean, I have my first pimple the day i came back... wonder is it cos of the food or the lack of sleep?! I am trying to drink more water and hope it helps to clear out the extra toxic in the body. Try it... water is a cure for everything!

Catz, i know how you feel... the craving is always very strong when you dun have it... try not to think about it so much, then when you come back then eat for a vengence lo.. like what i am doing now. I dun even care about the weight issue for this few days... but talking about weight, i also have gained 4 kg in these 3 1/2 months.... :p

Hi dolphina, I sure look forward to my 2nd trimester as they say, you'll be able to feel your baby's movement better..

Hi Ocean, I had that thought for a moment, but my husband says it couldn't be. Scardi, it might just be the baby after all. haha

Hi Catz, yup, I'm with Dr Chan too, so is she going to deliver your baby too? When's your next appt with her? Quite excited to know that I have a kaki here who's seeing the same gynae...

Hope every MTBs here are doing fine... looking forward to the weekend... TGIF

Wow so many posting, have been too busy to come in and post.

Jaykay,

Tks for the info on the blood test.... at least I knew my gynae didn't overcharge me... hee hee..

Dolphina,

Me still having my MS, hence you are not alone. I m in week 13th now.

Was thinking of going for a short trip, do we require a letter from the gynae to travel...hmm, not sure where to go also... but just wana take a break...
My gynae has prescribed me with multivitamins and calcium but seems like my body cant take the heatiness of the vitamins, cos having a bit of sore throat and constipation. Do you think gals is it ok for me not to take the vitamins but drink milk instead? Or maybe take on alternate days etc... I m confused

Hi Catz,
I'm flying at the end of Aug. Yeah, I'm not looking forward to the long flight, one stopover and one connecting. I'm not sure how I can prop up my legs on the filght because tummy will probably be bigger then. When you come back your tummy will be quite big right? Are you flying alone or hubby going to accompany you and then go back?

About the sneezing thing, I've always had a v sensitive nose. Initially, I think there was some haze for one week, then it has been raining and raining so the weather has been colder than usual, maybe that's why we're all sneezing more.

TGIF!! looking forward to my HK trip...gotto do lots of catching up here when i am back in a week's time...

ya i am now having slight cough and sore throat too. been a while since l last had them...arghh..and i have yet to start on my calcium and multi-vit.

oh this morning woke up with bad backache and crampy tummy again...aiyo seems like we cant have a single day of feeling good leh...heeee either bad MS or aches all over.

hope every one here will have a super good weekend with no MS and aches!!

Hi BabyD,

Thanks for your advice..

But hor, u know what, foods that I like to eat nowaday are not so healthy type leh, now dun like vegie at all (b4 preggie my diet are quite healthy, always has vegie and fruits in every meal, seldom eat meat), the only food I like a lot is fried chicken, and I dun like rice at all, always eat noodles, else will feel like puking leh...

Hi Sun_Moon &amp; Catz,
I had hip-joint pain rather than buttock pain, it was worst last weekend until I couldn't walk or even stand-up from sitting position, need to ask my hubby to "lift" me up. Went to see two GPs but neither of them know what's happen. The GP from polyclinic wrote a referral letter for me to see Neurologist in NUH, but guess what, the appointment will be at 15 SEPTEMBER!!! Two months from now, luckily now the pain subsided already, imagine if the pain still there and I have to wait for TWO months to see the Neurologist. No wonder so many people still prefer to see specialist at private rate, if got to wait for two months to be subsidise patient, must die already lor...

hey everyone!

TSH, poor thing.. I think the hip-joint pain is fr the loosening of the pelvic joints in prep for birth. You could try sandwiching a pillow in between your legs while sleeping on your side... that's supposed to help to relieve the sore hips.

babyD, yeah, by August, you'll be visibly pregnant. Gosh, I really have a phobia of air travel now 'cos the 2 trips I made in the first trimester were non-SQ flights. The worst was the trip I made to Australia on UA.. the food was absolutely the pits and made my morning sickness so bad. I hope to hv my Dad travelling with me but if his schedule doesn't allow for me, then it will just be pregnant me myself and I on the lonely flight back to S'pore. HOpefully the SQ staff will take pity on me and upgrade me. Hah, fat chance :p

Twinkle, I think it will be worse if you don't take the multivits as all preggie ladies hv low immunity and plus we might not be getting enough nutrients from our diet alone. Sore throat is probably fr low immunity, not from heatiness. I am taking Blackmores Pregnancy and Breastfeeding multivits.. the pills are super big but so far, no problems. As for travel, I guess as long as it's not a cruise can already.. heard of some horror stories where pregnant couples had to charter a helicopter to airlift them to hospital!!!

