(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Cody,
Ah... you must be thinking of Tokyo Disneyland...

A few points to consider before you book your air tickets:-
i. duration of the flight - it'll be a relatively long flight so be prepared to deal with a crying baby if Dean experiences discomfort in his ears, etc.
ii. time difference and jet lag - if you feel it, Dean will too.
iii. language and cultural barrier - do you speak Japanese? Will you have difficulties buying food which is suitable for Dean?
iv. weather conditions - it'll be Spring by the time you get there. What's the average temp at that time of the year? If it's still pretty chilly, will Dean have enough warm clothing?
v. logistics - what are the things you'll need to bring with you and will you need to bring more or less things for a different destination?

I long to go on vacation too. I'm thinking of going somewhere not too far away as a trial for a longer trip in the future. Places in consideration would be Perth, Bali or Bangkok. I'm also open to the idea of going on a cruise.

Lachesiz,
You're such a shopaholic and I'm such a glutton!Tell me more about Miramar's Jap buffet. How much does it cost and what do they serve? Is it just Jap or do they have other food as well? I love tempura, but not the raw stuff. I've got a sweet tooth and need my cakes, ice cream, etc.

LOL! You actually dreamt of "or luak"! Did you drool in your sleep?

Seagal,
Nah, saw the pics my dad took of you and your hubby. Shermyn looks much more like you.

My dad has an online album. If he's able to upload all the pictures he took, you can download them from there. I'll check with him and let you know.

Duffy / Evelyn
LOL! Did I ruin your plans to lose weight? Sorry!

YuRu,
Join us at this thread too! How old is your baby?

TBL,
Yup, my dad took the pic when YuRu came with her baby to collect the FM.

LL,
Will you be trying for another one?

duffy,
only saw earthbest @TM. can try healthy times organic cereal. also good. sold at BRP, organic shop at forum. saw it at other organic shops too.
BRP always run out of stock for organic cereal, so if u do see them, stock up! (i always buy @2-3 packs)

TBL,
tot of jap food coz cody was talking abt japan!
agree that the jap restaurant u mention are mmmmmmmm.
miramar opp riverview. jap buffet (lunch and dinner) the usual sashimi, tepanyaki, tempura etc. but its VERY FRESH!!! the rest is small and serve as u order. another good jap buffet next to United Square, also another small one but serves very good range... i want to eat jap food now! any other jap food lovers here? can share good makan place.

TBL,
brought potato for her last 6-1 jab (or is it 5-1). coz she was a LBW bb plus she was ill last month, so the apt postpone till aug. i went for my own hep b jab (coz rae on BM, so mummy jab will do her good too)

she was ok in the car, reach hospital, keep staring at environment, inside lift, look scared and sniffle. reach pd, stare more and broke out, wail!!! apparently she recognises the place as the last month she was traumatised there for half a day! (blood test, x-ray etc). poor thing and cry till puke in the pd office! pd didn't want to stress her so talk abit, jab and left.
brought her shopping later, she was ok, keep wanting this and that and when i remove the toys, she cry! even insist the nice salesgirl give her attention and talk to her as when she walked away, she shouted at her! did this for 3x till the salesgirl scared of her..

lach:
i love jap food too! but all that carbo ah...def adds to the waistline.
I frequent Keyaki (pan pacific) for the weekend buffet. Shiok!

another cheaper place is Hanabe at Crown Centre, next to Coronoation PLaza on Bukit Timah Road.
the food there is not as fresh as Keyaki, but its still fresh (know what i mean?). Its ala carte buffet like Keyaki also.

Keyaki is abt S$50 per head for the weekend buffet, Hanabe is abt S$25 per head for weekend lunch buffet.

YYP:
thanks for your tips, i also took those points into consideration. However i think Dean should be slightly easier to manage since he'd already be 16mths by then.

My only worry is that i am preg with #2 again by then; if so, i may just have to bring forward the trip to my 2nd trimester so that i can have a vacation before the kid comes.

Actually i am not particularly fond of japan, i like AUS, US and Canada alot more. BUt i only have enough frequent flier miles to redeem a ticket to Japan; besides the flight to US is alot longer.

Jap food should be ok for Dean, since its mainly rice based and quite asian to a certain extent. Tokyo is only 1 hour ahead of us, so there shouldn't be any jet lag. Taking all these points into consideration, i am opting to stay in tokyo for 10 days so that i can take it real S-L-O-W ....