emonster, my last visit with Dr Chan was end-Dec when she gave me Clomid and the bad news about my husband's sperm test. I'm currently in the US. Anyway, it will be a big surprise when I show up 8 months pregnant in Nov! I like the fact that her staff don't squeeze appts so she can spend time with each patient and the waiting time is not too bad. Are you going to be opting for single-bedder at TMC?

sun_moon, enjoy your homecoming!! So how long will you be in S'pore? Squeeze in all the goodies you can get!
Squeeze in some extra for this poor deprived preggy here in this ulu part of the US hor..

Got a question here: is there any "pantang" for preggie to go other's baby full month party? One of my hubby's friend is celebrating his bb's full month this Sunday, they have not meet for long time, so hubby wants to go. But I vaguely remember that it's not good (dun know for the new born or for the preggie)..

Any idea??

TSH,
yeah, it is true.. pregnant ladies cannot go to baby one's month celebration.. But after that can..

I was down with flu last week. Just recovering now.

BTW, anyone sign up for the antenatal class? Any recommendations?

TSH, heard that it is not good for the preggie's baby. So anything that is no good for baby will be no good for mummies.

I din go to my hubby bro's baby 1st mth too. But hubby got go!

Hi Ladies, so many replies to go through! I was busy the last week plus the stress of waiting for my hubby's blood test results!

I have to thank all of you for your encouragement - my hubby is normal, hence baby will be a Thalessemia minor (pretty normal!!). However, the bad news is that I found out that I'm suffering from Hemoglobin H disease. Hence, the pregnancy may be more taxing for me compared to a normal, healthy female. No wonder I was feeling very breathless even at the start of my pregnancy.

Dolphina, give you FIVE!! Heehee...
I am starting to eat bak gua even before Chinese New Year. Just couldn't resist the smell when I walked pass Bee Chin Hiang...

Catz, thanks for the book recommendation. "What to expect when You are Expecting" is really a good guide and it answers quite a lot of my questions.

Sun Moon, welcome back. You must be enjoying yourself the past few days with good local food. Take care and don't overeat though.

emonster, I hope you are feeling better now. If you are thinking of boosting your immunity, I would suggest that you take multivits for pregnant ladies rather than the conventional ones as their Vit A content may be too high. I would suggest Obimin or Pramilet FA. You can get them at any Pharmacies.

By the way ladies, I think the cold/flu bug is going around. I guess it's the hot/cold weather these past weeks. Take care and wear a mask if necessary!!

i am back in HK again... wondering what Dolphina is doinf in HK now. Work and shopping and eating? I had a good break back in Singapore and ate alot of local food that i have been missing all these while. But i admit i do have to watch my weight... if not will grow very fat. Btw, mothers who are about 14-15 weeks pregnant, are your tummy showing already? I think mine is a little bit showing but i am not sure is it normal... ie is it my tummy fats or is it really my baby growing? Hope to here some feedback from you all on this. Heehee....

jaykay,
That's good news!!

sun_moon,
u r back in hong kong already?? so fast uh... I done with week 13 but already finding my fat clothes tight.. Even if I suck in my tummy, it still sticks out..

I am looking forward to the next appt in one week's time!

Hi jaykay, Glad to know that your husband is cleared of the blood test. Both hubby and I will be going for the blood test this Sat, quite worried about it now.
You must take extra good care of yourself. I often feel breathless too, especially if I'm walking behind a smoker, I'll find myself choking on the smoke and feel giddy.

Hi sun moon, I'm in my 14 going to 15 weeks on this Fri. My tummy has always been obvious during pre preg days, but nowadays, it's even obvious now. I guess the baby is growing well. I'm pretty proud of my bulging tummy nowadays..haha

Hi Sun Moon,

I m into my 14th week starting this week. Me too realised that my tummy is beginning to show. Nowadays, my office clothing seems tighter, think soon I can't fit it liao

Sometimes I am also confused as to whether that is the tummy fats or caused by the growth of the baby. In the past, when I have constipation or bloatedness, my tummy will usually be bigger, but nowadays it seems to remain that way daily... so I guess must be attributed by the baby growing...

Was just complaining to my hubby yest that I looked fat with the tummy and "bigger breast"- "I guess" sigh.....
In fact I only put on 1 Kg, but couldn't believe I do looked different from the past... haiz.....