Disneyland: ACTUALLY i love disneyland, but i think dean may be too young for it. nevertheless, i will still go to tokyo disneyland so that mommy can enjoy herself. hahaha

you're right tho, i plan to bring dean to disneyland HK when he's abt 5-6yrs old. It will be another mega holiday, together with his twin cousins.

Oh yes! i want to go to perth too!
but i am reluctant to pay the $200 airport tax and the higher exchange rate now. I used to enjoy AUS and NZ when their currency was lower than ours ... everything became more affordable!

A cruise is not a bad idea. I brought dean on a 3d/2n cruise when he was 5.5mth old. Relaxing, but there's really nothing much to do on board apart from eating and gambling. I'll tell you more if you're really keen on going.

LL:
trip to Bintan? u sure?
i think it may be quite hard to organise such an outing, esp since someone needs to book ferry tickets, hotel etc. Too much hassle.....
i think a gathering at botanic garden will be just as fun!

Potato is 8.45kg, 68 cm @ 7 1/2 month!
(to think she was 2.22kg only at birth!)
lets sing together
"I am a little teapot, short and stout.
this is my handle and this is my spout......"

YYP,
i am also a foodie too!
i always tell people its tougher to maintain my wt rather than lose wt.
lose wt=eat less, dun eat, save $$
maintain wt= eat lots and lots, spend$$
wt myself at gynae ysterday... 57kg!!!!! still heavywt.. sianzzzzzzzz

Hi mummies eps to seagal & ruffy,
Ya I'm new to this thread, my girl'll b 3 mths tomolo. I hope I'll not b rejected as I'll definitely gain lots of experience fm u all.

TBL, u r so lucky for yr HB to love decorating, I think I'll have to do it.
I've tried that jap restaurant u mentioned, it's great but have to reserve in advance as most of the time they r fully packed during weekends.

Lachesiz,u r a great mummy, sacrificing yr tibits for pretty clothes for Potato. I wanted to go to Fox sales yesterday but no time. Hope can go this weekend. BTW did u buy any mother/daughter outfit fm Fox?

purplebear,

i not great mummy la, i just suffering from a life-threatening chronic illness and doctor prescribe permanent retail therapy for me plus i patriotic citizen, trying to promote economic growth in my little way.

i didn't buy any mummy/daughter outfit from FOX as i was ambushed n hijacked by mothercare. after a fierce and long-drawn battle at mothercare, no more ammunition ($$) to soldier onto FOX. maybe this weekend i will get my general (aka hubby) to render support and provide ammunition (but most likely this general will fight from armchair or will decline support and demote me).

do post pics of your daughter leh... u will not be rejected as we are all here to learn and give support.

btw, the clothes that i purchased are quite reasonable after 30%discount! bot a t-shirt for $5+, $10+ for a skirt! one set of top and bottom abt $20-30+ so quite worth it.. (in all, bot abt nearly 30 pieces for her, went to another outlet ysterday with rae to buy summore) no need to buy clothes till she start school!! hahaha

but i really love the stretchy pants and tshirt from FOX. they remain one of my fav for rae.

Hi lachesiz,

U r real cute, I like yr description!hahaha...
U say only, I believe u'll still buy in the next sale.
I think my Anthea has many clothes too ranging fm 6 mths to 2 yrs old. But still can't resist of getting more. I'm intended to c whether there's any nice mother/daughter outfit fm FOX but I think hv to wait till weekend then got time.
Halo to all aunties,
303239.jpg
303240.jpg

purplebear,
anthea (have i told u that its a beautiful name?) is real sweeeeeeeeett looking! sweet face, sweet smile, sweet hairband, sweet romper and sweet bear bear. her fingers look real slim n long!

purplebear,
anthea (have i told u that its a beautiful name?) is real sweeeeeeeeett looking! sweet face, sweet smile, sweet hairband, sweet romper and sweet bear bear. her fingers look real slim n long!

[YYP] Aiyoh...still have not settle down wif my Steffi yet...2nd one, hmmmm don't think so, I want to start my golfing ASAP!!!!

[Cody] Better bring extra for Dean if u heading to Disneyland 'cos the wind is pretty strong as it's built on an island out of the mainland.
A trip to Botanic Garden oso can lah...Steffi had only been to shopping centre & swimming pool so far.

Hello Purplebear.... ur darling is such a cutie pie..