Was thinking abt going HK but seventh mth coming, mum will surely restrict me from travelling...

BTW ladies, anybody still suffering from MS, bloating etc in their 14th week? My MS seems to remain (slightly better as compared to the initial mths).....

Can someone give me the address of the shop Spring and Thyme? Tot of buying maternity clothing already...

Hi twinkle, I'm in my 14 weeks and I'm still suffering from MS. Just puked my dinner last nite and even after drinking a cup of warm Milo, I still feel terrible for the whole nite and couldn't fall asleep until 2am. I guess MS will go away gradually, at least for me, it's not as bad as before where I puked most of meals.

hi girls,
I feel so much better after seeing some of your postings cos I just came back from appt and first thing doctor said is "you didn't put on much weight, huh?" In fact, when I weighed myself, I said "oh no" and the assistants outside all looked at me in alarm. I've gained only 1.5kg in total (was hoping for 2kg at least). Yesterday, went to wedding dinner and nobody could tell I'm pregnant, cos I could still wear an evening dress with tummy bulging out a little. I'm slightly past 14 wks now, but baby is growing well and we saw *something* so I think it's really a boy, but can't confirm till next visit.

Twinkle,
Thyme and Spring are both in Suntec, on 2nd &amp; 3rd floor. I went yesterday but didn't buy anything cos tummy still not big enough and i have enough hand me down stuff for now. Their things really v nice. Thyme more pricey than Spring and has more work clothes. I'm also still v v bloated, worse than ever before... coming to point of pain on some days if constipated. Can feel the air bubbles popping when i feel my tummy. So unconfortable.

Ocean, how did your appt go???

Sun Moon,
I'm into my 14th week and tummy is showing a bit but not enough for commuters to give up their seats on the MRT!! I'm not gaining much weight yet though (1kg only). Was reading "What to expect when You are Expecting" and it said that our tummy now resembles a post-meal bulge. Hence, I think you and I are ok. No worries.

Twinkle and emonster, we are on the same boat - 14th week yet still MS, bloating, etc. But I have to say that it getting better compared to the 1st trimester. emonster, I was puking a few times last week. I think it's the food I ate - curry. By the way, do you have problems sleeping? I can't enjoy a 'dreamless', peaceful sleep nowadays. Kept having absurd dreams. I even dreamt about the book I read early in the day. Sigh....

emonster, don't worry blood test. You and hubby will be fine.

Hi Baby D, thanks for the info on the address. Will probaby pop by to take a look.

Phew, at least I m normal, was thinking why I was still feeling so bloated as before, though the vomiting seems to be reducing.. wonder when our apetite will resume as before....

Jay Kay,

Me too is getting these funny dreams. Don't really understand those dreams but it seems disturbing as it keeps u awake sometimes....

Hi Jaykay &amp; twinkle, talking about dreams, I keep having hilarious dreams, from hubby catching tons of snakes under my wardrobe to my colleagues participating in a singing competition and me dancing away with my bulging tummy... haha
Always feel so drain out in the morning after a 'dreamy' nite.

I kinda have cravings for curry too, I know I won't feel good after eating, but the urge is simply too strong...

Thanks for your assurance, still quite tensed up about the blood test, think will only relax after the results, thereafter will need to worry about the DS test.
Jaykay, you going for the DS blood test?

Twinkle,whereabouts do you work? If you are going to check out Thyme, I have the privilege card. You get 10% off regular items. As for Spring, you get 5% off if you have the Suntec Card. I can lend both to you if you happen to work around Gateway at Beach Road or Suntec area. Let me know.

emonster, yes I do get very hilarious dreams too and I get very very tired after a 'dreamy' night. There was even this one incident whereby the moment I shut my eyes I started dreaming. Then the next moment, my alarm clock rang and I had to get out of bed to get to work!! I didn't even 'sleep' at all!!

BTW, emonster, what's the DS test?

hi everyone.. i'm new here.
me in my 13th week.. still suffering from MS. just when i feel that i am getting better, i vomited last night.. and now while working, i dun feel good.

Hi Toh,

Welcome abroad... May I know ur EDD so that I can update the details to everyone.

Hi sun_moon,

I had actually gain 1kg when I was in my 12wks but now less than 3wks towards my 15wks I think I am going to gain another 1kg...

I think I am going to have a baby girl, as I had won lottery on sat... And pple said that bb girl will bring luck... a bit disappointed though.. But I will think of the $$ sake... He he heee...