[Lachesiz] U made it yesterday on ur own??

Thanks,Lachesiz & LL.

But she's always mistaken as boy boy by some ppl. (Even when she's wearing pink outfit...so sad...)
Ya, she has long slim fingers, hope she'll be interested in playing piano.

How abt posting yr babies' pictures too?

Hey all
kind of tired... dun really got the time to sleep and see wat is going on...

Evelyn
can no pro... or I leave u my contact and u sms me?? 9785 1614 Thank!!!

Lach:
you're so humurous! hey, maybe can can moonlight as a stand up comedian!

MOTHERCARE SALES:
their 20th anniversary sales has started. Quick quick quick!!!

Hi all, finally got some time at work, no boss around ...

Wht's happening here? Welcome purplebear! Yr girl girl very cute ah, looks like u or hubby har?

Ahyah, this month I bought toys for Chloe, spend alot already :p cannot spent any more!!

I wanna see more photos leh, anyone at at home now? uplaod upload :p

LL,

made it on my own ysterday! even brought her shopping! yeah.. present certificate of competency level 1 to myself. so proud of me.

went botanic garden with my clan last sun. so 'happening'! so many dogs n ple n bb! parking is a nitemare though. she enjoyed herself but some adults (namely the men) were complaining abt the heat. best go in morning.

duffy,
u must take the lead!!

some wt-lost advice from potato guru

303306.jpg

303307.jpg

cody,
i humourous? haha.. more like insanity.

LL,
u golf? wahhh. sorry i mountain tortoise coz to me its a richman/businessman/politician/tai tai sports though its picking up in popularity even among the heartlanders.
so u must golf often in malaysia? national day hols coming... join tournaments?

cody,
2 days ago already 'sian xia shou wei qiang'!! clothes 30%, toys 20%
suntec n CP stock running low. KK, PP still ok...

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>
Yr potato really cute ah, haha, the car so good looking too, where u got tht huh?
I shall hint thye demostration and put my self into practice...

that car was coerce into buying by my mum! went marketing at neighbour stores and chance upon this 'electric' car. prices are better than the big kiddy store but music very loud.

pics of botanic garden outing! mummy imposing as bush monster, flora and fauna

303319.jpg

303320.jpg

303321.jpg

Lachesiz,
yr potato's so adorable &amp; chubby. I think she really enjoyed herself in Botanic Gardens. Is it still under renovation or everthing's done up liao?
Actually mummy dun need to pose as monster or flora, we can see yr pretty face too
Wow, U sound that u've combed all the Mothercare stores.
BTW to all mummies, John Little's having Mega Sale at Expo fm 5/8-9/8.

oh lach
you and your potato really crack me up!
the mommy is hilarious and the baby SOOOOOOooooooooo adorable!

[Lachesiz] Potato looks so cute in every pix...
Yup..had been golfing for almost 2 years b4 I got pregnant &amp; had stopped for 20 MONTHS!!! but hor still play like beginner...hee...hee... Ya lor, game is ex so played abt twice per month, cannot play every weekend...pocket sure kosong kosong. Played @NSRCC 'cos HB member lah, hardly go M'SIA 'cos must drive in..lechei...

Auntie TBL...see my make-shift nusery which opens only on Sat &amp; Sun
303382.gif

Lachesiz
your gal is so so cute! She must have really enjoyed herself

Old Navy
Anyone ordered from old navy before? I needed a bit of help here

Cody,
Why don't you bring forward your trip to this year and make it a "baby-making trip" too?

Did you say that the Perth airport tax was A$200? You're certain that's right? I just checked www1.perthairport.net.au and it said that the airport tax is A$38, and that it's usually included in the price of the ticket.

I was actually planning a trip to Western Oz last year before I found out about my pregnancy. I heard that the snorkelling at Ningaloo Reef was out of this world and I really wanted to go there. Unfortunately, the trip never materialised. Qantas is now having a promotion (which will end on 8 Aug). Return tickets for Perth are going for as low as S$308. So tempted to go!

Does Star Cruise provide baby cot and baby food?

Lachesiz,
For Jap food, I like Bimi Kaiho at International Plaza. They used to be located at Outram Park. Lots of Japs go there.

57kg? C'mon, I'm much heavier at 62.5kg.

Gosh...you must have your whole family in stitches all the time! The Dr Evil and CSI shots were classic man!

Purplebear,
Welcome to the group and thanks for sharing the pix! How can anyone mistake Anthea for a boy? She's such a pretty girl!

LL,
Eh...look at Cody, she's already preparing herself for No.2! Golfing can wait!

Duffy,
Has Chloe been enjoying her Shichida classes? Think I'll choose a diff time slot for next semester. JinJin's current class coincides with her nap time, so she falls asleep almost every week!

Seagal,
PM me your gmail address and I'll send you the pix. There're about 15 of them.

Mngo,
I've not ordered anything from Old Navy before, but what happened? Tell us and maybe someone can offer some suggestions.

LL:
me too, used to play golf until preg.
now totally forgotten how to swing or hold the clubs already.
think i am so fat now, i can't even fit into my gloves!!!

YYP:
yep, i made an enquiry just last week. the airport taxes in Changi + aus airport altogether is abt S$200.
the S$38 u checked, could it be for domestic flights?

Star cruise ... yes yes, baby cot and bottled Heinz food is available. But i warn you first, the rooms are tiny!
I got those balcony-cabins, supposedly larger and def more expensive. But with the cot and pram in the room, there's no space to walk!

warning: baby pays 25% adult fare for star cruise, even more expensive than an air ticket!

Weight:
you all dun fight, i am mega 71.5kg, and this heavy weight champion here got lazy and skipped her jogging on wed night! i oughta be kicked!

YYP:
no lah, dun want to bring the trip forward cos i want to time it for the cherry blossoms. besides, i KNOW if i get preg i WILL want to take another vacation in the 2nd tri. so no point going on 2 holidays...

SALE:
robinsons has 20% storewide sale (not 15+5%) today. Quick quick quick!!

Isetan also having sale today, but i think mainly on golf items.

YYP

This scenario happens to me in old navy website / vpost

1) Vpost told me to input Billing address and Shipping address (Vpost add) when i check my items out at old navy website

2) Old navy website stated tat Billing address have to be same as credit card address (means my singapore add)

3) BUT old navy website dun accept singapore address for input

4) I hack care, and i went ahead to input billing add = shipping add. Old Navy emailed me to say tat the billing address tat i input does not tally with my CREDIT CARD company database details.

[YYP]....me not thinking for 2nd one for the time being....who knows mayb in another 2 years wen Steffi is much older lah, cannot handle 2 babies @one go lah.

[Cody] Ha..ha...buy men's gloves then. Me oso think dat I will make more air-short &amp; ball-shot....so must go back to basic first loh...back to range otherwise itz throwing $$$ on the green. How long had u been playing? Are u going to start again?
Had nvr imagine myself picking up dis game, always think itz old folks game &amp; bery bery ex. But now hor after playing is amaze what a 2" ball can make u go crazy over it. Mayb one day shld can hv a game hor...
Sales @Robinson's only today? Had stop buying golf items - too many @home liao oso tell my HB better DON'T BUY ANYMORE, no more wardrobe space for his T-SHIRTS!!

LL:
then your hubby should go to Isetan today. They are having a golf fair. Quite cheap!!
I only played golf for abt 1 year before i got preg. Hiaz, bought so many golf items now all cannot wear!

How to start again? with dean around, no time lah. Think the next time i pick up the clubs again is when i'm 60.... by then my crickety old bones may not even be able to swing the golf club properly!

yu, how old is your baby now?
actually the best time to travel is when they are still on 100% milk feed.
BEST time to travel is when you are TBF.

the older they are, the more variety of food they eat eg porridge / cereal.
ie the more you have to bring!!!

unless they are so old until they can eat whatever food we adults eat lah, then its easier again...

LL,
love your darling stylo hair! does she like her twirling jungle? i searched high and low for the bugs version! finally found it and i think its a very soothing, lulling toy... zzzzzzzz
solution for ur hb t-shirt? get a new wardrobe! then can buy more clothes and golf equipment!

Yu,
i envy u that ur gal still latch! mine refuse at 6month and now she's on EBM. more convenient when i am at work but i MISS MISS MISS her latching on!