BTW, does anyone of you have any terrible headaches? I had been having terrible headaches ever since I reached my 12weeks...

Seems like everyone did not gain as much weight as i do and that makes me really worried! After a full meal or lots of water, i weight myself and i have gained 6kg. This is scary considering i am only in my 15th week. I dont know what to do to stop is rate of expansion. I want the baby to grow well, but i know baby grow well even if i dun eat for two. I didnt really eat for two, but i used to cut Carbo during my pre-pregnancy days, and now i don't cos of the baby. I have a feeling that it's all these carbo that makes my weight go sky-rocket high. Wonder if it is okay to eat less carbo for one meal a day?

Hi Emonster,

I do also have strong cravings for curry..yum yum, but always got the stomach bloatedness after eating it, hee hee...

Hi Jay Kay,

I am working in Orchard. Thanks for the offer... will let you know if I need to borrow from you cos me still not sure when I will be going.

Hi Jaykay, got the same feeling as you after every dreamy nite. Sometimes really dun feel like going to work, but no choice leh, baby coming, must be extra ON..

Hi Toh, welcome to the club!
Hang on there, cos MS will subside when you reach 2nd trimester.

Hi yvoyvo, I have terrible headaches during my 10 to 13 weeks. Read up from a book that these are called Tension Headaches. Preg woman would normally experienced these during 1st trimester. Because of homones changes, hunger, nauseous, stress can cause Tension Headaches. I have especially bad headaches when I delay going for lunch even though I am dead hungry and after every puking session. Usually it will go away after I have my meal and after a short nap. Good news is, I have not been experiencing these aches since I reach 14 weeks. I usually pop Panadols when I have headaches during my pre preg days, so not able to do so now is really hell for me. Take care and try to note if anything is triggering the aches.

Hi sun moon, since you have been cutting carbo during your pre preg days, that explains the sudden weight gain during your preg days. I'm worried about my weight gain too (I'm 62kg during pre preg and I'm not a tall gal, only 1.62m).

Like to share with all some valuable information. Based on testimonies by experienced mums, their slogan is "Eat quality food, not quantity." That means, daily intake of quality meals (plus tonics) and not quantity junk food like tibits.
I'm really sticking on to this slogan, but sometimes I go off lah. I have a colleague who actually only gained 7kg during her whole preg (most of you must think it's wonderful), but her baby boy only weights 1.35kg during birth. She spended S$10K cash for her emerg C-Sect and ICU stay for her baby, even now, her boy is still quite weak even though he's on TBF for 1 year. So putting on weight is actually quite a good thing, don't think too much about it, after delivery, ask husband for $$ go sliming centre lah..

Hi twinkle, cravings are hard to curb...
eat first then think lah.. haha

hi yvoyvo, my EDD is 27 Jan 05.

emonster, i also hope that it will subside once in 2nd trimester..

So it's confirm that 2nd trim starts from week 14. i will be going for checkup this wednesday.. hope to see my bb growing well.

Oh dear, u all make me so jealous putting on so little weight!!
124256.gif
I had put on abt 4.5kg liao!! Well, tummy had grown big but still not enough to arrest the attn of those commuters. Not only that, they can still squeezed themself between me and the just empty seat to "snatch" that previous seat away!
Sigh!!

<font color="0000ff">BabyD</font>, so nice, can see the "extra" today at ur scan?
Today, i had the longest wait at KK AMC. Abt 40pple queueing in front of me.
Waited very long. As i was abt 12 wks moving to 13wks by this wk, the sonographer need to measure BB neck for abnormality for this scan.

The doc scan and told me BB is moving and i felt abit relieved. I was actually searching the heartbeat but cant see. Saw BB do abit of movement. However, today BB quite naughty. BB was laying with buttock sticking up and thus doc can take the measurement. I was asked to cough and cough, tummy felt pain but still BB dont move. For one movement, i think i saw BB turning the head looking at me. Goosh... so cute!!
kekeke...
But still BB would not lay flatly on my womb. Buttock still sticking up high! Thus, i was asked to wait outside and came back later.

No choice, i waited and went for a bite and keep telling BB to lay down flatly. Abt 45mins later, i was in the room. This time, bb was laying down but his head is like leaning agst the "wall". Like u had cushion behind. So the doc asked me to cough again. No effect and i was asked to turn my body and finally, the doc managed to measure BB neck! Wow, that was the longest scan i had
and according to the doc, it was her longest time needed too!!