Cosmo, YYP
cannot change my job coz i am simply insane and not humourous. btw, 'crazy' genes run in my family! so when my family get together, i will laugh so hard that sumtimes, i get an asthma attack!! really!!
(i am an optimist and i think we shouldn't take all things seriously.. be good to learn to laugh at ourself to maintain a less stressful life.)

thanks for all the recommendation on jap food.. dunno where find time to eat!

weight.
mummies, dun fight... dun forget to factor in height!! btw, carrots consider carbo by atkins!
been gorging on cookies recently.

vacation.
all these talk abt trips make me yearn for one. but on budget and potato still raw. hb and i hope to go for a short trip w/o her end year.

cody,
saw that u spend $$ on new maternity clothes recently even though not preggy yet!! maybe the clothes will bring in good fengsui and bb #2 will be on way soon.
actually, maternity clothes are so pretty and fashionable nowadays that its hard to resist. and some are adjustable so can be worn by anyone!

its the seventh month.... today nearly got mild asthma attack from all the burning paper. *no offence to anyone* . close window whole day still can smell the smoke.

'tua phat lee' (act smart)

she was mesmerised by the doodle pad and wail when we try to hold her hand or take the pen away from her! she even try to slot the pen back in the holder! so we let her have free play.
she was very serious in the creative process!!

303676.jpg

303677.jpg

303678.jpg

her final product! her ]deluded' grandma very proud that she drew a butterfly all by herself! (see the black blotch with two feelers?)
303679.jpg

Cody,
Oh, you were referring to all the airport taxes plus fuel and other surcharges, and not just Perth's airport tax. If that's the case, you're right, it adds up to about S$200(depending on currency fluctuations).

I've been on Star Cruise before, but that was before JinJin came along. Did you have to pay extra for the Heinz baby food and do they have a good selection? I remember that there was a sofa bed in the cabin which is big enough for 2. If the cot is placed in the cabin, does it mean that we won't be able to use the sofa bed?

Mngo,
Did you manage to resolve the Old Navy shipping problem?

It's stated in their website that they'll only deduct monies from your credit card upon shipping, so I don't think you have to worry about them debiting your card and not sending the goods to you. Why don't you e-mail them and explain that your billing address is in Singapore but your shipping address is in the US because Old Navy only ships within the US? They should be able to understand that.

If they don't find the explanation acceptable and can't honour the order, tell them that you want to cancel the order and ask for their written confirmation that they've not debited your card.

Lachesiz,
You're not taking Rae-Ann with you when you go on vacation? Can you bear to do that?

Where're you thinking of going?

my US visa is finally ready for collection next week.

Mngo,

cant help you with the shipping problem because it would be costly for me to ship to you from US to Singapore.

Nepia diapers,

ordered some nepia diapers from their singapore office by phone and they delivered the next day. they charge $16 per pack but $5 discount for every four packs. delivery is free.

previously we would buy from NTUC a few packs and take cab home. if known earlier than would have save on cab fare and queueing at NTUC.

the newborn diapers come in packs of 60 so more economical than pampers since newborn have to change diapers often.

Hi YYP,

I've collected the milk powder from your dad just now. Jin Jin is really friendly, unlike my boy who is so shy and cranky! Your dad showed us Jin Jin's flash cards and that got me really motivated to go get some flash cards for my boy!Jin Jin is really fortunate to have such doting grandparents! Coincidentally (not sure if you'd realised when you see the photos) you and my hubby is in the same L school cohort! Haha! Small world.

Hi YYP,
I dun understand why too...Puzzled.....SOmetimes ppl even ask mi if she's boy boy when she was wearing pink outfit ????? Maybe I should make sure she always wear her hat or a hair band.

Rochelle
I dunno there is mother here using nepia.. if know early will give u the number to call...

Cody
My gal is 9mths and a day old. I'm still trying to switch her to bottle feed since this monday. Dun have any good sleep at all coz she will wake up many time.... ah....

lachesiz
Actually still now, I do enjoy seeing my gal latch on. The bonding feeling is so special. She look so cute when she latch on. Dun really feel like stop bF her coz so heart ache!!! The special bonding I miss so much...

Hey all
I just spent 40mins to let my gal finish 2ozs of bottle milk. Actually I make 2 ozs of BM and 1oz of FM. Feed her for so long den she finsh 2ozs... So happy for her. Bring my gal to malaysian tmr, coz is their big mega sale!!! Last week also got bring my gal go, dun really got the time to shop coz very late den I reach JB. Hope tmr will have great fun!!
Happy weekend

Mngo,

the number is on the diapers pack at the bottom for Nepia (HK) Pte Ltd. you have to ask for discount else the lady on the phone will act blurr. she quote us $16 per pack and every 4 pack give a $5 NTUC voucher.