Oops, sorry for the long posting! Just cant help feeling happy as till today, i still have on off spotting!

124257.gif
<font color="119911">toh</font>! Think ur EDD should be quite near to mine as i will be moving to my 13wk this wk!

Oh, <font color="aa00aa">JayKay</font>, so glad to learn that ur blood test came out well. However u mentioned abt the Hameglobin H disease, what is this? Is it that u had not enough blood count? Do take care and if feel breathless, must rest hor! Then, dun carry heavy thing, ok!

hi girls!

sun_moon, I'm in 15th week and can see my tummy already! Even the OBGYN commented on my bulge..but I told my husband that it just looks like fat, not like a baby bulge :p Whenever I go to maternity stores or babies r us, I feel compelled to push my bulge out further if not cannot compare to the huge bellies I see there! Hehe.. the surprising thing is that on my check-up 3 days back, I hv only gained 1 lb so therefore I am still 5 lbs below prepregnancy weight. I guess the MS really helped me shed off all my backside fats. Haha. As for your carbs, you cannot cut down too much 'cos you need the extra energy for your organs which are working extra hard these days.

BTW, at my check-up, we didnt hv an ultrasound.. so now, me and husband are suffering fr severe u/s withdrawal symptoms 'cos we had so much fun seeing our little one 'gelek gelek' the last time. :p OBGYN said that everything is normal and he used the doppler to get the heartbeat (150bpm) so the next u/s will be at 20 wks. Talk about torture!! We were kind of hoping to confirm our feelings that it's a boy... oh well, another month+ of waiting. :p

yvo, there was a stage, at the end of my first trimester where I had those terrible headaches. Really throbbing and pounding kind of pain. The only way I could get rid of it was to sleep on the throbbing side. Now, not so bad.. if I get the beginnings of a headache, I go to zzzzz..

I find that nowadays when I lie down, I can feel my heart working harder. Also easily get breathless.. the doctor says it's normal 'cos of all the extra work our bodies are doing. Plus now our kidneys are processing baby's urine.. so maybe that's why.

talking about ultrasound, i have my next appointment coming up next monday, and am also hoping to see the gender of my baby too. Looking forward to it everyday. Hee.

Yesterday i was shopping in town and came across a couple of shops that sells baby clothes... and i had so much fun looking through all the new-born clothes, and imagining my baby in them. I have not bought any yet, guess it's still early. So i am basically just doing some research now.

One thing to ask everyone... i have been trying to drink enough water everyday but i find that the output ( urine ) most of the time doesnt equal to my input. Last time, if i drink alot, i output alot, but nowadays, the output is very minimal and i am worried where has all the fluid gone to?? Anyone having the same experience or know why so?

Hi catz &amp; emonster,

Before my pre preggie days, I can just zzz whenever i had headaches &amp; it will go away. But now cannot, even after a nap it is still there...

Username EDD Sex-of-BB
Tetra (Mum-To Francis's baby) - 02/1 (25-27/12)
Ah Bunny - 04/01 - Boy
TSH (tan_tan) - 05/1
goodfriend - 05/1
sun_moon - 06/1
Catz - 08/1
babyD - 14/1
JayKay - 14/1
dolphina - 15/1
emonster - 15/1
yvoyvo - 14-16/1
twinkle - 22/1
yve - 17-22/1
Hopeful24 - 25/1
Ocean - 26/1
Toh - 27/1

Hi Ocean, Hemoglobin H Disease (Hb H) is one form of Alpha Thalessemia. Our hemoglobin is made up of alpha and beta protein and the production of these proteins are governed by our genes. In alpha thalessemia, 1,2,3 or 4 of these genes controlling the production of the alpha protein in our hemoglobin may be missing, hence causing blood disorder. This is an inherited disorder. In Hemoglobin H Disease, 3 of my genes are missing (2 missing gene from mom &amp; 1 missing gene from dad), hence, I only have 1 alpha protein that is functioning properly and I am slightly anemic. This will tax my body because without a 'healthy' hemoglobin molecule, I am not able to transport enough oxygen to my tissues, and in this case the foetus. My heart will be working overtime to pump enough oxygen to the rest of my body. In pregnant women with Hb H, there may be a need for blood transfusion in 2nd or 3rd trimester due to blood expansion and the drastic drop in hemoglobin level. Hence, I have to be very careful as there are other medical complications that will come with this condition. Also, iron supplements will not help with my condition as iron will cause more complications because my body can't utilise the iron.

By the way, BB will either have 1 or 2 genes missing and not be Hb H (since hubby is normal). BB will be alpha thalessemia minor (silent carrier). However, his or her spouse must be normal so that their kids will be 'normal' (silent carriers).

Hope I didn't confuse you with all these explanations. Now my hubby is more worried about me than BB.

jaykay,
That's was a good explanation.. I understand fully now.. You take care of yourself.. I am sure your hubby will take very very good care of you..

JayKay, I had no idea that Hb H was related to Thalassemia.. make sure you get enough good iron. Iron supplements make me really constipated but I heard that if you take liquid iron supplements, the constipation problem won't be so bad. Currently, I'm taking Citracal Prenatal Rx which contains quite a fair bit of iron but has stool softeners so I'm still regular *phew*

sun_moon, same.. I notice that I'm peeing so much less in my 2nd trimester.. I don't hv to wake up in the middle of the night to pee and plus when I wake up in the morning, I am super thirsty. 2 litres of water seems to be insufficient. I think this is because we are 'growing' more blood for our bodies... I remember reading this somewhere... so I don't think it's anything to worry about.

sun_moon &amp; Catz,
The extra fluid is going into expanding your blood volume and filling up your amniontic sac with fluid. Preggies must drink lots of water, otherwise may faint!

Jaykay &amp; emonster,
I also get funny dreams, often about something in the future, like last night I dreamt about something I had to do at work today. Then a few weeks ago, I dreamt I had baby boy waving at me at an award ceremony. I told gynae about the dream when he said it might be a boy. heeheehee!

Ocean,
Glad your appt went well and baby is doing well. At least you managed to measure the neck fold, so far baby doesn't want to turn the right way so for 2 appts we couldn't measure the neck fold. But I trust it will be ok cos Down Syndrome risk greater for women above 35 and I'm only 28.

Oh yah, gynae said not to worry if tummy bulge not as big as other women at the same stage. Taller women and ppl who have stronger abdominal muscles tend to have smaller tummy cos the muscles resist the amniontic fluid pressure which is stretching the tummy outwards. My friend only put on 6kg and she's 6 months!

Catz, babyD, thanks for the advise on the body fluid... now i feel more relief. I was so worried that i am having serious water retention. Will drink more water going forward.

For those of you who will be engaging confinement lady or have friends who uses one, any idea what is the market rate in Singapore? I have talked to one, and she charge $1700. Is this fair?

Hi ladies, just got back from my gynae. Saw BB's hand (was so excited I didn't notice which one) and fingers! So cute!! Thank God BB is moving. I have this anxiety that BB is not moving. Gynae saw something like a protrusion (was gone in a flash) and she said may be a BB boy. However, will only be sure in 2 more weeks.

Sun Moon, I'm having the same problems as you. My urine output seems to be low. There are times whereby you feel the urge to go to the loo but the output doesn't correspond with the urge...if you understand what I mean. Let me go and check on some books. I am curious to know too.

BabyD, you really have a cute dream. I think it's a boy too. I believe the award ceremony you dreamt about is for the "Best Mommy Award".
The most absurd dream I had so far was that I am a lesbian living together with my lover!!! That's crazy isn't it?!?!

Yve, how are you now? I am going to change my gynae as I need special attention during pregnancy and labour because of my condition. E-mail me if you are free.

talking about funny dreams... i just had one last nite. I dreamt that i gave birth to my baby during my 5th month at home... but the baby is like a full term baby, and look very sweet and adorable too. I was at a lost, cos i have no nurse and no doctor to teach me after care for new born, and in my dream, my baby didnt eat or change diapers for 3 days since delivery!!! I was looking for this specialist whom talk alot of cock and never really take a look at my baby. I got so furious... but my baby very good, never make big fuss, always smiling. Woke up feeling so strange about the whole dream.

sun_moon,
$1700 is about the right rate for confinement lady. Be prepared to pay more if your confinement hits the Chinese New Year.

jaykay,
Good to hear that you are taking good care of yourself.. catch up with u on email.

Hi Sun_Moon,

If your confinement lady is not occupied during mid Oct to Nov, can you please pass me her contact? My younger sis will be delivered at that time and she is looking for one. She live in Bukit Batok, close to West Mall.

My email: [email protected]

Tan Tan,
this confinement lady mentioned that she is doing confinement for her own daughter in Oct, i suspect she will not be able to take your sister's. If i come across other contact, I will pass them to you.